Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Indonesia hotel reviews
  3. Bali hotel reviews
  4. Kuta hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Grand Barong Resort

Reviews of Grand Barong Resort This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Jl. Legian Poppies Lane 2 , 80361 Kuta, Indonesia

#47 of 251 hotels in Kuta

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1798 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    7.1
    nice hotel, good location with nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We booked a car to collect us from the air port which never arrived. When I rang the hotel they told me to get a taxi!! Had to ask for another room when we arrived (Ground floor) as there was mould on the walls and the room was filthy. Moved upstairs to a nicer room but the aircon leaked and we had to keep putting towels on the floor. Then had to move my son from the ground floor as his door was broken and the aircon was so bad all his bedding and clothes were wet. Once we were settled though we had an enjoyable stay.

    The two pools were lovely and the upstairs of the adjoining bar was nice. Played pool there a few times. Music in the bar every night (of varying quality but people had fun). Right in the heart of Poppies II which is accessible to most places. Spent a lot of time in the lagoon pool bar as the other bar never seemed to be open. Met lots of lovely people, many of them who had been to this hotel a lot of times. The weather was unseasonally hot when we were there and everything especially the aircon was cranked to the max.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    7.1
    Great position but I think you could get better value in the same position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a ground floor room which needed a bit of a referb, as in painting and the bathroom needed a good clean and paint. The day beds need a good clean as they get a good work out through the long hot days. I think GBR is still riding the crest when it was new, the prices have gone up as the building has aged.

    Great location in Poppies 2.Can walk just about everywhere to get your Kuta/Legian fix. The breakfast was very good and pool was fine also. Staff were good and friendly and nothing seemed to be a problem.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2018

    10
    A pleasurable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Grand Barong was amazing, no issues at all. The rooms were comfortable and large, facilities were clean and functional. Breakfast had a lot of varieties daily. Staff were lovely. I was staying with family members ages ranging from 7 to 60, all of us had nothing bad to say about this hotel. We thought it would be a party hotel but it wasn't like that at all. Kids enjoyed both pools. The front bar Royal Jacks made our stay even more pleasurable, the drinks and food were amazing and cheap but it was the staff that made the experience memorable. Overall i would certainly stay again and would highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    10
    Good air con nice bed and shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All the tiles, when wet they become extremely slippery two ppl from our group slipped up and hurt pretty bad

    Swim pool and location, the breakfast was nice with different items each day. There was a fridge in the room and 24 hour room service. I noticed lots of ppl complain on here about the noise however I didn’t hear any. We were in room 201. There is a lift and a money changer which changers money for the same price as the street.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    9.6
    Marvellous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much, but the wifi a bit slow.

    It really enjoy staying here. The staff are very friendly and helpfull. The hotel are so beautiful and my mom love it to stay in here

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    9.2
    good value, nice pool, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    probably my own fault for booking this hotel forgetting school leavers was on. very loud rowdy teenagers could be heard most of the night

    nice spot in poppies 2, close to everything you need. great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    7.9
    Expensive food, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You can’t bring food and drinks to the pool, you have to order from them. And the food and drinks they serve are more expensive than all the restaurants in the area. Also, we were told by the front desk that breakfast started at 6, so we arranged to be picked up for a day trip at 6:30 one morning, but when we got to the breakfast area at 6 they said they wouldn’t start serving until 6:30. Very loud at night, but ear plugs help.

    Great location. Always lounge chairs available by the pool.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    8.3
    Great, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One room was in very noisy location ( 116, corner location next to restaurant) and despite there being plenty of empty rooms the only one they were able to offer was in another corner room. Not prepared to upgrade without paying extra $60 per night despite upgrade rooms being cheaper online.

    Great location, rooms recently refurbished, clean and friendly, pool was great

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    9.2
    I found the staff extremely helpful, made our trip a lot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size of the room/beds looked bigger in the photos but it was still very good for money.

    I found the staff extremely helpful, made our trip a lot easier.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    9.2
    Affordable, clean, helpful staff, everything you need at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Affordable, clean, helpful staff, everything you need at the front door of the hotel. Have stayed a couple of times and really enjoyed. With a 3 year old and a 16 year old both happy with the hotel, was moved in to a ground level floor at request, easy to go back and forth from pool to room which is a must with kids. Not too big so cosy and comfortable stay for myself and my children.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    7.5
    Location was busy but in the hotel itself was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room & bathroom were small. Room was a little shabby. The decorator cushion & drapes could do with a wash.

    Location was busy but in the hotel itself was quiet. Checkin was very efficient. Staff were friendly & polite. The place had 2 pools which was good. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    7.5
    Don't get me wrong this hotel is not bad for the price just not family friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was nice, great beds . Great breakfast and the staff was so Nice. But, because of the location of the hotel and the low price.. it was a lot of noisy drunk people in the hotel. They got home in the night and scream, fight, banging doors, moving furniture. Having a calm day at the pool? forget it.. going there with kids?

    Location location you right in the thick of it all . The only down turn is the hotel is a little run down. But overall for the price and Location its worth a stay lots of everything you want just out of your door.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you Grand Barong
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There could be more seats outside the lagoon pool rooms, nowhere comfy to sit. It was a bit noisy however it did quieter down around 11pm If your looking for a quiet stay get a room not near the pool.

    The service and staff were very friendly. Room was clean and tidy, bed was comfy. Location was good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    6.3
    Party hotel - damp room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was damp. It smelt damp and the air con was quite cold so caused condensation in the room. The walls look like they had been wiped down and/or painted recently probably due to mould. None was present but there was the smell of damp which really put me off - could only stay there one night and kept the balcony door open. There didn’t seem to be any way to adjust or turn off the aircon which didn’t help. My room was a bit of a walk from the entrance but the staff helped with luggage on check in

    It was in the heart of Kuta - it’s more of a party hotel with a pool bar so if you don’t wanna hear drunk people singing in the pool then this place isn’t for you 😬

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    7.5
    The room facilities were very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dinner buffet was expensive and totally no drinking water and need to pay extra money for mineral water as well. Very bad service at the resort’s restaurant.

    The room facilities were very good

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    8.8
    Great resort, Great location, Great Staff, loved our week there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing not to like in my opinion

    All staff were very friendly. Room was really nice and cleaned each day. Pool was really good with a nice swim up bar. Great location. Very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    9.0
    Don’t hesitate! Book now!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom/ septic system in bathroom very smelly.

    The staff were exceptional!! Very good value for money, rooms clean, the best location ever!! We will be back.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    10
    great facilities, staff were excellent great customer service always happy and willing to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    school leavers making noise and being disrespectful banging on doors and ringing the bell

    breakfast, room, staff were excellent great service wouldnt stay anywhere else around here

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.5
    Had a really good time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed and the pillows were pretty hard. The room next to us ordered room service all night so the doorbell kept being pressed keeping us awake.

    The swim up bar was great and the pool water temperature was not too cold.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    8.3
    The room service was great quality for price and always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room With Pool Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That I stayed for 11 nights and then my flight got cancelled needing one more night in which the lady at reception said 650$ for there last room wish I was disappointed in as I payed that for almost 11 nights to then go onto booking.com and get a deluxe pool room for 150$

    The room service was great quality for price and always happy when coming to the room!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    8.3
    I loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our safe broke on the first night so we couldn’t use it, and our air conditioner was leaking water all over the floor, but they were quick to fix it.

    The bed was huge and very comfortable. Great view from the balcony looking down at the amazing pool area. Very caring and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    8.8
    Good location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was great however it can get a bit noisy at night as it is quite famous among the loud and obnoxious OZ bogans who party all night and make sleeping a very difficult job for other people.

    The property has 4 star facilities and is quite new with 2 nice pools and a open door restaurant located at the back. All the rooms comes with a balcony with pool view. Our room (Deluxe Double room) had a flat tv with cable channels and all other amenities. Room was clean and housekeeping did a good job everyday. The property is located very close from the beach, about 7 minutes by foot. There are various types of restaurants around so one will always have multiple reasonably priced options to choose from. Poppies lane 2 has a lot of small shops selling souvenirs but one would have to bargain hard to get a fair price.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    9.6
    Location , bed comfortable , room clean great staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Room With Pool Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only minor but water pressure in the shower could have been better

    Location , bed comfortable , room clean great staff . Friendly atmosphere around the pool

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    8.8
    Good Location, Tour service is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The worse part was that u only get 2 micromini bottle of water whereas while booking it was said 2 bottles and size was not mentioned. The bed was super soft and if u have backache it will be disaster.

    Good Location, Tour service is good. Responsive care. Breakfast is great with lot of option. The whole environment is nice as u meet a lot of people from different countries.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast selection was lovely and the pool was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel itself is very loud but I think it is also the area - Kuta. It is definitely a party area and most nights we heard the party crowd arriving home at 3am

    The breakfast selection was lovely and the pool was great. The rooms were well equipped with air conditioning, a TV and everything you need for a holiday stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.5
    Comfy beds, beautiful resort, lovely buffet breakfast, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls were paper thin you could hear everything going on around you. Partying and loud music going late into the night. Not a resort you come to relax at

    Comfy beds, beautiful resort, lovely buffet breakfast, staff lovely and always made the effort to say hello

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    10
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room With Pool Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi Hot water

    Great hotel. Only bad things were the poor wifi and the hot water was only just warm. We loved everything else and we’d definitely stay again

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    9.6
    Two really nice pool bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Two really nice pool bars. Good price in a good location however in your rooms blocks out a lot of noise so you won’t get annoyed with all the outside sounds.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    6.7
    The welcoming anniversary present of rose petals and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bogan hippopotamus around the pool and ensuing oil slick around then accompanied with the typical bogan and mating call that goes all day and night.

    The welcoming anniversary present of rose petals and balloons.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    5.0
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool bar staff were extremelly rude and I was woken up at 5:30am daily due to continuous banging which sounded like construction above my room.

    The pool was great and majority of the staff were very polite

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Two Units Deluxe Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It took forever to get to and from our room Didnt have connecting rooms so harder with little kids

    The curtains were great, could make the room nice and dark to sleep longer, the pool was cool.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    5.4
    Loud party hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise. Very loud around the pool. Breakfast has minimal choice

    Noisy hotel. If your travelling to party then definately stay here but if your over 30, travelling as a family with children or after a relaxing holiday, do not stay here. Find somewhere else

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    9.2
    Really good value for money and excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff tried to rip us off on our onward travel to Lembogan island - they wanted nearly double the amount as all other travel companies. That’s our only complaint.

    Really good value for money and excellent location!! Very comfy bed and nice pool area too!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    10
    Pool and pool bar were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room With Pool Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool and pool bar were amazing! The food menu, food and breakfast buffet was really really good everyday! Busy location but from inside the resort you can’t hear anything and it’s very relaxing! Deluxe pool room we had is a must if you like to hang around the pool bar and still have access to your room it was perfect! Staff were great, very friendly. Went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.5
    Aside from AC everything was great : food, pool and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The AC in our room wasn’t working properly we called up reception and maintenance came but it was still thesame.

    We enjoy daily breakfast it’s always different sp. kolak a typical Balinese dessert 👍

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    8.3
    Their site of swimming pool is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need a more space in toilet as the door is very near to pan when it is open in deluxe room.

    Their site of swimming pool is good. Breakfast menu is also good. They helped me by keeping my luggage when i went to gili for one night without charge.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    5.4
    I won’t stay again. Pretty disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Attention to detail when cleaning room. Fresh towels given to room every day. More western food choices offered for breakfast. Generally more attention to detail to clients at breakfast and in the rooms. More pool towels needed. Always ran short. More pool beds. Always short. Clearer I stuctuons inbooking massage at the hotel. Sheets changed as per their staff notification card that you had to leave in the bed. Clean the whole room including balcony, not just bits and pieces. Staff need to take notice of guests door tag : “do not disturb” means just exactly that, not knock and see.

    Staff were friendly location was good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The towels could have been cleaner/whiter. Room service menu was adequate but not amazing.

    Fantastic location. Nice and central but quiet once in the rooms. Rear lagoon pool was gorgeous. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    9.6
    We'll definitely stay at Grand Barong again at our next vacation in Bali
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The quality of the construction work itself when finishing the building was mediocre. The towels seemed kind of worn out, need replacement.

    Good, hearty breakfast that included local dishes besides the " classical" eggs, bacon, sausages etc. Had the local dish every day over the " classical" one. All staff was friendly, smiling and helpfull.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    8.3
    Good but too loud. Amazing breakfast though, worth staying for 2 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loud music till the evening with young people drinking beers loudly in the pool. No relaxation possible during the day. I didnt like the old traditional balinease music in the hotel corridors all the time it played the same songs, and too loud.

    Breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming, friendly and efficient ☺☺
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The family suites need a 2nd bathroom. 5 people sharing 1 bathroom was not good. Also perhaps a games room or similar for kids. At times my 9 year old was a little bored.

    Breakfast was fantastic and the pool awesome. Staff were very friendly too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    7.5
    Good for a short stay (2 nights ) wouldn’t stay any longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rate this hotel as a 3 star not a 4 star hotel , court yard to small , bed linen and bathroom towels all had stains on them and decor needs updating

    Location, comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    5.4
    Nice pictures, but it's just facade...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room dirty, with empty bottles and dirty dishes outside the door when we recieved it. Blankets and sheets were ALL spotted, or ruined. We asked for a change and they looked a bit "better". Room was terribly humid (more tha ouside on the pool!) with a smell of mold. Due to this slepp was terrible.

    Place is nice, with two really nice pools and the food court for breakfast on the open. Staff was really helpful and very proficient in English.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing service and staff, spotless room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing service and staff, spotless room . Polite and really friendly staff , worth spending a few bucks more too be treated like a king 👍👍will book in again 👍

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows a little uncomfortable

    The location was perfect, we were a group of 12 family members various ages and it was great as we could walk to many locations near by, the staff were super friendly, breakfast was great particularly the omelettes and pancakes cooked fresh, the pools, room service and housekeeping staff were all great!!!!! Thank you Grand Barong we will stay again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is good but when we booked directly without booking.com it was much cheaper
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is good but when we booked directly it was cheper and with breakfast in booking.com it more expansive and with out breakfast !

    The swiming pool was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant and will stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I would like to see a much better selection for the breakfast menu. The fruit juices were very watery, the coffee was very weak. The rest of the menu was really mediocre. Please, reassess this.

    I liked most things about our stay there, the room was good, the room service was very good, the staff were all helpful and friendly. The Bar Staff were exceptional, a big thumbs up to them.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    10
    Straight out onto busy bustling streets of Kuta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only downside was the noise but I guess with the location you are always going to get the all night partiers.

    Straight out onto busy bustling streets of Kuta. Great room quiet aircon unit. Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable for what I paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lack of washing up liquid to wash glasses

    The Royal Jack bar is disgusting. The staff only rinse glasses. They do not use soap to wash them . The same occurred at the pool bar which was full of foul moth bogans. Other than that the pool itself was clean and the grounds were clean and well kept.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s nothing I can say that’s bad about this place! Fantastic 😀

    Great hotel! Staff were amazing and always happy to help :) lovely food and great pools! Very close to loads of restaurants and sky garden night club around the corner. Great place to stay in kutu and close to beach. I’ll definitely be coming back👌

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic holiday in Bali...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just the mosquitoes in our room and the dripping aircon in our room...

    I like the place coz near the airport, breakfast was great, friendly and accommodating staff, room is always clean and cool, pool was fantastic..easy place to shop for souvenirs.,and it was a nice hotel to have a holiday .. Thanks a lot, we will be back here..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect lil getaway
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls are thin we could here “EVERYTHING” happening in other rooms!

    Perfect location Comfy rooms Great aircon Friendly staff Loved the buffet breaky Room service great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    7.1
    Don’t stay here if you have a family and a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is represented as being family friendly. I didn’t find this to be the case at all. The hotel was very loud where we stayed. We did move rooms but I don’t think the staff realised I wanted a room away from all the noise as I had a baby that still required naps throughout the day. If you have small children don’t stay here unless they can give you a room at the back of the hotel. Also there were 4 babies at the hotel but only 1 high chair that could be used. This is something that should be rectified ASAP. Also on my last day there breakfast was cold from the bay maries

    The staff were lovely that was the main thing that has let this hotel stand out. They tried there best to be accommodating to all guests the only issue with that was they didn’t have anyone to enforce the rules or to use common sense and tell people to be quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    10
    The staff were so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. They couldn’t do enough for you. In a great location to the nightlife and beach. Would highly recommend staying here!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    8.3
    This is my 2nd time at the Grand Barong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is my 2nd time at the Grand Barong. The room was spacious and clean. The toilet was clean but a little small. The location was excellent. walking distance from the beach and the clubs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    10
    Loved everything from the friendliest staff & there big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Loved everything from the friendliest staff & there big smiles, to the food & drinks. It was my 20th Wedding Anniversary & I paid for balloons & rose petals to be put in our room as a surprise for my wife when we returned one night & the presentation done by housekeeping exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    Very happy, stayed 4 times, and will book there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The power points were very hard to charge phones, the adapter had to be played with all the time to get the phone to charge.

    I liked the food, the staff were friendly and helpful. The pool was always clean and room was good. Great value for money and great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    8.3
    Vibrant Comfy Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    :) not for those who love staying across the big roads - this street may appear messy :p

    Location was pretty vibrant as it’s located in poppies lane 2 small street left and right plenty of spa mani pedi massages places with pubs bars eateries and conveniences stores :p we love it when they upgraded us for free to room with pool access as our initial room order was not available ^^

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Balcony door frame was hanging off the wall so probably wasn’t too secure but not too much of an issue on the third floor!

    Room was lovely and spacious. Great view from the balcony. Great central location between the main town strip and the beach

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    10
    Amazing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Right in the heart of Kuta, Staff friendly and always go the extra mile. Buffet breakfast was great had something different everyday and always filled up if needed to be. Has an awesome vibe about the place. Rooms spacious and bed comfy! Room service food was delicious and very well priced. Loved everything about this place. Thanks Grand Barong for making our first stay that much more enjoyable. We will be back again :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    9.6
    Would return. Enjoyed ourselves. But it is the staff that make the hotel a wonderful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could here people moving furniture in the room above which was off putting at 3am. We didn’t complain but you can hear what is happening in other rooms.

    Staff were wonderful, so friendly and would do anything for you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    10
    I’ve stayed in a lot of different hotels in Bali.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I’ve stayed in a lot of different hotels in Bali. This hotel is awesome, especially when travelling with kids. If you want a quiet room as a lot of young people stay here, you must request a quiet room at the back where the children’s pool is, as the front gets a lot of people coming through and can be a bit noisy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.6
    Love the barong and we will be back to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroon showers need to be scrubbed please. The showers are good but would then to be hotter water and more pressure.

    The staff are lovely, they are so helpful and kind. They hotel is beautiful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    5.4
    Location, staff, pool side rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room With Pool Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was cold... was there in april this year aswell and it was cold then too so was hoping it would have just been a once off. But i wasnt. Also had two drunks fighting by the pool at 3 am. Security was called but they didnt do a thing.

    Location, staff, pool side rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    9.6
    Love the Grand Barong!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room Selected at Check In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More sun beds would be great and a little more variety at breakfast (nothing major to complain about though!)

    The pool area at the back has a great atmosphere. An easy walk either way down Poppies to catch a taxi, shop, head to the beach etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    9.2
    Check in... This is the 2nd time staying here & both times check in was extremely slow. This makes i
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in... This is the 2nd time staying here & both times check in was extremely slow. This makes it for a very long day when you travel from Melbourne especially with babies. We also left a wallet in the safe in 1 of the rooms $500 AUD cash in it, contacted hotel via email who stated it wasn’t in there.

    Mostly everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    10
    veryveryvery perfect could not say anything bad about the grand barong
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 20 nights

    i cant really say everything was perfect keep the great work up everyone

    i loved everything about the grand barong from the staff to the meals everything looking forward to my next stay there thanks everyone of you

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    8.3
    Clean room & surprisingly spacious hotel from the small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If your room is at the front, live music plays until 1am and can be heard.

    Clean room & surprisingly spacious hotel from the small entrance. Pools are well maintained & we found no issue getting a sunbed. Quick walk to both the bars & beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    9.2
    7 day stay, staff were fantastic,amenities were great and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bed was a little hard my only complaint. But Would definitely stay again.

    7 day stay, staff were fantastic,amenities were great and in a good location in the heart of kits. , bed was a little hard my only complaint. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    10
    Great location, great staff, best value for money, definitely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is in a great location and everything incl. Beach & Clubs is within walking distance. It was surprisingly very quite even though we were right in the middle of Kuta. Great massage across the road, great little bar with live music at the entrance, convenience stores within meters of your front door with trustworthy ATMs and transport right outside. Breakfast is great, the Lagoon pool was beautiful and staff were very friendly, proffesional and helpful. We were here during the 2018 earthquake and still felt safe. If you want to experience kuta from the inside, this is the place to be. Best value for money. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable and comfortable stay. Would book here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is a bar attached to the hotel which has a live band every night from 9pm-1am which is great if you are attending and don't have children to put to bed. You can't hear it if your room is located at the back of the hotel. I wasn't told about this until I was shown my room.

    I would recommend staying here. It was very affordable for the location. The room, beds, bathroom and hotel areas were all clean and well kept. Good selection at the buffet breakfast. Very friendly and accomodating staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I can say is the wifi in my room didn’t work. But it worked for my partner 🤦🏽‍♀️

    Great hotel for the price. My room was cleaned everyday, breakfast was good, room service was really quick, super friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a bit of a party hotel so if you are after a relaxing stay I would suggest asking for a room at the back of the hotel.

    Very clean rooms, great pool areas and breakfast. In the heart of poppies 2 in Kuta.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    8.8
    Another lovely stay.
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have had no problem with the Grand .Barong and cannot say anything negative about it.

    The location is perfect and central to shops Our room was next to the Lagoon pool and had more privacy than our last stay. We have not had problems with noisy or drunk people staying at the hotel but that may be more good timing than anything, Both our stays have been enjoyable and would come back again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    3.3
    Only location and friendly staff at reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No space in bedroom. No landscaping following photos. Breakfast and welcome in restaurant totally unprofessional

    Only location and friendly staff at reception

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Grand Barong Resort Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: