Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Residence Balaton Wellness Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

8600 Siófok, Erkel Ferenc utca 49, Hungary

#5 of 34 hotels in Siófok

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 604 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.3
    Cosy hotel amidst the lush greenery of Siofok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mosquitoes. They get through the net of the balcony door. That's why we did not use the balcony at all which was a pity because the surrounding nature was fantastic. Also, the dead mosquitoes should be well swept from the room.

    Helpful staff, great breakfast, nice spa area and the small garden at the back of the hotel was ideal for sunbath and relax. Private beach at the lakeshore in two minutes walk. Siofok city is in walking distance and easy for exploring restaurants, taking a boat tour or else.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    9.2
    Nice and clean with a very good wellness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A la carte restaurant is quite pricy. Food was okay but for this price range I would expect a little "more", something special, a little twist.

    Clean and well equipped hotel. Good wellness section.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel for a get-away!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dinner menu is somewhat pricey, with not a lot of options. However, there are other restaurants close by that are good alternatives.

    We love the hotel. The rooms are great and the spa is super.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    10
    Amazingly relaxing, peaceful with beautiful interior. Just what I needed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During the weekend, there were a lot of noisy kids. But I guess that's not the fault of the hotel. On Monday, the pools were surprisingly cold. I guess they drained the pools after the weekend overload and it took some time to heat up again.

    Love at first sight! It looked and felt amazing throughout my 3-day trip. The hotel is very well kept with friendly personnel and very quiet! On my first day, I slept an uninterrupted 12 hours! I could not believe when I woke up what the time was! The place is super quiet and super peaceful! I loved the wide ranges of saunas and variations of jacuzzis with different pool temperatures. I had a very relaxing time after an incredibly stressful month. It was a very easy train ride from Budapest. I will definitely go there again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    8.8
    Super nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel bar closes at 22:00 and there are no near restaurants/bars which are open after that time (weekend) - only one in the center of Siofok (10-15 minute walk from the hotel) that is actually a kind of disco. One finish sauna was not operational in the SPA area (out of three, so not a big deal). Stuff struggles with English. No coffee/tea amenities in the room.

    Super nice rooms. Very good SPA/pool area. Nice breakfast and supper.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    8.8
    Very good breakfast with a lot of typical Hungarian food;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's not much choice at the dinner buffet and there was no A la card dinner (maybe because we've been there in offseason) - but the staff was very nice and the kitchen prepared a special meal for us according to our wishes! Thank you!!

    Very good breakfast with a lot of typical Hungarian food; very nice, calm and clean rooms; the wellness area is much better than the fotos suggest; I had a really great massage at the wellness center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    7.5
    Nice, contemporary hotel close to the lake, and the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nice private beach at the lake, it's a pity that you have to walk through busy streets, so small kids cannot go on their own.

    Excellent wellness facilities, with multiple indoor pools and saunas. Food was really high quality , great choice with fresh salads, fruits. Also excellent wine selection available in the hotel's restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel in a quite neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out till 10am. For this price it should be later. There is 2 parking places, one in front of the entrance and one in the back. If you leave your car back you can't take your bags with you and walk through the hotel because there is no way. You have to go around.

    Very comfortable and clean hotel. Modern spacious room with air-condition and fridge. Looks exactly as in the pictures. Nice private beach with free sunbeds and towels. Pretty big area with swimming pools whirlpools and saunas. Free private parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent very enjoyable wellness stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower cabin was a bit small, but still OK

    Room was really nice and spacious, staff was really friendly and flexible, wellness is excellent and also the Balaton beach is very nice .... Food was great !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    5.0
    2 gentleman in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was hard. Private beach small. Staff using the same entry and elevator. No english channel Wardrobe door doesnt open properly Mosquito net useless as could npt be closed It does NOT worse the price Would NOT recommend and defenetly will not go back

    2 gentleman in the restaurant. The lady behind the bar who made the best cappuchino

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    7.9
    The majority of staff dnes not speak english, so if you are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The majority of staff dnes not speak english, so if you are not fluent in hungarian it is difficult to deal with the simplest things. Very inconvinient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    7.9
    Great wellness! Poor private beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Private beach - very poor (very small, no chairs...) and not even in the hotel...I would not even mention that there is a private beach in this hotel...At least the wellness was great

    Excellent wellness area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    7.9
    The room decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is unfurttunately overrated, overpriced. Bad coffee, juices, bathroom walls were ruined, bathroom light poor, first day breakfast average, most balconies have no view.

    The room decor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2017

    10
    Cosy stay at Balaton at Spring
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I missed coffee machine.

    It is very good located hotel, just a few walk to the Balaton beach. The wellness is perfect. Breakfast was also great. Staff is very kind.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2017

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service is not so good, the breakfast is poor. We asked for some recommandations and didn't have any thing to say. The woman in the reception didn't have change from 100 euro so we had to collect all our small coins when we finally get to the room price.

    The room was huge and clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    7.5
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bedsheets were dirty upon arrival, and the bathroom was rather small.

    The Spa facilities are excellent, and the dinner was probably the best I have eaten in a Hotel-bar so far. Congrats to the Chef!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    7.1
    Indoor pool is nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff had bored face and not very friendly, compared to other hotels. Invoice was wrong, although I provided necessary info through booking. I was asked to pay when I checked-in, like they were scared I would leave without paying. I booked a double room with large bed, but I got twin bed.

    Indoor pool is nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2016

    6.7
    Nice room that looked like it had been refurbished but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not suited for American tastes.

    Nice room that looked like it had been refurbished but the bathroom was terrible with cracked tile, etc. Decent town to stay overnight on a long trip.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2016

    9.6
    Perfect stay at Balaton
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect hotel for families with kids, nice beach, excellent breakfast and service, absolutely helpful receptionists, waiters and the lady at the bar, the whole staff!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2016

    7.9
    A place for a very short stay only
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is sour faced and parking is not secure. We had the rear number plates on our car stollen. In the middle of the day with the car parked right in front of the hotel. No reaction or help from the hotel staff or manager following the incident. No responsibility taken either. Despite the comfort and good facilities, it's not a hotel I'd ever return to. For a 4 star superior hotel you expect staff to make you feel welcome.

    The spa was great. Clean and large enough. Not crowded at all.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2016

    8.3
    Excellent spa experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The daily room cleaning was not that good and the toiletries were not replaced during our entire 3-days stay. The bathroom is spacious, but the shower was not perfect and the sink had a crack which made me think there was a hair in it - quite annoying. The staff was not particularly professional nor polite or kind with the exception of a nice young girl at the reception who was on duty when we checked in. There was one specific guy called Geo who was extremely rude when I asked him to help me take the bicycles in the designated parking area. He looked at me defiantly and said NO. Quite a jerk! I would fire him instantly, this kind of employees ruin ones business. At the end of August, Siofok is a deserted place, there are many abandoned or for sale hotels, it lacks animation.The bicycle trails need a lot of improvement, they cannot compare with those in Austria or Italy. However, due to the excellent spa we managed to have a great stay, otherwise we would have been bored to death.

    Excellent spa experience, maybe because we were very lucky and it was surprisingly not crowded, there were few times when we were almost alone in the whole spa and had all the jacuzzi pools for ourselves. The hotel is quite elegant and overall very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2016

    10
    Excellent wellness hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing.

    Everything was excellent. Wellness section is not that huge but one of the best I've ever been in Hungary. Good food as well. Comfy beds, cleanliness everywhere.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    Beautiful lake and beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Beautiful lake and beautiful hotel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    Yes
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small breakfast

    Yes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    10
    Enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking ackward

    Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    7.9
    Was a pleasent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower to small

    Wellness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    9.6
    Very clean and quiet hotel, friendly staff, willing to help,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean and quiet hotel, friendly staff, willing to help, very good food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    8.8
    The right place to spend a few days of rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excelent saunas😀

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    7.9
    Enterior design, and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no hot water in the shower.😕😕😕

    Enterior design, and facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    10
    Best in Siófok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A masszőr fenomenális!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    10
    Perfect place for family vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very comfy rooms, private beach and wonderful food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    8.3
    The stuff was extremely nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shower in the room was broken, Elevator did work cca 50% of the time

    The stuff was extremely nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    9.6
    Nice Spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food is tasty but too expensive.

    Nice Spa. Good massage. Very good fir families with small childen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    9.2
    Everything was fine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was fine! The staff is really frendly!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing stay in Siofok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff hardly speaks English, in wellness all notifications about pools/saunas are written only in Hungarian.

    Great wellness, nice rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing wellness hotel in a peaceful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Warmer water temperature in the hot tubs would have been appreciated

    Delicious breakfast and superb spa facilities for the price I paid.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2017

    4.2
    last time we ever book with booking.com
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dreadfully low quality food we were signficantly over charged, which the hotel blamed on booking.com

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2017

    9.2
    English skills were good if compare to other hotels in this...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    English skills were good if compare to other hotels in this region where communication is possible only in German.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2016

    9.6
    Free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parking Very good breakfast Nice wellness area.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2016

    7.1
    i liked the ambience and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i liked the ambience and the location. Also the breakfast is very nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2016

    10
    Comfy hotel with excellent services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to the lake, beautiful hotel with great wellness.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2016

    9.2
    Nice spa area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite far from the center of Siofok. You can't really see Balaton.

    Nice spa area. Pretty and comfortable room. Clean. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2016

    9.6
    everything perfect
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything perfect

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2016

    7.5
    Nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible wifi in rooms. No lobby area to chill out. Limited parking

    Nice rooms. Good spa. Bikes for rental

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    9.6
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, great beach, friendly staff, nice breakfast, excellent electric bikes that u can easily rent at the reception

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    9.2
    Perfect place for relax for couples or families with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Missing information in English (names of meals, info about hotel services, price lists).

    Perfect place for relax for couples or families with children. It was guiet area at this season of the year. Wide offer for breakfest, dinner was also tasting. Welness is well equipped, spacious.

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2015

    7.1
    Spa center and pool were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Reception staff could be a bit friendlier and more welcoming. Beach was nice but not attended by staff most of the time. Hotel is good but overpriced.

    Spa center and pool were good. Private beach was nice.

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2015

    8.3
    We liked the location and strong good wifi, the beach and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking can be an issue since it is unsupervised and unregulated.You can park your can at two location , but I think there are less parking lots than rooms. Soundproofing should be improved , the noise from intensive lovemaking could be heard from our neighbours 3 am in the morning.

    We liked the location and strong good wifi, the beach and the ice cream parlour down the street. Staff is super nice and professional.

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2015

    7.5
    The room was very clean and the staff was accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The AC was not cold enough and while we asked for a new room, we were given a tiny little heater for ventilation. They also tried to over charge by enforcing a late checkout fee.

    The room was very clean and the staff was accommodating.

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2015

    10
    We liked: fast service, free saunas, very helpful staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too many kids in the swimming pool with big plastic crocodiles and faulty A/C in the room.

    We liked: fast service, free saunas, very helpful staff, rich breakfast, comfortable rooms, spacious bathroom, swimming pool bar, clean beach, excellent food and service in the restaurant and great wellness center open till 10 pm.

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2015

    10
    The inhouse facilities as well as the setup of the Balaton...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    LOVED EVERYTHING. WELL DONE RESIDENCE BALATON WELLNESS HOTEL!!!!!

    The inhouse facilities as well as the setup of the Balaton Beach front private beach locations were all fantastic. That is why after one year, we came back and brought friends with us, who also thought it was the best place that they have ever visited.

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2015

    10
    I would put tea kettle to the guest rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I would put tea kettle to the guest rooms. There was not enough deck chairs at the wellness, it was unconfortable when overcrowded. Breakfast was too simple, more variety would be nice.

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2016

    9.6
    Peaceful location, very nice room, very good food in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Peaceful location, very nice room, very good food in restaurant, dinner was excellent, pleasant stuff

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2016

    8.3
    Nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice room Good wellness Delicious breakfast

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2016

    10
    Friendly staff, good spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect.

    Friendly staff, good spa. Very nice rooms.

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2015

    9.6
    Kids animation, wellness, comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pancake was not offered after 9.30 due to long preparation time, said the waiter.

    Kids animation, wellness, comfort.

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2015

    9.2
    Convenient car parking, lift and relaxing swimming pool made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient car parking, lift and relaxing swimming pool made our stay enjoyable. Restaurant and buffet breakfast really great. Good choice of food.

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2015

    9.2
    This is a newly refurbished hotel near the Siofok beach,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a newly refurbished hotel near the Siofok beach, nicely decorated and has a beautiful spa. Food was good and staff were really helpful.

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2015

    8.8
    Hilarious breakfast and the private beach is very close
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Private parking is very limited

    Hilarious breakfast and the private beach is very close

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2015

    9.2
    Friendly, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beach at the lake is too crowded

    Friendly, staff great wellness facilities good food

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2015

    10
    Spa and welness is the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Spa and welness is the best!

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2015

    10
    Really one of the best SPA hotels, I have ever visited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Really one of the best SPA hotels, I have ever visited. Everything is great - rooms, meals, stuff, SPA, children playroom. Wow and wow again.:)

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2015

    9.2
    Very good hotel, nice facilities, clean and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A little bit overpriced

    Very good hotel, nice facilities, clean and good food.

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2015

    10
    The spa was very good with GREAT sauna-seans!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa was very good with GREAT sauna-seans! The massage was also very fine. I am sure that we will come back soon!

There are also 50 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: