Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kamandalu Ubud 5 stars

Jalan Andong, Banjar Nagi, 80571 Ubud, Indonesia

#59 of 235 hotels in Ubud

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 472 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have more I formation or help on activities to do. For example, how where to rent a motorbike.

    Beautiful hotel at the heart of rice of terrasses with 2 very nice pools. Staff is very friendly! Excellent and generous breakfast. Good cocktails (a bit expensive but it was worth it!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the staff were seamless and extremely efficient during our stay. Eka was a standout as he remembered our names. The hotel is positioned in a safe and secure location which put our minds at ease. The free hotel shuttle was convenient and was well used during our stay at Kamandalu.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it doesn't seem to be well planned when it was built. you can see cables everywhere, pipes, etc, things that could and should be hidden if it was planned well when building it. It also doesn't look to be well maintained, tear and wear everywhere. On top of My Ubud Chalet, it got a second floor/room, it was so noisy all day round. I called the management to ask what's going on, and when they called back they said it was the cleaning service cleaning up the room after guests check out. It sound like somebody stomping around with heavy steps. If that was their crews, why aren't they moving around more lightly? when I asked them back, "are you sure? because it was all day around'', and they answered that: other than now, it must be the quests that was making all the noise. It doesn't sound that they were surprised to get that kind of complaints, so i presume the floor on the second floor on Ubud Chalet too thin. so avoid those chalets. Limited choices of food for the breakfast, mediocre taste at Petulu Restaurant (Dinner), low quality of massage treatment (but yeah you got a bonus to take pic at the swing). For the reservation I contact directly, asked their price compare it to booking.com. booking.com was IDR 800.000 cheaper (for 2 nights, ALL IN), and when I asked kamandalu what's the benefit by booking directly since it's more expensive, they claimed that booking.com's price hasn't been added 21% tax etc etc, and there is no value benefit. No benefit, the price at booking.com is cheaper already with tax etc, no brainer I booked with booking.com (Thanks booking.com!) Doesn't have any gym (at least we didn't find one), don't think it's suitable for kids since kids activities got price tags. Our previous stay in other hotel in Ubud was way better, tons of activities and free, tons of kids activities and free, big heated swimming pool

    Lots of place to take nice pics. Rice terrace, ducks, forrest swing, Infinity pool, Shuttle to Ubud Central, Rumah Yoga (Yoga place) with 1 hour complimentary Yoga

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Unfortunately the infinity pool was very disappointing. Every day there are people indulging in the pool 'floating' breakfast so they can take hundreds of selfies for their fake Instagram accounts. They take over the pool and it makes the use of the pool for others awful. Stop these breakfasts please! If you hate social media vanity selfish addicts you wont like this.

    The staff are so friendly, warm and pleasant to deal with. they are lovely people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The e-invoice system was difficult to complete

    Loved the service, the staff and the location. Everyone made us feel very special and looked after us very well, our village club representatives, the executive chef who took our cooking class, the activities rep who took us to the markets and the general manager, all the restaurant and service staff all went out of their way to make our stay extra special and we felt privileged!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nope, all was good.

    We had a great time at our private swimming pool enjoying the floating breakfast (we have 2 ppl but the food offered seems a 6-ppl meal, quite yummy). The staff offered excellent service during the floating breakfast, including a surprisingly helpful "gift" for the photoshooting. Plus, the bed is super large and comfortable. We had our first night at pool villa and the second at garden villa. Both villas are well designed, clean and spacious. Both breakfast and dinner are fabulous (all food was tasty and staff are more than helpful and polite). We took a rice paddy walk at 8am with Wishniwa, our guide, who gave us an exclusive tour to the rice terrence and told us much interesting agricultural knowledge. Overall, the stay is worthy and bravo!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is amazing! One of the best i ever stayed. The view, pools, jungles around, breakfast, staff, villa - all amazing. I would recommend to choose this hotel without any doubts. Even we had small baby 1 year old on a straller, and it was lil bit hard to go through the stairs, its nothing compare to enjoyment we got.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't great value for money. The room was small for the price we paid, the drinks and food at the resort were expensive (for Bali), we asked for late checkout and were told we'd have to pay for that which was disappointing. Also the pool was very cold!

    Clean room in good condition, bathroom with outdoor shower was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing we didn't found at the same level was the food and especially the price of the restaurant/bar. ( even smaller detail, but we desliked that for taking a picture in the swing we would have to pay, or use the spa services, and the tree view was closed during our stayed being acesseble if you book dinner there. )

    The staff was extremely nice. All the service side and the facilities make this place and excellent place to stay in Ubud.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I known Kamandalu’s best spot from Instagram.. turn out that every best spot was private, so prepare extra cost for the best spot..the prices not included.

    Like the ubud ambience.. Like The fast respond from staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breathtaking location with very nice service and facilities, especially recommended if you are a yoga geek (wanting to go beyond the free yoga course in the morning, my wife took excellent private classes with Ketut). Nice to be in a resort not belonging to an international chain. Worth to try all the activities they are proposing, and special thanks (and greetings) to our daily-tour guide Mr Raka, the guest activity manager. Shuttle service downtown to Ubud very efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Pool Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service there not so good. No one helps us collect the luggage when we check out. Also the breakfast there was bad. Only fried vermicelli is delicious.

    Wonderful swimming pool and floating breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that isn’t good at the hotel but one should be aware that there is no fitness centre in the hotel. The cleaning is ok but not top notch as is usually the case in Asia.

    We stayed in one of the villas with a pool facing the jungle. The view is absolutely breathtaking, the hotel is tranquility personified and the staff the kindest you can imagine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No health club, offering gym outside hotel and 10 minuets away not a good idea. There are plenty of areas inside resort they can easily make a nice and beautiful gym.

    Everything was amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yoga too crowded / most of the activities fully booked :-((

    Nature / high Quality food / Great Pools / excellent massage / great staff !!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We searched for three people and an infant. We selected the room and thought it was everything good but when we arrived they asked us to pay for the extra bed. We didn't know that we had to make reservation a day before for most of special services.

    The room was very nice. The hotel by itself was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was Poor for a 5 stars Hotel , Coffee was very Bad : ) , Bath Tub on our Room was old dusty and rusty , would never use it . Bathroom in General was Old and Amenities also not From a 5 stars Hotel . The linen at our Bed was very Old and not Fresh , same thing with the Pillows

    Good Service , Good Food , Amazing Cocktails

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pool Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 1 night

    The villas were amazing, and we even got upgraded our first night. A great place to relax and hang by the big pool, and the expansive resort is a great place to walk around in. Make sure to check out the spa- the massages were amazing! And the staff were also very lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband and i were at the pool lounge area and we saw the guests(chinese nationals) spitting(and snots) on the pool, the hotel staff didn't even say anything to those guests! We were so disgusted and don't think would be swimming in the pool after we saw that. The hotel staff should do something or atleast say something to the guest about that.

    Everything!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit remote but the advantage is that you are away from the noise and crowds

    Everybody at the resort made this a unique experience. Thank you so much! Yoga at 7:30 is a bit of a calling but kick starts your day in the right tone. Special tanks to the yoga teachers for bringing their warmth and passion.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have travelled extensively for work and leisure around the world. This hotel has been one of the most memorable experiences. We stayed at another more expensive villa nearby after we left this hotel but I kept wanting to go back and regretted not staying longer here. If you are deciding between kamandalu and Komeneka at Tanggayuda, I would go with Kamandalu in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I regret not purchasing one of the lovely robes we had in our room :(

    We stayed in a lovely little villa. Our room was very beautiful, beautiful outdoor shower, very spacious bathroom with a separate indoor bathroom. The robes that they provided us, are absolutely beautiful that I regret not purchasing one from the gift shop. If you are looking for a place that will up your Instagram game - this is it! I would highly recommend paying extra for a floating breakfast at their infinity pool! The staff are exceptional, the place is exceptional and my experience there was exactly what I needed on this trip. So no, you don't need to think twice about this place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been better if there were more inclusives ie cocktails as we spent a lot on these on top of a premium room

    The bed was exceptional! The private pool was amazing and the staff went above and beyond.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative would be the food at the restaurant. It’s not bad by any means but definitely could improve. I’d score the food (at the main restaurant) a 3.5 / 5. However, the courteous and attentive staff more than made up for it. Room was generally good, very spacious. There was, however a slight stuffiness to it but it was a minor negative.

    The staff at this venue were amazing! Everyone was courteous and there was always a sense of personal service from the reception to the bell boys. My wife and I spent 3 nights here and would not hesitate going back. The forest spa and its staff were really awesome. Would definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to all the pools. Infinity pool under maintenance. No access to spa swing. All the iconic points are with extra charge which I believe it’s a rip- off. False advertising.

    Breakfast and staff at breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rest of the menu (outside of breakfast) was a little subpar. Also, my girlfriend was sprayed with a serious dose of insecticide during the monthly bug spraying while she was in the outside shower. That was terrifying. If we had been warned just a little bit about the spraying, we would have stayed in a safe place instead.

    Staff was extremely kind, breakfast options were amazing, and the premises were absolutely spectacular.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lizards and insects everywhere in the hotel. We couldn't tolerate staying there more than two nights because of that . We loved the fact of having our suite in the jungle, however there should be much more work to control the area around from animals and insects...

    Nothing at all !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms weren't so nice, way too many insects. Totally not worth the money and so upset I paid that much for what we got. Food was mediocre at best

    Pool

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the pool at times seemed a little murky

    breakfast food selection great variety and tasty. their juice shots were wonderful. the serenity of the resort was lovely. I particularly loved watching the geese walk through the rice paddy . the sound of running water lovely and relaxing. the outside showers were very enjoyable even when it was raining

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beautiful swimming pools that you can see on the website or instagram are not accessible to the clients except those who booked a villa. This was never mentioned. Also the employees of the hotel are more interesting by their clients who are instagram influencers than normal clients. Some places were not accessible in order to let them do some shootings. This is very frustrating and unacceptable for this kind of hotel. I will not recommend the personnel of the hotel except the personnel of the restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food and drinks were expensive.

    Great location, just a short car ride to Ubud. Very quiet and tranquil. Got upgraded to a larger room and lots of special treatment for our honeymoon. Staff were very well trained and so helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is truly amazing. I am not really a resort person but I saw so many beautiful pictures of this place on social media that I had to give it a try. The crowd was not too snobby but the experience still felt very exclusive. Also many resorts are too far from the town. Kamandalu is located close enough that its not a bother to get into town with their free shuttle. The floating champagne breakfast was a highlight of my trip. This place is worth the money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Airport pick-up service price is very expansive.

    Blackfirst is good. Staffs are kindly. Management for room is clean and sweet. Two place pools are very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately overall this hotel did not live up to our expectations. I would not rate this a five star hotel. In my view it's four, at a max. The main issues are: -Apart from the front part (mentioned above) the hotel is looking rather run down. I can imagine it looked grand when it was first built but many parts of the property had not been refurbished since. -We stayed in the bungalows and these were exceptionally old looking and run down, with skirting board parts missing, uneven, sunken in cheap looking laminate flooring, cracked bathroom tiles etc. -The breakfast was pretty basic. I travel a fair bit for work in Asia, and always stay in 5-star hotels. This was by far the worst breakfast buffet I have experienced, basic with not much choice and poor presentation. -The hotel massively over-charges for anything additional, from massage to taxis. I found it particularly annoying that we had to pay 81,000 each per day for using the hotel mountain bikes, a service I would have imagined was included, and was about the double of what we paid for renting bikes/Vespas down in seminyak earlier in the week.

    The location is great and the front part of the hotel (entrance, lobby, restaurant, rice field & fish pond etc) lived up to our expectations -it looks lovely!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked absolutely everything :)

    It was all over wonderful experience. We were welcomed with a flowers placed in our hair and offered refreshing juice. Everybody were really kind and polite. They would even come by in the evening to prepare the mosquito curtains and give us cookies. Outside shower was the best Ive ever seen. Big bathroom. Two swimming pools. Great breakfast and bars. Yoga house. Scenery was just breathtaking. Tipi dinner and floating brinch were a great experience and again staff was beyond exceptional. I loved this place and will definitely be back. Worth its price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad lightening in the rooms. The water flow in the inside and outside shower was not good. Not to many choices at Breakfast buffé. Wi-fi really bad, logged out every 30 minutes and bad connection.

    Beautiful resort, true balinese style. Very calm and peaceful place. 15 min ride o Ubud center with taxi or shtuttle. Stayed in villa with garden view. Nice spacious rooms. Honeymoon setup pretty. Very nice staff. Forrest spa beautiful but unfortunately many mosquitoes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The hotel is not a 5 star hotel 2. The room need a renovation 3. Bathroom only have exterior shower, at night it was a bit chilly and it was uncomfortable to shower 4. No natural light in the room 6. The photos that you see in Booking does not reflect the reality. 7. Only 6 puffs in the Infinity pool (no sun beds) The hotel is over priced if you compare to the real quality of the hotel. I decided to move 3 days in advance.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark in the villa, need more lights Wifi is always logging off automatically

    Good 5* hotel Nice Balinese style, very clean, I like the view from my villa, from restaurant. Restaraunt is very good Infinity pool is very small, but the main pool is large

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not my taste, quality was not so good, variety was ok. Our Villa smelt a little bit mody. Shower doesn't have much pressure.

    Infinity Pool was great. Surroundings are very beautiful. Food at Aira Cafe and Awana Bar was great. Free Shuttle to Ubud. Spa was good but quite expensive. It didn't seem very busy around the pool areas eventhough at breakfast you see many guests.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us a room which was quite far from the breakfast area and it was difficult to go there with a Baby stroller. They did not have lifts and lot of stairs to climb with a baby stroller :(

    Room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is one lady working at the restaurant, her name is Puri I think, can be more patient when she serve the customer.

    The resort itself is quite pretty and well maintained. WE can see a lot of facilities are kind of aged, but it is well maintained. The outdoor shower of our villa is a highlight.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Garden Villa doesn't really have a garden. Outdoor bathroom had cracks in the walls and needed a refurb. Food at the resort is below par for a 5 star establishment.

    Lovely big bed. Good variety for breakfast. Cookery class was really good. Jungle massage was lovely. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a healthy menu advertised which we weren't able to have. The WiFi was Terrible for most of the time, great at the beginning so could have been due to bad weather

    All staff were amazing, very polite, helpful, and cheerful! Room and hotel were beautiful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first villa were we stayed in had quite a lot of humidity on the shower but apart from that the experience at the hotel was amazing

    Staff was super friendly and helpful. The location super close to ubud centre and breakfast buffet super tasty!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very classy hotel, great location - great views and close to the ubud center. Excellent rooms and staff is very helpful. All in all excellent resort

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Best Deal - Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think this property has all possibilities to come from just very good to a perfect 10. I was a bit upset with the housekeeping service. Twice my room wasn't kept after a whole day of me going out - there was no turn down done. They have apparently forgotten or was really late to our room (turn down at 10?) this happened twice during our 7 day stay there.Another time - they didn't replace or clean the coffee cups. Then the coffee etc, were given cheap Nescafé sachets. It's quite a standard now that you get proper coffee machines in your room especially in a 5 star resort. What could've been nicer if you would have offered complimentary Balinese coffee in the room. The table inside the villa is too small to be used for dinner. The bathtub was not really a proper tub. It looked more like a tiled up tub-like impression in the ground. Go modern with a proper porcelain tub? Breakfast from 7 to 10 is probably a bit too short. Gets very packed by 9 and have to wait for around 15 mins to get a table. Spa was too small and not as special as we expected. It was inside a regular spa room which looks nice but doesn't feel as warm or relaxing or traditional as one would expect. Pool was nice but was not properly temperature controlled, so was a bit too cold to use most of the time. In all, I believe you've got all the right key things such as location and infrastructure in place already to make this resort top of the line.. just need to take the service to the next level, keep in mind those little details that makes a big impact. With so many 5 stars competitors also offering similar services in the same area and big names already renowned for its top class service, this resort could easily falter behind. The good news is that the changes required to make it to a star resort is pretty reasonably easy - you've got most of it right already! :)

    The location and view is amazingly beautiful, in the middle of natures paradise. Quiet and greenery everywhere, well maintained in general. I'm happy that I got a complimentary upgrade to the garden villa upon checking in. The villa was very well kept, with a nice traditional touch and charm to it. It's a very peaceful environment. There's a nice outdoor rainshower you can experience in the villa itself - was cool showering underneath the moonlight to the sounds of crickets! During turn down service, you get small packs of traditional cookies which I thought was very sweet. Horizon pool had an amazing view. We got a very nice framed up hand drawn portrait as a momento for long staying guests - we thought that was really sweet! :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is a bit isolated from Ubud central area. The shuttle bus from Ubud palace is a bit confusing. We had waited for over an hour but didn't see the bus.

    Breakfast is perfect with great choices; The one bedroom villa is fabulous for us, young couple with two young children. The view is fabulous. Love the outdoor bed for relaxing. Villa reception staff is very helpful. With great knowledge of Ubud activities, and they are extremely friendly. The hotel with it's own rice field is a heaven for guests, beautiful and soothing. We love the quietness and beauty of the nature.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pool Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe the main pools could be heated slightly, as when the sun's not shining they can feel slightly chilly and possibly offer more times for the free shuttle service, but these are minor points really.

    As usual the property and staff met and exceeded expectations. This was our second time and the resort is still beautiful with gardens, rice paddies and villas all beautifully maintained. The pool villas are stunning, ours with an infinity pool and day bed over the rain forest. The yoga hut is beautiful in the morning hanging over the rain forest and the spa in the rain forest is so relaxing. The staff are so helpful and friendly all the time, always asking if there is anything else they can do and going above and beyond with the club butler helping with activities, restaurant bookings, day tours, etc. On leaving they presented us with a framed drawing of our family as a surprise and provided us with a vacant room to shower and get ready for our late flight after we'ed checked out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was an excellent resort to stay in - everything was wonderful from staff through to food and accommodation - best holiday ever - we will make this a favorite for the future. Nothing was an issue and the manner in which they looked after us was typical Balinese - gentle, kind , professional and always with a smile .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Paid bicycles (for this price you'd expect them to be included in the room rate). The hotel is located far away from the Ubud centre and the last return shuttle bus provided by the hotel departs early, at 21.00. The hotel taxi from the Denpasar airport was very expensive, and eventually we decided to book a different one through Booking.

    Great breakfast with amazing choice, cleanliness and friendly staff with 'can-do' attitude. Wonderful design and attention to the smallest detail. The forrest spa, infinity pool and the yoga house were amazing. My wife enjoyed the morning yoga classes and spas, although the latter was quite expensive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms, the presentation of the outdoor shower. The garden area is an efficient use of space.

    The external areas are fantastic. The rooms and in particular the bathrooms are dated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its kind of out of the way. The area outside tge hotel is sketchy / run down.

    Awesome experience. Best hotel ive been to ever. Looks just like it does in the photos

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only two thing is the transportation from resort to airport or beach cost 60 USD which can be a little bit expensive. Next, the pipe in the shower room was blocked.

    We enjoyed a lot for our short stay (2 nights) in Ubud Kamandalu. The hotel has been operated for 18 years or over, but is still clean and neat as the new one. We are also upgraded to the private pool villa! Staffs are very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Never have such an excellent service in my hotel stay. Great Dinner and awesome choice of food on its breakfast. We were staying in its pool villa. Great atmosphere, great pool and excellent staff in meeting all your needs. Will be back in future. :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Pool Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was amazing.

    The club lounge staff was outstanding. Yudi and Mega from the marketing team overdelivered with their world class customer service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The resort was amazing. We were so relaxed staying in our luxurious "hut" , where we could only hear birds singing from the nearby trees. So nice after the hustle and bustle of the centre. The staff was always with a smile on their face and they accommodated all our needs immediately. Overall, an exceptional place to stay with a really good restaurant on-site too! I would love to go back there and stay for weeks and weeks...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no taxi's like blue bird in Ubud and Uber is prohibited. This means that when going to town, which is about 10 min drive but 40 min walk away, you will need to take the hotel car if you cannot take the shuttle van. This is quite inconvenient and we sometimes had to wait 40 minutes for the car to bring us. The hotel should have arrangements with local drivers of which there are plenty and w used them to get from town back to hotel. The swimming pool is too deep in 80% of the pool. Even me with 1.82m cannot stand straight. Service at the restaurant can sometimes be slow as it can take up to 10 minutes to get the mayonaise.

    morning yoga lesson, Bali-style apt.,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In some areas wifi signal was poor.

    Brilliant. The kind of hotel you see on Bali postcards. Huge territory, all green, clean air and fantastic atmosphere. It relaxes you from the very moment you step into your bungalow and stays with you long after you leave. If you go to Ubud you definitely might wanna stay at Kamandalu. Unforgettable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Sooooo touched in their considerate services. Noy only Room condition and atmosphere of resort was perfect, but also their welcome drinks and every thoughtful care of staffs was so impressing. I strongly recommend all this resort. (complementary Yoga class and shuttle service to Ubud centre is provided.)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only crit I can give is for the pool bar to update it's music player as the sound sometimes distorted and they repeated a playlist that they had, I could sing along with the words after 3 days, lol :) The rest was pitch perfect.

    Our stay was simply amazing. One of the highlights is most definitely their breakfast, with many options to choose from and perfect quality always. The bed was comfy and the shower gels and shampoo's was great as it has some sort of tea tree essence which makes you feel amazing! The location is beautiful with its surrounds close to the rice paddy's. The best stay we had from the 3 hotels we visited :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property sets the standard for comfort,luxury,ambience and value for money!! The rooms were amazing and very large compared to allot of other hotels nearby.The staff were extra helpful and catered to all our needs. The pool was extra large with awesome sea views, my young daughter loved it. Breakfast was at an international standard was a lots to choose from, even gluten free! Highly recommend!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very expensive and if you weren't spending money the staff weren't interested in assisting you. Food was very average and super expensive. There are much better value hotels in Ubud that offer the same views but with much better food, service from staff and affordable extras i.e. Spa.

    Location is beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Staff was extremely helpful, and the spa is just fantastic. Getting a top rate massage in the middle of the raun forest - what is not to love.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The resort was amazing! It was like a tropical paradise and the staff were very friendly. We went there for our honeymoon and it was magical! Couples should try the romantic dinner packages it was out of this world!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the sofa in our room was very uncomfortable,only there for show really,one we could have used and relaxed in would have been better

    The grounds of the resort well looked after,the breakfast and staff were very good,shuttle every hour to town,50,000 rupees if outside of the hour

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Pool Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel Wifi, each time my phone went into standby/sleep mode, I would have to re-login, using the username and password. Not a big deal, just a small annoyance.

    The view was amazing, the staff friendly and the food delicious

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    *Beware*Spiked Drink* Please be careful staying here* My partner and I stayed here last week which is the low season. There were 4 of us booked to stay at Kamandalu and we were almost the only guests at the entire resort. We were relaxing downstairs at the infinity pool where there is a bar manned by two staff. All four of us had the same amount to drink. My partner started to feel unwell and was beginning to act very out of character and was soon unable to stand. It became apparent my partners drink had been spiked. We called for help and 2 more staff helped us take my partner back to our room. By the time we got her got back to the room her eyes were totally dilated, her jaw was uncontrollably chewing her face and she was erratic and very jumpy. As she had no control of herself she began to cry for help and we had to continually distract her to stop her from crying. On THREE occasions we asked the staff for assistance and requested a Dr to treat her, nothing was done. I had to leave her with my friends at one point to go down to the lobby and demanded the staff get an emergency Dr immediately however the Dr never showed. We had to care for her ourselves and it was very distressing. At one point she became scared of men and was even running from myself, she tried to escape the villa by climbing the walls and now is covered is scratches and bruises. When she finally went to sleep and then woke she remembered nothing, upon us informing her she asked if we could change hotels as she was so embarrassed and scared. I went down to the lobby and spoke to the manager, I asked for nothing but a refund for our time here and to leave quietly. I didn't want to argue we just wanted to go, he initially agreed to refund our room and let us go. Some time later my partner was finally able to get out of bed (diarrhoea and vomiting) and made it to reception. The manager greeted me and asked me to pay for my room service charge.

    Not a lot

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt a little too far away from our kids room at night. We had 2 rooms for us and the kids. We needed more water in our rooms and it's out of town a bit. Although the hotel makes it easy with a free shuttle to town often.

    It's experiencing the jungle in comfort and cosy villa style rooms. Love the infinity pool & view of the jungle. Saw a monkey or two swinging in the trees.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Pool Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Our booking was mixed up with other's. We paid for a two bedroom pool villa but was given 2 one bedroom villas. We had to split house with my children. The staff managed to sort it out the next day. 2. My email inquiring for airport transport was not replied.

    The butler service was impressive!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs here are very helpful and happy to do their jobs. Love the spa. The view from their infinity pool is just breathless. We would like to recommend this resort for our family and friends.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The minibar fridge is quite old and we didn't get fresh fruit daily as written in the booking details. These things were really minor but given the experience was perfect, It's worth calling them out

    The location is nice, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast is really good, the rooms are spacious, pool is amazing. Ubud is close to most attraction worth visiting.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed is a bit too hard. Some villas are in two levels and the noise from the villa above could be a problem.

    Location, friendly staff, accommodation and food are all excellent. Free shuttle to and from Ubud is a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was a little dated in the hotel room. For the price you pay, there should be attention to detail. Curtain around bed was torn and lots of dust above bed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Villa with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room rate and drinks at the bar where extremely overpriced. Breakfast selection was poor. Did not feel i was getting value for money especially that we had come from a beautiful boutique villa with a lot more to offer and for half the price.

    Our stay at the Kamandalu resort was very nice, the staff where amazing the location was fantastic the services on offer where great (especially the bike tour with Raka) BUT..... we have stayed in many beautiful resorts around the world and i would have to say that this one is overpriced not only for Bali but on the world stage. The breakfasts where average, the drinks at the bar overpriced and the nightly rate to stay was more reflecting the price of a boutique resort which is small and very private which this is not. Overall we are very happy just wanting people to know that there is better value for money out there.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ubud Chalet with Free Benefits
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Low lighting in the room. Less vegetarian options on the food menu.

    The amazing cake that the hotel had arranged for my daughter's birthday. The Baby Pool which my 3 year old thoroughly enjoyed. The shuttle service to the town center and the grand lobby area.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Kamandalu Ubud traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: