Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Indonesia hotel reviews
  3. Riau Archipelago hotel reviews
  4. Lagoi hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Banyan Tree Bintan

Reviews of Banyan Tree Bintan This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Jalan Teluk Berembang, Bintan, 29155 Lagoi, Indonesia

#3 of 16 hotels in Lagoi

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 439 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2019

    8.3
    Peaceful retreat in nature with splendid staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Oceanview Infinity Pool Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rather costly food but understood that it was already at a competitive price with the other resorts and in fact, was cheaper than another exclusive resort, The Sanchaya

    Love the rock edge pool. Love the infinity villa and the soft comfortable bed where I had a good sleep within nature. Very friendly and giving staff. Thank you for taking care of us. Saffron was an amazing Thai restaurant! All in all a good experience.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2019

    7.9
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Villa on the Rock
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The jacuzzi is not clean. Everything is expensive.

    Big villa with a view. Comfortable bed. Very Big bathroom. Buggy ride around the resort is fun. Resort staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    8.8
    Banyan Tree Bintan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staffs are very friendly and helpful. As they are able to speak English, it makes communication so much easier. The resort is only about 15 minutes drive from the Jetty. Transportation can be arranged to and from the resort. Incense sticks are provided daily, with different scent, which gives us a relaxing feel. Mosquito coils, repellents are provided, but do remember to bring along extra repellents. 😊

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2019

    8.3
    Nice getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property a bit outdated, pool not really attended by staff, cleaning of rooms & terrace slow, value for money

    Lovely staff, beatiful scenery and views, choice of restaurants with beautiful food, spa services

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2019

    8.8
    Place is great, food is poor quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Oceanfront Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The quality of the food should be better for that price. The fruits on the breakfast and vegetables are very cheap and not tasty. They should adjust price for the meals or train personnel to improve cuisine and the quality of products.

    Villa with infinity pool is super and house keeping stuff are great as well

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    7.5
    Fantastic location but not a value for money option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room had insects (alive and dead - also on the bed) and we needed to call reception to have this cleared out The room furnishings are pretty basic and dated vis à vis the price that’s paid. Of course I’m comparing this to the quality experienced in locations such as Bali and Phuket The restaurants are ridiculously expensive for pretty average food. Meals seem to be priced above hotel restaurants in Singapore

    The property is fantastic - beach, pool and view Spa experience was outstanding and worth every dollar Good breakfast spread

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    8.8
    The villa, the views and the location was amazing. The in-dining experience, not so much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the jacuzzi in our villa could've been cleaner and more usable. the restaurant food was good but not value for the money we spent on each meal. If I pay S$42 for a burger, I expect it to be awesome which it was not

    Breakfast for me was great but limited choices for the rest of the family. I really enjoyed the asian breakfast options

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2019

    8.8
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Oceanfront Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful who made our stay very memorable. Our room was lovely with a view over the sea and very quiet. Thai restaurant was delicious especially after cocktails at the bar as the sun went down.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2019

    9.6
    5* plus. Could not recommend this place more highly to anyone wanting an idyllic get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Banyan tree is amazing, staff went over and above to make our stay extra special as it was my Birthday. Our villa was stunning. The resort is also focused on sustainability and giving back to the community. Could not recommend this place more highly to anyone.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2019

    9.6
    Amazing villas on beautiful grounds and exceptional hospitality, but disappointing food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was a disappointment for us. There were limited options and all the restaurants were very pricey and bordering on ridiculous. Think SGD50 for a plate of Pad Thai and SGD25 for a very average cocktail - the cocktail I had on the second night was so bad that I struggled to finish it, and all the staff did was to add sugar syrup to my drink... At this price I expect food to be impeccable. A full board option would be less annoying for guests as well. Breakfast was an even bigger disappointment - very limited options, poorer than some 3/4 star hotels.

    The grounds of Banyan Trees were beautiful designed and well integrated into the rainforests all around, and made us feel like we checked into Bali. Staff were always friendly and helpful - everyone remembers your name based on your room number, and details like wishing you happy birthday. The villas are absolutely stunning with a sea view from the bed and total privacy. We had a small problem with the jacuzzi in our one bedroom villa and the staff very kindly moved us to a two bedroom villa, which was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    9.2
    Perfect for short gateway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only 2 minor issues: - impossibility to rent easily a transport service such as scooter. Ur close to stuck. The good quality of the restaurants balance a bit but for a stay over 3 days, the lack of mobility is sensitive. (Restaurants are far from cheap for indonesian standarts) - indo bbq way overatted for the price and when asked to support to keep the food, received a no-go. In few years in indonesia, i NEVER saw that. Especially for such pricey meal... Anyway, minor stuff overall.. but we are talking of a top establishment

    Very neat. Nearly perfect. Place is beautiful, view amazing and top privacy in the villas. Breakfeast is top nutch. Services very convenient and keen to listen/please. Buggy services all along the resort appreciable Last but not least, the free morning yoga session, a breathe...

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2019

    7.9
    The rooms are beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Oceanfront Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool had no atmosphere, some back ground music would have made a world of difference. We ended up just staying in our room as we had a little private pool. A spa reception would be nice too as there wasn’t anyone to welcome you, you just go straight to the room - lack of atmosphere but the treatments was lovely.

    The rooms are beautiful! The views are really nice too and breakfast was good. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    7.5
    Amazing staff so super helpful & friendly to make us feel special & like family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Oceanfront Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We expected an adults only resort or even at least Banyan Tree to have an adults only pool! We did not expect so many children & the lack of discipline from their parents we found very disappointing & annoying. Will re think the time of travel when we re visit.

    The food was excellent at all the restaurants & all the staff were so friendly at all aspects & helpfull & could not not do enough for us! It was our 10 year anniversary & it felt like a honeymoon 🥰 the flowers, candles & extra attention was amazing!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    7.9
    great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    facility getting a little dated and needs to be refreshed - some issues with maintenance

    fantastic location and staff - meals are not cheap, but are excellent and served by excellent and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    We had a lovely relaxing family weekend, in a welcoming and wonderful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Oceanview Infinity Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The eggs at breakfast. The wonderful views from the villa, and the general comfort. I was last with you 20 years ago, when I lived in Singapore. The greater maturity of the trees and gardens, and the blending of the Attap roofs into the landscape is a pleasure to see. My son’s family were delighted. Staff were excellent, and so kind to my two year old granddaughter.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    8.8
    Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Oceanview Infinity Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our two bedroom pool villa was located facing sunset. Beautiful sunset and rustic privacy. But not breezy like the villas on other side where pool beach is.

    Love the proximity to the ferry terminal, the smooth door to door pick up, the warmth and cheer of all the staff, the room oil scent and toiletries, the prompt responses of the front office managers. The round clock professional assistance of Rizan. He took care of my family's needs and made very spot on recommendations for our dining and activities.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    9.6
    Don’t lose your charm Banyan Tree
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was hoping I would say....”nothing”, however there was one thing that was highly disturbing (at least for us) and is making me question whether we will return (putting everything in balance). After enjoying the pool, we went for a swim in the sea. The beach is Beautiful, however the experience was terrible. The one thing that truly spoilt it us for us was the very loud blaring disco music coming from the Xana Beach bar. This was approx. 6:30 in the evening and we were really looking forward to a nice, quiet beach stroll and a swim. The beach is shared by Angsana and Cassia (two sister resorts of Banyan Tree, the latter still expanding which I think is going to make this problem worse as it gets more crowded). They cater for different clientele than the Banyan Tree. According to the founder of Banyan Tree (Ho Kwon Ping) he wanted to chose a name for the brand that evoked the values that the Banyan Tree stood for.... “romance and intimacy”.... and so far they have done quite well to fulfill that dream. However there is nothing intimate about loud blaring DJ disco music while you are trying to go for a romantic beach stroll or a swim where you just want to hear the waves and nature. I fully understand the attraction for the Angsana and Cassia guests and if I were staying there, I might have enjoyed that experience (as this is what I might have expected or paid for). However this is not what I was expecting from the intimacy and exclusivity of the Banyan Tree. I understand that the brand is expanding with sister resorts, however please don’t dilute the brand too much and potentially lose customers who love and value the initial brand. Suggestion? Maybe turn down the music a bit so at least you don’t hear it from the sea, move the bar a bit further down the beach so at least you create some quiet space for the Banyan Tree guests. I think it is truly important to preserve the initial brand and not dilute it too much as the brand is expanding.

    Stayed at Banyan Tree in Bintan to celebrate my husband’s birthday. We moved to Singapore a couple of months ago and was really looking forward to this trip. I could not speak more highly of the staff and the length to which they went to make our stay there special. Thank you! The view and surroundings are truly stunning and we felt relaxed from the moment we got there. Being in the middle of lush greenery with the sea waves down below definitely helps wash away all the stress. It felt like a little corner of paradise....The villa was beautiful as well and you really felt you are in the middle of nature. I would also recommend the Treetops restaurant by the pool (as compared to the Thai one, we ate in both). Fantastic scenery and service.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed the overall stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food and Beverages at restaurants- very expensive Breakfast : all 3 days identical, should have more variety and changes. Toilets: no provision to bolt the door (VERY BAD) Lighting: should have at least one bright light in the room

    Bed was excellent Service was prompt and excellent Enjoyed the room upgrade

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    9.2
    Overall would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Oceanview Infinity Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mosquitoes are in abundance.

    Everything is excellent. Only setback is the wifi connection. There are only 3 of us in the villa with supposedly 8 devices connection to wifi but we most times could only use 2 devices.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    7.9
    Great views and beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pools in each villa could have been cleaner. Better vegan/vegetarian options would be nice. Lots of bugs! But they do provide you with bug spray.

    Great views and beach! Love the canopy above the bed and the coffee machine in the room.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    8.3
    Peaceful & relaxing location with gorgeous room villa overlooking the ocean. Expensive Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Villa on the Rock
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There weren't any cheap food options which made our weekend quite expensive.

    Our room was amazing. Beautiful view over the ocean and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    10
    Like everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Oceanview Infinity Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had a horrible incident because of one of the cleaning staff told us the wrong way which was supposed to be used by only staff and it was very slippery because of which my wife got slipped and had her leg fractured... Nightmare on a holiday trip.

    Like everything... Staff, facility, service, its a pricey property but good value for money as you will be pampered fully. I would specially like to thank Brian, he took care of us very much and was very helpful. He took us to clinic, Hospital and got us a good food as well which was required after a tiring day.. Thank you so much Brian.. Hotel mgmt pls take note of Brian hospitality, he completely made us feel comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    9.2
    The staff was really helpful, when we arrived to the port I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurants (the cove and saffron) are not good. In saffron, we could not finish our food and we ordered a signature dish. It is better to eat at the Indonesian restaurant, but in general the food should be reassessed.

    The staff was really helpful, when we arrived to the port I was feeling sick and they took me to a nearby medical center. The villa and specially the view from the villa was beautiful. The beach was constantly cleaned and calm. In general our stay was remarkable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    9.6
    Great and unique experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    High prices in the restaurants and for additional services e.g.massages

    The views from the room, the pools, beach, customer management... from the ferry terminal to check in/checkout and all other requests you might have, excellent customer service, great atmosphere, food is very good. Many thanks to Sophian and Ryan and to all with whom we had interactions. Relaxing and unique experience!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    9.2
    The staff made what was otherwise a casual weekend getaway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Indonesian dishes could be more local, but perhaps they are catering to a wider range of palettes.

    The staff made what was otherwise a casual weekend getaway truly memorable. Forget about “Instagram worthy” resorts, Banyan Tree Bintan delivered far more in terms of overall experience.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    9.6
    the EASIEST, most comfortable trip you can take from Singapore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Oceanfront Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's so easy to get to from Singapore, yet still a true vacation. I expected a cheesy resorty weekend on the beach, but it was so much better than that. Instead, it really was an amazing tropical escape. The rainforest room was quite literally in the rainforest and had a stunning, unobstructed view of the water. The room was so spacious and comfortable, even though it rained the ENTIRE weekend, we still managed to enjoy ourselves. The hotel was very quiet and tranquil, despite seeming like they were booked solid. Fantastic choice for a couple looking for peace, quiet, and enough space from screaming kids. The staff were very accommodating. We did the transfer from/to the ferry terminal, which included them printing our boarding passes, then dropping us off at a lounge at the ferry terminal, where they had representatives stamp our passports while we just hung out in the lounge (I think this only applies to emerald class, not certain, but worth it just for that convenience). This added convenience truly made it so there was no thinking necessary the entire trip, and we could just focus on relaxing. Also the food at the Cove restaurant was great, as was breakfast. Ambiance was wonderful too. The Indonesian restaurant was excellent too. Delicious and creative preparations, though they use more sugar in savory dishes than we like (not uncommon for cuisines from Southeast Asia, though, so par for the course). By far the EASIEST trip we've ever taken.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    10
    Very good hospitality and ambient place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good hospitality and ambient place. Excellent for relaxing. Thank you for the personal (Adham and their colleagues) for taking care about us so warm hearted.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.0
    Fantastic, the perfect short break from Singapore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only criticism would be the private pool. It just didn’t look that clean, especially at night under lights. It was something that we looked forward to and then did not use. Everything else was so good that this only had a very small impact on our stay.

    The staff were fantastic. We felt like royalty because of Yoga and the team. We selected the property because it was easy to get to, but were surprised by how nice the room etc was. Tree tops restaurant was also great. The beach and pool were awesome and we can also recoomend cocktails at happy hour. It was a wonderful place to stay

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    5.0
    They gave us a late check out till 3 which was perfect to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Rainforest Oceanfront Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price we paid, we expected a luxury accommodation and experience. However when we arrived, we were extremely disappointed with the old and dated facilities. First off, the entrance to the villa was underwhelming with a shallow yellow tiled pool that looked dirty and uninviting. Furthermore, there were a lot of ants around the villa. I also highly question the set up of the tub as it took us more an hour to fill the water to the brim, which by then had turned cold.

    They gave us a late check out till 3 which was perfect to catch the afternoon ferry

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Buggy always late 5-15 mins. It’s ok if we don’t have appointments but the first time we called for buggy was to 5pm spa. Buggy came at 5pm. Second time we called for buggy was at 11am to pick us at 1145am for 12nn check out. Buggy came at 1155am. Maybe we were too anxious about missing the 1335pm ferry. Also we booked the spa a month ago for 27 Oct, received confirmation email. We called the spa to check on our booking when arrived but the staff told us that there was no booking. I resent the email confirmation. They apologised for over looking my booking. I am quite surprised that this highly rated resort overlooked my booking. Food at Treetop was crazy expensive and certainly not value for money. $30 for nasi Padang was not fantastic and tasteless.

    The sea view forest room was very clean, nice and spacious. Bed was very comfortable. Staff are very friendly always asking if you are comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    10
    Fantastic staff who called us by name throughout the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Oceanview Infinity Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved everything

    Fantastic staff who called us by name throughout the stay. Loved the private pool and villa and Lilik who did out turndown service presented everything beautifully. Really enjoyed the cooking class at Treetops and the spa also.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    9.6
    Great location within a short ferry ride of Singapore,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Completely beyond the control of the resort, but small amounts of tar on the otherwise pristine beach - apparently this is due to unscrupulous tankers flushing their tanks at sea and after a storm, the beaches suffer the consequences

    Great location within a short ferry ride of Singapore, delightful staff and unspoilt surroundings

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    5.8
    The room, views, the buggy guys, food, breakfast all good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Oceanview Infinity Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service and facilities by pool slow and poor, dining staff poor service! But everyone very friendly just not 5* standard

    The room, views, the buggy guys, food, breakfast all good! Room amazing!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    10
    Truly memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Oceanview Infinity Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The layout and spread of the villas meant that it was virtually impossible to walk - to breakfast, dinner or the beach. They came with golf buggies to transport us but sometimes it would be nice to just walk.

    Stunning place to stay. The 2 bed villa was luxury and privacy personified - our personal infinity pool was secluded enough to allow skinny dipping. Housekeeping created some WONDERFUL sculptures out of towels, like crocodiles or a special "cake" to celebrate a birthday decorated with petals. Amazing memories

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    10
    My boyfriend and I stayed at Bayan Tree for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My boyfriend and I stayed at Bayan Tree for a night. It was a lovely weekend. The staff are extremely nice. All the facilities are excellent. Sunrise yoga recommended.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    9.6
    Luxury get away nestled in hilltop overlooking ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Oceanfront Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Luxury accommodation set in tranquil hillside surroundings overlooking the ocean. Short ferry ride from hustle and bustle of Singapore. Island not commercialised

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful environment, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurants are quite pricy but food was good (although it was expected given the standard of the hotel). There is no real bathtub in the washroom.

    Excellent staff, excellent service, beautiful environment. The villa was very nice. Very relaxing weekend. Great spa therapist as well and great massage. Highly recommended for a peaceful time :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    9.2
    Bintan's hidden gem for all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food at the Banyan Tree could do with improving. While the Saffron felt like the best of the three, the cove and tree top should revisit its options. Perhaps settling on a few dishes done excellently would be better than offering lots of choice.

    Rooms were well positioned for beautiful views. Spacious setting with a day bed was situated under the bay window. We stayed at the Banyan Tree but the resort has two additional hotels, with great facilities. The first is the newest, with a white sandy beach just off the dj bar area. The middle hotel is great for kids with excellent kids club and pool. Lots of activities including a fantastic golf course. Movies on the beach every Tuesday to Thursday is a nice touch. Kids movies start around 6pm followed by a movie for grown ups... Overall each hotel caters very well for its audience and all accessible by the hotel buggy service!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    9.6
    Banyan Tree Special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved everything about our stay.

    It was an excellent experience staying at the Banyan Tree. The service and the staff are impeccable. The architecture and the peppery layout is amazing. Nestled in the middle of a rainforest, it gives you a very serene vibe and a relaxed feeling. Although we feel that the tariffs are on the higher side, it doesn't take away the charm of the place. I think the room rates could be priced reasonably well considering how old this property is. But a Banyan Tree stay is always special. They served us a Vegetarian Chocolate cake for our anniversary and it was one of the best we have ever had. Treetops is a cool place for breakfasts and the beach is by far the cleanest in Bintan. We were disappointed with the quality of the Pastas served by The Cove for our room service and we had to return it twice. A small suggestion from our side is to include VEGETARIAN recipes for your guests as I am sure you would be having a lot of guests who have this dietary preference and being in such a nice resort, we expect the property to offer a good variety of Vegetarian food options. The pools were clean and the bathroom amenities were excellent. I must give kudos to the staff who keep the outdoors of the property so clean as we never faced an insect or a mosquito problem once even though we were in a rainforest. Thank you Banyan Tree for this wonderful experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    7.5
    Goog experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property feels old especially the bathroom. The sunken bathtub needs replacement. Spa services + food quality are good but could be priced more reasonably.

    Excellent Staff and Service. Very professional, well trained, friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    8.8
    Rooms are amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Oceanfront Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurants and drinks are quite expensive

    Rooms are amazing! The pool and beach are grest. All staff (yoga, eddie...) are really nice, and make you have an amazing time. Foos is superb. We are so happy of having spent our honey moon there. Definatly the best hotel i have ever stayed in

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    8.3
    Love the resort, the friendliness of the staff but food overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The prices of the food and beverages. We took up the one-day only Indonesia bbq dinner buffet (held at xana beach club) the first day we arrived. But we were not informed in advance they moved the bbq buffet to indoor dining, due to the rain, at Lotus Cafe where we were treated to miserable buffet spread with few bbq choices. That costs SGD50 each pax and we didn’t think it was worth the price

    The villa, excellent service, the bed and the pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing resort! The room was amazing. The staff surprised us with a little extra as it was a special occasion which was lovely. The buffet breakfast was really yummy!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    9.2
    The service delighted us as did the location and dinners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Oceanfront Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of appropriate lunch menus Snakes Communication by phone

    Outstanding staff. Great chefs. Beautiful little bungalow. Very good golf pro. Interesting and inventive menus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    8.8
    Great resort, wonderful stay. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic room and deck. Great, private locations surrounded by greenery, wildlife and wonderful views of the South China Sea. Gracious and welcoming staff. Spa facility was great as were the pools and common areas. Would absolutely return if ever in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    5.8
    Great and pricey, but only when you like to stay on the resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Oceanfront Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointment is the location. It is very secluded and there are no connections. Or you opt for the hotel taxi at 7x the normal price. In fact, you are more or less imprisoned in the resort area, at top prices. Even the so called local restaurants are money jurkers. You need to get out of the resort area to enjoy the real Indonesia.

    Accomodation is great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed the stay tremendously. Wanted to relax and do as little as possible and was a perfect fit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Only negative comment is the high price of the food and activities in the resort.

    Rooms were great and the 2 bedroom Villa was exceptional. The sunsets from the pool were some of the best ever and the service from Bryan was equal to having a personal butler. All the staff were exceptionally friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    BEYOND AMAZING was my experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe sealing the doors a little better to avoid the insects from coming in the Villa. I was fine with them but, my daughter was not.

    Everything in this property was like a dream. The water was as clear as the pool was. We stayed at the Villas and that was amazing. The only thing we did not enjoy was the insects BUT, it was worth dealing with them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    8.8
    Natures Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really cant think of anything, eggs benedict was really bad, i would look at how you make it like no taste whatsoever, rest of the food was really good.

    Bats nesting in rooftop, monkeys in the trees, lizards and amazing birds flying around whilst we were sat in our cozy villa. Pools are really nice, food in the Thai restaurant was amazing. Staff super friendly. Thought it was a beautiful place to spend a few days.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    A slice of paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The room was beautiful & spacious with a comfy bed. The staff were exceptional & could not do enough for us! They made our stay exceptional! We will definitely go back😍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very attentive, helpful and friendly, nothing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Oceanfront Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were very attentive, helpful and friendly, nothing was too hard. Love the villa we were staying in. We had our own private infinity beachfront pool which was awesome. The bedrooms were very well designed and comfortable. The beach area is nice and we are allowed to use the other two nearby hotel facilities. A really luxurious stay. We enjoyed our stay there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Luxury experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like that I had to leave :)

    Everything! maybe the best resort I have ever been! Luxury and amazing experience! Had a free upgrade to a sea view villa! Would go there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.6
    A lovely secured resort relaxing and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service was a little slow, if you ask for tea it takes a long time and sometimes you have to ask twice.

    All round a lovely place to stay quiet secluded of a high standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.1
    The service was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool in the villa looked a little dirty. The charge for the transfer was a bit much. Considering we could get a free transfer with the sister company Angsana. Probably more suited to couples than friends or singles.

    The service was excellent. The buffet dinner was fabulous. The views and whole experience in a treetop villa was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    8.3
    overall , great staff , lovely and relaxing setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel needs a full refurb , and also I think needs more areas to sit and have a casual drink. The interior of all the restaurants very bland, the breakfast outside area could do with being smarter and in need of new furniture. I think the whole place needs an update. The beach was ruined due to an oil spill. There are another two hotels next door, which is a shame, as one hotel had very loud music.

    the staff were fantastic, peaceful setting and great views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    9.6
    I wanted a romantic getaway and Banyan Tree definitely meet my expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Oceanfront Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price for the food and drinks were exorbitantly expensive.

    The service from all staff were excellent. Eggs benedict at breakfast was delicious. Bed was very comfortable and room was very clean. Beach was fantastically clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    8.3
    The covers were absolutely lovely, and the overall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The level on the food was overall quite poor given the pricing... Actually the only thing to comment.

    The covers were absolutely lovely, and the overall impression of the setting, facilities and ambiance really beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.3
    Good Resort for Couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found it over priced, both Villa and all restaurants. Check in and Check out were slow.

    Customer Service is excellent across the board. the Villa itself was good though we had to ask for a change as the one we were allocated had its Sea view blocked by trees.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    5.4
    Nice but I felt seriously robbed given how much I paid and what we got from the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - overpriced food with no other economical option nearby e.g. $35 SGD for a salad... - the facilities are advertised as being much fresher on their website. All very scruffy and old in reality which I take issue with given the astronomical pricing. - have to go everywhere by buggy especially if you have a toddler in tow. - not hotel's fault but was saddened to see tonnes of litter wash up on the beach in the morning. I asked the hotel to offer bin bags to caring guests to do their part for the world and pick up the litter but they didn't really care nor listen to me. At the same time the hotel cheekily asks guests for $2.4 SGD a day of "green money" to help the environment. - staff are lovely and sweet but are not too well informed on what to do outside of the hotel. They also messed up my spa treatment not telling me the correct location of where to go. I had to cancel it in the end and was a little upset because I had spent so much money on the trip. First world problems I am ashamed to say...

    The staff were terribly kind, sweet and great with my toddler. In addition to the staff the beach was the best part for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    9.2
    Thanks again for the upgrade to your 2 bedroom villa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the oil spill really affect the beach :(

    Thanks again for the upgrade to your 2 bedroom villa. That was fantastic. The service is amazing, the attention to details is great, and we will definitely try Banyan Tree again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.2
    Very comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Oceanfront Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee was okay but can be improved (being very critical when it comes to coffee).

    Very comfy bed. Excellent staff and a fantastic Thai restaurant. Food including breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful villas overlooking the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive for Indonesia, and in particular Bintan, which doesn't have much to offer besides the nice beach and hotels. The beach had a lot of tar when we went so we avoided it... shame.

    Beautiful & luxurious Indonesian style villas and resort overlooking the sea and a beautiful beach. Romantic, good location (10" from ferry terminal), good food. Nice & helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    8.8
    So relaxing it made me lazy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Villa on the Rock
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was really expensive although decent but not worth the price. Gym was too faraway for it to be convenient as I needed to take a buggy to another resort to use it

    Service was superb and they lifted our moods definitely to see the staff being so accommodating towards us. They upgraded our villa to the one with an infinity pool for free and we were definitely in awe of the place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    8.8
    All in all it was good and definitely value for money.. Will see you guys soon!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Oceanfront Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would have been even more good if you could Indian restaurant/cuisine in your menu. Also some bathroom / balcony doors are getting stuck and don’t move properly. Not a complaint exactly but would be better if you change or rectify them

    The view was super from the room. Room was comfortable and one had a feeling of being close to nature. The staff were extremely friendly and always had a personal touch whenever they were interacting with us. Remembered our names. Special mention for Yoga. Extremely good guy and always made us feel at home. Also Ika at Spa was good. All staff were really good. Keep it up!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    9.2
    Unforgettable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rainforest Oceanfront Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff always had a smile on their faces. They made extra effort for our rooms and dinners arrangements. Unforgettable experience. Rizan was very lovely, attentive and made us priority in all ways possible. We felt royal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got upgraded which we were very happy with our villa 303 was beautiful however I did notice it was alittle worn out, the curtains were broken, some of the furniture was damaged and the mirrors were stained.

    The customer service was impeccable and so personable. Sisi our host was very attentive and welcoming and made sure our stay was pleasurable. We also enjoyed the spa treatments!! A very pleasant weekend away!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    10
    Exceceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My wife/I and daughters had the most exceptional stay at the Banyon Tree Bintan with you the past weekend. The hospitality and service was the best we’ve received for a very long time, and we’ve had the privilege of staying at some of the best hotels in London, Hong Kong and New York. The staff were attentive at all times, and were always willing to help our daughters during our stay. What I found amazing and remarkable is that we never came across a staff member that wasn’t friendly to us – even though our kids can run wild and test anyone’s patience! You truly have an outstanding team at the hotel and showcase the very best of effective team work and collaboration across all teams at the hotel (front office, to restaurant to house keeping) Fantastic, and hold on to it as it differentiates you! Zazid was exceptional, one of the nicest people you will ever meet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2018

    5.0
    Overall enviroment is Ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Seaview Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old facility need innovation. Old windows should be pushed and pulled to be closed. Wifi slow and shut down.

    Overall enviroment is Ok. However, the beach is not so good. View from the room covered by lots of trees.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful setting. Well trained staff. You pay $$$ for these!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Oceanfront Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Apart from Breakfast, everything else is expensive. Transportation to the resort costs more than a 10 minute taxi ride would cost in Singapore!

    Upgrade on arrival. New room had great view of the ocean. Ambience of whole resort. Breakfast with free flow orange juice and sparkling wine. Staff response to my informing them that I had fallen sick on our second day and that I couldn't get warm in the villa... they reduced our food bill by 50%

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    5.8
    The nature, the views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Oceanfront Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived to the hotel at 15:40, and our room was still not ready, we had to wait. Travelling with a 4 year child, I would expect more prepared welcome experience. The hotel has great potential, but more management skills required..

    The nature, the views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    5.0
    Great location, terrible restaurants and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Oceanview Infinity Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Quality of food and service is terrible. The hotel has really gone downhill in recent years which is very sad _ i hope they can raise their game to compete again!

    Fabulous location - easy to get to from Singapore

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2017

    9.2
    Possibly Bintan’s Best Beach Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Oceanview Infinity Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perhaps it was due to full capacity during the holiday season, but the waiting time for the resort buggies to pick you up from your villa seemed long. Also, some activities like snorkelling was unavailable due to weather conditions, but that’s because it was December. Found out the best time to go is June/July, so this is more on us. Next time.

    My family has stayed in some high end resorts in the region, so expectation was high for Banyan Tree Bintan. It did not disappoint. Rooms and toilets were clean and spacious. Restaurants and amenities were more than enough for 3 nights. And all the staff were friendly and helpful. Also, we stayed from Dec 23 to 26, so you would think that the resort would be full of guests especially during dining hours, but you didn’t feel this at Banyan Tree. Despite being fully booked, it still felt very exclusive. Special mention goes to Mr. Sofyan Adi who made sure my family truly enjoyed our holiday by giving us extra attention and making arrangements when we needed. Thank you Sofyan!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    10
    Impeccable service and the staff were uniquely friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Oceanfront Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Impeccable service and the staff were uniquely friendly and thoughtful in every interaction with them. The food was sensational and the room and its ocean view was great. For an accomplished traveler, this was probably one of the best hotel stays I've ever had.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    8.8
    The staff were excellent and friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Villa on the Rock
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was Manson season so there weren’t lots of activities available It is an isolated area , far from the city I feel the villa was overpriced. It’s slightly old and the relaxtion pool gets dirty quickly and the tiles look yellowish

    The staff were excellent and friendly and helpful The hotel decorated the villa for us with candles and flowers The food was great The villa view was amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Oceanview Infinity Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All Housekeeper are male, very inconvenience for ladies, and they always like to come in group of three to four guys when ever you requested something. Enter to our villa’s room without knocking the door when my friend was having her shower . Poor maintenance. Food in the restaurants are all overpriced, a plate of Nasi goreng cost S$38 too expensive.

    Only the ocean view and the private pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: