Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tisza Sport Hotel

6726 Szeged, Szent-Györgyi A. ut 42, Hungary

#20 of 21 hotels in Szeged

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 388 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It looked like a hotel from the year 1970 with no investments since then, the look was groomy.

    I liked the fact that is cheap and I was looking for something cheap, it was like 25 EUR/day

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is very old and need renovation. Is not value for you money. Better go to another place. For this conditions price must be lower.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very cold floor, restaurant, working time for breakfast is too early... Breakfast is very very poor, same both of days...

    Hotel is near center of Szeged

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very strange and inhospitable policy of the hotel, I can almost say that girl on the reception was rude and rigid. We came to the hotel about 7pm and wanted to check in, but girl from reception told us that we must pay in advance. We didn't have Forints so we asked can we pay in Euros and that was possible. Price of the room for 2 nights, with 18% VAT included was 52 Euros (price from Booking, as you can see on photos), and we had additional city tax, so price was 60 Euros at the end. We had 100 Euros bill and receptionist said that she don't have Euros to give back, only Forints, and that the hotel's exchange rate is 260 Forints for Euro (very low). We asked to pay tomorrow, she said it's not possible, that we must pay immediately????!!!!! So we had to go to exchange office (our bags were at storage room) and we changed Euros (rate 312). On the reception was price at Euros and Forints (you can see photo), so we prepared 15.900 Forints for everything, which was hotel's rate and price (61 Euro = 15900 HUF, see the photo). But, when we came back she told us that price is 16.232 + taxes = 18230 HUF.!!!!!!! I showed her Booking confirmation and price, and she was repeating like a robot: ''That is not your confirmation, this is'' (showing a paper bill) and ''this is your price''. It was late and we paid and check in. But I think this is a criminal and cheat. Last night guests from room next to us turned on air conditioner and that caused noise and irritating vibrations in our room. Other girl was on reception and she gave us a keys of another room, she was politer and problem was solved. But, that also can happen. Reconsider well will you book a room in this hotel and be prepared for malversations with exchange rate.

    Nice comfort room, very good breakfast, good location - near the center but very quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a 4 beds room that seemed like a hostel and had very old furniture, the room we stayed in had no light( the electricity was broken for that room) so they moved us to another room at our request. Both rooms were untidy, there was hair in our bed sheets, dirt in the bathroom.

    Very good location (close to the Aqua-park), very friendly staff and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was extremely small. Parking lot is also too small for the hotel, you have to find parking space in the neighbouring streets.

    Average retro hostel feeling, but the room was very clean and the bed was comfy. Kind and welcoming staff, even in late night. Good selection of food for breakfast (swedish table with hot and cold meals and drinks). Overall it is a good place for a short stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no comfort at all. Don't forget to bring your own soap because there is no in the bathroom. Also, bathroom had no real door despite it was 4-beds room. Old building stinks. 36 EUR per night per persone is absolutely too much.

    Location is quite OK, also the parking place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a hotel just for one night, and I won`t stop there for another night. Everything is very very old, and it stinks. If you don`t have any alternative is ok but is too expensive for what they are providing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The garbage can was full on arriving, had to ask the receptionist to clean it. The bathroom was pretty small. The elevator is rather scary (makes strange sounds and jerks you).

    We liked the attitude of the personal a lot, and the fact that they know english helped. Not many people speak english here, and it was great to have someone you can communicate with! The room was quite big, having an extra bed inside, even if we did not use it. It had a balcony as well. The food was good (included breakfast), and was served as a Swedish buffet. They had meat, tea, juice, cheese, vegetables, etc. The exterior of the hotel also looks good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfriendly and sometime rude stuff, dirty room, unconfortable bed, no one ever cleaned my room, poor breakfast with very low quality food, cold coffe and unqualified orange juice (if it was an orange juice), no restaurant inside or even nearby the hotel, terrible, I will never go back there.

    Was really close to the place I had to go

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    didn't like everything = Tisza a total nightmare

    Tisza Sport Hotel was worst hotel ever stayed at in life = over 1,000 hotels. Icing on cake of horrorshow facilities, location, dirty, cold, and rudest staff on planet. desk manager Edit Nagy - perfect name for Edit is Naggy and just plain rude and nasty. TISZA NIGHTMARE HOTEL

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there without car. So It was a little bit far from the centre 3 km), but walking is a good sport.

    Only 1 night, but it was excellent. Everybody is kindness. The room is great and clean. And Szeged is beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Quadruple Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stuff didnt know what means King Bed. Old furniture like in comunism hotel. Dirty corridors and dirty furniture in the room. Confusing offer of rooms on booking. Fridge - not working. Balkony - very dirty. Towels wasnt in the room. According quality of hotel is price too overcharged.

    Szeged City

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very very small. The cleaning no too good and some of the recepcionist were a bit rude with us.

    The breakfast was quite ok, variety and tasty.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff of the hotel was not familiar with their work. Unfortunately they were also not friendly. It took us 45 min to check in, they simply did not know what to do (we booked two rooms and asked for two invoices); taking a breakfast card for two people (all together we were 3 in 2 rooms) and paying 10 Euro for this at the checkout took another 40 min all together. It is unpleasant when a lady at the reception does not greet visitors and also does not reply to the greetings of the visitors. I do not comment on such things as open containers with the paint in the corridor (smell!), no soap in one room (also we asked for it, they did not bring), no way to switch off the useless air conditioner that only makes noise, very poor breakfast etc as the costs were also not high.

    The location was excellent for us (it was close to the university and to the spa center in the other hotel near by).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very good location, near the center, amazing breakfast, chipp price!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food choices need upgrade. Room was freezing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice clean hotel, friendly staff, good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle or tea/coffee facilities in room. Same scrambled powdered egg every day. No spin or facility for wet swimwear & towels

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything - noise, reception, bathroom, toilet, no soap, dirty towels, etc.

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has no air conditioning

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good overall and value for the money. Reception very nice and helpful. Spoke very good english and friendly. Came very late so it made us happy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfort of bed and cold temperature

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean room , nice breakfast. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was really poor

    The price was the only positive point about this hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really with balcony view as described.

    Good location, very spacey and clean, decent breakfast yet too early for holidays. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is situated a little bit away from the centre, but in a quiet surrounding.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything in this hotel. Staff were very nice and my room was very clean! thank You!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not well cleaned, old, rusty, ragged

    Very good location, buffet breakfast, cheap

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smells in the room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old

    Good position, good breakfast variety

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor heating in room,staff exchange euro to forint for very low price (almost 20e they take over price just on exchange difference and price which were on booking site,none excange office didn't work because of holliday so I didn't have choice except to overpay in hotel)

    Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This hotel was a great location for our particular purposes (needed to be near a church for a wedding). We appreciated the air conditioning and fridge we had in our superior room. Rooms not luxurious, but sufficient. Nice staff. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel looks like it's from old communist times. Poor breakfast. Check out till 10am.

    We have spent one night in this hotel and for short stay it's ok. Staff was nice and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Dirt on the carpets, in the minifridge, in the bathroom, and pigeon feces in the balcony. The air conditioner was extremly loud and we couldn't sleep because of the noise. We tried to sleep with the window opened and then we couldn' t sleep because of the noises and vibrations made by the others air conditioners...and the cars passing on the bridge near bye...horrible...never ever go there back again, even if it would be the last hotel on Earth!!! They charged us about 4000 forints (10 euro) more than we had to pay , because of the exchange rate...and we paid in forints and the price of the room was bookd in forints...

    It was 7 minutes walking to aquapolis

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast could do with being extended a little, being quite early at 7:00 - 9:00AM (the quality was fine however).

    Reasonable location, 10-15 minutes walk from central Szeged. Good rates given all usual hotel services provided.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location is too far from downtown by foot, only lukewarm water in bathroom's shower cabin, useless towels made of very cheap materials - unable to absorb water. No hairdryer

    Clean, comfortable beds, nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Receptionist wanted to charge us 20 eur for something she wasn't even able to explain in English.

    Not much to like :-) Breakfast was ok, location is good and that's it!

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Price

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Close to Aquapolis

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    This is the worst hotel I've ever been!!!extreamly dirty.the proper price for it is no nore than 10 euro,tragedy!!!

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    location

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very dirty, with bathtube full of hairs

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stuff need more lessons in english language

    Everything is fine, clean hotel, nice stuff

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Simple, comfortable, nice surroundings

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good location,quiet place and clean room. Ramona Serbia

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: