Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Senator-Ház Eger 3 stars

3300 Eger, Dobó tér 11, Hungary

#4 of 23 hotels in Eger

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 653 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    The hotel is staffed by several generations of the same...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Everything was perfect

    The hotel is staffed by several generations of the same family, who are an absolute delight to interact with. You can be guaranteed a warm welcome at the hotel !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no elevator, so you need to carry your own suitcase up staircase.

    Location is great. It is like you own Bodo Square as hotel property :) Staffs were also very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    rooms location in the center of town was amazing...charming hotel. amazing breakfast, noisy a/c
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very noisy floor mounted portable a/c unit made so much noise you didn't want to use it, but opening the windows let too much music noise in from the square beneath the window. Wifi was very poor

    rooms location in the center of town was amazing...charming hotel. amazing breakfast with hot eggs and sausages.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Having stayed in the main building a couple of times before,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Having stayed in the main building a couple of times before, the annexe in which we stayed on this occasion was a delight. Enclosing a courtyard our annexe bedroom was very, spacious and extremely comfortable with the added benefit of a balcony. The building was quieter than the main hotel which itself is not particularly noisy and access to the main hotel facilities was easy. The staff were superb, nothing was too much for them, even providing requested honey and walnuts at breakfast. Parking is at a private site about a hundred metres away. The site has a barrier and having parked there several times appears safe. The food and wines in the restaurant were of a very good standard and again the waiting staff excellent. The long serving breakfast waiter was attentive to every need.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    The location is fantastic, right in the centre of the town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very minor thing - we were put in a little annex which we would have preferred to be made aware of prior to booking. Having said that the room was comfortable and clean and very peaceful so no complaints overall.

    The location is fantastic, right in the centre of the town with a great view of the main square. It was lovely to have breakfast on the terrace in the morning. The staff are extremely helpful and professional. We had dinner in the restaurant at night which was also good. Would definitely stay here again, it was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    A country gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were so helpful, nothing was too much bother. They organised bikes for 7 of us, let us use their kettle to make tea and gave us lots if helpful advice to explore the area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice View our the Eger Square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every morning when they was prepering breakfurst it was a terrible smell after preparing ( Egg and Bacon) the smell came into our room 15. It must have been a problem with the internal air solution😩

    Nice View our the Eger Square

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Great breakfast, sitting in the garden in front of the hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n.a.

    Great breakfast, sitting in the garden in front of the hotel in the morning was very relaxing. Comfortable/big room withg gut internet connection. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    A unique and charming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spiral staircase up to the bedroom was challenging, but added to the charm of the building which was hundreds of years old.

    A delightful family run hotel with an excellent restaurant in the pedestrianised part of Eger. The bathroom was well appointed, the bed was comfortable and the essential air condition unit made the room acceptable in the 34 degree heat. I felt safe as a solo traveller and well looked after. The reception rooms were uniquely adorned with a fascinating array of ornaments and posters. I was travelling in Eastern Europe for a month and this was my favourite hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Excellent!! I would stay there again and will recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The AC units could be better. That was my only concern.

    The staff was friendly and funny. The food was delicious!! The waiter remembered my favorite drink and my daughter's favorite pudding. The decor was filled with antiques and felt like you were visiting someone's home.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    We love Eger!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised that this ended up being more expensive than I thought with all the taxes. Still, worth it! There is live music in the square below. They stop playing at 10, but it does make it hard to sleep before then. Some stairs.

    Right on the square with fabulous safe parking a block away. The breakfast was lovely! If you go to thermal spa in Eger, hotel will give you vouchers and provide towels. Such lovely people.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location in the heart of Eger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the heart of Eger. We could spend a nice dinner and the breakfast at the tables placed outside to the nice square. I appreciate that I could leave my car in the private parking space for the whole check out day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Hotel with unique character in hard to beat location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a little too soft (a minor quibble).

    Fantastic location on central Dobó István Square near the base of the Eger castle. Eclectic/bric-a-brac feel to the hotel common areas, with some interesting art in the room. Breakfast was a nice little spread with seating inside or outside facing the lovely square. We were worried that it might be noisy above the hustle and bustle of said square, but there were no problems with the windows closed. Staff happy to store luggage but note this was just near reception in the lounge area, not a secure storeroom or similar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    ,the hotel in the center of old city,a short walk from every attraction,a small hotel with an excellent restaurant,comfortable and clean room,excellent breakfast,the restaurant offer a varied and delicious menu. the staff helps and give recommendations. you have to go to the wine valley.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Location location location.
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - everything great.

    Location location location. Meals were excellent, staff friendly and owner and his wife were fabulous thank you for everything. We certainly enjoyed our stay at your establishment you did everything to make it enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location, great family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The hotel's location is perfect - right in the centre of the old town, within easy walking distance of Eger's many attractions. A real bonus, given the location, was the free parking, which was just a few minutes walk from the hotel. The staff were all helpful and the room was very comfortable. It wasn't in the main hotel, but in a building behind it and had a lovely shared patio.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.9
    We really enjoyed staying at the Hotel Senator, and would recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little small compared to expectation, and it was a bit noisy in the evenings because of the location. But overnight very quiet. We ate one evening in the hotel restaurant and while it was ok, it was not up to the standard of other restaurants nearby.

    Very good location right in the centre. Friendly small hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Younger staff very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some confusion upon arrival whether we actually had a reservation, despite having booked months ago. Given a very tiny room.

    Younger staff very accommodating. Older one (owner?) less so.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Nothing at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all. The location is excellent for a one day visit to Eger. The staff were delightful; the room spacious and comfortable; and the food and wine in restaurant were also good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Traveller with pet
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada.

    I loved everything! My room faced the Dobó square, all the employees were super kind. The room was big, clean and the most unique thing I saw there that in the wardrobe, there was a shoe polishing kit. Breakfast was delicious, international and typical hungarian food you can find. Can’t wait to go back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    A lovely stay in a fantastic hotel will definitely be going back as soon as I can.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked a tea and coffee tray in the room.

    The bed was exceptionally comfy the staff very welcoming and genuine, the location perfect. I felt as if I was in a home from home but better because of the fantastic service, breakfast was good, lovely omelet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    The whole building looks amazing, the decoration and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had no bathtub, There is no music in the lounge and dinning areas, The atmosphere feels a bit empty

    The whole building looks amazing, the decoration and the oldish style suits to the city Eger,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    A small fsmily hotel right in the center of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small fsmily hotel right in the center of the town. Has an ope air parking, a block away, excellent food, big and home made breakfast. The owners are very nice, helpful, they take care of everything. Old, but comfortable furniture, has a special atmosphere. The hotel is full of antique pieces and the collections of the owners. Love the place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb location and accommodating hosts. Hotel has history and the expected charm that accompanies it. I felt like I was staying at my great aunt's house.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    We stayed at the new wing of the hotel, with very nice patio...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at the new wing of the hotel, with very nice patio entrance and spacious units. The staff were exceptionally helpful . Excellent location right at the center of Eger , yet quiet and peaceful. Very good restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent position, very pleasant people, unique atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent position in the middle of the historical centre of Eger, very familiar atmosphere, nostalgic style of interier, very kind stuff, good restaurant in the touch with the main square.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    One of the best choices in town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sleeping with the windows open you hear the street noises. This is not the hotels fault. It’s right in the heart of town and it’s bustling with people - even late.

    Location location! The staff are friendly. They allowed us to bring our puppy overnight in the crate. Breakfast is good with a variety of hot and cold choices. They also made bottled water available.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Excellent. Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    By far the friendliest staff I have ever come across, anywhere! Everyone was extremely hospitable and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The food and wine at their restaurant was brilliant. I highly recommend the veal stew and the chocolate soufle! The decor is beautiful and cozy too, no complaints at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a kettle for making tea and coffee but this didn’t spoil the stay. Wifi didn’t work well in our room. Someone came to check it out for us tho’.

    We actually did not stay in the original Sen Haz, but in a newly acquired pension about 1/2 a block away. The room was wonderful with a separate bedroom and a cozy sitting room. The staff could not be better, very accommodating. The breakfast was very good, coffee excellent and the cream of wheat was like eating dessert. Victor worked hard at keeping everything replenished. The location is right on the square so most of what you want to see and do in Eger is very walkable. We had a car and parking is available very close to the hotel. Had a very nice dinner at the S H dining room. Would recommend this hotel for a stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Very pleased and can't wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The portable AC is very noise.

    The location and their outside restaurant is truly a jewel ! (specially in the summer) A fantastic buffet breakfast is included and an apsolute must. The décor of the hotel perfectly reflects the time and area of this historic town of Hungary. Go see, injoy and you never wanna leave.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel but again need to change room decoration & facilities urgently!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need urgent renovation of rooms! Change bad and pillows. Also towels & TV. More light.

    Location. Parking. Excellent restaurant for lunch/dinner. Very friendly stuff. Value for money. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Look no further for a place to stay in Eger, this place is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Look no further for a place to stay in Eger, this place is a true gem. Run by the most kind and caring people I have met on this trip. Good breakfast, clean and quiet. The location is perfect and secluded in a beautiful setting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    Location, restaurants nearby,wine tasting, good music in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had lunch at the hotel..we were served the "tourist"menu which was second rate...when asked why we our meal was different the owner replied that the locals had made reservations...we felt insulted by this lie and a bit cheated with the overpriced bill

    Location, restaurants nearby,wine tasting, good music in the quare,quaint little hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Nice accommodation in a near apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -

    Nice accommodation in a near apartment. Owners and staff very likeable and helpful. Parking OK (100 m). I would visit the place again in future.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful location, wonderful Hosts, highly Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was excellent. Food at the onsite restaurant was delicious, with generous portions at a reasonable price. Breakfast was good, with hot and cold food, catering to a variety of tastes. We particularly enjoyed the Creamed Wheat and Meatloaf.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    A lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hard to find the entrance to the hotel and the shower head sprayed everywhere. The car park is a bit of a walk away, but not too far. The car park also required us to call the hotel reception to lift the boom gate before we could park the car. Make sure you read the instructions sent by the hotel when you book regarding the parking or you will be sent up a one way street by your GPS.

    The hotel is a beautiful building with a great history. The bed and pillows was super comfy. All of the staff we met were very polite and helpful. It was very hot and the air conditioner in our room stopped working quite late, but someone was there to help us without a problem. The location is superb, very beautiful. The restaurant attached to the hotel is good. We also enjoyed the breakfast very much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Good Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    We stayed in a room in the new section, so can't comment on the rooms in the original hotel. The new section has a very nice courtyard with views up to part of the castle. The breakfast at the hotel was reasonable, but we didn't have coffee, so can't comment on that. The restaurant is OK for dinner but if you sit outside, then smokers can be an issue as it seems to be all over eastern Europe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    I will visit Eger again, only to stay at Senator Haz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved it.

    One of our finest stays ever, right there on a cul de sac looking on to the city square while giving that corner feel of privacy. The car drove right upto the hotel and parked in a very open private parking barely 100 metres away at the base of the stairs leading to the castle. Food was great. we could spend days here, writing a book for example and watching the world pass by. the owner is outright courteous and helpful, guiding the guests about sightseeing, experience and alternate eating options, even though his own restaurant is perhaps the best in town in terms of food quality, ambience and location. When I visit Eger again, my prime reason will be to stay at this ancient heritage property with some door hinges showing the wear that comes of maturing with age. We loved Eger more, because of Senator Haz.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Historic 320 year building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room is the main building was small but as it a 320 year old building it was expected. Some people might not appreciate the outside music going up to 10 at night.

    Friendly English speaking staff. Lovely historic ambience. Very central location with plenty of restaurants just outside. Own airconditioner in room. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Eger - lovely provincial city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Andreas was very polite and helpful. Location is the best in the city. Small hotel that feels like home. Eger is a very liveable city with everything in easy walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Senator Haz is a charming hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect for exploring Eger. We loved being right on the square. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. I loved the cream of wheat served cold in little demitasse cups with cinnamon on top. The staff was more than friendly!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Terrific hotel and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Employees were friendly and the room was fine. The owner has owned the hotel for 25 years and oversees the reception desk. He is very service oriented and it permeates down to the staff. The hotel's restaurant is excellent. Normally I stay away from a hotel restaurant like the plague, but the reviews were excellent so I tried it. I give this one 4.5 stars out of 5. They have outdoor seating with live music playing that is paid for by the 3 other adjacent restaurants and wine bar and it just makes for a terrific ambiance. The service at the restaurant is superb as 2 or the waiters previously worked on cruise ships; our waiter worked in the high end restaurants on cruise ships so we had great service and followed his recommendations on the food and wine. The food was excellent and we paid $47 US for two that covered mouflon sheep Hungarian soup, mixed salad with pumpkin oil, penne puttanesca, chicken with sweet potato puree with morelli mushrooms, .5 liter of wine, large bottle of sparking water, two desserts and a 10% service charge. This would cost double in the US. highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.3
    You can do better for less in Eger!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is hideous: photographs of deceased relatives and bric-a-brac everywhere. The rooms are tiny and dark, those on the 2nd floor have very small windows. The A/C barely worked. There is no elevator and taking suitcases up and down the spiral staircase is not much fun. The breakfast room is small, cramped and the breakfast was dreadful.

    Nothing really

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    Quaint and quirky Pensione
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked a single use double room but was given a single. The room was tiny and seemed tsmaller because if the sloped ceiling. I'm quite tall so the space was a Lille claustrophobic and the single twin bed a little small.

    A lovely quaint hotel with attentive staff right in the centre of the town's restaurant action. Breakfast was plentiful and varied.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Hungarian gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very accommodating and the rooms were clean ,comfortable and located within the square where everything is happening and within walking distance to sights. Loved the breakfast offered- delicious. This place is a gem.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Great stay to enjoy Eger and its surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    The hotel is located in the town center, a perfect location for enjoying Eger. Also there is a special parking lot for guests, but this is not located at the same address as the hotel. So make sure you have the address for the parking lot when you set the route in your GPS. The staff is friendly and helpful. Maybe even, the best part is the food. Although the included breakfast is just fine, diner is wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, great restaurant and unbeatable location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vague but noticeable smell of cigarette smoke in the room. We had not asked for a smoke free room, however.

    Wonderful staff and comfortable room! Unbeatable location right on the square and a fantastic restaurant (We ate our evening meal there twice during our three night stay).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Amazing Location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the location, it was close to everything, right in the heart of the city. The room was spacious and clean. I would reccomend this accommodation to anyone who visits Eger.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    5.8
    It could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Small rooms 2) no A/C in the rooms 3) loud refrigerator in the room 4) rooms need renovation 5) rooms are not cleaned properly

    1) Great location 2) nice staff 3) good restaurant 4) parking close to the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    The staff made our stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small and had a sloping ceiling but that is to be expected in a period property and otherwise the room was lovely.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. The breakfast and lunch that we had in the restaurant were excellent - we can definitely recommend the caramel eclair!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    Excelent location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was spacious and opened on to a private courtyard, making it a very quiet and pleasant room to stay in. The owner and all the staff were helpful and friendly, even helping to carry our luggage in from the car, which is not very usual these days. The restaurant was excellent, we had the best food here on our week in Hungary

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Super scrambled eggs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything very good. Staff seemed motivated.

    Terrific location. Tomasz spoke excellent English and was very helpful to us. This is a "folksy" hotel with lots of traditional artefacts and a "Mrs Tiggy-Winkle" feel about it. But everything worked well and the scrambled eggs at breakfast were delicious. Staff great. The TV worked and had English speaking stations.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.6
    A little gem of a hotel in a historic town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent but quiet location between castle and square. Helpful, friendly staff, comfortable rooms and very good food in the restaurant. A little gem of a hotel in a lovely town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.2
    Centrally located in the heart of Old Town.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is in another location about 2 minute walk. It's not bad at all.

    Centrally located in the heart of Old Town. The staff was very friendly! Food was good. The hotel has a Victorian feel to it and there are many antiques to admire. It has a very good feel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    A very charming hotel in the heart of historic Eger
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in the best possible location right in the centre of Eger's attractive old town and is beautifully furnished throughout. We had 2 of the best meals of our stay in Hungary in the hotel restaurant and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would love to go back.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.8
    Small hotel with lots of benefits
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was as expected. No disappoints.

    The hotel was located directly on the main square in the pedestrian area. Free parking was only 100 meters away. The hotel staff were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    Hotel with Ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the reception staff were pleasant, and although we had some tourist information in our rooms, they were not able to give much advice about the wine cellars and what restaurants were available at the cellars.

    The hotel is located right on the square below the castle making it a good base for wandering around the old streets of Egér. The restaurant was excellent and our waiter was very helpful. The rooms were spacious with a seating area, clean, quiet and comfortable. We also had free parking a block away.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location, spacious and comfortable room, polite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was bit noisy due to poor insulaton from the neigbouring room where a family with two boys were staying.

    Excellent location, spacious and comfortable room, polite and attentive staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.9
    Good,central location made for pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room furnishings could stand an update. Simple, inexpensive antiques, such as is in public areas, would be better than outdated blonde 50s stuff and fit better with the hotel.

    Great central location. Friendly , helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.2
    Perfect location in the center of Eger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location in the center of Eger. Friendly personal. Comfortable and clean rooms and bathrooms. The hotels own restaurant is good, highly recommended. This is a perfect place if you visit Eger.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.8
    Charming well located clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top floor room with sloping ceilings, Though not bad

    Charming well located clean. Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.8
    Super friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Location just below the castle and edge of main square

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    The people who work there are super friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and charming, but not quiet as convenient as a modern hotel.

    The people who work there are super friendly!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    The quality of the hotel and how friendly everybody was that...
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    The quality of the hotel and how friendly everybody was that worked there

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Location, personnel, breakfast, the hotel was delightful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, personnel, breakfast, the hotel was delightful and old-world. The parking was handy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location, very friendly and helpful multi lingual...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room's a bit small and dated.

    Great location, very friendly and helpful multi lingual staff!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Friendly personnel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy air conditioning unit.

    Friendly personnel, good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Location, parking facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and powerless air conditioning.

    Location, parking facility.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Staff was very friendly and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was very friendly and kind. Breakfast was good!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    All
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Excelent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is just great! Loved the vintage interior. Staff is also great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Great location with views across the square- traditional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with views across the square- traditional decor and friendly staff make this a great choice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel in a prime location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location hotel, right next to the main square. The room was comfortable, although a little small. The satff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Charming hotel with great stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything is great, we go there every yeat

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: