Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Marmara Hotel Budapest 4 stars

1055 Budapest, Nagy Ignác str. 21., Hungary

#207 of 353 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2338 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.3
    Spacious room with balcony, quick internet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no noise isolation from outside: you hear every car passing by. And garbage collector at 5:30am. Just two small elevators, takes ages to reach the 6th floor or go down. At arrival the parking garage door didn't function, have parked on the street. Which worked out very well.

    Spacious room with balcony, quick internet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    5.0
    perfer another place in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was really desapointed by this experience. I was came to run the budapest Marathon, and nothing was dedicacted for runners (all around the world, there is kindy attentions for them) - My room wasn't clean on sunday because I was on the room after running, I asked to wait 5 minutes, but nobody was came after - the sunday breakfast is with fresh frozen horrible bread - I'm desapoionted by the expérience because the place's prices are higher than same place in the center and we could naturally except pleasant experience

    the room was comfortable , the italian restaurants near the hotel - tramway and metro near the hotel, facility to go in centr of city(osteria mille lire, the best pizza in budapest)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, stuff, clean hotel, very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a double room with 1 extra bed and a large double bed isn't large enough if 3-year old is sleeping with 2 adults. For 2 adults and 2 kids better option is to take 2 double rooms. Otherwise it is a great hotel...

    Excellent location, stuff, clean hotel, very good breakfast...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.2
    Nice junior suite close to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We drank instant coffee in the room first morning and the coffee bags were not replaced. Tv had only one Hungarian channel.

    Nice junior suite with large balcony for a family of 4. Excellent breakfast in a nice lobby. Parking available for an extra 20 Euros per night. Hotel staff very helpful in every respect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.0
    1 traveller could not come along unexpectedly because of an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1 traveller could not come along unexpectedly because of an unexpected passing away of the father. There was no understanding we even had to pay for the breakfast of the absent one. Totally ridiculous

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Staff extremely helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in problem we booked one twin and one double when we arrived it was two double rooms, this was changed however when booked we asked for rooms near each other due to the error one room was on floor 2 the other on floor 5. Breakfast no dairy free alternatives. Tea and coffee facility in room no milk was included

    Staff extremely helpful and polite. Sound proofing for rooms very quiet, couldn’t hear any noise from above, below and outside the rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.0
    Pleasant stay in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping on the room was poor. Lack of attention to detail cups not washed, and selection of tea's, coffees minimal.

    Breakfast was good, concierge staff very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    3.3
    Shocking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to medical reasons we had to cut our trip short, i had booked for 3 nights at €800 we had to leave after one night and got charged €500 which for this bog standard awful hotel which should only be 2 stars at the most! Rooms where dated and not up to standard. For comparison i paid the same amount to stay two nights in mykonos at te high season.

    staff where helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, comfortable weekend away break hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar service lady was lacking in charisma, so much so that we decided not to have a drink and probably the reason it was not well frequented by other guests! The toaster was a bit slow and coffee could have been better, but apart from that it was a good place to stay

    The location is excellent, just up from the Parliament buildings. The hotel room was clean and functional for a weekend away break. Breakfast perfectly adequate with sufficient choice and it is kept well topped up by attentive staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location! Friendly staff and really nice breakfast with more than enough choices. The room and bathroom were really nice and clean. Close to a big shopping mall and lots of nice restaurants and sights.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Inchecking was so problem free.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inchecking was so problem free.,the staff were very polite and proffesional.Hotel was clean in every departement,not to mention the beds,no trouble sleeping after a days sightseeing.A good start to every day after enjoying the Breakfast.We found Nothing wrong With the hotel at all.Thanks Marmara,it Will not be long before we return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    We had an excellent stay at Hotel Marmara.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the breakfast was adequate, the hot food section could provide greater variety.

    This was a very conveniently located hotel with good facilities and friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.4
    the location of the hotel is very good but we were unhappy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room was not clean.

    the location of the hotel is very good but we were unhappy as we entered the room it was not clean at all and could not sleep in the first night due to the rash and the smell - smell of cigarettes . only the next day they cleaned it so we spent the day uncomfortable - would appreciate if you could advise the hotel to take care, the staff is friendly, the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.4
    Friendly an helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't think this hotel was very clean. The hallway and lift needed to be hoovered. Our room wasn't cleaned properly, cushions were on the ground when we came back in the evening. Overall disappointed with the standard of cleanliness in the hotel. The breakfast was not the best either, food was cold when we went down at about 9:30.

    Friendly an helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a beautifully decorated hotel with a nice bar and breakfast room. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff were very efficient and professional. Overall, one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    Good place to sleep for a couple of nights. No complaints, but not excited!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast a bit predictable and unexciting

    Very clean and comfortable room. "Facilities" limited to a small bar. Location not far from town centre and with good tram and tourist bus access

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    2.9
    Not recommended .. worst experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trust me nothing was right ... dirty rooms, bad internet, bad breakfast, staff not at all motivated. This is the first time I had such a bad experience. Not recommended at all. Please check other hotels in same prices. This is a genuine feedback.

    Nothing .. worthless .. worst hotel experience ever.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.0
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sewer smell at corridor (3rd floor) Filthy and stained carpet in lifts Breakfast room to small View from room very depressive

    Location very close to lively street Plenty of paid public parking available in front of hotel (440 florint per hour between 8-20h)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    The location was excellent, within walking distance of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn’t drain properly, we informed staff but apparently they couldn’t fix it. We were not given any follow up information.

    The location was excellent, within walking distance of the island and lots of restaurants and bars. Reception kindly charged our phones for us when we had charger issues.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice comfortable bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise outside during the entire night. Old not very comfortable mattress

    Nice comfortable bathroom. Close to metro and train station and Margaret island.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    2.9
    terrible place, should be classified as 1 star hostel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very dirty everywhere from lobby, corridors to rooms, needs immediate refurbishment. Dirty pillows (!), beds were not fresh and very badly done. I can send photos on request. Bath very poor, toilet seat defect. Breakfast was a disaster, terrible bread, no butter, greasy ham, all the time something was missing, only instant coffee (!) Very expensive, € 175,00/night 2 persons incl. breakfast

    nothing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    A place to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very beautiful and tastefully done. I really liked the design and it felt cosy. It was clean and had a good shower. They served a nice breakfast with great variety. The staff was friendly. Good location to walk, or take a metro.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Close location to margaret island /parliament.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, wi-fi connection in the room was not really good, and it would be either really slow or disconnect randomly. Worked fine at the lobby / breakfast.

    Close location to margaret island /parliament. Very helpful staff / reception desk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.4
    Not a 4 star, 3 at a push.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double bedroom and ended up getting twin beds. There was mould in the bathroom and in the shower which is not acceptable at any cost but definitely not reflective of a 4 star hotel. Staff were mix, some helpful some rude.

    Location was relatively good. The city itself was incredible with incredible sights, restaurants and rooftop bars.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.0
    Having a couple of towels, hairdryer and mini-bar doesn't make this hotel 4-star. It's 3!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. tiny room with overloaded cheap interior; 2. meager breakfast 3. something wrong with the toilet flush, the water appears outside 4. the water passes through the shower cabin 5. smell from the mini-bar

    1. location - The Hungarian Parliament Building is very close (5-7 min walk) 2. staff at the reception desk was very kind and accommodating 3. comfy bed and pillows 4. big and comfortable hairdryer

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Pleasent stay at lovely location. Would gladly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Margaret Island (park) is relatively close but some sort of fitness facility would be convenient. Othewise good value for money.

    Pleasent stay, staff helpful and kind. Coffe maker in room nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner in room was leaking. Also had 2 power cuts during our stay, no emergency lighting so unable to move around.

    Lovely breakfast, pleasant staff. Excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staffs are helpful and always give us positive feedbacks to our requests. The hotel's location is great and just around a 5-min (or less) walk from the metro station. Comfortable bed and clean room. Feeling great during our stay in Budapest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.4
    might be an option if other hotel is not available in this part of the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    fire alarm overnight due to someone smoked in room. Breakfast rather for 3* hotel not 4*. Could be better variety and quality. A bit overpriced as there is much better hotels for this money, probably due to location.

    Great location close to the business centre, railway station and parliament building. Friendly staff at reception. Clean nice rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    Won't Stay There Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast buffet, location

    A solid middle of the road hotel. Nothing to be excited about, either positively or negatively. We did, however, find its location too far away from the old city center. Hop On and Hop Off buses do come within a ten-minute walk from the hotel. The breakfast buffet was modest with a smaller than average selection. Coffee was not up to the American or German quality standards. They don't offer washcloths, but that is not uncommon in some countries. We would not stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is dusty but very turkish decorate. We liked the design
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everywhere were too dusty. In the lobby there is a big wooden decor on the wall and it wasn't even cleaned up maybe for decades. Well rooms were also dusty. I was with a kid, she wanted to sit behind the window, but even inner side of the window was so dusty.

    Personel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    2.5
    Staff stealing money, avoid this hotel at all costs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This is my worst experience in Europe ever. First time in my life I had my money stolen. The staff overall is disrespectful, breakfast was hideous, FIRE ALARM RANG IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT for five minutes (absolutely sick), my 3-year old son woke up, then it rang again for a couple of seconds. 1) On the second day of my "vacation" in this "4-star" hotel I noticed, that 180 euro disappeared. Yes, I didn't put the money into the safe, It is my mistake from the start, but anyway, after we noticed that the money is gone, I came to the reception and told them about the problem. They promised me to investigate. After that we went to have breakfast, and returned to our room (I put on the "don't disturb" sign for housekeeping not to enter), we found some more money missing, and the envelope with the money was WET. Also, there were some minor changes in the room, that proves that somebody was there, despite the "don't disturb" sign. The manager and the housekeeping staff came to our room, and started making up stories, that they entered my room before, saw my wife and my child (with the "don't disturb" sign on the door), to cover up the theft. I asked for the cameras, and to my surprise the main 7 minutes of the video was cut! By the hotel manager. All this time the staff were speaking hungarian and laughing at us. I asked them to call the police, the police didn't speak english, so the only translator was the hotel management. The police took the management's side, were speaking hungarian all the time, and eventually left. All this time the manager was sarcastic (she told that the envelope with the money was wet because of our child), was speaking hungarian all the time and didn't try to help. After that came my hungarian friend, and told the manager that we want to check out immediately. The manager agreed, then just went away, didn't even say goodbye or something.

    I had mo money stolen by the housekeeping staff, so there is nothing positive for me in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    great location in the center of the city
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half of the rooms look towards some kind of “inside yard”, therefore are dark and have no day light. There was a good internet connection but no internet. The breakfast was very poor for a 4 star hotel.

    great location in the center of the city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Relatively quiet street;
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traces of mold in shower bath; Annoying sounds like smbdy/smthing is banging into ascending pipes were waking me up constantly between 5-7 a.m.

    Relatively quiet street; Very good location; Fine breakfast; Clean room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Fire alarm ruined ranking.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm starts making noise whithout reason...it happend twice for one night. Toilet flushing was very poor.

    The staff was very willing. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing for this type of hotel. Also there is a problem with their garage - very small cars can use their underground garage, so we had to search for other options.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice, clean rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Would not stay there again. One of the waitress at breakfast did not pay much attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee etc croissants were so little that i only saw them once. The toastmaker took ages to make the toast

    The breakfast did not meet up to the standard of the hotel and the coffee was terrible

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    The staff was really kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor ,the bed was unconfortable, the bathroom was not functioning well that is a reason i feel it is just a really good one 3 star hotel.

    The staff was really kind and helpful. Basically the hotel is very new and it has a good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    A good value stay in Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service at breakfast could be better. The waiters are not the fastest replacing supplies.

    Good facilities, clean and comfortable. Well located, near center town. Just what we need for a short stay to visit the city. The breakfast is ok,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was limited and basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was limited and basic. What ever was in the break fast was good. We stayed from Saturday to Tuesday. The lady in the reception had mentioned the breakfast timings as 7:00 am to 11:00 am...Saturday and Sunday was fine, but I was shocked when I went to have my break-fast on Monday at 10:30 am to see the breakfast buffet area completely empty... Later a lady explained that the breakfast closes at 10 am on weekdays..which was not informed to us...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall I would recommend the hotel. Budapest is a beautiful city and so much to see and do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better need more variety only boiled eggs once in 7 days. Bacon available if down earlier enough. Some of the Staff quite miserable and it seems an effort to help.

    The area is quite and within easy access to Danube and all the tour facilities. The room was clean and mini bar stocked up daily. Everything you require is provided in the room. Nice bistro Matula just across the street excellent food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was amazing. They served good basic breakfast and it was extremely clean. The staffs were friendly. If you want to walk to places, its a good 15 minutes to the city centre but taxi was cheap and convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    The room was beautiful and clean, full enjoyment.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was beautiful and clean, full enjoyment. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful for many of our questions. Food excellent. All recommendations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    The location suited me very well.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location suited me very well. Only 5-10 min walk from my working venue as well as fairly close the Margit bridge to enjoy the view from in the evening. My room was with balcony which I enjoyed very much in the afternoon and evening as I the weather was very good, sunny and warm during my stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Parking was available but so tight, that my car was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was available but so tight, that my car was scratched and very difficult to enter or go out. Also the standard rooms, were very small and the matress not as expected

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    a comfortable stay for a two night trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Balcony was small and didn't have a view. Breakfast was basic but adequate

    location was good for Margarets Island, and easy walk to commodities and some landmarks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable. Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet wasn’t hoovered at all, or not well anyway. There was an elastic band on floor when I arrived and it was still there when I left.

    Nice size. Good to have a balcony but dreadful view!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Loved our visit to Budapest. Such a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed that there is no English tea in the rooms. Also no milk. Being an English traveller I look forward to a cup of tea in the morning and when I come back from a day out. Unfortunately We found the bed too hard. Location a little far out for us at our ages.

    The hotel is warm and friendly. The staff extremely helpful. Breakfast fair/good. Beautiful bathroom..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of the chairs scrapping off the ground every morning while people were up and down for the breakfast buffett. We could clearly hear them every morning for 2 hours.

    Decor of the hotel was lovely. Adrian at reception was very helpful and super friendly! Very pleasant young man keep up the good work :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff is exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WIFI is terrible... if you need to do work I suggest going down to the lobby which is inconvenient if you want to work in a comfortable setting.

    The staff is exceptional. Location is great too. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.0
    Very basic accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite unlike the pictures on the website. very dark rooms and dark interiors. Toilet does not flush easily in the room, if toilet paper inside Shower moldy Rooms noisy can hear neighbors speaking water in the room service, in spite of paying for it very small bottles

    walking distance to the river walking distance to the town center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets in lift and entry were stained. The furnishing fabric of dining chairs was stained and felt dirty to sit on. The breakfast spread was severely limited. The crockery and cutlery stank of meat and eggs.

    Nothing really

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Friendly modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels could have been thicker and more plentiful. In saying that tho I didn’t ask for more

    Really lovely staff. Breakfast was different but plentiful. Cheese, eggs, some fried meat and maybe latkes? fruit,cereal and bread and plenty of it. Different from home but plenty hot coffee

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.8
    A standard hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better, it was ok, but still improvement could be done. Low quality feeling and no love behind the food. The flush didn’t work in our bathroom and even if informed the reception nothin happened. We ended up using the bathroom in the reception area instead.

    Great location, 10 min walk to The Basilika. Rooms were ok, general standard and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.3
    An awkward design. It took me a while to recognize the intention of architect to evoke Middle East.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing particularly dis-likable as well. Certainly, it is not a four star hotel. I wonder how did they get this rating. The room is rather small, the bed cheap and not particularly comfortable, calcification in all the corners of the bathroom, rusty soap holders...

    There was nothing particularly likable about this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Okay it did what it was intended to do for a weekend trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy as balcony doors of other rooms were open and no view so it was noisy and a small chair or table would of been nice to sit out side on balcony for some air. Room was very dark even with all the lights on but on average our stay was okay Hotel was very warm inside couldn’t wait to get out and have some air.

    Bed was very comfortable and the overall hotel was quite Morden .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to pay for the parking lot either 20euros a night at the hotel or pay outside on the street 440 HUF per hours

    Very friendly staff. The breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.4
    This hotel is suitable for people who only get thirst between 7am and 10pm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was unable to provide me with a glass of water during the middle of the night. My mini fridge ran out of water so I went to reception to be told they can not give me water until 7am as this is when the house keepers come in. I asked for a glass of tap water and they were unable to provide me with this. The receptionist was extremely rude when I questioned this.

    The location is really good and it is clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel for a weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The heat is the room was very uncomfortable and the AC wasn't working

    Location was good. Walking distance to a lot of the attractions and a short taxi ride to bars and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    We had a very enjoyable stay in a comfortable & stylish hotel. Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a better view from our room. Like most rooms, we had a view of the inner atrium. Few other options available due to location of hotel.

    Very stylish decor throughout. Wonderful breakfast. Extremely friendly & helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Helpful front desk, friendly staff and good for what you pay for it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleanliness/housekeeping. Breakfast was just ok.

    Staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel lobby was nice and the room was good but we had a junior suite with a balcony and it was small and a shared balcony. Overall good experience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Modern hotel, excellent location, has an upmarket feel and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location . Very helpful and welcoming staff. Excellent range and choices of breakfast buffet . The room had a view down to the river and was very comfortable. It will be our hotel of choice when in Budapest

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.0
    Hotel was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was very clean. Great location, easy to get the bus from the airport (100E) which arrives every half an hour. Close to metro and bus stations so easy access around the city. Only had two negatives: first being that the bed was very uncomfortable, felt like I was sleeping on the springs, my boyfriend and I didn't have a single nights full sleep. Second was the breakfast, very strange things on the menu, we came down one morning and there was chips (fries), hot dog sausages and battered chicken goujons in the breakfast trays - each day there was a new addition, ?leftover from dinner the night before. Other than those two factors, the hotel and its staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    A fair value for money choice for a short trip to Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were expecting breakfast to be better. There was a limited variety of fresh choices and the food quality was below average. Although our room was clean in general, it wasn't actually spotless.

    Good location, close to the subway/tram and within walking distance from major attractions. Relatively large room with comfy bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    6.3
    Generally okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not able to get bowl/hot water at night when requested because of restaurant is.closed. Not quite like it for a hotel

    Generally okay. Can't expect too much out of it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    A convenient place to stay with acceptable facilities, within walking distances of the main sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The tea/coffee facilities in the room were not restocked, neither was the mini bar. Had the mini bar been restocked we would have bought more drinks so the hotel are really missing a trick with this. The cleaners only made the beds, no actual cleaning was carried out. The breakfast was ok but the toaster took ages.

    The location was very good and the desk staff were extremely helpful. The room was spacious and clean, as was the bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff, nice staying. I recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was a bit uncomfortable, and two separate single blankets in one double bed made it more difficult for us, but it was ok.

    Nice hotel, breakfast, good services, friendly staff, the best location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and profesional staff, good breakfast, comfty room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and profesional staff, good breakfast, comfty room and spacy bathroom. Super close to main train station with connection to airport. 5min from parlament

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    The location is very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found some hair in the shower

    The location is very good! We walked to the center every day, about 10 mins away from Andrássy Avenue and other sites. The hotel is located close to the Nyugati Station, there are several options for public transportation there too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Mostly very pleasant, temperature needs work!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely hot at night and without the facility to adjust the temperature in the room. We had just a door to a balcony in our room so couldn’t really have that open, and in any case there was a lot of noise from other guests on Friday and Saturday night.

    Room was generally comfortable, clean and spacious. Breakfast buffet was pleasant and the service was good. Location is within walking distance of many places of interest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.9
    High potential for improvement
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels worn out. Balcony has no doorknob from outside to close the door and let the smoke outside. Few equipments, like no shoehorn, or other equipments I used to in 4 star hotels.. Breakfast could be richer, although not bad at all. I think this hotel could be much better when only small things were improved which would be logical if the management had experience.

    Location. Room size.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money, short walk to attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could hear multiple conversations/arguments coming through the vent in the roof.

    Great value for money. Location is a short walk to attractions and close to public transport. Bed was comfortable and room was warm. Breakfast was definitely different to what I am used to, but plentiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No milk for tea and coffee in the room. There was some 3 in 1 coffee as well as normal instant but only herbal tea.

    Staff were friendly, room was clean, warm and comfortable. The hotel was quiet, no street noise or unruly guests. Breakfast had lots of choice and was tasty.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.7
    It was warm and close to metro/tram/buses, running...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some worms were living in corners, rooms should be cleaned more. There was constant smell of cigarette smoke in the lobbies. A lot of people during breakfast meant, that they also went for the price. Bed materace was worn too much and should be replaced. Only 2 or 3 channels in English in tv and pretty poor internet as well.

    It was warm and close to metro/tram/buses, running routes on Island Margherita and Parliament. Great location, really. Even with parking spots wasn't that bad.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.4
    The position is great, right close to the Parliament.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small and a bit dirty. The window had signs of hands probably from previous years. The staff didn’t tell us that the breakfast was not included in one of the day we stayed and at the and I had to pay 15€ more per person.

    The position is great, right close to the Parliament.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Marmara Hotel Budapest traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: