Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Indonesia hotel reviews
  3. Bali holiday rental reviews
  4. Lovina holiday rental reviews
  5. Reviews of The Damai

Reviews of The Damai 4 stars

Jl. Damai, Kayu Putih, 81161 Lovina, Indonesia

#5 of 62 Holiday rentals in Lovina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 159 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 66

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2019

    10
    Sanctuary in the north of Bali
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some villa’s are further away, with many stairs to climb. But for people who have walking difficulties, there are electric cars to pick you up at your villa.

    Very friendly staff. Beautiful accommodation. The place to hide and seek, if you are looking for total rest and indulgence. Villa’s with private pools available. Very good food with home made and home-grown ingredients. Best spa experience. Try the Ultimate Bali Shanti Ritual.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2019

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We had a lovely time at the Damai. We booked a garden villa with an outside bathroom (toilet inside) and it was really amazing! The villa is decorated very nice with lovely details like welcome letter and fruit. We will be back next year for sure!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2019

    9.6
    We loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't any shops or restaurants near by but they did have a free transportation service to Lovina which was great

    We were treated like royalty, everyone was so warm and welcoming and did everything to ensure that we had the best time. There was complimentary cake and other complimentary drinks ( non-alcoholic) served every day

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2019

    9.2
    Expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was incredibly expensive even for bali. We had a massage which was good but we paid 1.5 million rp as apposed to the same massage in Sideman for 400. 00 rp. The food was also expensive as was the tour of the waterfalls. Plus an additional 10% service charge. On total for 2 days we spent £600

    The experience was lovely, we have had many experiences like this as we emjoy cruise ships and nice restaurants. The staff were very friendly and very attentive.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2019

    10
    Exceptional in Every Way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    The Damai was almost like a fantasy--beautiful, the staff were so kind and caring, the spa services were over the top and every meal was a piece of art.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2019

    9.6
    Definitely worth going again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was super luxurious, and they had fantastic vegetarian food which is very tough to find in Indonesia. The hospitality was great.. and the villas were perfect.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2019

    10
    The Damai is a MUST GO TO, it is simply SUPERB!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to say :-)

    The Damai is a MUST GO TO, it is simply SUPERB! Everything about this place is perfect - it’s the best place we have ever stayed! The food is some of the best food we ever had; perfectly prepared and served. The service is levels above all other places in Indonesia, and it seems like the staff has been trained by professional people. We really enjoyed great massage treatments and the morning yoga in beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2018

    10
    Enjoyed that the Damai provided a free shuttle into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices of the food and drinks were very expensive compared to other hotels we have stayed at in Bali.

    Enjoyed that the Damai provided a free shuttle into town. The hotel was very clean and quiet. We had the garden villa that was plenty of space for two people. The breakfast was exceptional.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    9.2
    wonderful view and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the Garden view room(the cheapest) was in shade. felt gloomy in there. so on next day we upgrade the room to Sea view. it was bigger and brighter. pay only 500k rph more per night. it was really a good choice.

    mountain and Sea view from the pool was great, I loved it! service and the food was good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2018

    8.8
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Food was amazing but too pricy for Bali

    Everything was wonderful, we for sure will come back! We felt very well cared. The Gardens and the Environment are absolutely Beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2018

    10
    The food was 5*.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t find anything

    The food was 5*.The staff is excelent.Coctails at the bar - great!!!We had a super nice 15 min welcome massage at Damai spa.We liked it so much.The sea view villa was great too!!!Both of us liked Damai so much. As they present the Damai- It is difficult to find , but hard to leave... Thats true.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    7.5
    Ok but outdated. Nice staff. Restaurant prices more than ambitious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are in the meantime quite rustic and outdated. Major upgrades are necessary after 20 years operation. Price level in the restaurant is far too ambitous and overestimated! 130k for a soto ayam soup ++, are you kidding? Better go out and enjoy great food in Lovina at serious prices.

    excellent breakfast. nice view and very friendly staff, beautiful garden

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    10
    Perfect .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like bed everything.

    Staff was attentive to every need. Grounds immaculate. Bed heavenly. Absolutely every staff member was excellent, friendly, smiling, took care of everything. Food 5*

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.2
    This is an absolutely beautiful resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool at our villa was very cold so we wouldn't exactly lounge around in the water. But the communal pool was a comfortable temperature and we spent a lot of time there. It would have been nice if the complimentary shuttle operated later into the evening so you had more options for dinner. The resort is out of town so walking to other restaurants isn't exactly an option.

    This is an absolutely beautiful resort! Our villa was gorgeous. The beds were exceptionally comfortable. The staff are friendly and very attentive. Delicious cocktails and the candlelit dinner by the pool was beautiful. Definitely a luxury resort. Our outdoor shower was my favourite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.2
    Incredible hotel, 5 star service, beautiful villas with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff (not all) are constantly looking to charge you extras, the night manager tried to sell us a tour which wasn’t on their excursions list to a “hidden waterfall” for 2million rupiah - over double what they charge for a trip to sekumpel on the tour booking list. The food is great but very expensive (1.5m rupiah for dinner with a glass of wine) and the spa and excursions are relatively expensive too. All prices add 21% tax plus another 3% fee on top of that - so by Balinese standards you are paying a lot. It would be good to have an indoor showering option in the villas - not ideal at night or when it rains to only have outdoor showers

    Incredible hotel, 5 star service, beautiful villas with amazing outdoor bathroom, great relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    More than a 5 stars hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damai is an excellent place to stay. All team was amazing, they are are always there to help and give you an smile. Really professional people. Hotel facilities are perfect, I took the best massage in my life! It is a place were all details are important. Brekfast is the best of the island. Have dinner with a really elaborated menu next to the pool is so nice. For sure we will recoment this place to everybody it has been the best hotel for us in Bali. Thank you so much to all team!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Everything about this place we loved!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything about this place we loved! The staff, the food, service and the spa! From the moment we arrived we were well looked after! The spa was amazing! The pool villa is fantastic and the staff extremely friendly and helpful! Free shuttle into Lovina was handy too! The evening dinner was so good we ate two out of the three nights we stayed there! Highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    1. The property was excellent, though my sea view room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. WiFi was spotty. Even worse, the phones didn't work, and I had to trek to the reception instead. Based on the reviews here and the reputation of the hotel, definitely didn't expect this. 2. The restaurant was rated very highly here, but found that it was just not authentic Balinesee food - had been changed quite drastically to suit Western tastes. 3. My American breakfast (bread + muesli) took a long time to arrive, with a reminder too.

    1. The property was excellent, though my sea view room needed a telescope to view the sea. 2. The place was spotlessly clean, and the people were great, and well-trained.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Like I could imagine heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was all just perfect.

    Everything, the smiles, the personalities, the food, the other guests, sensational views, and enjoyed evening dinner setting around the pool. Best of all the magical spa girls.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    The Damai Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great place to relax, scenic views and great amenities. This place definitely exceeded our expectations. It is a bit far from the centre of Lovina, but they offer a free shuttle into town which was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfection in Bali at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was quite expensive in relation to Indonesian standard (10 times more than usual). But the kitchen was very delicious and you get something for the price you pay. We will come back!

    Super friendly staff, delicious food, beautiful place (interior & exterior), simply perfect for a romantic stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    The BEST hospitality experience of my life. The end.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving was a challenge simply as I didn’t want to.......

    Everything. Wow. The place is stunning but having worked in hospitality for 20 years, I have NEVER experienced anything as good as these guys. Attention to detail is amazing, every single whim was catered for and the entire team called me by name from Day 1. I was impressed with every single element of this hotel and team. Absolutely first class.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect, from the moment you check in and get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect, from the moment you check in and get a free massage to the villa and private pool. Don’t even get me started on how good the food was, all cooked on site we enjoyed breakfast and dinner. Definitely worth a visit

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    A week in paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 4 hour drive to reach The Damai was very long and tiring, though the scenery along the way was gorgeous. Our driver from the hotel was very pleasant and stopped to allow us to take some photos.

    We loved everything about The Damai! The staff, the pool, the beautiful surroundings, our villa, the food, the massages and the overall atmosphere were fantastic. We had a completely relaxing week at The Damai. We would love to come back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Garden villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many bugs lizards spiders little scorpion look alikes in the rooms They crawl all over the ceiling and floors The staff came into our room when we weren’t in there and changed things around I found that strange Food is way too overpriced The server had actually tried to tell us that we owe him a extra 2000 rupiahs when in reality we had given him extra and were waiting for the change back. First he tried to say he doesn’t have the change ..? Like what? My husband says no we need our change.. then he says oh no you owe me 2000. Went back and forth he realized he couldn’t get us so he went and quickly got the change. Very unprofessional. They already charge a 10% service tax and to try to sneak a couple extra rupiahs very unprofessional (he was a older man)

    Nice villa Nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Small intimate luxury hotel with charm and amazing food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing...it was amazing!

    This place is simply gorgeous! Understated luxury and attention to little details make it a place you will not want to leave! The staff are sweet, discreet and kind. The buildings are lovely, traditional Balinese style, nestled into the hillside with delightful gardens all around. Do have a meal here; you will not be disappointed! they set out the tables around the pretty pool and it's all candlelit and gorgeous. Expensive, but worth it! We were upgraded on arrival to a pool villa which was splendid; we only wish we had been able to stay for more than one night as we didn't really have a chance to use it much! We went out dolphin watching at 7am and missed breakfast. When we returned much later than we'd expected at 12:00, we asked if we could still have breakfast. They brought a sumptuous feast to our room, we were so glad we asked!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Best place in Lovina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the villas are lovely (we had a garden villa), they are incredibly light at night which stopped us sleeping. It would be really worth investing in blackout blinds. Tea and coffee facilities in the villas are poor, we had chipped mugs and the tiny kettle can only do one cup at a time. It’s such a shame, everything else is so well thought about and presented at The Damai, they now need to spend more time checking the villas are up to scratch.

    Set in the mountains looking down over the bay of Lovina, The Damai is a fantastic hotel and a lovely place to stay with great views. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Pool is great and gets the sun all day. The complimentary yoga and welcome massage are great. If you want to splurge, go for the 90 minute Balinese massage, its well worth the money. The restaurant serves delicious breakfasts and dinner, prices are expensive. Turn down service at night is a lovely touch. The complimentary afternoon tea is a great end to a relaxing day by the pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Over the moon great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It rained most of the day, but that I can hardly blame the hotel for 😀

    Fantastic place, had private pool and enjoyed that a lot. Food was really over the moon. Very nicely presented and great taste. Breakfast was an experience to die for. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Fantastic yoga session with Aka, she did a great job and I so enjoyed it. Overall I cannot think of a better place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    Luxury with frog song - is too much nature possible?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt the hotel was incredibly overpriced; and while the food, the services offered and to some extent the room itself was of good (at times even of outstanding quality), spending 200 eur on the room per night plus 100 eur on a one hour massage not to mention the food seem a tad excessive even with European standards. Still, we knew what we signed up for, and the prices would not have bothered us so much if the price lists (of which there are many) were more transparent and used the same currency. It was utterly confusing to be quoted prices in us dollars and then having these appear on the final bill in idr. It would have made us feel more comfortable and confident of signing the bill at the end if all prices were quoted in the local currency. This is probably not a terribly difficult change to implement and would save some annoyance for at least some of the guests.

    After reading the negative reviews and especially, the managment’s answers to these, we felt utterly discouraged having booked at the Damai. Therefore, it was a very pleasant surprise to be greated by a wonderfully lush green garden, manicured lawns and incredibly lovely staff. The welcome massage was so fabulous that we immediately had to book another two hours of it, and I think it will always be remembered as the best ever massage. The food was truly delicious; the choice at breakfast almost overwhelming and incredibly tasty (the best oatmeal ever - really!). The location high up in the hill (we walked up from Lovina: it is great for your fitness and getting over your fear of dogs - there are plenty, and not all of them are friendly) makes it an ideal place if you only wish to lie by the pool, but if you want to explore more, the need to use the shuttle service severely restricts your movements. Since the hotel is located in the middle of nature, the nights can get really loud with frogs and other fauna, and the walls of the huts (villas) are not thick enough to keep the noise out. If you are looking for a place close to nature at a remote location, this is definitely a top choice, and we enjoyed it for the two nights we stayed but it is not necessarily for everyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    2.5
    When we arrive the property they charged 2 million Rupiah as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrive the property they charged 2 million Rupiah as deposit against possible expenses ( food and beverages) Although we stay in the villa less then 30 minutes , they charged as 2 nights and did not give the deposit back. We ordered room service but never had a chance to eat, instead of 0,5millions it seems we paid 2 million.( Regular Food price is same range with Four Seasons!!! ) When we get in to room we realized that there is an animal inside the villa , they reject to control the villa or change the villa.Over and above the staff made fun with us and their general manager blame us that we misunderstand his staff. We spend 3 weeks in Bali, mostly in nature we faced snakes, lizards, even big flying foxes , but not face such a terrible hospitality. The host always try to solve the problem and made us comfortable. How we can not the snake by the sitting area was not poisoned ? I did not make it issue , since i don't want my wife afraid more. We even stayed in a glamping in Ubud, we never saw a single snake since they take all the actions to protect the area. Hotel facility shows the signs of aging as well,their garden is big it is hard to reach the villa. Not all the surrounding is under the control. Thing twice, if you don't like wild animals where you sleep. Because the hotel management will say it is normal to have them inside of your room and may not believe you when you ask their support. Their relation with us was all about taking your money during the check-in, then they really don't care!!! There are many other nature & guest friendly hotels in Bali.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Came for 3 nights, stayed the rest of my holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did NOT like leaving this magical place..

    Came for 3 nights, stayed the rest of my holiday! This place is amazing. Would come back to Bali just to stay here. Beautiful surroundings! Fantastic villas! Outstanding food! And to the staff: thank you for being so attentive, professional, helpful, flexible, humorous and happy!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    absolutely wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Damai is absolutely wonderful! A real gem! Sunset view across the forest and the sea in the background with lit torches and a nice drink. The most amazing and friendly staff taking very well care of each guest in a very informal way (this is no stiff place which is great!) Good value for money, prices are absolutely justified, for what you get. Food is amazing and excellently cooked, dinner by the pool under trees. Many thanks to all staff at the damai - you are amazing!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Exquisite!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High rates for tours taxis etc compared to bali

    Cleaness and maintaining property well, not to mention taking care of details in all bits. Restaurant was amazzzzzing for dinner

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.5
    Service was on point. The staff were really accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices for services seemed a little overpriced for Bali standards

    The food was excellent but overpriced and the outdoor Balinese bath and Raintree shower was really cool. Definitely Instagram worthy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Luxurious respite & relaxation on the mountain over looking the coast line above Lovina!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    21% taxes on all purchases. Eat in town, as there are plenty of good places to dine out. :)

    Staff very professional & friendly. Location and views were excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice and calm hotel with helpful staff but too expensive restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices in the restaurant was way too high. Almost double the price compared to all other local restaurants. Also the food took very long time to bring to the table. If you use reasonable prices in the restaurant then all people would stay and eat in the hotel. The breakfast also took very long time to bring to the table.

    The calm atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff. Also the free transport to Lovina to the restaurants...really good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Looking for a nice and quiet location for your vacation - you have found it - it's "The Damai"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices for the restaurant dishes are much too high.

    Personnel is really frendly. Location is super. The view from the hotel is really amazing. They have a free shuttle to Lovina.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2019

    5.8
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2019

    10
    just amazing... great place 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you so much for our amazing stay in the Damai and to arrange the Dolphins cruise in the morning ... we will be back 😃

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    10
    Romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice villa with privat infinity pool over jungle. Fine restaurant for romantic dinner.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2018

    10
    Coming back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving after 5 nights

    Nasi goreng was elite

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2018

    10
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfasts

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Amazing stay and excellent service, thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none I can think of

    Great staff, service and excellent view over the ocean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Best hotel in Bali
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best hotel in Bali

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was comfortable, has good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was comfortable, has good facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    The pool villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    The pool villa The layout and setting of the hotel Welcome massage Food Tranquility

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Delicious food, pleasant spa, nice swimming pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough hot water for the bath, air-condition was too noisy and cold

    Delicious food, pleasant spa, nice swimming pool and territory, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    perfect luxurious romantic getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there were some families with very noisy small children. I did think it would be more an adult place.

    absolutley beautiful villa

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    good time and really relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    little bit far from town, need car anytime

    calm and beautiful place

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    The best place to stay in Bali!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is literally perfect!

    The best place to stay in Bali!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    Amazing property, views and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing property, views and staff. Fantastic breakfast and morning team in the restaurant! Superb dinners. We will be back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    We'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are fantastic with comfy beds and outdoor showers. The pool is great as are the views down towards Lovina.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.2
    The villa with private pool takes you to real peace in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa is perfect but is very overpriced.

    The villa with private pool takes you to real peace in a wonderful location! The breakfast is fantastic and the dinners were the best fine dining we had in Bali! Our trip for dolphine watching was excellent. The staff is very professional and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    10
    It was amazing, we had a great time at the Damai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was amazing, we had a great time at the Damai. This is truly a very good hotel while you still feel part of Bali. The food is delicious, the villa's beautiful, staff is wonderful, location is great in the middle of the jungle. Do try-out the spa, as well as the day-trips they have to offer. We spend two weeks in Bali, one week in Seminyak in the hu'u villas and one week in the Damai; great combination! You combine then both the hip bars, restaurant and beaches of the South as well as the peace and tranquility of the Damai. Seminyak has little to do with Bali but is great fun and the Damai is Bali in its best form. This hotel is suitable for young and elder couples and people with and without children! Indeed hard to find but even harder to leave!!

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    Amazing food, drinks, massages and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing food, drinks, massages and staff. This is a place where you feel like you are royalty, when you stay there. We stayed in 6 different hotels in Bali and this is without comparison the best hotel in Bali, maybe even in the world. It is a very unique place and we are definitely only staying there the next time we come to Bali.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    10
    This is an excellent and very beautiful resort with probably...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This is an excellent and very beautiful resort with probably the best kitchen in Bali and beautiful villas, a very friendly staff and a beautiful surrounding in the middle of the hills.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    10
    Fantastic hotel beautiful rooms with private swimming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing wrong!

    Fantastic hotel beautiful rooms with private swimming poolessons in the villa . Our room was decorated with unique pieces of art we had an open air shower and bath. This is probably the best place I have stayed in my life.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    10
    This property is pricey by Bali standards but worth every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit distant from downtown Lovina Beach, but its a cheap taxi ride away.

    This property is pricey by Bali standards but worth every penny spent if you want a deluxe getaway. This is the finest facility we have stayed in anywhere. Our room was more like a villa, exquisitely decorated, ultimate privacy and charm. Staff caters to your every need and the food is absolutely amazing. Don't forget to enjoy their world class massage.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Every detail is well thought out and designed for luxurious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well, free wifi was a bit slow from our amazing villa.

    Every detail is well thought out and designed for luxurious comfort. The staff is friendly, caring and attentive. The grounds and room superb, food among the best on Bali.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.6
    The staff were welcoming,the garden villa was beautiful,the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One new staff member needs extra training.

    The staff were welcoming,the garden villa was beautiful,the spa was professional and both dinner and breakfast were exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.6
    If you are looking forward to the quintessence of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    some unexpected tropical insects are expected, what you gonna do, it’s mother nature.

    If you are looking forward to the quintessence of tranquility over there and get away with your Google calendar, it’s right there. Room are quiet but are not dead quiet, you are surrounded by natural rythums, loud enough for relax, quiet enough for sleep. Rooms are great, you expect Balinese Room, not those 6 stars Glorious type. Surrounded by mother nature, good thing is you don’t got mosquito bites, hurray for the pest control. Balinese staff, you could expect warm and attentive service, manager is great there, good heart from buttom up, I don’t wanna name her I don’t want her feel weird but she helped me saved half of my diving cost. Ha, I know you will smile when you reading this.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    9.2
    Incredibly friendly, thoughtful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The nearby beach town of Lovina is disappointing.

    Incredibly friendly, thoughtful staff. Made us feel totally relaxed and welcome.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    10
    The best food we had on whole Bali, it is worth every cent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The best food we had on whole Bali, it is worth every cent

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    9.6
    the damai it's an excellent hotel and the spa is really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the damai it's an excellent hotel and the spa is really outstanding!

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    Beautiful gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful gardens.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    5.0
    breakfast is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    working staff seems not so enjoyed their job,bath tub is full of water and there are some bugs in it can not use at all!

    breakfast is good

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 66

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse The Damai traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: