Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palatinus City Center 3 stars

7621 Pécs, Király u. 5., Hungary

#14 of 25 hotels in Pécs

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2069 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit small.

    The location and the ambience of the hotel were amazing! The service was impeccable. Wefelt like we had been transportedback in time to a more elegant time and place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were very courteous and helpful. Due to an early departure a takeaway breakfast package was easily arranged. Hotel is very close to a good selection of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms, especially bathrooms could have been cleaner. The building looks like that it was not renovated in the last few decades.

    Good location in the middle of the city. Nice historical building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit quaint, the bulky 90s style television was unnecessary, and most importantly - the breakfast badly needs better coffee!

    We have been going to this place for years and even had our wedding reception in the grand Art Nouveau ballroom. It never changes - it has a unique retro atmosphere that really feels like you are going back in time! This time we stayed in one of the smaller rooms on the fourth floor, near the beautiful roof terrace. Just don't expect the latest boutique hotel design and embrace the experience. I hope it never turns into one of those comfortable, but boring and impersonal hotels!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not possible to pre-pay by bank transfer. My visitors were the guests of the hotel. I forget to move value to our company credit card from the main account, and it was Sun, so I could not do it at the weekend, so I asked an invoice for pre-payment bank transfer. The receptionist told me, he cannot give me invoice without instant payment. He gave me a hotel internal financial number I had to call and ask invoice from them (why me?). They were not available at around four a clock. I went to the receptionist again, and I wanted to leave business card there and ask them to send the invoice to my mail address. He was rude and asked me to come back tomorrow (Monday) and pay with credit card or cash. I went home and came back tomorrow with the loaded credit card and paid the bill at the "counter". Everyone can have a bad day, so.... it not a big problem, but I dont see why the invoice cannot be paid by transfer?

    Location, decoration, cleanes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC in the topmost rooms.

    Absolutely splendid location, everything is a short walk away! The interior is also gorgeous, it's richly decorated like the photos of the Titanic. Quite the killing for the price, in my opinion. Be sure to check out the rooftop/terrace on the 4th floor if you visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms show how old the hotel is, and how much it could use some refurbishing. If they get rid of the carpet, there would be lots of improvement.

    The hotel is in the perfect location. The building is a lovely example of Art Noveau. The staff members were really nice. The terrace on the 4th floor has some beautiful views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The daily cleaning wasn't very well-done

    Everything. Impressive building, a pleasure to sit in the dining hall, perfect location, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My former room (standard) was not good. It was very hot and old television sets

    The enviroment was peaceful. My the superior room was just ok. Very perfect staff nice smiles and friendly at the reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is old-style, some facilities are not working well (pledge, wifi and bathroom). The floor is not so clean.

    The hotel locates in the city centre, very convenient. The staffs are very helpful and friendly, every question can be answered well. Breakfast is good, many choices and delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu could be reviewed to attract more customers as the surroundings are so special.

    Courteous ,friendly staff who showed pride in their unique hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The room was a bit small. We kept hitting our knees in the furniture.

    The hotel building itself is beautiful and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The economy room was quite good for a long stay (10 nights). We enjoyed the scenery from the room. The breakfast was fine and tasty. The location of the hotel is the best. I would always choose Palatinus to stay if I visit Pecs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel oso polita, ikusgarriak dira beheko solairua, jantokia, lanparak, igogailua... Hiriko erdi-erdian dago eta garaje oso erosoa dauka. Gosaria primerakoa. Harrerako mutila oso atsegina eta eraginkorra. Gelak apur bat txikiak dira baina kalitate prezio erlazioa oso ona da.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridors could do with a refurb.

    Great location, ramps and elevator, 4 types of honey at the restaurant, helpful staff and great Art Deco architecture, amazing roof top and a small massage parlour and sauna. For payment they accepted Amex.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building has seen some better days. It needs proper renovation. The double room is the size of a hostel room elswhere.

    Interior of the lobby and the restaurant is stunning. Very friendly and helpful staff. Convenient breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is small as well as the beds are. Also TV was very old.

    The architecture was really classical and beautiful. I think it represents the beauty of Hungary, one of the best hotels in Pecs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room has not been renovated for a while. The bathroom resembled to the 80's not in a favorable way. Cleanliness of fittings and furniture was questionable. Maybe a minor thing but the design of lamps was completely spoiled by using various types of energy-saving bulbs, inappropriate to the style of the entire property.

    Excellent location, just few steps away from most of the sights in Pécs. The hotel has an elegant atmosphere at the reception area and in the restaurant. The breakfast was above expectations. Reception staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there to attend a concert that began at 7:00 p.m. and the restaurant wasn't prepared to serve food earlier. So I went to a nearby restaurant that was open to serve dinner in time for me to eat and walk to three concert hall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Cups and saucers in room were not clean. Waiters were helping themselves to proper Italian coffee from the machine while I was attempting to drink the nasty brown stuff from the urn at breakfast time. Only Hungarian and German tv channels and very poor picture.

    This hotel offers excellent value. I stayed here for the second time and I knew the Palatinus because I used to live in Pecs. Budget rooms are fine and offer a lot of included features - like tea and coffee-making facilities. I asked for milk and was brought a big jug full! Reception staff and cleaners very helpful. All the sights and places of entertainment are within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were satisfied with everything.

    Excellent Hungarian art-deco historical building, wonderful artistic decoration from 1910 in the center of Pécs. Very spacy and clean everywhere. Bathroom with big bathtub, we enjoyed it. Fantastic service, kind and profesional staff. Delicious breakfast and food in a wonderful restaurant. We enjoyed our stay and will come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    even though everything was perfectly functional, the room (3rd floor) is in need of some refurbishment (except bathroom).

    beautiful art noveau style, especially breakfast hall and reception area. good breakfast with a selection of several kinds of honey. small but nice bathroom (I was on the 3rd floor), seems to have been refurbished rather recently. there was a kettle, cups, tea & coffee in the room (even though I did not use it). perfect location in the city center, you can walk to most sites of interest. otherwise, it is only 5 minutes to the main bus station "Arkad".

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel Palatinus is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in! The location is perfectly placed on Kiraly Utca. I came by train and easily walked the 20 minutes from the station, although the front desk offered to call a taxi for me. I had one issue with noisy neighbors who decided to blast music after midnight but I called the front desk to let them know and they immediately called the room. The music ceased. The bed was comfortable and the space was perfect for me traveling solo. The breakfast was a typical European breakfast spread and I enjoyed it :) I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a terrible smell that seemed to come through the air conditioning. The beds were very hard and the linen didnt quite suit the bed.

    Excellent location, great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom bin wasn't emptied - I mean, after the previous guest. The electric tea kettle (it should have been a plus) was partially filled and UFOs (Unidentified Floating Objects) was able to observe in it. The duvet was visibly "used" and the cover wasn't fitted properly, so the duvet's condition was eye-catching. Some plus attention of cleaning staff would have made my stay 10/10.

    The location of the hotel is extremely perfect. The staff (at least overwhelming portion of them) is professional, extremely polite and helpful. Great thanks again for them, especially in the lobby! The parking house of the hotel is slightly tricky to reach (there is some confusing traffic signs along the path there), but cool. Bathroom is perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have been good to be able to control the heating by some means other than opening the window.

    This hotel has some rooms that are cheaper because they are in need of renovation, but offer excellent value. The hotel is right in the town centre. but in a pedestrianized zone If my room had been occupied by 2 people it would have been cramped as there was very little space between the beds and the cupboard area. I loved having the option of a bath. Tea and coffee-making facilities were available and the breakfast (included) was fine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    shower. I had to took shower in hand in bathroom because there was absent "hook" on the wall to fix the shower.

    tea an coffe with a kettle in the room, free wifi internet, device for shoes cleaning near the room, the center of the city!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room felt a bit cramped but did have everything needed: a mini-fridge, desk and chair, hairdryer, and plenty of hangers and wardrobes.

    The staff was thoroughly professional, courteous and kind. The breakfast buffet was delicious and varied, and served in their beautiful dining-room. The location of the Palatinus Hotel is perfect for shopping and visiting the many museums, churches, cathedral, roman ruins, and restaurants. They also offer wellness treatments and their sauna is open until 6 pm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have often stayed here. Its location, parking and staff are superb. It is a classic hotel which has modern facilities but is restricted by its dimensions. So the rooms are not spacious but well equipped. The breakfast has a generous range of hot and cold fayre. The architecture and decor are amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet wasn't working, they said it was being fixed...The rooms would need some update(mini old-fashioned TV set, furniture) The room had a funny smell(maybe the disinfectant), and some ventillation fan was whirring all night long...it wasn't too loud but still bothered me a little.

    Excellent location, historic building, nice staff, decent breakfast. The room was properly cleaned and tidy. The heating was on and working full blast, which was nice in the winter..The view from my room on the top floor was wonderful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic old building. You feel like you travelling at the 19th century... Excellent location and a very pleasant staff. We had a nice room with an internal balcony, very typical... Large breakfast. We spent a nice time in this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mix of the interior style of the guest rooms. It is a real pity that the style of Art Nouvou is not there anymore (only in traces). The carpet was not clean but the problem was quickly and appropriately corrected. In every bad there is something good: one can imagine how wonderful this hotel might have looked when first opened and what wonderful things people created at the time.

    I liked the architectural style of the building and the location. Professional and friendly staff. Flexibility for finding solutions to unforeseen circumstances. Value for money. Good quality and special choices of honey at breakfast. Rare food choices at breakfast e.g. "tejbegríz", horseradish. Very nice view over the city from the roof top. Beautiful breakfast room, reception area and ball room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous location, right on the main square and the pedestrian street. Everything was close by - the sights, the restaurants, the mall, the train station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the foyer of the hotel is quite grand and charming, the rooms are very small, dark and on the threadbare, dingy side. Having said that, I did sleep all right but was thankful the weather was cool because there was no air-conditioning. I think it would be rather unpleasant in summer.

    The location is superb, right in the center of the old town which made it easy to stroll around all to the major sights and take in the fine small museums.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towels had spots, the rooms were a bit loud (both from the neighbors and the machinery), and the room was quite cramped (though cheap).

    Excellent location, beautiful main hall, great breakfast, safe underground parking garage, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit older furniture and small rooms. You expect by the entrance and hall very imposant rooms and you get relativly small rooms with older furniture remembering 80's. But generally it was to be accepted for one night.

    Best location in the city of Pesc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite a bit of dust everywhere. From our previous stay some areas including our room not as clean.

    Best is location,right in the heart and good value for money.Have stayed there twice this year. Eating out in the many restaurants can be a bit expensive especially if you like a wine or two but it is a holiday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room, no double bed despite advertised, no city views despite advertised, tiny tv, smelly bathroom

    Stunning hall way and restaurant, city centre location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a meal at the restaurant, but there are possibly better places in town to choose to eat. Still, it was raining and so convenient for us to do this. Another time I would probably try elsewhere.

    This is a real grande dame of a hotel! Yes, it is old, but it has a lovely ambience - and the location could not be better! You walk out of the hotel right into the old historic centre of town! Just perfect! It was a bit tricky finding where to enter the parking garage, even with the GPS, but once you're in it's easy, and you have access directly to the hotel from the garage interior. Staff were all superb, and the receptionist told us that after we checked out we could leave the car in the garage until later in the day if we wanted to spend more time looking around. I had a massage at the hotel. The price was excellent and the massage fantastic, dealing to some sore back and neck muscles with real competence and professionalism. I wish I could take the masseuse further on our travels!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    its a bit dispappointed to find a room just "correct" after seing such a king beautiful building, not charming at all, a very old tv, and a bit "shabby" in general

    The hotel its very well located and its a historical building very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could do with a bit of loving..I stayed in a economy room on the 5th floor which was a bit too warm, (no aircon) and decor pretty dated. However it was clean and you can not get a better location,

    Check in super fast, reception staff is lovely. Top kudos to the night porter/receptionist who was working on reception on Saturday night. I got in very late (or very early) after a school reunion starving...as there was no food available that time the porter offered me his own sandwich which literally saved my life :))) thank you again, this is what I call going the extra mile

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wedding party was loud, but after midnight it was ok.

    The parking on the roof. The location, the lift next to the entrance. The staff, the rooms, the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    Location: The gorgeous, horseshoe-shaped Hotel Palatinus is ideally located on the main pedestrian street (Kiraly utca), steps away from the main historical square. Location is perfect, right in the historical heart of Pecs. All points of interest are within an easy walking distance. You could walk to the Bus station. Train station is a bit further south, reached either by 15 min downhill walk, bus ride from Arkad shopping center or an affordable taxi ride (less than 1,000 Ft, or $3-4). There are tons of good cafes and restaurants around. ROOMS: We were extremely lucky to get two connecting rooms for our party. Both were bright, spacious with a balcony facing walking street. Both rooms had an electric kettle, tea/coffee sets and small fridge. Ours even had a nice sitting area with coffee table and a sofa, ideal for enjoying tea (wine, vodka :) at the end of the long day. Rooms were clean, beds comfy, bathrooms modern and super clean. BREAKFAST: Breakfast buffet is served in the impressive, restored, circa 1915 restaurant. Food, as everywhere in Hungary(!), is delicious, settings beautiful, and plates are constantly replenished. STAFF: I would like to express our gratitude to the entire staff of Palatinus hotel, reception, restaurant and housekeeping. Reception guys (and ladies) were professional, welcoming and extremely helpful. I would especially like to thank Tamas, who assisted us with accomodations and was superb when we had to extend our stay because of Hurricane Harvey. Restaurant gentelmen worked extremely hard and diligently; and our room sparkled thanks to housekeeping. Our 3 day-long stay in Pecs was enhanced by the comfort of Palatinus hotel. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dated TV, the lack of basic cosmetics you would find in every hotel

    The bed was comfortable, the selection of breakfast options is great! Beautiful hotel overall, close to everything!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not always friendly restaurant's personal (some waitress look that they so tied and they are not happy that we stay in restaurant...)...not big offer for breakfast, small rooms...

    Friendly reception, good parking, nice place

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so tiny and in need of a renovation, especially the bathroom The room was clean , but old

    We like the old world building with it's imperial architecture and the grand entrance, very impressive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are getting a little tired, but we put this in the "old world character" category. No complaints!

    Fantastic location on a pedestrian street near the center of town. We loved the art deco design of the exterior and the restaurant, although the bedrooms were simpler. The hotel has a range of rooms to choose from, and we enjoyed having a balcony (although it wasn't air conditioned). While small-ish, the bedroom and bathroom were comfortable and well designed to make good use of space and have everything we needed. Breakfast had a good selection and was something that helped motivate to get me out of bed every morning. Staff were helpful and professional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit outdated There was a lot of noise in the corridors in the evening and at night due to a group of youngsters - the hotel didn't really intervened or took action

    Common areas are very beautiful Central location Nice bar for in the evening The hotel has a garage (which you have to pay)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was okay but nothing amazing, there was a good variety of food but was all a little bland. We felt a little rushed by the cleaning staff as they asked us once when we would be leaving for the day (it wasn't late in the day, only as we were returning from breakfast) when we replied with a rough time she told us that it wasn't okay, to which we replied that she didn't have to worry about cleaning our room that day, we understood she may have other commitments but she seemed rather annoyed by this comment.

    The location was ideal and the hotel looked beautiful both inside and out. The reception staff were very helpful and lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking place of the hotel is very expensive, but not so far away (approx. 100 m) there was a free-parking zone so we chose that instead of paying.

    The building was amazing, it is like a dream about the era of secession, and my son loved the mirror-elevator :) The breakfast was delicious with cocoa, coffee, fried eggs, cold cuts, fruit salad and even Hungarian "lecso" :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THis time the breakfast wasn't so good .. but the staff were friendly especially the reception guy's. And after my check out i was allowed to still enjoy the sauna for a while since i arrived toolate for the sauna the day before

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is quite run-down. There was no air-conditioning in my room. It was 40+ degrees outside, 30 degrees inside, all night, no air at all. Needless to say, I couldn't sleep. I was seriously considering sleeping down in the lobby the second night, or moving to another hotel in the middle of the night. The second evening a cockroach freaked me out. Too bad that the owners don't seem to care about the hotel.

    Breakfast was great! And the staff was really nice as well. I called them after checking out because I thought I forgot something in my room, and they were all very helpful. There's a great bar right next to the hotel, and there are several great restaurants nearby. There's no better location in town, really.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the carpets ......

    Fantastic and beautiful old hotel with an architecture that you have to experience and enjoy! We had 37 plus outside and the air-condition systems worked perfect! Very kind and helpful staff! The hotel succeeded in creating an stylish and still cosy and comfortable atmosphere. The location in the absolute center of town and in the main walking street cant be any better.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was just adequate and the room a little cramped.

    Excellent location and very good lobby area, but the rest of the hotel was an average 3 star hotel. Breakfast was OK but the "hot food" was quite cool to warm. Good muesli and some good bread.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    But 11 euros for Parking.

    Best Breakfast of the entire trip in a very beautiful restaurant. Exit from the city underground parking directly to the reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room which was one of the best I've ever stayed in for ease of unpacking bag, good tea making facilities, great shower, fast lift, good muesli, juice. We loved it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a bit dated,tv was old (no flat screen),shower awkward.

    Location was perfect,attentive staff, wi-fi very good,air con great,bed linen/towels excellent, fridge good size. Value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is a disaster with big problems! 1. dirty: the whole accommodation is so old that the dirt is part of it, like on walls and carpets. first night we went to the 4th floor, the bathroom was so old and we saw hair everywhere. the room stinks! probably because of old water pipe system. the smell barely let you sleep! 2. loud, thin walls: first night we exactly could hear the guy next door in the bathroom taking a dump. he took shower too and in midnight we could hear every drop of water! 3. no facilities! in 3rd floor until morning we almost died as there was NO Air conditioner! there was no mosquito net in front of window either, so we couldn't open the window! 4. no working fridge (mini bar)! it wasn't working and it was also empty! 5. breakfast: very limited options and Not fresh! The other day after complaining, they gave us another room in 3rd floor. same problems but had air conditioner and mini bar. the problem is that the hotel gave the conference room to a wedding and they had big party until 4:00 AM and we could barely sleep! we called them 10 times and asked them to handle it... and of course they didn't! When we wanted to check out we didnt want to pay even 1 forint but at the same time Placido Domingo, great Opera singer was in the lobby so we said hi and made a photo and tried not to shout with hotel management in front of a legend!

    I DID NOT like anything! This hotel is a disaster!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was not clean, walls are rather thin - we heard our neighbor having hour-long phone conversations and could hear every word

    excellent location, very nice and professional staff, water boiler in the room. good spa facilities (massage), beautiful building

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked an economy room - a big mistake. I had to rearrange the furniture to be able to move around! Not helped by oversized pre-digital tv (which occupied the desk) and fridge. In order to charge my laptop, I had to disentangle the cables below the tv and remove the fridge plug from an extension socket. The bathroom light switch was very loose and potentially dangerous. Shower had to be hand held.

    Central location in main street. Excellent choice for breakfast. Ground floor secession architecture/decoration is outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was OK. Very nice and friendly and helpful staff, great location. Very good breakfast. Very interesting historical building and beautiful design. Room a little bit small but OK for one night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our rooms were a bit dated but everything was functioning well. If you are on the 5th floor you may hear the ventilation from time to time. In the summer time it seems that many couples choose this venue for their wedding so consider it before booking. The massive metal keychain makes closing and opening the room doors noisy.

    Perfect location in the city centre literally next to main sights and surrounded with great places to hang and eat out. You will need the parking though because there is no possibility to park in the streets around. Friendly staff, good breakfast with sufficient variety. The beds were comfortable and clean. There was water boiler and cups in the room. The restaurant and the lobby is an architectural gem, worth visiting even if you don't stay in the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff doesn't seem experienced. They didn't know how the safe box security card work but resolve it later. The TV remote control didn't work because the battery eroded, it was resolved. Would be great if they can stay on top of things. Need some update inside the building.

    Fantastic Location. It is just a few minutes walk to the main square and right on the walking street with numerous restaurants and shops. Beautiful ornate building Love the breakfast, good choices of food especially like the different kind of local honey you can try.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You hear alot from your neighborhood... My was quite, but if not you hear almost everything

    In the heart of Pecs, near all restaurants and bars, both with it, quite... Biggest wine shop close to entrance. Sauna free for guests.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was very good - on one of the main pedestrian streets, the main attractions were all within walking distance (10 min.). The breakfast buffet was filling and had a lot of choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very small. The bathroom only had a hand held shower and getting out of the bath was very difficult. Hot water was limited.

    restaurant and lobby were beautiful Breakfast was fair

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think you are paying mostly for the ideal location and the beautiful exterior and lobby of the building. The rooms are pretty small and a little dated and the mattress was uncomfortable.

    Breakfast was lovely. Location was perfect. Building exterior was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture in the room is very old and damaged, room door is terrible, carpet is old and neglected. Park the car at the hotel's garage. We have parked the car 100m from the hotel on the street. Unfortunatelly, next morning we found that somebody broken into our car and few things stollen.

    Old fashioned interior of the halls, reception, restaurant and ballroom. It brought us back 100 years ago. Pleasant and helpfull staff. Hotel is in the heart of the pedestrian zone, few steps away from the main square, caffees and restaurants. The greatest possible location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the bed was really disappointed. It was too hard, make loud noise, not comfortable at all.

    I like the location, style of hotel, restaurant, bath, cleaness.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast room is beautiful but a bit seedy. I would like to see the coffee pots ect cleaned on the outside; smudgy steel does not look very nice.

    The reception staff was very friendly and the hotel is very handily located. Many restaurants and cafeterias nearby. Pedestrian zone so no traffic noise.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanliness of the hotel is not bad but equally not brilliant which is also partly explained by the age of the facility. Old-fashioned which some definitely will avoid for good reasons but can feel others comfortable in a way. The continental breakfast is really continental and not giving many choices for healthy eaters, so those should seek for alternative breakfast options nearby which is entirely possible given the hotel is in the middle of the city.

    We have made the reservations in this facility primarily for location/logistics reasons and it served the purpose perfectly. Located in the very heart of Pecs, gives easy walking access to many places, restaurants and bars. Traveling by car parking is easy in the hotel garage. A little old-fashioned but conservative (in the good way!) selection of continental breakfast available. The entire place has a charm if you are prepared to get back in time a little bit :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our ambassador was very pleased with the services of the hotel staffs especially the waitors of the restaurant at the hotel. Moreover, the room that they were staying is perfect,they were serve in the suite room which is very beautiful and tidy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room also felt like it hadn't been updated since the mid last century and was small (and I was alone). I am assuming that the hotel will be updating its rooms sometime soon to keep up with modern requirements (e.g. more power sockets, modern bathroom and furniture, better use of space). The walls are thin and you can hear your neighbours.

    It has a central location and beautiful common areas like the lounge and the restaurant. You can feel the mid 20th century atmosphere. Service was very good and the internet was quick. Great breakfast menu.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While there was a kettle and cups in the room, no coffee or tea. Room was very small and lacked space for luggage. It is an old hotel but knowing the city and its buildings well, I cannot imagine rooms would have been this small originally. Also the juices at breakfast were terrible! They come out of this strange machine which doesn't work half the time and when you do get some juice it tastes like sweetener. There could be more pastries, Hungary has some amazing ones!

    Good parking, very clean despite it being a quite old hotel. The location simply could not be better and the facade and the reception and restaurant areas are sublime. Left a selection of Christmas cookies in the room; lovely touch. The cleaners were so friendly and greeted us with a smile every morning.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Television worked only on and then. Tried to fix, didn't work. Very hot room. Very special flush system for the toilette bowl.

    Location, staff, service at the front desk, breakfast. Water kettle in the room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked at the last minute for a visit to the Pecs Christmas market and unsurprisingly our cheap room was at the top of the building by the lift shaft and overlooking a building site! The better rooms are on the lower floors and some have little balconies but all the rooms are small and bathing is a bit of an art.

    The location and underground car park make this hotel ideal for a visit to the centre of Pecs. The reception staff are welcoming and efficient. The building is amazing. Not only observe the dining room ceiling but also that of the coffee/wine bar on the other entrance wing. Try and see the ballroom if you can. Even in poor rooms the bed is big and very comfortable. The breakfast is better than it first appears...but not the coffee...

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Palatinus City Center traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: