Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Budapest Danube 4 stars

1027 Budapest, Bem rakpart 33-34., Hungary

#133 of 355 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 989 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel on the Danube
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like about this hotel!

    Perfectly located to explore Pest and go to Buda. That it had a bar with excellent food and service from Michael. Breakfast was until 10am.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.9
    We had a great stay at the Novatel and it has an amazing view of the Budapest Houses of Parliament.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom sink plug did not function very well and the shower did not have much pressure.

    The breakfast buffet was great there was so much choice and loved the cherries 🍒. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It looks an old building, I expected something more impressive, and it is inconvenient to operate the lift with an entrance card

    Location is great! Breakfast, room, everything are ok. I liked coffee machine in the room, though didn't use it a lot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Excellent parliment view at a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just what you expect in Novotel. Breakfast was not impressive. Ger parrliment view room, otherwise no reason to stay here.

    Excellent parliment view at a night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Average hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff. With the exception of Michael, a bar tender, the staff were sullen and disinterested. Specially the front desk staff. Although this seems to be typical of most of those with whom we dealt with, including railway station information staff and metro staff. Bar prices are outrageous- although the prices are obviously what some people are willing to pay.

    Location. Bed was comfortable. Plenty of hot water. Access to internet for printing airline boarding passes etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    A good choice in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet is separated from the bathroom. Why? This is very uncomfortable. The restaurant and the lobby bar are really overpriced. The air conditioner in the room is too powerful - we had to it switch of in the night, but then it was too warm.

    Superb! I was fully satisfied. Very, very good breakfast, which was not only looking good , but also very delicious and it comes also with a nice view on the Danube and the Parliament. Perfect location below the castle and the old town (but it's not so good, if you wish to explore Pest, because the Széchenyi Chain Bridge is too far away) and near the metro station. I was surprised to find enough empty parking lots in front of the hotel in August. The price of 15 Euros per night, asked at the reception, is acceptable (although 4000 HUF are only 13,20 Euro!!!). A very nice variety of wines and sweet hungarian wines at the bar. We had an executive room - everything in the minibar was included in the room rate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.3
    I only liked the coffe machine provided in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the room at all. This should not be a 4 star hotel. I booked for 2 nights for 3 people and paid 300€ for a room which is suitable for 1 person I think. There was no space in the room and toilets and bathrooms were too tiny.

    I only liked the coffe machine provided in the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    EXCELLENT LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good hotel and even better its location, the very friendly and always willing to collaborate, the excelnete parking at the front of the hotel, breakfast very complete and varied, and best of all the views of the parliament of budapest.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good hotel and even better its location, the very friendly and always willing to collaborate, the excelnete parking at the front of the hotel, breakfast very complete and varied, and best of all the views of the parliament of budapest.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Handy stopover hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was perfectly adequate for one or two nights. It's a Novotel!

    Location. We stepped off our cruise boat and walked across the road to the hotel. Nice views across the river

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Well located with good staff and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    (1) My vegetarian daughter checked for and ordered a vegetarian dish for dinner. The dish she was served had prawns right on top. When we pointed this out to the waitress, she seemed completely nonchalant about it. We had to specifically ask her to take it back and return with the vegetarian dish we ordered. (2) At peak breakfast time, there was a drop in service, with some food items not being replenished promptly. (3) WiFi signal would vary in parts of the room.

    Well located, most sites are within walking distance. Polite staff who care about their customers. Efficient service, we asked for the coffee machine to be checked at reception and a staff member reached our room even before we got there!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Sleep here, eat out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant standard of cooking mediocre. For the money ( or less) we found much better meals elsewhere.

    Good selection at breakfast bar. Wonderful view of Parliament and Danube. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Easy to follow no, great location opposite Parliament and by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to follow no, great location opposite Parliament and by the river. The staff were helpful and very friendly. Worth staying there when exploring Budapest.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    I would come back despite minor drawbacks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the two elevators did not work. Breakfast was not worth the money it'd cost. Bathroom needs to be refreshed.

    Good location. view from the hotel, convenient parking., interior design with many windows, spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    The view from the hotel is very nice and the hotel staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t very clean (hair on the carpet and dirty walls), the carpet was old and some elements in bathroom were broken. They don’t have slippers!

    The view from the hotel is very nice and the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The location is quite ok, because it is close to public transportation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel but very close to the Metro and tram lines. Tickets can be easily purchased from a matching at the Metro station.

    Very comfortable bed and great breakfast. Amazing view across the Danube to the Parliament building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. The room was small, the bathroom is separated to two tiny areas which makes it very difficult to use, the TV size is a joke, like 13", the bed size is definitely not king size and there is no complementary water in the room. I'm not sure how this is a 4-star hotel as it doesn't have the standards for that. We were extremely disappointed. Our initial booking was for 4 nights, however, after seeing the hotel, we only stayed for one night as the difference in the price between this hotel and the other 5-stars hotel in the pest side is very minimal.

    Maybe the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.8
    Reception and restaurant staff had excellent service!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff were far below par, there were late to clean rooms and when they cleaned the rooms they were shoddy and left a lot uncleaned.

    Reception and restaurant staff had excellent service!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel, would reccomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer was not the most powerful, so I would recommend you bring your own.

    The location was fantastic. It is 4 minutes walking from the closest metro station, which means you are minutes from all of the sights of Budapest. We also chose to book a room with a view and it was absolutely stunning. The room itself was quite big, plenty of space and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was done buffet style, and was huge; bacon, eggs, hash browns, beans, saussges, French toast, fruit salads, waffles, pastries to only name some of the options! It was a great start to the morning and was the best buffet breakfast I've seen in a very long time. Overall, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. It was my first Novotel experience, so will definitely be using their other locations in the future as this experience was so good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Room : I stayed in river view room and the view was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff : I felt the old staffs were nice but the young guys were not friendly.

    Room : I stayed in river view room and the view was fabulous. I didn’t even need to go outside to see night view. Also morning view of parliament is great. I enjoyed the morning view every day with a coffee. Reataurant : I arrived at hotel late in the night and all the restaurant nearby was closed then. Thankfully the hotel restaurant was opened. They serve really good goulash soup! Location : Close to palace, fisher’s bastion, bridge and spa.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.7
    Great view
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and especially the bed need a face lift. Small closet. Flood lights facing the whole building.

    Nice breakfast with a wide selection. Helpful reception staff. Good location with a great view of the river and historical buildings. Walking distance to metro station and other public transportation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    Stunning view of the Parliament.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel is 20 minutes by walk to the centre of Pest, the location is beautiful as the building is opposite to the Parliament, therefore the view is absolutely stunning. The area is very quiet and looks safe to walk at night. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.8
    No major complaints but should be a lot nicer for a 4* hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We specifically asked for a double bed but were given two singles pushed together. This didn't bother us too much but the mattresses were very very hard and uncomfortable. We asked reception if there were any rooms which didn't have those mattresses and were told no. We both got the impression that they must receive a lot of complaints about the mattresses as our complaint didn't phase them at all. We were told we could change to a double bed the next day but it would have the same mattress so we passed on the opportunity. The rooms were spacious and clean but I was expecting a lot more for a 4* hotel. There were no elements of luxury. I must admit we were a tad disappointed with the room considering it's supposedly 4*.

    The hotel has a lovely view and is in a good location if you don't mind walking or getting public transport to the main attractions, shops and restaurants. It was very clean and the maid came every day. The staff were friendly and were helpful when we asked if we could change room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    4.6
    Location, sauna and fitness room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    power socket in bathroom was broken, the bed was too noisy, noise insulation was bad, iron wasn't clean such as the dishes of breakfest

    Location, sauna and fitness room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    5.8
    Serviceable hotel whose location and view deserves better from the insides.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor and facilities are a bit tired and dated. A very small fitness room. The shower did not drain well and this was not corrected during my stay.

    Great location with friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.5
    Good for a short visit but don't pack lots of clothes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not enough wardrobe space to hang clothes and nowhere separate to put heavy coats etc. Bed was acceptable but nothing to write home about - our overnight stay in a Premier Inn before flying to Budapest provided far superior comfort! Tiny bedside shelves. Wet room didn't drain properly. No towel rail within reach of either the wash basin or the shower. Poor quality towels (one with a hole).

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were plentiful with an assortment of hot and cold food. Beautiful view of the Parliament building from the dining room windows. Quiet area with good public transport links.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.5
    stay was really good except for the room cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    housekeeping - was not good at all. Cleanliness was very bad. Had to ask for everything even after room was supposedly cleaned. I don't think even the vacuuming was done or the beds were cleaned.

    I loved the manager at the morning breakfast. He was very warm and we looked forward to meet him every day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was slightly dirty and carpet was watermarked around entrance to bathroom. Not a big issue and would still recommend this hotel.

    Friendly staff and good facilities. A great location for seeing Budapest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    Business trip Budapest
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The first thing I want to underline for this hotel is the position! I think, probably the best you can ever have in Budapest if you have also room with river view ! My room was with river view , very spacious and comfortable. Perfect bed, good linen quality! The room was clean and very silences! The WiFi is fast and for business travellers like me is plus. The bathroom is small but it’s ok. The restaurant serving good quality dishes. The breakfast is various and very good, good espresso also. The staff is very friendly and helpful in case of requests . I recommend this hotel if you want to enjoy good time in Budapest

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice stay overall if you are prepared to eat and drink outside hotel for your stay i
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices in hotel bar and restaurant were so so over priced compared to Budapest prices

    The hotel was very nice but we travelled in Nov and hotel was so warm in room it was just uncomfortable to sit in room and sleep windows do not open for air would not stay her ever during summer or warm weather as it would be unbearable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    The room was very clean, the bed sheets were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we came in the hotel we were having lots of bags and no help even offered.

    The room was very clean, the bed sheets were excellent. The view from the restoran amazing. Breakfast was great, lots of different food. There were some event happening and check in and check out were quick

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    I would recommend a stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm at night and we were told by staff that the aircon was turned off in the hotel at this time of year (October).

    The location is very nice and convenient for public transport. The selection at breakfast was quite good and the food was good quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.7
    Good hotel with great view but not enough space in breakfast area for breakfast to be confortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hated the crowded environment at breakfast. There was barely room to move with all the people scrabbling to get their food at the breakfast buffet and tables were almost all full. This was an unpleasant aspect of the hotel experience.

    The room was fine. Good that there was tea/coffee in room. View at front of hotel is fantastic - looking onto river Danube and across to the beautiful parliament building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    The breakfast choices were great for a veggie, rooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast choices were great for a veggie, rooms were excellent and clean and comfy. The staff were a great help to any questions. We traveled from the airport via public transport and the hotel was easy to locate from just off the metro. Great location also!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    An enjoyable stay, good location and good breakfast. Lunch was also excellent with a good menu .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn't seem to work so the room was very hot

    Staff in reception very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is in an excellent location opposite the Parliament building. Also metro and tram stops very near the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.7
    One lady at reception was not Coaprative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One lady at reception gave us tickets of bus which were not available till 1100am.due to that we miss some places to see

    One lady at reception was not Coaprative.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Amazing hotel. Amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personel at the reception was not very helpful or welcoming expect from the lady who check us in. Personally i would appreciate it if they have taken the effort to ask us how was our stay at the hotel and having the pleasure to let them know that is was extremely good.

    The room was amazing. The view was incredible. Everything was extremely clean and the breakfast was very full and tasteful. Especially one lady at the restaurant was very polite providing us coffee in the morning. We really did enjoy it at the maximum.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    4.2
    Interesting experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The attitudes of majority of the staff . It's as if we were a bother and at times lack of efforts to even make the bed. We found sheets just pulled over bed unmade? The odd staff members were good.

    I liked the hands on approach by the GM who saved our celebration trip for my wife's birthday that could have been easily ruined by the receptionist at our check-in stage..!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value in a luxurious hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower door is undersized so water did splash quite a bit on the bathroom floor. A better bath mat would probably help. Also the aircon makes the room quite dry and there is no complimentary water provided meaning you need to shell out for a small bottle of water.

    The service was excellent, and the facilities were great. The views from the hotel are also really nice. The is a great photo opportunity on the 6th floor to get a great photo of the parliament building. The breakfast had a nice selection of both hot and cold food, and the hotel is centrally located.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    good choice for a few days stay in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's always room for improvement, staff could have a better attitude towards guests. I wasn't greeted by anyone but the consierge when I arrived or in breakfast the following two days. While I was waiting for the elevator along with another guest, an employee carrying a trolley with luggage didn't wait for us to take the first elevator. Instead he took it and we had to wait for the next one... Some issues with the cleaning of the room, I'm attaching a photo of a "cleansed" cup and of a humidity stain on the bathroom ceiling. Also I noticed that the device where you warm up your breakfast bread in the breakfast area sometimes pops the bread to the floor behind the table!

    Perfect location, right on the Danube river bank, with an impecable view of the Hungarian parliament (one of the most popular tourist attractions in the city) but away from the tourist crowds. Very close to public transportation (a Metro station is about two blocks away and there are also tram and busses). Private hotel parking was available for a fee in front of the main entrance. My room was spacious enough and had a lovely view of the parliament and the Danube river, I'm attaching a photo. The bed was very comfortable. I liked that the toilet was seperated from the shower area, perfect for two people in the same room. Excellent wifi. Breakfast was good, nothing exceptional but good. Fast check in and check out .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.5
    Aircon worked really well and the bed was comfy and it...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was stained, the fixtures in the bathroom were really old and the TV was tiny and had only one English channel, which was news.

    Aircon worked really well and the bed was comfy and it seemed to be cleaned really well. I also ordered room service which tasted good, and the staff were really friendly. Finally, the location was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Best Location in Budapest - Excellent Breakfast & Staff - Comfortable Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Outstanding staff who spoke English proficiently. Excellent location - best view in town looking directly at the Parliament Building. Was nice coming back to quiet Hotel each evening and enjoy a drink in their bar with lighted Parliament Building as a view. Elaborate Breakfast - well worth the money. Enough to eat to hold you over until dinner time as you'll be busy during the day sightseeing. Location - Location - Location - can't get any better than the Novotel. 2 minute walk to Batthyany Square - where you can catch Metro, Tram and/or Bus. Catching the Metro Red #2 takes you quickly across the Danube - getting off at second stop you are on Fashion Street where all the activity is at. Plus short walk to the River Cruise Ships for night River Cruise etc. Also from Batthyany Square you can catch the Big Bus Hop on Hop Off. You can also catch Line H5 from Batthyany Square to Skanzen Open Air Folk Museum in Szentendre (39 min) We used the Hop on Hop Off bus to get to the Bath/Pools on Margaret Island. We stayed 3 nights at the Novotel - we could have stayed 2 days longer there is so much to see and do in Budapest.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful place but comfort is not equal to price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For more than 200 EUR per person and night I would expect more comfort. No shoes or bathrobe, partly damaged equipment in bathroom and toilet, towel which doesn't sip water, etc.

    Nice place in the center of town by Danube. Helpful and nice staff. Good and fast wifi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    Aunt's Golden Wedding Celebration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess the room looked a little tired - but hey, the view of the Danube and parliament building more than compensated

    The staff were friendly, polite and very helpful. We had arrived by bike - the staff were excellent in accommodating these. Loved the gels and shampoos (with big labelling so didn't need my glasses to see what they were!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, historic Budapest is absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dining area got really crowded several times during both breakfast and lunch time, due to large groups of people coming to eat all at once. There were even some who couldn't find a table and had to eat breakfast at the bar.

    Excellent location, historic Budapest is absolutely beautiful. Our room was nice, spotlessly clean and we did appreciate the air conditioning. Good breakfast, a variety of food to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.5
    To encourage tourists and give a good start for the day, breakfast should be part of room rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room temperature was high and could not be controlled from the room therefore had to open the window to lower the temperature

    Staff was helpful and courteous

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location in a quieter part of Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception could brush up on their knowledge of local restaurants and bars. eg The Mandragora is excellent and only 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Bar prices in the hotel were expensive. Hence it was empty and devoid of character.

    Restaurant staff were very pleasant. wonderful location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.2
    Lively hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower cubicles allowed water to splash out onto the bathroom floor. Otherwise good en-suite.

    Excellent location with great views. Public transport nearby. The beds were comfortable. Great choice of beverages in the room. Good selection for breakfast. Welcome message and sweets/nuts were a nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    8.3
    Generally very much satisfied with staying at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travel kit is missing in a bathroom, tv screen could be bigger, no english movies channels

    Clean room,comfortable bed,breakfast- value for money with a view to the House of Parliament, polite staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    6.7
    Best for location but not value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Though I asked for a "quiet" room and was expecting to have one for the room rate, I was awoken every night when someone closed their door on the same floor and even the picture above my bed shattered. There was a peculiar smell in the room (sewers?), not that strong but still. Both the shower and the bath were leaking: when I finished the water was overflowing the bathroom into the room carpet. The sauna can only be used with a preliminary notice - this is not noted anywhere so when I went down (with no time to spare) I was disappointed that it was off. The parking costs 13 EUR/day which was not shown on the fact sheet on the site.

    Location is perfect. The room was well equipped and contemporary - shower and bath, tea/coffee/kettle etc. Brekkie is Novotel standard, quite good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    8.8
    A good business hotel with a nice view and great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even if the rooms are spacious, some elements seem to be missing, e.g. shelves, racks to hang jackets etc. But for a short stay it is not critical.

    The location is excellent especially if you get a riverfront room (view of the impressive Parliament building). Breakfast is good too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    8.8
    Good business hotel on the Buda side
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Showers that flood the bathroom floor!

    Large clean rooms, good fast wifi, better restaurant than many hotels. Awesome view of the Parliament (if you pay a little more for a river view room).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.9
    All thing OK.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not noticed

    All thing OK. Price/quality for B+. Hotel is not new, but clean. WiFi norm, plus free access in app for news paper in all languages. For a couple of days good to stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was amazing,breakfast was great, the staff was helpful and kind. Metro is just 150 m away, the location is so good that you can go everywhere on foot. If I happen to go to Budapest again, which I really want to because I fell in love with the city, Novotel is the only address I will stay😊

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable lodgings on the Danube
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a shame I could not book the hotel for my full stay in Budapest, and I needed to relocate after a few days due to high room demand in the city. Maybe they could consider usb charging points in rooms. I don't know if the breakfast buffet offers fresh cooked options such as omelettes etc, If not might be good to add. If they do, maybe promoting that better to guests.

    Location was good. Across the Danube from Parliament house and a short stroll to the Metro station. My only negative about the locale was that I was only able to find a few dining options near by. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Pricing was competitive compared to other hotels in the area. Dining area and bar were smallish, but I never had any problem finding somewhere to sit. Service and food quality were both very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Perfect view of Parliament Building at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet was a bit too expensive but was very tasty nonetheless.

    We stayed here for my husband's birthday and had a room overlooking the Hungarian Parliament which was perfect! Breakfast was great and room service too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.2
    Well worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was OK, but could be a bit better, small pillows were not so comfortable. The shower did not have a complete door, so some water were spilling in the rest of the bathroom.

    Really nice breakfast, awesome view on the Parliament. Cozy room with a sofa, music in the bathroom :)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    4.6
    Bad bathroom overrate whole stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was just OK yet with the modern feeling but quite small if used as double... However the bathroom was a real nightmare - dormitory style, so tiny, old and worn out.... Definitely nothing to be expected in 4* hotel... For people sensitive to cleannes and appropriate level of comfort (not luxury!!) wise to choose another from plenty options where to stay in Budapest...

    Great location with good accessibility, breakfast was nice and so the business catering.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.9
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet in different room from bath. And aircon initially set too warm.

    The 2 bathrooms - I like choices!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.1
    My Opinion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small and also the time for breakfast was too short.

    Location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.0
    Friendly, helpful staff and a beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly, helpful staff and a beautiful view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice staff, great breakfast,
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overcrowded restaurant at breakfast.

    Nice staff, great breakfast,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Great value for money hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Good location for the Bud side of the river.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Super
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Very new rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    great breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is small

    great breakfast buffet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    A great hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great hotel in a great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Better than I expected
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great recommendation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous view of Parliament
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower booth was old

    Fabulous view of Parliament

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    A river view though additional charge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slippers

    A river view though additional charge

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    The view of the Parliament.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the Parliament. The room was a good size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Close to most tourist attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good price, comfortable and friendly staff & kids games and playstation area

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novotel Budapest Danube traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: