Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Silver Hotel Budapest City Center This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1067 Budapest, Hunyadi tér 11., Hungary

#306 of 360 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3209 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    7.5
    Meets expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was someone on the floor that was trying to open a door at least 4 times. Most likely someone that lost the key, because it was making a lot of noise. Woke us up too many times.

    The location is nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    6.7
    24 hours reception was very good - we could leave keys there...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I am very sad to write this but there was a lot mold in the bathroom and it wasnt too hard to clean it. Mold was around the whole shower. and heater was not working.

    24 hours reception was very good - we could leave keys there any time

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    The staff was really helpful and kind!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was really helpful and kind! We didn't use airport shuttle service, not sure the hotel has shuttle or not. The hotel was perfect. Thanks for everything!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    7.1
    Good location, helpful staff, clean room.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basically unusable wi-fi quality, breakfast was definitely below average - I haven't seen any food or vegetables nor healthier options anywhere.

    Good location, helpful staff, clean room. Worth the cost.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    6.3
    Location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was only one towel for bath for hand washing and for hair. When i asked one more they said we always give only one towel. The older man at the reception was not nice. Breakfast was not enough but ok for this money.

    Location was very good. So close to terror museum. Its more like an apart hotel. So close to tram line and central train station. Bed was comfortable. Wifi was good. Hot water was good. The young guy and lady at the reception was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    8.0
    Does the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room decor was dated in the extreme. Towels didn't get replaced over a four night stay. The signage and stairs up to the breakfast room were confusing and didn't really seem to follow logic. The floors of the top half of the building are a hotel, the bottom half private flats - something that you felt was a constant source of aggravation as each room and flat faced the same courtyard.

    Friendly and knowledgeable chap on the front desk. Breakfast dining area was good with a balcony area providing a nice view of the city. It was nice to have an air conditioning unit in the room, but it was bloody noisy. Room was a good size and functional.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    3.8
    Not a hotel in any sense, but a bag-packers hostel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First, this hotel is rather a hostel. It has a policy of one towel (for wiping hands & taking shower) per guest per day or else the charge is EUR 5. I guess they should mention this in their booking.com profile specifically, so that people can make their choice of going to such a place or not. I couldn't take a shower on my last day of stay as my due towel was also not delivered in my room. Unacceptable breakfast. Same scrambled eggs recycled everyday with the same old menu. Not much options if you wish to eat vegetarian. Arrogant & unfriendly staff. Rooms need better cleaning.

    I guess the location of the hotel is something that merits any points.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    8.8
    A good stay . Helpful staff on Reception (Thank you) . Good location . Would reccomend .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    More variation in the food at breakfast . Toilet paper in our room was short on supply and never given more . We bought more from a local shop in the end .

    The staff on Reception were very friendly & helpful . The rooms were adequate and the location was good . Overall , impressed and would stay again .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    9.6
    In a nutshell, we enjoy our stay here, great value for money, and recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator is a little bit too small if you bring a lot of luggages with more than 3 people. Thus you may simply need to take the elevator twice.

    We enjoyed our stay here and like every thing. The staff, breakfast, room, and location are all great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    6.7
    Not so bad for such money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard bed, bad audibility in room, problems with plumbing, poor choice of food, bad and tasteless interior.

    Not so bad location. good view from breakfast terrace (not applicable for cold time)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    7.9
    Super location in the city, near to the international train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was poor, especially if you don't eat meat or dairy (then you have nothing except bread). The heaters didn't work at night, but I bet the reception would have fixed this problem if we would have stayed more than one night.

    Super location in the city, near to the international train station and subway, the hotel is clean, the staff was helpful and the reception open 24h/ + the luggage room were really practical. Our room even had a balcony with a nice view on Budapest.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great value for money. Large room and balcony. We enjoyed our stay here. Breakfast was basic but good. Loaction is good. We were able to easily walk to some main attraction. Housekeeping was great, staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    9.2
    Clean comfortable hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were one or two aspects of the property that seemed a little sub-par. Not that I was expecting much more for the price point. However, small aspects of the hotel could have used a little updating. This includes illuminating the entrance way a little more, cleaning the elevator and perhaps replacing the rugs / carpet outside the elevator doors. They we basic enough and I'm sure they wouldn't be hugely expensive to replace or clean. Otherwise the hotel was very nice. The room was spotless and while not the height of style, it was comfortable. The shower was roomy (factor I find often lacking in accommodations) and had good pressure and always hot.

    I liked the keeness of the staff to be of assistance. Everyone from FOH to Housekeeping. Standards of English were excellent too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    2.9
    The hotel is terrible!! You should avoid it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was not cleaned when we came and the air was awful, someone was smoking before in the room and in the toilette was cigarette, towels were not clean. On the reception they gave us only spray (glade) for the smoke. Stuff and receptionist are extremely unfriendly !! when you come few minutes after check out time, they start to yell at you! All people on the corridor can see into your room. Breakfast was also awfull, food and coffee had a very strange smell. We were happy leaving the hotel, you should avoid it. For this price or a little bit more you can surely find a decent hotel. This hotel is a nightmare!!!

    City center is not so far away, 10 min with metro

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    7.5
    Good for budget travelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the Reception is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good and the restaurant is located on the upper floor with the terrace which has a wonderful view of the city. We have actually got what we expected at this price. The location is very convenient - the nearest subway station is within 2 minutes walking distance, and also the center is reachable by walk. Highly recommended for the budget travelling.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    9.6
    This is a great hotel, fantastic location and great value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a great hotel, fantastic location and great value for money with breakfast included. I would stay here over and over again. The staff are super helpful aswell

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    4.0
    I don’t know how they qualify for 3 stars . Won’t be returning no to this ‘Hotel’ null point’
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just about everything. The room was small and shabby. Very small wardrobe with little hanging space and some shelves. The safe didn’t work. The main light was not bright enough plus we had to keep the curtains closed all the time. The en suite was big enough but the shower cubicle was grubby and the shower head wobbled and was not adjustable. There was no plug for the hand basin. The mirror was so high on the wall I could only see half of my face when on tiptoe. So difficult doing my make up and hair. It was extremely hot the week we were there and the mobile air conditioner was very noisy so we couldn’t use it at night. The breakfast is awful! Scrambled eggs, 2 kinds of sausage and some salad of tomato, cucumber and yellow pepper. Toast and if your quick you may get a croissant. They ran out of English breakfast tea on the 2nd day and never replenished it.

    Not a lot!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    7.1
    a good choice for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast could be improved, it would be nice to have better coffee instead of instant coffee. Cleaing is done daily but the towels were not change during our 3 days spent at the Silver hotel.

    Location was great, the room was good size with a nice balcony.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    6.3
    For one night stay only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no place in the room exept of 1 sq.m. from the entrance to the bed. Breakfast whishes to be better. Elevator hardly allows 3 persons.

    Nice view on the city from mansard on the 6th floor during the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    10
    It’s most satisfying stay compared with other hotel such as Broadway apartments 1 km away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    I received confirming email that I could store my luggage one day before, and I was actually able to check in 10:30 am The receptionist was extremely helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    6.7
    Basic but did the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not well maintained or cleaned. E.g. plaster wrapper in corridor to room on arrival & still there when we checked out. Net curtain had fallen off several hooks in the bedroom

    Good location to get to city centre & baths Air con in room Cheap & cheerful- if you’re happy to compromise on quality for a cheap stay then this is a good option. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    2.9
    Absolutely nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was so unpolite and unfriendly, it was a real disaster. Strange smell in the room, hairdryer and shower didn't work, all equipment is very old and low quality. We were really frustrated by our stay in this hotel. The worst experience we ever had.

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    6.7
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows were a little bit overused, the main elevator was in reparations and we used the staff one, wich was a little bit smelly and the bathroom door didnt always close. In the last night we found some ants in our room, but we left a sandwich on the desk

    The location is great. Very close to the metro towards the centre, and other 3 buses which take you kind of everywhere. The room was big enough, the staff was friendly, they recommended us a parking lot near the hotel wich was very cheap ( 3 euros per day ). The breakfeast was ok. You can find something to eat that you like. It s a good choice, if you dont have very much money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    4.2
    Good location, bad staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Our bathroom was leaking water after every shower, the bathroom floor was always wet for this reason. We have been using putting the towels on the floor for that reason, thinking they would be changed, but they did not change the towels at all. We have been shouted at even to ask for new towels! 2. We have ordered a cab through the hotel and the standard fee for cab ride to airport from hotel was 1000 forints more expensive than the normal taxi rate.

    Location is good. There is a subway station nearby, also Oktagon is 5 mins walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    6.7
    The room was ok-ish but the staff was not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was ok-ish but the staff was not. There was only one receptionist who was nice and professional the rest were rude and very unhelpful. Also don;t use their cab deal for the airport, it's more expensive than the regular cabs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    5.0
    The room was nothing like the pictures, even more, the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was nothing like the pictures, even more, the hotel was nothing like the pictures. Old and unclean looking, our room was cramped and the air conditioning was this huge noisy block right in front of the door, the mini bar fridge was leaking water and the bathroom looked disgusting and again OLD. Adding to this disaster of a room we had the most unpleasant experience during one of the nights, the room next to ours was noisy and one of the guests who was clearly drunk wasn't being allowed in the room, this lead to about two hours of loud banging and screaming on our corridor and dirt all over the floor because he threw a vase into the door and after that we spent the rest of the night hearing him puke in the bathroom as our walls were the same as their room, the staff/reception did nothing about this and only found out about the incident the next morning as I made my complaint, so the hotel was basically a huge bust. Also worth mentioning, the breakfast was terrible, not giving many options or in general good food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    5.8
    Spacious rooms, good balcony view, comfortable and clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is good, but not excellent. It's indeed close to the metro station, but the city center is pretty far away (not walking distance). The guy from the reception wasn't nice or welcoming, always busy and arrogant. Something that really pissed me off: when we checked in we had to pay forward and signed a paper that said that the hotel is only responsible for our valuables if we leave them at the reception. Which means that anything that we leave inside our closed room isn't safe. We also had to leave the keys at the reception everytime we left. In conclusion, the hotel doesn't trust its own cleaning stuff? Also, the breakfast consisted of very cheap stuff, mostly Aro, and there was no butter, only margarine. And last but not least, the rooms were clean, but the bathroom didn't have those sanitary stickers and we could see pee marks... Don't expect soaps or shampoos, there was only a cheap bluish soap poured into a container and that's it.

    Spacious rooms, good balcony view, comfortable and clean beds. Also, there was air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed and pillow not comfortable. Felt like they should be renewed. Breakfast quite disappointing, only white bread and not many options.

    Great location. Friendly staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    5.0
    Reception staff were helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleaning staff didnt bother to clean, just collect garbage Internet disconnected alot Room Facilities and furniture are old

    Reception staff were helpful location is fine Air conditioning in the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was good enough however it would be nicer to have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower pipe was leaking and the remote controller for the TV and air conditioner was not working.They should check and fix these things.

    Breakfast was good enough however it would be nicer to have a bit more variety. I also missed the fruit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, very close to metro station but also walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The window of the room was lacated to the hall of the hotel so we could hear everyone walking or talking around. Especially in the night.

    Great location, very close to metro station but also walking distance to many restaurants, bars or caffees. Nice, various and tasty breakfast in hotel. Room was clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stuffiness of room, air conditioning unit worked well when on but too noisy to have on all night. No kettle or drink facilities in room. The complimentary bathroom products were one bottle of some blue soap and no hand towels

    Our room was nothing like the photo's. The bathroom had no ventilation unless the light was on, very smelly, the shower leaked (partly due to the trap not being cleaned/maintained) this was reported and looked at but not cured. Only one very very soft pillow, asked for more, was given a stained cushion inner with no cover, used duvet as pillow, sheet had holes in. No telephone in room to request noisy neighbours asked to quieten early hours of morning, all 3 mornings. No English channels despite being satellite tv

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    5.8
    Quiet room,good location
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower tray was leaking and the drain not worked properly.Tv doesn’t work in the room and no remote control.Pillows are over used and very flat.

    Quiet room,good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    5.4
    overall OK taking into consideration the cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bathroom was dirty, the breakfast was cheap with half coocked eggs, horrible cruissants, no yougurt

    The air condition and the leaf decoration and very good internet connection

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    4.2
    During 4 night stay, room was cleaned only 1 time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    During 4 night stay, room was cleaned only 1 time. All other days they didn’t clean it. On 3rd day soap was finished, they even didnt add new one, just took garbage, bed was non-covered. Breakfast were terrible, non-tasty, poor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    A very nice and comfortable place to stay in Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very nice and comfortable place to stay in Budapest. The hotel is situated in historical part of the city which makes it very simple to move around. The place is tidy, atmospheric and nice. Breakfast is included, which benefits to it, and so does a wonderful view of the city which you can observe while having your meal. Which was the most valuable for us -assistance and kindness of the receptionists who were glad to see us in the middle of the night and gave us so useful pieces of advice about parking, places to go and so on. Thank you so much Silver Hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    8.3
    The place was ideal, original hotel with inner garden and park at the entrance. Good breakfast and
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was ideal, original hotel with inner garden and park at the entrance. Good breakfast and especially croissants. Very good bathroom And of course Isam- the manager was very kind and attentive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    6.3
    Location of hotel is pretty good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived our room wan't clean. Garbage was in the baskets, the towels was dirty- used by another guests. Fortunately we only stayed here per 2 night but for longer stay don't choose this place- the breakfasts were monotonous. In this price you can stay in hostel in double room.

    Location of hotel is pretty good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.9
    Nice modern rooms, enough space, instect net infront of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Weird smell in the bathroom (if you let that water run in the shower for a few minutes it goes away), Air conditioner extremely loud, breakfasts was not so great (little variety, boxes are empty often, there isn’t really any fresh stuff like fruit or yogurt), when looking closely one could see that there was dust in the corners etc

    Nice modern rooms, enough space, instect net infront of the window, super friendly staff, large shower, beautiful patio, good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.3
    Cheap city hotel all places of interest within walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Street parking was very expensive no dedicated parking for hotel

    What you would expect from a cheap city center hotel I had a better room the first time I stayed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    7.9
    3 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the fact that I had to hand my keys over to reception upon leaving the building. I could have asked for any room key, so could anyone else! Breakfast was somewhat boring!

    Friendly staff and environment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    4.6
    Location good..hotek very poor 1 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All

    Nothing like the pictures..even though breakfast stated served up till 10am if you arrived say 9.45 and the food trays were empty it was tough we are not filling them..staff rude..rooms dirty and small.would never stay here again..only thing going for it is the loxation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    7.9
    OK for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No on site parking parking at meter expensive if you get a spot free after 6 pmok for a couple of nights breakfast could have been better little choice

    40 min walk to all tourist attractions trams at the corner of the road for those who did not want to walk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    3.8
    really uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    starting with the staff that during the check refused to speak English with me, then confirming that the room that was supposed to be for me was given to another guess.

    nothing, probably just the location as it quite central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    8.3
    Great location just off Andrássy Utca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower leaked a lot of water and the lift was a tad slow.

    Great location just off Andrássy Utca. Two minute walk from Vörösmarty Utca metro station, or five minute walk from Oktagon for trams 4/6. Good sized room between 3 of us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    7.5
    Helpful staff, location and TV
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had to pay twice the city tax because the hotel didn´t get the money I already pay when I did the booking, apparently, the company "Booking" didn´t pay the city tax, just the actual room.

    Helpful staff, location and TV

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    6.3
    Hotel is well situated to the center of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower head was broken and so was the soap dispenser for sink. For a hotel the bathroom came with very minimal and average supplies: I.e no shampoo or soap for the shower. Other facilities were a bit dated but wasnt a big deal. The nights we stayed were hot and muggy and unfortunately the A/C was very loud and impossible to sleep with.

    Hotel is well situated to the center of town. Staff were friendly and helpful. The free included breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    3.8
    Will never return and can have better alternative for the same price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed for the price I’m paying.There werent any basic toiletries like soap,bathing gel nor shampoo provided! How does the hotel expect their guests to bath is beyond me! The mobile aircon unit wasn’t functioning like a aircon but more like a fan blower where a spurt of cool air will last for only a few minutes.One can hardly feel its breeze and it was stuffy and hot in our room during our mid summer stay.We didn’t get any good sleep at all during our 3 nights stay. This hotel doesn’t deserve a 3 star rating but more like a lower end hotel and for the price I’m paying it should function like a 3 Star hotel providing decent basic facilities like toiletries and a functioning aircon.Definitely an over priced hotel.

    Nothing except a decent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.1
    Reasonable option
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in a large tenement building, but it does not occupy the whole building. This means sharing some space with local residents who are probably not very happy about the situation. There is also only one lift in the inner courtyard (but another one was under construction in May 2018). Not a big problem, just a thing to be aware of.

    We were looking for a place to spend one night in this particular area of Budapest and the hotel was a good choice. We liked the rooftop terrace with a nice view over the city. Metro stop is close by for convenient access to the waterfront area. The rooms were nothing special, but comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    5.0
    SH does not meet the official expectations of a 3 star hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The roof top

    SH does not meet the official expectations of a 3 star hotel. It would be bettert for them to appear as a good hostel in the market instead of causing disapppiintment and losing customers. No Phone in the room, dirty WaLls, furniture n interior without design or style, no welcome coffee, glasses, no proper Social area. Recepcionist were very nice though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    8.3
    Idiosyncratic hotel with a friendly ambiance and great location for access to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a nothing I didn't like; they are currently building a second lift within the foyer and the only working lift is very small - only 4 at a time. SO can be a little frustrating but there are stairs. The reception staff were friendly but the breakfast staff and cleaners were not so open and friendly but we noticed that in general about Hungarians in general. If you want to have a change of towel once it has been used, make sure you put the used towel on the floor in the bathroom.

    A hotel with a very good location; within 50 metres of the main boulevard and about 20 minutes stroll from the centre of town. However, there are a number of excellent tourist and gallery interests very close by including the thought-provoking "House of Terror". The nearest metro (line 1) is very close by. 24 hour access; a safe for valuables in reception; breakfast is standard European; there is a balcony in the breakfast area. Rooms cleaned daily; reception staff were helpful; as a guest we could book a local restaurant which entitled us to free goulash soup. 6 floors high; the room was a comfortable size of the 2 of us. The bathroom facilities were spacious and well maintained. There are 2 pagoda style huts in the foyer to sit in if it rains and you are having a cigarette

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    7.5
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coming from Australia we are not used to European hotels and it is always a shock. We are used to traveling in Asia where most hotels are high standard

    It provided a clean bed for the night and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.6
    I had a great time in Budapest and enjoyed all of my time there and felt safe there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was a big hard to sleep on and this was uncomfortable for me.

    Travailing around the city and looking at beautiful sights and taking a boat trip with dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    7.9
    Very satisfying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only minus for us was,the heat, we felt the room very warm at night, so air con would be a plus.

    Everything was very pleasant, the receptionists which I dealt with were very helpful and courteious. The location, for us who love to walk the city was excellent, as was the location to the bars and restuarants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    10
    A lovely place to enjoy the atompshere of Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast eggs were cold and I would have like more cereal choice.

    The location on the square was lovely and there are great views across the city from the to floor. Staff were kind and helpful and the room was cosy and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    6.3
    Satisfactory; nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room door didn’t stay closed unless locked. One clerk surly. Shower pressure and temperature poor, plus shower didn’t drain properly, so showering flooded the entire bathroom. Failure to replenish towels.

    Good value for money. Good food and beer nearby. Easy metro access.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    3.3
    An average hotel. I wouldnt choose it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a nice guy at the reception. He charged me city tax twice and didnt want to listen that I have already paid it throught booking.com. He didnt care. Roller blind at the window didnt work. There were spider net in room. Breakfast was very very very basic - cold sausages and cold eggs.

    Bathroom was quite clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    8.8
    The location is good, very nice staff in the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast a bit boring! If you want to serve something for breakfast it should be enough for all.

    The location is good, very nice staff in the reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    9.2
    Staff were great. Easy to find hotel 10mins from city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lift was small and stairways had no lighting. No kettle or coffee making facilities outwith breakfast times. Renovation work on going inside and next door but ok.

    Staff were amazing. Nothing that Essam couldn't solve. 10+. Breakfast was filling. Fair price and within 10min walk of main square. Balcony room. Beds comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, very nice staff but average rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds and pillows are not very comfortable.

    Issam at the reception was super helpful and cooperative. Location is perfect (close to Metro, Walking distance to center, close to Hop on Hop off stops and nice restaurants nearby).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    2.9
    Everything was dirty, broken, uncleaned for years. A student dorm room is better than this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Avoid this place at all costs! A dirty hole that hasn’t been cleaned in years, nor has been reinvested into. The breakfast was horrible, my dog gets better meat then that selection. Worst hotel experience in my life, never again. Just look at the photos and see for yourself!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    8.8
    OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room didn't have a proper window. Just a little one facing the internal area. The temperature was rather high and I didn't find out how to decrease it.

    Kind staff, clean room :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    6.3
    There's no shower gel or shampoo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check-in took forever! The bathroom has no shower gel and shampoo, so don't forget to take it with you (or buy it in Penny Market).

    Such an average hotel, ideal for short stay. The hotel is located pretty close to the centre. Penny Market is located just three minutes of walk from there so whenever you need to buy something, you don't have to walk for long.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    2.9
    I don't recommend this hotel to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very dirty, the bed sheets weren't clean. The shower water was cold and the hotel doesn't provide slippers. The staf wasn't friendly and also breakfast was very poor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    4.6
    Do not reccomand
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You can not give it 3 stars ! The room doesn’t have basic facilities, even they don’t provide shampoo in bath ! We booked a room for family but it was small Breakfast is very simple Shower water was sometimes not enough warm

    Only Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    6.3
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    worst breakfast I could experience, not many options, only white breads and by 9:15 am almost everything finished and they didn't replenished. lift is very slow., bed/pillow in comfortable, no English channels,

    location was excellent, staff was co-operative, they let me checked in several hours earlier than their normal as I requested.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    4.2
    not able to manage hot water for shower in two days!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot water for two days!!! Only excuses and ask for patience but after two hours of waiting only way to taking a cold shower. No offered discount for the inconvenience... :-(

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    5.8
    The staff was really friendly and helpful at the front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room looked really worn out. The wallpaper was hanging from the wall, the plaster from the walls had scattered down onto the floor, the carpet covering the floor looked really dirty. In the bathroom the showering corner did not have any showercurtains and so the water ran down on the bathroom floor and after taking the shower the floor was flooded. There were also no implements provided to clean up the floor after the shower.

    The staff was really friendly and helpful at the front desk. The location was really good and we could walk everywhere we wanted. The room was nicely heated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wery thin walls so it means a bit noisy when somebody walks on the corridor. a bit to much soft bed. It would be nice to have a fridge available.

    quite friendly staff most of the time. good location, reasonable breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    6.7
    Anyway I choose it for the short distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no warm water, so you could have a fast shower 😏 Breakfast included?! Some leftover bread probably of a week ago, some egg, sausages and that's it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    3.3
    Dystopian
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Starts at 5th floor - elevator broken Bathroom smelled awful Room stank of cigarette smoke Room too hot with heating off and window open Not child safe Hot water 5 min then lukewarm No views Pretty depressing

    Receptionists were competent and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    7.5
    Great location, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room wasn’t very clean- especially curtains and carpet looked dirty. A few spiderwebs around. The buffet was very basic (it would be nice if they had some fruit or veggies). Too expensive to park the car.

    Great location, very polite staff. Warm room (we were there in February) with a nice view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    2.5
    Think twice to book here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very dirty. Fortunately we planned to change a hotel during our visit in budapest. Fortunately cause I couldnt even have a shower. The shower had mold. We found hair and dust on bed and the room was too small. We were expecting more for this price. Also, you should ask twice if the heating is turned on, because we had a problem with that.

    The breakfast was ok. But nothing else.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    8.3
    Clean, bright modern room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Chaotic breakfast Poor quality food Thin walls

    Clean, bright modern room Underfloor heating in bathroom Lift access to 6th floor Central location Easy access to Metro

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    10
    Ace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing!!!

    The staff were brilliant and so helpful and friendly and lovely. The location was perfect, the room super comfortable and we were sad to leave.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Silver Hotel Budapest City Center Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: