Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alila Ubud 5 stars

Desa Melinggih Kelod, Payangan, Gianyar, Bali, 80572 Ubud, Indonesia

#55 of 235 hotels in Ubud

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 322 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    Good for the location & swimming pool but old fashion hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel really need some renovations, it looks like old fashion. We expect an hotel more modern for this range of accommodation.

    Swimming pool and the view on the valley & jungle: exceptional ! We have been also upgraded :-)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.1
    The room size was quite small but very clean and beds extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Again was disappointed with the room size and with 2 people sharing the room the 3 bags of tea pretty stingy . The grass could have been manicured a little more also given the rating of the hotel.

    The room size was quite small but very clean and beds extra comfy! The food was ok but the coffee was not good which given the availability of excellent coffee in the region was very disappointing! The breakfasts were excellent and regional jams a definite highlight. The staff are just brilliant and attentive swell as helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Would return again and again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Tree Villa - Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More expensive than beach etc as in the middle of nowhere but still cheaper than UK.

    Amazing place. Would recommend for a relaxing break in luxury. Views spectacular and you see the monkeys every day. Upgrade to a tree villa for your own monkeys passing through every morning on the terrace. Amazing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.5
    One to remember
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular that we did not like enough to point out to staff. The position isn't close the main street but there is a shuttle run three times daily and Alila provides enough and is beautiful enough to need not leave. The WIFI at times is weak but given that the property is so large and in the middle of the jungle that is to be expected.

    The staff were a stand out, very attentive and extremely polite. All of the resteraunt meals at 'Plantation' were an absolute stand out and it is a credit to the chef and Alila. Such a pleasant surprise to have freshly made, concious and delicious included breakfasts apposed to a cheap buffet style of service like elsewhere. Afternoon tea was also provided which again was a pleasure. Another stand out to note was the quality of the spa treatment products, something that they are clearly proud as, as they should be. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    The staff is just incredible, even if this is common in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was not as confortable as I had expected and the view from the room was completely unnimpressive. We were really disappointed about that, considering the price we were paying.

    The staff is just incredible, even if this is common in Indonesia it's probably the friendliest and most helpful staff we've encountered in a hotel. The Spa and the restaurants are also good, altough not good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Stunning location for relaxation but close enough to enjoy Ubud
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major. If I’m picking I would say as I was in a twin room with my friend, rather than in a couple, the bathroom door was louvre style so you could hear everything!!! Good job we’ve known each other for decades!! And unnecessary areas of open window into the bathroom from inside the room gave a slight lack of privacy - there was no obvious gain in terms of design...frosted glass would have been a better choice.

    Setting was wonderful - the gardens and jungle views were fab. Beautiful pool and bar area, perfect for chilling out. Monkeys were always good entertainment! Breakfast was excellent as was dinner in both restaurants. Lovely cocktails. Spa treatment was amazing. Room was nicely decorated and loved the outside shower room (once I’d lowered the blinds!) Staff were fantastic. Bike hire and shuttle into town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    A magical setting & stunning view, the infinity pool is impressive. There are even resident monkeys
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a free shuttle bus but it stops mid afternoon. Perhaps an evening run would be helpful

    We arrived after dark to a magical setting lit by candles and soft lights. The infinity pool was stunning and our evening meal excellent. We found we had be up graded to amazing villa rooms overlooking the valley.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    The rooms were excellent, we was upgraded following a small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were excellent, we was upgraded following a small leak, the situation was dealt with very quick, the staff very attentive, super location, pool and view great. The website pictures do not do it justice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Lived up to my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor thing - The upstairs toilet was pretty noisy and we would prefer a proper door on the bathroom that was soundproof!

    The property is absolutely gorgeous. I took so many photos of the pool and surrounding jungle. I loved the afternoon teas, the night time poolside movie, the breakfast was divine. The staff all seem genuinely happy. The room was generous size and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    AMAZING HOSPITALITY AND GREAT PLACE WOULD DEF GO BACK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the fact that my trip was only 3 days and not 30

    Excellent property, We visited for my moms 60th birthday took the valley view and presidential room both were fantastic and amazing experience

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    A piece of heaven in Ubud
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The deluxe and superior rooms were small and a bit too basic for my liking.

    The villas were beautiful and spacious perfect for a family with small kids. Beautifully appointed room with a large spacious bathroom. The piece de resistance though was the stunning outdoor shower and the fragrant bath amenities provided. Just imagine taking a nice hot shower under the stars with the cool Ubud air fragrant with the lemongrass and ylang ylang scents of the shower gel provided. Was truly a slice of heaven. The spa was gorgeous and the the ladies who gave us our massages were not only friendly and professional but had magic hands that left us feeling so relaxed we did not want to leave. The pool side restaurant is lovely and was the perfect setting for movies under the stars which my daughter loved. The best part of the Alila resort though were the staff. Everyone was so friendly and polite and nothing we asked was too much trouble. They made us feel welcome and that they really appreciated having us there as their guests. A special mention for Mr. Adeel who not only resolved the problems with our rooms but went out of his way to make sure that we were comfortable and happy at the Alila Ubud. He is definitely the perfect example of Balinese hospitality and someone who understands excellent customer service. I will definetly stay at the Alila the next time I am in Ubud and it is because of Mr. Adeel's professionalism.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    The staff are very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not very nice and the last shuttle bus from the center comes very early. Some bedrooms have the shower in open air, so it is very common to have bugs in it, also the wooden curtain used does not provide full privacy while using the shower.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. They are doing their best to make you feel at home.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    A Magical stay in the clouds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WC is too small and outdoor shower in the villa did not drain well.

    The two bedroom villa was just amazing! the views are magical from this property. The main restaurant was one of the best. Don't miss their signature cocktails especially the hibiscus mojito. The staff are very nice and accommodating. This is a true luxury resort with a boutique feel to it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    The terrace villas where really spacious and you can really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Valley Villa with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrace villas where really spacious and you can really say it’s a villa. The comfort level was unbelievable, we didn’t want to leave the place again. We stayed at hanging gardens before and we regret that we haven’t stayed the entire trip at Alila ! Big heads up to the staff... super friendly and very helpful no matter in what aspect. I wish I could have stayed longer at the beautiful resort. I would have paid even Double the price for that value i got ! Thank you for this amazing experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Ubud Alula Hotel makes Ubud even more special
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like that... we couldn't stay longer!

    One of the MOST amazing places I have stayed in my life. I booked a deluxe room for our three kids, and a superior room for us. I was in contact with a wonderful and kind man, I Gede Hendra Ariawan, the Assistant Events Curation Manager of Ubud Alila Hotel. He took care of every detail and put together the most romantic package for our 10 years wedding anniversary vows renewal ceremony and special dinner. Hendra and the entire staff at Alila went the extra miles to make this occasion as special as a real wedding. First, when we arrived at the hotel, we were upgraded as gift for our anniversary to the VILLA. The deluxe room is already amazing, and having the Villa was a treat. The place is truly beautiful...you have seen the photos on the website. But what makes Ubud Alila THE place to go back every time you are in Ubud,m and what wants you to want to celebrate there ANY special occasion of your life, is the CUSTOMER SERVICE. Our deluxe room and the villa has rose petals all over, the beauty and cleanness of the hotel are emphasized by the amazing surroundings of the forest and rice plantations. The pool is just a dream. The food is TO DIE FOR, so are the cocktails. Our ceremony and dinner were planned in such a way that when I show photos and video to friends and family they cannot believe people in Europe and America pay $$$$$ for a wedding and reception to get half the service and value of what we had at Ubud Alila. While we stayed there, everybody calls you Mr and Ms...+ your name. After the ceremony, everybody would congratulate us...even the staff that had nothing to do with the organization of the event! Alila makes every customer feel SPECIAL, not another client bringing money to Bali. From the bar to the restaurant, everybody had been informed of my the food allergies we had and were super cautious in serving us dishes without those. Even for our wedding dinner, the chef made a special separate Balinese dinner just for me!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    A peaceful and luxurious haven in the rain forests... with tropical downpours and amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Valley Villa with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast service was very slow and painful. When we asked for eggs.. they only served one .. so had to ask for another which was fine .. but too a long time again!

    An amazing property and location althought quite a journey into town. We had a valley view villa which had a super comfy bed althogh be prepared to see lots of insects and moths .. we had tons in our room when we came back after dinner .. not sure how they got in! The pool area is spectacular and you really hvae amazing views of the forest. Feels very peaecful when you are there and total haven for relaxation. If you want to sit by a pool and just chill in luxury - then this is the place to come to. Staff are all very friendly and the GM was really polie,. enaging and gave us some great tips. It's not a cheap place so really need to make sure you maximise time to enjoy the property and the stunning views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    A great location to expolore the Ubud area of Bali and enjoy your stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked the food at the poolside bar better than the restaurant food upstairs. Restaurant supposed to be high quality, but we were not very enthusiastic about the food there.

    Many nice activities, different things on different days. Like a evening outdoor poolside movie, morning yoga or tai chi. Very friendly staff and knowledgeable. Nice view from the pool onto the river valley and forest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    An atmospheric escape and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a leaky bathroom but was fixed once it was reported.

    Alila Ubud was a nice stay and atmospheric. The Superior Valley View Room was basic but elegant. Their infinity pools never seize to impress. There were well planned activities through the day (yoga, bike rides through the padi fields, movie night, cultural night), although we did not participate as we were touring, it seemed like people were enjoying the activities. As the hotel is secluded in nature its a nice escape but if you want to see more of Ubud a hired bike/car is required. The town center is about a 20 minute drive, so keep in mind travel time and costs. The breakfast options are good with a change of menu daily.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    A Peaceful and Harmonious stay that recharges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pool Villa with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't really find something that I am unhappy about. Perhaps transportation to ubud central can be extended to the late afternoon to about 5pm rather than the current 3pm. And perhaps just an advice for very light sleepers who wants to sleep in; the morning chirps and sound of birds and insects can get quite intense at about 0630am. Its a good thing but do prep your ear plugs. :-)

    The resort was very peaceful and quiet, almost surreal. Noise and sound mainly comes from insects and birds. The Service staff were very approachable and helpful. They answered all my quires, even offered to prepare a simple breakfast for us after getting to know about our Mount Bartur trekking expedition. The food at Plantation restaurant was awesome. Accommodation was clean and comfortable, esp the bed and pillow. The shared pool was a great place to hang around in the afternoon, overlooking the river and with families of monkeys passing by occasionally.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Not perfect. Fairly good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shuttle service was not frequent. They arranged the pick up service, but 1.5 hour late without notice. They sent another car after I called and complained. It was a bad start for staying.

    Nature friendly. Nice jungle view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    An idyllic retreat amidst a beautiful jungle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was awesome, just would have loved it if there was a heated pool in the property. The temperature in the mountains can drop down to 20 degrees, so the pool water would get quite cold. But it's great on a sunny day.

    Amazing view from the room. Super fast check-in and check-out. Superb infinity pool. If you are looking for a tranquil experience along with warm hospitality by its amazing staffs, this resort is it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    The pool is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Valley Villa with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower water got cold sometimes in the night. Bugs

    The pool is amazing!Sometimes you can see wild monkeys come by, but watch out your little stuff... Staffs there are so nice and warm!!! I’ll definitely recommend my friends to stay here when they come to Ubud!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    I loved everything, such a peaceful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that they push you to consume alcohol at the pool by telling you , 1 for free If you get one during the happy hours. Then in the end the price of one cost the price of 3 expensive drinks in Bali. I don’t like when I feel like a cash machine. THAT S THE ONLY REMARQUE the rest was perfect.

    I loved everything, such a peaceful place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect peaceful luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it’s a patch of paradise!

    Beautiful grounds; warm and thoughtful staff who were attentive but also respected your space; the most delicious Indonesian cuisine

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked two deluxe rooms for two nights and there was some problem with hot water supply on the first night. Wifi was weak. The manager kindly resolved the issue by upgrading our rooms to a two-bedroom villa on the second night. No more issue with hot water and seems that the wifi has improved.

    Pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location, outstanding view, fantastic experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made the booking via booking.com and we booked a private pool villa which was promised to come with an amazing view which was not the case!!! We then told the manager about the wrong description in booking.com and he manage to give us an upgrade to a great pool villa with view without paying any more - thanks to this to the Alila Team!

    We stayed two nights in this great resort in the middle of the jungle. It is about 20 min outside of Ubud (free Shuttle is offered) but we didnt want to leave the resort for the two days anyway. Great staff and friendly people of the whole team. The big main pool is fantastic. In the morning a monkey family come over and we could see real wildlife monkeys while drinking gin tonic. The view is amazing. Breakfast was included and very nice too. The restaurants are very nice and the quality of the food amazing. However if you plan a stay there you have to be aware that it is expensive - at the same time i would say it was worthy to go and i dont want to miss this great experience.Thanks to this to the Alila Team! We highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful once we got there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After I booked my card was charged twice for the booking on 2 separate dates, I contacted the hotel and they denied that they had charged the card. In the end my bank had to reverse the charge. Although they did upgrade our room when we arrived.

    The service was unbelievable. The staff are so friendly and they can’t do enough for you. The breakfast each day was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing and very beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Booking tours and experiences through the hotel is very pushed... and it's much more expensive than doing it direct with local providers.

    Our first room - the air conditioning didn't work but they happily moved us straight away. The pool is AMAZING. Staff are very friendly... sometimes maybe a little too much so ;)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the engine of airconditioning units was on our roof or near to it, so even when we had our arico off, we slept with earplugs because of engine noise of other units. This was a real shame as we were looking forward to sleeping with the sounds of the forest.

    Everything was great! The chef was also amasing and came to greet people in the mornings during breakfast, which was a lovely touch!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel with one of the world's best pools.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool! The photos are real - the pool really is amazing, on the cliff's edge overlooking the jungle. I travelled with my mother for her 60th birthday, and we couldn't have been happier. So relaxing, the staff cannot do enough for you, cheeky monkey run through the pool area and resort, free bikes for riding, absolutely amazing food and healthy drinks / tonics. We did a moonlight remedy massage - highly recommended and was my mum's favourite thing (only on Full Moon). Would highly recommend and stay again :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Clean and good value for money,but just not what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The absence of character Very impersonal Nothing was really bad but nothing was great enough to make an experience out of it It was just a very nice accommodation

    The villa

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff at alila were very lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taxi services around Ubud are totally inflated, expect to pay 1/3 more from a hotel. The shuttle bus needs to run more often to support alilas visitors

    The staff at alila were very lovely. Our pool villa was amazing. It would have been nice to have a view at the price we paid. Breakfast was delicious and the restaurant very reasonably priced and so good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice resort but highly overpriced with annoying features
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good kitchen but highly overpriced, the hotel takes advantage of the fact that you can’t choose any other restaurant withing 15 minutes car ride distance. Internet was super super slow during the whole duration of out stay, very annoying for such high price. The resort is 15 mins far from Ubud by car, still the shuttle bus schedules are rather unrealistic. Last bus comes back to hotel at 3 pm, which means that Alila forces you to eat and stay every afternoon at the hotel if you rely on the shuttle. If you don’t, they offer private transfer as well for a ridiculous price of 10-11 usd one way. Alternatively you can choose the illegal taxi drivers running unmarked cars in Ubud (there are no official taxis) where you need to bargain and you are going to be ripped off anyway, does not matter how much you pay at the end. Smartly the taxi drivers and the hotel owners in the area joined their forces against UBER and Grab and now there are no mobile taxi apps you could use, all were banned. With this they are exposing tourist to a higher costs, definitive rip off experiences and lots of inconvenience. An idiotic move for tourism from the locals!

    Scenic environment 15 minutes distance from Ubud in the green. Groups of monkeys from the neigbouring forest make your mornings more entertaining evrry day, pool is also nice. Staff super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Very nice place but also very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was extremely expensive. Last shuttle to and from central Ubud was at around midday impossible to go out for dinner unless you take a taxi both ways.

    The surrounding forest was wonderful. A la Carte Breakfast was good. The hotel provides free bicycles and the neighborhood is pleasant to bike in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    The view and the environment of this hotel is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view and the environment of this hotel is amazing. All of the staff were very kind and friendly. The food was good as well:) I definitely want to come back one day soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Very Good staff but property underwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the entry level room and I was slightly underwhelmed. It looked dated and not at all what expected when comparing with Alila Seminyak.. Went to the pool and restaurant for lunch ...when I arrived , the pool area looked slightly more like a backpacker than a 5 Star resort with beanbags and towels scattered around. I would rate lunch as very average. The property in general is nice.... but not what I was expecting for an Alila.

    The entrance and arrival is impressive. The staff are amazing. Friendly. Helpful efficient. Location is lovely .... great views across the valley. Do Like the plunger coffee in the guest rooms. Breakfast was good concept of ordering tasting plates. Not having traditional buffet. The balianese dancing at afternoon tea was cute. And the monkeys were cute but very cheeky.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Perfect simplistic luxury in middle of nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alila Ubud is perfect, like a fairytale. Middle of jungle overlooking the valley : its luxury but really in harmony with the environment and the culture. We got upgraded to private pool villa, partially for free! I would say it’s the most value room. It’s private, open windows to the green garden, private pool, bathtub surrounded by fishpond. Perfect for naked tanning. Oh ja not to mention the food and the friendly staff! We’ve been to Alila in Seminyak and Mangis and are huge fans.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    Great breakfast spread and pretty pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath tub in room. No balcony as expected. Toiletries were all lemongrass scented.

    Great breakfast spread and pretty pool. Movie night and traditional dance practice was cool. Free afternoon tea was a lovely bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    If you want to experience ubud then you should stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The shuttle from the airport to the hotel was a breeze. The staff paid so much attention to us when we got there, they gave us a brief about the hotel and how things will go for our stay. Everybody was so nice and helpful. The hotel facilities were top notch and the view is just amazing. My shuttle going to the airport at 4 am was a surprised. They had pillows for me in the car and boxed breakfast; that I think left an impression that will make me comeback and stay even longer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location outside ubud in a beautiful nature...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad smell in the bathroom Food and drinks are extremly pricey compared to every othe places we have visited in bali island

    Great location outside ubud in a beautiful nature environment Amazing pool Nice breakfast Bathroom decoration is beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant place to relax! Top quality service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn’t have a fan, AirCond wasn’t cold enough

    The hospitality and service, the facilities, the view, the pool, the breakfast options, the spa, the architecture

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Really lovely stay with excellent views, great pool for swimming and enjoyed the free classes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nicer to have more places to hang things in the room?

    The closeness to the nature - monkeys and also the views. The place is like a fortress and very spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    3.8
    Western hotel in the middle of nowhere, room smelled like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Western hotel in the middle of nowhere, room smelled like rotten eggs, wouldn't recommend anyone stay here. The view of the pool is nice, but it's over crowded and only serves a western menu in the middle of the jungle in Ubud. Downtown is very far away, the shuttle runs at weird hours. Stay away from this place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Incredible food, amazingly friendly and helpful staff, fantastic pool and an idyllic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a country that produces coffee, this could have been better. Prices a bit over-inflated for some of the local basics (eg small Bintang beer cost 60k vs 25k in most restaurants)

    Incredible food, amazingly friendly and helpful staff, fantastic pool and an idyllic location made this stay one of the highlights of our trip. Great place to explore from (Ubud, white water rafting, coffee plantations etc) and also somewhere we just wanted to stay and relax.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    The location is grand and infinity pool is very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom more bigger (shower) but is only one concern.....:

    The location is grand and infinity pool is very relaxing.....confort is a must....I'd like the complementary fruits and body care soaps/lotions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    The most amazing experience the staff was incredible the hotel and the location were magical we were travelling with our 2 yo baby and it was very comfortable A real luxury hotel! Going back next year for sure

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Always EXCELLENT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This past visit i saw more children running around than i cared to. The Alila in Ubud should not allow children. It is an adult retreat, in my opinion.

    Staff is attentive, and I always feel that they are sincere in their goal to please you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    A most enjoyable few days in Ubud but not easy at the Alila.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had injured my back and had to use a walking stick and found the many flights of steep steps to get to restaurant and pool a great disadvantage. Potential guests would need to be aware of this if not completely fit.

    The public areas such as restaurant and pool were very attractive, I enjoyed seeing monkeys in the trees and having the forest all around. Meals were very good. All staff were great. Bedroom was not outstanding, with few room amenities offered. Perhaps there is another level of rooms? But outside shower was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    The accommodation and food at the Alila was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The application of th Alila's loyalty programme discount was unclear and I'm still not sure whether the 10% discount for food was deducted from all of my food orders. The rate quoted by the hotel for taxis to the same location varied from day to day (apparently due to the daily petrol price - I found this strange for a hotel).

    All food at the Alila was amazing, in particular the breakfast which was included in our room rate surpassed our expectations in every way. Staff were very friendly and always willing to help which was brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful retreat with the family...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location... our short but sweet stay at Alila is indeed memorable, Alila ubud have the perfect location! In the middle of paddy field, with a perfect ubud jungle view and sounds of ayung river, and more importantly is we have a special greetings from the local monkeys in the morning :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Tranquil luxurious thoughtful service offerings in harmony with environmentally conscious approach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe extended shuttle service to allow younger people to stay in town a bit longer than 3 pm. Not a problem for me but my son may have wanted to party a bit. Faster internet also would be appropriate. No tv - fine. Nobody misses it

    This was a great surprise - Alila - I liked that I have not had to deal with plastic all week. The restaurant offerings, the entertainment- everything was mindfuli loked the total harmony with the nature and rainforest jungle. Very tranquil and peaceful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    The Real Ubud!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are relatively smaller than average hotel or resorts but most of the time we spend time by the pool so it's fine for us!

    Great place to recharge yourself and slow down your pace. The service is great and all the staff serve with a smile on the face! This is the place to enjoy the real Ubud!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    After spending 2 weeks already in Bali traveling round this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After spending 2 weeks already in Bali traveling round this was a very much welcome rest it was quiet peaceful Nothing was ever to much Absolutely amazing!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    A perfect stay in the lap of the nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wc is too old and not as per the property. Also too less of the options in breakfast. Breakfast should be an elaborated one. Monkeys are big problem at the pool side.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Great for a quiet sojourn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Tree Villa - Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ubud city center is far, I think even if one wants to enjoy nature there would be closer options available. Insects were a problem, the staff was helpful and there were insect protection creams everywhere but not sure if this could have been better.

    In the middle of nature. Great villas, the view from the villas was amazing to say the least. Great staff. Very quiet and private.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    I really liked the staff, wonderful, friendly Indonesian...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 3 nights

    well... there was a minor thing but not minor enough to not mention it. As a European I like it quite, remote and relaxed. I like a little small talk here and there, but I came to chill. I like to experience the local things and I really do love the fine quite and relaxed Indonesian way of service with a big smile and no overdosed conversations but delicately caring. Most of the staff was like this- wonderful. Our beloved US friends have a different way of serving which always bothers me because it feels loud, intense and too much for me .. It is sometimes even intimidating for me since we are not used to this way of superficial but intense small talk. There was one very friendly staff member with US origin who for sure did her best to please us all and do a god job. But she was just to intense for me and certainly not representing the wonderful Indonesian hospitality but the hospitality of the Americans... If I want to experience this I'll go to a Hilton, Holiday Inn or whatever US chain there is but not into an Indonesian resort in the rice fields... I do hope that this report will not cause this highly motivated staff member any trouble because she acted obviously with the best intentions. But I do hope that somebody could teach her about the fine and classy Balinese hospitality, than she is doing a real great job!!! Teri makasih!

    I really liked the staff, wonderful, friendly Indonesian hospitality. Beautiful location and GREAT pool. This hotel is a precious oasis for relaxation. I definitely will come back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful views and infinity pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The monkeys that dont let you stay in peace on the balcony at dinner tables at the pool it ruins the sense of relaxation and i always felt on edge rather then comfortable in the surroundings

    Beautiful views and infinity pool Excellent service and stagf

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    The location was so great!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All is beyond my expectations.

    The location was so great! The hotel was so beautiful, the environment, the food, the service, all is 5 stars. The room was so pretty, the pool was gorgeous!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful location and amazing very private accomadation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great food, great location, great activities, great staff, amazing Valley Terrace Villa with huge bath with the most amazing view. Great massage too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    The Eco-retreat style hotel is very relaxing and quietly set...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Valley Villa with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a pond between the bedroom and bathroom which had very noisy frogs at night time.

    The Eco-retreat style hotel is very relaxing and quietly set among the rainforest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Peaceful well run resort. Lovely relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would not suit elderly people or those with bad knees as there are a lot of stairs. The resort was busy so pool seating was in high demand. We’ve been at this resort during quieter times and this was not the case then. Room was a bit of a hike away from the facilities but we liked the enforced exercise.

    Overall very enjoyable. Peaceful well maintained hotel with beautiful views over the valley. Stunning infinity pool! Good food and helpful staff. Get a feel for the ‘real’ Bali surrounded by rice paddies and rural life. Bike excursion was interesting and suitable for athletic types. Stayed here as part of a 3-night luxury escapes deal with an extra night tagged on. Remedial massage included as part of the deal was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Surpassed all expectations... heavenly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laila Ibud will forever be remembered as a friend I had to leave behind in Bali.... stunning views, fabulous pool and lounge area. The food was creative and healthy, the staff charming, the monkeys were entertaining... I loved every minute. And the rainforest spa treatment was heaven!!! I will return:-)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in jungle environment, had movie nights,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Given in jungle environment we were very close to nature with many bugs which is inevitable

    Great hotel in jungle environment, had movie nights, infinity pool was great, staff was very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Our villa was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing. Loved it.

    Our villa was amazing. The staff were very friendly. The food was great, and the chef was very happy to accommodate my dietary intolerances.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Valley Villa with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are some monkeys that could possibility enter our villa. We are not unhappy about it, it just we don't know what to do with it.

    The view from the valley villa is amazing. We were impressed when we walked into our villa. The design of the room is beautiful, eco friendly and comfortable. We dream to have house like this. Our baby girl also enjoyed her stay here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    The pool is out of this world !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our superior room had ants in the bed. You will find many other crawling things in the room but that's just because you chose to stay in the jungle.

    The pool is out of this world ! The hotel offers many adventures and tours as well as entertainment. The breakfast was very generous and exciting as we had a different menu options everyday. The view is also incredible

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing holiday with enchanting views.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Valley Villa with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa. It's an important part of resort holiday and Spa Alila was an average spa nothing exceptional. We got 1 complimentary Signature massage and then booked another Therapeutic massage and both felt same. It was more of oil rubbing then a proper massage.

    Breathtaking views, very humble and attentive staff, absolutely delicious food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Best hotel! I booked the same hotel throughout my stay in Bali
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE Internet in the whole hotel is terrible.

    I love that the staff are help and pay attention to every detail and their attitude to help is so natural and seeming less.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.3
    A beautiful, relaxing experience in a heavenly spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff at Alila are lovely and well-trained. Mostly the service was good, however, we asked for an ice bucket twice and never received it so we gave up that day and got one ourselves the next day. Bottles of water in the room were free: maybe 300 ml?. We were given 4 daily, which includes brushing teeth. Not much in a tropical environment. We were invited to ring for more if needed. And of course we could buy soft drink via the mini bar fridge, which I had to do about 2 am the second night when I was dehydrated and had no more water. From that morning I made iced tea every day with boiled water and used peppermint T-bags in case we needed it. Fridges with ice boxes to make your own ice would be good. And a stainless steel kettle: the plastic kettle taints the water.

    The setting is magical - high up on the side of the river valley with open restaurant, infinity pool, misty sunsets, tealights lighting the stairways, etc. The breakfast is probably the most impressive table service, a la carte I've had. We loved the mix of local fresh produce and local dishes to try as well as the well-prepared, more familiar western style dishes. We enjoyed the explanations of all the ingredients. The food generally was good; the fresh juice, smoothie and cocktail menu outstanding! We were very grateful for the airport transfers, which were so easy even though we took about two hours to come out of immigration the first night. The driver had to wait until about 0200. The polite, friendliness of all the staff and their willingness to have a chat and explain local culture. Ubud is stunning! We loved the walk we took off the main street, up into the rice paddies, past traditional spas, villas, cafes and craft shops.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    The location and design, love the villas and great hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Pool Villa with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Understand there are many insects that u can't avoid in such forests and rice field, I had a terrible allergy from some insect bites during the stay totally destroyed my entire trip. 😭

    The location and design, love the villas and great hotel staff. We love the breakfast jams, the waiter even send us a jar of passion fruit jam as a gift.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Stunning hotel- best in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Terrace Tree Villa - Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We stayed at Alila for 5 nights. This gave us time to explore nearby hotels in the area for different restaurants- our research concluded that Alila was definitely the best option for an all round experience. Staff throughout were super friendly and efficient and the general manager, Hemal, went above and beyond in meeting our requests to help make our stay extra special.- probably the best manager we have encountered on all our travels. We stayed in a villa which was absolutely stunning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.5
    Real jungle feel to this superb getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Valley Villa with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food selection at breakfast was somewhat limited.

    The swimming pool is wonderful and the "in jungle" feel is stunning.......we even had monkeys on our balcony!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Valley View Room with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor sound proofing - could hear foot steps and mumbled conversation from the guests above our room.

    Stayed for a weekend 'staycation' with my partner. Love the serene jungle view and calmness, a perfect escape from the bustling city life. Comfortable bed, yummy generous breakfast. Gotta love the complimentary full body massage for two, and the big bath tub complete with milk & bubble bath menu! Excellent service.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    Must Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Valley Villa with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner and I have done a lot of travelling and this one of our new favourite hotels in the world - they have everything just right. It's cool, contemporary, but without being pretentious. We just felt so welcomed and relaxed. The staff were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble and all the food and drink was delicious. The breakfasts each morning were a feast for the senses! It's in a gorgeous part of Ubud with great views. Highly recommend taking the bikes out early morning and following the hotel's trail...local villages, jungle palms and some amazing moments in the rice padi's with the volcanoes appearing through the morning cloud. Unforgettable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.8
    - Staff are super friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Valley Villa with Free Daily Activities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Shuttle should run longer than 15.00h even for a small fee

    - Staff are super friendly - Luxury in a relaxed and calm atmosphere - Long Swimmingpool with gorgeous views - Shuttel to Ubud Center for free - A la carte breakfast - Honoring GHA membership

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: