Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Borobudur Jakarta 5 stars

Jalan Lapangan Banteng Selatan No. 1, Gambir, 10710 Jakarta, Indonesia

#29 of 401 hotels in Jakarta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1053 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is on the middle of the city between the two major railway stations, Gambit and Pasat Senen. There is nothing much with 0.5 mile. Pricing is more like Europe than local. Breakfast was mobbed, but there were empty tables. Food replenishments a bit hit and miss.

    Good quality rooms and hotel was massive but it didn't seem like some of the big hotels - no miles of corridor to your room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly, we should had wait until 14:30 even though we requested to check in 14:00 and secondly, they did not provide baby crib which we requested so 3 people included in baby had to sleep on very tight king bed made us uncomfortable we had to worry about our son not falling from bed.

    Garden, massage, jagzee and pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room Air Conditioning controls are horrible----do not properly regulate the temperature---it seems that changing the setting makes absolutely no difference---only choice that works is off or on

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our carpet room not really cleaned properly. We found 1 pair used fake eyelashes on our bed (my kid found it).

    The outdoor very big, huge pool, perfect for kids.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Wing Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast menu is borring!! I stayed 3 nights, and the breakfast menu are the same.. such a dissapointed thing for hotel as big as borobudur

    Always love the facility and the swimming pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Wing Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in room 685. Air conditioning is not cold at all.could not sleep at night due to that. Water is leaking from upstairs to closet area. Windows are not sound proof ( could hear loud traffic noises) Apartment looks old.(needs renovation). Breakfast is below average.

    Apartment 685 is big but old.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A couple of the dishes at the Iftar (breaking of fast) buffet (the tikka fish and the jackfruit curry) tasted off. The coffee mugs that I used that came in the room weren't cleaned properly each day by housekeeping when they refreshed the rooms.

    Good wifi, and comfortable desk and chair in the standard room for working. Spacious standard room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    None

    Hotel security was comforting. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Service staff were always polite and happy to respond to needs. A good choice of food from the restaurants. An enjoyable expereince.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- Cockroaches were found inside the room ( see picture) 2- lots of small bugs has same skin color, very small, were a large number of them having fun in the room which caused me skin problems required hospital treatment. And that’s really annoying. Called the duty manager and spray the room. ( see pictures) 3- definitely NEVER come back.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During weekend restaurant was so crowded - a bit chaos and have unfriendly staff who gave services The receptionist really need to be trained to treat guest nicely be it during hectic hours nor relax hour. Was really disaapointed waiting to be roomed for more than 2 hours, arrived at 2.30PM and still being unreached till 4.30 PM. Receptionist promised to call my mobile upon ready, however no calls nor available NON Smoking room as requested during online booking!!!!

    Good aromatherapic odor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Must have been my bad luck, but limousine driver that picked me up from the hotel got lost on the way to the airport (took 2.5 hours to finally get there). When I rang the hotel for assistance, en route, people at switchboard were not well versed in english and were unable to assist me (NB I did catch my flight as I had allowed a generous time buffer).

    I have been staying at this hotel since the 1980s. Beautiful gardens, pool and very welcoming staff. Breakfast excellent - smoked salmon would have been nice to have available, but plenty of fresh fruit and bread, with my coffee cup frequently filled up (with lots of varieties of dishes available) Well located if you like a peaceful environment - a short walk to the national monument, museum and Sarina shopping centre/food courts (30-40 min walk depending how fit you are) - just be prepared to cross some busy streets (otherwise taxis are very cheap and good option that only takes 5-10 minutes). Nice park across the road which is being renovated at present. Rooms very clean, good size, and well serviced/cleaned daily. What made this particular visit very good is that I lost my credit card, and the management were very helpful to help me sort things out, without any fuss (thank you Mr Rico!). Definitely plan to come back next year.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no bath tub and the shower room is quite dangerous for kid

    The room is clean and the facilities around hotel is magnificent (playground and park for walk)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    TV reception were not good and wifi connection is sometimes intermittent.

    Upon arrival to the hotel, I was greeted with a normal scene if you are staying in major hotels in Jakarta, which is the security check. It is nice that the hotel put security as a priority. However I didn't feel it was intrusive throughout my stay. check in and checking out was a breeze with the front desk staff were very efficient and courteous. The room I took was large with all the amenities you need for a business trip. I particularly liked the bed as it was very comfortable. Hotel Borobudur is famous for its legendary oxtail soup. One should also try the oxtail pie sold at the pastry shop. overall great stay and value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel offers greenery, allows guest to enjoy the fresh air in the park. Well maintained with security around the clock. parrots can be found in the park (not sure if belongs to the property) but surely an escape from the traffic to a refreshing relaxing environment. You would not want to leave the property. Good place to hold meetings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is incapacious, breakfast are so so (a little bit disappointing because it used to be great the last time a stayed here).

    Quite spacious room and relatively large king size bed, extensive outdoor garden, large swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is more business oriented than tourist oriented. As a tourist you may feel a little out of place. Nothing dramatic tough

    Very comfortable, huge room, no problem to check in at 1am

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow check in process, booked executive double room, not available for non smoking as per booking, got the room only at 16.30 we (with 2 kids) had to wait hang around on the lobby which lack of chair for almost 2 hours. Bathroom very small, bed is a bit hard not comfy, but pillow is ok.

    Big green area of the hotel, big swimming pool, great garden with fish pool, kids playground outdoor was great, nice staff everywhere. Ordered food called iga penyet it was superb. Clean room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot comment on "Travellers with pets" as I don't know their policy towards pets. However, did not see any in my many, and long-term (three week) stays. Cannot comment on coffee, do not drink coffee; tea good, hot chocolate for breakfast very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    air conditioner don't work well. below my expectation. it was noisy. I had to turn it to the coolest. please do something quick.

    location and overall facility. Garden was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very poor.... one of the worst in the world... discontent...slow... asking for password every now and then, and 70% coverage in hotel areas

    Almost every things

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was given a room which had a connecting door with another guest room so I could hear everything that the guests in the room nextdoor was doing or saying. The shower was not clean when I came. The sockets are not located in suitable way.

    Swimming pool and the garden are nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to its central locations, traffic could be bad during the busy hours.

    Hotel Borobudur is good for a simple escape without really leaving the city centre. It has a good sport-club and green area for relaxing activities. Good meal variations from several restaurants available within the hotel. The hotel location is convenient to minimize the exposure to Jakarta's traffic, although travel timing is also an important aspect. The location is a short taxi ride away to the train station, Museum Nasional Indonesia, Monumen Nasional, Mall Gran Indonesia and many other good restaurants for a culinary experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the service of the sales girl in the pastry store ... they are too busy to chit chat while some of guest just wait for them to serve us

    the outdoor facilities was great !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I used to stay at this hotel long time ago and I really enjoyed the oxtail soup. However, I was disappointed by present served Oxtail soup - surprisingly only the name is left legend because the color, no more tender selected oxtail, and taste is far not delicious anymore. No more seatings area at the hotel lobby making an awkward scenery when there were bunch of people sitting around the hotel's lobby main stairs - not pleasant at all walking by to the check in counter. Should the management pay attention to this matter. Thank you very much for improvement in near future!

    Location closed to meeting point of trip purpose

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit tired after 40 years, esp the bathroom needs renovation. Spending some money on the toiletseat would already make a big difference (see photo).

    Good-old- Borobudur hotel (40 years anniversary) with its grandeur, beautiful gardens, pool and tennis courts. Very very friendly staff upon checkin. Very comfi beds! Nice location close to main landmarks like Monas, Basilik etc

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed is only queen size not king size, too small for the size of the room, no bath-tub

    staying here during chinese new year, i like the decoration during this festive season, the room is large comparing to other similar hotel in jakarta....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was there during chinese new year so it was quite crowded. Staffs were trying their best to service all guests. Have to queue up for the breakfast around 10 min due to the peak hour at 9 am. But again, staffs are great, friendly. Bonus tip: bakery shop is quite good and they have discount after 7pm ;)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While staff are friendly they couldnt speak english well. The thousand island dressing in the breakfast spread was spicy.

    Surroundings, tight security

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible WiFi service. breakfast is a real rip off poor quality food low choice and very expensive. Best avoided unless included in price.

    The staff and the swimming pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast for Westerns very poor, during 3 days stay only one time room was cleaned, mould in bathroom , most terrible WiFi I ever experienced, had to log in again after not using it for 30 seconds

    Beautiful colonial hotel with top location, extremely helpful personnel and top restaurants

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi session if not used for 1 minutes it disconnects and you have to go through the login process everytime again and again

    staff attitude,clean rooms, good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was nice but not so welcome compared to some other places. The fact that we were asked to put our shoes on to come have our breakfast (the hotel slippers are forbidden...). The big negative point is the carpet everywhere in the room, it makes it look old and for asthmatic people the night can turn into nightmare...

    Huge hotel with high standing, the room was clean, fully equipped, king size bed, a lot of restaurants and activities inside the hotel, the Olympic size swimming pool. Good location in the center of Jakarta, easy to go everywhere from the hotel. The possibility to get "late check out"

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs to be renovated especially the flooring and the bathroom is a bit of a problem because there no shower hose.

    Great breakfast, playground and facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Buffet closes by 10 am. Restaurants close early in the evening by 10 pm. Bathrooms have foul smell. Generally a very busy hotel and very noisy lobby.

    Excellent location. Located in Central Jakarta. Very close to the main monuments in the city. Close to government offices. Nice tsRooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old and not updated to today's environment. eg no two pin sockets for mobile phone charging. Several facilities not working, fridge, weighing scale, table lamps...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wu-Fi automatically logging off every few minutes. Fixtures in room need replacement.

    Courteous and helpful staff. Incredible grounds. Very good food at hotel restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    In the room the coffee & tea making facilities were not so good the kettle did not shut off automatically. the selection of tea was poor only 1 of each type, so for the two people staying there was only one black tea and 5 star hotels should have long life milk available in the room not powdered milk. The international power point was in main room in front of the desk but no mirror here

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - staff not really friendly (had poor adventure with receptionist at check in, but there is also friendly staff there) - room furniture and bathroom is old and not 5 star, also old plastic furniture at pool area - good wifi, but you are dropped off every few minutes and so you have to log in again and again - overprized food and beverage

    - one of the best breakfast buffet ever, but the service at restaurant is not 5 star (had to ask staff all the time for more coffee and the staff seemed to be bored) - very big and quiet pool - big beautiful garden - shuttle bus to airport - 2 minute walk from transjakarta bus station, hotel is near Gambir station and Monas

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, definitely in a needy of a renovation. Overcrowded breakfast, low quality of foods in the breakfast for a 5-star.

    Convenient location, in the very heart of Jakarta, large garden and olympic size pool, unmatched scale with any other hotel in center of Jakarta

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facilities were excellent, buffet breakfast included lots of choice of cuisine, western, continental, asian etc. and was great quality. Gym and spa facilities really nice, and not too busy, and there was even things like a cigar lounge and live music in the evening.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is sightly different between the picture and reality. Is itu the same classical or not, i doubt it.

    Staff is very kind and helpful. Facility is clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few things in the room should be fixed (eg. loose watertap).

    Very nice hotel, especially for the money it costs. Comfortable room, great facilities and a luxureous buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some prices too high .... 9 bucks for a coffee after taxes etc seems a bit rich.

    The beautiful spacious garden, pool sports area is an amazing escape in the very heart of crowded Jakarta. The breakfast, included in room rate, was sensational - spoilt by choice. The dinner buffet too vast to conquer and great tastes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not get the coffee I requested for during breakfast.

    There was no single room available when I arrived, they were very gracious to give me an upgrade to an Apartment!!! it was so cool! However, there were no teaspoon to make my coffee and I couldn't locate the hairdryer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't quite like the room as its very gloomy and dark. The smell of the room also quite unpleasant. The furniture also kind of old, its really to need to get furnished.

    Its a one stop staycation. We had a blast, from child playground, basketball court and swimming pool. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel but no one help open taxi's door and carry luggage witch is little surprising to me.

    View is good, room is comfortable and clean. Garden is really nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilation is poor needs maintenance, carpets all over hotel even rooms carpets are very old and not clean . Room Doors are old,

    Nice lobby and great greens around the building, very nice breakfast with very good viwe at the beautiful gardens.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After 20 times staying in this hotel,it has only gotten better. The woman ,,,viana,,,, in business center was very helpful , And quickly came up with a perfect solution.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly trained staff at the Pendopo lounge. Very disappointed about the lack of responsiveness by the hotel GM to one of my complaints. Was very arrogant and didn’t seem to care about customer complaints!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This has the feel of a hotel that was once classy, but is now just oldfashioned. The food was very average and the personnel was not very attentive, especially at reception and near the elevators.

    Very centrally located next to Gambir station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is popular for conferences, a bit crowded during breakfast. Some of "warm food" were cold but may be because of high volume of people.

    Great for weekend staycation. Pool is nice and so is the garden.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front office attitude and willingness to help, no flexibility of the payment with foreign currency as that was only known to us after we arrived and after long day meetings,1 or 2 helped but the rest was not that good

    All experience was good and special thanks for the restaurant staff and house keeping as well as that was the best thing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strangely enough reception staff misinformed us on two occasions: they told us the Museum Nasional was open until 9pm (but it was 4pm) and made me slightly panic by stating that you had to change your train ticket to a train boarding pass 1 hour in advance, which meant we probably could not take our train to Yogya (which turned out to actually be changeable up to 10 mins before departure).

    Well located hotel, close to Gambir station and the main museums. We thought the biggest asset was the olympic size pool, but discovered it actually also had an amazing spa with saunas and hot baths, an excellent gym and several tennis courts. It also has three different restaurants. We ate at the Cantonese one, which was really good. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was wonderful , I like the view from 10th floor , Also the time witch I spend in swimming pool was amazing , The breakfast as will very good , and you have multi options .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An amazing tropical oasis in the heart of bustling Jakarta, the Ibu Kota. The staff are great. The 5+ restaurants and bars are excellent. Awesome pool. They were a bit stingy providing drinking water, considering the tap water is not suitable and the climate is tropical.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was not as good as the room

    Hotel Borobudur is located near the Monas and Indonesia’s National Museum. My room was big and clean and breakfast was good; property is very big and there is an amazing olympic-sized swimming pool....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bellboys and the security staff are very friendly. The Staff at The Bogor Cafe are exellent. The house keeping don't often forget to leave the toilet paper. This hotel it is good only for transit.

    The internet connection was very poor at The Borobudur Hotel. Every day I have to ask the IT person to fix the connection . They gave me the password and it is not working. The IT person is only available during the office hours.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location of the hotel not good, I could not find restaurants close by or even shopping mall. ATM at the hotel support only local credit cards

    Swimming pool facilities are good, big pool. Room was clean and big enough if You are traveling alone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and fantastic facilities. We arrived early so we left our bags at concierge and enjoyed the pool while we waited for our room. The spa was excellent and great range of food available for breakfast. It was a lovely treat for the start of our honeymoon. Easy to walk to local attractions and close to Jaksa district with good food and bars.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The security officers at the entrance were doing a great job at ensuring the security, but if it doesnt break any policies, it would be nice if they smiled a bit more. It is, anyway, a 5 start hotel.

    The outdoor facility, i.e. the jogging track, the varied sports fields and rinks, the parks. Very soothing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I missed the floor to ceiling windows of modern hotels. Even so the view from my modest room over Jakarta's more leafy parkland was pleasant.

    The Olympic size pool in the midst of trees and gardens - even a 'free range' butterfly home is the highlight. Both birds and butterflies flock around the pool and gardens. Yet its right in central Jakarta a walk away from galleries and museums. Artwork around the hotel is magnificent. Was also impressed in the lengths the hotel has gone to recycle water and waste. Oxtail soup lived up to the legend and staff went out of their way. I forget my MacBook Air when I checked out. Within minutes they located it for me.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room I stayed in was great but there were a few hiccups here and there: - The toilet flush was slightly faulty since it kept running after flushing. (It still works great though). - The mini bar fridge was broken when I moved in, but the staff quickly replaced it without any issues.

    The hotel itself felt like an all inclusive getaway since they had everything from in-room massages to dedicated sports areas. The best part was that the staff was very accommodating and that the hotel has the best Sop Buntut recommended by almost every local I met during my visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hope for the breakfast can be served in warn condition due to at that time i have breakfast in there, the food was served little bit cold.

    Hotel Borobudur can be option if you want to have short vacation with your family in Jakarta. Hotel Borobudur have huge park so you can play with your kids at there or only walking around with your family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con didn't work properly....room smelt damp, and of mould..solution to hotel was to spray!!! I had a breaking of Ramadan meal in restaurant...ate some very bad, I suspect raw fish...became ill in restaurant, and vomited. Restaurant charged me for the meal? I was ill for 3 days from food poisoning. !!

    The grounds surrounding the hotel are outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely expensive in house restaurants. Tricky Taxi arrangements, Visitors be aware of the smiling lady arranging Taxi, they are in partnership with hotel staff to trick you into using higher cost taxi, instead of the normal ones. Talk to reception but no one really bothered. I guess they are all part of the scheme.

    external gym, pool facilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heavy handed security procedures. Front Desk attitude to Taxi request, was tricked into getting a more expensive taxi. Very expensive restaurants. A glass of wine in excess of 27 Singapore dollars !!!!!!

    Spaces rear area of the hotel, Gym and pool amenities quite good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel used to be one of the "Grand Dame" luxury hotels in Jakarta and unfortunately it's glory days have passed and the property turned more into a "Grand Mother'. The hotel is dated and many better and modern options are available in the city at similar prices. The WIFI in the room was not working, when in the common areas of the hotel, WIFI was very unstable. The breakfast buffet spread was mostly local food, not bad but I have seen better. At the time I was staying there was a very large group of seminar attendees and the restaurant looked more like a canteen with people diving into the buffet and hoarding the food onto their plates. I would not rate this a 5 star property, a 4 star at the most.

    The staff is very friendly, despite the things I did not like every single staff member I have met was smiling and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not find freezer in the room, nor the formally written notice of halal in the restaurant

    Just keep the price fair enough for the middle class down low class

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We have booked superior room 32 sq.m, but in fact our room was in 2 times less, I mean we received standard room, and after I asked them to explain that fact, they told me, that it is improved room, with better interface inside, as for me it is standard room and there is no point to say, that it was improved, too small, especially in case you coming with infant like our family. Also we asked for baby bad, and was waiting for it several hours, the problem, that we ordered it many days before, directly after booking - so we can assume they have zero service. Breakfast was also not perfect, as it suppose to be in 5 start, Ive eaten something not fresh on the breakfast and got sick...so was terrible experience. Internet was unstable, always jumping, so if you using this hotel for working needs, then you may have a problem with internet service, again not perfect.

    Great area inside of the Hotel, swimming pool, gym and tennis areas are perfect

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took too much time to fix The shawer and no alternatives I had to have a shawer before Friday prayer . I informed The assestent MGR. But no action where made. So I had to go to Friday prayer with out taking shawer.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hard to fault the accommodation and service. Maybe a better of selection of coffee/tea in the room mini-bar would be nice.

    Exceptionally friendly staff & excellent selection of food for breakfast. Room well maintained and quite. Conveniently close to a park across the road, Jakarta Cathedral, Mosque, National Monument and Museum. Street vendors in the vicinity (with their mobile food vans) are very friendly. Traffic is hectic, but taxis are very reasonably priced to get about the place. If you are looking for an 'oasis' to stay for business or pleasure, it is very nice place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom with mold on tiles and lack of cleanliness, as hair on floor, waste bin with loads of dust and dirt on top.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, good facilities, quiet

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dated, toilet too small, poor lighting in bathroom, staff couldnt cut a coconut! TV channels had less content than other hotels.

    Good pool, good food, nice hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last time time the shower room like didn' t match with the mirror etc, to small bathroom. And the connecting door with others is very noisy. The wifi sometimes have a bad connection

    Clean n comfort room n bedding

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Old-school interior not to everyone's taste but suited be fine. Slight problem with Wi-Fi on Day#1. But the concierge had a tech come up who fixed it in a jiffy. MIs-understanding on booking a car on day 1 (reception told me Silver Bird not available for booking) I'll put down to 'lost in translation'. We had it sorted by Day#3

    What's not to like about this hotel? Location, cleanliness, staff, facilities, style, food, Wi-Fi, price were all top-notch. This is a gem of a hotel. A grand old property located on a sinfully large plot of land in the city centre. Secure grand entrance in front. In the back: expansive gardens, olympic-sized pool, tennis courts and a great clubhouse. The Indonesian restaurants were excellent (didn't try the others). Staff always friendly and helpful. The poolside gives a welcome respite after a day of meetings. Will definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Borobudur Jakarta traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: