Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of MenDan Magic Spa & Wellness Hotel 4 stars

8749 Zalakaros, Gyogyfürdö ter 8, Hungary

#2 of 12 hotels in Zalakaros

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 303 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have already stayed in quite a lot of wellness-spa hotels around Hungary. MenDan is not a 4 star superior quality hotel. It is rather a strong 3 star place. The prices are quite low compared to the 4 stars, and you get what you pay, no more. We had a superior room that included a sofa bed (with it's back side completely broken). We had a mini bar where the door did not lock properly, and the small freezer inside looked like an proper ice cage that that had never been defrozen. The whole mini bar also looked dirty. There was only one small bin in the bathroom, no bin in the room itself. The air conditioning did not work properly until we noticed its' filters were full of dust, so we moved them and managed to get some cool air. It looked like it had never been cleaned. The same goes for the bathroom fan. The bathroom was quite outdated, the shower head full of limescale, and there was a shower curtain that I definitely do not expect to see in a 4 star hotel. We received no toiletries, only two broken boxes of shower caps and a small sewing kit. The towels looked like they had been used since the opening of the hotel. The room looked quite clean otherwise, but it would need some refurbishing. The bed was comfortable to my taste, but there was a huge pillow which is definitely not for healthy sleeping. Both breakfast and dinner were really poor - old style cheap Hungarian meals. There was no additional cutlery in the dining area, so if you did not find a properly set table, you had to steal cutlery from other tables.

    The wellness and spa area is quite ok - there are 3 with different temperature water, one with hot thermal water, and 2 mixed ones. One of these has fresh water, good for swimming as long as it is not too crowded. There are plenty of seats, although I can imagine it gets full in peak periods. Out of the 3 saunas the Finnish one was closed when we were there, as well as the steam room, not sure why. They don't give you sauna towels together with the spa towels, but they leave these near the saunas. So either you are lucky and there are some left, or you have to use your own spa towel in the sauna. The aroma sauna was nice, as well as the showers. We wanted to check out the sunroof but by the time we got there at 6PM (still very hot) it had already been closed. As for the staff, everyone was ok, except for the receptionist who checked us out. For all fairness, my boyfriend had left his wallet in the room when we were checking out, and by the time we noticed at the car, the hotel staff was already looking for us bringing the wallet. Huge thanks for that. All in all, this is a good hotel if you don't expect much. I will not return though, I prefer to pay a bit more and get more quality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No signs for wellness, playground and restaurant, we had to ask the stuff for the way.

    Clean and comfortable. Food was good at breakfast and dinner. Wellness was excellent, children's playground was excellent as there is a nurse to take care of the children. Helpful and smiley stuff in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you dont speak Hungarian or German, the hotel can be challenging for you except the reception area. Some parts of the Hotel needs renovation.

    Since we had twin babies who are 2 years old, we liked the playroom, baby swimming pool and baby chairs in the restaurants and cafes of the hotel. Bike rental is also a good activity to discover the neighborhood.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been more varied.

    The family room was very spacious and comfortable with a big bathroom. We liked the spa area very much. We had an enjoyable 2 night stay at the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room has not been cleaned every day and the young lady with brown hair working a night shift on the reception very rude.

    We liked location of the hotel, it is a quite small place. The choice of food was excellent and the staff in the restaurant helpfull. We also enyojed the swimming pools. The blond lady on the reception very nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The design of the hotel is a little old . Or it has no style .... Oh yes, theTV channels are a joke. Not one noral TV channel, not even music, news, nothing. State owned Hungarian tv and some free german stations... Not too good if you are in a wellness hotel.. Normally I don't care about TV in a hotel...

    Food and staff excellent, pool and saunas very good. Large room and bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel style is not very clear the owners should decide what they want.. They should have a refurbishment.. As the furniture and colours takes you back to the 90s ..If you staying for more nights you need to ask for basics like shower gel...

    Size of the room, and facilities are great, and the bartender her name was Zsofia she is excellent.. Half board is well worth it..very good food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rather 3-star like than 4, although it was clean, so no problem overall.

    Pool area is fantastic, staff is very friendly. Especially good point is the handling if food allergic issues.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not always friendly - nor very helpful

    The spa pools

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    wellnes was open from 7:00 to 21:00 it was amzing. we had very clean and spacious room. excellent food, nice location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    aqualand

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    spa and room...all clear

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    spa...all clear

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap and food and spa is excelent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were serous need to smile a little bit . The food was not up to 4 stars hotel level .

    The facilities Clean Water

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not all employees are client satisfaction oriented

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Spa ,services

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are decorated in a bit dated and the mattress was not comfortable

    The pools were great as massages The staff was nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff at the reception totally uninterested to provide explanations. To find our room had to ascend by elevator to the first floor, then crossed a lane that reach the receiver wellness, where we took another elevator up to the third floor hard nmerit if you got the first time this hotel but a nice guy at reception wellness helped us eventually to find room

    Everything was perfect, very good food, live music. We got a very warm and quiet room, being on the third floor, in the back of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Food was OK but expected better choice. Bad knowledge of languages among staff (except reception)

    Pool area is very nice. Children friendly hotel. Staff is pleasant. Very satisfied in general

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More choice for vegetarians is needed. Noisy children in the bar and restaurant late into the evening.

    The facilities are excellent, good spa and alternative treatments particularly the Ayurvedic treatments. They alone are worth going for. All the food was top quality and well presented (buffet style), good breakfast choice.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The condition of a part of the furniture in the room is not so good (carpet, couch).

    Very good food and staff at the restaurant and the reception, very nice pools and sauna.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls were a bit thin (family with young child next door, staff stated that most rooms dont have neighboring walls) one bartender refused to serve us 5 minutes before closing time in the spa.

    Friendly staff, great spa, great food offers.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They play the most terrible music at dinner and it is so loud that it is hardly possible to talk. I haven't heard such bad music in a really long time. They call it 'live music'

    The hotel is beautiful, everything well organized , treatments are relaxing, food is great!

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff

    spa area. The food.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No fresh air area in wellness section.

    Thermal bath INSIDE hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rerception staff not too helpful

    The choice of food and the friendly waiters

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wonderful friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No off street parking.

    Everyone was walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have been there a few years ago, but it was better then. Rooms need some renewal.

    Spa was OK.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    food could have been better

    nice spa

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Browse MenDan Magic Spa & Wellness Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: