Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Istana Rama Hotel 4 stars

Jl. Pantai Kuta, 80361 Kuta, Indonesia

#98 of 244 hotels in Kuta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1252 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Overall it is a nice hotel and strategic place close to the beach, the Beach Walk mall and souvenier
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room light is not bright enough especially for reading.

    The location of the hotel is great especially with the beach right across the road. The food is good, but need more variety of desserts. The room light is not bright enough.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Best Location to enjoy Bali at, total buzz on the street with peaceful grounds,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When we arrived it would have been good to have been told there was a Mozzy zapper in the cupboard that could be plugged in and used. We were eaten alive our first night. But once we asked for some spray we were told it was there and used it successfully during the rest of the stay. The hotel has a live band on a Thursday and Friday nights and they are loud so if you are tired from a big day and crash early the thump, thump of the music can be bothersome.

    We took up the Breakfast inclusive deal and this was a very good option to take and would highly recommend anyone travelling to this site that they do the same. The rooms are very comfortable, and quite suitable for the destination. The whole site had a great Balinese feel to it unlike some other sites that were very European styled. The staff at the site are great and very happy to help with any problem or to simply try to make your stay an enjoyable one. The location is great, Kuta beach across the road, with its small street vending bars, and then a great multi-story mall right next door. Close to the lanes full of street vendors and not far away from the main nightclub/ bar areas if you really want to party.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Totally worth the money, superb location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple set up, no elevator if you get the rooms on higher floors but totally worth the money

    The location is superb, you step out and you're in the heart of Kuta. The beach is right opposite with stalls and surfing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Location wise its perfect and close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is average and the building is a bit old fashion, that sometimes we had problem with the ac.

    Location wise its perfect and close to everything. Its good for families and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Istana Rama is right location for beach lover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the house-keeping's standard were under my expectations. I've one extra bed in my room for 3 night. But I keep remind them about my complimentary drink for extra bed everyday. Well it very simple things, but it happened again and again. Also the hotel amenities and drinks like tea or coffee, etc.

    I love the location of this hotel, is very close to the beach and so many restaurants surround this property. the breakfast is good, I've try the pork bacon there. This place is so natural, you can see many squirrels hanging around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.0
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The condition of the washroom. Shower was not working properly. The room was not getting locked. They repaired it after complaining the same. But no change to the shower as it gets old.

    The location. Near to the beach n beachwalk shopping mall. The pool was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    On the whole an enjoyable trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a cockroach or two ever 2nd day and room service is non-existent .

    It is close to the beach and also the market.on days when you just want to laze you can have a laid-back day exploring the nearby market, have coconut water under the shade of the trees on the beach or spend the evening on the beach. Taxi service is available at the hotel but much cheaper taxi services are available outside. There are many money changers on the roadside but one should only go to the authorized ones which charge no commission. Outside they put up a better rate but rip you off by way of commission.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful staff and beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dirty. The mirror in the bathroom was very very rusty. The aircon wasn't very cold or powerful

    Incredibly friendly staff. Special thanks to Dewi, who went out of her way to make our stay special. She sat with us for a while writing a list of things we can do whilst in Bali. I really appreciate staff members taking our bags to our room, and for letting us leave our stuff before check in. The banyan tree is incredible!! Tuesdays have free 1hr yoga in the garden from 8am and I loved It! Amazing buffet breakfast too. Definitely recommend. Great location to beach and shops too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is in the middle of Kuta beach so the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is nice but old. The sheets on the bed were dirty the whole stay (even if they got changed)!

    The hotel is in the middle of Kuta beach so the location is perfect. For the money paid the hotel is a good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Really nice hotel property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beach close to the hotel ist just so annyoing with the people who want to sell you their surf lessons, board rental, umbrellas, massage etc. Walk just one minute at the beach and you will have 20 people asking you whether you want to buy from them.

    Really nice hotel property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    4.2
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst hotel I ever stayed in, never a 4* much rather 2* Everything is old and dirty, noisy rooms Spa looks like an old hospital Lucky to have hot water from time to time

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Over all the stay was okay. It did it’s purpose for the one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had poor water pressure but other then that the room was lovely. With all the worlds being done it make the afternoon and evening a little noisy. Toilet was stained and a little bit of sand in the room on arrival.

    the rooms are a very good size and bed is very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Would go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was very noisy.

    Very good location, nice staff and amazing breakfast. We kept the room even while traveling around Bali just to have a nice place to go back to. If you plan to do any activities (eg. a trip to Gili, dolphin swimming or just to rent a scooter) just ask the staff and they will help - and sometimes they can do it cheaper then you could have.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    The position was very good,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room A - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that I booked was with a window on the bathroom, I had to upgrade the room paying a difference to have a room with a window.

    The position was very good, The beach was on the other side of the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location,friendly staff, good food and drinks at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room A - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and facilities need upgrading the hotel itself looks a bit run down but it was presentable and very clean. The mattresses were a bit uncomfortable

    Hotel staff were very good some of the best I’ve seen in Bali

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    I've stayed at the Grand Istana Rama many times before,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Private Garden
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My fellow travelers had a room close to the rear lane and service trolleys started rambling through before 7am some days. New rubber wheels woudl help !

    I've stayed at the Grand Istana Rama many times before, and have never been dissapointed. Great location, traditional buildings, beautiful gardens/grounds, beautiful/friendly staff. A surprise birthday cake, couresey of the management was a beatiful touch !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    We are very satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room A - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kuta beach near the hotel, Its not nice and dirty

    The staffs are very accommodating- they are just one call away. Too many perks for client - banana boat and transport, balinese costume, free meals, yoga class and other discounts on services offered. Excellent facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    Best for Price and Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no lift for the 2nd and 3rd Level. Difficult to carry my belonging things to the upstairs. That is the worse thing. Hotel rooms r old need to do some renovation.

    Quit near to the Kuta Beach.Good breakfast.Nice swimming pool and garden. Hotel staff r nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    nice charming hotel near teh beach. Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The pool and teh bar is nice. Hoel is a little bit old but i like it that way, it gives it some charm and not this white clean sterile hotel feeling as usual. Over all its clean and teh staff is friendly. Nice neighborhood and teh beach is across teh road. Breakfast is good. For me absolutely value for teh money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    It was cheap and central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was mouldy, the security deposit wasn't disclosed till arrival, you can't use a visa debit card for the bond either, and I wasn't told till later I could leave my passport in place of a security bond, staff were very confused. My things kept getting taken out of my bag and moved around the room, had to keep my toothbrush in the safe, cause it was being moved to different parts of the room.

    The swim up bar was great, beautiful gardens and close to shops

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Had great breakfasts every morning with lots of variety. Pool was superb. Great value :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms could have been a little cleaner

    Staff were friendly and efficient. Easy to organize tours at their tour desk and as cheap or cheaper than the price we could get online. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.8
    Upgrade the pool and rooms and this will be one of the best money for value hotels in Bali.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 12 nights

    We had to upgrade because the mattress in the first room was smelly and the room was basic and uncomfortable. We moved to a Deluxe room, however it was not to the standard of other Deluxe rooms we have stayed in. The bed and pillows were uncomfortable. The pool needs an upgrade. All the tiles near the pool bar are broken and I actually cut my foot top and heel when I jumped in. One of the seats at the pool bar are tied to the bar with rope and 3 on the other side have no tops, just rocks.

    The staff both in the hotel and the restaurant were amazing and the service was excellent. The food in the Samudera Café was absolutely fabulous and reasonably priced. It's a shame really that the rooms and pool were so bad, because this would be one of the best value for money hotels in Bali otherwise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.4
    Well located but poorly miantained property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The general dull atmosphere of the hotel lobby. The spa is also not up to the standard and staff lack training.

    The hotel is getting old and needs refurbishment. The photos on website are not recent and quite misleading. Although the rooms are quite spacious the amenities are not up to the standard

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable Bali stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room smelt of smoke so we asked to move

    Good location, clean and comfy rooms. Helpful staff - Debbie helped to arrange our day trip to Ubud which was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice family hotel next to the beach, shopping centre, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room A - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice family hotel next to the beach, shopping centre, and local shops. @ good restaurants in front of the hotel with live music. Friendly staff and good food and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    4.2
    Pathetic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room A - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start...rooms are tiny and if you get the older wing well if I could describe the rooms in one word it'd be "pathetic". Some of the reception staff talk to you as if they are doing a favour not their job. I would just throw in a few extra bucks and stay at a better place along the beach.

    Apart from the location, absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    Good resort right in the heart of Kuta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room A - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems, everything meet expectations. Be aware that it appears that construction is underway behind the resort so it might be loud in the cheaper rooms at the back. It wasn’t a problem when l was there though.

    Good pool with a pool bar, the staff were friendly, and the breakfast buffet was good. The best aspect of this hotel is the location: right across from the beach, next to a major shopping mall, and walking distance to all the restaurants/nightlife of Kuta.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On the first night of check in we had an unpleasant experience. We found bugs or tiny cockroaches?? were crawling out the wood from the headboard and above the wall. We immediately alerted the manager on duty, and they moved us to a superior room.

    Excellent location. The area was very busy but also safe to walk at night. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would like to thank the hotel for surprising my daughter with a cake on her birthday. Breakfast was good. Taxi's were easily available. Enjoyed all the amenities that were provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.0
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was okay not good but okay and They had to much of traffic a lot and they made as with 2 hours just because we have be on the check in time

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Close proximity to the beach and Beachwalk Shopping plaza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is on the tired side. Some things need renovating however I could maybe class it as “character”

    Close proximity to the beach and Beachwalk Shopping plaza. Close to many places to eat too. Breakfast was very nice too. Good selection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.8
    Walking distance from the beach, nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room A - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom stunk like sewer, everything in the room was pretty old

    They had and automatic self serve latte machine with 6 different type of Specialty Coffee to choose from, just push the button and vwalla, a delicious cup of specialty coffee, lattes, mochas, capitchinos, the food was pretty delicious to. That was the Breakfast at 70,000 IDR

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.9
    The staff at the hotel were excellent, more than helpful for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room A - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little bit dated now

    The staff at the hotel were excellent, more than helpful for any requests we had and the bar/restaurant was brilliant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.9
    Food very good and staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom/toilet not that clean in room. A lot of dust around edges of room. Drink ring marks on bedside/tables. Pillows not very comfortable. Dirty finger prints on light switches.

    Food very good and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Very clean very safe/secure great pool staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean very safe/secure great pool staff very friendly and very helpful 24hr reception and 24 hr room service nice restaurant with slight view of the beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    The swimming pool, the facilities and the staff's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Little annoyance. Like push shower in the toilet didn't work at first. Though they were very prompt and efficient to address the issue. We need to change the room because the remote of the AC wasn't working. Also, we found live cockroaches, TWICE. Once in the bathroom and another in the room. We never kept the door open. After complain, the hotel was very quick to treat the room with pest-controls.

    The swimming pool, the facilities and the staff's behaviour was wonderful indeed. Just the hotel requires a better maintain.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Great Location and Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Two Superior Double or Twin Room ( Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Perfect location for the beach and right next to a major shopping centre as well. Breakfast was great with lots of choices and good service. The pool was a bit small and too warm to my liking, but the bar at the end made it all up.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    Staff very friendly and happy to help you with information.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool needs to be refurb, you can easy cut your feet. Breakfast needs to be improved with quality food. AC very noisy, this hotel is not a 4 star hotel or it was when was open 20 years ago.

    Staff very friendly and happy to help you with information.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Location, location and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent experienced staff at rooms, guest services and restaurant. Will be back next time. Better breakfast than other hotels of the same range.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Cheap and clean and breakfast is fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was the only drawback as the head needed to be cleaned as water was only dripping out.

    Everyone is friendly and rooms have cold a/c and good range of TV when you are in for an early night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.3
    The location was good - especially if you wanted to be in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Two Superior Double or Twin Room ( Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very run down. There was construction going on next door to the Motel at the shopping complex and heavy machinery woke us up at 3am in morning. Also there was a very disgusting smell by our rooms.

    The location was good - especially if you wanted to be in Kuta close to shops and markets.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    For older property in original condition and compared with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I mentioned slightly over priced food and beverage And as we were there in wet grip paint round pool and some areas as u walk away from restaurant to room would be fab

    For older property in original condition and compared with relative properties in Bali ie like for like. The Insta is well maintained Linen actually white white Only grizzle is food and drinks a little too expensive by a dollar or two an item All in all adequate stay at price point. Would stay again Great to have onsite transport at market rate 150k to airport

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    2.9
    Location was great but there are many other hotels along...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Two Superior Double or Twin Room ( Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were extremely hard and uncomfortable. Air con didnt work. Bathroom sink leaked. No friendly staff. Charged twice for room - 2 weeks to reimburse along with a $40 international transfer fee. Dirty plates left outside rooms for 4 days.Refused to charge roomservice to the room. Family rooms are not joined - 2 seperate rooms and only 1 room key for each room (between 5 people) Would not recommend.

    Location was great but there are many other hotels along beachwalk to choose from. Guaranteed better than the Not so Grand Istana Rama.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Not amazed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room A - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is obvious that the hotel is old. Everything is in good condition, but not fresh, especially bathroom, towels are grey( not white). We booked standard room, checked in late at night. When wake up in the morning, opened the windows ow, we saw marsh and deserted bungalows. I Shower worked slow, there was dust and filth under the bed, cleaning was unsatisfactory. I really wanted to cry, I thought honeymoon was wasted. but stuff helped us, we had to pay for upgrade and move to much better room. As I understood they have several grades of room numbers, and quality of beds, towels and even level of cleaning is different for every grade. Standard grade( I mean standard room is like motel, dark, dirty and sad)

    Location is perfect. Stuff is friendly and ready to help. Pool with the bar( there are discount 25% after 4pm)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.7
    Wonderful hotel - totally worth it as the staff went above and beyond to accommodate everyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Like all hotels on the beach in Bali, mold is a problem. That also goes for the upkeep of the rooms, mattresses, and pillows. But - you cannot get away from this in the area.

    The staff at the hotel were very helpful, nice, and accommodating! The bonus - the restaurant was awesome as well! Everyone went above and beyond what they actually needed to do, and did it with a smile.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    Real value for money and good location right across the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cleanliness of the floors in my room was not good.

    Real value for money and good location right across the street to the beach and close to all bars and eating places. Walking distance to some of the best night clubs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    Never stay ther
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water... and thy charge me one million robi As a save deposit ... and thy say thy will hold . I my bank send text massage the amount been cut from my account

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.8
    Our Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Two Superior Double or Twin Room ( Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be prepared to pay Security Deposit of $100 per room (ours was 50% of the total room price, which was not planned for). This was explained after the purchase price of the room had already been completed. Pool needs some improvement. Hot water for showers was luke warm. Room was booked as upper level, however, we were given ground level rooms.

    Central to Kuta beach right on the ocean. Not far from major attractions / shopping. Buffet breakfast is provided by way of vouchers given at checkin. Many options are available including eggs, pancakes, cereal, toast, fruit and juices. Although we only stayed for three nights, we did not see any of the breakfast menu full at anytime to cater for guests needs (perhaps we were going to breakfast at the wrong time). Staff were friendly enough.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable and convenient location next to beachwalk shopping centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor shower pressure Air conditioning old and broke down The place is starting to look a bit tired and dated.

    Staff were always friendly and helpful. Fantastic breakfast selection.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful, relaxing and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everythng here was amazing! The pool is beautiful and clean, the breakfast was superb, the food was excellent and everything very reasonably priced. I have extended my stay here because it is so good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.5
    Very poor exchange rate offered at check in when paying for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor exchange rate offered at check in when paying for accommodation so in the end it cost me an extra nights stay. Confirm rate before booking as it was very disappointing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    5.0
    Location of the hotel near of the beach of Kuta.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms and bathroom need a full renovation, the hotel is old. The cleaning of the room in less than min every day we where there is not enought of have a quality of cleaning

    Location of the hotel near of the beach of Kuta. Near also of a mall and restaurants The pool is big and the garden are vey nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful Fabulous outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is nothing not to like.

    The Staff were par excellent. From check in to restaurant to chamber maids to tour desk. I have no words to describe the pleasure I get every time I check into this hotel. This is my third time by the way.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.4
    Average stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast need to be revised, not organized, staff poor service. Réception more on their phone instead of take care of the guest. Room need to be deepcleaned ( they clean my room each day in less than 10 min) Office desk dirty

    Hotel well located on Kuta beach ( dirty beach), big pool, nice property

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is well located in Kuta beach near of the beach a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room are very tired, need a deep renovation. The service can be better in the breakfast restaurant. Bathroom need to be better cleaned

    The hotel is well located in Kuta beach near of the beach a cross the street. The site is look nice and you have enough restaurant and mall around The room got a good size, easy and not far from the airport. the garden look very nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for arrival and adjusting to Bali
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit dull.

    Located directly next to the beach, and still far enough away from kuta main streets to not have to much noise. Nice specious villa setup and great pool area. Clean and everything you need. Go surf on Kuta beach for a few hours, then chill by the pool to recover.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.1
    A comfortable pit stop between destinations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room A - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was dated and the toilet had obviously been cleaned some time before we arrived as the bowl had stained / streaked black mildew.

    Handy location, nice food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    Excellent place to stay as most of the things area located in near by areas be it food or shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room A - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1) Even though whole amt was paid in advance, reception insisted on security deposit which wasn't informed to us. 2) Swimming pool bar was closed at most of the times.

    1) The Samudra restaurant location is on the street but it is overlooking @ KUTA beach. Best place to have morning breakfast and lunch. 2) Well maintained swimming pool

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    4.2
    Location only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom was dirty, and odd smell continuously comes from somewhere. Bed was uncomfy. Nothing meets my expectations regarding the price. There are hundreds of other good places at this rate in Kuta.

    Location only

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.4
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel needs tremendous renovation. The rooms are so old and outdated. Bathroom fittings very outdated. The AC was not working in our room neither in our parents' room. They must increase breakfast choice. This hotel needs to be renovated immediately.

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is great if you want to be close to the hectic streets of Kuta. The hotel is smack bang in the main strip of KUTA. The rooms were very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    5.0
    It was ok wouldn't rebook
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not clean enough towels where terrible

    We just had a week there November 2017 ... The property is very very tired pool area good staff nice, rooms. Need cleaning properly and painting towels need throwing away if they spent the time on the rooms they do on the grounds I'm sure it could be better it's a shame because location is great.. I'm sure it will get knocked down and a new modern hotel unfortunately will replace it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Bali was nice and peaceful, but a bit quiet for our taste.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Housekeeping a bit poor. I don't think our room was swept and mopped properly the whole week we were there. Overall the hotel rooms needs an upgrade, but it was comfortable enough for our needs. The plumbing needs a major overhaul. We struggled with poor shower pressure and temperatures throughout our stay.

    Location was perfect. Far enough from the crowds, but close enough to walk to entertainment. Staff were exceptionally accommodating. 10/ 10 for Ariya and Danny Boy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.9
    Location is excellent, you can sit on terrace, look at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    But room.. ten years ago it would be good, but now that design is looks little bit outdated. Also, the slight fragrance of mold causes irritation. May be I just did not get lucky with the room, because all other was good. And last thing - like in many other places in Bali, Uber can't take you from the territory of the hotel, so keep in mind that.

    Location is excellent, you can sit on terrace, look at pantai kuta street and ocean and enjoy your breakfast (which also pretty good) or dinner with live music.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room A - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 10 nights

    a few tiles need to be replaced could do with a little money spent to bring it up just a little, drinks need to be cold pool water and pool bar need attention

    Staff were amazing rooms clean comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    I thought it was a bit far to walk to the pool and it had a funny smell in the room also late at nig
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it was a bit far to walk to the pool and it had a funny smell in the room also late at night he could hear people coming home quite noisy

    I like that you would can just walk across to the beach and it was close to beach workshop centre also easy to get a taxi

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    GIR is well located in Kuta and offer good value for the discerning traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Garden
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water is a little smelly you have to run the shower for five minutes every day before getting in the shower

    Very well located and sumudera restaurant was fabulous

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Overall it was a nice hotel with perfect location to the beach, restaurant and bars and nightlife.r
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom!! Although it was clean it didn’t look clean due to it being outdated and worn, needs a good makeover to make it fit with the rest of the room, it was the only downfall.

    Right on the beach front, perfect location to everything! nice surroundings, big pool with pool bar. Rooms were clean and spacious. I would stay here again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast is rather good, better than in two other hotel we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room on the first floor has a very strong dampness smell and hotel needs renovation, furniture and bathrooms are very old. But still there are much more pros than cons.

    Breakfast is rather good, better than in two other hotel we stayed in Kuta. Location is great, near the beach, cafes and our surf school! :) Territory is very nice, a beautiful garden and squirrels on an old tree. Staff is very friendly. We will definitely be back, worth money!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.3
    our room was quiet and it was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We had to climb a LOT of stairs 3rd floor, and we are in our late 70's, with bad knees, we asked to be moved to a ground floor, but they said if we pay extra money we could have one, we didn't pay, we also had a LONG way to walk to the breakfast area., the breakfast was quite good, and plenty to choose from, and was nice to look at the ocean. They also wanted to keep our passports, and pay a deposit of $100 security, just in case we broke a cup or something else, we refused both. The bathroom was VERY old, and patched up all over the place, but the room itself was ok and the towels and bed linen were ok. The pool was nice, and we didn't have a problem getting a sun lounge. I suppose the it's the old saying, "you get what you pay for", but hey! we weren't unhappy, and the staff were very nice, the floors in our room were clean, no dirty feet, and we never saw our room boy. I suppose the best thing was, the Hotel's location, easy to get to both Poppies Lanes, for restaurants and the Bull and Bear Shopping Center for the younger people and up market shopping (not for us). Coming back at night, there was a VERY loud band playing BUT we did hear them in when we were in our room, so if you want a quiet room get one at the back of the Hotel.

    our room was quiet and it was clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Having two single beds to make one big bed and also having a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furnishings were very dated and could do with replacing as rust in some places

    Having two single beds to make one big bed and also having a pool bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.3
    lovely resort but the restaurant let you down
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had a meal in the restaurant service very poor, one person didn't get her soup and two peoples meals arrived so late that we had all finished eating before they got there meals service very slow

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.3
    The staff were friendly the hotel rooms a little outdated,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room A - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The stay was great until a staff member decided to become too friendly with me. It was all dealt with properly and the hotel compensated me for the incident.

    The staff were friendly the hotel rooms a little outdated, But the grounds, the pool where lovely. The location was right across the road from the beach and the new beachwalk shopping mall right next to it,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    A great location if you want to enjoy Kuta beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Music to loud for middle of the day at pool and closed at 7pm - too early. Only took cash at pool bar unless deposit of 1million Rupiah left at reception - was not advised that at check-in. Restaurant was average, as was breakfast.

    The bed was good as was the bathroom. Private garden was almost private. Location straight across from the beach was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    The hotel looked great, and the pool was really good to have.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the front desk wasn't friendly. She didn't welcome us and didn't even smile once during our conversation. Also, Kuta in general was not what we expected. People on the street trying to sell you drugs, a lot of locals coming up to you trying to sell you something and cold water at the beach.

    The hotel looked great, and the pool was really good to have. Breakfast was also complete with a freshly made egg however you like it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    A dated hotel in a prime location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room B - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite dated and rooms feel dark and not very inviting, lacking the Bali style charm. It's definitely not a luxury place but if you are on a tighter budget it is a good value for money especially for the location you are at.

    The location is good, right across from Kuta beach. The price is reasonable for the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Istana Rama Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: