Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Zuglo 3 stars

1149 Budapest, Nagy Lajos király útja 204, Hungary

Review score

Based on 264 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    I felt that I was well looked after-value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 20 nights

    the carpet in the room needs upgrading and the decor could use a bit of attention.

    Dori, the lady at reception makes excellent coffee and she's always ready to help with any problems, questions you might have. The pool and sauna was an extra bonus and it was nice to sit out in the garden with a cold beer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    I do not recomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The water in the pool was very, very cold. They told us that`s the hotel rule. The breakfast was the same for 5 days. Only meat and chease but the cheapest ones. No fruits. No vegetables.

    The staff was very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Practical location.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On busy street, bedding : pillows were bad, duvet too heavy , only 1 towel per person. Breakfast very simple.

    Clean, friendly, close to the Uzsoki Hospital

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    It was great that hotel includes jacuzzi, swimming pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds aren't comfortable and room could be more clean. They don't clean room and change towels everyday. It wasn't lot's of choice for breakfast, but you can order some other food and they would prepare it for you. Free parking is only on the street but it was always some place. Our view was near road, so it was noise from cars, if window was open. There isn't hairdryer in rooms, only at welness.

    It was great that hotel includes jacuzzi, swimming pool and sauna. In time of our staying wasn't lot's of guests in hotel, so it was like private welness. I recommend hotel Zuglo if u like welness included in normal price of hotel. Location is also good. Metro and bus stations are close.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    I love the location and people who work there are super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the location and people who work there are super friendly. Very good price for all that the Hotel offering, like swimming pool and sauna and the spa. Excellent place to stay and I will stay there again. Thank You

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    3.8
    never again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool was out of order , Jacuzzi was yellowish and cold . Carpet in room was super dirty. Bathroom is old and moldy, soap in an old recycled tube. Shower head is non functional. The mattress in the bed is super old and non-comfort. Price is high for out of center and bad quality. Breakfast is cheap quality food and sirup

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.0
    Not to be repeated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is dirty. The service is not nice. They only changed towels in three days and claim is for ambiental purposes but then have leaking showers and stuff. The mattress is bad and the ventilation in the room is very very bad. They don't have a fitness area. They do have a pool and some jacuzzi that was dirtier then my sink. Not nice at all.

    I enjoyed the price that I paid for three nights. And that's it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Good only for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a bit outdated. Beds are not comfortable. Carpet and bathroom are dirty. It's ok for a short stay, but I don't recommend it for longer than 2 nights stay. Breakfast choice is very limited.

    Hotel is in a good place, you can reach Heroes Square by feet in 20 min. Also it has a nice parking and great staff. We've loved a restaurant which receptionist recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    7.5
    Budget hotel great price close to tram and metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lousy breakfast, intermittent wifi but they were working on it but no wifi for 2 days.

    Great value close to tram and metro, budget hotel but great shower and clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    8.3
    A good hotel a short walk from city park!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast! There was a lot of choice - cereal, bread, yogurt etc. But it would have been nice to have some fresh fruit or pastries.

    We had the same lady for check in and check out (didn't get her name but we checked out 13th August at 10am in case management want to give her a pay rise!) and she was lovely. When we arrived she pointed out all the places we should visit on a map and was really helpful. She also remembered us when we checked out and made a real effort to chat to us about how we had enjoyed our stay, both at the hotel and in the city. The room was basic but had everything we needed. The bathroom was clean. Some people have complained the toilet didn't flush properly but you just have to hold the flush in. We didn't go in the pool as it was very busy when we went to see it but it was a nice little area downstairs from the reception. There is also the biggest baths in Budapest a 15/20min walk away if saunas etc are your thing!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    7.9
    Rooms are renovated since my last visit, looks a lot better...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, i was at 08.00 and most was already eaten and no new food was added.

    Rooms are renovated since my last visit, looks a lot better now.Location and tram stop all close to shopping mall.Parking space at hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    2.9
    Worst hotel ever! Dirty room and very unfriendly stuff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathroom and room(found a bug in our room and the stuff said it was normal, because they fly-our room was at the 6th floor!!!!) Carpet has dead flies and stains everywhere!!! The pool looks horrible and the water has like 10 C, not 24 as it is displayed there, couldn.t find anything good in that hotel, didn.t even eat the breakfast after seeing the bug in our room.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.5
    Short stop in Budapest
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was super slow. Breakfast was also not worth the 3€, you're better off taking your money to a coffee shop or the nearby grocery store.

    Clean hotel, very friendly staff. Paid 25€, really good price for what I got.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.9
    Receptionist was very polite and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed was actually two singles and I kept on falling down the middle !

    Receptionist was very polite and efficient. I never got a chance to try breakfast or the spa. It was a short stay. Nice space outside to have a quiet cold beer :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.3
    Internet on the floor was not working
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet on the floor was not working

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not comfortable, poor breakfast, cold omelettes, coffee is far from good taste.. No place to store my stuffs in bathroom. Small shower

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location as we had to visit the hospital nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location as we had to visit the hospital nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    6.7
    Closeness to my place of interest
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cald

    Closeness to my place of interest

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    2.5
    Very old and bad hotel. Very upset
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and bad hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no internet on my floor :( Broken hangers in the bathroom Poor breakfast

    location "value for money"

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.1
    Above average for a eastern country
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi sauna

    Near szecesny pools, near tram, metro, bus. City center easily reaxhable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    The hotel wasn't claimed any prepayment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel wasn't claimed any prepayment

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    2.9
    Will not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty, one of the towels were full with puke, the shower cabin was broken,the breakfast was very poor and the tables were dirty.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    very helpful staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    4.2
    A cheap hotel. In every aspect.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad thing is that it really, in every single details, feels incredibly cheap.

    The good thing is that the place os cheap.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    5.4
    When we arrived they did not know about our reservation,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived they did not know about our reservation, althrough it was accepted via booking.com. Also, first room they give us was not cleaned.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.6
    It was excellent. :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe beds can be more comfortable.

    I liked wellness and pool, it's good for relaxing. Staff are polite.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    Everything was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was OK. Breakfast was tasty, staff were polite. I hope I will arrive to Zuglo Hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    3.8
    It was close to the company offices that I had to visit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - The wifi was not working in the room, and I had to spend all of my evening in the lobby, because I needed Internet in order to work - The receptionist was completely indifferent (to the point of being rude). When I informed about the Internet not working he continued chatting via Facebook, and only after that he replied "Well, I don't know what's going on. I hope Internet will work at some point" - Breakfast was poor - Some of the coffee cups in the breakfast room were dirty (mine already had some sugar in it, so I was "forced" to drink it sweet) - The smell from the bathroom was spread in all the room

    It was close to the company offices that I had to visit.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    7.5
    They have sauna , massage and swimming pool, however i have...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noyce of trams , aircon not working, window can only open a little.

    They have sauna , massage and swimming pool, however i have not used the facilities.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    3.8
    Location is good .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed ..pillows very poor quality and only one per bed.Toilet toll supply very sparce.Towel change requested on first occaison told no towels avaliable second occaision given 2 towels reception staff need to be trained more in front of house skills.

    Location is good . cleaning staff very polite .

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.9
    Very kind staff.
    • Solo traveller

    Equipment a little bit worn. I could not use the pool because it was already closed when I got back to the hotel.

    Very kind staff. Indoor swimming pool. Quite spacious room with fridge and TV. Good breakfast,inside and outside eating area.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    5.4
    When we reached, there was no one at the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is really far away from the city center. There is only one direct bus (number 5) which takes around 22 mins to get to the river (which is right between the bustling areas of the city), and then you walk around 15 mins to the opera house for eg. The shower cabin was leaking. The refrigerator was barely cooling. The jacuzzi water was not the cleanest. We stayed on the 10th floor. WiFi signal was not available 5 feet into the room.

    When we reached, there was no one at the reception. I asked the lady in the restaurant if she could call someone, she said that we have to wait. The man who came later, though, was very nice and 'accommodating' (no pun intended). All contact with the hotel staff henceforth was positive. For the price, it was juuuusstt about ok. There are departmental stores, a good bakery, and an ice cream parlour just 1 min walk from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    5.4
    Location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Receptionist was immature, payment was so difficult and cleaners even opened the door while "do not disturb" sign was hanging on the door.

    Location and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    4.2
    Restaurant closed during the day and evening, no option for...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Restaurant closed during the day and evening, no option for a coffee at first time in the morning (only after 7:00), no minibar, unconfortable lins and beds.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    9.6
    Clean and good personell
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean and good personell

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    6.3
    breakfast
    • Family with young children

    breakfast swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    7.9
    the shower was not totally clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the shower was not totally clean

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    4.2
    in room was cold, broken heating, personal didn´t solve it
    • Business trip
    • Group

    in room was cold, broken heating, personal didn´t solve it

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.8
    WIFI does not work in all rooms, but it does work in close...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WIFI does not work in all rooms, but it does work in close vicinity of reception

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Allt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Allt

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    4.6
    bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.9
    Nice and comfortable room, good breakfast, secured parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a bit far from the centre, but it has a good bus connection (15 min)

    Nice and comfortable room, good breakfast, secured parking

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    8.3
    facilities, comfort, cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    location

    facilities, comfort, cleanliness

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: