Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Hungary hotel reviews
  3. Pest hotel reviews
  4. Budapest hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Marmara Hotel Budapest

Reviews of Marmara Hotel Budapest This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1055 Budapest, Nagy Ignác str. 21., Hungary

#218 of 366 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2450 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location, very polite staff, nice breakfast, in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleanliness of the rooms was horrible, the carpet was full of dust, under the bed was like never vacuum cleaned, the daily bathroom cleaning - if you can say cleaning having “greasy taps”, black spots in the shower ... and worst used tea cups in the room, not replaced with new ones or washed, but just rinsed, tea spots left on the outside of the cups.

    Excellent location, very polite staff, nice breakfast, in general a good hotel, very nice, a typical botique hitel

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't very clean. The ashtray on the balcony wasn't emptied after the previous guests. Really small windows! You can hardly see some daylight.

    Great location. Good internet connection. Friendly and helping stuff. Тasty and varied breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing. Might look nice at first glance but not at all living to their 4-star-level!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly the hotel did not live to my standards. Even though the staff was nice enough to mask the deep smell of cigarette in my room after I complained, I did not enjoy at all having a noisy fridge next to my bed and very thin walls that made me participant to all of my neighbor's morning routines. Also, staff should remember that being cordial applies even when speaking in Hungarian to each other, since some tourist do understand the language and might not appreciate hearing them talking about you in a less than polite tone. For all this.. I do not think I would be recommending your hotel to others in the future. I guess I realized paying those extra 20 euros for the NH Hotel across the street would have been worth it!

    Good location if you need to do business in the Tribunal in Marko utca or near Nyugati.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable friendly hotel in an interesting city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee was lukewarm and never really hot. Tea/coffee facilities in room not to our liking, as only fruit teas and pre-sweetened coffee sachets provided

    Comfortable room, friendly staff, good breakfast with varied menu, and empty dishes replaced promptly. Room temperature was just right

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.2
    Convenient hotel for the centre, on a quiet street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I visited, it was very busy. The breakfast area was overwhelmed at 9am with several big groups and the overflow area was for some reason, closed.

    This is a nice smaller hotel close to the main ring in Budapest. It's very convenient for the centre and the Nyugati station.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    4.6
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room on 6th floor was like a sauna for the whole of my 3 night stay! Complained to reception staff on first night and was told it was because my room was in the highest part of the hotel and there was nothing that could be done. I didn’t sleep for the entire stay and it was a complete waste of money.

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    5.8
    Good location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty,fridge and heating system doesn’t work. Clogged drain in the shower also broken shower head. Breakfast card has never been picked up therefore room service hasn’t arrived. It’s a shame hotel with such a potential is loosing so much on basic things.

    Good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.6
    Affordable comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely fabulous location - a short walk from the Parliament building, Danube, Széchenyi Chain Bridge, WestEnd shopping mall, Budapest-Nyugati trant station, several supermarkets around. Friendly and helpful staff Excellent breakfast Spacious bathroom Comfortable beds Soundproof walls A balcony! :)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    10
    Budapeste and Marmara Hotel will remain in our memories.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location, the facilities, the value for money and above all the attention and kindness of people working there. We had a very nice stay at Marmara Hotel and we recomend it to anyone that goes to Budapeste.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff and very helpful in booking tours etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were happy with our stay.

    Friendly staff and very helpful in booking tours etc. We arrived late in the evening and staff helped us with our luggage.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    10
    Perfect location that allows do not use urban transport.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location that allows do not use urban transport. You can go anywhere and find different restaurants and cafes, exchanges and sights. Everything what you need during trevelling. Hotel has underground parking (20 euros per night) and municipal parking (I do not know how much) nearby. Breakfast is not included in room price.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    8.8
    Great location. Great staff. Breakfast really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning not working only heating, which we have to turn off and just opened our window all thru out for the breeze to fill in our room. Didn't bother to report it. We're quite ok with it though. Had a great stay overall anyway!

    Location, breakfast, and staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.1
    Reasonably good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Problems with the air conditioning. Room excessively hot and even when switched to coolest setting, we had to open a window for cool air.

    Well presented but unassuming hotel in a good location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    7.9
    Overall It was good quality with tiny issues.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet did not always flush properly. Shower door rubber was a bit moldy. Sometimes WiFi Signal was weak (5th floor) .

    Quiet room requested And received. Comfortable bed and usable furniture in the room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel in a very good area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Private parking was additional 20 EUR. The bathroom was not renovated for a long time, looked old and shower was broken a bit.

    Very nice location. Comfortable and clean bed. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.5
    Enlightening and a great city to discover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some attractions were closed. The ruin bar we visited was great for beer but the service was awful.

    Budapest is a great place to visit. Plenty to see and do.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was okay but not great. For what I paid for the stay I did expect a bit more, but it was alright.

    The hotel is in a good location. The rooms are okay but obv not as nice looking as in the pictures. The staff was very friendly when needed, no complaints there.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    6.3
    Spacious room with balcony, quick internet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no noise isolation from outside: you hear every car passing by. And garbage collector at 5:30am. Just two small elevators, takes ages to reach the 6th floor or go down. At arrival the parking garage door didn't function, have parked on the street. Which worked out very well.

    Spacious room with balcony, quick internet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    5.0
    perfer another place in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was really desapointed by this experience. I was came to run the budapest Marathon, and nothing was dedicacted for runners (all around the world, there is kindy attentions for them) - My room wasn't clean on sunday because I was on the room after running, I asked to wait 5 minutes, but nobody was came after - the sunday breakfast is with fresh frozen horrible bread - I'm desapoionted by the expérience because the place's prices are higher than same place in the center and we could naturally except pleasant experience

    the room was comfortable , the italian restaurants near the hotel - tramway and metro near the hotel, facility to go in centr of city(osteria mille lire, the best pizza in budapest)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, stuff, clean hotel, very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in a double room with 1 extra bed and a large double bed isn't large enough if 3-year old is sleeping with 2 adults. For 2 adults and 2 kids better option is to take 2 double rooms. Otherwise it is a great hotel...

    Excellent location, stuff, clean hotel, very good breakfast...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    9.2
    Nice junior suite close to downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We drank instant coffee in the room first morning and the coffee bags were not replaced. Tv had only one Hungarian channel.

    Nice junior suite with large balcony for a family of 4. Excellent breakfast in a nice lobby. Parking available for an extra 20 Euros per night. Hotel staff very helpful in every respect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    5.0
    1 traveller could not come along unexpectedly because of an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1 traveller could not come along unexpectedly because of an unexpected passing away of the father. There was no understanding we even had to pay for the breakfast of the absent one. Totally ridiculous

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    7.5
    Staff extremely helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in problem we booked one twin and one double when we arrived it was two double rooms, this was changed however when booked we asked for rooms near each other due to the error one room was on floor 2 the other on floor 5. Breakfast no dairy free alternatives. Tea and coffee facility in room no milk was included

    Staff extremely helpful and polite. Sound proofing for rooms very quiet, couldn’t hear any noise from above, below and outside the rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    6.0
    Pleasant stay in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Housekeeping on the room was poor. Lack of attention to detail cups not washed, and selection of tea's, coffees minimal.

    Breakfast was good, concierge staff very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    3.3
    Shocking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Due to medical reasons we had to cut our trip short, i had booked for 3 nights at €800 we had to leave after one night and got charged €500 which for this bog standard awful hotel which should only be 2 stars at the most! Rooms where dated and not up to standard. For comparison i paid the same amount to stay two nights in mykonos at te high season.

    staff where helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, comfortable weekend away break hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar service lady was lacking in charisma, so much so that we decided not to have a drink and probably the reason it was not well frequented by other guests! The toaster was a bit slow and coffee could have been better, but apart from that it was a good place to stay

    The location is excellent, just up from the Parliament buildings. The hotel room was clean and functional for a weekend away break. Breakfast perfectly adequate with sufficient choice and it is kept well topped up by attentive staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location! Friendly staff and really nice breakfast with more than enough choices. The room and bathroom were really nice and clean. Close to a big shopping mall and lots of nice restaurants and sights.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    10
    Inchecking was so problem free.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Inchecking was so problem free.,the staff were very polite and proffesional.Hotel was clean in every departement,not to mention the beds,no trouble sleeping after a days sightseeing.A good start to every day after enjoying the Breakfast.We found Nothing wrong With the hotel at all.Thanks Marmara,it Will not be long before we return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    10
    We had an excellent stay at Hotel Marmara.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Whilst the breakfast was adequate, the hot food section could provide greater variety.

    This was a very conveniently located hotel with good facilities and friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    5.4
    the location of the hotel is very good but we were unhappy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room was not clean.

    the location of the hotel is very good but we were unhappy as we entered the room it was not clean at all and could not sleep in the first night due to the rash and the smell - smell of cigarettes . only the next day they cleaned it so we spent the day uncomfortable - would appreciate if you could advise the hotel to take care, the staff is friendly, the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    5.4
    Friendly an helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't think this hotel was very clean. The hallway and lift needed to be hoovered. Our room wasn't cleaned properly, cushions were on the ground when we came back in the evening. Overall disappointed with the standard of cleanliness in the hotel. The breakfast was not the best either, food was cold when we went down at about 9:30.

    Friendly an helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a beautifully decorated hotel with a nice bar and breakfast room. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff were very efficient and professional. Overall, one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    7.5
    Good place to sleep for a couple of nights. No complaints, but not excited!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast a bit predictable and unexciting

    Very clean and comfortable room. "Facilities" limited to a small bar. Location not far from town centre and with good tram and tourist bus access

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    2.9
    Not recommended .. worst experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Trust me nothing was right ... dirty rooms, bad internet, bad breakfast, staff not at all motivated. This is the first time I had such a bad experience. Not recommended at all. Please check other hotels in same prices. This is a genuine feedback.

    Nothing .. worthless .. worst hotel experience ever.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    5.0
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sewer smell at corridor (3rd floor) Filthy and stained carpet in lifts Breakfast room to small View from room very depressive

    Location very close to lively street Plenty of paid public parking available in front of hotel (440 florint per hour between 8-20h)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    7.5
    The location was excellent, within walking distance of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower didn’t drain properly, we informed staff but apparently they couldn’t fix it. We were not given any follow up information.

    The location was excellent, within walking distance of the island and lots of restaurants and bars. Reception kindly charged our phones for us when we had charger issues.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.1
    Nice comfortable bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise outside during the entire night. Old not very comfortable mattress

    Nice comfortable bathroom. Close to metro and train station and Margaret island.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    2.9
    terrible place, should be classified as 1 star hostel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very dirty everywhere from lobby, corridors to rooms, needs immediate refurbishment. Dirty pillows (!), beds were not fresh and very badly done. I can send photos on request. Bath very poor, toilet seat defect. Breakfast was a disaster, terrible bread, no butter, greasy ham, all the time something was missing, only instant coffee (!) Very expensive, € 175,00/night 2 persons incl. breakfast

    nothing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    8.8
    A place to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very beautiful and tastefully done. I really liked the design and it felt cosy. It was clean and had a good shower. They served a nice breakfast with great variety. The staff was friendly. Good location to walk, or take a metro.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    7.9
    Close location to margaret island /parliament.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, wi-fi connection in the room was not really good, and it would be either really slow or disconnect randomly. Worked fine at the lobby / breakfast.

    Close location to margaret island /parliament. Very helpful staff / reception desk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    5.4
    Not a 4 star, 3 at a push.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked a double bedroom and ended up getting twin beds. There was mould in the bathroom and in the shower which is not acceptable at any cost but definitely not reflective of a 4 star hotel. Staff were mix, some helpful some rude.

    Location was relatively good. The city itself was incredible with incredible sights, restaurants and rooftop bars.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    7.0
    Having a couple of towels, hairdryer and mini-bar doesn't make this hotel 4-star. It's 3!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. tiny room with overloaded cheap interior; 2. meager breakfast 3. something wrong with the toilet flush, the water appears outside 4. the water passes through the shower cabin 5. smell from the mini-bar

    1. location - The Hungarian Parliament Building is very close (5-7 min walk) 2. staff at the reception desk was very kind and accommodating 3. comfy bed and pillows 4. big and comfortable hairdryer

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    8.3
    Pleasent stay at lovely location. Would gladly stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Margaret Island (park) is relatively close but some sort of fitness facility would be convenient. Othewise good value for money.

    Pleasent stay, staff helpful and kind. Coffe maker in room nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.5
    Great location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioner in room was leaking. Also had 2 power cuts during our stay, no emergency lighting so unable to move around.

    Lovely breakfast, pleasant staff. Excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    8.3
    Great location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staffs are helpful and always give us positive feedbacks to our requests. The hotel's location is great and just around a 5-min (or less) walk from the metro station. Comfortable bed and clean room. Feeling great during our stay in Budapest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    5.4
    might be an option if other hotel is not available in this part of the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    fire alarm overnight due to someone smoked in room. Breakfast rather for 3* hotel not 4*. Could be better variety and quality. A bit overpriced as there is much better hotels for this money, probably due to location.

    Great location close to the business centre, railway station and parliament building. Friendly staff at reception. Clean nice rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    5.0
    Won't Stay There Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast buffet, location

    A solid middle of the road hotel. Nothing to be excited about, either positively or negatively. We did, however, find its location too far away from the old city center. Hop On and Hop Off buses do come within a ten-minute walk from the hotel. The breakfast buffet was modest with a smaller than average selection. Coffee was not up to the American or German quality standards. They don't offer washcloths, but that is not uncommon in some countries. We would not stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is dusty but very turkish decorate. We liked the design
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everywhere were too dusty. In the lobby there is a big wooden decor on the wall and it wasn't even cleaned up maybe for decades. Well rooms were also dusty. I was with a kid, she wanted to sit behind the window, but even inner side of the window was so dusty.

    Personel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    2.5
    Staff stealing money, avoid this hotel at all costs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This is my worst experience in Europe ever. First time in my life I had my money stolen. The staff overall is disrespectful, breakfast was hideous, FIRE ALARM RANG IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT for five minutes (absolutely sick), my 3-year old son woke up, then it rang again for a couple of seconds. 1) On the second day of my "vacation" in this "4-star" hotel I noticed, that 180 euro disappeared. Yes, I didn't put the money into the safe, It is my mistake from the start, but anyway, after we noticed that the money is gone, I came to the reception and told them about the problem. They promised me to investigate. After that we went to have breakfast, and returned to our room (I put on the "don't disturb" sign for housekeeping not to enter), we found some more money missing, and the envelope with the money was WET. Also, there were some minor changes in the room, that proves that somebody was there, despite the "don't disturb" sign. The manager and the housekeeping staff came to our room, and started making up stories, that they entered my room before, saw my wife and my child (with the "don't disturb" sign on the door), to cover up the theft. I asked for the cameras, and to my surprise the main 7 minutes of the video was cut! By the hotel manager. All this time the staff were speaking hungarian and laughing at us. I asked them to call the police, the police didn't speak english, so the only translator was the hotel management. The police took the management's side, were speaking hungarian all the time, and eventually left. All this time the manager was sarcastic (she told that the envelope with the money was wet because of our child), was speaking hungarian all the time and didn't try to help. After that came my hungarian friend, and told the manager that we want to check out immediately. The manager agreed, then just went away, didn't even say goodbye or something.

    I had mo money stolen by the housekeeping staff, so there is nothing positive for me in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    7.9
    great location in the center of the city
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Half of the rooms look towards some kind of “inside yard”, therefore are dark and have no day light. There was a good internet connection but no internet. The breakfast was very poor for a 4 star hotel.

    great location in the center of the city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    8.3
    Relatively quiet street;
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traces of mold in shower bath; Annoying sounds like smbdy/smthing is banging into ascending pipes were waking me up constantly between 5-7 a.m.

    Relatively quiet street; Very good location; Fine breakfast; Clean room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    7.9
    Fire alarm ruined ranking.
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fire alarm starts making noise whithout reason...it happend twice for one night. Toilet flushing was very poor.

    The staff was very willing. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit disappointing for this type of hotel. Also there is a problem with their garage - very small cars can use their underground garage, so we had to search for other options.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice, clean rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    7.5
    Would not stay there again. One of the waitress at breakfast did not pay much attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee etc croissants were so little that i only saw them once. The toastmaker took ages to make the toast

    The breakfast did not meet up to the standard of the hotel and the coffee was terrible

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.5
    The staff was really kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was poor ,the bed was unconfortable, the bathroom was not functioning well that is a reason i feel it is just a really good one 3 star hotel.

    The staff was really kind and helpful. Basically the hotel is very new and it has a good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    7.1
    A good value stay in Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service at breakfast could be better. The waiters are not the fastest replacing supplies.

    Good facilities, clean and comfortable. Well located, near center town. Just what we need for a short stay to visit the city. The breakfast is ok,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was limited and basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was limited and basic. What ever was in the break fast was good. We stayed from Saturday to Tuesday. The lady in the reception had mentioned the breakfast timings as 7:00 am to 11:00 am...Saturday and Sunday was fine, but I was shocked when I went to have my break-fast on Monday at 10:30 am to see the breakfast buffet area completely empty... Later a lady explained that the breakfast closes at 10 am on weekdays..which was not informed to us...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.9
    Overall I would recommend the hotel. Budapest is a beautiful city and so much to see and do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could be better need more variety only boiled eggs once in 7 days. Bacon available if down earlier enough. Some of the Staff quite miserable and it seems an effort to help.

    The area is quite and within easy access to Danube and all the tour facilities. The room was clean and mini bar stocked up daily. Everything you require is provided in the room. Nice bistro Matula just across the street excellent food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was amazing. They served good basic breakfast and it was extremely clean. The staffs were friendly. If you want to walk to places, its a good 15 minutes to the city centre but taxi was cheap and convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    10
    The room was beautiful and clean, full enjoyment.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was beautiful and clean, full enjoyment. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful for many of our questions. Food excellent. All recommendations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    9.2
    The location suited me very well.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location suited me very well. Only 5-10 min walk from my working venue as well as fairly close the Margit bridge to enjoy the view from in the evening. My room was with balcony which I enjoyed very much in the afternoon and evening as I the weather was very good, sunny and warm during my stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    6.3
    Parking was available but so tight, that my car was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was available but so tight, that my car was scratched and very difficult to enter or go out. Also the standard rooms, were very small and the matress not as expected

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    7.1
    a comfortable stay for a two night trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Balcony was small and didn't have a view. Breakfast was basic but adequate

    location was good for Margarets Island, and easy walk to commodities and some landmarks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable. Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carpet wasn’t hoovered at all, or not well anyway. There was an elastic band on floor when I arrived and it was still there when I left.

    Nice size. Good to have a balcony but dreadful view!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    7.9
    Loved our visit to Budapest. Such a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very disappointed that there is no English tea in the rooms. Also no milk. Being an English traveller I look forward to a cup of tea in the morning and when I come back from a day out. Unfortunately We found the bed too hard. Location a little far out for us at our ages.

    The hotel is warm and friendly. The staff extremely helpful. Breakfast fair/good. Beautiful bathroom..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise of the chairs scrapping off the ground every morning while people were up and down for the breakfast buffett. We could clearly hear them every morning for 2 hours.

    Decor of the hotel was lovely. Adrian at reception was very helpful and super friendly! Very pleasant young man keep up the good work :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    7.9
    The staff is exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WIFI is terrible... if you need to do work I suggest going down to the lobby which is inconvenient if you want to work in a comfortable setting.

    The staff is exceptional. Location is great too. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    5.0
    Very basic accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite unlike the pictures on the website. very dark rooms and dark interiors. Toilet does not flush easily in the room, if toilet paper inside Shower moldy Rooms noisy can hear neighbors speaking water in the room service, in spite of paying for it very small bottles

    walking distance to the river walking distance to the town center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpets in lift and entry were stained. The furnishing fabric of dining chairs was stained and felt dirty to sit on. The breakfast spread was severely limited. The crockery and cutlery stank of meat and eggs.

    Nothing really

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    8.8
    Friendly modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Towels could have been thicker and more plentiful. In saying that tho I didn’t ask for more

    Really lovely staff. Breakfast was different but plentiful. Cheese, eggs, some fried meat and maybe latkes? fruit,cereal and bread and plenty of it. Different from home but plenty hot coffee

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    5.8
    A standard hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could be better, it was ok, but still improvement could be done. Low quality feeling and no love behind the food. The flush didn’t work in our bathroom and even if informed the reception nothin happened. We ended up using the bathroom in the reception area instead.

    Great location, 10 min walk to The Basilika. Rooms were ok, general standard and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    6.3
    An awkward design. It took me a while to recognize the intention of architect to evoke Middle East.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing particularly dis-likable as well. Certainly, it is not a four star hotel. I wonder how did they get this rating. The room is rather small, the bed cheap and not particularly comfortable, calcification in all the corners of the bathroom, rusty soap holders...

    There was nothing particularly likable about this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    6.3
    Okay it did what it was intended to do for a weekend trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy as balcony doors of other rooms were open and no view so it was noisy and a small chair or table would of been nice to sit out side on balcony for some air. Room was very dark even with all the lights on but on average our stay was okay Hotel was very warm inside couldn’t wait to get out and have some air.

    Bed was very comfortable and the overall hotel was quite Morden .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to pay for the parking lot either 20euros a night at the hotel or pay outside on the street 440 HUF per hours

    Very friendly staff. The breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    5.4
    This hotel is suitable for people who only get thirst between 7am and 10pm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was unable to provide me with a glass of water during the middle of the night. My mini fridge ran out of water so I went to reception to be told they can not give me water until 7am as this is when the house keepers come in. I asked for a glass of tap water and they were unable to provide me with this. The receptionist was extremely rude when I questioned this.

    The location is really good and it is clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Marmara Hotel Budapest Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: