Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget 4 stars

1007 Budapest, Margitsziget, Hungary

#135 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2856 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't really think of anything.

    We spent the last night of a 10 day road trip through Hungary at this hotel. It was wonderful to be on Margit Island so near to the Japanese Garden and with a lovely view of the Danube. The live Hungarian music during dinner was a treat. We also enjoyed all the facilities in the spa which was probably the most well kept of all of our Hungarian spa experiences.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior of the building looks shabby. The front entrance and gardens need some maintenance. The standard rooms are small and dingy. Get a room on 3rd floor.

    Great location. We upgraded our room to one overlooking the Danube. It was lovely. The lobby and dining areas are lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment my friend and I arrived on Margaret island we were gobsmacked at how stunning,peaceful and beautiful the place was.The Japanese gardens were beautiful and the grounds oh wow just breathtaking.When we seen the hotel wow was all we could say as it was so elegant, posh and beautiful.The staff were so friendly, kind, professional and helpful and always had a smile on their faces.Our room was out of this world ,classic; beautiful and so clean .We were given robes and slippers for the spa the cleaners so nicely put them on display on our beds when we went up to our rooms ,we even had a beautiful veranda which we would sit out on in the mornings and evenings.The cleaners did a fantastic job cleaning the rooms each day and adding fresh towels and robes to our room they even folded my pyjamas so neatly on my bed and put my books in order on my bedside table Thank you.Free tea and coffee in the room was great and each day were would get free soap in the bathroom and free shower gel the smell was so pure and sweet I loved it.The pools were so cool, the outdoor one was fantastic alongside the sun terrace and then inside all the other pools were so cool too a lot of them were warm which was really nice and relaxing, the jacuzzi aroma room and sauna were just amazing.The lifeguards were really kind, helpful and friendly and really concerned and caring for guests that used the pool both indoor and outdoor.I had a massage and it was the best massage I have ever had and for that price again great job.My therapist was so kind and friendly and nice and really did a great job in releasing all the tension from my busy stressful lifestyle.The massages, facials, baths, manicures and pedicures on offer were just incredible, if I had more time I would definitely get more done.The hotel even had a hairdresser and cosmetic surgery and laser eye surgery could this place get any better?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some difficulty with communicating in English with the staff. Also, we would have appreciated more information how to get to the city center by boat. It seems that there are boats going there, which would be something nice to do in the summer, but information was scarce and we finally gave up after wanting quite long at the pier with other people having no clue when the next boat would arrive.

    Very nice and relaxing atmosphere, located on a little green isle in the Danube river. The location is very quiet but still not far from the city center (there is a bus going there quite frequently). The building is a charming old building in quite good condition. the breakfast at the terrace is wonderful. Also the buffer dinner was very good. Being able to use the facilities of the adjacent spa resort is also great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pub closed at 6pm! Food wasn't great and breakfast is very overpriced.

    Spa area was good, loved the outdoor pool. Also, ferry into central Budapest was great and really close to the hotel. Some staff, especially the younger ones, are really nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Plus Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    175 EUR is a bit too expensive, pool full of old people, feels like hospital, not relaxing spa ))) and it's not very comfortable to reach in the other building. pools are not big.

    excelent room size and ambiente, with small balcony with park view. perfect gulyash soupe, and very helpful staff. Good service in general, charming island, and great building, architecture masterpiece. Would appreaciate a bit more info how to get to the Island from the centre by public transport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door knobs in hotel gave trouble.

    The restaurant provided a buffet of Hungarian treats each night and a band played quietly during supper. We ate there almost every night due to convenience and we loved it. Rooms were very large and beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plus Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee quality, price / quality ratio of the dinner offer, connecting corridor to spa, old elevators, poor connection by public transportation to the city center.

    Breakfast offered wide choice of meals, but too few vegeterian options! Given the 4 star rating, coffee could be better as it was just ordinary machines like from a gas station bar. The hotel need some more refurbishment, but generally is ok. Beds are comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wonderful hotel, great location on Margret Island, quite no traffic or city noise, we slept with the windows open. Dining is just superb, great meals/drinks at very reasonable prices and supported by a very good band of muscians makes for a great night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent only one night there. It was all good. If you are planning a sightseeing or you have business in Budapest downtown, the central location of the premises is perfect!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one remark". We had a part of apartement, which means joining with the next room with simple (locked) door and all sounds from the neighbours were hearable (fortunately they were quite calm and quite) - room Nr. 161. Next time we wouldn´t want this kind of room.

    In general very good stay, excellent breakfasts, very nice area at Margitsziget Island. Very good connection to the city. Also personal staff service was on the good level. Thanks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was shoddy. The balcony or outdoor terrace was unclean. The bedsheet had ciggaratte holes. Ants were running on the study table and the floor

    The location is flawless

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had breakfast there each day and it was quite poor standard. After first two day no fresh juice just a machine that spat out various insipid light colours of syrupy stuff. no great selection of fresh fruits at all, yoghurt the consistency of water. There was a buffet of hot stuff but took ages to replace. you could also get freshly cooked stuff too if you were lucky enough to get a menu on your table but invariably it turned up cold and overcooked. Coffee/tea machine gave up on the third day and mechanic could only get it up to a certain temperature.

    Rooms were fine with air con and kept clean, spa facilities at their neighbouring co hotel were good and included. Wifi good too. The location on the island is great and the park area very well kept and used. It was also good to be located slightly outside of the central areas so overall we got a great mix of calm & busy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Margaret island is a fantastic place to get rest after busy day in the capitol. The bus stop is only 3 minutes walk from the hotel (bus 26 going to the very center of the town- Nyugati railway station). The island is green, calm and safe. Good for sport, romantic walks in the evenings, perfect for families with children. Free access to the Spa zone allows to splash out the hit of the city. Parking is available @ very reasonable price (around 9 euro/night). I would suggest that hotel to anyone coming both for leisure or business to Budapest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the location, the island is very peaceful and if you like walking it’s lovely to walk into the city after breakfast. The spa is great, hotel clean, breakfast superb. Would recommend, we really liked it. It is a half an hour walk into the city but there are buses plus the hop on hop off goes on the island too. A great running track around too which we did!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could have been more tea bags/milk/coffee etc in the room, only one tea bag per day but when I requested more they instantly sent some up. There were no slippers in the room - which you need for the spa, again we contacted reception and shortly after they were delivered to our room. The breakfast is rather expense 15 euros but there was plenty to choose from - we did notice the next day however that the next door Danubius hotel does smaller breakfasts for much less cost which would have been good to have known... It's nice to relax on the island where the air is fresh after wondering around in the city however you do need to get buses up and down the island, If i were to go again I would recommend renting bicycles from day one to cycle up and down to the bridge or if you want to be in the thick of things stay on the mainland.

    The beds were very comfortable and the staff friendly. The thermal bath and swimming pool were lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and worn feel. Renovations are happening.

    Spa, swimming pool and gym complex included in price were excellent Easy bus access into central city though last bus 10pm Beautiful island to walk through Rooms - standard double worn, bathroom small

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for travelers who is looking to get rest in a quiet place of interesting city. Rooms in the hotel are very well equipped, and staff of the hotel is helpful. SPA complex very well organized and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are maintenance issues which I recognise are being dealt with floor by floor.

    Superb, peaceful location. Wonderful service standards, in fact exemplary. As a retired Head of Standards for a 64 hotel UK chain, I would have been delighted if our staff could have attained those standards. A wonderful bonus to have live and talented musicians at dinner every night. All of the staff were efficient, friendly and could speak English. I would'nt hesitate to go back there. In fact I would live to do so. Congratulations to the management.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location on the river island, perfect room in old fashion, excellent food and vine, Mineral hot water Spa center with excellent organization and working time from 6:30 am till 21:30 pm, very polite staff, wonderful lobby, everything is perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The big problem was the bed, it was very soft and uncomfortable, and double beds vere seperated and sliding apart. The other minus was that parking was paid (8euros per night).

    The first-day-breakfast was really delicious, but the other days it was poorer, but still very good and I think that they would make you what you would wish so no problem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel doesn't have some library or some room with work tables. We had to finish some work, but the only place where you can put your laptop are the coffee tables around the hotel or the table in your room. During breakfast waiters were very slow with refiling the missing juices and with "extra" orders included in the price. We have ordered regular omelette and we waited for it more than 20 minutes. The explanations was: "There is only one chef." Since we were staying the Grand hotel, that is very unprofessional. During check-in, they asked from us to fill the A4 forms by hand. It's 21st century people - use computers!

    Hotel is located on the lovely island. If you love walks, it is the best location in Budapest. Spa, pool and fitness facilities are awesome. We had awesome time. They provided us with free vouchers for salt room because the reconstruction of some areas of the hotel which, to be honest, we didn't notice. Hotel has nice rooms, nice bar and friendly staff. Breakfast is good and it has nice variety of food choices. Hotel is very dog friendly so bring your companion with you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room service food was not good. I ordered tofu which tasted like rubber and took over an hour to come.... but the food in the dining room was excellent

    The breakfast was excellent and the staff were very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is situated on Margaret Island in a beautiful green park. The entrance lobby is magnificent and the welcoming staff very helpful. Rooms are a good size, kettles and cups very useful, and all clean and well stocked. The breakfast buffet was excellent and very substantial with a great range of both food and drinks. The staff were friendly and helpful and booked spa treatments at the sister spa hotel which were both convenient and very relaxing. Public transport via buses were very close by and frequently running, with good connections to other transport around the city. Pre-purchasing a Budapest Card for the duration of our trip was a good investment, as we could hop on and hop off all the transport starting from just close to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is just awesome. We liked it a lot - quite place it's located at, spa facilities, hospitable personnel, cozy room and overall hotel with its classic style (enormous pleasure from observing its old-fashioned classic style).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very traditional hotel with traditional furnishings, bed was a little hard and bathroom needed an actual shower not a bath/shower.

    This was an all round nice hotel. It is currently under going renovations however did not impede any activities that the hotel had to offer (a free salt cave experience was offered to be used throughout my stay). The staff were excellent, breakfast was very good, and it was quiet. Good location, right in the middle of the Danube with eaay access from both ends of the island.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I ordered a 2 bed room and i got a very large king size bed. I would have put this comment in the "what did you like" tab if my room mate would have been female.

    High professional service level suitable for a 5* Hotel. SPA very nice! Food was extremely good but i guess in Hungary its only average/good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deluxe rooms are not the same size even though the price is the same. Depends which one you get.

    Excellent staff, great spa, amazing location. It was our second stay here and we will definitely come again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee making facilities could be improved, not enough tea bags provided and too few milks, especially for British visitors who do love a cup of tea! Hairdryer in room also prohibitively small and weak, took a very long time to dry hair. Otherwise excellent stay.

    Excellent value for money in beautiful location, on an island but easily walkable to the centre. Warm and comfortable room. Renovations were taking place whilst we were there so we were given a voucher for a spa treatment and a bar of chocolate in the room as a gesture to compensate for any noise disturbance (it was minimal) and a nice touch. Very logical and useful room lay out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelled for business. Would never travel for business here again! Staff were very unhelpful in the danubius spa (sister hotel) where my business room was booked. A huge queue and took ages to speak to someone.I was told I didn't have a conference room booked. I had to challenge and eventually they found the booking. I requested a Projector for a 2 hour meeting. Was assured no issue. I was then called out of the shower to resolve an 'urgent issue!'. It took 30 mins for the technician to 'install' the projector. Then told me it would cost 140 euros!!!! But I could get a discount and it would cost 100 euros. Then was told it was impossible to install without the laptop (my Hungarian business partner was bringing his device later). Overall, an absolute disaster. Eventually I was so angry I told them to remove the projector and just leave. I complained to the hotel and there was no apology or compensation for the 2 hrs hassle, ridiculous charges & calling me out of the shower. I then resolved the issue with my business partner independently. Overall, disgusting service and totally unnecessary hassle with NO resolution or ownership of the consequences of their behaviours.

    Facilities in the spa were amazing. Room was clean and location is beautiful. For leisure travel - excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was little bit dirty (esp. floor) and on the third day (Monday) the warmest pool in the spa was quite dirty ("sand" on the bottom and any black shreds all in the water).

    Very good breakfast, quiet room, nice view, perfect location with good access to the city center, great spa and fitness, very nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit far from major attractions, however the island offered a really nice park to walk through!

    Really nice and gentle staff, especially front desk was really kind and was able to help with everything!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Curtains in the room (162) were poor.

    Nice location on Margaret Island, bit far from city Centre although public transport makes getting there and back easy. Nice to use the Spa facilities in the spa hotel next door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very old, tv did not work for 3 out of 4 days despite requesting attention, on two days I could not take a shower because of yellow brown stinking water.

    The massage

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was not my first time at this hotel. The hotel is peacefully located on the beautiful Margaret Island and the bus 26 runs every 15min. to connect to the center. The rooms are, clean, spacious and they have all sort of amanities (safe, robes, kettle, tv, room service..) The spa area is beautiful and well kept. We did numerous treatments during our stay and the staff was great and professional. The breakfast was great and the room service too. Will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast for a crazy price 15 euro. The cost is not include salmon or champagne. Just other restaurants are very far away.

    A great place to relax in the thermal pools. I liked the salt cave. The hotel is located on an island in the center of the city. Beautiful view at the island and the Danube. It has easily accessible by public transport - bus 26.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have been stayed in the Grand hotel several times and each time it was very very nice. Great location to switch off, fantastic SPA area, professional massages (this time the lady called Eva made a massage for me - I can only recommend ), and helpful staff. For sure, I will come again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Children should not ride bicycle in the hotel lobby. My husband went down to eat breakfast , but he changed his mind, because the new generation families eat like pigs and they dress like they were at home. Do not missunderstand me, I don´t blame the hotel for that, but the hotel should have a dress and behavioural policy at the restaurang.

    Very nice hotel with nice rooms. We booked a twin room, but when we entered the room we saw that there was a double room. The receptionist gave us a twin room without any problem and the our new room was bigger and nicer than the previous one. The location of the hotel is perfect on the Margit island.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV did not work in the room, thin walls so you hear your neighbours, small but clean bathroom and the heating of the room was to hot creating very dry air.

    Classical old style Hungarian hotel. High ceilings and a spa is attached if you have time to go.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Think 15eu for additional breakfast per person is a bit steep. Uncomfortable pillows (only one per person and clearly very worn). Margitsziget Island is reasonably easy to access by bus or walking (although is some distance, with luggage) but once on, there is a limited amount to do without a real trek (esp given the hotel is on North side of the island). Therefore, difficult to find alternative locations to eat out for dinner - although our experience was good at the hotel - and in winter, amount of things to do on the island is somewhat limited. Good for a chill-out session but no so much as a base for exploring/sightseeing.

    Fascinating building, friendly staff. Good spa facilities (if a little confusing to get into). Was not expecting to enjoy dinner (very limited other options for eating nearby) but fantastic gypsy band playing throughout which was lovely, and good quality of food given it was a buffet. Good value for money at the price we paid. Some building work while we were there but this was clearly explained prior to arrival, and money off spa treatments was provided on check in which I thought was a thoughtful touch - so we didn't mind! Rooms are a little worn (hence the renovations on level 2) but actually perfectly comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Most of it. It's a hotel from the communist era. The furnitures are at least 30 years old and it didn't have a proper re-docoration. The spa is more like a treatment facility rather than a leisure place. The breakfast didn't feel like made of fresh ingredients. We have changed to another hotel even though we had to pay one night penalty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tiny thing really - more English tea / early grey teabags / milk in the room, refreshed daily please.

    Everything from the spa to the restaurant, was top class. A thoroughly magnificent stay and one to repeat AND recommend to our colleagues and friends.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa (massage etc) is very weak, weak specialists - would not recommend Hotel is not good for treatments, but ok if you want to swim and chill at sauna and walk around the island. Pool and sauna facilities are pretty small and not very clean. No shopping corner - you cant buy water or anything in hotel or on the island , must drive to the centre Breakfast offered totally same for all 7 days, would me nice to have some variety

    Nice staff, helpful Quiet hotel good for relaxing Cool park (island itself) Rooms are pretty old but still cozy Every day room cleaning Fast room service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was smaller than expected, and also dimly lit no matter how many lights we turned on. The mattress was well-used...it was becoming flat on the side where everyone gets on and off. The most bizarre thing: The two curtains hanging from the track were too narrow to cover the width of the window.

    Having a direct, underground tunnel over to the spa was great...especially due to the fact that usage of the spa was included in our stay! The quiet location on the island offers a nice reprieve after a day in the heart of Budapest...at least in the winter. I could also imagine that the whole island comes alive in the summer with all the beautiful park space and recreation centers.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at hotel at midnight, bar shut, no room service. Only food on offer was nuts from mini bar

    Comfortable rooms, lovely spa, tranquil location but easy to get into town

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't really like the bed, only bad point for me.

    Great hotel. The staff is very attentive and nice! Large choice for diner and breakfest. Amazing spa & pool!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    3 star hotel at best, 0 star bathroom. Asked to fixed the drain 3 times, it was never fixed. Would not stay again.

    Nice location on the island, big and spacious hotel, ok interior, free baths is a nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some cleanings were missing. One day the room was not cleaned at all. Next day they took avay only garbage. We have to call the manager to show the result of cleaning.

    Very good restaurant. Tasty food, frienly personnel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The position on the island in the middle of the river is perfect. The island is beautiful and the running track round the outside makes it perfect for an early morning run.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurants in hotel are expensive and to eat good food in resonable price you have to go to go downtown.

    Good place for runners. On island you will find great truck, a lot of runners and place for workout.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in pool was terrible sometimes. Not walking distance to City Centre and not much choice for dinner on the island (but buffet available in hotel) Not much happening on the island in October.

    Lovely setting and decor in the hotel. Pool and spa facilities available. Good selection at breakfast buffet and order from kitchen option available. Quite isolated on the island, nice and relaxing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Venue is actually pretty far from the city. Cleaners are okay. The hotel is pretty old school.

    Bed was comfy, the spa facilities are nice, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance to the city centre. The best option would be getting a taxi however the language barrier meant it was easier to walk even though it meant walking the length of the island to reach the city centre. Food was a little on the expensive side.

    Facilities were really good. Free access to the health spa next door via an underground corridor also meant easy access. Rooms had plenty of space for two people. Really good entertainment whilst eating in the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite mentioned some cold food available after 11pm we were not able to order any. Bar closes at midnight although hotel has 4 star status.

    Use of the thermal baths and swimming pool; although beware you cannot use lockers in changing room if you are staying in hotel as these are for the use of outside guests!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff members could use more people pleasing skills..location was remote so getting from the hotel to anywhere is difficult. The English language is not widely used and we found us in the metro was impossible. Guess we're just not made for city living!

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please please pack non slip beach shoes/slippers for the spa. The floor is like glass and highly slippery when wet! I fell in bare feet so dont risk it!

    The quiet island. Food great. Staff great. Lovely edwardian ambiance in hotel. Close enough to central Budapest but felt like a weekend in the country. Fabulous spa area with underground walkway so just dressing gown required.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little difficult to reach with public transport from city center. Only one busline passes the hotel (late evenings it is better to take a taxi)

    Nice building almost on the river bank. Great view and (traditional) luxury atmosphere. Nice spa in the adjoining hotel can be used free of charge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Strange bedding and sheet arrangement. Heated towel rail needed. Room a little cold.

    Good spa facilities. Lovely salt cave. Good massages. Room doors do not bang and carpeted halls so quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is approx 20 min walk into city but this was ok for us

    Our room overlooked the Danube was peaceful ,spacious and homely ,the island is a haven of nature and the locals love their timeout there .good choice of food with string quartet ,buffet dinner v reasonable ,spa centre pool cool!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could do with some updating and the plumbing needs attention as neither the bathtub/shower nor the hand basin drained properly. On checking out the bill is very confusing e.g. There is the room price, the restaurant charges and separate taxes ... Almost impossible to work out what you have been charged for!

    We had a lovely, big, sunny, corner room with 2 windows overlooking the river and garden, and a balcony. However some of the other rooms appeared to be quite small. The breakfast had good choices. Make sure you order the freshly made eggs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If i have to say something milk to be provided with the tea in the room

    Stunning location and easy to walk in to the city, service was excellent I did not want to leave

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little old woldy, but I would stay there again

    The hotel is situated on the Island on River Danube city centre. It suited me for business trip. If you like jogging perfect or looking for something different. The hotel spa attached is very Eastern European style, I enjoyed it, I had a decent swim and then sat in the SPA. Restaurant good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff on check in was a bit abrupt and brusque. Check out staff was great. There was also a utility pipe sticking out of the sidewalk a little to the left of the entrance doors that is in the middle of the walk and a safety hazard. I had a bad fall coming back from the river walk around 7 pm and when l told the staff they said they were aware of it but nothing has been done. I would have expected an offer of a free night next time l go, or some other compensation.

    Fantastic waiters in the dining room and the small bar. Totally understand the concept of why we were there, to get some relaxation and renewal after family visits in several cities. Spa is very nice as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel is nicely located on a large island in the Danube. While the island in itself is a beautiful park, the hotel is really far from downtown, and public transportation is not really convenient. So it is a good place to stay and relax, but not so much if you want to visit the city - unless you use a taxi.

    The wellness area (in the nearby Danube Resort Hotel) is really great. It is reachable via a short tunnel from the Grand Hotel. The Hotel's restaurant has a nice band playing music at dinner time, and it makes it really pleasant to dine there, even if you are alone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeted very politely and shown to our extremely spacious room. Bathrobes provided for spa access and slippers available to use from reception. The island is paradise! Will definitely be visiting again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say

    Stunning hotel. Lovely location on Margaret Island was so relaxing and was really great to have access to all the spa facilities at the neighbouring resort too

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel staff were rude, unhelpful and begrudgingly served us. The food was not to a four star standard

    I liked the pool and spa facilities the staff in this department were excellent and ready to help

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The purpose of the trip was to relax, and everything in the hotel allows it to be done(wonderful spa, medical procedures, clean air of the park, silence,quality food in the restaurant)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is nice and comfortable. It is well connected to the city center by public transport (or 9EUR taxi ride), but located in a quiet and beautiful place. The gym and spa opens from 6 AM to 9:30 PM, so there's plenty of time to enjoy. The service was excellent. I have even forgotten some personal belongings in the room and the personnel has taken all the steps to help me get my stuff returned. Overall, a very good experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my room wasn't made up - i had to call reception at 3pm to find out why and then someone did it - that really shocked me - the guy said yes they should be automatically made up - i think a lot of these chamber maids cheat and don't do the full job, esp in fancy hotels also the teas weren't filled up in the mini bar area so i couldn't make myself anymore cups of tea lack of attention to detail...

    location, hotel, access to spa and pools

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the staff was more friendly and helpful in guiding visitors from non western countries. Breakfast at Euro 15per person is not justified. It should be complimentary.

    Location is very nice, but you should have your own car. Taxis are a RipOff in Budapest. Room was on the back side with no view. Furnishings in the room was quute poor. No sofas. Only chairs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we came all rooms were full so we got free upgrade to junior suite. Location of this hotel is nice and quiet, easy to take a bus or mol bubi bike and go to the city center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Restaurant is expensive but has a high quality, good service. We did not take the overpriced buffet but ate à la carte once. Took other meals in the city, actually we preferred the BJC (Budapest Jazz Club) restaurant where you can get even better for half the price and without the Gipsy orchestra - which is fine for one night but would annoy me if I had to listen to it every night ;-) Would have liked a shower in stead of a bath.

    Large rooms, friendly staff, very luxurious, good location close to transport, calm but still in the city. Reasonable price for parking and garage, the spa was good, free towels each visit to the spa, has a bit of Grandeur to it. The breakfast buffet is as extensive as it gets. Recommendable if price is acceptable : I would rate a maximum of 120 Euro per night, breakfast and spa access included, as a correct price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although this is an amazing location, it is not necessarily the easiest place for nipping in and out of the main city.

    The facilities of the hotel were fantastic - incredible spa, exceptional restaurant, amazing location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The food in the restaurant for dinners was subpar. Chose to go out to eat elsewhere. Not good value for the quality. Also, they charged a service fee for the dinner when it was buffet style (serve yourself). They did not even come by to take your dirty dishes when you went back up for another serving/course. Why is there a service charge for poor service? I did not like the showers in the bathrooms. the water sprayed all over the floor when you took a shower.

    I liked the people working there. Friendly and helpful. I liked the hot baths below and the cleanliness of hotel. I like the property that the hotel is on. I like the amenities that it offered.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Danubius Grand Hotel Margitsziget traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: