Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palatinus Hotel

9400 Sopron, Új utca 23., Hungary

#10 of 13 hotels in Sopron

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 621 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft. The furnitures were a bit worn. There were no available park places during our visit. All of them was occupied by others.

    It is in the city center. The shops and the general events were really close to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were 2 friends travelling together, so we reserved a room with 2 single beds and got a standard confirmation. Though we got a room with just one bed (and no, not that one frame with 2 single mattresses, but just a double bed, which was rather small in our opinion). The receptionist was cooperative and friendly and was trying to find a solution, but turned out there was a group occupying the whole hotel, so there were not many solutions available. Also we were offered to change the room the next day, when the group leaves. But our trip was short (2 nights only), so we didn't want to waste our time for packing and moving to another room and took a decision not to change anything. We don't really say that our trip was ruined by that fact, but that it just would be nice that they inform tourists about such issues/substitutions in advance, because for some situations and people that might be a critical and important parameter for their stay.

    Location, but be aware of bell ringing ;) Coffee was also good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable.

    This is a gem hidden in the absolute center of Sopron. The facility is spotless and the rooms are very comfortable. I walk with a cane and had no trouble. I will stay at Hotel Palatinus whenever I'm in Sopron.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel definitely needs a proper refurbishment. The rooms are old, carpets have stains, bathrooms are dirty. Some of the walls and ceilings are falling off. Breakfast is boring - everyday the same and not very tasty...

    The hotel is located in the heart of Sopron, staff is friendly and very helpful which makes the stay possible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a very nice hotel. The room was quite comfortable. The location to the sights was excellent. It is located in the center of the old town. All sights within easy walking distance. Staff was pleasant. Breakfast was fabulous. I would definitely recommend it to those interested in seeing the medieval and Roman history of the town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and up in the ethers - if I'd realised it was on the third floor without a lift I'd have requested a lower room.

    A good location, a reasonable breakfast and good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    dirty room, no mini bar in the room at 38 C just warm water for money... not a friendly business way... :(

    just the location and air-condition at 38C outside

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is basically non-existent, not just on the first floor but also on the ground floor where the breakfast room is. It's not a matter of weak signal, but rather one cannot even find the network. The streets around the hotel is practically dug up so not easy to navigate (but this is the city works so nothing the hotel can do)

    Given the temperature, the room was nice n cool with the air conditioning. Room was also nicely modernized and bed was comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible value for money. On arrival (3pm!) the room was not ready despite so called genius privilege of being ready at 12.00. The staff said they had 'had some difficulties' and so we just had to wait. Room was smalll and basic but the worst thing was the mattress, it was horrible! Completely broken and saggy with springs sticking into your back and the feeling you are rolling out of bed since the edge of it is so broken down. We had a terrible first night's sleep so when I asked if we could change rooms next morning, I was told 'they are all like that, and we could move you to another room but it will be the same mattresses but smaller and with 2 separate beds'. They offered no other alternative. We did see other rooms that had fine and perfectly good mattresses in them afterwards, so I suspect this was a lie. Also, the room was not cleaned or made up on the 2nd day. Breakfast was sub-par with not much fresh fruit, yogurt choice and sloppy and unappetising looking hot food. We didnt even go to it on the last morning. I felt sorry for the staff as they are clearly very junior and trying to do their best in a shabby and neglected hotel. They could not really answer our questions and did not know what to do to improve our stay. Spend your money in another hotel. We have had some fabulous stays here in Hungary; this is the only disappointing one.

    Good central location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets were rather heavy and not that confortable but this is a personal opinion.

    It was a very nice place to stay. Hood breakfast and delicious sandwhiches.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The both bedroom & bathroom could do with a freshen up, for example the carpet in the room was dirty & the pillows on the bed were hard, the extractor in the bathroom did not work. The WiFi signal in the bedroom was non-existent and patchy elsewhere, we spoke to reception and were told this problem was caused by the internet provider !!!!

    The breakfast was good and fresh, the hotel was in the centre of the old town in a very convenient location for everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows really not good. They gave more..They were in the process of updating linen.

    In the heart of the old town. Walk everywhere. ..secure gated parking in courtyard. .spacious enough room. Self serve hot cold breakfast from 7am.good variety. Friendly staff...great shopping a short drive away and also in city. Great places for eating.. pictures are of area around.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately during our stay and i would think for many weeks/months to come there is a great deal of upheaval in much of the old quarter due to drainage and pavement replacement works.

    Very good, quiet location easy access to main attractions and restaurants and cafes. The room rate included a buffet breakfast which was very good. The many pedestrian zones in the old town made it very comfortable for getting around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost unable to sleep the first night due to poor isolation in building and noisy people in the next rooms. Voices and plumbery sounds are repercuted everywhere.

    Good choice for breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit old. The hotel parking is not at the hotel. If you park on the street, you need coins because only Hungarian cards are accepted.

    Included breakfast was great. Comfortable and very clean room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were awful, I don't even think that I may call them pillows, pieces of hard fabric is the right name... therefore almost no sleep at night(

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the showers the water didn't drain, but they were able to change the rooms.

    Breakfast had a good variety of food, they were very good with communication, conference room has both HDMI & AV hook ups.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little expansive parking!

    Čisto, uredno, prijatno, dobar WiFi, odlična lokacija, u srcu starog grada. Clean, neat, pleasant, good WiFi, great location, in the middle of the old town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower head was not so good nor adjustable and falling shower seat also no mini fridge even though there was space under desk

    Great staff, excellent bike parking on site, perfect location from which to explore, see and taste Sopron and surrounding area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner, poor facilities of drainage so lots of water did not go down on the floor during taking a shower. Small and stuffy room without air conditIoner. Extra bed was charged but not comfortable bed.

    Good breakfast and good locarion from train staion

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not great, the designated smoking spot is in the small courtyard in the back which is where many rooms have their windows so was difficult to get fresh air in the room.

    Great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom was a little cold, temperature couldn't be controlled. (The corridor was warmer.)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was close to the center, but there was no more parking place, so we could park far away, which was not comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sopron

    The area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the downtown area was under construction during our stay. It was very hard to find parking place.

    Excellent location in Sopron downtown.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel without stars, so and average standard. Breakfast alike. Price slightly overpriced.

    Very attractive location in the city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was quite far, but if you book it before, possible to park atthe hotel

    In the center of the old town!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some breakfast foods ran out

    Great staff. Yummy breakfast. Excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not cleaned up every day and it was quite cold in the room - the heating was off and the air condition was not able to warm it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast! Loved the little pastries!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    best price for perfect place

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing really

    perfect location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There isn't a minibar in the room. The shower was meant to be a massage bath but only the shower function worked. The place is overpriced - but it's the case with most of the hotels in this area.

    The whole town is beautiful and the apartman is situated in the centre. The staff is always friendly and nice. They were flexible with the time of the breakfast - I arrived to the bar slightly late but was served anyway. The room is nice and clean.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Many of the interior finishes need renewal - it has a rather tired, worn feel. The interior is a rather simple 1970's style of design.

    Excellent location from which to visit this small town. Breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    First impression was from the filthy threadbare carpets. Breakfast was sub standard (stale sliced bread and sliced sausages with poor selection. Bedding had a deodoriser smell that stung my eyes all night.

    Location is teriffic, staff are helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Public areas very run down, warn, grubby carpets well overdue for replacement. On my arrival receptionist have tattoeed hands, very casually dressed & a "whatever" attitude. Poor 1st impression

    Lovely room, good breakfast, quiet central location.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel, for normal prices they advertise, is overpriced. It make sense to take the bid, only if there are some discounts. The hotel is rather basic, clean and safe, but do not expect any "luxury". Breakfast is good, but of limited choice.

    The location of the hotel is, simply, excellent - right in the heart of the old town. This is a nice, safe place, friendly upon entrance and generally ok.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Old building, it seems without renovation at least a 10 years: very old pipes, no aircondition on the 2nd floor, old bath towels, has no toiletry just liquid soap for hand. For 5 nights and 6 days the room was not doesn't cleaned. At the bathroom has no a hair dryer and electryc outlet was not worked there, we asked for extencion cord for our personal hairdryer. After first night we were forced to asked about another room, because there toilet began leaking.

    Very good location, near with heart of the city - central square.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No lift- not important for me, but for elderly people....Please take care at breakfast that the bread etc is fresh, too many products from the discounter shops.

    Very friendly staff- very helpfull. Thank you

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't connect to WiFi in the room, but didn't have time to ask the staff about it.

    Great value for money and very friendly, English-speaking staff. Comfortable and well-sized, spotlessly clean rooms. The bathroom was a good bit better than expected. Ideal location.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We didn't have instructions on how to get to the hotel, which is in a restricted area (hotel has to let the car through a gate if traveling by car).

    Location, breakfast, staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The access with car is difficult, small rooms, the rooms don't seem very clean.

    The location is inside the old town. The breakfast is ok (nothing special).

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Family with young children

    No elevator

    Central location Quiet Clean

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    VERY friendly and competent staff. Safe parking at a reasonable rate. Quiet, traffic free neighborhood.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    carpets shall be cleaned and painting needed in the rooms

    kind staff great location

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: