Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Danubius Hotel Arena 4 stars

1148 Budapest, Ifjúság útja 1-3., Hungary

#222 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4396 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony was super dirty, a chair or something in the balcony for rest would be great.

    Easy to find, free parking in front of the hotel. (Only few parking places, but we find one free parking place everytime) The room is big with everything you need, very comfortable bed, clean, tv with a lot of channels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    some unfriendly staff at reception

    great location: 5-minute walk to metro and bus station. good swimming pool. comfortable room with good mattress, clean bathroom with a tub.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People who worked at the hotel talking nesty in hungarian language behind about foriegn speaking guest !!It was horrible to hear them!!!

    Location was the best for the girls gymnastic event!!!! The cafe / restaurant at the lobby was a great place. Few people was really polite!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unwelcoming when we checked in, didn’t even show us where the lift was to get to our room. Most staff were blunt and rude, with the exception of a young guy who checked us out, who was very chatty and friendly. used the pool, never got shown where to go or told where the changing rooms were etc, felt like we were a hinderence when we asked. Went for breakfast late one day and they switched off the lights when breakfast finished at 10am despite there being more that 40 guests still eating, really rude.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -stuff very rude (especially the gentleman that answers the calls at night). He basically yelled at us that “if you want water, just drink from the tap!” when we asked for still water. And few more occasions like this. -water drainage didn’t work well

    -location -very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude stuff. Raising their voices, making faces and being generally annoyed and angry all the time. One Hungarian lady from our group translated to us the things they were saying about us and other clients in Hungarian and it was awful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was free but often didn't work well. I'm not sure I would choose it for a romantic destination. It's a big concrete block next to the national football stadium and at night the view from our room was of a neon Tesco sign. It is however a comfortable, friendly, reasonably priced hotel that is handy for exploring the city as the metro is cheap and frequent.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and a reasonable size. The hotel is a little out of town but right next to a metro station and it was easy to get in and out of town and relatively easy to get to and from the airport by public transport. The staff were helpful and spoke good English. There were other facilities which looked good but we didn't use them as we were more interested in exploring Budapest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be much improved for what you charge. Very poor selection if vegetarian. All male reception staff went out of way to assist but dark haired female very offhand when approached!

    Spotlessly clean, excellent pool and great massage, beds REALLY comfortable, room 248 smashing views, has small balcony, good air conditioning, EXCELLENT housekeeping staff towels changed and beds made daily, coffee shop (bit noisy) really good pizza would share with friend next time, taxis ordered efficiently, metro main line 2 - 2 mins from hotel also trolley buses and buses. Buy book 10 single tickets best value from machine at top of stairs can use on all transport. Take metro to DEAKE FERENC Station takes you into centre of city. Highly recommend HILDA restaurant 3 mins from DEAKE FERENC metro. Shopping mall (trolleybus no 80) or walk about 1mile away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities were excellent. The location was ideal as we had easy access to numerous areas of the city due to public transport being easily accessible. The swimming and sauna facilities were an added bonus!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude staff no outside seating very small rooms shower didn't work very well breakfast was a nightmare too busy couldn't move

    The food was very good clean rooms comfy beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building was a bit of a dump once past reception area. The first room we were given was still being cleaned when we opened the door. We were given another room on the 8th floor which was under construction and ana absolute tip. Half of the ceiling was missing and it was incredibly dusty. The room itself was tiny and very basic not to mention SO noisy.

    Staff were lovely, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Without many ill feelings, It might be pointed out that I find a cockroach on my bed during my stay. It is quite normal, but it shows the room for possible improvements.

    It should be highlighted that the staffs here are earnest and helpful. The location is also good because the metro station and the Arena Plaza are quite near.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    4/5 stars on cleanness of the room. Bath tub was clogged, maintenance personnel showed up with a delay but gave a solution. A kettle would be a bonus in the room. Asked for a wakeup call, they never called.

    Convenient location next to the Puskas Arena. The metro, tram and bus station are literally next door, super easy to transfer to the city center. 24h street food kiosks outside the metro station. Private parking, high speed wifi internet. Excellent English speaking staff. Great view over the Puskas Sport Arena. A/C was working as it should.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower was to powerful. There is no way to leave the AC on when you take your key card and leave the room. So I had to come to a warm room when gone for the day.

    It was close to public transportation and the mall was within walking distance. The City Center was a cheap taxi ride away. The property was a good price and the customer service was outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress of the bed was awful very soft cleaner did not wash iurvcoffee cups otherwise no other complaints

    Peaceful central just a few train stops to the centre. The trains were regular and cheap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its big hotel so many people on the breakfast. Hotel parking is quite small but you can find parking place on one of nearest streets which are free during weekend. Pool and sauna needs renovation.

    Good location, with connection to the city center. We had bicycles so staff proposed to keep them in locked storage room. Not so many people use pool and sauna, we could enjoy swimming. Sauna towel and pool coat you can get in reception for free. Possible to pay for the accomodation by gift card (OTP).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the elevators are slow, waiting time can be an issue during peak times

    - the location is very convenient for someone attending events at the Papp László Aréna - good breakfast, with good selection of food - reasonably priced parking available behind the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms are small & there is no drawers to store anything, other than the bedside table. The air con is a bit noisy, but can't open the window, unless you are ok with a lot of noise, as very near a busy road

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had pizza at night, but our crust from the pizza was totally burned. They did give us another one after complaining. It should not have been served in the first place. The neighbourhood going to the bank was questionable very dirty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were kept out of the room an extra hour. The coffee shop had funny hours and did not open until 15 minutes after opening time. No small muffins etc for breakfast. Restaurant staff was very officious and unfriendly.

    Nice room with comfortable beds. Elevator worked well. Near a metro station and tram service, Pool and fitness area was great except for the steps after changing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are tiny, much smaller than they look in the pictures. Breakfast was abysmal. almost no selection and everything was stale or greasy or dripping. The front desk staff is lovely, but the cleaning staff is terrible.

    The Pool and Sauna are amazing and the gym is one of the best equipped ones I`ve ever seen in a hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old school reception staff, they would definitely need to see how other hotel’s staff in the world greet and treat their guests. They are kind of rude, obviously they hate their job and make you feel like you are here for them, and not they are here for you. None of them was able to smile for a second, they make you wait for a key drop at check-out for 8 minutes for no reason and their farewell greeting is an “it’s ok”. Not a good buy, thank you, a smile or anything. Check-in was the same kind, a very bad experience as well. Change or train these people!!!

    Good location, easy public transportation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great, except for one niggle, the only drawers were one bedside table and a shallow one on dressing table. No shelves either. The no for wardrobe was fine. Not much space if a couple staying longer than 3or4 nights.

    Friendly staff and helpful with language (ordering taxis etc), and if I asked for extra tea coffee etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in hour is 14, but they start making the check in at 14:45. The staff at the reception was very unprofessional and unfriendly. The price per night was very high for the service that they provide. In the room we didn’t have soaps! Horror night.

    That it was near the Papp Laszlo Budapest Sports Arena

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overall, I must say the one thing I wasn't very satisfied with was cleaniness. When we arrived to our room right after check-in and looked for a plug, we found empty PET bottle and one dirty sock under one of the beds. And while I was sitting in the restaurant having a breakfast, I spotted a small cockroach running towards me. It might have come from outside or whatever because the restaurant itself was spotless, but I was glad it happened just before our departure because any kinds of insects freak me out and I would've been feeling disturbed till the end of the stay.

    Good price/performance ratio. The location of the hotel is not very nice, but on the other hand, it's very strategic - close to one of railway stations, just a few meters away from a metro station with ticketing machine available (3-4 stops to the city center) and some 15 mins walking from beautiful Varosliget park where ZOO and Szechenyi spa are located. Also, there is a big shopping mall Arena some 800 m away. I also liked the breakfast offer, there was plenty of both sweet and savory options, tasty grapefruit juice and espresso was okay, too. There are a pool, a sauna and a gym available but we actually hadn't time to visit any of these.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water in the pool could be warmer, considering the relatively small size of it. Even though we had a triple room booked, first they gave us a double room with 2 beds. Of course they have changed it, but the new one was a double room with 3 beds. So, everything became really tight.

    The location was what we wanted, near the Papp Laszlo Sports Arena. Also very close to public transport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the quality of the 4 star hotel. Noisy on the outside as it is placed neat roads with traffic in the day. If you do not need to get out on the balcony then is OK, because the windows cut the noise from outside. Somehow old hotel, renovated but not completely. Breakfast is average at max.

    Clean and comfortable hotel, good location, near to the metro station and also somehow easy to get by foot in the city center. Has conference rooms, big restaurant. Nearby there is a covered parking with easy access to the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is closing too early at 7pm.

    Cozy room, clean, big enough. Hotel close to the metro station. Hotel have only few parking places but the underground parking is close and safe for 5€/24h.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - carpet in room needs to be replaced with wooden or laminat floor - 2 elevators are not enough in the morning - it 3 star not 4 - not much around hotel, no bars or markets

    - metro line 1min from hotel, 10min with metro to center - we had luck that there were few parking places available in front of hotel - value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room we got wasn't clean and smelled like urine. We stayed for 4 nights and the room was cleaned by the House Keeping only twice.

    The hotel is located 5 minutes walking distance from the M2 metro station. It was easy to get to the city center at any time. Arena Plaza shopping mall is 1 metro station away / 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us it was perfectly located but it is out from the city centre. Breakfast was good and rooms are a good size and have been modernised since our last stay in 2013.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    Wonderful location, the metro station was a quick walk away. The rooms were simple and nice, very good for a quick stay! The bathroom was clean, you can make your own tea of coffee. The staff was very kind, and the breakfast was simple and nice! Would recommend it to anybody!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff at the Front Desk was not very pleasant and not welcoming at all. There was one middle aged lady who was very rude and incredibly unwelcoming. However, the situation was saved by a younger lady at the Front Desk who was more welcoming and helpful. I tried to escape the first lady when approaching the Front Desk. The pool was good at the first glance until I found bunch of long hairs virtually all over the pool. I wonder I people not using swimming headcaps while using the pool.

    Location. The metro station is nearby as well as the Shopping Mall Arena

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad internet, one elevator not working. Not a lot parking places.

    One of three elevator was not working for all my stay. Four days! The hotel was full and sometimes you had to wait for the elevator for more than 10 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is in a bad part of the city, smells like nursing home, and we found some hair on the sheets. I would not recommend this hotel in any case.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    * The Air condition doesn't work. * The bed are not comfortable and makes noises. * should change from day to day the breakfast.

    Quiet , calm and easy to get there by Metro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have problem with room key, and the maintenance didn`t do their job during the two days. Then, receptionist gave us a new room and free breakfast, and that was really professional.

    Nice rooms, nice swimming pool and fitness centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice hotel, good price. Great location near the Ference Stadium subway station. English-speaking staff. Clean room. Nothing special and nothing bad. I will recommend this hotel for friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is a bit ugly and the view from room isn't that great. Some members of staff were rude. I think if they were all polite they would make it an unforgettable experience.

    Room and hotel facilities were to high standard. Comfortable bed and fully equipped room, available gym, pool and sauna, strong shower and bath tub.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms were not soundproof enough. You could clearly hear other rooms. Daily cleaning could be better

    professional staff. Very well informed about the city with useful tips. Great access to public transportation. Nice bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom is very very small and has no window, but it was very clean. The area around the building didn't seem like a "good one". Nothing happened but sometimes I felt like I wasn't so safe, especially at night.

    The room was spacious, everything was as described or even better! We had a Deluxe room and there was a balcony even if it wasn't specified,which was a nice surprise. The rooms were very clean, the housekeeping came everyday. It is located next to the Metro station and it's easy to reach by bus, so it's easy to go everywhere (in Budapest the public transportation works properly even at night!) We appreciated the reception 24/7, which was perfect for our late night check-in, the kettle so we could make coffee and tea (included in price) and the Sauna which excellent. The bed was big and comfy, if they hadn't told us they were 2 beds put together we would have never guessed! It's great value for the small price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Have no any complaint

    All was perfect: location - just one step from metro station, well equiped room with tee/coffe and kettle, ample room with balcon, comfort beds, toilet set in the bath-room. Perfect breakfest with wide range of meal. Niсe fitness zone with swimming pool with long working hours. It was so a pleasure to make refreshing in the pool after long walking over Budapest. The decoration of the hotel and rooms are very simple but you can have all what you need for comfort stay. Me and my partner like the hotel. I think it was optimal combination of price and service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I am not satisfied with the staff of the hotel, because at the checking we were asked for 150 euros deposit as a condition for staying in the hotel, even at the end of the stay we waited for twenty minutes to return our money. Other than that we were satisfied.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was pretty expensive, so we didn't use restaurant, but all the rest was fine. The staff was nice and kind and the hotel is pretty good. Location is also ok, but not perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -a bit loudly, sounds from the corridor

    +metro station just next to the hotel , 3 stops to city center + buses and trams +clean & comfortable room and bathroom +ok swimming pool, but nothing special

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the rudest staff I have ever come across not one bit helpful especially the more experienced man and woman with the blonde hair and glasses working behind the desk.

    good location very close to the metro

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very good the water boiler in the room, but I think this is the only hotel in the world, wich did not serve nor nescafe, nor tea to the water boiler... sad. It is not the first comment about it. Maybe the hotel management never read the comments? More sad....

    correct hotel with correct price...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs some update. I was in room 341, the shower was leaking at the mains when I turned the water on. The bed wasn't the most comfortable one and the wifi was a total disappointment. Hardly ever worked sufficiently and very slow and/or kept cutting off. I missed having soap and shampoo in the bathrooms, maybe some mini soaps and shower gels put out would be a nice touch.

    Location is fab, next to the underground station. I've had a room with a wonderful view to the Gellert Hill, Buda Castle, Halaszbastya and Keleti Train station. Every night I was amazed at the city's light shining brightly. The staff were helpful every time I asked for any help. My room was tidied and cleaned daily, fresh towels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were rather uncomfortable - the springs in the mattresses we protruding and pushing, and as they did not support the body, we basically spent all nights in an uncomfortable bent position. The room was very hot even when the heating was off. Every night, we had to sleep with the window open. Normally, this would not be such a problem if it were not for the very busy dual-lane road just next to the hotel. The road is extremely noisy, and I guess a hospital must be nearby because we could hear ambulances throughout every night. The noise was distressing and annoying as it really was not just a distant hum but rather an immediate roar of cars. The bathroom did not match my expectations for a 4-star hotel. It was tiny and rather worn. The hotel is located just on one of the Metro 2 stations which is extra handy. On the other hand, it is not in a walking distance to the city center so one really has to take advantage of the Metro. So the location is both an advantage and disadvantage, depending on one’s preferences. All in all, the hotel was not what I would expect from a 4-star hotel, and the price/performance ratio was not satisfactory.

    The restaurant was the brightest point - the food was very good, tasty, yet reasonably priced, and the staff was very friendly and pleasant. Breakfast choice was more than satisfactory and the food was very good. The hotel is located just on one of the Metro 2 stations which is extra handy. On the other hand, it is not in a walking distance to the city center so one really has to take advantage of the Metro. So the location is both an advantage and disadvantage, depending on one’s preferences.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast 10 eur, not worth it. should be included in the price. better go eat elsewhere. cleaning in the common area is lacking attention.

    best location to go to the sports arena nearby. room was ok, nothing bad, nothing special. there is a pool and gym area which is quite nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked our accomodation via booking but unfortunately they asked for deposit. This was the most terrible thing i heard and the breakfast did not include different things.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A expensive item of mine was left in the room by mistake. I contacted the hotel immediately from Budapest airport,which was within a hour of leaving the hotel. I offered to pay for the return of them by post. Sadly someone with access to the room had taken them to keep for themselves, as they weren’t found in the wardrobe where I had left them. Very disappointed that there is dishonest & untrustworthy persons working in the hotel. The attitude from the hotel was very uncaring & not bothered. Yes my mistake, but I will definitely be more careful about trusting staff in hotels. ☹️

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unpolite Staff at the reception upon arrival. Staff was talking to each other without any welcome. We have to wait until they finish their conversation. Weak interest. However, each day someone from the Staff open And quickly close our room without any words-sorry to interupt you or knocking on the door. We were inside Ánd we felt really unconfortable. That cannot happen. Bad experience.

    Close to the stadium. Just a few steps. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - I got terribly bitten by some insect! (6th floor) - My colleague gas ants on the room (1st floor) and problem with heating - too cold - Whole hotel is in style of fake wooden decor, all single colored - breakfast was with coffee from powder, juice from postmix, no toaster, some weird jogurt salty - = salads, some could enjoy that, but not my case. Cereals was the cheapest one with lot of sugar.

    Hotel is near Metro station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought breakfast was already included in my booking

    Elegance of the staff, comfortable room. In front of the Arena, very important cause I've had to see a concert there. Just around the hotel, turning left towards the metro station ond going on, you may try Langos, a Hungarian food. Delicious and cheap.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    by booking was written - free parking place for your car in front of a hotel. Hotel is huge and has only a 15 parking places, so surprise - u come after long jurney and they tell you - you don´t have park place and search by yourself or - pay in near stadion Arena underground parking -15 Eur per day - so near it is not, if you have to carry a lot of stuff...It would be more honest to write - maybe there is no way to park your car at the hotel parking place...it was visible - all guests are nervous from parking...

    nice big clean room and bathroom - we were with 3 dogs, kind person at reception - which was looking for bigger room due to bigger number of a dogs, good lunch and dinner at hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have a water boiler with cups and spoon in the room, but no tea, no coffe are provided: Am I supposed to walk with tea and coffe filters in my pocket when I go to a “4” star hotel? The breakfast choice is not wide, and the bathroom is rather cheap and shabby.

    This is not a bad hotel but obiously this is not a 4 star hotel either regarding the interior, services, bathroom etc. The rooms are cosy and the beds are ok. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom... small and old

    Good breakfast, great location. The fitness room and pool is a good facilities for the hotel and this is open from 6:30 am. Staff is very kind and helpful. But they had some problems with calculation. :) Good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    horrible cigarrete smell in the room even it's non smoking room. Kettle and cups for coffee or tea available but coffee or tea bags not available! then became uselles

    close to arena,good to whom wants attend concerts

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Building shows it's age. Bath / Toilets are small. Try to book double bed rooms. I'm 6.2" (188cm) we stayed in a twin bed are room. Bed was small for me.

    Location is great. Metro station is just a few meters away. Very close to city center , just 4 stations away. Room rates are great. Lidl discount market is 10 minutes by walk. Papp Laszlo concert arena is just 5 minutes by walk. Great options for street food around hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar closes at 11pm. We asked the barman at 11:15pm, if we could take 2 bottles of beers to the room, he said "cashier is already closed"...

    Bed and pillow comfy, breakfast amazing, good wifi, easy access by subway and airport bus (direct bus). Best location for concerts/events in the Papp Laszlo Budapest Arena (2 minutes to entrance).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start: 1. Check-in: the most rude and the worst check-in ever. Should be ashamed of their staff: no greeting (except the bell boy), no communication - I told her I wanted the invoice madr on my company, shed said OK and then made it on my personal name. When I said it was wrong she started swearing!!!(f....k-it, but in hungarian - bosomeg), yes, I know a few worda and my wife is hungarian!, swearing and told me I will get it at check-out. I asked for a piece of paper to write down my company details and tried to explain them to her but she dismissed me, saying that she knows. Guess what, at check-out the invoice was still wrong! And then I had to deal with yet another gentleman who was annoyed by my request and, it appeared, their it software. Terrible, awful experience! 2. Room: dirty toilet seat when we arrived, fridge was not working (broken) and it smelled like something had died in that fridge for at least 12 months. Shower cap was spilling, no drain in the bath and it got full of water after a shower, the morning the maid tried to enter the room at around 9 and without knocking, which was awful, especially since it was check-out day. 3. Breakfast: poor variety, poor taste. At 9:58, althouh the room was full, the staff started taking away the food and clearing the tables. Nice hospitability right there!

    Location, it was the main reason for choosing it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, great price, great spa and beauty service. The rooms are big and comfortable. The staff were very kind. Special thanks to Daniel the receptionist who helped us with a smile even at 3 o'clock in the morning when we needed him. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff so rude !!! Waited over half an hour in the restaurant to be told the Kitchen was closed.Asked for the Manager he said it's not his Problem!!! We said the waitress didn't come to take our order he said not his Problem!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 1 pillow each? 2 would be great!

    This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel but this time our room had a balcony which was great and the view over the city was fabulous! Although there was a free car park advertised there were no spaces left so we had to park in the arena car park next door but it was only 1500fts for 24 hours so we were quite happy with this.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sounds isolation of the walls are bad, could actually hear the neighbour taking a piss one floor above. one of the beds' frame was squeaking badly. gym is straight outta 90s. tap in the bathroom is rusty however the bathroom was clean overall, a new toilet brush would be appreciated though.

    35 eur per night is a pretty good deal for a hotel bed in Budapest. if you see that price available and you need 1 or 2 nights, go for it. downtown is literally 10-15 minutes by public transport, underground 1 minute away on foot. comfy pillows.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A double room was 2 single beds put together, not what you want on a romantic break, I couldn't sleep as I was worried about ending up down the gap.

    I like staying at danubius hotels, know what you can expect, free gym and swimming pool use with your stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee in the lobby is a bit overpriced and quality is average. Too soft mattress. It is close to metro station on the traffic hub - so it is a bit noisy place.

    Nice and helpful staff. Good pool and sauna. Pool area would need a little upgrade. Not really clean. Price was fair and reasonable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful in terms of giving some tips of where to go to eat even in late times and were very friendly the whole time! The sauna and indoor pool came very handy as it is winter time!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be good to have an information package about hotel facilities and opening hours etc.. Also some advertising leaflets/ tourist booklets for visitors. Perhaps options to buy hop on hop off tickets.

    Great location, only a few metro stops from the center. Metro station is right outside of the building. I also loved the spa facilities. Friendly and helpful staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no jacuzzi like on the photos,and sauna programs disturb your possibility to use it when you want.

    Value for the money was good. Pool and sauna are ok. Gym perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fire alarm were on for 90 minute during the night without any fire or announcement or anything. I had my 4 years old sleeping so I was not sure what was going on. In the morning there were no apologies nothing and when I asked for compensation of course I was told no. ALl I wanted was a warm welcome in the morning and huge apology. Never happened.

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was to small, the gap between beds was spreading easily, and I asked for one queen bed. Huge hotel with a few parking spaces in front, and they have a garage in the back that they charge for.

    The stuff spoke good english

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bad to terrible Wi-Fi functioning properly from time to time. No available parking AT ALL - had to park nearby. Pool appropriate for max 6-8 people ( hotel have by my estimate 200+ guests ). Hotel policy on dinner - private party!! arranged in hotel dinning area, and dinner available only for groups, uninterested staff at coffee shop. Were disturbed day before leaving for mini-bar control ( why?! ) without even asking to come in from polite lady, she just knocked on the door and went right into the room despite me laying on bed in underwear and our daughter trying to fall asleep.

    Solid location - distant from centre but right at the Puskas Ferenc stadium and metro which bring you to city center in less then 10 mins. Daily change of towels and cleanliness in general are at very good level. Gym was good. Breakfast unimpressive with very little variety during our stay, well below a standard for a hotel with 4 stars.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Blankets could be little longer. It is a big hotel, so dont expect that it is always silent. Depends on the people in the neighbor-rooms. Internet is little poor and does not always work.

    Nice staff. Very close to Metro. Nice swimming-pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Danubius Hotel Arena traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: