Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Promenade City Hotel 3 stars

1052 Budapest, Váci utca 22., Hungary

#150 of 353 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1632 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.8
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet was grubby, and the cleaner wasnt the best.

    Location was excellent. Breakfast excellent, plenty of choice. Helpful friendly waitresses who worked efficiently to keep the restaurant clean and the breakfast bar topped up. All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Overall recommend on location, basic room but comfortable and clean.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window into stairwell. Limited toiletries.

    Great central location but it’s pedestrianised so no taxis straight there. Breakfast was surprisingly good. Facilities as on website.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    We will sure come back again to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room -but the staff were glad to help with warm water to the baby. No view - we didn’t care, the location is great, no reason to stay in the room . No lobby - again not a break deal because the hotel “lobby” is actually the Main Street , restaurant , coffee and more, 2 seconds for the entrance.

    Room were clean and tidy In a center place - close to everything. That’s a small and nice hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant and enjoyable few days and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area is very dated and doesn't do justice to the pleasant staff and hotel in general. Would have liked a general seating area for coffee or drinks.

    Central location. Excellent buffet breakfast with a wide variety of food to suit everyone. Very helpful and courteous staff who spoke very good English and were pleasant at all times.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, super
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfastroom was small and very crowded!

    Big rooms, comfy beds! Excellent location and superfriendly staff! No problem to store our bikes in the general managers office!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the breakfast room was very unhappy and grumpy. When we checked in, the receptionist could not explain us were the parking garage was located and we spent an hour and a half searching for a parking lot. Another receptionist had a strange reaction in the day we left the hotel, shouting at us and telling us we needed to announce him in advance before taking our baggage to the car (we hadn't checked out yet, we just wanted to transport some baggages from the room to the car before checking out. Everything had been paied at that point, the reservation had been booked via booking.com site, they had all our data, therefore such a reaction was unexplainable and unnecessary). They did not provided personal care products on a daily basis, we received them only in the first day.

    The location right in the center of the city, on Váci Street. The room was clean and spatious, well soundproofed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    The staff were so friendly and helpful, the room was so...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike, everything about our stay was perfect!

    The staff were so friendly and helpful, the room was so clean and spacious and the bathroom was so clean and modern too! Breakfast in the the morning was lovely as well, and the location was great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Hotel is in perfect location to enjoy the sights of Budapest and very reasonably priced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location for shopping and restaurants. No noise at all from the room - the room was very spacious and clean and nice bathroom. Really enjoyed the selection at breakfast. Reception staff very helpful with advice with excursions etc. Very reasonably priced given location. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi in the bedroom was slow.

    The bedroom and bathroom have a good size. The bed is comfortable. The breakfast has not to much choices, but a good number of it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    The location of this hotel is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this hotel is awesome. You’re located directly among the shopping and restaurants and it’s a 2 minute walk to the river. There is also a subway stop just a minute walk down the street as well as the airport bus station which is just a 3 minute walk away. The free breakfast was much appreciated with a simple continental offering that was well done. The rooms are spacious, AC worked well, fridge, room safe, and had a little bath tub even! The hotel staff were very kind and helpful. This was good value. I would note though that the beds are on the very firm side which was slightly uncomfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfectly acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress too hard but as a solo traveller I could sleep on the other duvet! Shower was over bath. No tea/coffee making facilities but they lent me a kettle.

    Air conditioning worked well. Central and safe location. Very quiet on top floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.6
    Your description of the hotel is most misleading,2 star at best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was more like a hostel for back packers,the room was dull and dowdy the bed was as hard as the floor the breakfast room too small with poor choice I wouldn't stay there again if you paid me!!

    We liked the manager who found us a sister hotel to our liking after having to stay one night only,it was inconvenient and ask for compensation from booking .com

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Fine for a night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are all around a courtyard and there was an annoying sound intermittently throughout the night - I realised in the morning it was the elevator. It’s a really loud elevator!

    I just needed a place to sleep before heading to work the next day - this place allowed late checkin unlike most. Room was very clean and had everything you need.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast were of good varieties.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility is a bit outdated.

    Breakfast were of good varieties. Location is awesome. Very convenient. Metro station and bus stops are just around the corner. Even though on a very busy street, sound proof is perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conflicting information regarding availability of laundry service on Sunday. The breakfast room is a little small and this makes it a little awkward to move around and close proximity of seating.

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Great Staff, great location. We plan on going back to Budapest and plan on staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and helpful staff, Hotel located on the Pest side, great location. Parking available upon request for a fee (per day). Easy access to trams and metro to travel to the Buda side.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    excellent in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing..it was perfect and the staff were friendly and helpful

    what a find, excellent location in the heart of the city..easy walk to gellert baths and the market..trams and underground close by so easy access to all the other budapest sites.all the staff smiled and were willing to help with questions. the rooms were clean and had everything we wanted.we were on the 3rd floor facing the front and couldn't here any noise from the street..a wonderful stay.definitely would book again and recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    A very pleasant stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good location on a pedestrian street full of shops and restaurants, near bus and metro station, near Danube river. Friendly and helpful staff, rooms quite spacious and clean, comfortable beds, tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    A nice little hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had some trouble controlling the air conditioning in the room.

    This is a nice little hotel that has a very friendly and helpful staff. The location is great--you step out the front door onto the main pedestrian shopping street where there is a lot going on. The staff were excellent at helping us get from the train station to the hotel and then from the hotel to the airport. The staff also helped book us on a great night dinner cruise and had wonderful restaurant suggestions that had good Hungarian food, nice atmosphere, and reasonable prices. Last of all, the breakfast had good food and my husband says the coffee was the best he had on the trip!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.6
    The beds were awful, so so hard.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were awful, so so hard. The shower screen was broken so after a shower there was water everywhere! Breakfast was very poor, ad the quality of the food was very average, Disappointed, such a shame. Too expensive, just because of the location. I won't be staying here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Stay would be good without the maintenance hiccup
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathtub water pressure - water pressure was too slow to fill up the bath tub. It took ages to fill up! Hotel maintenance - Their maintenance staff forgot to turn on the hot water after maintenance during one of the day and we return back to the hotel at night with no hot water to shower. We contacted the front desk the front desk and all he could do was apologise to us with no solution offered and told us to wait till tomorrow morning! We had to suggest him to give us key to vacant room to shower, but it turned out there was no hot water in that room either!

    Breakfast - spread was good which alternate every other day. 24-hour front desk -friendly and were able to provide you with surrounding activities suggestion. Wifi - Good Location - Great, along walking street

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    amazing
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast and coffee was only disappointing thing.

    Amazing location . the best you get for this price ! very clean room and bath ! there's AC, TV, Wifi worked perfectly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    location of the hotel is great and rooms are quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WIFI did not works fluently, room was not big as accepted, TV is very small, not enough space around the room.

    location of the hotel is great and rooms are quite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    The external sound proofing of the rooms is perfect on the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No day was with fresh bread. The training of the breakfast team is more than desired. Between the rooms are thin walls.

    The external sound proofing of the rooms is perfect on the most crowded street of Budapest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Stuff was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms at lower floors do not have to much natural lights in them (especially ones with no view on the street). If you can, consider reserving higher floors (5th, 6th). Bed could be more comfortable.

    Stuff was good. Breakfast was good Hotel is in the center, best location in Budapest everything is near, but if you are going with your car, know that you need to pay EXTRA for parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Wery good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wery good in good location in the middle of walk free zone, shops, bars and restaurants few meters away, walking distance to Danube and all public transportation. Good brekfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Satisfactorily comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old and bad smell in the room. I am not sure if the curtains were changed regularly. Better close your window if you don’t want loud noises from the street.

    The location, it’s accessibility and the receptionist were accommodating; you have to ask or request for the kettle in the reception, it was complementary, because it is not included in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Really good opportunity!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location. Even though it's in one of the main and busy streets we heard no noise coming from the outside Conditions are very good, and the price-quality is excellent. If you want to be close to everything with a good place to sleep this is it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    Location is excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was a bit hard for my taste and the pillows not too comfortable. Also, I got a skin allergy from the bed sheets (probably from the detergent they use to clean them) - but I can't be very critical about it because I have sensitive skin and it's not the first time this happened.

    Location is excellent! Breakfast was very good. Clean room, helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 208 was a bit cold - could’ve done with some extra blankets in the wardrobe just in case

    Can’t fault the hotel. Clean rooms, friendly staff. It’s in an amazing location and we enjoyed our stay here :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Would stay here again as it was a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast room was a bit small and we were not able to sit and ate in our room. Breakfast choices were a bit limited and fruit was old.

    Great location in the very center of town near the river. Pedestrian street outside meant very little road noise. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice accommodation for a family, but there is room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heater was not working all the time and wifi was really poor in our room.

    I liked the room and staff. The staff were very helpful with recommendations on what to see in Budapest. The rooms were clean and appropriate for a family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.3
    Disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is very high for what this hotel offers. Most of the rooms have the windows opening inside the building(there is no fresh air from outside). Inside our room (401) was a very unpleasant smell, probably from the pipes. The walls in the room were dirty as well as the floor. We booked 2 rooms and we asked rooms to be close to each other. Guess what? One room was at 1st and the other at 4th floor.....

    Excellent location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Overall is great, many rooms are not designed well
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first we receieved a room which its only window faces the corridor, where the elevator is located. Many rooms are built that way, and it means that you suffer from the noisy elevator each time it moves, and get almost no air or light from the outside. The staff were kind and gave us another room, and that one was a lot better. I would have been very disapointed if I had to stsy at the first room for the whole vacation, and think it should be clearer which rooms face the elevator upon order.

    Price is more than fair for the area Staff is super friendly snd helpfull Location is great Breakfasþ was satisfying

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    pleasantly surprised. Great value hotel in good location with excellnt breakfast and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    excellent location. Lovely breakfast. The staff were all helpful and extremely pleasant and gave us lots of information on arrival. Extremely clean facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Great location, really interesting city with lots of history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all worked well, incl instructions to nearby garage (16 Euro/24 h)

    Very central location, within easy walking distance from sights and spas - good breakfast and kind staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    2.5
    BE CAREFUL - TERRIBLE PLACE
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the crew was really not nice when i got there (they were realy nice over the phone

    BE CAREFUL Most rooms dont have a window to the outside world only to elevator shaft. i called before and the didnt told me the truth and when i got to the hotel they wanted more money for upgrade.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    The staff is nice and friendly, they were very good in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Most of the rooms have windows which look to the corridor, so, you don't get a good natural light inside, and also can't enjoy a fresh air.

    The staff is nice and friendly, they were very good in the pre-stay communication too (promptly provided the invitation letter required for visa application). Good breakfast, excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    The staff is very nice and helpful, we had a problem with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ---

    The staff is very nice and helpful, we had a problem with our reservation and they were very cooperative, they helped us to resolve the problem. Great location, close to the Danube, good bus/tram/metro connection, quiet, animated area, nice room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel to stay at the middle of Budapest and enjoy the walking and sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room size.

    Very nice small hotel in the middle of the pedestrian shooing street at the middle of Budapest, with small rooms but yet comfortable and well equipped. Friendly staff helping to find all necessary inflammation about sightseeing and shopping in Budapest. Good breakfast in terms of freshness and variety.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Second time staying in the hotel and didn't disappoint...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Second time staying in the hotel and didn't disappoint yet again. Rooms clean, towels replaced every day & the breakfast buffet each day was superb. Staff very helpful, booked our airport transfers with the hotel and our driver was waiting in the arrivals lounge for us and the pick up driver met us at the agreed time in the hotel lobby to go back. Anyone looking a central hotel in Budapest look no further.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    3.8
    don't go there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the room were we were accommodated had no outside windows. this was not mentioned on the website. Until check in, there was no disclosure of this detail. Moreover, the photos from the website were all with rooms with outside windows; - it smells funny inside;

    the location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff member had zero people skills and felt like he was not very helpful

    Shopping areas, major sights, restaurants, and tour bus stops are VERY close

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.9
    Somewhat disappointing, but the location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise in room - prob from heating/air con. Temp on arrival was 25C at 23.00- not good for sleeping. Outside around 0C, so not wise to turn off. 'Handy' did not work.

    Central location. Design of room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.1
    Not bad but there is better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was big but unwelcoming, no pictures or cosy atmosphere. The tap in the bathroom was hot and no cold water. Some of the lights didn’t work. The view from the window was of a wall and other confined windows. Felt very claustrophobic. The breakfast room was very small, we had to share our breakfast table with other people, waited 10 minutes for clean plates, twice!, the plates were chipped and the coffee machine produced a hair into my cup that wasn’t there before. There was a terrible sewage smell throughout the hotel that continued into the room but wasn’t as bad as the public areas. There was the same raw smell coming from the toilet and plug holes in the bathroom. Cold wooden floors in the room with no rugs. Dirty cover on the sofa bed. The bed was rock hard and extremely uncomfortable. The duvet was a summer duvet and was not enough warm for winter. The heating didn’t work in the middle of the night Just in the morning and early evening when we arrived!? The room isn’t the rooms advertised when you book the hotel. You have to pay more for that room you have to upgrade!

    The room was clean, staff were helpful, friendly and spoke good English. Fabulous location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money, friendly staff, view on the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was loud, smell on the entrence of hotel is not nice, very small breakfest room

    Good value for money, friendly staff, view on the main street, big windows, nice atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Perfectly located!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location right in the middle of Vaci Utca street, lots of shops, bars and restuarants just steps away from the hotel. Staf was very friendy and welcoming.Room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was also very good with enough variety.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Awesome hotel! *****
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a pillow diva and I like two big pillows not one big and one small. The hotel reception has a funny smell but thankfully the rooms and rest of the hotel does not.

    The hotel rooms are quiet despite being in a really great central location. The room and bathroom are modern and clean. Excellent location and excellent value for money. Good variety and decent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a small issue with the sewage smell coming from the bathtub drain stopper, the bed was acceptable but not comfortable (bear in mind it is a three stars hotel)

    Super great location, and so clean, and again I insist that the location is amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Couldn't have been any better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all!

    Room looked exactly like it did in the pictures, if not better. Was in the perfect location, close to all sites. Staff were very helpful and polite! 10/10 recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi on the 6th floor was very bad. We had single matresses on our double bed.

    Excellent staff! Breakfast was very good. Hotel near shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    9/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the water in the bathroom was going inside bedroom no pipe hole to get away and the noises from the elevator

    the smart device Handy the warm room and the location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.4
    -The staff was great and really friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The bed is big but hard like a rock. - the room wasn’t cleaned and the sheets weren’t changed

    -The staff was great and really friendly -Location is 10/10

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast, very good location, very nice bathroom
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't comfortable, heating/aircondition was a bit too noisy, so we switched it off, but then in the morning was cold there and blanket wasn't very thick (january) small room

    Good breakfast, very good location, very nice bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were exceptional. I have mixed feelings about the location only because it's in such a popular area. Depending on the guests' preferences this could be perfect or a bit too busy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent position in the heart of the fashion street Vaci! Plenty of restaurants in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    They didn't provide slippers so I used a pair of socks. One day I found them mixed with my pyjama. Not a good choice from the cleaning lady.

    The location was perfect. Just in the center of Budapest life! The Staff was very polite. They helped us with the reservation of a restaurant at Christmas Eve and kept our luggage the last day for almost 6 hours!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Hotel has great location - only few minutes walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel has great location - only few minutes walking distance from Basilica, Chain bridge and Market hall. Although it is located in the shopping street and our room had a window to the shopping street, room was quiet, big and comfortable. Breakfasts were standard 3* hotel but nice - we really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.0
    If you have no sense of smell you may enjoy your stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible smell In lobby and room - smell is likened to something dead in the air conditioning. When mentioned to staff - was greeted with a blank stare and a comment that they do not know what it is and it's been like it for a while..

    Location is ideal - pretty much all this hotel has going for it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    In the heart of Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our toilet smelt like someone was smoking there. The bed was not so confortable.

    Location is perfect and the breakfast was very good. Nice and helpfull staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Great location breakfast and comfort.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great breakfast ideal location on the coolest street in town. Unobtrusive staff but helpful when needed. We had a room overlooking the street so early morning workers street sweepers could be heard but this added to the atmosphere. If you want a quiet room go for the courtyard view. Would stay here again easy walk to all the major sites in Budapest.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    All in all, excellent value for money and location wins
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast needs improvement. The staff is not so patient with questions. There was no shampoo. At night the air conditionere closed and it was terribly cold in the room. The elevator breaks down a lot ... and the mattress springs off

    The location is excellent! The most central can be! Where everything happens on the main street ...In one word excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    Despite my dislikes above these are only minor mosns and I would still visit here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room small, had to share tables Noisy lift shaft heard from my room Lift broke Room set up very hot but could change thermostat More vegetarian options would be great for breakfast

    Good breakfast choice, great location Very helpful front staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot drinks facilities in the rooms, but that might be a bit of a British requirement!

    Very centrally located and walkable from pretty much all the main sites. The room was really warm, perfect when it's 2 degrees outside, and really quiet. I've never seen carrots and broccoli served at breakfast before but the selection was generally pretty reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    2.5
    Awful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel claims to be a 4 star hotel (it even has a flag with 4 stars on it). The room was super tiny.. They charged for the water and coffee inside the room. The bathroom was quite ran down...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    6.3
    Dirty and very cramped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets were filthy, when the curtains were closed you lost about a metre of floor space due to the sloping ceiling, the curtain rod were at the top of the slope. The bath was tiny, with a hand held shower with no guard so you flooded the floor when you showered. The breakfast room was too small for the number of guests. People had to wait for breakfast which did not have a great choice. The tables were also very close together. No complimentary coffee or tea, it was part of the mini bar, but without cups? The items in the mini bar were almost at their consume by date. We had booked the Mercure next door but cancelled because of building work, the lift was being worked on in the Promenade. We were on the 6th floor. I wish we didn't cancel the Mercure.

    The location is fantastic within very easy reach of many attractions, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    5.8
    No value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small and not as viewed when making a reservation and there is the smell of sewage when you walk into the lobby.

    The hotel is in a great location however everything else is not so great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay , location is great , but on the whole felt a little let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The horrible smell that first hits you as you enter the hotel . Also when we went to our room once checked in the smell was even worse there. We were moved to a smaller room ( which was ok ) as it did not smell. The shower was a joke, how can you shower without any curtain or screen without soaking the entire bathroom.

    The location was excellent and the breakfast was ok

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.8
    Not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning of the room en suite .The rest of hotel was clean and the croissants ,too dries.the other buffet was good.

    Central position,many restaurant ,cafe' and shops near the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, great location for shopping, river, eating. Perfect for our visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needed new carpeting in public places and rooms. Also needs better signing for hotel. We walked past it and had to ask directions.

    The location. Help with bookings for restaurants, tours. Nice bathrooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.3
    The hotel was very disponded
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately, I arrived at the hotel loaded, since the management of the hotel was not willing to come to me by accident. I ordered two rooms with option to cancellation trough booking.com. During this period I lost my two parents who died. My sister asked to join the trip and I made another booking by booking another room through the iPhone. Later I realized that I accidentally clicked twice on the room time and actually the app did not respond correctly so we were invited to two rooms as well not notice that I was booking a room for three without cancellation. From here began tractate addresses and conversations with the hotel management, who did not agree to understand that it was a mistake and cancel the invitation without charge, all my requests did not help. Finally I had to cancel one of the first rooms and stay with two rooms of three and pay of course about $ 100 of my two rooms that I invited at the begging, and even when I wrote them that we come couples, it did not help and we got a room with a sofa bed that caused overcrowding in the room. The receptionist was tired from listening when we arrived. We arrived in the evening. The only one who still tried to listen was the receptionist Gregory, who was also bound, to note that all our complaints in the morning about the rooms like a broken handle in the bath or another mattress. The beds were not comfortable at all, Bad smell in the inter of the hotel, do not know from where it comes.

    The loction

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money, nice staff, a few minor quibbles
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    With an interior room, the window basically opened onto an airshaft -- meaning no natural daylight. (However this probably also helped keep the room quiet - see positives.) Also it would have been nice to have tea in the room. And this is more of a general peeve than specifically about the Promenade, but I will never understand hotel bathrooms that don't have a curtain or glass or something for the shower. It's impossible to avoid getting the whole bathroom soaked when showering (and this was the case here as well) making the floor tiles slippery and if you're not careful getting your toiletries bag all wet as well.

    This is a great little hotel for the money, in a prime location on a pedestrian street. (Be aware that since it's a pedestrian street, the closest that taxis can get is a hundred or so meters away.) Once here it was easy to walk pretty much anywhere in the city. (There are also metro stations nearby.) The staff was top notch - very friendly and helpful. The room was very quiet (although that's probably partly because it was an interior room - see negatives) and I appreciated the firmness of the bed. Breakfast was included, and though not super exciting it was filling and a good start to the day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Excellent overall experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, large room (with upgrade option), full bath, elevator from main floor to all floors, excellent breakfast, very courteous staff. Great shopping within steps from from door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.3
    The rooms were very clean and a good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is very basic with no frills or character at all. There was a smell of drains in the entrance and reception area. Our room had a window that opened onto an internal area so there was no fresh air and the room was stuffy at night. There was no screen on the shower which was over the bath so we had to hold the shower head to avoid drenching the bathroom. You have to pay if you want to use the coffee machine in the room. The breakfast was nothing special. We thought the hotel was expensive for the standard.

    The rooms were very clean and a good size. The location was great, very central and walking distance from everything we wanted to see and do. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.6
    The location is the only good thing about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelled too bad the moment I walked in, room had the same smell. The elevator's noise didn't allow me to sleep well.

    The location is the only good thing about it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.1
    Handily placed hotel, but not much more than a budget place.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the rather stale smell in the entrance hall/lobby. Probably a drains smell, and my bed was too hard for an old softie like me! Also there is no bar, or meals other than breakfast,, but to be fair there are numerous bars & restaurants all around the hotel. Entrance is not much more than a double doors width, best way to find it is it's absolutely opposite a shopping arcade

    Location good, close to the city centre Deak St Square

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Promenade City Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: