Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Wesselényi 3 stars

9024 Győr, Wesselényi u.03., Hungary

#25 of 30 hotels in Győr

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 178 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 15

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Reasonable for a short stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We made the reservation very late (towards midnight, arrived 2 AM), as we were not sure where we would stop on the way. We specifically looked for a hotel that indicated 24 hrs reception and where the comments indicated staff spoke English (after other experiences ). However, no one was at the reception and finally an elderly gentleman woke up - he did not speak a single word of English (we also tried German). We showed the reservation on the phone (we also got a better price than the standard one via Booking) - he was very confused but eventually gave us a key (and locked the door afterwards, probably to avoid other late night-ers). Nonetheless, the receptionist in the morning spoke English and billing was correct - according to our Booking reservation. We understand that the reservation was done very late and arrival was beyond normal hours, but we would have chosen another hotel if 24/7 reception had not been indicated. Cleanliness was average (dust, hair) and there was no soap in the bathroom (for washing hands - dispenser was empty - or taking a shower). Room equipment (mini-fridge, air conditioning, bathroom ventilator) was fairly noisy.

    This was a convenient stop in a longer trip, very close to the highway. Breakfast was included and OK although very limited (good eggs and sausage). Reasonable price for a triple room. We arrived very late but eventually got a room and everything was clarified by the competent staff in the morning (see below). Mini-fridge in the room with complimentary water.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast v poor - had to ask for coffee and hot water each...
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast v poor - had to ask for coffee and hot water each morning The breakfast room was shabby and the cutlery was hidden away in drawers that were v old. The tables were not cleared away and it all looked v unappealing .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    2.9
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist could only speak Hungarian and German during check in, room was dirty with urgent need for renovation (room from 1990s), shower cabin was falling apart, light in bathroom above the mirror didn't work, we ordered room with AC but reception couldn't provide the matching remote/thermostat for AC in the room so we couldn't control it, window curtains were too narrow to cover the window, restaurant didn't serve any food past 8 pm although it is open till 10 pm, breakfast was poor quality and quantity. All in all this was the worst hotel experience in past couple of years and all for 69 EUR per night. Undeserved 3 star hotel.

    Good location near the city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.7
    convenient location in the city centre;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the man on reception at check in did not speak and did not understand English (or did not want to understand), only German (and Hungarian); long could not understand with our reservation - there is a restaurant at the hotel, but too long waiting for the ordered dinner (1.5 hours),we wished we had had dinner in a cafe \restaurant in the city

    convenient location in the city centre; parking for car

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    6.3
    A hotel at the excellent location but needs to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at this hotel for two separated days in different rooms . It was OK the first time. The room was spacious and quiet but not very clean. It was very warm to see the hospital young owner meeting me with my luggage at the front desk two days later when I went back, but the room was very uncomfortable this time. The toilet was terrible with old dirt as if not cleaned for a long time. The room was also not clean. There were two flashing lights above the celling all the time that I had to wear the eye mask while sleeping. The hygiene and cleansess need to be improved a lot and the old-dated facilities should be changed.

    The location is excellent in five-minutes walk from the main bus station. The staff (the owner)was hospital, friendly and helpful who gave me much travel information. He was also very generous. I enjoyed the delicious traditional Hungarian dinner at the restaurant too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    The location and the breakfast were perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC unit was not working properly.

    The location and the breakfast were perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Good location, tasty breakfast, helpful stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC unit was not working properly.

    Good location, tasty breakfast, helpful stuff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.0
    Not far from railway and bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Horrible coffee. They charged us for it. Breakfast crew not service-oriented.

    Not far from railway and bus station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    3.3
    Never go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was disgusting

    Rubbish and a waste of money I had to check out after one night

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was travelling with family in a short stop over towards Munich hotel was fantastic

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Good restaurant, nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good restaurant, nice breakfast. No problem to put our bikes in the garage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    it was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was old, the fan noisy

    it was clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    nice personal, good food, good location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor cleanliness

    nice personal, good food, good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    3.3
    nothing good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    not good hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, good beer from the tab
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    some maintenance in the bathroom sink can be done for check

    Very friendly staff, good beer from the tab

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 15

Guests also reviewed these properties: