Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Öreg Miskolcz Hotel 4 stars

3525 Miskolc, Horváth Lajos ut 11, Hungary

#3 of 7 hotels in Miskolc

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 305 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    We would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst I appreciate it is an old building, the plumbing is very noisy from adjoining rooms. The occupants of the room next to our's got up at 4 and, we're assuming, both had showers and then turned the water on and off frequently until gone 5! This interrupted my sleep which was a shame as there is no traffic noise at all.

    The hotel is conveniently located;

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    A very nice place to stay for a visit to Miskolc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice old-style hotel. Friendly and accommodating staff. Very clean and comfortable room and facilities. We found the restaurant to be great, and the hotel's location is terrific. A wonderful place to stay for a visit to Miskloc!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    A comfotable haven for visiting the Caves Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really

    Close to the town centre and very helpful staff. We wnt to enjoy the Thermal Caves and purchased a Miscolc card that provided free entrance and transportation while we were there Recommend the Mirage restaurant nearby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.8
    Poor accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I heard people next room. This should be rated only 3 star hotel and was very expensive for what you get. I would never choose it again!!!

    I heard fairly loud coughing next room and this was not a 4 star hotel by any means. The room was very expensive for what you get. Location was the only thing I liked. I would never choose this place again!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swedish buffet breakfast could do with some improved choices, maybe a coffee machine, staff was really nice though and tried to help with anything.

    The sauna was excellent, especially that there were not many people. The beds were comfy, the bathroom was nice. The hotel is close to the old part of town, nice walking distance to the main street,tram and museums. Nice cafe opposite the Theatre Museum about 300 metres away. All staff members were helpful and nice to talk to.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Super stay in Miskolc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good.

    Location was central to the city centre. The staff were excellent, very helpful and attentive. The room was large and very well equipped. The car park too was large and appeared safe and secure.Although only twelve years old the building was in the style of the early twentieth century, very evocative.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous architecture and decoration - very art-deco, stylish and understated. Extremely friendly and helpful staff with excellent English. Restaurant food exceptionally good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for a one-night stay, nice interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though the hotel is a non-smoking facility, we could smell the cigarettes everywhere..not too sure if it was coming from the back - the room was facing to the back of the building where the staff could have smoked - or were there no smoke alarms installed..In the morning we woke up to noise coming from the back also.

    The place is in a brilliant location, few minutes from the Plaza and the coach station and close to the city center, but still in a quiet and green area. Part of the building was getting renovated, but that didn`t bother us too much..The interior is classic and well-maintained, the staff very helpful and chatty, we didn`t have any breakfast as woke up late.The bathroom was super clean and the beds lovely and comfy. Didn`t use tv, wifi or any other facility, so can`t really say much on that..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    10
    I would return any time. I can only recommend.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The coffee.

    Everything as described. Very friendly, helpful and flexible staff (we had to change a few times our departure date but it was not a problem, neither was the late checkout). Great breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    6.3
    Four Stars??? Maybe only for cost, not for quality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed linens are not iron-pressed (according to hotel's policy) and look ugly - like used. Honestly we are not sure that linens have been changed after previouse guests.

    Very nice location and free parking. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice people and good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Location, big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, big room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Spider nets in room corner
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spider nets in room corner

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    The staff was great, room, bed, etc.. great, the breakfest was also perfect nothing wrong here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Bed was excellent after a long day work And the floor heating in bathroom soooo amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Thr balcony
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thr balcony

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.5
    Oreg Miskolc is such a nice hotel to stay with all comforts and good staff, ever ready to attend to
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 26 nights

    None that i know

    The meals were well prepared and fantastic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Cute Boutique Hotel Miskolc
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful service, cute boutique hotel,lovely helpful staff. Great Hungarian food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Lovely staff let us check out 2 hours after usual time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff let us check out 2 hours after usual time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Karel Bajer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sometimes pure WiFi

    Friendly Staff, very good location in center city

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    6.7
    Clean but old
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old and outdated

    Clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    Karel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometime poor wifi

    Friendky staff, clean, city center

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.1
    One night business tirp
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was smelly

    The breakfast was awesome

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    8.3
    It is centrally located.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa area was a bit unkept.

    It is centrally located. Walking distance to nightlight and shopping. The staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    9.6
    Miskolc Oreg - Good Choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi this week in trouble

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    10
    Everythink OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everythink OK

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    3.8
    Thiny walls and poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thiny walls and poor breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.6
    Very good breakfasts, very comfortable beds.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfasts, very comfortable beds. Close to historical city center.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.6
    Very good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    7.9
    Location is near the city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is basic. I ordered scramble egg, but it tasted too salty. Since the hotel was under remodeling, some dusts and debris were infront of my room.

    Location is near the city center.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    10
    We celebrated our anniversary in the hotel, and we are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We celebrated our anniversary in the hotel, and we are absolutely satisfied !! *.* Nice hotel, excellent location, extra friendly staff, nice foods, we can refommend it to everyone, and we are sure to visit here again :)

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    8.8
    Nice 3* Hotel in walking distance from the pedestrian zone.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice 3* Hotel in walking distance from the pedestrian zone. Free parking in the back yard, Wifi was ok most of the time. Good breakfast, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    10
    Reception staff was exceptionally nice and gave us a late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception staff was exceptionally nice and gave us a late check out. Our room faced the street with a beautiful view. This hotel was 100% nicer thank the previous one in same town at the same price. Great parking space in the back.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    8.8
    An old-established hotel, clearly proud of its heritage, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The waiter at dinner forgot my soup, with the result that the main course had to be kept warm while the soup was prepared, and was not at its best when I eventually ate it. The carpet in my bedroom was a light colour and needed a deep clean.

    An old-established hotel, clearly proud of its heritage, and exudes an appropriate atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.9
    The location is perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room under the roof was not climated when i came in (at 30° outside it was 35 inside).

    The location is perfect. Close to Miscolc Plaza and the shopping mile with some nice cafes.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly, welcoming, English-speaking staff: a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Very friendly, welcoming, English-speaking staff: a "welcome pack" named envelope was awaiting my arrival. Nice restaurant serving hot meals and drinks to 2200 and a good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    9.2
    Nice boutique hotel in the center of the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor breakfest

    Nice boutique hotel in the center of the town

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    8.8
    staff were fabulous
    • Group

    staff were fabulous

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    8.3
    Great location in city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location in city center

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.3
    promt staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    promt staff

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    9.6
    Very nice and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice and friendly staff. Big,spacious and nicely decorated rooms with very comfortable beds. Sauna in the basement is great !

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff, helpful with extra requests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly staff, helpful with extra requests.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff, large comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was a little basic, but adequate (and reasonably priced).

    Friendly staff, large comfortable rooms. Good location for the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    7.9
    fast check in and check out
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    poor sound insulation of the room

    fast check in and check out

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    9.6
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Central location. Good sized room.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.6
    Heplful, polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ---

    Heplful, polite staff. Nice wellness. Free parking, close to the center.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    7.5
    see above!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not easy to find when walking from railway station.

    see above!

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    Great location, extremely helpful and kind staff, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The ventilation system is a bit noisy.

    Great location, extremely helpful and kind staff, very good food.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    Room clean,hotel in a nice place 5 minutes to city center.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Room clean,hotel in a nice place 5 minutes to city center.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    8.8
    In the city centre on foot within 3 minutes, spacy room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shower cabin's door was somewhat hard to open and close.

    In the city centre on foot within 3 minutes, spacy room, clean bathroom

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    10
    Staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only negative is the poor sound insulation between room.

    Staff were very helpful. All areas were clean. Bed comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    7.9
    Very nice design and warm and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    coffee at the breakfast

    Very nice design and warm and friendly staff. Option to have warm food for breakfast.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: