Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort 4 stars

Jl. Pantai Kuta, 80030 Kuta, Indonesia

#40 of 244 hotels in Kuta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1527 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little bit more expensive than what we would normally pay but still good value for money.

    Delicious buffet breakfast with heaps of variety. Straight across the road from the beach & close to restaurants. 2 pools to choose from with great cocktails from the bar at the main pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Peace, Tranquility, Safe & Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to complain about really.

    The peace, comfort & tranquility. The staff were very friendly & helpful at all times. The tour office guide was great. The airport pickup and drop. Excellent brand new car used for airport drop. The breakfast was amazing spread of varieties and specially not forgetting the fresh juices prepared by the staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom smells bad - humidity, towels smell bad - humidity windows cannot be open, close properly

    perfect breakfast, wonderful location, smiling helpfull staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Best place to stay in Kuta...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to be disliked.

    Everything the resort had to offer, the resort was full of surprises and one was that the resort is somewhat of a hidden treasure.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Hospitality and warmth from all staff was very heart felt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality and warmth from all staff was very heart felt. Always smiling and helpful. Thank you kindly, you made our stay most enjoyable. Kia ora ra.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    The grounds of the property are worth every cent!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was not one of the remodeled ones, had a mold/pneumonia smell, they tried to mask it with oil, it helped but wasn’t great. Also there were power outages for maintenance at very inconvenient times with no notice, the staff were helpful but still very inconvenient.

    The grounds of the property are worth every cent!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Such excellent and courteous staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to complain

    Such excellent and courteous staff. Amazing hospitality.. and off course PAPA LIMONCELLA . Amazing amazing food and grt value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Alam Kulkul back after 14 year's.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough loungers.

    The staff are excellent and made the stay memorable. Great food at the restaurant. Awesome bali design and village feel when walking through the resort.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Bed was very comfortable, room had lots of space and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was run down. Stayed in quadruple room. Drains blocked up but were quickly fixed. Bamboo blinds on window did nothing to block out light at night so was quite bright.

    Bed was very comfortable, room had lots of space and location of resort was fantastic

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Family trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family rooms are located on the second floor at the back of the property so it is hard to manage with small children and prams etc. There is no balcony or outside area and no view, with the only small window facing the wall of adjacent building.

    Great location, clean rooms and great food!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant hotel located across from the beach and close to all amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I stayed in (alam room) was one of the older ones and was very dark,needed lights on even during the day. It had an enclosed garden terrace which was pleasant to look at but it felt A bit claustrophobic. Bathroom totally shabby and needs updating. I was offered another room but didn’t move as I was only there for 1 more night. If I revisit would definitely book an alam lanai room near the smaller pool.

    Both pools were great, plenty of lounges available. Breakfast was good, staff very pleasant throughout hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay!! Great location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Only thing I could fault was the shower in our room as the water took a while to get hot and the shower head pressure was not the best.

    Lovely hotel with great location so close to the beach!! Room was great, staff were wonderful and the food at Pappa's is excellent :) would highly recommend this hotel and would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.8
    Ok Location in Kuta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    RATS in the breakfast restaurant. They need to stop feeding the squirrels. Our room had a good size, but old and ready to be refurbished.

    Ok Location in Kuta. Nice pool, but small. Also irritating that they allow guests leaving towels on the sunbeds for hours while they are on the beach or wherever.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    More expensive than average but totally worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Extremely helpful stuff. The location is probably one of the best you can get in kuta. The room was perfectly clean and well worth the money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Surrounding was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness needs attention. The furniture needs polishing ..the room had a mushy smell due to the old furniture ..

    Surrounding was good. Well maintained and pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Great Balinese character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, overall was a great stay.

    Friendly and professional staff. Clean boutique resort with two nice swimming pools located in centre surrounded by rooms. Great resort for families based on price and facilities. Excellent location with beach and shops within minutes walk. Overall, a good place to stay at a reasonable price. The Italian restaurant next door has exceptional food and a great price - most meals $10 AUS.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    I really love how it has a friendly atmosphere and all staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the beds were a bit uncomfortable after long days of stay other than that everything was very lovely!

    I really love how it has a friendly atmosphere and all staff were nice and very accommodating. Highly recommended place for people who wants to just take it slow and relax

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    Winter Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool size is small and therefor limited space for guests. Only one pool is manned for service which was annoying.

    Beds and pillows we found excellent. The resort is not too large and street noise is not noticeable inside which was pleasing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location, quiet surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    I'm not sure if the restaurant had a menu or whether it was just buffet every night, we didn't eat here at night. The breakfast was okay, not a lot to choose from and there always seemed very little had been put out, but they refilled regularly. Nothing wrong with the food just not a great selection.

    We upgraded our room to a villa during our stay, there was nothing wrong with the room the villa just offered us close proximity to the pool, an outside area to sit at night. The hotel was quiet which was great for us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Though the room was very basic and did not meet our minimum expectations but we are not unhappy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But the room we stayed at needs upgrades for sure. We stayed in a room for which we did not pay A lot, if you compare with other hotels nearby it was cheaper. But the floor tiles need to be replaced in the room, the mattress needs to be replaced, towels were too old, the room need at least one more gpo, bathroom floor/ wall tiles need to upgraded.

    Overall it’s a good resort, location, common facilities, staffs , restaurant are excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Great location, staff are so friendly & attentive and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are showing their age

    Great location, staff are so friendly & attentive and the beach just across the road is the ideL spot for a late afternoon Bintang

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location, opposite the beach stretch where most surf...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family rooms are run down in particular the bath. But it’s ok if you can secure a good deal as they can sleep 4 with separated beds for 2 kids! Cannot judge the mini villas. They look modern. Understaffed in particular during breakfast with staff being friendly but in parts unorganized.

    Great location, opposite the beach stretch where most surf schools operate. When you have kids who want to learn surfing this is the right place. Family rooms are nice and functional. Breakfast is buffet style with fresh juices. There is a great Italian restaurant adjacent. Great pizza!! Kids love it. Last not least. The flair is traditional Balinese which is fantastic. Newer hotels adjacent are already cosmopolitan and an architectural Desaster.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice beach resort with nothing to complain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing major which will upset you but as an individual choice I would prefer a bright lighting in room. The lighting was very dull. Charging points in the room are bit hidden and could have been at convenient location.

    There is plenty in the list! This is a beautiful resort and landscaping is very good. Staff is simply amazing and they will help you out in any scenario. This property is next to beach so you don't spend time in commute. There are variety of restaurants and a mall nearby at walking distance. Overall though not at the central location this resort is at a very convenient location for family with kids and for those who are not looking for only night life. They have an amazing variety in breakfast with good veg options. Fresh fruit juices starts your day well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alam Villa With Alam Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The villa is well built but outdated. Flushing the toilet is very hard and mosquitos come in to the room through the half open bathroom. The roof in the half open bathroom is not well maintained. Stepping in and out of the bathroom shower is half a meter and not good for older people

    Location is very good. The beach is just across the street. Breakfast is good with Asian and western choises. The receiption and front office personnel is professional and helpfull

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel for families with small to older children and those wanting a relaxing time away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Alam Villa With Alam Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms could be doing with a bit of an upgrade and garden villas thatched roofs could be filled in so no leaks when it rains.

    Fab hotel! It’s located at the end of the main strip across from the beach in Kuta. Perfect location and away from all the noise! Beachwalk mall is only 5 mins walk away, as are all the bars and restaurants. Legion Street and Poppies Lane not far to walk either. Breakfast was pretty decent. Omelette/egg station, fresh smoothie station and all the usual brekkie choices. Staff are extremely accommodating and will cater to your needs. Pools are lovely too, with pool bar and comfy sun loungers. You can order food and drinks while you sunbathe. The hotel gives discount in the Italian restaurant located at the hotel. The food is fab! Club lounge is good. Nothing special but fridge for drinks and coffee/tea and fresh snacks available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast. Great location. Rooms well cleaned and maintained. Check in staff very helpful. We were going to the Gili Islands and they allowed us to keep a suitcase there until our return. The food in the restaurant at the front is also excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Very good place by the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alam Lanai Room With Alam Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not to be able to get the airport pick up service asking for it 3 hours in advance (taxis in Bali airport are overpriced and crazy).

    Very good place and very close to the Kuta beach (just crossing the street). Nice rooms and nice pools. Great breakfast (although a bit westernised).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxing love the pool and wait staff, very friendly always knew our first names
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the shower over the bath, found it a bit difficult to get over and out.

    The breakfast was excellent, room adequate and clean, close to the pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location and amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Alam Lanai Room With Alam Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark rooms and towel service. Pool lounge chairs in sunny areas are limited.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Variety of pools. Great restaurant. Superb location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    The location was fantastic, right opposite beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sun lounges were a little old and stained which didn’t look great. A few things could be updated around the grounds and within the rooms. Mosquitos were a bit of an issue.

    The location was fantastic, right opposite beach. It’s a bit old but traditional Bali style which was great. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Daily activities for kids such as making offering and flower arrangements. The turtles at front reception were a hit with the kids too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Relaxation & foodie delights in the heart of Kuta!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room we had was a bit mouldy and had a smell that we did not like.

    The location in the bustling Legian street was great! Right opposite Kuta beach and lots of access to eating places. Alam Kul Kul restaurants were fantastic. The Spa was beautiful and treatments really good. Staff were very helpful and always accommodated with our requests. Pools catered for younger kids making it safer and more care-free for the parents. Breakfasts were great and very tasty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Family break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Good breakfast. Rooms well maintained. Not too much space around the pool but we like hanging out at the beach so no problem. Great restaurant at the front.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Clean Resort close to everthing with helpfull friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alam Villa With Pool Access & Alam Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Air Conditioner was too noisy.

    The location was close to Garlic Lane and shopping and situated directly opposite Kuta Beach. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Rooms where clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Welcoming, calming and restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like the repetitive (lift) music at the bigger pool, though it was turned down on request. Maybe a variety of different types of music could be played.

    friendly and efficient staff. Good breakfasts and excellent location. Alam deluxe room was beautiful. Quiet and lovely view of smaller pool. Nice setting and walk through gardens of the property

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    memorable time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very closed to the beach, the children like the pool inside. We have checked out early in the morning & the staffs were so kind to prepare big breakfast-in-box & do check-out so quickly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Ok but won't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Alam rooms are in a concrete apartment block at the back of the hotel and noise reverberates through the whole building- foot traffic walking past at all hours and guests above stomping around and moving furniture. Not very relaxing. Breakfast you are sharing with rats (food is put out for squirrels but you end up with rats). Pool was a tad green. Silly system with towels - you have to get a towel card from reception which they don't tell you at check in. Also no offer of food or drinks by the garden pool. Was woken multiple times in the morning by reception ringing by accident or housekeeping coming in. Spa is very expensive

    Hotel grounds are beautiful. Great location for the price you pay. Room service is adequate. Staff were friendly but struggled with English at times. Included breakfast is standard fare.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Alam Lanai Room With Alam Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smelly and damp, and hotel could use some refurbishment. No good value for money, and due to poor lighting on the entrance path next to the front restaurant, I badly sprained my ankle when I slipped and fell in the ditch.

    The squirrels at the breakfast are quite the attraction. Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay and would consider staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Alam Lanai Room With Alam Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The refillable pottery jars of Shampoo, Conditioner, Bath Gel and Body lotion in the bathroom. The towels could have been softer. Noise from the rooms above were disturbing at times.

    Staff always happy and very helpful, the pillows were the best I've had in Bali. The bathroom with big separate shower and bath plus lot of space for our toiletries. Our Alam room was big, had adequate storage, big TV and good WiFi. The breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    We have stayed at the Alum Kulkul quite a few times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed at the Alum Kulkul quite a few times. The staff are lovely, the rooms & pools are clean & the location is great. We keep going back so guess thats enough reason to recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    The new room we were given was excellent, this was after...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The original room we were given was poor. The toilet didn't flush properly and leaked The bed head timber fixture fell down during the night The bath tub wouldn't hold water so no bath facilities that we originally booked The shower curtain rail was falling out of its mounts The shower head was not securely fixed so it wouldn't stay in one position making it difficult to have a decent shower

    The new room we were given was excellent, this was after complaining about all the things that were wrong with the first room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Make me want to come to bali again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As per my last trip, nothing I dislike. Keep up the good work!

    I'm loving this hotel. Service that I get is really great and staff are super helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    We had a great stay good breakfast quiet and close to beach which suited us perfectly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Alam Lanai Room With Alam Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi at times needed a bit of a boost

    We loved the location to the beach and just a short walk to be in the thick of things. If that is not required it is very quiet at alam kul kul

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay close to the beach at reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is a bit old but clean and reasonable for the price.

    Great location right next to 5 stars hotel is a reasonable price. The beach is just opposite which is great for surfers. 15 minutes walk to the famous beach clubs and shopping centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing, natural and gourmet stop before my journey back to London
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels in the toilet could have been more and better quality.

    The facilities were amazing, a secret zen garden in front of the beach and very relaxing. I would have never expected such high attention for details in an hotel in Bali.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic Quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alam Villa With Pool Access & Alam Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Exceptional place to stay - Fantastic staff , beautiful , clean & comfortable accommodation . Could not fault a thing with it . First time staying here but definetly won't be the last .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    the very green area of the hotel, looks like balinese...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the very green area of the hotel, looks like balinese village, very peaceful and quiet, beach is very close (first line, just cross the road, good for surf), staff is very friendly and helpful, nice terrace for the breakfast which was delicious, fruits are fresh. Alarm room is just simlpe but the balcony was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    This is a lovely resort with two pools, great breakfast and the staff were excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are a little tired but overall the resort was lovely very clean and staff were excellent, the Breakfast was also very good

    This was a great location to Legian main street and Markets also great resturants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Very lovely resort would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alam Villa With Pool Access & Alam Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast could have been a lot better

    Room was lovely, had a pool room, bed very comfortable, staff very friendly, great location across road from beach, close to all markets ,resort has 2 pools. thankyou had a wonderful time Mrs Delwyn Saxon

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Excellent first stop when you arrive in Bali
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked specifically for a ground floor room and got a second floor room

    Pool was lovely and the breakfast balcony area was lovely including the tame squirrels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.7
    Stayed 1 day before flying home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dead bug in the bathroom. Cobwebs above the bed.

    Stayed 1 day before flying home. Booked a quadruple room. Fine for 1 day but room is dated and found a dead cockroach in the bathroom. Just across the road from the beach so a good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    A hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alam Lanai Room With Alam Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A real hidden gem. The rooms and facilities are well maintained but its the helpful and always smiling staff that makes this an amazing place. All over we loved the hotel and its facilities but its staff make the difference between Alum Kulkul and other hotels on the Kuta Beach front. Look forward to coming back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Peaceful and a true break from reality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nonthin.

    This property was really well located and offered a retreat for a lot cheaper then chain hotels on the same street! The staff always go above and beyond to help and if they ain't sure they will find someone who does know. The general manager Jonathan was terrific and organised a visit to the dentist for us when my husband broke a tooth. They also came and saw how we were doing in hospital after my son and I were hospitalised.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced and not offering value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool hours are disappointing. Open from 8am to 7pm daily. Just absurd in this kind of climate. Even when we attempted to enter the pool at 8.45am we were greeted with grumblings from the pool cleaning staff who obviously hadn't finished. No seating on balcony bar for free cocktail (choice of 1 flavour!)

    Location relative to beach is ideal. Rooms are clean and spacious, and the grounds are well maintained. Breakfast is fine. Reception staff very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Stayed here for four nights and got the breakfast included which is recommended
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower set up got the floor too wet and pretty small bathroom

    Liked how close it was to the beach and shops and that there was two pools so if any noisy kids were in one you could go to the other also liked how the gardens and trees around the property made you feel calm and took away from the noise from the busy street

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Memorable Stay with Alam Kulkul
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were all helpful.very attentive waitstaff on the restaurant also thoughtful in sending us breakfast box when out tour was early morning! GM also thoughtful writting my family and son a welcome note!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    A Tropical garden in front of the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning inside the room could be slightly improved. Our A/C was tricky to adjust as the remote was failed.

    The resort is impeccable, high attention even in the smallest detail. It doesn't look like a normal hotel and the big garden surrounded by little ponds and streams gives the feeling of being inside a tropical paradise. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Restaurants have a wide menu and the buffet has a lot of choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swim up bar would be good. Internet was a bit patchy in back rooms. People leave towels on chairs all day to reserve.

    Two great pools. Beautiful Balinese style gardens. Small quiet oasis. Managers cocktail night was a nice touch. Nice breakfast/ all you need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    Disopointing for the money...wont stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Alam Villa With Pool Access & Alam Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    didnt like location had to drive all round block to get to hotel ! took forever. They lost my vote at Breakfast no Bacon!! could not even ofder any!. Paid extra for club lounge access...never any food left !! no sandwiches or cakes 1 day i got a cake with a mandirn orange slice...dont bother paying for this service.

    liked the room being quiet and poolside

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Cool close to everything ok place to stay
    • Family with young children
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could get noisy from hallway from others , children, at night . Little pricey $100 per night for the room with no breakfast included . 😩

    Clean, friendly staff. Close to everything we needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    our neighbours were very noisy and inconsiderate when walking past our room. They disturbed our res
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bacon was overcooked for my liking, too crisp and dried out for me.

    i liked the granola, fresh fruit and egg station. The lovely granola selection was not served until the last morning we stayed there. I would have loved more fresh fruit, like strawberries or bluberries?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice rooms and facilities and across the road from the beach. The Limoncello Restaurant great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main disappointment was the state of the pool towels. They were in a poor condition and had brown marks on most of them. We didn’t really want to use them, but we didn’t have much choice because there were no good ones available.

    We loved the gorgeous gardens and facilities and the staff was wonderful. We also enjoyed the food especially in the restaurant at the front of the complex.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing time with long beach walks sunset over water and lots of massages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mystery Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The villa bathroom design has a dug in the floor deep tiled bathtub with shower in tub. They have had to put in a pole so you can get out. Not for anyone with knee or hip issues

    This is a good quality room in a fabulous location close to beach restaurants shopping and a number of spas. The breakfast was ok note no bacon. The bathroom design in the villa is spectacular but impractical. However the staff were very very responsive and helpful. Reasonable value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    Not worth the money charged
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I lost my mobile in the hotel Mostly the housekeeping staff had taken it Also registered a police complaint But the hotel management did not help much

    Property is over priced not at all worth the money charged the rooms are very old Safe not functioning Hairdryer not working Extremely disappointing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Clean, friendly and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tired. Two rooms booked for large family unable to be accommodated near each other. Rooms ok. Lack of towels at pool at times.

    Service was good, place was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Loved the traditional Balinese style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Loved the traditional Balinese style. Able to cater to our large group. Italian restaurant was great. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great location and value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful, luxurious and quiet oasis in the middle of Kuta
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Alam Villa with Dinner & Lounge Access
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wonderful gardens and Balinese style throughout the whole premise, super friendly staff, attention to details (music, flower arrangements, name cards...), great (local) food even at the pool bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    I was happy to have stayed for my week in Bali at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have difficulty with stairs and the restaurant is on the first floor. So I did not have breakfast in the morning during my stay although I could have had room service. I already felt isolated travelling alone placed at the rear of the property let alone eating on my own. The location detail of the restaurant was not listed in the hotel description and would make it difficult for customers who have a disability or aging or movement difficulties.

    Lovely quiet hotel very good location and friendly staff. Not for lone travellers unless you are seeking privacy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    2.9
    nothing :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Alam Villa With Pool Access & Alam Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Full of insects and lizards inside the room, bathroom is dirty. I wasn’t expect anything like this when I booked the hotel, I booked 6days in the hotel and I checked out after two days.

    nothing :(

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    One of the best traditional hotels in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Alam Lanai Room With Alam Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast was amazing and even had vegemite!!! The villas were clean, cold and bed was great! The staff are super helpful And the location was brilliant to go everywhere 😀😀😀👍👍👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall, had a wonderful time & as mentioned the Staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We were disappointed with the BBQ Dinner (meet & greet) held on the Wednesday night, considering that we booked for that night, food catering could improve & was a bit over priced for what was on offer. The Family Deluxe Room was let down by having such a small bathroom to cater for the 2 Adults & 2 Children.

    The fact that it felt tradition Bali style with excellent customer service. Staff were very friendly & accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Perfect retreat in Kuta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a damp smell and awkward micro-steps in the bathroom area (trip hazards).

    The resort has an intimate scale of authentic Balinese household. Rooms well set in landscape, each with relatively private open air area. Close to the beach and local amenities. High quality spa. Comfortable pool areas: the quiet and the fun one. Superb breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Excellent service and staff, would visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Alam Villa With Pool Access & Alam Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything lived up to expectations. There was nothing I was unhappy with.

    All the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Daily room clean was amazing, as was the buffet breakfast. Lots of variety. I liked that my room was positioned right next to the pool, as I was in and out daily! The beach was also very close to the resort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Alam Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sleeping place for a child, such as some sofa or folding armchair. You must order it for additional price.

    Great location, breakfast, stuff and hotel territory. Not spacy but very comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alam Villa With Alam Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The villa was below simple and not as shown in the pictures. - The decoration is too old. - The bed was really not comfortable I had trouble in sleeping. - The breakfast had limited food options.

    The best thing in our villa was the bathroom and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Java Villa with Plunge Pool & Alam Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We rented the Java Villa and it was SOOOOOO DARK inside, dark and gloomy like a dungeon. There is zero indoor/outdoor flow. The bathroom is odd with the toilet outside and the shower is across a pond and over the bath where you have to step down into the bath. The pool is very very small and does not get much sun. The room felt very old and dated. I would not stay here again. I felt the Java Villa was very overpriced for what it was, we paid $1150 for 5 nights and also got charged $60 for a late checkout. You can stay in much nicer more modern places same amount.

    The breakfast was small but sufficient, the Alam KulKul is located in a great area close to Garlic Lane and Poppies 1/2. The staff are lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: