Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Budapest Buda 4 stars

1013 Budapest, Krisztina krt. 41-43., Hungary

#225 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1833 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half the hotel looked refurbished but the other half was quite tired. Unfortunately we were in the tired part. Carpets worn, bathroom a little grimy and room a little outdated. It would have been nice to have been given the choice.

    Location was brilliant. A little walk to city centre but that was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to change 2 rooms to get what we paid for. The hotel has 2 parts:1 renovated and 1 unrenovated with stained carpet, small rooms, view to the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Air-con did not work! We had to ask staff to wide open the window at night, but ventilation was not good. Furthermore, allergy bothered me.

    Great location. Price. Cleanness. Friendly staff. The room was fairly small, but well organized.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing I would say I didn't like.

    This is an excellent hotel for the money that I paid. It's in a great location, with public transportation just steps from the hotel. Also very easy to get to from the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the breakfast staff did not speak any English...

    Convenient location, helpful check-in receptionist (one of the best we have ever met). Excellent breskfast buffet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbours slamming their room doors and making lots of noise.

    The breakfast staff were really helpful as I use a wheelchair (especially Kaitlin). Also the reception gentleman (Robert) was really good as he helped get me food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel itself is undergoing renovations - and we were assigned a renovated room. The room looked very nice with a huge tv, new bed, all of that stuff - but not only does the A/C not work, the room is as hot as a sauna. It apparently has been this way for a few weeks and still we were assigned this room like it wouldnt bother us or something. As I said when I addressed it with the staff they were very quick about fixing the situation.

    Staff is very dedicated and friendly. We had a rough start getting a room with no A/C (and not expected to be fixed for our whole stay). The guy on staff actually ran through the corridors so we get situated as fast as possible. They upgraded us to what they call a "privilege" room without me asking and no extra charge. Also the hotel is placed very near to Castle Hill, and has metro and tram stations a few meters away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room with Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner was not working properly. Unfortunately it was very hot in the room all the time - also at night. The weather was warm and unfortunately it is only possible to tilt the window a bit. Maybe they should have a look and fix the air conditioning. Otherwise everything was fine.

    The room was brand new and looked nice and modern. The room was on the 8th floor and the view was very nice. The location is great. It is quiet but the hotel is very close to the metro station. So it takes 15 minutes to get to the city center. The Wi-Fi was fast. I have received a small welcome gift from the hotel :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a privilege room with free access to certain items in mini-bar and capsules for coffee maker, though these items were not replenished daily. Also towels were not refreshed every day.

    Good location - 3 minutes walk to the subway, about 45 minutes walk to the historical part of the city center (quite a nice walk to go for in the evening!), 20 minutes walk to the Royal palace. Good breakfasts, nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Group
    • Comfort Room with two single beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took FOREVER! I waited over 20 minutes to check in. There was no queue line and staff would just take who was standing closest. One of the computers was not working(still was repaired 2 days later). There were people I. The back roombut they did not come and help. The staff member once I did get service was very apologetic but it was a rather disappointing experienced and tainted my stay. So please take that into consideration if you read my review.

    The rooms the breakfast was fabulous. Staff was friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of wires were hanging out of the wall. Staff dealt with very quickly however room should have been checked before checking us in. Air conditioning was the worse I’ve ever experienced which made the very hot nights very uncomfortable. Worse sleep in about 15 years which was a shame.

    Good hotel, good staff, good food, good decoration however needs final bits doing and a good clean after builders.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The web site stated air conditioning, only in their 'summer . months' according to staff, it was 26C when we were there mid april and having room window open was noisy and required signing a disclaimer every day to get window unlocked, bit of a pain. Mini bar was not regularly stocked and wrong charges upon check out.

    OK breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in thew Mercure because we needed to be near the Deli Station for a train trip the following day. Although we were not expecting anything special, the Mercure was excellent in every respect. Cannot recommend it too highly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was great. The location of the hotel is excellent, as it is right next to the metro station or the tram station. If you come with your car, you will avoid the city center. You can park at the hotel and then use public transport. Rudas Thermal Bath is very close, 4 tram stops away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Provided data by the guest, incl. invoicing details, etc. should be read and taken into consideration by the reception desk staff. Reparation works were in process and occupied part of the lifts, which caused long prolongations for getting up and down.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel asked for a pre-authorization of a 100 euro payment, something which wasn't clear before booking.

    Very nice price without breakfast. Totally worth it as there are some great coffee shops nearby that serve breakfast at a fraction of the price (Ruszwurm being one of them!) Very close to the Metro that takes you anywhere in the city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet still needs to be replaces on the floor we were at and bathrooms should also be refurbished. They are dated and look a bit worn out (though very clean)

    Great improvement compared to the last time se were here. They have refurbished the hotel - or at least most of it - and it looks much better, it is more confortable ... a completely different standard. Staff are very polite and professional, plenty of parking places available, overall very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to check-in under my (male) partner's name even though I made and paid for the booking? Not sure if I missed something there...

    Very clean & comfortable rooms. Breakfast area was fantastic - even had a "gluten free" section so catering for everyone! Good location, just a short walk to the chain bridge, fisherman's bastion and citadell.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was asked to pay a 35 Euro deposit on arrival in case I used the mini bar. This wasn't mentioned before hand.

    Staff were friendly and informative. The location was fairly good with taxi's to the centre costing 1300 HUF and Tram line is 4 stops away and that cost around 1 euro and took 10 minutes. Hotel was very clean and offered very good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old!! There are no signs of being a 4 star, also does not look like a famous chain Mercure at all! This is cheating of customers to attract by a famous brand name and have inside these shabby soviet style ambience:( Low ceiling very dark rooms, torn wallpapers, old and dirty bath furniture and bed linen (though matras was good). Hotel will have full renovation soon, until that is looks crappy and only rooms on 8th floor are a bit renewed (though no twin beds there and awful carpet). Corridors in general look awful! The hotel stuff almost does not speak English!! , especially in the restaurant:( And the stuff hardly gives you a smile! During my 5 days stay only one guy in the canteen gave me a smile and wished a good day. Breakfast does not suite Mercure standards as well! It average 3 star level, but even some healthy stuff was there, but never changed during 5 days! Not a single new dish!!

    The hotel location is good - 10-15 min walking distance from Bastion and Royal castle. Over the corner are metro station to connect you to the center of Pest, also two tram stations to go quickly to Gellert or St Lukac baths. Also good and big supermarket is over the corner. Good value for money in case you get a wize rate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made a reservatıon for 30-12-2017 - 02-01-2018 one months ago before our staying date. Than at 06-12-2018 we had certain we can not go to this trip. We made a connection many times with hotel one months ago before our holıday. We told our problems but they had tooken our money from our credıt card already. We explainn them that we wont be there, and there is one month tıme for sellıng room agaın. If ıts possıble can you pay back our money maybe wıth a small penalty. But many many tımes we called and spoke wıth them the have never and ever tryied to help us. Not kındly and frıendly. They eant to just take your money. Our frıends visit there and they also told us they just thınk that how can we take more money from the costumers. Its pity.

    Nothıng!!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The carpet in the room and on the whole floor looked very dirty and shabby. Heating was way too much and was not possible to turn it down. The tram runs right in front of the hotel so it was pretty loud when we tried to open the windows. The minibar and the restaurant (and the hotel itself for that matter) is overpriced.

    Close to may attractions and public transport options. Only had to leave the room by noon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are outdated. Decor and bathroom don't match the facilities downstairs.

    Excellent location. Excellent dinner in hotel restaurant. Professional staff. Very nice facilities on the ground floor: big reception area, restaurant, bar, gift shop, luggage room. Fantastic breakfast that suits all needs and tastes. There's literally something for everyone. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to upgrade, room is out dated, towels are thin, airconditioning is noisy, bathroom has no fan.. a girl staff who served me at the reception is nice but the male staff who serve others look so unfriendly, he did not smile at all.

    Close to the train station and public transport

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stuff on the reception was very IMPOLITE ! Gloomy ,angry, harmful ! The girl at the reception desk tried to send us to another parking lot, provided we booked the parking spaces and were confirmed with two emails. The room was not ready at the time, and the receptionist's behavior was extremely unacceptable for customer-friendly staff! Pay attention to customer service and stay at the level !!! Предложете редакция

    Breakfast and rooms was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced restaurant. Hotel in need of refurbishment. Only 2 lifts working during our stay; getting to the lobby/breakfast room not easy from the 8th floor.

    Close to the metro. Clean room. Good sized bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was old and ugly. I thought that we are getting 4 star room with great discounted price as advertised on Booking but at the end it was just cheap room for average price.

    Breakfast was really nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are old and tired not a lot around you at night for places to eat and drink A large beer in the hotel costs over €4 3 minute walk away the same beer costs €1.20 the people of Budapest are really good several times they came up to me when i was struggling with how the metro works. Also drivers stop and let you cross roads a lesson for many other cities visit Budapest very clean loads to see and do, but stay in the center.

    Would not recommend this hotel the reviews online do not match what i experienced they need to put more effort into considering guests bar way overpriced

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Privilege Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Explanation above

    Credit Card was requested just to confirm reservation, Payment could be made at the check-in upon arrival. That didn't happen. On check-in I was aware that the debit in my credit card account was made on Sept 7th 2017. Taxes in Brazil are very high in using credit cards abroad

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's location. It's on the wrong side of the Danube. The action is in Pest. Except for that, this hotel is excellent. Having said that, being in Buda has advantages too. The crowd and noise is lesser. The walk from Buda to Pest is refreshing! The sites are all within 1-2 kms of the hotel. Actually, even the location is alright once you get used to it. But you need to be prepared to walk!

    The reception is nice and big. The rooms are well sized though not very large. Bathrooms are clean and well sized. Breakfast options were great! And breakfast area is very welcoming

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night

    For some reason, the shower in my room (341) was not working properly (it was nearly impossible to regulate the water-temperature, while it was too hot to sustain!). But I only stayed for one night and arrived too late to try to fix anything. In the morning - after 9 am - the fire-alarm was tested without any previous notification, which truly scared me. Given that I know this hotel as "good one" for years, I take these two details as coincidental accidents. However, it should not happen to any guest, as in case someone stays here for the first time, they may get a bad impression, even though this hotel certainly does not deserve it.

    Very decent option for anyone travelling both for tourism and business, at more than reasonable price. Services and the attitude of the personnel are excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in the walking distance to the castle district also across the chain bridge to the Pest area we are in our 70's the stairs to go up to the castle area were a challenge but worth it we also walked thru the tunnel to the bridges we would recommend the jump on and off busses to get around and also useful historic information as you tour around the beautiful city we must give a special mention to the restaurant Vagon Ettererem situated in an old rail car a five minute walk from the hotel the steaks are wonderful as like the rest of the menu we ate there 3 nights out of 4 👍👍👍👍👍

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a lot of construction work going on on certain floors. Perhaps it was for this reason my room was very dusty, the room did need updating. There were scuff marks on the walls and the carpet was stained. The shower was just about adequate. A plastic shower curtain inside a bath with a shower head that kept slipping out of it's bracket. The toilet was old and needed to be replaced.

    Staff were always helpful and answered questions in a pleasant and professional manner. The lobby was, at certain times of the day, a hub of activity but this was well managed by staff and I was never left waiting for long periods.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant is quite expensive and breakfast are definitely overpriced. Hotel is in need of refurbishment, rooms are visibly not new. There are tourist groups messing up with business people, which is not ideal situation.

    Hotel room quite ok in spite it is not new anymore, great breakfast, parking onsite. I was using outside parking, which is sufficiently ok. Castle area is a short walk across the park, so veny convenient location. And metro station 200m away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very substandard bedroom carpet dirty and burnt in places Air conditioning switched off but the room was very warm and the window could not be opened because of the traffic noise Lack of electrical sockets lake of tea making equipment

    Not much

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms were a little tired, time for refurb. Could have paid a little more attention to cleaning room

    Location was good , easy to get to centre on trams and metro. The front of house staff were knowledgeable and couldn't be more helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very conjusted and the TV needs an upgrade..

    Optimal location, very close to the Metro station and can hit the city centre in just three stops. The stars of the hotel are the staff.. Hands-down one of the best hotel staffs that I have come across.. Five stars to all of them.. Extremely helpful and extremely sweet people.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Room with Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located not far from the center, but you still have to walk aprox. 25 min to get to the center. In addition, it is situated near the railway station and people who live there surround you on the way from subway to the hotel. The room was quite small, not so new as you can see on the photos.

    Staff was friendly, location close to the metro station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was all right.The staff was very kind.Breakfast was great and included a corner of Turkish food. The facilities were great.So close to the subway and trams where you can get easily to lots of places.Also near a shopping mall.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    room too small - no place for 20kg suitcases. breakfast - poorly organised and trying to prove too many choices in a small space. bread - how did they manage to make the crust so tough? no toaster - well there was a machine that the hungarian version of pizza but it took ages to warm a slice of bread.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom. When running the bath it was impossible not to run the shower at the same time. The wardrobe fell off its rails. The décor was very dated! We had a king sized bed but two single bed duvets. No safe in the room for valuables.

    Pretty cheap and did a job for a city break

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lobby is small , with limited space for bar and coffee shop . Breakfast room is small , so packed with tourists .

    Rooms are big and beds are comfortable . Location is great !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very old fashioned, look like hotel from the 60s , dirty carpets, the bathroom is old . Room facilities are minimal

    The breakfast was nice, the staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff committed to make a reservation in a restaurant and didn't. The same goes for a 3am taxi to the airport. Luckily, I checked....

    Reasonable hotel. Basic, not fancy. Ridiculously small TV.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in-check out takes too long... the towels provided were very small and pretty old. Slightly noisy rooms, due to aluminium windows w/o noise insulation.

    Hotel had available paring for free, breakfast selection was quite Ok,, rooms were with old decoration, but well maintained. Wifi service was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room needed cleaning, there were cobwebs on the ceiling. The worst thing was that the "non-smoking" room REEKED of cigarette smoke. The smoke odor in the bathroom was overwhelming.

    Good location, 3 stops on the Metro from city center. There is a grocery store next to the property Very easy to find. Good breakfast. The staff was fabulous - friendly, courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The self service breakfast was a bit of a scramble because the hotel was full. There perhaps could have been a little more variety with the hot items. The staff are efficient and clear finished with tables very quickly.

    It was probably all that one could expect from a 4 star property. The entrance and lobby are impressive. The staff all seem to speak English well. The rooms will soon be looking a little tired but are just fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You pay different price that your book in Booking. For example, I booked the room in Booking by 153€ and paid 165€ and no body know why.

    Big rooms and confortable and good breadfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms get cleaned quite late, after 15 h. Also: I know it is difficult to prove, but 100 EUR were taken from my wallet, when I ws out of the room. To avoid to lose money and documents when I was walking in the old town, I took only Hungarian money with me and I left my bag with the documents and my wallet in the hotel room. I am certain that a banknote of 100 EUR was taken.

    Nice location, beautiful view to the old town, good restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Terrible cleaning and care in the bathroom. The room and the accomodations were old, but we knew that already. What really disappointed us was the bathroom in the room: the toilet was already dirty when we arrived. We would dare to say that probably the toilet was not even cleaned before we arrived. Because we checked-in during the afternoon, the receptionists told us that they didn't have anyone to go to the room and clean it at that hour, so we had to wait for the next morning. The shower had the structure of a door, but there was no door, only an improvised curtain that let the water spread all over the bathroom floor. The cleaning ladies didn't pay attention to the daily refilling or substitution of the shower gel/ shampoo/ conditioner/ body lotion... We were two persons and we stayed for 7 nights, however in 4 of them, when we arrived in the room, late in the evening, willing to have a relaxed shower, we had to call the reception (four times/four nights) to ask their help to give us: shower cap, shower gel, shampoo, body lotion... For us this was really, really disappointing and a terrible shame in a 4 stared hotel.

    Excelent receptionists. Excelent breakfast. Excelent location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems from outside like a really fancy hotel but if you stay in the normal room it has nothing to do with the hotel's entrance. The room it's like a 3 starts hotel.

    It's really close to oke of the most turistic areas in Budapest: Budapest' castle where you have the greatest views of the city. Also, the breakfast was great, it had a lot of variety and also included tipical hungarian gastronomy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are two kinds of breakfasts. The better one and the economy one. I don't know why but we ended with the economy option. Maybe because the breakfast was included in the price of the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was not as you expected in 4 starts hotel. Personal was great but when we came one guy from reception tell me that they have free parking behind hotel. So we stay with car behind the hotel and next day I had 2 penalties from police. Free parking was behind the barriers. But how I can get there when guy from reception don't give me any card to pass the barriers? When I was after that on the reception they give me card for pass the barriers.

    Breakfast was great. Room was good too, receptions look very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I arrived, the room 525 I was given was of very low standard in every way; very old and dated, shower didn't work, safe didn't open, curtains and carpet threadbare, beds very old (no mattress protectors) - horrible! The next morning I complained as the Mercure is sold as a 4 star hotel. They said 'only some of the rooms were renovated'. They moved me to the room 830 which was a much better standard. So if staying, I suggest making sure you get confirmation that you will have a renovated room or you may as well stay in a hostel. Actually, some hostels I've stayed at have been much better than that room. Be aware that the hotel is on the BUDA side of the river. This is good if you like it very quiet and hills. The PEST side is where all the action happens so if you stay here you have to get a metro to the other side of the river. The hop on hop off buses do come this side but the stop is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. I did a combination of both but next time I will definitely stay the PEST side of the river.

    I liked that the hotel had a supermarket behind it, and a train station a few minutes away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old taste/feeling conveyed by our room Also, the fridge s door was transparent and the light it provided was annoying in order to sleep.

    The building exterior and the shared facilities (main hall, restaurants, breakfast etc...) were good. Still, the room conveyed an old taste. Not saying it wasnt good but didnt expect the feeling Staff was quite good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some furniture looks a bit old, no sockets near bed

    Helpful staff, spacious room, big bed, nice view (8 floor), Park in front of the hotel, Tv channels, early and tasty breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacy, the bed extra large, we had everything we needed, plus spectacular view (our room was at the 8th floor!). We enjoyed the breakfast (really yummy croissants). Above all the hotel is next to the metro station and the tram station! We would definitely go back to this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even with the correct room number you might be send to the mass-feeding area for groups for breakfast, exactly what happened to me. Even telling the staff I dont belong to any of the groups didn't help. Poor Wifi.

    Located next to the train/metro station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One night we wanted to have dinner at the restaurant and we were not allowed. The staff just told us that the restaurant was full, but we saw a few tables without anyone to serve. They just didn't want to serve us dinner! Other thing: we had to ask for some toiletries every day, otherwise, they wouldn't provide the bathroom with it.

    Nice breakfast, with considerable choices. Its very confortable to make some tea or coffee in the room after a full day in the city, (it's cosy)!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was delicious. Spacious and lovely room,with a nice view :) perfect location-close to metro as well as tram stop,so easy to access all the tourism attractions. If we come back,we will definitely choose this hotel again.:)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The cleanness in the room is not good and the staff is not friendly and sympathetic with the guests.

    The hotel is modern and has a good location property in Buda neighborhood.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a piece of crap!!!

    The real life was not the same compare to the pictures!!! Afte when you paid for the room at the check in They want to take your bank card so they could charge you with their hided fees!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room we got was a bit old. It seemed that our wing is in the need of some renovation; the carpets were stained and the furniture in the room was a bit too simple. Maybe it's just our lack of luck - other rooms might be in better shape - I don't know.

    Excellent staff, super friendly serivice and amazing breakfast. The location is very close to public transportation and it's just a short walk to the Castle that offers sperb walks during the day or at night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During breakfast the serving people took dishes from the table even if it was still full of food/beverages just a second away when you left the table to take some more food/drinks (what a waste...) we received upgraded room but didn't feel anyhow upgraded in there (room looks normal - no additional value added) there was a special bottle of water provided "for refreshment" in the room but it was not mentioned whether the water is complimentary or not hotel location near train station

    variety of food during the breakfast was fine big free outside parking hotel location near city center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping left my door open twice. complaining to management doesn't seem to solve the problem (very quickly, anyway) and complaining to the staff in question usually just means they treat ME like I'm the one being 'unreasonable'. Again, I do get that they have work to do - but really, slamming doors? 8 AM was so loud I would have actually thought they were conducting construction .they forgot to put a shampoo in my room. i booked double bed but i got 2 single beds

    Very close to deli train station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to return to reception on two occasions when the magnetic card used to open the door to my room failed to work. As with all Budapest hotels and restaurants, prices are a lot higher than in the Hungarian countryside.

    The Buda Mercure was less expensive than the one in Pest and in a better position being close to the Buda castle area of historical buildings and great views. I was fortunate in having a room on the top floor with a view of the castle. It is also handy for the metro and trams with a pleasant park opposite. As on a previous visit I found the English speaking staff very helpful and ready with maps, advice and a left luggage service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Printer in the business corner did not work. It was super loud. You could hear every car passing by. No window isolation which was indicated on the website seemed to be there. Without earplugs I would have found no sleep at all. There was hardly any water passing through the shower. Not imp[ressive at all, my stay. I will not come back for sure.

    Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I came with confirmation page from Booking.com they gave me most shitty room at the last floor and at the end of corridor (!). Even though I specified on Booking.com that I wanted Double bed the room was with two single beds. So I needed to go back to reception again. They gave me keys to another room with was again on the last floor. When I entranced I saw one big bed but the stink inside was so annoying that even opening the window did not help. So... I had to go again to reception. Did I mention they have slowest elevators ever? Hmm... So after this a manager gave me key to room on privileged floor (2nd) which finally was ok. Only ok, acceptable. But bed - not acceptable. Not at all comfortable. Avoid this hotel. It is very good location but it is not worth the money.

    Good location. No breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very convenient for the tourist spots. Staff were very friendly and the room was comfortable. Breakfast was very good and plenty of choice. Dinner was very good value

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has a certain age now and you can tell by the decoration of the rooms. Although I dont care much about the decoration I should notice that some comforts were lacking. In my room the window curtains were unable to properly block the light into the room so if you have a light sleep you can easilly be awake at 5 am with it. The wifi on my room was very bad, I was on the 7th floor and although you could catch the signal the speed of it was miserable taking close to a minute to load each page, so I ended up using my phone as a hotspot instead.

    The location is good for business trips, there is a nearby metro station (100 m) from which you can get to the city center (Deak Ferenc station) in aprox. 15min. The staff was very friendly and helpful, specially in organizing taxi rides which is very useful if you are in a business trip due to the unreliability of the typical taxi in Budapest. The breakfast was good and with a wide variety of choices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor hotel in poor state, it is like they took an old communistic hotel and put the mercure brand on top... Didn't feel even to sleep there from the dirtiness

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not very new but well maintained; however, the room was too warm and air conditioning wouldn't cool, only recirculate some air.

    The hotel is a short and nice walk away from the old town of Buda.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Poor sound-proof system 2. Poor flush of the toilet & poor draining of water in the basin

    1. Breakfast was quite nice, especially I loved the croissants with crispy surface 2. Good location, close to the final station of the metro line M2 (Deli Palyaudvár) and the Fisherman's Bastion (Halaszbastya)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position of the shower holder was not in a practical place as it directly sprayed water onto the floor if it wasnt for the shower curtain so it was awkward having a shower

    The room size wss great with a table and two chairs to have tea or coffee and spread your maps out on.The location was perfect to walk to the sights and train station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 - 2 people)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Dirty sheets and hair in bed. Someone has already slept in bed !! Receptionist gave us another room. 2. Problems with parking card ... for 1 problem 3 times walk parking-reception-parking

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Budapest Buda traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: