Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Szőnyi Garden Hotel Pest 3 stars

1142 Budapest, Szőnyi út 38, Hungary

#77 of 344 hotels in Budapest

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1015 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was great. The only small downside is public transport from town centre back to the hotel. Bus stop is quite far from the hotel and streets don't give you safest feeling to walk around at night.

    Everything was good and I can recommend this hotel. Room was nice and clean with the balcony and separate toilet and bathroom. They have comfortable beds and air conditioning works well. Wifi also works well. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food was good, maybe a bit more variety of bread and sweets would be nice. Free welness was nice and clean. Parking in the garden behind the hotel is nice, secure and has easy access from parking to the hotel lobby. The only small downside was public transport from town centre back to the hotel. Bus stop is quite far from the hotel and streets don't give you safest feeling to walk around at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a negative experience with the restaurant staff, who had forgotten that I was there.

    The wellness facilities, steam & sauna room along with a jacuzzi etc. Reception staff were very welcoming & friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful room, nice restaurant and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It takes a 15 minute walk to get to the nearest metro so the property does not have the greatest location.

    Beautiful room, nice restaurant and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    The room was big and clean - we booked the apartment The...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit far we needed the car to get around.

    The room was big and clean - we booked the apartment The garden was very beautiful - children enjoyed the playground while we enjoyed complementary coffee - we had to wait for 15 for the room to be ready. We really enjoyed our stay. The small spa is great for a relaxing evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Good for a few days stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were on wheel, so we were moving away from each other during night. Breakfast was OK - but maximum till cca 9.15 (opened 7- 10)- because after cca 9.15 they stopped putting refilling the food. When we came cca 9.30 there was almost no food left and they started preparing restaurant for lunch.

    Good for a few days stay. Good reacheable by public transport (short walk from bus station, cca 1,2 km from Metro station) Very quiet place despite close train tracks. Clean. Quick internet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Friendly stuff, great spa and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little far from center but we knew that, there is 20min walk to the metro station Balcony of neighboring room was little too close, they can see in our room

    Super friendly stuff, great and clean spa facilities Room was clean, great value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    It is nice hotel off the city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Biggest problem I have had is that below my room was smoking area for staff so even if room itself is non-smoking, you can't open door nor window. Very sad.

    It is nice hotel off the city center. Room was very large, and comfortable. There is parking at the property so no worry about car. Troleybus stops neaby for trip to downtown. Restaurant is on-site too if you do not find something around and it is possible to sit outside weather permitting. Cca 10 min walk is metro station and there you can find something, too or travel to city center quickly. Breakfast was good, selection was ok to me (and avoid peak time as there is not too much seating capacity for all). I havent tried welness area so I dont know here. Wifi was working without problems.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    nice value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    but it was hot as hell because the airconditioning is off when you pull out your card.

    i had a pleasant stay. real quiet and nice place, great restaurant that has clients beside the hotel clients...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Beside the few small issues, we would recommend to anyone to go at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even if in the hotel it was prohibited to smoke, every day in our room was smelling as if someone was smoking there all day long. The soap, shampoo and gel shower was only one little bottle of liquide soap. For two persons, in the first day we received only one little bottle of liquide soap and when we have asked the hotel personnel, at the reception, he said that this is how it should be :) ... for two persons, imagine how we should have washed our hands, shower, etc. In the next days we've received a few more little bottles.

    The room was very clean, the property has a private parking lot and the location was at a 15 minutes walk from the subway station, or you could take the bus, near by the hotel to go to that subway station. The breakfast was diversified and very good. Overall, the hotel has meet our expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Business Trip and this is one of my favorite hotels in Budapest
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is nothing special to say. This hotel is really nice and absolutely ok for all business travelers

    Arriving on the parking of this Hotel is mostly a pleasure. The garden is very nice and also the building gives you a good impression. When you enter the hotel you arrive at the reception and the employees receive you very friendly. Breakfast is ok, the coffee is not a hit. All rooms that I had in this hotel have a blocony and chears on it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Premium Room 307
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is premium room but without open balcony(just windows);there was not hand soap in bathroom(I guess we could ask for it on reception);not so fast check in;location(about 1 hour walking to center of the city and 10 min walk to first metro station)

    Very clean hotel(room and all areas of hotel);Big modern comfortable room;Comfortable double bed;Big clean bathroom;Free private hotel parking with video cameras;very good breakfast;fast wi fi;beautiful garden with small lake and restaurant;We got free welcome coffee;Currency exchange on reception without any commission

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Private, safe parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C in the room was not working and it was too hot.

    Private, safe parking. Very good location, 1,5km from the metro station. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Location and Excellent Price - what more could you want.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing negative to say

    Location was great and close to the city without being in the city. The staff where courteous and polite. Internet was good. Room was clean and spacious with a giant bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    We would stay at Szoni again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative seems to be common in all hotels over here , no electric jug for a tea/coffee for early risers

    Easy back parking , quiet , out of the city hustle but close bus access in

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit away from city centre and the hotel will only get you a taxi to the metro, so make sure you know how to get around. There was never a taxi there to take us back to hotel.

    If you want a relaxing time go to this hotel, fabulous. Food was great, room was lovely with a nice balcony. Very clean. Facilities were wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    good memory with them, could have a full breakfast and nice bath there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only the address is a little bit far from the Budapest downtown, that's why I should say it is very nice for having a holiday, instead of visiting the sights in the city.

    Great breakfast and bath facilities! The hotel is very nice for people who want to have a relaxing holiday. You can spend a whole day with their bath, sauna and pools there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit away from center.You need to book a taxi to go smoothly to center.

    The hotel is nice.Remember it is bit away from the center.The staffs are nice.The property have many options to be busy for the whole day.The restaurant is nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Good one
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower tray was blocked and the floor was flooding. The a/c was only noisy and did not cool the room, was actually very hot :(

    We like the hotel, the room was fine and the cute balcony had a nice view to the back garden. Restaurant was fine, we had dinner outside, breakfast was simple. Quiet, clean and the staff were nice (everyone was speacking good english)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    big rooms
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    a bit far from station hotel offers free taxi to/from the station but it requires argument with the drivers from station to hotel and wasn't a good experience.

    big rooms clean friendly staff good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.6
    Nothing at all.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I order taxi for next day at 10:30.He was late.Reception call them to come out they have accident and they wil be send other one within 5min..After 10min.nobody show the recepcionist call them again.The taxi wil come in 8min..On the end i was waiting for taxi 30min.dsnt matter i order it 12hours ago

    Nothing at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was really on-Point - i love it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only negative thing i can think of is the Fitness room. It's basically a very small room with only 1 Stepper and 1 Ttreadmill. both of them have had their best days .. in my opinion they are not useable and very worn off. My proposal: either buy new ones of remove the "Fitness room" from the Hotel facility list

    The breakfast was really on-Point - i love it! Dinner in the Hotel-Restaurant is also to recommend. The SPA area is really good and clean! Parking on site was easy to Access and safe. The room has a nice TV with a wide range of channels (also premium is free to use)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Good location, warm and cute staff, fair restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    One problem I found, that was the smell. The smell of the channel. It kept smelling for the full time, contrary the fact that the ventillation was continues.

    Very big size apartmant, included two clean and nice bedrooms, kitchen and livingroom. All equipments have been worked, but the wifi access was very slow.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel for those travveling to Budapest by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    May be it is a little bit far away from the main Budapest sightseeing places. But it is not a problem for people travelling by car.

    The hotel is very conveniently located for a transit stay when travelling by car. I has free and spacious parking and very nice garden area which should be especially nice in summer time. Our room was of a good size with very comfortable beds, a balcony and a nice garden view. During the check-in we were offered free coffee and free use of the hotel spa as a bonus. The personnel both at the reception and at the hotel restaurant was very effective and speaking good English. The check-out was easy and fast. The food and drinks at the restaurant were delicious! The breakfast also was varied and of a good quality. The restaurant has a nice garden view terrace. We were very happy by our stay at this hotel and hope to visit it again in the future. It is highly recommended to other travelers as a good and not expensive accommodation option in Budapest.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Good choice for a relax weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The refill by breakfast could be more frequent.

    Wellness area is really nice. The restaurant offers excellent meals. The room was comfy and clean. Hotel cat is extra cute :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    the spa is exceptionally large
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the fitness is just one threadmill out of service and a very basic elliptical trainer

    the spa is exceptionally large restaurant served me a meal at 22:00

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Very good place for a business stay!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The waiter (during dinner) had probably an "off-day" as he was far from friendly. But anyway the food was excellent, also the Hungarian wine. No complaints!

    Super friendly and professional reception staff (Mr. Zoltan) upon arrival. Room (103) had a good size, quiet, separate toilet however small bathroom, but all fine. To come back for sure.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.6
    very nice and clean hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Itsa little far from the center but if you are here for work it doesn't actually matter.

    very nice and clean hotel. Perfect big parking and very nice Spa, both are free of charge for hotel guests. Diner was really tastly. Breakast could be improved a little. Anyway the hotel is perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    very nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was very nice, room was clear and comfortable, breakfast had lot of choices and it was very tasty, I recommend this place. Also, I enjoyed in room with salt and sauna which is perfect for afternoon relaxation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    I´d come again any time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the veggi options in the dinner restaurant were not that great. But what am I complaining about... :-)

    For this price a real bargain. Decent sized and well equipped room. Modern, clean, friendly staff and good breakfast. Free coffee voucher for the restaurant and free parking. Not a 5 star place but WAY (!!!) above the average compared to other similarly priced places.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfast and SPA for the price, amazing value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit far from the center and no shops nearby.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. For this price, both the spa and breakfast exceeded my expectations! Great value!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant and relaxing stay in a beautiful city with a very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from the city centre, however still accessible with public transport or a good 10-15 minute walk.

    The spa and the restaurant are awesome. The comfortable and quiet room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.2
    I enjoyed my stay very much. Thank you Hotel Szőnyi Garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I arrived early morning and although my room was booked for 2pm within a half an hour the staff had a room ready, all this with no prompting from me. Excellent service and greatly appreciated seeing as I drove through the night from Munich. The room itself was one of the cleanest I have ever had the pleasure of staying in, amenities all worked with no problems. About the bed...Oh my God, the bed, or I should say, the mattress, the most comfortable mattress ever. I sneaked a peek at the name and will be buying the same for my home as well. Parking is free and directly behind the hotel, mine was visible from my room, which I like. The area is nothing to write home about but the hotel itself is very nice, breakfast, very good, everything you could wish for and plentiful. I had dinner twice in the hotel, prices are acceptable and the quality of the food excellent. This was also made obvious by the amount of home grown customers frequenting the restaurant every night. It`s true that the hotel is a little outside the city BUT, 100m away is a bus stop that will take you to the Metro and from there it`s a breeze to get into the city and to all the major sights, make sure to buy a 24 or 72 hour pass, it`s much cheaper but more importantly, hassle free, and you can use it for all forms of transportation. WiFi was strong and fast. I enjoyed my stay very much and can`t wait to go back, this time with the kid`s. Thank you Hotel Szőnyi Garden.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice experience in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit far from the centre, but the hotel pay for the taxi to the nearest station and the metro works really well.

    The hotel was nice and comfortable. The spa was modest but enough and the place was quiet and good if you want to relax. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic value for money!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The could've provided flip-flops/slippers in the rooms given they have saunas and not all guest bring it with when travelling.

    The receptionist was very kind, good English which is frankly something you don't expect in Hungary. Spa is quite good given it is a small hotel - a jacuzzi and a few saunas. The area is very quiet and it is very close to Hosok tere (Heroes square). The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast offered was very decent. All in all, awesome value for money! Next time in Budapest, I'll book this hotel again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Very good hotel in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thank you for our pleasant stay on your hotel. We had a premium room, very clean and quite. It looked to be newly renovated. We enjoyed the breakfast, which was very good, fresh and pretty diversified. The caffee was very good and the restaurant has a stylish atmosphere. The hotel also have a nice terrace with garden view. Also, I think in summer the garden is lovely. We reached the hotel by car (it's very easy if using navi). We didn't used public transportation so we don't know how near and easy is to get to the center like this, but by car it shouldn't take more than 15-20 minutes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.1
    Good location by car for business trips
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi was disconnecting at times; breakfast could be fresher, but not the worst; missing soap in bathroom, only a small shower gel/shampoo was available so I needed to used it as soap =D the receptionist could definitely improve her English to be able to help non Hungarian speaking guests a bit more.

    Good location by car, free, secured, parking at the property; large and clean room with great bathroom; wellness looked nice (but I did not try it)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.9
    Free parking in private parking lot, close to the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free parking in private parking lot, close to the city centre, free wellness, delicious breakfast. Hotel is situated in quiet part of city - close to Hosok tere, Vajdahunyad Castle, Szépművészeti Múzeum,...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    A good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is the third time we stay here. The hotel is easy to find, situated in a quiet area. The rooms are cosy, spacious and clean. They have a large parking, a beautiful arranged garden and even a children playground. The wellness area is excellent! The food at the restaurant is deliciouos! Recommend it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Very good breakfast, room was very large, nice view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drive to the hotel was in more of an industrial neighborhood. There was a mechanics shop 2 doors down- but we loved this place and it is a great value.

    Very good breakfast, room was very large, nice view of courtyard, there is a spa there but we didn't use it, very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice apartment on top floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice apartment on top floor. Clean with plenty of space, big bathroom, child bed of 3 different sizes, good kitchen. Garfield the cat is a must-see in a hotel yard)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.0
    Reseption 's really good person and helpe me
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is too far from metro in a quiet street i am alon and it was not easy to go out at night

    It is a nice and quit place but it is to far from city center and metro

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    The nice garden with the parking lot safe and secure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is within the walking distance to metro station in 20min. Didn use offered taxi but we should.

    The nice garden with the parking lot safe and secure. The host offers taxi once a day to metro station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location and a very beautiful building.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist was very stiff , didn't speak English very well and his behaviour was nothing but welcoming.

    Great location and a very beautiful building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is nice and the rooms are clean and spacious.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't have the chance to test much at the restaurant, but what I had wasn't surely memorable. The quality is good enough, but maybe I should have asked the waiter for suggestions. The area is truly quiet, but is definitely far from the city center and the main attractions: don't think you can move around unless you have your own way of transportation.

    The hotel is nice and the rooms are clean and spacious. Wi-fi connection is strong in the whole building. There's a restaurant that serves also breakfast in the morning, while the parking is in the backyard: it's not guarded, but the area feels safe (and most of all is quiet) enough. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Parking and close to metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower and toilet seperate. Toilet had a smell. Room safe was locked closed.

    Car park , good selection of cable stations, Bfast was good. Fully stocked bar fridge. 10 min walk to metro yellow line station has easy to operate ticket machines.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Good, bud it could have been better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Booking.com tells that you area welcomed with a wine or champagne. The hotel personnel does not know about it and does not care about it. I didn't need their wine or whatever, but instead I took a beverage from the fridge. They charged me instantly. The daytime lady in reception speaks very poor English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    A pleasant stay overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was higher than last time when I had the room on the ground floor without any obvious benefit

    Spacious room, cleanliness, free parking at the hotel, free wifi, restaurant, close to tourist attractions

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    A good location when traveling by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is not very easy to travel in the center by public transport. The restaurant adds a service charge on the bill, but staff waiting also additional tips.

    A good hotel - with very friendly staff, cleaning, parking for the car and good breakfast. Also, the food at the restaurant is very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous, fantastic place to stay for Budapest just a short ride into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to criticise at all.

    This hotel was great, the staff were so very good on reception. It was our first experience of staying in Budapest and the reception staff made it all so very easy for us, they organised a taxi and made a booking for us to take a boat trip along the Danube. The wellness centre was a good bonus, the rooms were lovely and the balconies great. The breakfast choice was superb, we will certainly be back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.7
    room had all that was needed ( but see comment re Air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room had air conditioning but was not too effective. However the temperature was very high so this may have been a reason. Also cleaners were good enough to leave the windows open, so there was an attempt to help

    room had all that was needed ( but see comment re Air conditioning) parking was on site and easy Excellent location for the Hungarian Grand Prix Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    European Road Trip 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The hotel was easily accessible from the M3. Trolley bus into the centre of Budapest was two minutes walk & Metro was 10 minutes walk. The room was exceptionally clean & spacious with air-conditioning & a nice balcony overlooking the pond & terrace. Evening meals served in the hotel restaurant were superb. Staff were polite, friendly & informative.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent choice if you stop by in Budapest when travelling by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it is not something in the power of the hotel to solve one has to be aware that it might be necessary to wait 15-20 mins at a railway barrier near by (but only when you come in as there are one way roads toward the hotel (at least this how our GPS brought us to the hotel).

    Excellent experience. The place is to be highly recommended if you pass through Budapest by car. Excellent parking in the interior courtyard, good facilities and a very good breakfast. Also, you can eat or enjoy a good beer on the terrace. But if you do not have a car I presume that is a little difficult to go downtown. If we will have the occasion we will definitely come again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Recently renovated rooms (Premium or Deluxe) are perfect:...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Recently renovated rooms (Premium or Deluxe) are perfect: very comfortable bed, pleasant and relaxing design, bathroom is equipped with high quality items.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    I stayed in this hotel several times per year for the last...
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I put the lower value for COMFORT, than it could be, only becuase of a smell in room: as the staff explained, the condition air system was cleaned several days ago and that is the reason of such an unpleasant smell. So, this "inconvenience" must be temporary, I suppose. Hope, next time everything will be perfect (as ususally before).

    I stayed in this hotel several times per year for the last ~8years . Everything is ok: good breakfast, kind and helpful staff, nice courtyard with fountan and plants and big parking, good WiFi, clean rooms and easy way from M3 road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle in the room would have been nice for a cup of tea.

    The staff spoke many languages and were so helpful. The beds were made daily with clean towels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Good for business trips. Beautiful place.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of information from the reception staff. The main receptionist did not tell us anything about the free sauna and wellness center, nor about the free wine or welcome drink , nor about the free bus. We were not offered all these listed ammenities. In addition, the room was listed with a minibar and a refrigerator but it did not have a fridge as written on booking.com. We were given a different room from what we have booked. We had to ask for the correct one. The breakfast is a bit repetitive. The vegetables were not much fresh. Not many options as a Swedish tablet. Not organic products.

    Good beds, good parking, nice and big rooms. Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    We had a very pleasent stay at the Szonyi Garden Hotel. This was the 2nd time we stayed here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our only complain is the air conditioning unit didn't cool down to the desired temperature. At night was really hot and would not go down to 22 C.

    The breakfast was very good, the bakery goods were fresh and tasty. A great variety food to choose from so everyone can find a lot to eat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.5
    ->
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -> we reserved a "Superior Double Room" but actually got a room with two separate beds (located next to each other). Moreover, the beds were on small wheels, so they had a tendency to move away from each other. When requesting a different room, I was told that the hotel had only three rooms with a double bed (all of them occupied) and all other rooms have two separate beds. -> no restaurant nearby except the hotel ones. -> rather poor ventilation in the bath room.

    -> location (looks a bit far from the city but during the day, it can be easily reached using subway M1 and bus 25). -> breakfast. -> balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    3.8
    Complete revamp needed -Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is in the middle of nowhere without decent directions. No free daily shuttle as promised. The room & bathroom is outdated and had a weird smell, the towels and mat were worn out with stains. The blanket was tiny, not enough to cover your entire body. The bed was uncomfortable and worn out. No soap, just 2 tiny bottles of body wash.

    The room was large. There's a bar fridge. The lady at reception was happy to cancel my 2nd night for no charge/penalty.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    7.5
    Very clean and tidy room and hotel in general, tasty meals...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of hand soaps in room, stuff in restaurant not so polite.

    Very clean and tidy room and hotel in general, tasty meals in restaurant, excellent spa center.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    7.9
    Great location, value for money, staff needs some serious training in customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - everything seems to be a pain for the staff. The attitude stinks, be it for exchanging currency, greeting you when you leave or enter the lobby, expecting you to get out of their way at breakfast or offering half a loo roll at reception when the maid had forgotten to give you any

    - location great and breakfast buffet extensive - clean room and bathroom, quiet neighbourhood - the ginger cat, Garfield

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    5 star impression
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything and even more : ) Staff, wellness, breakfast, room/bed, private parking, cleanles, quiet location. Definitely worth for the money. Next time Budapest, you know where we sleep : )

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.3
    Clean, friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV only in Hungarian Train Close by - so bit noisy thin walls, could hear the neighbouring People caughing all night.

    Friendly staff Good breakfast clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    9.2
    I will come back again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little bit far from the city center. Close railroad which can be heard by people who sleep light

    Great value for the money, great choice for breakfast, comfortable beds, good wifi, balcony, big parking lots. Wellnoss not tried

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    9.6
    Christmas markets visit in Budapest
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were absolutely satisfied with our stay in the hotel. We recommned to everyone. 20 minutes from the center of Budapest by public transport is a point to mention.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    8.3
    Free parking, rather good internet, nice garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though we had some inconvenient, we had a great time. Budapest is my new favourite city in Europe.

    Free parking, rather good internet, nice garden

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    6.7
    Deasapointig considering its review score
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The double bed is in fact 2 beds align each other, even more annoying these beds are fitted with wheels at one end making them easy movable; - They provide small bottles of shower gel but no soap (for hand washing); - Although breakfast is OK, we noticed a problem with refill after 9am and moreover one day a staff member (dark hair lady) collecting some cakes and take back in the kitchen. When asked about bringing back, she answered: sorry, there are no more.

    - Breakfast was good as variety and food is tasteful; - Free parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.8
    I found this nice hotel near venue I was attending.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing in particular. For me, breakfast could be slightly better. Hotel is quite far from everything, walk to metro is about 1,5 km (Mexiko út) or alternatively troleybus 74 to the downtown, stop is some 150m from the hotel.

    I found this nice hotel near venue I was attending. It had very spacious rooms, it was clean and bed was also quite comfortable. Wifi was ok, too. I welcomed private parking place at the garden. As there is not much around, hotel has its own restaurant, which was normally priced and cooked well. I did not tried wellness area. I have in general nice experience and will come back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.1
    okay but there are much better places in BUD for the same money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - someone's dirty towel hanging in our bathroom when we checked-in! great start! - right under flight path to airport

    - location okay, relatively close to underground - breakfast choice excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    4.6
    Too warm room, unpleasant staff and bad located.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too warm room and the air-condition does not help, if you open the balcony door the mosquitoes enter in the room. The staff is a bit unpleasant and not everyone understands or speaks English. The hotel is far from the center and Metro station and the taxis take a long time to come. In the mornings there is a traffic jam in the road just outside the hotel.

    Quiet hotel and good breakfast, although you have to eat early otherwise is almost nothing left of the warm food like eggs and bacon.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    7.5
    For a one night, it's a good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty carpet on the floor, a bit old and rusty sanitary.

    For a one night, it's a good choice. Especially for traveling by highway without entering a downtown. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.9
    From the hotel to the subway to get there is no problem -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    From the hotel to the subway to get there is no problem - indeed stop 230 meters but the back foot! No recommendations from administrators how to reach - on foot - there problem ate during the day and early fan - but late at night? this problem without an answer - a taxi - they are not due to the hotel - only at their own expense!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    8.8
    Friendly & helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could have had little bit more variation. Room didn't have a toilet roll holder and the shower was set up way too low.

    Friendly & helpful staff. Spa area was nice to be free of charge. Quiet and peaceful location not far from the metro stop.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.2
    A lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    I think the rooms need more storage space.It is probably ok if you are only staying a night or two but we were there for 11 nights so the desk was covered in our toiletries etc and nowhere to put them away.

    The hotel was out of the centre of Budapest but easy to get to in the car and also near the motorway to get to Godollo where we went nearly every day to watch the European Lacrosse Championships. The room was air conditioned which was really needed in the summer.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.2
    Good location, comfort room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our reserved room was ready with a bit delay considering declared check-in time.

    Our main intent of staying in Budapest was Zoo visiting. The hotel location is perfect - it's about 40 min of walk only to the Zoo.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Szőnyi Garden Hotel Pest traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: