Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palazzo Zichy Budapest 4 stars

1088 Budapest, Lőrinc pap tér 2., Hungary

#7 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1578 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    If you want an authentic experience of Budapest, this hotel and location are perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Although we felt completely safe walking nearby both day and night, there were many drunk homeless people, crumbling facades and empty buildings in need of renovation, which may make others uncomfortable (particularly solo female travelers).

    Our room was simple, but had everything we needed: it was very quiet, clean and comfortable. The hotel itself was lovely and the breakfast delicious (and included in your room rate). We enjoyed the location and felt we had an authentic experience of Budapest (rather than the slightly sterile, carefully curated areas which have been renovated but have no soul), with great public transport close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Excellent place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, Very nice property. Excellent staff - special thanks to Fannie P. for very kind and cheerful support throughout the trip... Thank again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Great staff, friendly and welcoming, lovely building and facilities in a quiet area of Pest.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Slight niggle - needs proper hairdryers - the ones provided are not fitting with the upmarket nature of the hotel.

    Amazing staff - particularly reception staff - amazing manager - kind and welcoming can't do enough for you. I loved the facilities, computing centre, great breakfasts. The rooms were comfortable and mine had a nice view over the little square. A great place to stay as a sole business traveller (but equally for leisure or couples) Would definitely go again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    I recommended it to guests in other locations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Breakfast was superb, they even have a juicer. They supply guest with umbrellas when it rains. The hotel is in a quiet street and the trams are close by and therefore you can visit museums and travel easily from Pest to Buda. There are shops and restaurants nearby, one of them is just across the street. The staff and management is outstanding. I think this is the best hotel I have stayed in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location, nice hotel and would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to have seen tea / coffee making facilities within the room although this was available in the bar area free of charge all day until 5pm

    Ease of check in and locality to most places of interest. All staff members were helpfulll at all times. Lots of variety for breakfast in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    An excellent hotel, despsite the minor criticisms listed above. Would certainly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No mirror over the desk/dressing table - I like to sit there and put make up on or do my hair (electric tongs). The bathroom had not got much space round the basin to put items down or to hang things up. The bathroom door was a sheet of patterned glass with a large gap round it. Only 6 coat hangers for 2 of us, although enough skirt/trouser hangers.. Bedroom lighting rather dim, and room lacked colour..

    Helpful, welcoming staff, convenient location (close to public transport links), excellent breakfast, very clean, complimentary tea/coffee/ peanuts. Lovely old building, modernised sympathetically and stylishly. Very quiet room, overlooking interior courtyard. Comfortable beds, slept very well. Lots of hot water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Lovely Hotel with good transport links
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish they had restaurant

    The rooms were clean goid sized and well equiped The breakfast was just right with great coffee and a good selection of fruits bread cold meats eggs and cheeses with fresh juices. The staff were efficient and friendly. Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay in Budapest. Does everything you want very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    View from room not very exciting; superior room is not that large either, but as we didn't spend much time in it, it was not really a major issue. Poached eggs not available. No swimming or spa pool.

    Staff were all very friendly and helpful and spoke good English. Peter the cocktail bar tender was truly brilliant and a master of his trade without all the usual flamboyance! A true craftsman - thank you Peter, for making not one but two Old Fashioned's despite not being on the menu! Breakfast was all very good and plenty of choice. About a 10 minute walk to the Museum area and 20 mins to the Great Market and Freedom Bridge - so not too centrally mainstream, but close enough not to need a taxi. Some nice local "less touristy"restaurants all within 10 mins walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    I liked the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately there was a strange dripping noise coming from the bathroom(?) of the room next door which kept me awake at night. It was hard to pin point exactly where it was coming from but it was annoying. I informed a member of staff about it on the morning after my first night and he immediately came to check it out but assured me it was probably a result of the storm the previous night. He was very helpful. When it persisted the following night I didn't bother to complain since I was only there for 3 nights and I didn't think it was worth making a fuss about it. I would have liked to have hotel slippers (always useful) but there were none available. I asked a member of staff (female) for restaurant recommendations and she grudgingly recommended one restaurant which I thought was a little odd. I found it a little difficult getting directions out of her also.

    I liked the breakfast. The hotel is clean and the room was big and in its own private quarter, which was very quiet. There was a DVD movie library which my son loved - a nice touch. The hotel were very good about answering emails before I got there and answered all my questions about transport/ from airport hotel room and that was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful modern hotel . Check in was easy.Breakast nice and room and bathrooma great size. Complimentary tea & coffee to 5pm a nice idea. In a perfect position to see all the sights , restaurants close by . The team all very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    My stay was fantastic, the staff out nice little touches to our room as it was a special occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A 24 hour bar would have been nice but that's it.

    The bed was the comfiest I've ever stayed in regards to a hotel. The breakfast had plenty to offer & the staff go the extra mile with anything you have to ask.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room & bathroom were luxurious but the towels didnt seem as luxurious.

    The whole hotel was exceptional in decor, quality & cleanliness. The staff were extremely friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.0
    Average - would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly, i didnt feel like this was a 4 star property. I am a frequent traveller and been to many other european countries with stays mostly in 4 / 5 star properties. Below are the reasons why 1. The hotel didnt bother to take a note of our request in first place for room with bath tub. The justification provided was we have trainees at the front desk. Do i care ? 2. The breakfast area was so small. Felt like a 2 star hotel. The spread was exactly the same everyday. Who likes precooked pancakes which are so not hot but we call it hot selection. They did not entertain request for an omelett3 for a child too. 3. Only 2 lifts in a 4 star proprty which are so very slow. 4. Lastly, no kettle in the room. No welcome drink. I ubderstand there was free mineral water and coffee but who wants to go out straight from bed to the lounge and get the coffee or water.

    We choose this property based on tripadvisor reviews and over Danubius Gellert - the iconic hotel. The hotel is very clean. The staff is helpful abd they attended to us in a very kind manner. We had requested room with bath tub whicu wasnt provided in beginning to they provided the same next day and moved our baggage. Also they left some chocolates as a apology which is a kind gesture.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Very clean;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot. Just be aware that parking is ~5 min walk away just next to the National Hungarian Museum.

    Very clean; really nice staff; quiet rooms. Nice breakfast buffet. A short bus ride from the Center. Their baby crib was nice and sturdy with a nice blanket. Really liked it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    A place I would stay again in that lovely city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though specifically requested beforehand, the double bed was unfortunately joined twin-beds. The relatively small breakfast room can be pretty crowded at peak hours.

    Good location, close to to a few good restaurants. Easy to reach by public transport. Helpful staff up to a point that I even received a mail before arrival, to ask what they could possibly do to make our stay more comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Clean, mix of traditional and modern, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was nearly £900 for two double rooms for three nights, so it's quite expensive. Breakfast is included however it did seem a lot compared to other cities for similar stays. It is about 15/20 minute walk to the main square in the city, there are restaurants in the same street but it's not busy. Didn't realize it wasn't directly in the centre.

    The interior exceeded our expectations, a really nice blend of the traditional architecture of the building and modern furnishings. Really good breakfast, lots of choice. Nice bar, lounge area. Nice comfortable bedroom and shower. Bonus is the DVD library, as there is a DVD player in the room, was nice to go and pick a film at night. Very accommodating staff and really clean hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Hotel Great - Booking.com <
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that booking.com showed the room in Ukrainin Dollars uah and highlighted 8,085 uah.. We believed that was the hotel rate when in fact it was the dollar discount in Ukraine money.. I thought this was somewhat of the "OLD SWITCHEROO" that booking.com used to get us to book the room.. It worked but I doubt I will ever use Booking.com again...

    Great Hotel... Great location and Staff expecially Fannie at the front desk...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Would strongly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really. Coffee facilities at breakfast slow but this is very minor.

    Excellent attention to detail. Staff going the extra mile. Hotel rooms of high quality but un-fussy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't the hotel that was the issue, is wad the recommendation of the Big Bus Company, from seeing how many buses and frequency run on other companies and how many different lines, we wouldn't recommend that particular Hop on Hop Bus.

    Property was excellent, very helpful staff with great knowledge of services and restaurants in the area. An amazing little Italian restaurant not more than 100mtrs from the hotel plus many more which is good as there is no restaurant other than breakfast service which might I say was great also. Helpful and quick response to emails regarding train delay and transfer later in the evening from the station to the hotel with great recommendation for the taxi company.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Luxury hotel with excellent staff, spa, and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AMAZING hotel! I will be back to Budapest and I hope to stay here. The staff are unbelievably friendly and helpful, so professional. We used the sauna every night, one night they opened it after hours for us, we had the entire area to ourselves. Free glass bottled water, apples, pretzels, and peanuts available, and free coffee and tea until 5pm. It was great coming in from hours walking around to sit and have a coffee. The location is in a very trendy area, little bars and restaurants and super clean and safe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    I would happily recommend this hotel to family and friends. The hotel was fantastic, the staff were excellent and the facilities were over and above what I expected. The breakfast was lovely, the gym facilities were good and the sauna area was an added bonus I didn’t realise we had access to. The decor at the hotel was to a high standard. There was nothing to fault.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    Airbnb would be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not comfortable, not flexible at all with room availability, airport shuttle is not free like at most 4 star hotels, the restaurant inside hotel was rarely open.

    Clean, good location, modern, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice place with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is good but not the best in my opinion and the room size was a little bit on the small side.

    Nice place, staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast is good, comfortable beds and quite rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice place with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is good but not the best in my opinion and the room size was a little bit on the small side.

    Nice place, staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast is good, comfortable beds and quite rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Ten perfect days to celebrate for my Mothers 80-years birthday in Budapest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing to complaint!

    Excellent place to stay! The staff are extraordinary efficient and very helpful. They kindly sent a complimentary chocolate plate to our room because my mom had a birthday. Everything went smoothly and the room was clean and tidy. The breakfast buffet was delicious and healthy. Many variations of food. Lounge has a free coffee and tea and spring water until 5 pm when it'll change to bar area. I definitely want to go again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.8
    Not deserve 4 stars. Not recommended or that price level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too small room, not comfortable and not convinient to stay for more then 1 night. Door to bathroom almost doesn’t exist. For 5 nights staying towels weren’t changed. Not enough light, not enough hangers in bathroom and corridor. Too narrow single beds. I really asking owners of the hotel to stay overnight in the room. And check cleaning service quality. Not kettle and coffee/tea in the room. Not deserve 4 stars.

    Ok, personal was friendly. Breakfast was pretty nice. Sauna and gym also were ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Ideal location for exploring and the staff were excellent.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal location for exploring and the staff were excellent. The reception staff could not do enough to help and even brought me a bottle of champagne with chocolates for my birthday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautifully restored 19th century palace with modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My reservation was not correct at check-in and the initial room was too small for my family of three.

    Beautifully restored 19th century palace with modern amenities. While my reservation was incorrect at check-in, the staff moved me to a larger room on the second night that was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely relaxing atmosphere in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They had a lovely surprise in the room on arrival to help celebrate my birthday. They have a complimentary video library which we availed of twice, it was great to relax watching a film after a long day exploring. Very good facilities for printing off boarding passes and the staff could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a good location with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, we loved it!

    The Hotel was in a good location, staff friendly and room was excellent. The free tea/coffee/water available from 9am to 5pm was a bonus and the breakfast selection was excellent. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Superb stay at the Palazzo Zichy! Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a beautiful building which has shown signs of tasteful and modern redevelopment. Facilities are excellent. Staff can’t do enough for you - free tea, coffee, water, nuts, pretzels during the day. Room was lovely - comfortable, great shower, modern and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    A wonderful stay in this hotel. Would highly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only negative was occasional difficulty using security card in lift. Had to seek assistance from reception a couple of times

    Enjoyed breakfast...lots of choice and great quality. Staff attentive but not intrusive. Beautiful hotel. Very clean, spacious and comfortable. Walking distance to many attractions. would highly recommend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    I would return here if I visit Budapest again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff at reception was excellent- super helpful and friendly. The breakfast selections were delicious and plentiful. Our room was very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay at Hotel Zichy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. The room was lovely. We received chocolates and a bottle of sparkling water to celebrate our honeymoon. I had asked for a room with a bath and we got one which was excellent. The bath was amazing. We really enjoyed the extensive range of food at breakfast. The hotel is situated a bit further out of the centre of Budapest but that was great as it was nice and quiet. Brilliant hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Brilliant! Superb value. Thoroughly Recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to dislike at all

    Everything! Staff are a credit to the Hotel, Always willing to help and give assistance, a pleasure to speak with. Room was a little smaller than I expected however for a modest charge we upgraded to a suite so we could sit down rather thn have to lie on the bed. Availablity of tea and coffee/water, "bar" snacks all day till 5.00pm a nice touch. Reccomend this hotel totally bearing in mind it is a Boutique style thus no restaurant in evening, but so many different places to eat around why would you stay in? Breakfast selection was brilliant...loved it all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Palazzo zichy was a very comfortable well situated hotel and I would not hesitate to recommend it to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a little bit hard and the room was rather small for a superior double room.

    The breakfast was excellent and it was a very quiet hotel though it was fully booked. very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Good overall experience and would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Good overall experience and would definitely stay again. Slightly out of the way but if you don’t not mind walking or taxis then this is not a problem. Checking in although around midnight was very quick and we were in our room within minutes. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the safe stopped working the following morning but this was fixed without hesitation or inconvenience to us. Breakfast was very good but do not expect English bacon this is Europe after all! Information provided by the reception staff was good, but please check if where you are going is fully open as in February some places do not open or offer the full packages. Our tour bus did not operate all of the routes but not highlighted clearly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Everything was Amazing only thinks they don't have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was Amazing only thinks they don't have Parking place and it take u 30 minutes to find one Even they give you map but it's hard to figure out and than u have walk back to the hotel which is 10 minutes ....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel in a great area, metro close by also many eating places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to dislike but as said earlier tea/coffee in the room would have been a big plus.

    Though tea/coffee was available in the lobby until 5pm, a kettle in the room would have been a big plus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect breakfast, very nice and professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit noisy - room 002. We could hear noises from street, some water running also noises from corridor.

    Perfect breakfast, very nice and professional staff. We were thinking of visiting sauna just after opening hours, reception had offered us to keep sauna on after closing time. Really nice gesture.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Nice and helpfull personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator was quite slowly.

    Nice and helpfull personnel. Clean hotel, excellent location, good breakfast, nice lobby. We especially enjoyed free coffer/tea service in lobby bar. Sauna was also good and relaxing, better than it use to be in hotels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Exceeded all expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved everything about this hotel. The breakfast was amazing the room great and they had a free tea and coffee room too. I would definitely recommend this to friends and family. The staff were very helpful and pleasant too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    great building with great history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great building with great history. tastefully adapted to meet current standards. fantastic, super helpful stuff going out of their way to make you feel welcomed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Away from the noise, close to everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    High prices in comparison with the average prices of Budapest. Semi-open bathroom with open shower cabin. The toilet is located very close to the wall and the entrance door. Very cold bathroom in winter.

    Very cozy hotel, located 10 minutes walk from the very center of the city in a quiet street next to the Jesuit church. There are a lot of bars, restaurants, markets, currency-enchange points near the place. Very good Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and on the street near the entrance. There is a DVD library in the hotel, you can watch some movies before bedtime of if tired. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Staff were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were amazing. We had an urgent family issue that meant we needed to return home early. The staff were excellent in helping us out. The breakfast was excellent as well. Great selection. It was a lovely quiet location but close to the metro. Would hope to stay here again some time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    The palace refurbished elegantly into a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning lady was not happy because we created an extra job for her and she didn’t care to hide her feelings. The front office staff though was very helpful and courteous Breakfast options become limited if you don’t eat pork

    The palace refurbished elegantly into a hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We asked for late check out, even with an extra charge, as our flight was late in the evening, but i don't believe they did their best to help us.

    Everything was perfect. Breakfast fulfilling and free coffee and water. Double bed with 2 blankets... (hahahha, never seen this before)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Breakfast was delicious and service was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was delicious and service was very good.If you think,is something missing,just ask in reception.The staff are very helpful :) Our room was small,but enough for couple. Perfect for weekend! Good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful breakfast with great variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not very central, but it's quite close to a couple metro stations. The bed did not meet my expectations, mainly because the duvet of my single bed was rather short.

    Wonderful breakfast with great variety. Modern interiors. Amazing staff that will assist you with everything you may need.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Simply wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative thing was the vegetables in the breakfast buffet, which were a little bit dry

    The breakfast had everything from cereal to scrambled eggs, perfect The staff was very kind and professional The hotel was clean and nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.2
    Former palace with all modern comforts (and then just a little bit extra) in quiet convenient neighb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could update its music tapes

    Very attentive reception staff was very courteous and spoke excellent English. The breakfast had really everything. Also during day hours there is a salon with international newspapers and free tea, coffee and refreshments.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel with lovely people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complementary coffee and tea could be available after 5.00pm

    The staff were very friendly and keen to be very helpful. It is a beautiful building in a good, peaceful location near the centre of Budapest. The breakfast selection and quality was excellent. The lounge with complementary coffee and tea, up to 5.00pm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    This hotel takes you back in time and into the future, a blend of old & new Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is nothing to dislike.

    This is a very comfortable hotel and offers the best shower I have ever had. The decor is outstanding and it is very well appointed. They offer a free breakfast that would please anyone. The hotel is in a wonderful location and close to many things, allowing us the ability to walk everywhere. It is also very close to public transportation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was amazing, the staff were nice, and it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a little expensive for the value, and the location was good, but not great.

    The breakfast was amazing, the staff were nice, and it was ultra modern.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful building, very well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful building, very well maintained. Excellent suggestions from the staff about the nearby area. Cosy places near the hotel. The area is served by tram 4&6. Fresh juice at the breakfast. Free coffee, tea until 5pm. Big safebox.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel near the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast had good variety but the fruits and veggies could be of better quality. Also, the breakfast room is quite small for such a big hotel and tends to get crowded after 9AM.

    The hotel is very elegant and clean, same as the room we stayed in. The bed was very comfy and the wi-fi in the room had good speed. The location is good if you don’t mind walking a bit to get to the center of Budapest. We never took public transport and saw a lot of nice places on our walks.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    We had a fantastic time in Budapest thanks to our comfortable stay at the Palazzo Zichy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facial spa treatment was disappointing, thin walls meant you could hear voices from the next room.

    Loved the breakfast spread, friendly and helpful staff, room size, good shower, clean and comfortable. Spa anti-stress massage was superb.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.2
    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the hotel provided all the necessary facilities and the rooms were spotless, great attention to detail for breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I wish our room would have had a bathtub, but otherwise it was nice.

    The breakfast was excellent. The service was great. were was no coffee in the room, but coffee all day in the lobby bar. Close to everything! Very clean! No hotel restaurant but lots close by! Really great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice quiet hotel with lovely helpful staff and a good range...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice quiet hotel with lovely helpful staff and a good range of breakfast choices to suit all tastes. Some excellent places to eat nearby and within walking distance of the food market and other local places of interest.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    What a great gem of a hotel in Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was incredibly accommodating and pleasant. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was large and well equipped. The breakfast abundant and delicious. We loved the location of the hotel being a bit away from the main tourist areas, but still in a beautiful neighborhood.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Great hotel, very recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great hotel, very recommended. Rooms are nice and clean, breakfast is very rich, and the staff was very helpful with every question / request we had. The hotel is a bit far from the city center, but it is not a problem, as there is a station of trams #4/#6 3 minutes walking from the hotel, and by using these lines you can reach every where.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Fantanstic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Best hotel you can find in Budapest, on its price range. Very friendly and helpful staff (amazing reception staff!!). They always smile and help: it looks easy, but this is what actually makes your stay memorable. Perfect location, clean, well organized, modern. Room is spacious and exactly as shown in the photos. Breakfast is excellent. I would come back anytime. Complimentary water & coffee facilities during the day, at the lounge bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Awesome Hotel that will surpass your expectations!!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was PUCKER!!!

    Everything about this hotel was awesome! From the Staff to the DVD library and DVD player in the rooms to the breakfast to the cocktails in the bar. I loved this hotel and everything about it!Such impeccable service SUPER HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    6.3
    Value for money with great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little bit out of date and beds could have been better

    Average impression off the hotel was ok service was good and the front desk very helpfull when we had questions about directions and tip on were to go. Breakfast was impeccable and coffe more than great extra plus for pancakes. Its not so close to the city center as expected so bring good shoes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    my stay was good. I will definetly come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom did not drain properly. I am not sure if it is clogged or what. I was not able to tell it to the reception because I didnt have time.

    good food. great and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    4 great nights in this classy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great but would have liked tea & coffee making facilities in the bedroom for an early morning cuppa.

    Good location although not central but it only took about 20 minutes to the main shopping area. Well maintained, good room, great shower & lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Very good hotel in an excellent location and with very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have been nice to have the facility to make hot drinks in the room - although there is free tea and coffee on the ground floor up to 5pm.

    Excellent location a few minutes walk from two metro stations and in what felt like a very safe area. Very good breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak water pressure.

    Beautiful, impressive lobby. Lovely room. Not too hot in the room which was a nice change from many European hotels in the winter. Breakfast had lots of choice including champagne. Loved the complimentary coffee and water in the lobby. Most of the staff were exceptional. Really easy check-in and out. Helped me celebrate a special event.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Excellent, would definitely stay here again!
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think more variety for the in room dining.

    The staff were so friendly! The free breakfast was delicious and plentiful! There was a mix up with the room, so we got our taxi to the airport paid for. Excellent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Little bit of luxury on your city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing I would say is that the building is not 100% soundproof. So if you enjoy a lie in or you're a light sleeper bring some earplugs.

    My boyfriend and I stayed here for my 30th and I'm so glad we did. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff were friendly and helpful, we asked for some extra robes and and conditioner (which I forgot) they appeared on our bed when we arrived back at the room after a day of exploring at no extra charge. The breakfast was delicious. One morning we decided to have breakfast in bed and a HUGE tray full of pastries, jams, bread rolls, cold cuts and cheese, orange juice, tea and coffee was delivered to our room. The wellness area was also a nice touch, and I enjoyed relaxing in the Sauna before dinner. The hotel itself is right next to several lovely restaurants (we particularly enjoyed El Dente and Otthonka) that are cheaper than the restaurants nearer the river. It is about 15 minute walk from the Liberty Bridge, and from the Ruin Bars. It's best to get a transport if you want to go up to see the Castle, Parliament and the Park as they are a long walk. I thoroughly enjoyed my birthday week here and would absolutely recommend that you stay here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing at all

    Angela at reception made us very welcome, nothing was a problem, recommended great restaurants. Hotel was one of the best we have stayed in, breakfast very good. This hotel is in a great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bigger towels. Fresh orange juice. Paper straws or none (plastic very harmful to environment). Breakfast was a bit of a bunfight....maybe coffee could be served at the table? Jugs for cold milk.

    The reception staff were extremely helpful. Nice quiet location. Friendly bar staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    An excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel Palazzo Zichy is a hotel with a difference. We travelled with our 10-years-old child and they offered us an extra bed free of charge. Breakfast consists of almost nothing than fresh products. The staff is very helpful and kind.They fulfilled every request we had at once. In general we had a great time during our stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, the room was quite small, not a massive selection at breakfast, no robes.

    Was in a lovely building, great service, very clean, free coffee corner, good quality breakfast, nice toiletries.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: