Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Papillon 3 stars

1024 Budapest, Rózsahegy 3/b, Hungary

#178 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1833 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nightstands a little dusty (I had to clean them). One of the glass in the bathroom was not clean and even smelled toothpaste form the previous customer. So we just did not used them. But the rest of the room was clean and the staff and our stay was nice so we did not bother to tell the reception :)

    Nice and helpful staff, Good breakfast, nice little pool and terrasse, good restaurant and nice location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It´s not very close to city center but it´s a cool place.

    They give us an excellent room, with a big terrace and perfect views. Room was clean, comfortable. They offered us a good breakfast. Everything was really good. Thanks :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Employees are not customer focused. The room we stayed in was also air-conditioned, but there was no remote control. but he did not write the hotel information on the pay section. we told them that we did not read the information ,his answer is “we could talk to the hotel manager without doing anything” we were already out the next day. The hotel I will never recommend

    breakfast was nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family apartment is separate from the hotel around the corner on another street!

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful ... breakfast was good! Location is good for all the sights

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely views over the city from the terrace. Outdoor seating area with pool. The food in the restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced. the staff were really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception suppose to be open all night. We was waiting 20 min. for sombody to open doors for us. We was calling them and nobody was there. So be careful on night sightseeing ;)

    Perfect localisation to sightseeing. And hotel is really good for his three stars. Very good breakfast. Everything you need is there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was cery steep - very difficult to move around in a longer car. They could also use more tables in the dining room.

    The location is good, close to the Parliament, and staff is very friendly. Breakfast was a good choice as well. Our room as well as bathroom was very spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unexpectedly our room was in a separate building (not far) not a big problem but better to know in advance.

    Room with private kitchen bathroom and shared garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was 30+ and the swimming pool wasn't in use !!

    Very helpful staff, small size room but adequate for our needs. Comfy bed and very good breakfast, garden for reading your morning paper. Parking available on the street on a meter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was OK, but restaurant is too small when hotel is fully occupied and there is not enough space for all hotel guests. Rooms need better matresses and pillows. Maintenance as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hill up to the hotel (first world problems) it isn’t much but if I had to pick one thing....

    Everything. It was well situated, great facilities and the staff went out of their way to be helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very little open near hotel late at night, although did manage to find a bar selling food called Marxim. Note for any older visitors the hotel is up a steep hill. Could have done with a "do not disturb" sign to hang on the door as housekeeping kept knocking very early in the morning.

    Stunning views of the city from the hotel room. Staff were friendly. Tram stop five minute walk from hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On my booking it said that I can pay in Euro. This is only the case if you pay in cash. If you want to pay by card they charche your card with HUF. One of the cleaning ladies ate one slice of my blue Toblerone. The coffee on the breakfast buffet was really terrible and more my liking there could have been more fruit.

    I got a coupon for a welcoming drink and they also had dinner options. The breakfst buffet had a good selection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location half way up a steep hill. No problem for younger guests ,but a bit much for my blood pressure problems. This is a personal thing, would have liked a kettle as I am a compulsive coffee drinker.

    lI loved the breakfast. The desk staff were amazing, nothing too much trouble. They printed out my airport transfer ticket and pre ordered an early morning taxi for me. Closeness to city centre, only four tram stops to West End shopping centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pretty basic and quality other the eggs and processed meats was pretty poor. The restaurant was at best average and while food was acceptable, the prices were far to high, compared to other local places. Location was good but at the top of two hills. Not good if you struggle with walking or breathlessness. I am pretty fit but after a week found it very tiresome, especially after a night out at a restaurant. There are other hotels in the town with better facilities and competitive prices. Personally, I would not stay a second time.

    The staff were courteous and friendly and the overall atmosphere was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i was charged with my credit card. i opt for cash during check in. but somehow your website request for credit card number JUST TO SECURE BOOKING, unfortunately was charged!!

    friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was loud, and our room only had a window opening to an indoor hallway, so we were not able to get fresh air. The breakfast was nothing special, but is better than nothing. All in all, this is a good place to stay on a budget travel.

    Friendly staff and breakfast included. Good place to stay for budget travel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small drapes - I couldn't cover the whole window. Cleanliness (mainly of bathroom) could be a little bit better.

    Good and quiet location. Very kind staff. Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best value for money that you can find in Budapest. The location is great,the rooms are OK,the staff is kind and helpful . Good wifi,breakfast and restaurant menu are more then acceptable for that kind of money in a city like Budapest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small and the breakfast was modest. We came here with another family. One day, they found their room unlocked and some money missing. The receptionist apologized and did nothing. So, probably we, all, should be more careful next time.

    It was near many attractions. It had a small restaurant with daily menues.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The photos of the rooms are hoax due to the angle of the photo taken, rooms are way too smaller than the pictures. The hotel is far from the city center and hence the cheap price.

    The breakfast was better than what I expected.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was fine but perhaps not the most convenient especially as it is up a very steep hill

    Almost everything Very good value for money Very pleasant, friendly staff Very clean and pleasant Decent breakfast Decent wifi I had stayed here ten years ago and was happy. I can very highly recommend and would definitely stay again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During breakfast time a lady that was in charge to collect the empty dishes or to fill the buffet was extremely noisy .she was collecting the dishes graceless making so much noise.it was very annoying...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garage was very narrow and an average size car could get damaged easily.

    Not far from the historical centre. The room had a balcony with a view of a garden.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had zero natural light. The only window I had opened onto the central stairwell which meant you heard everything happening, especially the noise of the small restaurant.

    The price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell from bathroom. Noise - we can hear voices from the bar. Lack of double bed. We asked in advance two times for take away breakfast, because we were leaving before usual breakfast was served and it was not ready. Big thanks for the person from reception for making some sandwitches for us on the spot.

    Breakfast was good. Generally clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a negative but only thing I can think of that I didn't like was rooms were extremely hot and maybe heating could be turned down slightly!!

    Amazing value for money. Location excellent. Everything within walking distance/tram just down the road

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Initially when we arrived one of the beds had a dirty duvet with some hair on it but this was soon rectified.

    I was very impressed by Hotel Papillon. Though it is set slightly away from the main attractions they can be easily accessed by foot or public transport. The rooms were adequately sized with comfortable beds and powerful shower. There was also a fully equipped minibar for those extra holiday treats. Every member of staff we encountered were incredibly friendly and informative and always went above and beyond to assist in what we needed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They aaked the 9 euro city tax during check out time when i am running out of money. Please finalize everything when a guest check in

    The bedding was only changed twice during my 6 nites stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in restaurant on property was not good. Very bland. Location far and complicated to get to from city centre. Hard to get to from airport

    Staff was very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from city center walking, but safe and clean. An overall cozy and refreshing stay. The sheets and bathrooms were clean, and I felt welcome and cared for by staff. Breakfast was light but tasty, and computer with printer was an added bonus!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was ok.

    Breakfast buffet was good and included in the price. The location of the hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood but it is easy to reach all main attractions walking or by public transport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If one wants to book a parking space, mentioning it during the booking.com reservation isn't enough, the hotel must be contacted directly.

    Nice and neat place. Central location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner chances

    Family-like climate, with hordes of French and (night #2) German people, all feeling quite at home, good WiFi and TV choice, nice breakfast and no way to have dinner because of above

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is up a hill which is hard on the calves if ur not into getting taxis all the time. It's a decent 12 minute walk from nearest travel links, restaurants or pubs.

    Staff were lovely and very helpful and the breakfast catered for coeliac requirements.the restaurant menu was good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was adequate for the price of the hotel. There wasn't a lounge area.

    Quite laid back and friendly. Liked the location but may not be suitable for less able visitors as very hilly. Trams run nearby and service is very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an unfortunate leak on the stairway inside the hotel itself (it was raining) that made the staircase a bit slippery. There was no food service available in the dining room for those arriving ahead of check-in time, although it was possible to get a hot beverage. In the apartment unit the bedside lamps would not turn on. These were all minor inconveniences.

    The apartment facility that is available through this hotel is excellent - there is plenty of room and the kitchen is well-equipped. I wish I had had more time to use it! All of the people were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was clean and bed was very clean and comfortable. Hotel staff was very helpful, they answered all our questions, kindly kept our bags after check out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    its in the Buda district, which is quieter and residence-oriented, whereas Pest is tourist-oriented and accessible more easily by public transport. Moreover, the hotel is on a fairly steep slope. going up with luggage is killing. taxi drivers tend to drive around a lot on the hill. i was charged 1500 forint for a 5-minute ride. watch out, but what can you do??

    the hotel itself is excellent for the price I paid. friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Continental breakfast was fine, but the breakfast room a little crowded.

    Boutique hotel in a quieter area of town. I was amazed by the language skills of the reception staff who could switch instantaneously between 4 or 5. they were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom. The room wasn't bad in itself the thing is that it was for 4 people (Group). When I asked reception they informed me that that was the only one available for 1 night. I'd have prefer a single cosy room when I'm travelling alone. No extra costs of anything. The bathroom has bad smell I think it was that the base of the toilet needed to be put silicone to avoid the water to leak outside. More brightness will also help.

    Staff and location. Quietness and swimming pool. Pool bar. They gave me a coffee even when I came for breakfast a bit later! I really appreciate that! Option to keep your luggage before check in as I arrived 4 hours earlier than planned.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast didn't have a lot of variety and it started really early so it ended early too. Not enough space in the restaurant. The pool was small and had no lights on at night

    The location was good and close to the tram network and a shopping centre. The apartment was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from elevator, noise from restaurant at 6 am, noise from water instalation from other rooms, the window hasn't access to fresh air, the bed linen was with stains, the pictures from booking not reflect the reality.

    Staff polite

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast room is quite small for the number of guests, and the lady on duty could not keep up with clearing tables and replacing food at busy times. A little extra help for her would not go amiss.

    Reception staff were extremely helpful and obliging. The quiet residential location of the hotel. The first hotel we've stayed where it's cheaper to eat and drink in than outside. More or less everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness was a little spotty. Hair (definitely not mine) and mold in shower. The shower head was broken. It could not adjust.

    The front desk attendees were excellent and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a small misunderstanding on our arrival. We made reservations for an appartment, but were given a family room with six beds in one room instead. Staff stayed very friendly and professional and the problem was eventually solved. Underground parking lot is very narrow for an average family car.

    professional service, price/quality very good. Some rooms have beatifull views. Small but nice swimming pool. Nice athmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning? Although there was a fan supplied

    The hotel staff were fantastic and made us feel very welcome. My daughter was ill on arrival and they offered to call an emergency doctor out for her. Hotel was a little way out but peaceful and within 5 minute walk of the trams to the centre of Budapest 😀 There are 3 children's play areas just down the road and beautiful gardens. The hotel is at the top of a hill so bear this in mind if you have a disability. We will definately be staying here again and have stayed in numerous hotels in Budapest from 5 star to 2 stars but this outshone all of these for hospitality 😀

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in a separate building, in what looked like a 2-bed apartment to rent, the room was long and narrow, very difficult to move around, the furniture was positioned according to where the sockets were, which made it near impossible to use the TV. At 4 am we were woken up by some loud neighbours who talked and laughed very loudly on the balcony next door - the noise went on for at least a hour and a half. Reporting it at reception was difficult, as I would have had to get dressed and go to the other building 2 blocks away.

    Large clean bathroom, friendly receptionist, the fact that breakfast was included.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Room 14 has no ventilation. 2. Windows (doors) looks right on the restaurant terrace and have no ventilation mode. You can only open it and let anyone come into your room. You have to keep curtains closed. 3. You have to ask for conditioner remote control on reception. 4. Process on checkout was unexpectedly long. 5. Staff always deliberate polite, but it looks like abject humiliation when they say that cannot help you.

    1. Help with parking payment from hotel staff on reception. 2. Location. It is really not so far from city centrum 3. Clean room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff, the location is quite but central, the room is pretty small but nice and clean, the breakfast is good! We were satisfied with our stay at Hotel Papillon and would stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren't very comfortable and the pillows were extremely uncomfortable! A chair in the room would have been nice.

    Staff very helpful and friendly, there was a good selection of food and what we had was good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bed narrow matress worn out thin and in middle sink in. Mattress protector had a big urine mark pillow marked smelly. Need to asked to be changed . On Toilet watertank red spots Carpet stained. Payment was charged in current euro rate. Forint is official currency of hungary. At booking of room the tariff was is aus dollar. final payment was $60 more.it was confusing. Receipt did not include aactual staying dates and night. After i asked she wrote by hand on receipt dates. Again asked for a typed receipt what includes the actual details and of payment for the accommodation. I dont go back as my back was hurting because of very old used bed mattress. No transparency regarding payment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor, no international TV canals only local ones.

    Even though it is located out of the center of Budapest the location is not bad. There is a great restaurant nearby, a market and big shopping place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    since I was on the ground floor (by the pool - very nice), I couldn't open a window for fresh air so had to pay an extra 6Euro (not excessive in our mind) for A/C which was delightfully quiet !

    Great food, lovely hotel garden, good location for Buda attractions, a delightful local public garden, peace and quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fit-out is poor and cleaning might be better

    We stay for the night while travelling by car. Location is good at all. Hotel parking is not suitable for the cars above 1.8m, which is not listed, but parking in the city after 8 p.m. friday till monday is free, so you do not need parking if you stay on weekends Family apatments is located on the next street, so you will go for a walk on the morning, but the breakfast was good at all and staff was quite helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a shame that the pool was way too freezing to go into, there's a lovely garden area with sunbeds in the back but we couldn't brave the cold. The double room was two single beds together which was a little hard to manage but we encountered this in our other hotel also. And we had to pay extra (10 or 15%)for air conditioning which I feel should've have been included with the heat at night.

    Lovely location a few minutes walk from the tram stop. A little park and nice restaurants within a few minutes walk, particularly Porcellino Italian. Nice rooms, comfy bedding, nice staff. Lovely sweetbreads for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is supposed to be served from 7-10 am,but if you arrive at 9.40 as we did a lot of products weren't replenished.We even had to ask for knives.Nobody seemed to care about these issues,their only concern was to clean the tables and remove the remaining products.

    Nice location,close to the city center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking for larger cars impossible. Standard breakfast. No welcome drink for booking genius consumers.

    Nice and hospitable lady at the receptionist's desk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in their garage is limited and street parking nearby costs 1 €/hour with max 3 hours stay between 8 am and 6 pm on weekdays. However, staff adviced us free parking about 800 meters away.

    Great location in quiet neighborhood, but only a short walk to tram stop. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked rooms were unavailable upon arrival due to electrical problems (=overbooked). We were given an apartment with 1 double bed and 1 single bed. It turned out that the single bed wasn't a bed, but a sofa. So basically I slept on a sofa and paid full price for it. It was very hot in the rooms, there was airconditioning unit on the wall but no remote. Pillows were terrible; they were full of those little hard cube fillings. yuck. Next day, I changed to my own, seperate bedroom. They gave me a triple room. Pillows there were just as bad. I tried all three. I could feel springs probing my side while I tried to sleep. You can book onsite parking, but that garage has very tight turns. My car could make the tight turns, but any bigger than a Peugeot 107 and you have a problem. The walls of the parking were badly damaged due to worse drivers than me. We were promised a partial refund upon check-out, but the night receptionist knew nothing about this and refused it. We had to leave early, so we were told that we could get breakfast to take away. When we asked for that later, we were told that the kitchen was closed and he could not make them. The breakfast the 1st day was plain. The night receptionist knew nothing, could not do anything and was very unhelpful. I think he was only able to give people a key. The place was dirty, Pictures on the site were obviously taken years ago. Terrace/bar was a joke, the pool not clear, breakfast room very tightly packed with tables and not cosy.

    Difficult to find one thing I liked about the place. I suppose I can mention that the staff spoke several languages. And they kept smiling (although, if looks could kill...).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very very crammed/couldn't really move/walk around Less bed but a table would've been nice Only one aircone worked The water pressure was lousy But loved every min of the stay!!!

    The view from the balcony was fantastic!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The furniture is old and run down The bathroom needed a serious refurbishment Inconvenient location on top of a hill far from attractions

    The staff was quite helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though we had booked parking, and it was confirmed by the property, when we arrived, there was no parking available at the location (had to drive to another, and park in someone's personal garage...) We were traveling with a baby so an elevator is always helpful. Except that the elevator here leads to half-floors, so no matter where you go with it, you still have to climb stairs. The room was extremely small, we could barely fit the baby bed, and still have enough room to open the bathroom door. No view. Bathroom very small, and a very dated.

    nothing, really

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There weren't too many restaurant choices nearby and there have hard keys and not key cards for the room. Also, the walls are super thin. I could hear people going in and out of their rooms and knocking on the door and talking in the hallways.

    It was small and cozy, perfect size for just me. I had a nice view from my room and the area was pretty quiet outside. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff was extremely helpful. Everything was according to expectation. Near parks. Food at hotel restaurant was above average. I would definitely visit them again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was not so much stable and the rooms are in a place with a lot of ascents and if you have heavy suitcases and you are walking, it could be a problem.

    I liked the rooms...the space was big and confortable. The rooms were clean. Also the position of the structure is near Millenaris where we had the meeting and so it was really handy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dark corridors and multiple levels on one floor (stairs up and down from lift on second floor). Out of the way location. Food poor.

    Staff helpful. Room comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is based on the Buda side of the city and therefore the area is hilly. It's a good 10 -15 minute walk downhill / uphill to the closest underground station and to the Danube river which is where the closest hop on - hop off bus stop is. There are a couple of nice restaurants close by (porcello and marangona) but other than those there is the mammut shopping area with fast food outlets 15 minutes walk away again uphill / downhill. This hotel's location would make it difficult for those with mobility difficulties to get around easily.

    Nice hotel, basic facilities and breakfast, staff pleasant and helpful and all speak good English.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could have been cleaner.... In the bathroom it was smelling awful.....like it wasn't washed and clean but for one night we didn't ask the personnel to come and check.....the plastic recycle bin can be changed as it is so cheap to by a new one instead of having an old yellowed one (original colour was white).... It was no welcome drink neither the first time(last year) ,neither the second time (this month)....

    For us was the second time here. We like it because it is close to the Danube and main points. That is the main reason.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't fault this hotel in any way.

    The staff were very hospitable and helpful in every way. The choice of food in the restaurant was extensive, the service was efficient and the food delicious. The bed was very comfortable and all facilities were clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom could have been bit cleaner.

    Walking distance to Buda Castle. Friendly staff, room was cleaned (bed made and trashcan emptied) every day. Hotel was old and not fancy, but good at this price. We had a balcony in our room which was nice surprise.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be more diverse, e.g. fresh fruit and vegetables, some hot dishes. But the quality of the offered food is good.

    Very welcoming staff, clean premises, quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heat stayed on whole time and room was very hot at night. They did give me a fan as they could not control heat. Most people apparently like hot rooms not me.

    Nice staff quiet location but near enough to walk to all points of interest

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds are not that comfortable, but again, consider the price. Also, one thing that was not obvious when I arrived is that you have to pay an additional property tax in cash, since the credit card machine has a 20 euro minimum charge. Since this was only revealed to me at check-out, I had already spent all of my local currency, and do not come from an EU country, so it was a bit awkward. The guy at the front desk was able to charge me with the credit machine, but he wasn't happy about it! Left a bad taste in my mouth about this place, honestly.

    I would say the best thing about this hotel is that it is very inexpensive and located close to public transportation and tourist sites. The neighbourhood is not very interesting, but it is quiet and safe at night, and it does not take long to get to the Danube or to the Castle Hill District. It is a very simple hotel, not the kind of place where you would want to spend a long morning or relaxing evening, but then again, it's cheap, and if you are touring around, it is a good enough place to sleep.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find any issues, apart from marshmallow pillows...Neck ache every night!

    Breakfast more than continental so good vfm. Evening food was average, mostly overcooked, but front of house staff excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Papillon traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: