Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5 stars

1051 Budapest, Szechenyi István tér 2., Hungary

#73 of 353 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1183 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.9
    Great service recovery; fab breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very very busy ; so at times service was slow

    Breakfast was great. We did have a problem with the bed in the room; but the hotel managed to resolve this very well.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    2.9
    Nothing full of discrimination and provocation against...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dear all, I have had the worse customer experience out of any country in the world, the issue was discrimination, racism, and serious provocation, I have handed my passport to the first employee who was extremely offensive in matter of actions, I handed the employee my "United Arab Emirates" passport he opened it and looked at us in a discriminating way, extremely racist than he shut the passport book so hard and hit the table hard with the passport angrily than he said theres no rooms available and my online booking number is not available than he gave the passport to the other employee to process and he was fine, we re booked again through the counter than paid again cash for one night. Kindly take actions against this inhuman treatment we do not accept such disgusting sub-human low life treatment to us or anyone else, because of that employee we are never going to visit any Sofitel hotel around the world. I travelled with my family and they are suffering emotionally because of this animal behavior.

    Nothing full of discrimination and provocation against muslims/arabs.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was fabulous close to a lot of attractions and restaurants. Breakfast was above and beyond expectations, we like to start ou day with a good breakfast. Being by chain bridge to cross river by foot was great to see both sides of city without having to taxi everywhere. Staff always their to help if you had a question. Great restaurant a little higher priced than down the street but still great. Atmosphere fantastic

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The attention of some of the personnel....some of them are not warming enough and little prevented, specialty at the reception......Even I guess it is the local style/personality they should provide a more warning/welcoming attention.... Some of the curtains were old and have perforations...but the view was so nice that this is easily neglected.....

    Excellent location. Just in front the Danube with perfect view to the Royal Palace and Bridge Chain. Perfect to enjoy the National Hungarian Day.....close to many city attractions and Good fitness center...good breakfast.....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing stay and an enjoyable atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The view from the room was gorgeous. The staff were professional and welcoming. Location is perfect close to eveything. Definitely i will be back again !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.3
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Regarding the breakfast area is to much small comparing to the guest number even i am going around 8 am sometime i have to wait in the line waiting for table They really need to make the breakfast in the mail resturant not in the narrow corridor

    The location. Room size

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    too crowded, for breakfast restaurant was full.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    too crowded, for breakfast restaurant was full.. you have to wait a lot... for it for dinner they said restaurant close at 22.30, but they didn't want to take food orders even at 22.00

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.8
    You pay for the view and only the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - bed was uncomfortable and room was small (But same for almost everywhere in europe) -breakfast: we had to send back twice every morning the omelette because they're unable to take an order properly: veg omelette ended up with ham?! -not the hotel fault but hookers very expressive waiting in front of the hotel and disturbing men passing by or men smoking outside (no smoking hotel) made it a cheap place.

    - the view: parliament and bridge view (hotel with view on the danube). The location is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Best view in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Sofitel staff was amazing, location was great and the view was amazing! We stayed in the river view room that looks out to the Castle and Chain bridge. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    We have stayed in various hotels in this European trip, most...
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed in various hotels in this European trip, most of the rooms were really very tight. Sofitel Budapest was so spacious in comparison. Snoring (companion) seemed to be just bearable as it does not reverberate like in a smaller room. Planned to go for a walk after an evening check in but the beds were so wide and so soft, could not wait to get under the covers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room with Street View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean at all cockroaches around the lobby area and rooms breakfast buffet is over priced not as 5 star overall i dont give it the category of 5 stars hotel

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Location was super good, easy to get to the center of both...
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was super good, easy to get to the center of both cities. And the view was spectacular. I asked the room of river view, which can see the chain bridge and facing the Buda palace directly. The staff were all super nice. I got checked in at 10:30 and checked out at 1pm. They called a cab for me, it was only $6 to get to the train station. The room was big and clean. The beddings were comfortable. It was a perfect stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    We did not like the showing of the soccer on large screen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like the showing of the soccer on large screen outside on terrace and also in the bar beside the diningroomn so were forced to go to Intercontinental Hotel for dinner and peace and quiet, It ruined ew days there and cheapened an otherwise lovely hotel,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.2
    “Time travelling”
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room’s furniture was very old, (the floor too) , the bathroom ( the sink was cracked and the toilet didn’ t work properly), the air conditioning sistem was very loud ( we couldn’t sleep) and couldn’t be stopped at night!

    The breakfast and the position of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Convient location but very pretentious and overrated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The registration staff were unhelpful and just short of rude. Impersonal. Breakfast abundant but loud.

    Most of the staff were helpful. Food was excellent, especially the Hungarian dishes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.2
    Location is in the center of tourist attraction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room is old and the property doesn’t worth to be rated as 5 star hotel. The carpet is smelly. Luckily the bathroom has been renovated otherwise the whole room is super old. The hotel staff is not friendly at all.

    Location is in the center of tourist attraction. The breakfast is not bad.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    I enjoyed every bit of this facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed every bit of this facility. The view from my room in 218 was gorgeous! I was able to watch the sunrise and sunset. Gorgeous view! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful hitel in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location! Excellent facilities. Great restaurant! Highly recommended! Would like to thank our excellent waiter Janos!

    Great location! Excellent hotel! Highky recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    A Room With a (Great) View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inexperienced staff performance for placing us to breakfast table after nice greeting

    Executive Lounge had amazing panoramic view. Room view was also great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyed our 5 night stay. Great location, lovely helpful staff, lovely spa and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Felt as if the room, we had 430, Could do with a little work, ie the carpet has some large stains on it, especially where the floor lamp is. Also a couple of small holes in the curtain. The shower is in the bath and a little awkward to get out of due to shower door and towel rack. These are minor things and would not stop me returning or recommending the hotel.

    The open entrance is spectacular with a plane hanging from the roof. The staff are very helpful and witty. The spa and pool very nice. Excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel with excellent food/drinks, rooms need renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms need definitely renovation. We found very old fashion. Excellent view but dirty windows you cannot enjoy the view. Beds are old fashion too not comfortable. During our usage of the wellness area very loud renovation work.

    The breakfast and bar all food and drinks were excellent. People especially in the bar and breakfast area were very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location, great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately for me the bed wasn't very comfortable, air con in my room was intermittent and pillows way to soft. So not a great night's rest.

    Lovely hotel, staff are very warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic hotel. Disappointing exploitation of guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Notified of party 10pm-3am on second day of 2 day stay. Bar and restaurant closed, screaming, shouting, doors slamming all night long. Seriously, you couldn't advise this before booking a premium rate room, even on check-in? Just an "oh, yes, sorry, do you want to talk about it with someone". I would definitely have booked elsewhere if I had known. This is nothing short of a scam. How about a 50% rebate in view of the significantly degraded stay? Great to have coffee-making facilities, but how about making sure they actually work? Also, how about restocking the mini-bar?

    Great hotel, impressive facilities. Friendly, welcoming and professional staff. Absolutely perfect location directly overlooking Buda Castle and the Chain Bridge, just amazing views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    Phenomenal room, phenomenal views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was nice but quite overpriced.

    The river view room was phenomenal and definitely worth the extra money if you're a first time traveller to Budapest- there really is nowhere else you can get a view like it. The bed was soft as a marshmallow and the room was spacious, clean and functional. The bathtub was an added luxury and big enough for two!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Superb view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the standing of a five-star hotel.

    The view from the room was truly spectacular (river view room). The location is very convenient and there are many good restaurants and cafés nearby. We had a nice stay overall.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.2
    Very good place, no disapointments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building from outside looks a bit like from end of ‘80s

    Location great! Wellness area good and clean. Breakfast perfect. Mindset and art of crew very good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent service from the whole sofitel team there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool, spa fitness very clean, but could use a re-design!

    Very tailor made service, staff knows your name and who you are, very careful but never too much present. perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect hotel near the danub river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was a little bit smaller than I expected. I hope you make it king size.

    Amazing hotel. Everything was excellent.wonderful view to the danub river. I really recommend this hotel for you. Thank you so much for everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    The three days we stayed at Sofitel was amazing friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The three days we stayed at Sofitel was amazing friendly and helpful staff , exstreamly clean rooms . Location for us was perfect couldn’t have asked for better . Thank you all for making our stay memorable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.8
    Perfect location, but disappointing service and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Waiting time at the breakfast buffet on January 1st was 40 minutes. Nobody knew that the breakfast was extended until 13:00 so everybody rushed there in the morning creating a long waiting line. The Personell nor the facilities were not prepared at all for this amount of people. The internet connection was extremely poor in the hotel. The TV, which worked from LAN, was also lagging and not showing the picture properly. During check-out we were charged the wrong amount and the amount was charged from the wrong credit card although we have asked the amount and credit card during the check-out process.

    Excellent location. Friendly parking personnel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    good location, decent rooms & service but nothing wow about the property or experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Street View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The wifi was really bad and didn't work properly. we ordered room service and it took about 1 hour for basic breakfast to be served.

    good location. the restaurant on the ground floor was really good and had excellent service and the bar had decent cocktails. staff was helpful overall

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.4
    Amazing location, horrible hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was shocking and uncomfortable. Clearly old and mattress needs replacing. Shower leaked. They offer a bubble bath in the room. We ordered and it took almost two hours to arrive. They offer extra comfy pillows. They were not in good condition The power points for charging phones is hidden behind the curtains on the floor skirting. This is unacceptable and completely inconvenient. This is a 5 star hotel. No turn down service. We ordered water from room service. Waitress barged in without knocking.

    Location and breakfast My booking was room only. On arrival we paid for two days of breakfasts in advance. After day 1 we decided we wanted to go yo a local cafe for breakfast so tried to cancel the second breakfast and asked for it to be refunded. Request was abruptly refused.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    1. Very good location with beautiful view and close to a lot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Wifi internet connection was very bad in the room and in the lobby as well, sometimes not available at all. 2. every day there was a queue to be seated for breakfast, once we had to wait for 10 minutes.

    1. Very good location with beautiful view and close to a lot of places of interest, restaurants etc. 2. Very good breakfast with a variety of dishes 3. very friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.0
    Good buy soured by the above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi fi connection broken. Safe broken. Appear to have been charged $99 without authorisation AFTER I left??? Have not been able to contact them about this - no email address on the Account and on the ship internet is a bit flaky.

    staff great. Restaurant great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast waiters not polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast waiters not polite.they made comments about guests in hungarian language if they thought that the guest doesn ´t understand them.should have kept this for themselves.very disappointing..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    We were "guests of the day".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of a coffeeshop/bar/pub....Something casual.

    We were "guests of the day". I don't know why. The staff and the treatments were super. The Club Place has spectacular view. Also the room. The breakfast was great. The staff too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Location of the hotel was excellent, close to all the major...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location of the hotel was excellent, close to all the major sites. There was an outdoor Christmas market within 200 metres from the hotel which was great to taste the local food and grab a locally produced Hungarian gift. Staff were very friendly and useful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    A great hotel experience spoiled by the police security
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A Chinese delegation were staying for a conference and the security was ridiculously high. Our airport shuttle tried several routes to approach the hotel and were eventually forced to leave us some distance away. At one point we had to wait 30 minutes in the cold before we were allowed to return to the hotel. We spoke to a couple who had arrived from the airport and were forced to wait over an hour in the cold, with their luggage before they could check in. The hotel emailed us to say there would be increased security, which we could understand, but the level was too high to be tolerable. I feel we should have been notified of the true nature of inconvenience to be expected and offered the opportunity to rebook elsewhere without penalty. The security problem was caused by the police and not the hotel, the staff of which was as frustrated as we were, but an honest assessment of what was to be expected should have been given to those booked at the same time as the delegation would have been helpful.

    The View over the Danube was superb. The staff were extremely helpful in difficult circumstances. Vivien in the breakfast service was particularly helpful. The facilities seem to be in good repair and well maintained.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed is terrible, I couldn't sleep well. Definitely hotel needs some remodeling.

    Outstanding location in the heart of Budapest. Very friendly staff :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Very nice comfortable hotel with great views,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the view was great towards the chain bridge with bay windows, the rooms facing north do not have a view of the castle as the castle is more to the western side.

    The location is outstanding, just across the street from the chain bridge. There is a great view of the bridge and the castle from the rooms that face north or west. The hotel has all bay windows that may provide a nicer view than other hotels. The service was especially impressive, with every staff member appearing to take a personal interest in making sure you enjoyed the stay at their hotel. The bed was very comfortable. The executive lounge on the 8th floor, available for executive room guests on the same floor, was a helpful convenience for snacks during the day and a comfortable check-in/check-out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    During breakfast peak hours there was a 30 mins waiting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During breakfast peak hours there was a 30 mins waiting queue plus they kick us at 11:00 am. They should provide the option to end breakfast in the rooms. Swimming pool temperature was too cold (26 C) we cannot enyoned the swimming pool as we preferred.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Very good spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Business Center personnel not well informed So concierge is much better to ask for information

    Breakfast spread. Conceige very helpful Meals at Paris delicious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    A great place to stay in Budapest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed is on a very very soft side. You cannot feel the mattress at all, its like you are sleeping in a giant pillow. Also, during the breakfast some of the produce were not replenished timely (bacon, butter...) but the staff in the dining room was extremely polite and attentive when asked...

    My son (7) and I loved this place. Excellent hotel, excellent location, excellent views. Everything was exactly to Sofitel standards. I strongly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.4
    Great view from upper floors, only reason to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    VIP access lounge and breakfast in VIP lounge left much to be desired, significantly lacking. VIP for a third world country. Breakfast on the main floor was over crowded.

    The view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    Gorgeous View but Lumpy Beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately my bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. And my parents were complaining their bed was lumpy as well -- they felt they might fall off each side as only the middle of the mattress remained sturdy. This was the 3rd and last stop of a short Eastern European tour and the only hotel where any of us complained about our beds. : (

    What a gorgeous view from the windows of Sofitel facing the Chain Bridge. And the location is central -- easy to travel all over Pest and easy to cross to the Buda side of the city. And all the taxis know where it is. Room itself is a little small, with no coffee maker and nothing particularly spectacular except for the view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    We really loved this hotel, we would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furnishings could had been a bit more in the Sofitel style, I have a vision of the Sofitel, this hotel, even though very nice, it's not at 100% at the Sofitel style level. Otherwise, the staff was superb!

    This hotel is in the PERFECT location, right across the Chain Bridge and with an AMAZING VIEW! We arrived early from Vienna, our room was not ready, so they upgraded us to the "Presidential Suite" with a magnificent 180 view of the river, castle, Chain Bridge and the park across the street, you could see a block away the Four Seasons Hotel! The style is not the "usual/normal" Sofitel style, I was told it had been a Hilton before and some of the furnishing reflect that. I think it may still be in the middle of renovation, but not sure. The breakfast in the Mezzanine level is very, very good! Highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location, perfect for a full visit to Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Concierge (it was different people) was always helpful with great dinner suggestions. They had patience with all of us and truly made a difference for our visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Are flight got cancelled due to a hurricane in the US we really enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little too soft, would like a sheet and comforter as it was hot at night under the comforter, but l like to sheet covered.

    Concierge desk please very helpful @ pleasant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    Location excellent. View excellent. Housekeeping below par. Breakfast below par.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping could be a little better (or a lot tbh). We stayed a total of 4 nights, for a stickler like me towels are important and forgetting to put hand-towels, face-towels or bath mats on several occasions is not appropriate. If you're planning on staying in the hotel the minimum time possible with a good price in a good location and with a view, for a 5* this is a good option but there's certainly a difference between 5* and 5*.

    The photos on booking are very accurate. We stayed in a spacious room overlooking the Danube and Palace - absolutely stunning. The room was appropriate in size and facilities for the price. The location is excellent, we were primarily concerned with having a good view from the room and having a gym at the hotel, both requirements met.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Would go back, really enjoyed our stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we did not like

    A lovely stay here, it is a beautiful hotel in a brilliant location just opposite the chain link bridge, would highly recommend. Our room was very comfortable and spacious, all the amenities you need, very clean, kept to a very high standard. Breakfast was plentiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Went for breakfast nearly all dishes empty waited for awhile...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Went for breakfast nearly all dishes empty waited for awhile food was coming bit by bit in the end said we didn't want breakfast they tried to charge for full breakfast when I only had a glass of orage had to explain about four times what had happened

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Location is lovely & wifi 👍and most staff very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Furnirure is little old & air conditioning not enough during our stay

    Location is lovely & wifi 👍and most staff very helpful specially peter & Adam in the breakfast area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.3
    Budapest June 2017
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need a good renovation as it looks very old and tired. If you looking for super clean, this is not for you. Its OK. Very expencieve for what it is. My star rating will be 3

    Location is very good if you want to see the city. Near to shopping, bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    4.2
    River view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Iv booked for 3 nights through booking.com for a room with river view.. The hotel exterior was not impressing at all as itwas dirty with visible spider webs.. We checked in to the room iv asked for a higher floor (since iv booked mainly for the river view)and the reception told me that this is the highest floor with a room available so i accepted once i entered the room i felt i was back in the 90's with the room furnitee and layout.. Surprisingly i saw a spider inside the light cover + alot of dust inside another.. Clearly the room has not been properly cleaned in ages anyway.. We went to the reception and complained they offered an alternative room ( at a higher floor even though the reception previously told us there are no rooms available at a higher floor ).. And one free drink at the bar ( not satisfying ).. Anyway i moved on.. The house keeping is extremely poor.. The didnt change the tissue box although it was empty .. And water was only replaced once in 3 days..also iv asked for socket for my charger since its not as per european socket they told me if i want it i have to buy it from the business center !!!!! Very cheap reply and they should understand that this is not even a service its just different region have diifferent plugs .. Dissapointed!! Furthermore upon checkout iv asked for the checkout time they told me its 11am ( which is abnormal since you will be having breakfest by that time the normal standard which i am used to is 12pm) so iv requested till 1pm since i had a car pickup to the airport at that time the reception refused and told me she can do till 12:30pm otherwise there will be extra charge .. Its totally unacceptable reply as how to charge for 30 minutes more .. The system is very rigid and they should be much more flexible with guests .. Anyway the building and managment needs a full makeover .. Wont stay again or recommend.

    River view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Great expensive views, far from the sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best thing about this hotel was the view. We had a room overlooking the Danube with great views (but we paid for it). The other thing that we liked was the bed. After a long day of sightseeing, the bed was super comfortable. Our room was large, but the decor was a bit dated. Upon arrival, the young lady that helped us was not friendly, but we did find other staff to be helpful and courteous. The included breakfast had a large selection. We are adventurous diners, but some of the items were a bit odd. The location of the hotel seemed quite far from the sights, we had to taxi to most.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    6.7
    The fact that the waitress during breakfast was running...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the waitress during breakfast was running behind me to tell me that I did not pay in advance 3 extra euros for breakfast! Just rediculous!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    Terrible worst Service with Leeaches around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poorest Hotel Reception answering only half question. Looking how to make money without providing answers to queries Only interested in question where Hotel makes money

    No information given by Hotel Reception and kept referring to agents who were like leach not accepting credit card and giving worst Exchange Rate in Town. Even Budapest Card was being sold at premium. After money with Zero Service except good size room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.4
    Very average to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was bad , simple thing like a scrambled egg was horrible. The concierge was not up to the mark, they just kept recommending the hotel restaurants.

    The location was excellent. Everything was walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    City stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu a little restricted for a hotel of this level. The menu was really of the 'all day' type. Service could be improved when they are under pressure - it was a bit ' hit and miss' but the staff were always very pleasant.

    Excellent breakfast. Position superb for visits. We paid the extra for a river and bridge view which was worth it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Convenience of hotel from boat parking in Budapest, Hungary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    The location was right across the street from the starting location for the Viking River cruise. Our bellboy transported our luggage from the hotel directly to the boat.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Noisey.....I will never book it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My second night at the hotel was marred by loud music from both inside and outside the hotel. If the hotel management posted that a wedding reception would be taking place one evening, I would not have stayed there. The "music" went on until 0100 and reception were not too bothered by my call. At 0210, more "music" started coming from the bars and restaurant situated on the river bank. This ended at 0410, so not a good night. I turned the air conditioning fan to maximum to override the "music" but to no avail. The staff were magnificent, as was the hotel and restaurant, however, I will never book that hotel again....which is a pity. Overall, a lot of money for a lot of noise!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    I was the lucky "Guest for the Day"---what a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was the lucky "Guest for the Day"---what a lovely surprise, what a wonderful treat and way to say"Adieu" to my European Adventure.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    We will certainly book the Sofitel again on our next trip to Budapest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room faced the park and although very beautiful, it did get noisy on Saturday night with party goers on the street and traffic. We found it fine on the other nights.

    The hotel was perfectly situated within walking distance to many of the sights of Pest. Views from the river front rooms are magnificent. We found the staff very helpful and willing to offer assistance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location, staff and food. A pity that rooms had some irritating niggles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bedrooms seemed a little old fashioned. while well furnished there were no easily accessible power sockets to charge phones, laptops etc - very unusual these days. The bathroom was not good, as the shower leaked and flooded the floor all the time - clearly the management were aware as we were always given extra bath mats to soak it up.

    Staff were excellent, especially the concierge who was one of best we have encountered Location very convenient, views from our room superb. Food was also excellent, both the buffet breakfast and the bar/dining room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    a very good location hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    That people was dressing very shabby at the hotel, passengers of a 5 stars hotel should dress at least smart casual

    The location of the hotel and the breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.2
    Luxury hotel with an amazing view to the Buda Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very expensive. I would love having a little terrace.

    Location was excellent and the view of Buda's castle was amazing. The room was very comfortable and the bed was incredible.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    sofitel hotel fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We loved the comfort of the beds and the comfort of the hotel in all areas. Breakfast was fab and even catered for me as I am gluten free. Staff were all friendly and very helpful. Hotel was spotless. Location fab

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    Great location in the center of Budapest with very nice view.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    At night a bit dangerous in front of the entrance. Nothing to worry but not comfortable to walk alone.

    Great location in the center of Budapest with very nice view. Prefect for business meetings.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location; lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    American breakfast buffet was lovely, variety of choices. Staff was brilliant and very helpful. location of the hotel was perfect, local to all touristic attractions; walking distance to the main chain bridge, parliament, market, thermal baths, castle etc. Our weekend at Budapest Sofitel was well worth it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    5.8
    Staff can't write a proper invoice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff gave me an invoice with the wrong company details on it and REFUSES to replace it with the correct one. I am therefore forced to pay for this out of pocket instead of the company's.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    8.3
    Amazing hotel, perfect location, convenient parking, strange breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is on the poor / strange side. They served some strange dishes (like ratatouille) but were missing "classics" like scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, sausages. Maybe you can order at the waiter more, but that's not clearly visible. Also, there is no Espresso machine available on breakfast, but we had one in the room (so it compensated). Also, there was a bad smell on the corridor leading to the room, but the room was ok luckily.

    Perfectly located for visiting the center. Room was big and well supplied. Lobby is amazing. Cheaper than expected.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and view over the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I personally prefer harder pillows. The hardest offered on the menu was still quite soft.

    Excellent location and view over the river. Nice facilities and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    5.4
    Book directly on the site of Sofitel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Book directly with Sofitel! For me it would have been 40 euro's per night cheaper! Bookings.com gave me the impressions it was included with breakfast. I feel cheated by bookings.com.

    Great beds!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    Best place to stay in Budapest
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was an amazing emperience! I became a guest of the day and they treated me so well, I felt special. The food at the restaurant was delicious. I recommend this hotel with pleasure!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    9.2
    Good condition, Confused service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I strongly question: I placed an order through Booking.com for two rooms, of which, a Luxury Double Room with River View at price CNY 1,272.00 ( the price with all charges included, 18% VAT and 4% city tax), a Classic Twin Room with Street View at price CNY 996.00 ( the price with all charges included, 18% VAT and 4% city tax) on Nov. 20,2016. I do not know why the hotel charged me HUF 69142.00 for the Luxury Double Room with River View room and HUF 57452.00 for the Classic Twin Room with Street View room when I stayed at the hotel on Jan 30, 2017. It is 32% higher than the price I booked! I do not think that it is due to the fluctuation of exchange rate. I am complaining for it and ask a reasonable explanation. Thanks.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: