Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Budapest Korona 4 stars

1053 Budapest, Kecskeméti utca 14., Hungary

#217 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2696 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting in room inedaquate. It was too gloomy. Front desk had problem printing final invoice upon check-out and even when sent by E-Mail the attachment (supposedly invoice) was blank.

    Good location for central Budapest. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Breakfast - good choice of dishes. Bed comfortable and room quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower broken in our room, no milk for the tea facilities- had to go to the bar to get some and was told they should of charged for it. Swimming pool wasn't like in the pictures- went to go one day but loads of kids jumping and splashing around taking up the whole pool- assistant just looked at us walk in and went back to looking at he iPad so we had to turn round and walk back out.

    Hotel lovely and clean, room was nice and bed comfortable. Perfect location- close to everything you need, attractions, bars, restaurants and local transport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was loud so room was hot during evening

    Excellent position for walking or use of public transport to centre of town staff very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms were very small and access to the balcony was not good - i stayed in other Mercure hotels and this one did not match the comfort or the standard compared to others - rooms looked like they were done in 80's Parking not very convinient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room is small , also the tv is small , windows cant be opened , the shower water flow is weak , breakfast is poor in vegtables

    the room is clean , the room service is very good , staff are very helpfull , assistive and polite, the pool is fun ,and also the sauna very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room not renovated and small, although I thought I reserved a renovated room. Lots of staff at reception, but not organised.

    Location is Ok - everything is close by!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was crazy, maybe I got there at serious rush hour both mornings, but I could not find a plate, most of the dishes were empty...

    Very central, good location. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast staff seemed overwhelmed at times and there were delays. Room furniture a bit tired; extractor not working in bathroom; bathroom door wouldn't close.

    Very quiet room. Quadruple glazing meant we didn't hear a thing even although on a busy junction. Good lifts. Tea and coffee making stuff in room. Good location - near market hall and river. Underground just outside hotel. Loads of decent eating places close by. Bus to airport just across the road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinning room for breakfast was crammed full every day! Difficult to find a seat. It is always nice to have coffee or tea served BUT this did NOT happen here. Coffee and hot water machine 😟

    Central location and perfectly located for airport bus! Despite being in a busy area with metro station, bus stops and shops/ restaurants the room was quiet( with the window closed). Room service was fine and breakfast OK, usual fare. Easy to walk from the hotel to the river and other sights of interest. For destinations further away the metro was right outside and an inexpensive way of getting around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like

    It’s central location and comfortable room with bath , plenty of hot water , comfy bed and pillows and enough room for suitcases and storage

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was chaotic; food was fine but lack of clearing tables and providing clean cutlery meant that the experience was poor.

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were located in the building in front which does not have access to the street and having to change from one building to the other was a bit tiring as the elevators took ages and it was not easy to find a staircase instead.

    Everything was fine and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lighting in the room was awful. It was very dark and it was impossible to read a book or anything else in the room. BBC was missing from the tv so wanted to read but could not.

    Good location, friendly staff and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite old, as they are going to renew the Hotel but they didn't do it yet, so the pictures are not the same as are on the website. They didn't clean at all the room for the three nights we spent there, they just change the towels and made up the bed, they didn't clean the bathroom etc.

    Good location, near the center, restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got to our room and checked out the bed, I realized a huge dent in the mattress, as if it should have been replaced ages ago because it was too old. You would roll from one side to the other, that's how deep the dent was. Furthermore, the hair dryer in the bathroom was hard to operate since it fell apart if you didn't hold it together properly (I might want to add that I haven't seen such a hair dryer in a while, having been in many hotels before).

    The check-in was pleasant, even though there was a mix-up with another guest because of the same last name, but it didn't affect our experience. The view was nice and we even had a bath tub. It was a quiet room, even though we were relatively close to the elevator.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't dare to use the wifi since it was not password protected. The pool was a big disappointment it didn't live up to photos at all.

    Breakfast was good and the room was very clean. Staff was friendly and service-minded.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Privilege Service
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sirens outside were quite loud

    Great location and lovely staff. Had a couple of questions before booking and they answered them really quickly. Very good service and would highly recommend

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A nice place to stay. Very profesional, polite and kind staff always willing to answer our question. The hotel is located in the city-center, just 50m away from Undergroud. Powerfull air-conditioning. Rich breakfast with wide selection of anything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel should be renovated. Everything is old and used.

    The swimming pool is great. Enough big to really swimm, it was clean, this is a very good point for the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is always a long wait to be served at reception. The service by reception staff is impersonal. I called with a complaint to the front desk on one occasion and the staff member could not attend to me immediately. The staff member called me back after about 15 minutes, and then advised that he would call me back immediately with feedback related to my complaint. I waited about 20 minutes and then called reception again. The aforementioned staff member was not there and I had to explain again to another staff member what had transpired, which was time-consuming and exhausting. The bed and the pillows were old and without any spring. The room was dated and dark, with scuff marks on the wall and worn out carpet. the bathroom was horrendous, it was old and dated, with peeling paint on the walls, and green muck was noticeable upon pressing the toilet flusher. The towel was stained. Toiletries were not replaced on one day. The teaspoon did not appear clean. On another day, a used cup and teaspoon were not removed/replaced dur8ing the routine cleaning for the day. On one day, the bed was hastily made, with the duvet just being pulled up to the top of the bed untidily and the sheets not properly straightened. The room was too dark during the day without natural and artificial light. However, all power sources in the room were dependent on one large main lamp being on in the room (right next to the bed). This meant that if I wanted to charge my phone while I was sleeping, I had to attempt to sleep with this light on!!

    The concierge was helpful with a transfer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative note was about balconies windows at 7th Floor that cannot be open, making the air quite dry

    Everything else was perfect. I also received an upgrade to Privilege room for free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some rooms had not been renovated yet. Nice breakfast. Swimming pool with very short (and weird) opening hours, so that we could not use it.

    Good experience. Nice and quiet. Within a short walk to the city center and the river.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms not worth 4 stars Dirty rooms Beds and pillows not comfortable 3 stars at best, way too expensive for what it gives you

    The neighborhood is good Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a car and directed to the car park garage. Our car was mid-size rental and difficult to put into a small space in the garage. We were told later we could have left it in front overnight. Next time helpful if we were given this information before struggling with the car.

    We like the facilities very much. Very modern and we had updated ‘privilege rooms.’

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all very welcoming and friendly! Checked into a beautiful clean room on the 9th floor that had been recently renovated. Since we were there for only a couple of days it was perfect to know that the hotel was close to pretty much everything!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi didn't work and breakfast area was so crowded that resulted to a lower service, tables weren’t clean and often run out of food

    We liked everything, the location was excellent, the service, breakfast, the room!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was lucky having one of the renewed rooms on the 4th floor. It was all nice, but the rooms could be a bit bigger - I know it is not something to change, it's more like a wish. One thing I would highlight the attention of the management: on two occasions I heard from my room the cleaning personnel arguing on the corridor (and understood it as a born Hungarian). They were loud and nasty talking about the work. Maybe it would be good to let them know that everything they say can be heard in the rooms. The WIFI was on and off on occasions, or was hard to get signal in the room.

    The staff was always nice, especially the guys serving the room service. I liked the fast check-out, not something I see usually in Hungary. The location is very good, there are plenty of places to check on around. The restaurant (on the bridge) is excellent! Great and fast service, very good food and nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They put me in another building , room v.small and make shift model . Did nt respond well when I complained about a local taxi to complaint.

    Breakfast and one guy Adams at reception

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single rooms are extremely, extremely small (as I never imagine to find in a 4-star hotel), with a very small window. The lifts are very slow, serving the clients of the two buildings of the hotel, united by a bridge.

    The hotel is well located for exploring the city. It is also easy to reach from the airport even by bus which has a stop right outside the hotel. Breakfast is varied.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we arrived, the room was set up as a double/king bed instead of twin beds, so we had to resolve this with the reception at 1.30am. The air conditioning was not working in our room for the first few nights but the staff were able to resolve this when we reported it, in time for our final night.

    The beds and pillows were very comfortable and the room was clean. The hotel was in a great location to visit the city. The pool and sauna were pleasant to use and in good condition. The staff were all friendly and polite and helped to resolve the couple of issues we had.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the window - only walls of the surrounding buildings. Very bad smell in the bathroom - maybe problem with sewage system. The whole hotel needs renovation.

    Location is perfect and breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room felt small. Window couldn’t be opened, not even a chink. Kettle would not work and it was leaking, so we couldn’t make tea or coffee.

    Staff were helpful. Location is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The smell in the room was bad, felt like old , air condition did not work, could not flash the toilet. If one of us flashed the toilet the person after you could not until about 30 min after! We told in the reception and they did not do anything about it-bad!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Equipment of a hotel a bit old, elevators makes weird sounds, parking costs 23 € a day. Receptionist not really kind.

    Nice place in city center, very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite with Privilege Service (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very big family rooms. For 2 adults and 2 teens. Great breakfast and central location near metro station and tourist attractions. The stuff is really kind and helpful! Now it’s under construction so the lifts are very busy and slowly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Room was small but newly decorated and well done. Nespresso machine was a bonus. Clean crisp linen, bathroom immaculately clean. Had a problem with window leaking - was dealt with by reception desk promptly & without fuss.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel´s rooms are old and small. Decor curtrain and bedclothes are old and bathroom need renovated. The time I was in hotel the building A was renovated. These rooms will be very nice. Room cleanliness was average. In the mornig was dificult find clean table without plates and glass. But hotel staff was here, but they have time.

    The main advantage of hotel is Location. Near of hotel are many caffe places, a restaurant and bars. The next advantage is breakfast. Breakfast are delicious and big selection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A few places of the inside of the building is a bit old, like the elevator button and stairs.

    A comportable room, good location, friendly staff, cleaness environment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Requested a Walk-in shower. Didn't get it. Got rubbish shower over bath with very little space. No shower seal at the bottom of screen and water constantly flooded the floor every shower. Bed was terrible. Room was cold. Didn't realise the heating system until after a couple of days. Bar closes at night which is shocking for a hotel of this size. Staff sitting about doing nothing in the back when they easily could have been serving at the bar. Had to go to nearby Ibis for a late night drink. Very poor. You pay for what you get. This was cheap so expected the poor quality and standard

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were not able to check-in when we arrived at 2pm and were left waiting for nearly an hour, after being told that the room was in the process of being checked. Think that the staff had forgotten about us as the room turned out to be ready when we eventually asked again......

    Room was comfortable, and we were provided with bottles of water during our stay and a small bottle of champagne on account of having just got married prior to our arrival.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were small, no sound proofing between rooms, construction works taking place. Breakfast service very poor with no replenishment of food or coffee once it was gone.

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was far too warm and the air conditioning was switched off as it was "Vinter" we were told (this was mid March). The receptionist offered to unlock the window which sorted out the heat problem, but exposed us to the very noisy street with piercing police and emergency vehicle sirens which seemed to go by every few minutes. The hotel itself is in two buildings connected by a 3rd floor bridge. To get to our room we had to make two lift journeys separated by a walk across the bridge. Breakfast was a comprehensive buffet style but nothing that was cold - including meats, sausages and pates and even fruit juice - was in any way refrigerated. This seemed unhygienic to us. For most British visitors, the selection of teabags offered was inadequate - it included just one 'builders' style bag per day. We felt deprived! The nearest thing to milk was powdered 'coffee creamer' - less than ideal. The TV had many channels in Hungarian French, German, Russian and American but there was no British news channel.

    Very comfortable room with everything we needed. Staff were all very pleasant and really helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work being carried out at weekends including constant drilling at 8 in a morning.

    Location, nice bar area, tea making facilities (often lacking in Europe), comfy rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On my final day I asked reception to call me a taxi and it just rang for them. Rather than keep trying or ring another company he just said he couldn't get one?! I walked outside and hailed one?! However this was a one off as I had asked same question a day before and they had helpfully got me one within 5 mins.

    Hotel is in the perfect location to explore Budapest from. Swimming pool and sauna lovely after a day doing the tourist thing, room service breakfast was lovely and on time and couldn't hear other rooms apart from door closing as is usual in hotels. Very peaceful night's sleep, lovely view, would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1 pillow. Noisy reconstruction. Small bathroom. Lack of lights in room, and lack of natural light. Old TV. Hairdryer from the medieval age.

    Top floor room. Plenty of wardrobe space.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room in my opinion has HALF STAR if you took out the fridge (this hotel is faraway to be 4 Hotel) -small room, -carpets in the room full with stains -the carpets are smelling -smell in the bathroom (like in a public bathroom) -everything is old and sad in this hotel -paint from the doors peeling off (4 star hotel ...) -the elevator makes some strange noise (excellent felling from safety point of view) -breakfast ,especially the coffee( in the hotel presentation ,in the pictures you have some nice pictures with some expresso creating the FALSE IMPRESSION about the coffee you will drink( that one is subjective) the reality, is totally different

    -the room for breakfast is generous (not like the breakfast itself) -the view is nice ,its in a square ,and not far away from city center, or downtown -around hotel a lot of nice restaurants ,(not more than 5 min away) -the bar near reception is nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were so uncomfortable. Rooms really dark and stuffy Bar prices really high and the Baileys measure only just covered the bottom of the glass!

    Good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Size of the room, too small.

    Excellent location. Excellent staff. Very tiny room, however, the bed was comfortable. Pictures of the room and toilet on booking.com were cleverly configured to not show the size of the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been giving a double duvet instead of two single duvets, cleaner could have waited until we had checked out before banging on the door and waking us, could have been alerted when either booking or checking in that drilling due to refurbishment would start at 8am

    When booking the hotel I was not notified that the hotel was under refurbishment so was woken very early in the morning after already having a poor nights sleep due to the bed being uncomfortable not only that but had the cleaner banging on our door at 8 in the morning when the room didn’t need cleaning until we had checked out at 10. The room was nothing like the photos I saw when booking the room and it was absolutely tiny, the bathroom was awful and the room was extremely overpriced for what it actually was.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were big cushions so after 3 days your neck is pretty stiff

    Really good location, not too far to walk to ruin bars which is what we were mainly there for. Really good restaurants close by. Hotel was clean and modern. Staff really friendly and helpful, they happily called us taxis and gave us info on the baths we wanted to go to.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the room, smelt of smoke and there was work being done above us every morning! Would have appreciated some kind of warning! Was walked in by a cleaner. Not a lot of hot selection at breakfast. Was not in walking distance to the major attractions in Budapest.

    Bed was quite comfortable. Reasonable sauna and pool. Near the national museum.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a previous good experience at Mercure Hotel in Dubai, there we god a huge room with a gorgeous bathroom, this is why I expected the same from Mercure Budapest, but unfortunately it was completely not the same, I was a little bit disappointed in the small tiny room, with a cheap design.

    A cosy small room, with great stuff, amazing breakfast. The location of the hotel is perfect! It's really in the heart of the city, everything is so close to it, and there is good bus and train connection, easy for getting to the airport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - lack of central lightning in the room - quite dark room at night - hotel policies of not giving toiletries other than shampoo&shower gel from the beggining (at least in standard rooms), they are available upon request, but it is an incovenience, especially when things like slippers, shoe shine and body lotion are quite basic for a 4* hotel!! - hotel renovation accounts for noisy rooms even at inferior floors (we were initially given a room on floor 6 where we could not hear each other because of the construction noise, but even in the other room on floor 3, the noise is annoying) - wifi does not remain connected throughout the stay - we had to reconnect every time we accessed internet

    - extraordinary location - metro entry just outside the hotel and close to a hot spot for public transportation - friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is about to be renovated. It’s currently bill as a 4 star but, in reality it’s more like a good 3 Star and rough around the edges. Sadly the noise coming from works upstairs from room made it impossible to enjoy any relaxing time in the room between 9am - 5pm and when raised with the staff there was no apology offered. Willing to try it again soon post renovation but not before. Bed also very old and overused - needed replacing.

    The staff were generally friendly and the location was great to get to the river or any of the central attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Privilege Service (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room seemed very dark even with lights on. One light in seating area wasn't working and it would have been better had there been two chairs in this area. Layout of room and seating area seemed a bit odd but we understand refurbishments will be starting soon.

    Very clean and quiet room. Hotel is the perfect location for sightseeing. Staff at main desk were very helpful and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Swimming pool and sauna were an added bonus. We shall certainly stay here again when we return to Budapest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had disturbing noise behind the wall early in the morning on Monday Changing rooms to pool area are rather dated Pool water is on a cold side Had to connect to Wifi manually every time I came back to hotel

    Generally good, clean, tidy hotel. Nice pool area and sauna. Good price. Great location Could leave luggage for free on the day of our leave.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way too hot we couldn’t sleep and when we opened the window the noise of the traffic outside was too loud which made it worse 😩 there should be an air conditioning option or the option to turn down the heating.

    Iu

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to dislike.

    hotel had a sophisticated look with a wonderful entrance and smelt amazing. staff were so friendly and helpful. within 5 minutes one way you were at the danube, tram and underground stop within 100 yards. Then within 2 minutes the other way there was a costa and an amazing array of different food places (very reasonable). Best hotel and location ive stayed in. made our weekend break the best it could be.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast did not really have many options. The restaurants at the lobby did not have many options either.

    I travelled alone, the room size was adequate for me. The bath was nice. Friendly staff which was contrary to many staff I met at other places in Budapest. The location is nice, right above the metro.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid extra for breakfast & it’s not really worth it. Variety of food sections. However it’s more quantity rather than quality of the food. Looks many of choices but actually really not. For example it would be better have chefs for eggs not for the waffle. I rather would have choice of omelet, poached or fried eggs. Also on Sunday swimming pool & sauna closed at 3pm. So I couldn’t use it. I wanted to relax in the sauna on Sun night but I couldn’t use it. It was too early closed on Sunday.

    The location was great!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didnt have freezer facilities for medical supplies that I need to keep cold. Long way from reception to room lift to 3rd floor then over a bridge then another lift to 4th floor.

    Nice hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked my room very much - the premium room in the silent location of hotel suitable when traveling for business because u have a small conference table in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about this hotel was great, the location, the food, the drinks, the room, the bed, the staff. There was nothing to complain about at all! Had such a brilliant stay. Thank you - we will be back!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed on one side was not comfortable, maybe it was a bit pushed inside with constant usage on that side alone.

    Really nice staff, very good location, great room! in short, go for it!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking places were very small and we had a small car and still struggled.

    We only stayed one night so it’s hard to pick out something as standout but staff were excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well you could hear everything from the room next door (even when they whispered). The bathroom was dirty (when we arrived there was hair next to the toilet and in the shower as well). Let's just say I was expecting more for my money.... I'm afraid I'm not gonna stay here in the future.

    Location, sauna and the breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to take the lift twice and cross the bridge everytime was a bit of a hassle. Some of the fruits were not fresh (probably from a jar or can). Cleaners could do a bit more completeness check. Glasses and cups were not often replaced.

    Superb location. Everything worth seeing for a first time tourist was within walking distance. Pool and sauna were also great for relaxing. Great bread and pastry choices for breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room service does not exist. it was not possible to order any dish present in the menu. I had the room on the sixth floor, in the morning at 8.30 am they started renovating the rooms on the seventh floor, a great noise woke us up. A shameful situation. I do not know how the hotel management does not feel ashamed. I did not ask for the refund of the stay because I do not want to waste time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning was missing during the whole stay. I found the signal of mold behind the bath curtain and nobody cleaned during the stay. They replaced the glass curtaiun for a normal curtain and nobody cleaned the signals of mold and oxidation on the tiles. There was a box of condoms under the bed from previous guests, that stayed there the 3 days of our stay. The smile of the staff was missing, in a business like hotels cliente do not deserve be treated like numbers. The mattress was pretty old and unconfortable. Breakfast was ok, but the staff in the breakfast were not welcoming at all.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disapointed in general: high price for very old and poor room. I cannot understand how they can sell this kind of room. Humidity spot in wall, very old floor... Is not look like same on the picture of hotel. Bathroom are very small too. You cannot be on toilet and close the door.

    The personnal was great, and location of hotel good. The only positive point for this hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 5 nights

    But we have a problem with beds in our room. The bed was very old and not comfortable (we feel the springs in the bed). We can't sleep becaus of it few nights. Blanket and pillows was horrible. I think they must change it.

    The hotel is very good and pretty inside and outside. Very good location. It's 10 minutes of walking from downtown. And you have a subway station in 50 meters from the hotel. Many restoraunts and cafee was around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electrical sockets were not enough and number of sockets weren’tenough. In bed you cannot use your phone while charging.

    Breakfast was so good. You can find too much things to eat for breakfast. Also hotel’s location was good. You can walk into city center around 10-15 mins.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room for 1 or 2 persons
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool could have been open for longer, different days main different opening times, air con did not work properly, although it was winter it was still pretty warm in the room dispute air con being on 5c

    Room was spacious, close promixty to main attractions and close metro links

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly toilet. They changed our room once requested. Old TV. Requested view, gave us the inside of the building. Had to change two elevators to get to the room.

    Metro train and bus station right outside. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    annoying link to building block B - why it doesn't have direct street entrance? (guessing it might be possible and it would be much more convenient for guests rather than 3rd floor over the street bridge)

    perfect location at Kálvin square (metro lines M3, M4, trams 47+49 + some walk away tram 2) close to everywhere, wifi works well

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Budapest Korona traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: