Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residence Balaton Wellness Hotel 4 stars

8600 Siófok, Erkel Ferenc utca 49, Hungary

#5 of 34 hotels in Siófok

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 597 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Cleaning of every day was so satisfying.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi dropped me several times without notification so it costed me extra pain to turn off mobil data all the time.

    Cleaning of every day was so satisfying. And the wellness, connected to the bar. Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice location, friendly and flexible staff, support for food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just fine. The private beach was smaller, than expected but as the beaches are mostly free on the south-coast, this wasn't much of a problem

    Nice location, friendly and flexible staff, support for food allergies

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice wellness hotel in Siofok area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast is nothing special

    Very nice hotel just a few steps away from the lake (they have a private area at the beach with a bar), the spa area is also well appreciated, rooms were spacious, quiet and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Short Stay in Siófok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a very expensive place and the parking at the closed car park site is not included in the price (2000 Huf/day). If you are lucky, you can park on the road, but availability is limited - however, it is safe.

    Excellent choice and variaty of food for breakfast and dinner. Great wellness area. The beach is close and very good. Rooms are comfortable. Wifi is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    Generally nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 3 of us in the room that was prepared for 4 (2 adults and 2 kids). So we asked to remove one extra bed to get more space. When we returned to the room we discovered one more extra bed literally standing upwards in the middle of the room blocking everything. I do understand there might be issues with translation because we don’t speak Hungarian, but come on - it was too much of the “I don’t care” attitude from the guy who brought yet another bed into a fully packed room and just left it there.

    Generally nice. Good location. Good private beach. Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Beatiful, clean hotel with professional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No such thing. The 'private' beach on the lake seems a little strange at first sight, but it's nice to have all the facilities you need.

    Beautiful boutique hotel with all the luxury you would want in a 4 star hotel. Professional and very kind staff, which is quite rare in Hungary. Wonderful room, good food in the restaurant, even when we went to have dinner pretty late. The wellness area is small but spotless.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Mini holiday at Balaton Lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything, indeed a 4 stars hotel but maybe the price was a bit spicy.

    In terms of accommodation everything was perfect: room, bathroom, restaurant, wellness area. The hotel was really closed to the beach, 5 minutes walking. The stuff was great, kind and always ready to help, easy to communicate in English. During breakfast and dinner we had plenty of food to choose and everything was delicious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Cosy hotel amidst the lush greenery of Siofok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mosquitoes. They get through the net of the balcony door. That's why we did not use the balcony at all which was a pity because the surrounding nature was fantastic. Also, the dead mosquitoes should be well swept from the room.

    Helpful staff, great breakfast, nice spa area and the small garden at the back of the hotel was ideal for sunbath and relax. Private beach at the lakeshore in two minutes walk. Siofok city is in walking distance and easy for exploring restaurants, taking a boat tour or else.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice and clean with a very good wellness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A la carte restaurant is quite pricy. Food was okay but for this price range I would expect a little "more", something special, a little twist.

    Clean and well equipped hotel. Good wellness section.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel for a get-away!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dinner menu is somewhat pricey, with not a lot of options. However, there are other restaurants close by that are good alternatives.

    We love the hotel. The rooms are great and the spa is super.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Amazingly relaxing, peaceful with beautiful interior. Just what I needed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During the weekend, there were a lot of noisy kids. But I guess that's not the fault of the hotel. On Monday, the pools were surprisingly cold. I guess they drained the pools after the weekend overload and it took some time to heat up again.

    Love at first sight! It looked and felt amazing throughout my 3-day trip. The hotel is very well kept with friendly personnel and very quiet! On my first day, I slept an uninterrupted 12 hours! I could not believe when I woke up what the time was! The place is super quiet and super peaceful! I loved the wide ranges of saunas and variations of jacuzzis with different pool temperatures. I had a very relaxing time after an incredibly stressful month. It was a very easy train ride from Budapest. I will definitely go there again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Super nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel bar closes at 22:00 and there are no near restaurants/bars which are open after that time (weekend) - only one in the center of Siofok (10-15 minute walk from the hotel) that is actually a kind of disco. One finish sauna was not operational in the SPA area (out of three, so not a big deal). Stuff struggles with English. No coffee/tea amenities in the room.

    Super nice rooms. Very good SPA/pool area. Nice breakfast and supper.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Very good breakfast with a lot of typical Hungarian food;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's not much choice at the dinner buffet and there was no A la card dinner (maybe because we've been there in offseason) - but the staff was very nice and the kitchen prepared a special meal for us according to our wishes! Thank you!!

    Very good breakfast with a lot of typical Hungarian food; very nice, calm and clean rooms; the wellness area is much better than the fotos suggest; I had a really great massage at the wellness center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice, contemporary hotel close to the lake, and the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nice private beach at the lake, it's a pity that you have to walk through busy streets, so small kids cannot go on their own.

    Excellent wellness facilities, with multiple indoor pools and saunas. Food was really high quality , great choice with fresh salads, fruits. Also excellent wine selection available in the hotel's restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel in a quite neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out till 10am. For this price it should be later. There is 2 parking places, one in front of the entrance and one in the back. If you leave your car back you can't take your bags with you and walk through the hotel because there is no way. You have to go around.

    Very comfortable and clean hotel. Modern spacious room with air-condition and fridge. Looks exactly as in the pictures. Nice private beach with free sunbeds and towels. Pretty big area with swimming pools whirlpools and saunas. Free private parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent very enjoyable wellness stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower cabin was a bit small, but still OK

    Room was really nice and spacious, staff was really friendly and flexible, wellness is excellent and also the Balaton beach is very nice .... Food was great !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.0
    2 gentleman in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard. Private beach small. Staff using the same entry and elevator. No english channel Wardrobe door doesnt open properly Mosquito net useless as could npt be closed It does NOT worse the price Would NOT recommend and defenetly will not go back

    2 gentleman in the restaurant. The lady behind the bar who made the best cappuchino

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.9
    The majority of staff dnes not speak english, so if you are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The majority of staff dnes not speak english, so if you are not fluent in hungarian it is difficult to deal with the simplest things. Very inconvinient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Great wellness! Poor private beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Private beach - very poor (very small, no chairs...) and not even in the hotel...I would not even mention that there is a private beach in this hotel...At least the wellness was great

    Excellent wellness area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.9
    The room decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is unfurttunately overrated, overpriced. Bad coffee, juices, bathroom walls were ruined, bathroom light poor, first day breakfast average, most balconies have no view.

    The room decor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    10
    Cosy stay at Balaton at Spring
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I missed coffee machine.

    It is very good located hotel, just a few walk to the Balaton beach. The wellness is perfect. Breakfast was also great. Staff is very kind.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service is not so good, the breakfast is poor. We asked for some recommandations and didn't have any thing to say. The woman in the reception didn't have change from 100 euro so we had to collect all our small coins when we finally get to the room price.

    The room was huge and clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.5
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bedsheets were dirty upon arrival, and the bathroom was rather small.

    The Spa facilities are excellent, and the dinner was probably the best I have eaten in a Hotel-bar so far. Congrats to the Chef!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.1
    Indoor pool is nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff had bored face and not very friendly, compared to other hotels. Invoice was wrong, although I provided necessary info through booking. I was asked to pay when I checked-in, like they were scared I would leave without paying. I booked a double room with large bed, but I got twin bed.

    Indoor pool is nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Staff didnt speek english at all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 2 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didnt speek english at all! Except one lady in the dining room and one man at front desk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful lake and beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful lake and beautiful hotel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Yes
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small breakfast

    Yes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking ackward

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    Was a pleasent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower to small

    Wellness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Very clean and quiet hotel, friendly staff, willing to help,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and quiet hotel, friendly staff, willing to help, very good food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    The right place to spend a few days of rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelent saunas😀

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Enterior design, and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water in the shower.😕😕😕

    Enterior design, and facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Best in Siófok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A masszőr fenomenális!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Perfect place for family vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy rooms, private beach and wonderful food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    The stuff was extremely nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shower in the room was broken, Elevator did work cca 50% of the time

    The stuff was extremely nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice Spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is tasty but too expensive.

    Nice Spa. Good massage. Very good fir families with small childen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Everything was fine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine! The staff is really frendly!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing stay in Siofok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff hardly speaks English, in wellness all notifications about pools/saunas are written only in Hungarian.

    Great wellness, nice rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing wellness hotel in a peaceful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warmer water temperature in the hot tubs would have been appreciated

    Delicious breakfast and superb spa facilities for the price I paid.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    4.2
    last time we ever book with booking.com
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dreadfully low quality food we were signficantly over charged, which the hotel blamed on booking.com

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.2
    English skills were good if compare to other hotels in this...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    English skills were good if compare to other hotels in this region where communication is possible only in German.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.6
    Free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parking Very good breakfast Nice wellness area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.1
    i liked the ambience and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i liked the ambience and the location. Also the breakfast is very nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Comfy hotel with excellent services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to the lake, beautiful hotel with great wellness.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.2
    Perfect place for relax for couples or families with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Missing information in English (names of meals, info about hotel services, price lists).

    Perfect place for relax for couples or families with children. It was guiet area at this season of the year. Wide offer for breakfest, dinner was also tasting. Welness is well equipped, spacious.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.1
    Spa center and pool were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Reception staff could be a bit friendlier and more welcoming. Beach was nice but not attended by staff most of the time. Hotel is good but overpriced.

    Spa center and pool were good. Private beach was nice.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.3
    We liked the location and strong good wifi, the beach and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking can be an issue since it is unsupervised and unregulated.You can park your can at two location , but I think there are less parking lots than rooms. Soundproofing should be improved , the noise from intensive lovemaking could be heard from our neighbours 3 am in the morning.

    We liked the location and strong good wifi, the beach and the ice cream parlour down the street. Staff is super nice and professional.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.5
    The room was very clean and the staff was accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The AC was not cold enough and while we asked for a new room, we were given a tiny little heater for ventilation. They also tried to over charge by enforcing a late checkout fee.

    The room was very clean and the staff was accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    We liked: fast service, free saunas, very helpful staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too many kids in the swimming pool with big plastic crocodiles and faulty A/C in the room.

    We liked: fast service, free saunas, very helpful staff, rich breakfast, comfortable rooms, spacious bathroom, swimming pool bar, clean beach, excellent food and service in the restaurant and great wellness center open till 10 pm.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    The inhouse facilities as well as the setup of the Balaton...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    LOVED EVERYTHING. WELL DONE RESIDENCE BALATON WELLNESS HOTEL!!!!!

    The inhouse facilities as well as the setup of the Balaton Beach front private beach locations were all fantastic. That is why after one year, we came back and brought friends with us, who also thought it was the best place that they have ever visited.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    10
    I would put tea kettle to the guest rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I would put tea kettle to the guest rooms. There was not enough deck chairs at the wellness, it was unconfortable when overcrowded. Breakfast was too simple, more variety would be nice.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.6
    Peaceful location, very nice room, very good food in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Peaceful location, very nice room, very good food in restaurant, dinner was excellent, pleasant stuff

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    8.3
    Nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice room Good wellness Delicious breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    10
    Friendly staff, good spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect.

    Friendly staff, good spa. Very nice rooms.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    9.6
    Kids animation, wellness, comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pancake was not offered after 9.30 due to long preparation time, said the waiter.

    Kids animation, wellness, comfort.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    9.2
    Convenient car parking, lift and relaxing swimming pool made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient car parking, lift and relaxing swimming pool made our stay enjoyable. Restaurant and buffet breakfast really great. Good choice of food.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    9.2
    This is a newly refurbished hotel near the Siofok beach,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a newly refurbished hotel near the Siofok beach, nicely decorated and has a beautiful spa. Food was good and staff were really helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    8.8
    Hilarious breakfast and the private beach is very close
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Private parking is very limited

    Hilarious breakfast and the private beach is very close

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.2
    Friendly, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beach at the lake is too crowded

    Friendly, staff great wellness facilities good food

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Spa and welness is the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Spa and welness is the best!

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    Really one of the best SPA hotels, I have ever visited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Really one of the best SPA hotels, I have ever visited. Everything is great - rooms, meals, stuff, SPA, children playroom. Wow and wow again.:)

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    Very good hotel, nice facilities, clean and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A little bit overpriced

    Very good hotel, nice facilities, clean and good food.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    10
    The spa was very good with GREAT sauna-seans!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa was very good with GREAT sauna-seans! The massage was also very fine. I am sure that we will come back soon!

There are also 43 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: