Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Matus 3 stars

1141 Budapest, Fogarasi út 147, Hungary

#286 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 109 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The wall paper in my room was a bit loose on some parts of the walls. This should be fixed. Beside that the room was lovely.

    Very friendly and heplful owner. The single room was big enough and clean. The bed was comfortable. Good and easy connection to the city centre with public transport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there were no good bars or restaurants in the immediate area but there is regular public transport outside the door so not such a problem

    Very friendly staff who were always very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's quite far from the center. The receptionist is old and doesn't really speak English. With the price, breakfast should be included.

    The room is big and very comfy. The receptionist is nice. It's far but there's a bus goes to the center

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There's no wifi in many rooms. Even when they say there should be wifi, it's only by the door. The guy at the reception has poor english. There are additional taxes, apparently.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wonderfull stay

    My partner and I stayed here last weekend for the F1.What a find!! I will describe it as a hotel full of Hungarian ambiance.I have never stayed anywhere like it before and I travel an awful lot. Don't expect 5 star with posh rooms.The rooms are dated but you have everything you need and it just adds to the character Indeed it is better than that due to the personal service you will recieve. The owner is a lovely kind humble man who speaks English and will do anything for you.He sorted out taxi's for us to F1and every evening for the best prices and even provided a blanket for us to take.He will also tell you all the local public transport links. If I go to The Grand prix again I would defiantly return to this hotel. His personal knowledge is next to none. His fresh omelettes for breakfast which he makes personally fresh to order at a time you want are wonderful along with the rest of the breakfast he provides which are continental meats cereals tea coffee juice and fresh juice.You are 10 mins away from the city centre and 20 from F1 circuit. I would highly recommend this hotel as it is a wonderful experience you will never forget. Thank you for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far from center- Saturday and Sunday in Budapest parking it is free - should come by personal car. Small rooms , very old furniture , lighting strange - 80s chandeliers . Very small bathrooms. You must bring your own towels if you want to be CLEAN.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Excellent price for a Hotel in a quiet and very safe neighborhood close to city center with all mass transportation available 5 steps from the front door. The rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. With the money saved you can stretch your expenses for extra nights as well that special shopping spree. Staff is super nice and very accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all good

    Great breakfast, friendly staff, good location, off street parking, value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    price, location, staff.

    bed very comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insects, tiny bathroom, old furniture, far away from city center. We have reservation for double bed room, not twin as we got.

    Nice people.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no wireless connection in the room, it is easy to add some connection bridges in floors

    Free parking area around and owners so kind!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark, no wifi, outdated.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Discrepancy between booking.com description and real conditions

    This is typical hostel to sleep, nothing more.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Old TV type. Little bit higher noice.

    Pleasant staff, home atmosphere. Breakfast individual. WIFI without problems.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very nice. Staff is very friendly. Rooms are very cosy

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The personal treatment, A very kind and caring host. tho I spent there only one night, I left with a very good impression. The room and the hotel itself was so special & romantic, authentic furniture & art was beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A bit far from the centar - after a metro you have to take a bus (8-10 min) or trolleybus. On the plus side, there is a night bus (907) which goes from the city center!

    Breakfast (salami, cheese, butter, jam, cereals, tea, coffee). The room was old-fashioned but cozy, nice renovated bathroom. Pleasant staff. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel: buses and trolleybus run every couple of minutes.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unluckily, many things: - Lacks of indications inside the hotel: for example we knew that there was a sauna somewhere, but we had no clue about where it was. - Hydraulics needs some maintenance. We booked the suite, but we got moved in a normal room after the second day since we had no hot water in our bathroom. And we didn't even get a discount on the final price due to Booking.com policies, according to Mr Matus. - Room cleaning is active only in the morning, so if you are not an early bird you will not receive any cleaning...or toilet paper refilling. It is still an hotel in Budapest, and people here likes going out during the night. In addition, the only day that we received the cleaning service in our room we found a nice surprise: we came back in our room at 2 a.m. and the window of the room was left open...with -8° outside. Well played, cleaning lady. - Watch out Italians or southern Europeans: the only sweet food available in the breakfast service is marmalade/honey. Even though, the variety of food is not so wide.

    - Mr Matus, the owner: a very nice and kind person. However, is probably the only English speaking person in the staff. - Direct Bus connection with the main station. - The Old-Fashioned design: it was like staying at my grandmother's place. - Very quiet area.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice small hotel, comfortable bed, check-in at midnight, delicious breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast.

    Original interior.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    3rd floor Wifi is not working

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: