Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Luna Budapest 3 stars

1116 Budapest, Vegyész utca 17, Hungary

#250 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 401 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately most of the room had broken air conditioner and we were asked to pay 5 Euro extra per night to use air conditoiner which was working for one room. Besdies there is no elevator. Breakfast was moderate and the location is a bit far from the city but have access to public transport by 7 minutes walk.

    Staff wree polite and helpful. Good Internet Parking was available

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is old, is very far from city center, has some inappropriate painting on every wall.

    The staff are quite helpful, the breakfast is okay, and the price is really good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My stay was beginning of spring with nice 26° C. almost all day long. The hotel is situated far from bus or metro, bordering an industrial zone. The ventilation was not working, and worse, for some unknown reasons instead of extracting air, it infuses hot air (perhaps to sell water). As a result, I used the air condition.... which was not working either (room 305, a 30 euro's room, avoid it). And that for an 80 euros/night invoice. *** A funny guy draw 3 stars at the entrance :) *** Day after : after complaining they considered to repair the air condition. When I came back, it wasn't working and room 305 was still too much heated by the reversed ventilation of the bathroom :( I changed of floor. They send me to a 40 euros bigger room at the last floor, with air condition working. (but still with the same trouble with the bathroom air extraction which is in fact spiting unpleasant hot air!) They charged me again 80 euros for this soviet old used design room of the eighties. Well, this is not correct. (but employees are fortunatly nice in this sad dark atmosphere) I will save you the description of the unbelieveable coffee machine and of the mini-personal used toaster.... but go there if you want to dive in the historical period of the Hungary 1980; preserved area. Nothing has been changed since. NB: they didn't charged me the extra cost of the air condition, but charged me the 4 bottles of water I had to drink during these 2 nights.

    What I liked ? To leave the place. --------- J'ai aimé quitter l'endroit ! --------- Feliz dejar el lugar ! --------- Eine echtes Loch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - bad bad coffee, cheap breakfast - dirty room (see shots) - small room (we were unable to install a normal baby crib) they woulnd not want to change the room either - too far from the city (i already knew but worth mentioning)

    Parking yard

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No chance for dinner in hotel, but perfect restaurant not so far. https://buda.vakvarju.com/en

    Easy to find, lot of parking space. It’s next to main road, so better to ask for room to yard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On Dec 31 for New Years Eve I booked a double room in this hotel for 148 dollars. It was massively overpriced, since it is a mediocre hotel with small rooms, with a lot of old furniture very far from the city (39 min). But this was the only hotel left, Budapest was 99% booked that day. You have to pay around 70 dollars off season. They gave me a room facing to the street, it was so noisy, small, and old looking that I packed my luggage went to the reception and asked for a full refund. They said they have one more room and that is one of their best rooms. I checked it and it was much better. The second room was on the other side of the building, but during the night I've found it still too noisy to sleep. The heater was not working properly first it was too cold, than it was too hot on the same settings. In the bathroom they did not have shower gel and shampoo I asked for it and they said they only have soap (in a 148 dollars room). In Dubai they have 3 star Hotels for 50 dollars with everything, and last year I booked a luxury apartment in Budapest for 80 dollars in the city center during Christmas. (They did not have any curtain on the roof window!)

    They had heating!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the perfect hotel. The staff speaks English well, their service is good, rooms are clean, large, heated and comfortable. The parking is wide, the breakfast is tasty. In the vicinity, 2 min by car, there is Savoya Mall with shops and restaurants I recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If it's hot and/or there is a need to open the window then it's best to ask for a room not situated at the street side as the cars sounds might be annoying during the night.

    The hotel was chosen as a rest place while traveling on vacation to BiH. It's very close to the Budapest so it's also possible to visit the capital before reaching the hotel for a night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old facilities, there is not a key at a bathroom, a broken tap. Payment for air conditioner use.

    We were offered by an additional bed for our son for free. Good place for travelers, not far from a highway. Good enough breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The personnel is not Always friendly. One night you have a very gentle, young man who is very helpful and who bears high standards of hospitality in mind, the other night you have a man who is unable to speak English and who is demonstrably unfriendly when you simply ask him to change the schedule for an already planned in taxi (via Google Translation). That man simply should be disqualified to work at the reception within the tourist industry.

    - Very good breakfast - Convenient location, at 500m from the tram station with direct access to all the main sightseeing venues - Opportunity to sit on the terrace in the evening, whilst indulging a nice drink - Good value-for-money accommodation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cleanliness - especially in bathroom. Fungus on the ceiling :\, shower tray should have been changed a long time ago.

    Very friendly staff. Good localization.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is 5 euros a day, which is ridiculous given that the property is on the outskirts of the city and should be included in the daily rate. Air conditioning is PAID, they don't give you the remote control unless you pay for it separately, as a service (again, ridiculous). Rooms get very hot and stuffy during the day, even if you open the balcony, impossible to air out at night. Showers leak all over the bathroom floor. We booked a double bed, got two (small) twin beds.

    Inexpensive, last minute accommodation, close to the city by car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged 20% more than booking reservation, with no explanation, in addition to that parking is not free, a bit noisy from the street nearby, the reception guy did not know English so hard to understand each other.

    Nice terrace with trees and flowers, you could hear the birds sing even if street is nearby, quite ok. Decent breakfast, comfortable bed, spacious parking, close to center by car (15 min).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The temperature of the room was high and the air conditioner didn't have remote. Maybe the recepcionist can give it, but I didn't try to request it.

    Strong WI-FI connection, fine breakfast, easy parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the end bill was 50euro but I thought it would be no more than 40-45

    Hotel was 4-5 km from city center, but still pretty close by a car or public transport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I successfully booked a room with double bad and I received one with twin bad; Bad smell in the bathroom

    Room ok, but some renovations are needed, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking spot a lil bit tight couldn't open water while taking a shower as the tap did not work properly but managed to do so.

    perfect breakfast for good price, garden, nice room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were ants and other small bugs in the room. Other than using the ac(which one had to pay extra for) one had to leave the door to the balcony open which attracted more insects.

    Overall it was a nice place and generaly clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strange smell in the bathroom, but bearable. Air conditioning cost extra, I have only seen this in Budapest...

    The room, bed and the sheets were clean (comparing with other hotels in the same price range).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Payment for parking

    Comfortable double room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor breakfast, extra pay for parking

    Great location, near the public transport, kind english speaking staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor offer in the bar at lobby .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    good value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit to loud from road side.

    Great service. Awesome breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It exceeded my expectations

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean, warm and dark - I mean the curtain was superb. Breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    It's very clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hidden cost of city tax

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I have to pay 5€ for the air condition

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parkingplace is small The room is small

    Clean nice room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom.

    The hotel was okay for one night staying, you get what you pay for - simple rooms, not very nice furniture, but it was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/c

    Breakfest

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pathetic ac not working . Rude staff . Not recommended at all

    Pathetic

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attentive staff. Good breakfast. Room was fine. Exchange rate was reasonable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean rooms very good meal and price is also ok

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - paid ac (but in hungary it is not so needed) - slow wifi

    - kind stuff with very good English - breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything is old, bad smell, mold and fungus in the bathroom, old towels and some weird smelly soap.

    Not much to like about it other that is close to the highway

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not ideal for visiting Budapest itself as it's a bit too far from the city center.

    Really good value for money. Good for a B&B on your way to other places.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room smelt a little bit like old/humid, the pillow I had was pretty small and seemed of low quality

    Positioned pretty close to M0, good buffet breakfast, parking in the yard (however for a EUR 5 fee). Good for transit.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Far away from the centre. Though public transport in Budapest is really good 24-hours a day, for my next stay I'd prefer a place more central. More likely, I'll switch to Airbnb, supporting citizens rather than hotel(-chain)s.

    Price

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ok for the price, but bathroom looks old and used (although it is clean)...

    Parking is available, it is easy to access when coming from M7, it has free wifi and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel really needs a renovation. A few years ago had a very good quality/price ratio. Now it seems outdated and not clean.

    Price is acceptable. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Too far out of the centre to walk to tourist spots and the main shopping area, a tram stop is located just up the road though that takes you directly into the hussle and bussle! No tea and coffee making facilities in the room which would have been nice.

    - Nice clean room - Big bath - Aircon (much needed in 30-40 degrees heat - Free wifi - Lovely continental breakfast - Polite staff

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Group

    Slightly noizy place. Near is highway, so sometimes at night you can hear traffic noise from open window.

    Comfortable place in downtown with easy access to public transport

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Couple

    We used hotel only one night for music event visit near form the hotel. Staff was very helpful and nice. Also there is a secure car park with plenty of space for those who travel by car.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fürdő kicsit antik, itt-ott kis javítás ráférne csap csöpög.

    Ár-érték arányban teljesen elfogadható, reggeli jó, szoba és a fürdő tiszta, fürdő világítás is jó nem egy sötét lyuk, munka után kit tudtam pihenni magam kellően. Nekem megfelelt, ajánlom másoknak is.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a bit far from town.

    We come here quite often when in Budapest as it is very cheap on the weekends. The staff are great and always meet our requests. Breakfast is good. The tram stops just down the street.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Family with young children

    Could be cleaner

    Breakfast Good price

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Couple

    Surface parking for extra charge at this location doesn't feel justified.

    Easy to access by car. Cleanliness, comfort.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Couple

    The location and the parking.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We steyed in an apartment, it was comfortable, clean, and nice. Breakfast was also fine.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was given us the wrong room, not the onw we booked. Towels were dirty

    wifi conection

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    internet issues

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    - smell in rooms - room by the road a little noisy

    - staff willing to help - 10 minutes walk to Danube (Dunaparty Megálló is a nice place)

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Large family room and nice breakfast. Good price.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Couple

    cleanless, furnitur with dust.

    breakfast

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Browse Hotel Luna Budapest traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: