Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Szidónia Manor House 4 stars

9451 Röjtökmuzsaj, Röjtöki út 37., Hungary

#1 of 1 hotels in Röjtökmuzsaj

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 359 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was excellent in terms of the friendliness of the staff. Everyone was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought we were getting a larger more elegant room because of the picture on the site where we booked. We also thought we would have a view of the garden so we were a bit disappointed in that respect. The evening meal of duck was not great. The duck was not tender and juicy. The grilled tuna dinner was delicious.

    We loved dining on a wonderful terrace. The jazz music during breakfast was phenomenal!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Most enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were friendly, courteous, and helpful. We went there during the week and it was quiet and peaceful. The waiter, Csaba, was especially helpful in choosing meals and very informative of surrounding areas and what to see. The hotel has chosen well with Csaba! Coffee, tea, water, and reading material available pool side.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    5.8
    Nice spa and lobby, disappointing room and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had the room in the main building and it was great disappointment. Firstly we wanted to book a room in annex building, then upgraded to the main building, just to be sure, there will be enough light in the room (I hate dark rooms, feel bad there). Unfortunately, we were given room 127, which has one window in the bathroom - so if you want to spent your time there, the bathroom is amazing. Unfortunately, the only window in the room could not give it enough light. I give it a try to change, but was obviously not assertive enough. . There was even no sofa, as it is declared in the booking offer. I found out next day, that the quality of rooms in the main building is unbalanced. I have seen 4 in the main building and 2 in annex (when they were making them up) and my conclusion is, that part of the rooms in the main building is definitely not worth the money at all :/, and should be downgraded. (So you have reference - I am comparing it to the historic hotels we have been to in Slovakia (Tomasov, Bela, Liptovsky Hradok, Tatranska Lomnica) and all of them are better and most of them even for better price. So this is the reason, I was so disappointed.) The another disappointment was restaurant. We took lunch there when we came and never come back. My husband had veal "paprikas" - the meat was stiff and dark (was that veal?) and no juice. I have aglio olio spagheti - the pasta itself had awful taste and they put there fresh paprika so you could feel only that ugly pasta and paprika. Breakfast buffet is at the level of week 4star (or good 3*) There are two small deficiencies in spa - there is nothing to cool down after sauna in the sauna area (there are only massage showers, but they are warm) - you have to go to regular shower in the pool area. Is not far away, but just a small inconvenience. The other thing is, that many people comes to saunas in swimming suits and there is nobody from the staff to remind them.

    We loved the lobby - wooden, nicely decorated, view to the park, big leather armchairs and a fireplace. We sit there every evening few hours with a wine and books. Saturday night there was even a piano-player! Spa is pretty big, with large indoor pool with nice view to the park. There are enough camp-beds around. There are 4 saunas, two of them (finish and steam bath) were working and were nicely heated, another two were switched off (infra and another finish). Sauna area is nicely decorated. There are 5 camp-bads with the vies to the park. In winter, you can go out to the adjacent teraccess, either from sauna or pool area. Mostly people are staying by the pool, so the sauna area did not feel crowded, though the hotel was fully booked. The castle is surrounded by a park, with an outdoor pool, I can imagine it could be very pleasant be there in summer. The park itself is not maintained perfectly, but it did not mattered to me, it gives a nice feeling anyway.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Give it a try!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Luxuriant vegetation and own property's pond translate into a lot of wild life sometimes reaching the room (bugs, mosquitos etc.). Some areas will require some renovation works in the nearby future. Still holding on but.. Carpet floor had a strong smell coming probably from a past flood/water leakage, but progressively it diminished over the days.

    Really imposing manor, with a lot of recreational activities for adults and young ones (billiard, table tennis, basketball, field tennis, volleyball, chess, board games, indoor&outdoor swimming pool etc.). Very nice restaurant (amazing service and food), excellent spa area, lavish park area as part of the domain, large rooms, fireplace with leather armchairs etc..We were pampered and fostered in an aristocratic manner!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    The castle has very attractive and long garden, pleasant for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the breakfast is good, but the variety is limited.

    The castle has very attractive and long garden, pleasant for walking. The dinner at the restaurant was very delicious. The room in the main building was nice and warm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    This is a great place to stay if you want a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about this place.

    This is a great place to stay if you want a quiet environment. Located in a tiny, quiet village surrounded by farms, with immaculately kept grounds featuring ponds and fountains. The pool and spa facilities are excellent. Great bar/lounge area with a working fireplace. Rooms are nice and classically decorated. If you want a peaceful, romantic weekend, I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    The good model that gentle smiles of staffs make the hotel value two times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    We always could meet many smiles of the receptionist and staff. Its beautiful garden area was like a public park where we could take a walk repeatedly. Three nights stay here brought us recovery from tiredness by our long-long journey, started in June from Japan.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel in the middle of anywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner is too expensive and the portions are small. The church bells awoke up us early at the morning. The breakfast was good , but not something special - too regular. We was expected for more choice. ( vegetables etc )

    Very large rooms. Service perfect. Nice building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Very nice, quiet castle hotel to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The church bells at 6 a.m. next to the hotel are very unique way of waking somebody up :) Our bed was a bit creaky.

    The hotel is very nice, the room is spacious in the second building. The park is huge with different sports fields (basketball, wolleyball, tennis) and an outdoor pool. The wellness part is quite nice also, with a view to the park.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Living like the Esterhazys
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gorgeous from the moment one drives through the gates to the moment one drives out. The room was beautiful and reminiscent of Esterhazy Palace. Breakfast can be eaten outside. Thanks to Ester, Laszlo and especially Gabor for rescuing us from an annoying situation with our car. You were most sympathetic to our mini crisis.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful building, with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lack of warm water pool in the spa. Breakfast was delicious but nothing special. Some extra could have been added: eg: almond milk, cakes, champaigne, fresh made omletts, etc.

    Staff was very kind and helpful. The lobby is beautiful. The spa is ok, because it is not busy but a jacuzzy or a warm water pool would be great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Magical get away
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * Fee for pet is pretty high 20,- € per night. We were thankful to receive a small discount bec. we brought a small puppy ;) * We understand that some restaurants do not allow dogs - but it was a surprise that our puppy as not allowed to come into restauramt area ;(

    We loved absolutely everything, location, food, room was small but very clean. Great continental breakfast & excellent food! The staff was very friendly & helpful. The park is beautiful, quiet & big, spa area clean and modern. Great play ground for children, also small swimming pool for kids. We loved this place so much that we will be recommending to others and will be back there soon.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Peaceful quiet excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are some minor changes at the spa - I would like to suggest to use it at its full potential - using the rooms to enhance maximum relaxation for the guests, like please consider not to put the hairdresser right next to a therapy room.

    Thank you for this wonderfully relaxing stay - again. We feel very welcome and at home every time we return. We love the garden and the food improved to excellence during the past couple of years. The band on the 30th December was an excellent choice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    9.6
    Had a great time there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was too soft and uncomfortable.

    Nice building and surrounding; good quality, tasty food; friendly, helpful staff. Wellness area was also great. Rooms were spacious and clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.6
    The staff people were really nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound-proofing of the rooms needs to be improved.

    The staff people were really nice and helpful. The castle, the rooms and the wellness areas are beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Unforgettable relaxing time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not really clear that you do not wear swimwear in the sauna area. At the swimming pool you do. Maybe more beds and a quiet room in the sauna area would be nice.

    Very nice personal. Great breakfast.Very quiet and lovely manor.Very beautiful garden.Very flexible personal.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Holidaying at its best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Szidzonia Manor was so good that we came back for a second stay. The Manor is beautiful with lovely large rooms, spacious park gardens to walk in as well as indoor and outdoor pools to relax and so much more. The staff, service and facilities are excellent. We felt as if we were the lord of the Manor!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    K
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room need some.renovation. bed too old.

    Nice place. Kind staff but need to be more effective.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Short but wonderfull
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautifull hotel in a very quiet village. House is surrounded by a wondefull garden, very pretty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Spring stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Beautifull hotel with professional service and kindly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    This was our third stay here and we will come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was our third stay here and we will come again. We love the place!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    La belle époque!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    .

    Magnificent park, nice staff, very pretty common areas. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.3
    The quietness and the ambience
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quietness and the ambience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    Quiet place in a very beautiful environment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was great!

    Very quiet place and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Excellent location exraordinary services with really kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friedly, kind and supportive staff with high attention for all request.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.2
    Perfect place for relax
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High fee for pets.

    Nice & friendly staff, delicious food, rich breakfast, nice wellness, fast internet, nice surroundings around manor house.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    10
    Romantic stay in a noble Hungarian castle hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, super friendly stuff, great sauna, best food in their restaurant, great garden

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.2
    Full castle experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Full castle experience. Very nice restaurant

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    10
    I am sure we'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I could notice

    Perfect atmosphere for a nice and relaxing vacation

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    If you not try you never know what you missing from your life
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steel thinking ???????? Nothing

    All

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.7
    A place that does not live up to its potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything dated - even the bed which didn't help my sore back.

    Beautiful garden and a pool for small children were the highlights for us

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    9.2
    We loved to stay there, the outside pool was nice
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden just could have a bit of weeding done, if only at the borders

    Very relaxing and calm.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    10
    Staff were friendly and helpful at all times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The room was generous in size. Facilities excellent. Meals superb. Excellent value. Will be back!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.6
    Its an old castle hotel and the garden is amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Its an old castle hotel and the garden is amazing. The foods in the restaurant were tasty and reasonable price. The staff was helpful and smiling always.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    9.2
    This beautifully restored and maintained late 18th century...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast selection modest for such a place. Lots of steps, one or two here and there, in the main building and also in wellness area. Jazz music playing in the foyer and restaurant was not in keeping with the setting.

    This beautifully restored and maintained late 18th century manor house is a pleasure and delight. Rooms vary, but all I saw were comfortable and pleasant to impressive and huge. And the wellness area is fine: pool, sauna, hammam are always open to guests;, massage is available at extra cost until early evening. Gardens include formal topiary boxwood, expansive lawns with heritage trees, an outdoor pool (not heated, used only in summer), and tennis courts. Good WiFi also..

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.6
    Room furnished with period furniture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor wifi in our room but good enough on the hallway.

    Room furnished with period furniture. Very clean and comfortable. Nice atmosphere, beautiful park with many of possibilities to relax. Friendly and professional staff. Rich breakfast and delicious dinner.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    9.2
    Really nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was some problems with the steam room, whatever the wellness is good! It was quite weird how many ladybirds were in the bathroom, they came inside ti survive the winter.

    Really nice staff. Excellent food amd great wines and coffee. Unbelievable calmness and silence. Warm, large and comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    8.3
    set into a beautiful garden with different facilities, we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is such a pity, that the bar in the entrance has no service and there is no gathering of people possible and the place lacks a little bit the "good sol or host"

    set into a beautiful garden with different facilities, we enjoyed the table tennis

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.6
    the place and staff were gracious and the food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very far from where the wineries were, and, not wanting to drink and drive, it became a problem to visit. it would have been nice if they had a car service for wine visits and other arrangements set up in advance.

    the place and staff were gracious and the food was surprisingly good. The manager went far out of her way to arrange a winery visit for us.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful park and premises, great breakfast, very good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful park and premises, great breakfast, very good restaurant. Personnel was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    10
    beautiful and quiet location, comfortable and spacious rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beautiful and quiet location, comfortable and spacious rooms, friendly staff, spa and service also excellent

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    10
    In short, we liked everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing we didn't like was leaving the place.

    In short, we liked everything.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    9.6
    We keep coming back and that tells it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We keep coming back and that tells it all. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    10
    Beautiful place, sauna, pool, excellent food and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Beautiful place, sauna, pool, excellent food and great staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    7.5
    Nice castle, very peaceful, spa center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room a bit old, food not excellent

    Nice castle, very peaceful, spa center

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.3
    Great staff, very attentive and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms need a little updating but still comfortable.

    Great staff, very attentive and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    7.5
    Garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Worn-out furnitures, dirty walls and carpets Un-skilled bar tender

    Garden Living areas, hall, restaurant Staff

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    10
    The property is simply wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property is simply wonderful. The staff so warm and gracious. The restaurant was marvelous. The rooms were regal. The prices were so inexpensive.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Szidónia Manor House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: