Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Margareta

8230 Balatonfüred, Széchenyi u. 53., Hungary

#13 of 18 hotels in Balatonfüred

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 475 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent Location - staff was very, very friendly. Excellent breakfast. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends! It was nice to have a balcony with a pleasant view (pool and partial view to the lake Balaton). Daniel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a room in the older part of the building, if you can afford upgrade to the new building. The rooms are renovated, but still holding the signs from the 80s. The shower holder was not working and could not be repaired eventhough the staff was really helpful. Low water pressure. I suspect the newer rooms do not have these kind of issue.

    Breakfast was ok, nothing fancy. The staff is really nice and helpful!!! Nice, newly built spa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The television was a noisy, but accepteble. TV wasn't a requirement for me. After connecting to the wifi the default DNS broadcasted by the network didn't work all the time (average user would have seen their browser cannot connect and the OS reports no internet connection - however only the name resolution is wrong). I had either overridden the DNS settings or used company VPN and typed in IP addresses I remember. The communication was lagging sometimes but I used techniques to be able to continue any work suspended. I didn't need to do conference calls, though. The DNS troubles could pose more difficulty in case of an average user or a noob.

    Newer rooms have wall cooling on top of a regular AC. I knew the property, so I got what I expected. I had to prepare for 4 talks during a congress, that requires calm and comfy room to stay. The beds were clean and comfortable. I'm 193cm and the beds are long enough for me. The breakfast and the dinner buffets were fine (I'm Hungarian). The bathroom and the towels were clean. Hairdryer was included for the type of room I stayed in. The stay was excellent. I could prepare undisturbed for my talks and could sleep comfortably. The staff was helpful and sweet. They printed a temporary key card instantly when I left it in my room on case before dinner. There is an outer and and inner pool, a wellness (jakuzzi, sauna, various massage). I haven't had time to use these this time, but they were fine during a previous stay while on an off-season running competition around Lake Balaton. BTW: for runners do check out Balaton Supermarathon (annual 196km in 4 days every March).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have more varieties.

    Super friendly staff with great advises for discovering the area. Big plus for the bike rent service!!! Cozy hotel in a great location with easy access to the beach (5 min. walk).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the way they taking the money as once i book the hotel for 2 nights itson online sayes 36000 huf but once i checked out its asked me to pay 40000huf i know 4000huf doesnt make any difrent for me but its kind of cheating with customer that u said something but u take something eles .which is not correct .and receptionist girl was rude she doesnt know how to talk with customer.

    I like the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would only have liked the breakfast to start a little earlier. My kids wake up early, so we didn't like waiting until 7:30.

    The hotel has a playroom for children...it saved the day! Also, the kids pool in the spa area was perfect for my 1 year old and 3 year old. It was very shallow so they could play and I could relax a bit. The breakfast and dinner were great and had a lot of variety. Everything was very clean. I highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated The air-con didn't work properly The shower plug was always blocked The corridor was very smelly The food was very average No laundry service was available

    The staff were very very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dirty tablecloths and baby seats (but tasty food). Night shift receptionist didnt hade a cloue, but whas nice.

    Confortabel baby bed and great baby pool. Great wiev, nice swimming pool. Normal drink prices, tasty food. Friendly staff. Air conditioned.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff at the reception had no clue about anything. She was nice but..she didnt really understand whats going on around her or what are we talking about.... Like we are talking to the wall...

    The biosauna was really good and relaxing. Food is amazing! Most of the staff was very nice, friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food quality did not meet expections. Bakery wasn’t fresh at breakfast. Choice for dinner was limited.

    New and spacy rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful staff, I could place my expensive bike in the room. Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soups were amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was spacious and modern

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Evening meal could have a bit more variaty.

    Very nice clean place. Excellent bed. Friendly personnel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect place, very clean, delicious food and fantastic staff!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunetly the furniture was old and room was dirty. Not the hotel I would like to visit again.

    Location and staff was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That it did not have lakeside access

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Delicious food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the food.

    decent location for money worth.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast , food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning in the room. WIFI very slow. Noise from nearby disco till 5am in the morning. Old furniture, felt like we are back in the 80's.

    Good location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning insufficient even in reception. The presence of fans would be make more pleasant.

    Friendly obliging staff and excellent fresh abundant menu choice

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air condition in the room

    Good location,neat and tidy hotel, kind staff members, nice food.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice place, staff and accommodation. It is place for families or people who want to have a relax. I love it there :)

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    rooms are much worse than looks on the pictures.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: