Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Makar Sport & Wellness 4 stars

7635 Pécs, Középmakár dűlő 4., Hungary

#19 of 25 hotels in Pécs

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 668 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was rather poor. The room we had was very dark; we requested to get it changed, but no success.

    The beds were comfortable. The indoor pool was great. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    3* hotel amenities are obsolete - still stuck in previous political system design patterns. the same applies to organization - they are hiding air condition remote in reception desk's drawers. no language communication with cleaning staff unless you speak Hungarian, no international TV channels, dead flowers and plants at dining terrace

    hotel staff is very friendly and helpful (above average), rooms are clean, tidy and spacious, kitchen corner is an asset, nice dining terrace. 3* and 4* differs much - chose 4* whenever booking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned style from nineties, somewhat in need of a refurbishing. Breakfast is very basic, cheap and unattractive food.

    Comfortable, quiet and spacious room with a kitchen corner and sofa.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection !

    The internet connection wasn’t good and when we told staff they didn’t do much about it! Also when entering the hotel late night .. we got a room that is more like a 2/3 star hotel! When we complained they said it’s for the last minute special deals! You have to pay more if you want better room. But the manager was a bit more helpful and day 2 offered us to stay in top floors which had better internet connection and room was more like a 4 star hotel room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to upgrade my room because the cheap one you can book through the booking.com is in the old wing of the building which is closer to 2 stars but the new wing is really 4 stars.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would suggest some international food for breakfast (ex. bacon, ham) not just hungarian one (only scrambled egg, sausages and salami). Then one night the jacuzzi was very stinky, but the bnext day it was ok.way my Anyway overall my impression was very good.

    Superior room very nice and comfortable. Clean and spaceful bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is located on a hill and quite far from the city center. It can reach here by buses but maybe quite difficult for tourists to use them because most of bus drivers rarely speak English. My suggestion is to take shuttle bus from airport or take taxi from the city center.

    Inside the room was really nice even outside look a bit old. Breakfast was good and variety. The bathroom is simple and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room I was at had a windows to the yard, where there was not much light even during sunny day. So I had to anytime of the day, even late morning turn on lights.

    Free access to wellness and fitness centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's too far away from the city centre if you want sightseeing, however you can borrow bike.

    Quiet place outside the city centre. Squash and tennis courts available. Small pool, too. They have cheaper (less comfortable) and more expensive (better) rooms. Breakfast included. Wifi signal is good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. This is a really well maintained property where management obviously set high standards

    Staff were enthusiastic and very helpful. The hotel is immaculate and our room was in top condition. Beds was comfortable and there was adequate storage facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wifi connection in the rooms, no schampoo or conditioner although it's a four star hotel... no roomservice in the evening and if you arrive late there is no way to get food as there are no restaurants nearby and the hotel will not offer this (not even snacks). Staff did not show us to our room just half way and we arrived around 9 p.m. after taking the 3 hour airport shuttle from Budapest, so we had to search for our door in the dark outside and use our phones to see the numbers on the doors. We asked if we could order food to the hotel as there seem to be no other alternative and pay with card as we have yet to take out cash in their currency and the staff said that is not possible without cash. I asked if they could pay for the food and put it on our room then and we pay it when we check out and they said no. I asked for schampoo in the reception and he said they don't have that and as a receptionist it's not their job to handle things like that. Then I asked who I should ask then and he said "there is no one". The service was very bad, unfriendly staff in general and not located near anything (city, transport, restaurants).

    Hotel breakfast is average and rooms are okay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing was good, the tempreture in the room was above 30 Celsius, no air condition in operation. Upon several requests the staff told us that the air condition would have been repaired but nothing happened during the whole day, night and the following day. The staff also promised to give us a ventilator, but nothing happened either..This is definitely not a four star hotel.

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds weren't very comfortable. The town center a little too far away. I feel it was a bit overpriced.

    The view was beautiful, the location was ok, the breakfast was wide variety, the spa was great. The rooms had air conditions and a staff are extra helpful and friendly!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was ok, but just that. The staff barely spoke english (some did not) which was a big problem. At the restaurant we all ordered the beef tenderloin and found out they only had one. When we decided to order that one and something else for the other people the waiter said they had NO beef tenderloin. There was one older man at the restaurant that we liked :) The food we got was just ok. The hot tub at the spa was disgusting and dirty. The hair dryer in our room only worked for 30 sek at a time and then we had to wait for a minute to use it for 30 sek again. Told the staff about this but they did nothing.

    The room was big and very nice. The cleaning staff did a great job as well as some of the people at the reception - not all. Not far from the center of Pécs and enough parking spaces.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Sauna not hot enough and there were nails raising from the wall, almost hit my back and caused serious harm to my back! - jacuzzi was awful and not hot

    - Room facilities are excellent - Swimming indoor pool is good - Breakfast was really good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They advertise their rooms with fake photos. 90% of the photos are about the superior rooms, there are also some about the standard ones *but* the ones about the standard rooms are about their best one. This standard room would be acceptable but all others are really bad and it is really unlikely that you will get the one on the photo. The standard rooms have only one wall facing window which makes them **very** dark. They are generally dirty and feel like you flew back to the communist era. Also the wellness facilities are in a very bad shape, they are in need of a renovation very badly. You have to ask them all the time to switch on the Jacuzzi. Also the inner city is 40 minutes walk away.

    The food was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ham stinked and had a bit tired colour (too old). I tooked a dinner at arrival and they gave me a cold soup. Overall impression from food was very negative

    There was for free acces to sauna and pool, undortunatelly they did not offered any bathrobe, or area where to overdress and to walk naked trough whole hotel to sauna was a bit bold to me.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water in the pool its not for winter time, cold air in the pool area, bowling closed, tv has only hungarian channels, red sand on parking, wellness overcrowded at winter night,

    Clean, friendly workers, helpful workers, near bus, free wifi, free parking, sauna, tenis, good breakfast (bestv eggs and debreceni sausage), bar, clean warm rooms, pleasant ambient, jacuzzi, payed with euro, quiet area away from city

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I lost a cardigan in the breakfast room and would have appreciated if the hotel had been that extra alert.

    It was lovely large suite with a beautiful view with the quiet you seek when you move away from big cities.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast is very poor, if you come at 9 o clock may be you become only rest. We become only 1 towel everyday and we were 3 persons.

    Wellnes is nice, hotel is clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    aircon malfunction, low quality of squash courts, outdated wellness, missing outdoor pool, limited range of breakfast, slow recycling of food, no furniture on the balcony

    comfy superior room, kind and flexibile staff, squash and tennis facilities, large indoor swimming pool, good location, fairly good food, correct infos about the hotel (I was informed about the aircon malfunction few days before our stay via email)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Budget Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was a long way from the Old Town - we had to drive. The room was also quite tight for 4 people, and I had to put the suitcases in the entryway to the door.

    If you were planning on staying at the hotel only, there were many things to do.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confy bed, spacious rooms, quiet, nice stuff, good facilities. We got the modern rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold when we arrived and during the night. One of the radiators did not work.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice view, good parking facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult access in garage.

    Good breakfast, spatious room, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wellness is close too early

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some parts of the wellness area should be renewed (jacuzzi) unfortunately not all receptionists are helpful

    helpful receptionist flexibility

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    bad restaurant

    very good room size

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast and wellness at the property :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not any soap or shampoo.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English TV channels.

    Nice wellness facilities!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room, good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pipework in the bathroom would need some general repair. (budget room)

    Nice clean pool and lots of saunas.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was delicious. View was amazing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Budget Twin Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect service and free welness.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air-condition was blowing but not cooling.

    wellness, restaurant

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No street map of the city available. The hotel charged more in Forint than booking.com announced in Euro (due to bad exchange rates, I suppose)

    Sports facilities (which I could not make use of, unfortunately); free Wifi

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Found air conditioning difficult to use

    Hotel in a quiet part of town. Very spacious and clean rooms. Rich breakfast. Considerable parking space in front of hotel. Indoor swimming pool and sports facilities

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no fresh juice at breakfast and lack of choice of bread particularly brown bread. I had some hand made chips (crisps in English) on Sunday evening. I think the oil was stale as I suffered an upset stomach and have not fully recoverd 5 days later. We left early Monday so haven't pursued with hotel

    Clean and modern but a bit spartan for a 4*

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived the room temperature was ~60F.. with adjusting the heating to maximum I was able to get ~65F for the next day. What is still very cold. I think it is extremely disappointing, I expected a warm (normal temperature!) room in a wellness hotel -- at end of December. Also nobody was taking care of the jacuzzi / sauna are at all.. you have to chase multiple people at the reception if you want to find someone who can help you to setup anything. Restaurant's menu selection was somewhat limited and also overpriced compared to other (significant higher quality) locations in Pecs.

    The location was OK, the staff was quite friendly.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The old part needs reconstruction. Difficult entry to the garage. The refilling of the buffet breakfast was poor, warm dishes were cold.

    The rooms in the renewed part are OK, except the poor wifi signal. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toilet paper sometimes stucks in the box. Blinds on one window didnt work. Room where we stayed was not soundproof (isolated). If you dont drive its quite far from city center and bus station. (25-30 mins to center, 45 mins to bus station)

    I liked reception a lot, they helped us with our travel back home. We couldnt find site on the internet to see when we have bus to home and the girl immediately checked and printed out 2 pages. We liked also that swimming pool was not crowded, there was only few people, same in wellness area.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would have liked towels for the pool and wellness centre.

    Our room was big and comfortable. The layout of the hotel is a bit rambling but follow the signs and everything can be found! The wellness spa, pool and sports facilities are excellent. There was plenty of free parking.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    1., there is no toilet paper in the toilet only paper pieces. 2., taps are full of rust. 3., bathroom was full of hairs ad soap foam after the previous guest 4., NO wifi was detectable and was not possible to connect to it with the password. 5., curtains are too narrow.Not possible to cover the windows, people can look into the room. 6., shelter is not working either. Same experience in two rooms. 7., unkind staff.personnel touching his nose while talking to guest. 8., restaurant is located 30 steps high under the roof. Families with baby chair can not go to have breakfast???!!!!NOT APPROPRIATE WITH SMALL CHILDREN!! 9., room is dirty, dust everywhere , the entrance door was dirty too. 10., buttoms of the air conditioner`s remote doesnt match in the guidance book description. 11., staff forgot to provide the air conditioner's remote at check-in. 12. No wifi password in the guidance leaflet. Guest has to call the reception for asking for it and for everything. 13. Grass is burnt. No watering even early in the morning.Management is not interested in taking care of the lawn. Old benches do not look good in a modern hotel. 14. The level is at 2-3 star hotel. Not 4. 15. Guidance leaflet in the room has 4-5pages of massage, face peeling, make up etc. Prices but no word about basic thing:wifi password.

    Worst experience ever regarding hotels. There is 3 language bible.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing in particular.

    The hotel has a high standard. The room was well-furnished and well-equiped with comfortable beds. There was a wide choice of tasty food at breakfest.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Were unhappy when we would have liked to use indoor pool, as on Tuesday during our stay it was full with the owner? Relatives!! Also noticed they also got to eat dinner out of normal times than everyone else.

    Wi-fi excellent Food & drink really cheap

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    small room, with window on stairs very old and dirty whirpool on Reception please open your eyes when you are paying, lady write me using minibar even I told her I dont drink anything. When I check the bill, she told me sorry that she made mistake, but If I didnt check then they would charge me 590 HF for nothing.

    swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only down side is the bed, it is small if you are around 2m high, otherwise, if you are average height, like i am, it is ok.

    Wifi signal in rooms is excellent. Spa is great. Rooms are spacious (we were in the budget room) - good value for money. Breakfast is also good. Free parking in front of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good wellness infrastructure, nice breakfast, calm environment. Good traffic to city.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Clean and spacious rooms, friendly staff, solid breakfast, nice pool and wellness

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor breakfest

    good hotel for good price, missing english speaking tv

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    everything is perfect. Spa zone, sport, restaurant, everything

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's a very good hotel especially for who wants to have some relax.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: