Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pannonia Hotel 4 stars

9400 Sopron, Várkerület 75, Hungary

#4 of 13 hotels in Sopron

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3159 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location, nice interior, good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room had a view of a service alley, would have appreciated something nicer from a deluxe room.

    Excellent location right in the heart of the city. Nice, rustic-looking furniture in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful historic hotel in great shape close to the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses for me were a little on the hard side, while my partner did not complain, so a matter of taste. The coffee from the machines is made with powder, yet there is a barrista serving regular coffee.

    The location of the hotel right at the brink of the old city is excellent. The hotel offers a guarded car garage with Tesla destination chargers at 11 euro a night. The restaurant has good food. We particularly liked the local dishes, e.g. Mangalica-pork. The house red wine is good at a reasonable price. We booked the better category room with air conditioning at a discount price including breakfast. Dinner with wine was as expensive as the room. The room was excellent: newly furnished and clean. The hotel facilities are numerous, e.g a wonderful roof terrace landscape with great views of Sopron and a small spa. Breakfast had plenty of choices and was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    All in all nice place, ind to ask the direction of the room- better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room way situated with view to street, No clima in the room, was quite hot and noisy. Terrace is beautifull. Place is clean., bed is comfortable.

    Very tastefull breakfast with exelent coffee. Swiming poll clean. Personal friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    an anpleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we were given was not the room we ordered and very different from the pictures on the booking site, the room was old-fashioned and smelled unpleasant, the air conditioner was noisy and not really cool, breakfast was reasonable, if you were between nine and ten the variety was poor. Cleanliness is a weakness. It turns out that the hotel has two wings (old and modern) and if you are not local you are transferred to the old wing !!!

    theexterior and the lobby designare amazing location is excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    2.5
    NEVER AGAIN FOR MY CUSTOMERS
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service

    Stayed at this hotel 16 times and send at least 50 customers a year there.wanted to change my 1 night booking to following night got refused and they charged my credit card full amount.NEVER AGAIN

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    1. The furniture in the room and restaurant (end of 19...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The view from the balcony. 2. The parking 11 euro per day (inside) or 1 euro per hour (outside).

    1. The furniture in the room and restaurant (end of 19 siecle). 2. Rich and various breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    Never this Hotel, until a new owner/management renovates
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is less than two star level, some parts fallen down. Dirty (or roasty) tiles. Cheap plastic furniture faking wood.

    Very friendly staff tried to overcome the problems arising from seriously warn down hotel. Good quality breakfast, healthy and tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Simply excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My mother and I had a great stay at the Pannonia. It far exceeded our expectations. The staff was extremely helpful, the room was beautiful, breakfast was both abundant and of high quality, the Wellness center was very well-equipped, and the location of the hotel was great. We had an amazing time and one of the biggest reasons was how great the hotel was! I will definitely stay there again next time I am in Sopron!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Spacefiul room with romantic historic furniture, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I missed smal shampoos in the bathroom.

    Spacefiul room with romantic historic furniture, great breakfasts, wellness centre with whirlpool an pool, great location on the Sopron´s "Ringstrasse", just steps from historic core, 1 km easy walk to train station or bus station, restaurants and shops near the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Great atmosphere of historical "Grand hotel".

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.4
    Nearly everything was fine, as in the description except one...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    DISAPPEARED/STOLEN RAYBAN SUNGLASS!!!! : (((( When we leave the hotel I left my RayBan Wayfarer in the room and I call the hotel but nobody found anything.... :( Ridiculous... and annoying that was about 150€ and just disappeared... Last night it was in my bag, that's why I didn't check it at next day morning again, but after we check out and leave the hotel I would like to wear it and I didn't found it anywhere.... It wasn't in my bag anymore. I called the hotel several times but they just tell the same: we didn't find anything... I don't know what could happened, but I suggest to use the safe in the rooms and double check your things before you leave the hotel. After all, sorry but I absolutely not recommend this hotel...

    Nearly everything was fine, as in the description except one thing, my disappeared RayBan sunglass. :(

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Make sure to walk up to the sky Deck!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it might be something common, the countenance of the staff was consistantly dismal without smile, except for the lady at the time of checkout. Are they totally bored of tedious tasks, or told not to smile for some reason.?

    The structure of the historical building was worth visiting. Having dinner and breakfast in the restaurant with dramatic structure with the four-story high sunroof. Also, the sky deck that anyone can reach enables you to capture the striking overall view of Sopron which almost matches that seen from the rop of Firewatch tower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    One of the best places to stay in Sopron, be it business or leisure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a wide choice of meals in half-board, no special food for people with allergies or food intolerance at all, not even gluten free or lactose free basics at breakfast, although you can ask the chef, who is really helpful and he'll try to fix you something. Your other option is to try some of the cafés just in the neighborhood, that have paleo or raw vegan specialties. Not too many leisure beds in the wellness area, so if it's a busy time, you may end up with nowhere to sit or put your belongings.

    Excellent location, in the middle of downtown Sopron. Great cafés, confectioneries, pubs are around in short walking distance, as well as the historic area of the centre. Very nice historic building with a style, the staff was trying to go the extra mile to help with all questions, issues (parking, food etc.)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, good food and comfortable sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most of the sport hall is empty, it would be good to put more gym facilities there.

    Staff was helpful, room was clean, sport and wellness services were adequate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Good place to stay in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really..just one thing, it would be nicer if there was some tea or coffee in room. But there were many good cafes and restaurants right next to hotel.

    Perfectly located. Kind staff. Enjoyed a sauna and a swimming pool. Hot spa was truly awesome after swimming. We were a family of 4 and had 3 rooms. they gave one of our rooms with early check in, which helped us a lot. After short city tour, we went to check in for rest of our rooms and we came to know they upgraded them even without telling us. Thanks to all these, we had good time there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location in the centre of Sopron. Fantastic buffet breakfast. Good sized, comfortable room and access to small pool, spa, sauna and other relaxation facilities. The cleaning staff were happy and always said hello.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    Good value and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place is a bit tired and the rooms need renovating but it's perfectly OK otherwise.

    Great location and easy to find. Nice pizza place across the road and easy access to the shops nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Central location, very good starting point for discovering...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find parking space, but that's the price of being in the city center.

    Central location, very good starting point for discovering the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Good wellness, good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed was two singles put together.

    It is our third stay at Pannonia Hotel from Wien. It is always the first place we look when wanting to go on a mini break from the rush hour life. We always enjoy the huge selection of cold and hot plates at breakfast and the wellness facilities are superb for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    A REAL ONE NIGHT PLEASURE
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little although using the garage lift to get to my room was strange!

    The town of Sopron is very quaint and this hotel is traditional at the same time as being modern. The roof terrace is magnificent and provides wonderful views of the town. It is clear that cheap dentistry is an attraction encouraging many visitors. The Spa looked pleasant but I didn't come prepared with a swimming costume. Very short walk from the railway station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.1
    Very nice location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel charged uthorized card before my arrival. That coused inconveniences at our accountat department. Hotel need refurbishing especially in bathrooms. Generally it looks like 3-4 star hotel in Italy.

    Very nice location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful building, perfectly located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked to have an electric kettle in the room.

    The charm of the building, the antique furniture, the beautiful dining room, the possibility to park the car under the hotel (extra charge),

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with great wellness area (incl.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hotel with great wellness area (incl. pool, jacuzzi, finish and bio-sauna, steambath, salt room) and with great breakfast for a very good price. For children a great playroom. And Sopron is a great city with a cute and fascinating old town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    We stayed only for 1 night, very nice room, exactly like the pictures showed. Felt comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out dated hotel, not very modern. Slow wifi. The bathrobes and linen felt and looked as old as the building, although everything was very clean.

    The wellness centre was a nice benefit, friendly reception, nice balcony, great location. Breakfast buffet was extraordinary!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, in the heart of the beautiful town of Sopron with some excellent hidden restaurants.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one of the early morning desk persons who never has a good smile or presentation especially when demanding if we had used the bar or to pay for town tax. The latter person has previously made a mistake with our booking but never apologised.

    Well presented buffet breakfast with excellent helful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Nice place for a day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the bathroom was really old didn't like it. Hope they will invest and make it more modern otherwise it was lovely

    Receptionists was lovely and kind. Near hotel is a tourist info spot. City is small so you can explore it by foot. Hotel food was nice. Clean, but old. Spa was ok and it was included in our reservation, no extra charge

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    super breakfast buffet, very nice building, situated right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They have a super wellness area but you can't use it properly because they don't have any "quiet" hours for people without little children. It's unfortunately very loud there.

    super breakfast buffet, very nice building, situated right in the centre of Shopron, very nice staff, massage excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food and drinks are expensive - best to arrange meals and drinks outside

    The facility is a bit old and dated, but large and clean. Parking in the hotel underground parking must be arranged beforehand. Location is excellent, breakfast very good. Room was clean and spacious - wellness facilities also excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Bathrobes on arrival are always appreciated, and the spa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrobes on arrival are always appreciated, and the spa room with pool and hot tub were enjoyable. Breakfast was in a beautiful room and had a large variety of foods. Bar is located in the hotel lobby, and there are tables outside to relax at. Grocery store across the street and plenty of sights to see in the town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furniture and the condition of the rooms were very disappointing. The service could be improved. It would be perfectly satisfying if I would have paid a lower price, but the service, the overall condition of the rooms and of the hotel don't match this price.

    The location is perfect. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location for a short city holiday in Sopron
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel garage (IN-KAL Security) was somehow weird. Also, the way how they manage the car entrance to the hotel garage was not professional at all. They ahould build an automatic garage door entrance with ticket system and the no staff is needed and cost efficient. The breakfast could be a little bit improved (selection of food and better coffee).

    The wellness area was really nice the location is simple perfect. Close to the city center. Welcome drink as a geisture (very good red wine from the region...)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Luxury of the last century, we relaxed and felt like a king with his queen. Absolute recommendation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking spots around, parking in the hotel garage costs 11,- euro/night extra.

    Friendly and very helpful staff, big buffet and a nice old (over 100 years) hotel with a relaxing spa.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    Location in the downtown, really nice historical building,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Horrible wellness... too cold, whirpool didn´t work well (no bubbles), only two from four saunas worked well Undrinkable coffee for breakfast...freezed concentrate from DE but there´s really nice 3rd wave Café in front of the hotel so I recommend as alternative

    Location in the downtown, really nice historical building, our superior room was nice and clean, friendly and helpfull ladies on the front desk

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    In the heart of Sopron
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    As with many grand hotels this hotel has felt the passage of time and so in some corners you can see the elegance fading. I was also slightly dissapointed that I had to pay for parking in the hotel.

    As the hotel stands on the edge of the old town it takes you to a trip to the age of Grand Hotels, as this hotel certanly once was the grand hotel of Sopron. It still has the elegand staircases, a faboulous dining and breakfast area and elegant decorations. Additionally the hotel has a large rooftop terrace with nice views and some activities possibilities and a decent relaxing spa (although why the bathrobes needed to be picked up from spa instead of rooms is beyond me).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Good location, good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Details are not in the focus ( painting of pipes inside the room, covering of swimming pool, spots on the towels, smell in the corridor, etc.)

    Variety of wellness equipment

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Best hotel in Sopron
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be more hungarian dishes at breakfast. Otherwise nothing to say ,all was good.Very good reception service and proffessional attitude.

    Wonderful hotel just in the very heart of Sopron. Old touch ,good old times feeling. Personal excellent speaking and very friendly. Breakfast good,eggs,ham,sausages,fresh fruit. Possible to leave luggage and have maps. Good wellness area ,sauna and jaccuzi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Special indeed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe longer opening time for the wellness area.....otherwise cant find anything which was not adorable...

    unique historical property at a fantastic location right in the center of town with superb services.....loved every second. worth a revisit! Large room, lovely antique furniture and art all over the place, classy feeling (see my attached panorama photo of the room, hallway, stairs)....Breakfast was superb too, wellness area uplifting, and best of all the view from the top of the Hotel (see attached my panorama photo)...parking is great and free on weekends, just in front of the Hotel...If you are lucky you also get a small balcony looking to a small garden ......great value for money indeed. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money in an attractive Old Town
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Great location in centre of town & just steps away from the heart of the Old Town. Staff were good & the room excellent. The view & the balcony were very much appreciated. Having underground parking was a bonus & the meals were very good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Impressive and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To include some free toiletries as there were none

    Impressive and convenient hotel close to the pedestrian old town. Very clean, comfortable, spacious, high-ceiling room, wide windows, large balcony and so quiet despite being right in the centre of town. Pool and wellness centre lovely after a day exploring and visiting. Friendly and efficient staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel if you choose a higher standard of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room only with the roof windows, wrong cabling in the bathroom (mirror was verrry hot). Walls in corridors should be painted as they are dirty in some places.

    Beautiful restaurant, beautiful interior in the ground floor, nice location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Good price for quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    They've debited my credit card right after the booking and was not offered for cancellation. Quite unusual. The single room was a bit tiny. Although it was located on the 2nd floor, it was like being in the suterene due to other parts of the building. Was a bit noisy in the morning. The parking area was full and not signed anywhere. Had to call the reception to figure it out. They told me to reserve a lot at the time of booking and told to find a place "somewhere in the city" :)

    Very good location, friendly service, was offered to check-out later to try the wellness. Breakfast of good quality and selection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.8
    They had not one but two nice terraces on the top floors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The (standard) rooms were long and very narrow, they did not feel comfortable and also not too clean... hey are also offering deluxe rooms with air conditioning, probably they are in better shape....

    They had not one but two nice terraces on the top floors. Breakfast was good, the coffee not.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed the wellness facility, The only thing that we would have liked is, if it had been opened a little later than 9:00 pm (I think that 10:00 pm would be more accommodating).

    We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff was very helpful and kind. They wanted to help, but they were not overburden for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Touch of 19 century...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty carpets in hotel, cheap breakfest. Historical centre of the town in reconstruction- completely empty...no tourists, no pubs...

    Historical hotel is situated in good place in main street. You could feel atmosphere of the end of 19 century... Good and clean hotel swiming pool, saunas and whirpool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    4.6
    I would not recommend this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big problem with parking, building needs renovation, all furniture in the lobby and halls old and used, not nice. Breakfast - the food was good but not enough dishes.

    The room was ok, after renovation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.5
    Good place, delicious food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was not flexible solving some questions (invoicing, dinner arrangement). No air conditioning in a room - was impossible to sleep.

    Good place, delicious food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    I would not return and reccomend the hotel to my friends.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no airconditioning in the room, almost everything is old fashioned and not cared. The street front is very noisy The breakfast is basic and not elegant at all.

    Only the location is good and the staff is friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    4.6
    Absolutely unacceptable insect invasion in the room.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was full of dead and dying insects (size of 2-3 cm) which means that the room was infected and also under treatment with some poison. No air conditioning in the middle of a heat wave in Hungary. There was no warning when we booked.I will never go back.

    The pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stay in this hotel regularly having tried 4 other Hotels in Sopron I have returned to the Pannonia over 1 times during the past two years. Everything is top class in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Hotel built late 19th century but beautiful,great location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from the room at rear not very good. Aircon a bit noisy but acceptable, toilet roll holder in awkward position.

    Hotel built late 19th century but beautiful,great location in centre. Standard room very spacious, comfortable, quiet and clean. Staff very polite and helpful. Breakfast very good. Lovely stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed been reall poor, funny way one site ok, the other with bed-sore and creakign by any moove, /two separated bedś putted together, the room been situated at the 3-th floor in the inside, but the air system from the kitchen been working till 23,00 in the night you hardly can have open window

    The Breakfest been really nice, the pool /welness too, nice area, nice restaurant, garage too

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.7
    Lovely Old Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My single room was quite warm and there is no air conditioning....just a small electric fan. I thought it was quite expensive as well - Euro instead of fortins. I would have preferred to pay in local currency.

    I only had breakfast one morning as I had a very early start the second morning. The buffet breakfast was excellent. I never had the opportunity to eat at the restarsunt.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice staff, great location, unique atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds could have been a bit softer to my preference, but were still OK. Room furniture is a bit old fashioned in style, while it can be considered as an advantage, too, depending on one's liking. Sopron is typically above the average Hungarian price levels and this as well makes me rate the room we had slightly overpriced.

    Location is central, perfect for sightseeing. Room (and bathroom, too) is spacious. Staff is very attentive and nice. We were offered the drinks of the room's mini bar to take for free of charge. The hotel offers a nice variety of breakfast options and the restaurant is nice, too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Excellent hotel with great services for a great city like Sopron!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning in our room was a bit too loud and smelly, my roomate experienced issues due to his allergies. There is also a way too much carpet everywhere... Our room cards were not always working properly.

    Excellent hotel! Great value for money. Excellent breakfast, nice personnel, incredible services. We locked our bikes in the hotel garage, very nice!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    Great stay for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They closed the pool too early. By the time we finished dinner it was too late to enjoy the spa and the pool.

    The location was great. We had a lovely evening with a bottle of wine on the rooftop overlooking the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    traumhaft!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    good breakfest in a beautiful hotel place, nice stuff, room spacious, pool clean and no one was using it:) perfect location for a perfect price (we got a really good deal for 50 euro in booking)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    I travelled with my gf and my dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    i don't really have sth to complain about :)

    I travelled with my gf and my dog. Breakfast and spa area (sauna,pool...) were included. The hotel is cozy and really near to the train station (u can walk 8min by foot). I would highly recommend it if u wanna travel to Sopron.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    Come, fix your teeth, get a massage, get spoiled, go home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    The offer to price ratio is amazing. The staff is kind and helpful. There is a small pool, hot tub, fitness and also different saunas free of charge for hotel guest. It's a great leisure destination.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    8.3
    excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was old, and the bed not very comfortable

    nice hotel with a indoor swimming pool, excellent location, we booked a room on a half board rate, the dinner was very good, but the breakfast a bit poor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't provided with any information in the room (reception phone number, restaurant opening hours, etc.)

    Staff was extremely friendly and polite, location of the hotel couldn't be better. (Special compliment to the gentleman working in the restaurant - the one that's originally from east Hungary, he looked after me beyond expectation).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.8
    The room was big enough for two people, the bathroom was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the wellness facilities because I can't swim the swimming pool was big, but I didn't use it. Only one small jacuzzi I think it wasn't enough.

    The room was big enough for two people, the bathroom was large. The staff was very helpful and nice, very polite.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    The Best value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, actually! Parking could be an issue if you are travelling with your car. There is a public parking infront of a hotel. On weekdays it's free, but not on a working days.

    I would pointed out breakfast. It was abundant and everything we ate was very tasty. I'm not a vegan/vegeterian, but there may be a lack of diverse vegan food. We have a room with a view to the main street, but we didn't hear any noise from it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.6
    All super.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private Parking it's extra-cost but can park on the road for aprox 470 huf / hourly from 8 to 18

    All super. In center of town. Very Nice staff :). Very good breakfast with traditional food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel on good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Good location -Friendly staff -Good restaurant -Welness center inside hotel -Wonderful terrace on the top of hotel with chairs for sunbathing... -Close to old city centre

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location for a long weekend get away for relaxation, city visit, nature walks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Credit card was charged in EUR, not in HUF as was stated in the confirmation, leading to unnecessary conversion charges.

    Really nice wellness area, super kind and helpful staff, nice breakfast, a beautiful building in an excellent central location in the city center, near Neusiedler See and Burgenland. Nature walks and bicycle routes around the lake are a short drive away. Beautiful historic front building and a modern back-building mix tradition and comfort. Tip: You can see the old city center of Sopron from the rooftop terraces.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.1
    Old Habsburg hotel next to Sopron's medieval centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room, which was in a strange part of the building, was comfortable, but sterile and without character. The hotel has been modernised in parts, which undermines the novelty in being in an old Habsburg hotel. The staff are polite but not particularly friendly.

    An interesting old building adjacent to the medieval centre. Some grand and opulent (if a little weathered) rooms, such as the dining hall, and good facilities, which include a swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Comfortable bed. Reasonable prices (especially given that you are given free access to the facilities). Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.2
    We liked the place :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Dinner is the worst I've ever had and pretty expensive in my opinion. Do yourself a favor and find some local restaurant near the hotel.

    The staff is good and helpful. our room was full of smoke and they agreed to change the room. The location is very close to the old city, which is good, but the old city itself is not very interesting. The breakfast was quiet good. The hotel itself looks very Bohemian and beautiful. No way finding such prices in Austria.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    Staff are very friendly and helpful, location is excellent,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I checked in many times in this hotel and I indicated everytime that i want a twin bed but because i traveled alone, they put me 3 or 4 times in the single room. Its not about the room that i dont like in the single room but the bed. The bed in the single rooms ist too hard.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful, location is excellent, everything is clean and so many choices for breakfast ...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.1
    The great thing about this Hotel is location in the centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wellness facilities are quite poor. Due to capacity of the Hotel, there is no enough space for Hotel guests to enjoy sauna or to rest on deck chair. We couldn't spend time in wellnes, because we didn't have place for our towels and stuff (and wellness was one of the main reasons we picked this Hotel).

    The great thing about this Hotel is location in the centre of Sopron. The breakfast was delicious and various.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    One of the best we have ever had.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the visitors in wellness used redneck style habits like going to sauna in swimsuit or with rubber slippers. I think the hotel could put some sauna rules on the wall next to the sauna and of course looks after their fulfilment.

    Clean, great personal, friendly to dogs, perfect wellness, rich breakfast. Location in the historic old town and in the hotel you fell yourself like the early 20th century visitor - of course only in the positive meaning. Perfect value of money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The girls on reception ( 2 working different shifts) were great, although obviously overworked and under immense pressure to help guests as no other members of staff seemed remotely interested. The rest of the staff - bar, restaurant,"spa" etc appeared rather docile and miserable and seemed to avoid any type of communication, or walked off in the opposite direction if you even dared to ask. There is no food served in the café/bar and the restaurant has no menu, just a 3 course set meal at lunchtime and a buffet at dinner - nothing else. No room service "Spa"- all a bit odd. Pool was a bit small and very cold. Jacuzzi was being used as a kids play pool with a couple and 2 children. No changing area, toiletries or place to put anything definitely 3 star not 4.5

    Reception staff very helpful. Good breakfast. Excellent town centre location. Lovely old building with character, but most of the staff are miserable which spoils the experience.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.9
    the hotel is really nice with a lot of old charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was quiet disappointing the spa is nice, but small for a hotel with so many rooms so it gets crowded

    the hotel is really nice with a lot of old charm friendly staff location great massages

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    9.2
    Atmospheric hotel in ideal location
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a room furnished with an antique bed, nightstand. Lovely to look at but the "mattress" was little more than plywood covered with foam. The room was much too warm despite turning off the radiator.

    Loved the atmosphere of staying in a historic hotel, the beautiful marble floors, what I assume was at one time the ballroom and now the breakfast dining room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was incredibly hot at night since the thermostate didn't work properly. It would have been nicer to have one big mattress in a double bed instead of two single mattresses with a gap in-between.

    Great location, very central and near to the train station and sights. Friendly staff and spacious rooms. The breakfast was nice but nothing too special.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    10
    Good location on the main street, nice and friendly staff ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good location on the main street, nice and friendly staff ,very good buffet breakfast and dinner. Close to Vienna. Nice wellness area.Good value for money.We really enjoyed being there.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    6.7
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was outdated, partly renovated. Wellness looked OK, but no changing room (although bathrobes can be picked up only there), not enough chairs to sit.

    Location.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: