Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Star City Hotel 3 stars

1078 Budapest, István utca 14, Hungary

#232 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 837 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Twin room is in fact two connected small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cups and plates could be cleaner. Insufficient lighting. There was only one dim florescent lamp in the room in worst possible location. The shower cabin did not close tightly.

    Twin room is in fact two connected small rooms. Good location close to center and next to trolleybus stops.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    2.5
    Smells and looks like an old hospital
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures are deceiving, it doesn’t look like that, a lot of noise also, similar to a hostel, we paid for 3 nights but checked out after 1 night. The place looks and smells like an old hospital, definitely not 3 stars. Very bad experience overall. Before booking we read a lot if reviews, didn’t imagine it would be like that.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    The location, price and quality of the hotel is excellent for travellers on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the beds a little uncomfortable and lacking pillows. I also disliked that the room keys are old fashioned and are left with the receptionist but can also understand it. Lastly, the street is fairly noisy during the night and morning. However, these are personal dislikes of mine. The hotel itself is very good value for money and is between 20-30 minutes walk from the city centre. I would encourage people to consider this hotel for first time travellers to Budapest.

    The size of the rooms and the shower pressure/temperature.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel in the center of Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is situated in the center of Budapest, location is very convenient- You can go on foot to Heroes square, zoo, bath, it’s about 1.5km, next to the hotel is railway station Keleti, subway and Arena mall. Rooms were clean, breakfast was acceptable, staff was perfect - they resolved any request, huge thanks for taxi reservation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Star City Hotel is a very modern and very comfortable hotel to stay. The staff are wonderful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wish there was more variety with the breakfast eggs and muffins and pancakes.

    Yes the rooms are very spacious with enough leg room and rooms always made up nicely !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    All in all, excellent value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was most helpful and spoke English fluently. The rooms were impeccably clean and the breakfast plentiful. The hotel is quite near the Central Station and hence, a good choice for anybody who travels by rail (I myself arrived/departed from the airport & had great assistance from the hotel staff in ordering taxis).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bed had a hard matrass.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly! Nice with two rooms when we asked for twin beds😊Not far from railwaystation and Metro.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    All the staff was polite and friendly!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a change always better to have some tea and coffee making facilities in the room..little away from the city centre!

    All the staff was polite and friendly! Room was spacious, clean and comfortable! Surely value for money!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very nice. Liked the wall paper. No kettle, but I took my own. The hotel has a guest of the day &. that was us, when we arrived at our room there was a bottle for Champagne & 2 glasses. 🍸☺

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't as great as it could of been.

    I love how my twin room was, it was 2 ajoining rooms together. I didn't expect that! It was lovely and very good value for money!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.3
    Good, only if you need a place to sleepover with a small breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The flooring or the carpet was soiled in the corridor which looked awful. The ambience not so pleasing inside the hotel.

    The room was good. Good connection to local transport. Bus Stop right in front of the hotel and metro 5 mins walk.The staff was helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Very good place for that price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location between Városliget and Pest city center - everithing is very close to the hotel, e.g. Andrássy út, jewish district pubs and bars and more, Nyugati and Keleti railway stations, etc. Helpfull staff on 24/7 reception, adequate breakfast for that money. I dont have any objections and I can only recommand this place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Honest hotel, a good option quality/price duo to the location near the transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very short in options

    The location was very good, near the transportation, and the the women employee of the night was amazing, helping us with information and with great availability

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Awesome stay with nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like the place of the hotel situated which is near to Metro/train/bus/tram stations. Staff is very polite and very helpful in giving information about the places. Thanks a lot for star city hotel. Hope I will visit again your hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    The property is located near by Keleti station where you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as you enter the room’s Hotel you can notice actually it is about an old Hotel! The Hotel was renovated but the rooms need to get painted since the walls were a bit dirty. As for the breakfast in overall we were satisfied comparing with the price we payed but it is a standard one.

    The property is located near by Keleti station where you have connections for city center. The staff is very polite. 👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced and a bit old
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and tight. Although they have a no-smoking policy the room smelled tobacco at check-in. Maybe the maid smoked.. . They didn't clean our room one day and also didn't change the towels . Someone ( don't know who) knocked at 9 o clock and as we were still in bed hadn't returned to clean that day. Keep in mind we were there as tourists... That was very rude. The tv remote didn't work . They had only Hungarian programmes. The fridge was very noisy ...That made sleep impossible.

    The staff was very helpful, the breakfast was decent. The location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    It is cheap and you have breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double bed and got a room with separate beds. That was the only negative part of our stay

    It is cheap and you have breakfast included. The room was ok. I would recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Not recommendaed with the kids, Breakfast is not good at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is not child friendly mainly the lift/elevator. Not having the sensor, too dangerous for kids. Breakfast is below average. Served the same beakfast for days during the stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.8
    The breakfast buffet was quite variegated, although they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room I was initially allocated was extremely small and I was so disappointed because it was not what I had seen in the photos in your website. But the next day I was given the key to another bigger room, so it was ok.

    The breakfast buffet was quite variegated, although they didn't refill the trays and sometimes the item you were looking for was no longer available. Most of the staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Nice hotel, co-operative staff and must visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air condition should be in on status based on the timing.

    Air conditioning was not good. Due to this, the room was stuffy. Still I rate this hotel best.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    Overall the experience was just like we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room view was horrible, since there was a wall right in front of the windows (the windows can be opened, which is a plus). The staff circulating in the breakfast room was as a bit slow, so sometimes some things could use a refillment.

    The location is a bit far away from city center, but it is near the Keleti train station and the bus stop is in front of the entrance of the hotel. With subway you can easily and quickly go to city center and other city sights. The reception staff was very kind and friendly. The outside elevator is a really nice touch. :) The room was huge and clean, the heating was great. They gave us handy smartphone which was a really useful thing for exploring city. :) The breakfast was good, every day the same, but for a 3night stay, it is okay. 24h reception, great thing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    The staff was helpful, great Wi-Fi and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor, the bathroom wasn't cleaned not even once during our 4 day stay. Way below 3 star hotel.

    The staff was helpful, great Wi-Fi and good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Comfy and quiet sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a minor miscommunication: Earlier we request for late checkout and got approved. However, there’s no record and every staff has to ask me once again. Otherwise everything’s fine.

    They provide chicken/pork liver paste/spread, that is something exotic and special for breakfast for foreigners. Staffs are friendly, location is great, room is spacious and WiFi is awesome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money but they need to improve breakfast and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms was a little bit outdated. The bed was really bad so I got back pain next morning. Also, heating was not working in bathroom. I told this to reception but no one fix this. Since it February, it was pretty cold in bathroom. Also, breakfast was OK for that price but if you came to breakfast after 08:30, nobody will fill plates with eggs or sausages. So, this must be improved. Also, staff in restaurant was invisible. In one moment at 9am (breakfast is till 10am), there was no glasses, warm food, no water and no knifes and forks... so this was really bad.

    Staff at reception desk was very polite and helpful. We got Handy smartphone in the room and this was really nice surprise because we got 4G internet with us so we could use it anywhere in the city during our stay. Location is good but far from metro station. Best WiFi internet in Budapest, working perfectly in whole hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Spacious, nice, comfortable and extra value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The juice served at breakfast is not tasty at all, same for the coffee (tastes like instant coffee, but it's made with a machine) * With such a nice hotel it's a bit inconvenient leaving the keys every time I left the hotel; also my identity was never checked (a bit more attention needed at night time) when I asked for the key, just the room number was enough * The room needs a central switch next to the bed to turn off the main lights

    It is very comfortable to connect the airport to the hotel, room was very spacious, with enough towels, very clean, very affordable products offered in the fridge of the room, 24hs reception with a nice lobby and coffee and soft drinks to get at reception, excellent shower and comfortable beds, very well warmed up in cold Budapest * Also a smartphone is left at the room with recommendations for tourists * Breakfast with good cold and warm options * Staff was excellently kind

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    The room was so warm, neat and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was so warm, neat and tidy. The breakfasts were nice. Rooms can get a bit too warm for winter, so we asked to have the indoor central heating turned off which the staff agreed to. The staff was helpful. The hotel is really close to Kelety train station, so even though not near the old citadel and point of interests, it makes travelling easier.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Value for money is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money is awesome. Very clean and comfy room. We had huge bathroom. Breakfast is the same everyday but you have options so for few days its ok. It's 30 minute walk from the Danube, but we were there by car so we went by foot sometimes, sometimes by car. It's a quite neighbourhood. Staff is very polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    We were very happy to stay there, the staff is very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy to stay there, the staff is very friendly and helping) it was very pleasant to find champagne in our room, as we were chosen to be guests of the day, and the room was bigger than we had expected, I asked two separate beds, but we even got two rooms, one with a single bed, the second with a double bed! And it was rather spacious, and much bigger than usual room for 2 people, we very very pleased! Breakfasts are tasty, and as we had an early flight we got breakfast box with us, and it was very good breakfast with two huge sandwiches, two buns, an apple and a juice) so, we advise staying there;)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    6.3
    Low cost city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiter doesn’t speak English, closes dinning room early, breakfast is poor, furniture is old, room with no view, you see a wall.

    Friendly receptionists, big rooms, good WiFi, free street parking in weekend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    3.3
    Uncomfortable beds, raw scrambled egg at breakfast, bedrooms boiling hot and you can't turn off. I r
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds, raw scrambled egg at breakfast, bedrooms boiling hot and you can't turn off. I requested a double bed and got too singles. No tea or coffee facilities. NEVER AGAIN!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room for a single through booking is usually the same one (three times now). While adequately appointed, it is quite small. Fine for me for a night or two, but know your own space needs. What I do like is the price for this single through booking was considerably less than what was most likely a more spacious single booked direct from the hotel.

    Star is very close to Keleti train station so very convenient. The breakfast is standard buffet style and fare for this part of the world and replenished frequently until about a half an hour before it ends. The staff has consistently been helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    4.6
    You get what you pay for - did the trick, but not the place to stay for luxury or romantic weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms super hold and it would be nice to have highlighted that no bathroom extras are including (towels yes, but nothing else)

    It is a cheap hotel, so you do get what you pay for here - It is a little too far downtown and getting really into the heart (if walking) is a little trek - but Budapest is so beautiful, it was a nice walk. Clean / rooms / bed - just a little outdated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    6.7
    Reasonable hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room is particularly small. Heating on full blast in room with bed right next to the radiator. Room was a bit scruffy around the edges but it was cheap.

    Good location for main Keleti station. Good, different selection at breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.8
    Average stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No kettle in all the room!! There are some to share but during our stay of 5 days could not get one!! Same breakfast menu. Though we had confirmation about airport pick up, no one did show up. This happened twice in 3 days and just cannot be a coincidence. Despite the language barrier,front desk staff were helpful

    Location, Location and Location!!There are good places to eat in the vicinity and tourists spots are easy to commute.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    3.8
    The hotel is very old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old. Everything is old fasion.. the doors are old and they use old keys for the doors..it is very noisy in the mornings and the floor has alot of stains that makes it look dirty. I was alone so they gave me really small room it was not comfortable at all.. the guy at the reception was not nice at all. He always gave me strange looks like he didn’t like me. The breakfast is aweful. The location was good it was 5 mins walk from the metro station but the nighberhood is not really nice place to walk in the night. Not worth the money! They have this strange elevator which is somehow out sidebthe bulding so you would freeze if you use it (in winter) and it is made of mirror-glass so it hurts your eyes when you use it at night! Not recommended

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.1
    Normal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very disipointed, when I reached hotel and noticed that there is no parking for the customers, but on the Booking.com was written that there is special parking for the guests for FREE , so I spend a lot of time and around 20 euro for parking! Booking.com please contact me regarding this issue ???

    The room was very clean! Breakfast was normal as every where.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Great staff and breakfast had a good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room needed a bit of modernising

    Very helpful staff, good range for breakfast. Rooms were large as was the bathroom. Good location as close to railway station but about 15 minute walk into main centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice, budget hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area is not the best after dark. The carpets are full of stains and gives the impression of a dirty room (however it was OK)

    The staff was awesome and the room was clean generally.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    Close to train station, easy access from the Great Synagogue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very small, difficult to have luggage open. No hooks in toilet, no place to put towels and clothes. TV remote didn't work

    Close to train station, easy access from the Great Synagogue. Breakfast included, helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.8
    Accomodation near to public transport and city center with low standard
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard of the hotel was not matching the 3 stars and price over 100 Euro for night. Facilities here quite old, carpet and walls in the room and on the corridor where covered with old stains and dirt. Room was quite dark and unpleasant.

    The staff was very nice and localization near metro and railway station was very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    The best place to stay in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good stay! Everything was excellent, especially breakfast. Staff was professional and friendly. Rooms are clean and cozy. Location is good, but it was not easy to get here from the airport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.5
    Am satisfied with this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely small. it was a one person room that I booked and that was exactly what I got but I did not get a table or a small place to make tea and coffee. The location was close to the main train station but very far from the center where things happen so you have got to take a metro but the metro stop is a little bit of a walk, lets say around 7 minutes walk. Maybe there is a closer one that I did not see.

    The room is nice and is air conditioned. The staff are efficient. The wifi worked well and fast. The price was fair. The hotel is modern.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect situation in Budapest. Quiet safe street near the big keleti train station, 15 min walk to the city center and 5 min walk to the park for jogging. Incredible low room price for the quality offered. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.3
    Nice short stay with good quality-price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite large, but the decor very outdated. And it didn´t feel confident in the cleanness of the bed sheets... but okay. Strange bathroom, but okay also.

    The breakfast was better than I was expecting and there was a bus stop at the door of the hotel. Minimarkets nearby. Good for 1 night and quality-price ratio. Good wifi and kind service at the reception desk

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.1
    Opinion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had many towels but 2 were very yellow (like dirty), even if we let that towel on the floor they didn't replace it.

    The breakfast was very good. Friendly stuff, the baggage room is a plus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.4
    Curatenie
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a double twin room for 2 persons , but they gave a room with 2 small room each with a small bed , for 1 person. They didn t whant to change it! Breakfest very poor. The hotel has non parking. We parked exactly in the front of the hotel and for 1 night we payd fine at the police. The hotel did not say that we have no right to park there more than 2 houres

    Curatenie

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel for every pocket
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning was working, but for a weather like this and temperature it was working too weak.

    We've chosen this hotel because of the locatization and price. The neighborhood was safe (we were walking in the middle of the night and nothing bad has ever happened to us), local people was very friendly and helpful even tho their English was not good. If it comes to hotel itself - personel was very friendly and professional. Room was very cozy and clean, bed was just amazing - so big and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price of the room, everyday there were the same things to eat but it is not a problem at all, especially for the hotel with prices like this - it was so delicious, fresh and there is a lot of things to choose from. To sum up - for a price like this, quality of services and location it is a dream hotel to stay in Budapest. We are already thinking of visiting Budapest in October and we will definitely choose this hotel again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    5.0
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was incredibly tiny ! Not even room for a desk or chair. No shampoo or soap in the shower.

    Situated a 5 minute walk from the central train station. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was free but mediocre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    The room was fitting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fitting. Loved the free breakfast! Location was close to the train station and walkable to a bathhouse in Budapest. Staff was knowledgeable and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    6.7
    Smell :) and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is not that safe and inside this hotel looks like old hospital. We'd like a wider variety of food for the breakfast. Couldn't wash our clothes. It looks better on the pictures

    Smell :) and cleanliness. Breakfast was ordinary and staff was helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.3
    perfect location with easy reach of the trains buses and trams
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    found the room small for two people which left room for only 1 chair and the bed was against the wall which was very inconvenient

    the lifts to the upper floors were efficient and then staff were very friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice backstreet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out was a faff whilst the maid verified I'd not raided the minibar.

    Bit off the main drag this place is a gem. Nice room, good shower and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning of shower was poor, moquette was full of dust. In the room is possible to hear noise coming from the walls. The air conditioning did not work at all and the heating was terribly noisy due to the hot water in the pipeline and the very old system. Due to the low quality and poor service provided, the room shlould cost at least half of the current price. The towels were not changed every day. The coffee and the cappuccino, made by the automatic machine, were undrinkable.

    Fortunately at least Budapest is a very nice city!!! Wifi connection and TV were good. The blond girl receptionist was really kind. Bread, cheese and scrambled eggs were tasty.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge is not working The a/c is not working properly either. At times, it could be a bit warm inside the room

    Location. I also liked the bed that it is really a double bed. Not just two single beds that were put together. Water pressure is also good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Everything was excellent , staff very friendly , nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes wifi doesn't work but its not that important after all we were all day out

    Everything was excellent , staff very friendly , nice location close to keleti metro station , very spacious clean and beautiful room , tasty breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    The best hotel in Budapest :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Close to Keleti Train Station but in a quiet area. Very comfortable bed. Delicious breakfast. Great staff. Absolutely perfect. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    7.5
    Interesting choice - if you don't find another one
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room door wasn't closing properly (no208); the air conditioner wasn't working at all; weak breakfast choices - same products every morning (we stayed 4 nights); too small breakfast room - we had to whait for other people to finish their breakfast to get a table

    The staff was great, clean rooms, good water pressure, acceptable wi-fi

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    8.3
    Staying at Star City Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was very comfortable, from the reception to the bedrooms, you felt more or less at home. Our bedroom was actually a lot bigger than we thought it would be, so that was a nice surprise. It was very clean and tidy, the bathroom was small and had a shower only, but apart from feeling disappointed with the hotel of not offering shampoo/shower-gel/soap, it was enough for me and my boyfriend. The breakfast wasn't a 5 star hotel obviously, but it was good enough for the prize we payed for our 4 nights stay. It had a little bit of everything you usually find in hotels breakfast and I really enjoyed the coffee. Staff were friendly from our arrival till the end, and helped us with the public transport for the airport. We really enjoyed our stay there and would definitely go back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    Amazing service, very clean rooms, great location - clise to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing service, very clean rooms, great location - clise to the metrostation. There is also a free parking near the hotel which was recommended to us by the receptionists. Thank you! It was great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.9
    great location, warm, good breakfast, friendly staff, price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old furniture, weak WiFi, dirty carpets, old crt tv with a few channels and broken remote control

    great location, warm, good breakfast, friendly staff, price

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    7.9
    Conveniently close to sights, for example, Heroes' Square, park and museums, and railway station,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Scrambled eggs not to my taste as they were not served hot. The steamer does not keep the eggs hot enough. Fresh fruit selection wasn't always topped up - bananas would be a nice addition. It would be helpful to have English translation for the coffee selection.

    Location ideal for these travellers who visit BP regularly to visit son and family. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Hotel breakfast selection pretty good. Bread and cereal selection good. Fresh fruit. Yoghourt - plain and flavoured.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    9.2
    AMAZONG VALUE FOR VERY LITTLE AMOUNT OF MONEY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak wifi connection. The carpets in the rooms could be cleaner. Other than these 2 factors our whole stay was amazing. They don't affect our whole impression of the hotel,they are not important factors.

    Very helpful staff, always willing to serve us. In spite of the fact that we arrived to the hotel earlier than expected,they checked us in the hotel for a very low price. The check in was at 14:00 but we checked in at 02:00 a.m. Instead of providing us a double bed room(which we booked) they game us a triple bed room completely free of charge without paying the difference of the price of the tripe and double room. The breakfast was unexpectedly perfect with a lot of quality and quantity. The rooms were big,the beds were comfy and the batrooms were clean. A room service was provided every morning. The cost of our stay for 6 nights was EXTREMELY cheap and it was definitely "value for money".

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.2
    Apart from the rush to finish breakfast everything and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was cleaned up while I was still eating (at 9:50).

    Apart from the rush to finish breakfast everything and everybody else was great. As a returning guest this is one of my favourite hotels in the city.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    9.2
    Repeatedly accomodated in this hotel, I was very satisfied...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In some rooms, the wi-fi signal is weak, at the door you still have it, 2 meters more and no signal anymore.

    Repeatedly accomodated in this hotel, I was very satisfied again. Close to everything, a nice staff, the cleaning ladies do their job very well.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did get very hot at night, even though the heating wasn't on.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Happy to answer any questions. The hotel it's self was clean and tidy. Breakfast had a good continental selection.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    6.3
    ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    WIFI very low! no refrigerator. very small bathroom....shower very very small! very weak water stream. on family room for 4 adults + 1 child there was one closet... one bathroom. the things i wrote to the hotel before we arrived werent complited (no child bad, normal view and connect 2 beds in each room to one doucle bad). view are trouble... to old peeling building . 10 min walk to the metro. very very poor breakfast,the same everyday! on one morning a lot of the food werent at all and no one of the staff came to refill.there was nothing to eat! there werent place to sit.

    the staff very nice! 2 station at the metro to the center.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    Second stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On one day our shower wasn't cleaned.

    This was the second we stayed here. The hotel location is ideal for use of public transport, being a few minutes from train and metro stations, but getting to castle hill requires use of the metro. The main restaurant area is a short walk away. Breakfast was very good, and constantly replenished, even as it started to draw to and end. The room was well provided and the bed comfortable. The receptionists were friendly and keen to help.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Staffs are very kind, they help me with printing issues and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs are very kind, they help me with printing issues and if you have any question, you can ask them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Great desk clerk and it had an elevator!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Filthy carpet in hall. Just about had to crawl into bed it was so low.

    Great desk clerk and it had an elevator!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Receptionist are friendly and the location is good for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist are friendly and the location is good for the shops,restaurants and tours. The breakfast is excellent and room is cozy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Really nice hotel in the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The remote controller was wrong, and there were only a few channel.

    Comfortable bed, polite stuff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Rooms were clean,good breakfast and the hotel is very near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were clean,good breakfast and the hotel is very near Keleti station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Everything was a little better than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Missed a place to sit outside for coffee, wine, etc.

    Very nice staff, helpful. Very large rooms, good beds. Breakfast OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    It was a pleasent stay, everything was as described.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, missed a place to sit outside for coffee, wine, etc.

    Very large rooms, good beds. Breakfast OK. Very helpful staff. No traffic noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Air con
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: