Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa by L’OCCITANE 5 stars

Kedewatan PO BOX 7 80571, 80571 Ubud, Indonesia

#81 of 235 hotels in Ubud

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 548 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    The view from our villa was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property starting to look a little tired, needs a good clean up. Gym hard to find and not the best. Bicycles need to be upgraded.

    The view from our villa was amazing! So beautiful! Staff were fabulous and very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful river & valley view and the private pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Villa 26 not clean enough especially the sleeping room and the bathroom downstair. Cockroaches around the bed,. Shower’s floor and bathtub not clean.

    Beautiful river & valley view and the private pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • River Front Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was an hour late. Elevator broken so very difficult to get down from main facilities to villa and up to facilities. Everything is a bit tired looking.

    Comfortable bed. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Genuinely an amazing stay. The staff are incredibly friendly and do go out their way to help you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River Front Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The spa was very expensive. The whole experience is amazing however it is still too expensive for me especially considering how much cheaper massages are in the town.

    This place is amazing and definitely exceeded my expectation. The grounds are beautiful it feels like you are in the middle of the jungle. We stated in the river front pool villa and I cannot recommend it enough. Although if you stay here be sure to spend enough time just to enjoy and make the most of the hotel. We did not do this as much as we should have! The afternoon tea is a nice touch with an amazing view too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Everything was great and more than
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually I liked everything except the bathroom its still clean but could have been a little bigger or with more light inside

    Great hotel with very friendly staff we really enjoyed our stay at kupu kupu barong and will be returning there everytime we visit bali

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only drawback was limited shuttles to & from town.

    Previously stayed in Constance hotels in the Maldives for 3x the nightly rate.... this place was exactly the same quality. Go with the river-side private pool villa, take in the foggy river valley views in the morning, and enjoy sunset in the your pool with complementary whisky.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    Only thing going for this hotel is the amazing setting and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing going for this hotel is the amazing setting and the warmth of their staff. Wonderful people. But place is so dated and for that price, not value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    The view is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 4 swimming pools. Only one is big enough. The others are so small. There is no edgeless pool.

    The view is fantastic. It's near Arung river. You will have jungle view when having meals in the restaurant. There are different types of villas and rooms. The staff are nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Not what we had expected or hoped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is dated, it should not be charging the premium that it does. Also if there is the association with L'Occitane, then you should get more than three tiny washing bottles and they were never replaced. Neither was our coffee or any amenities for the second day of our stay. Overall, disappointing and would not stay again. Plus we had a huge Huntsman spider in the bathroom but hey thats nature so no ones fault.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    A perfect place to celebebrate a sepcial occaision.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An spectacular place for a romantic getaway. The staff were attentive and ensured that our stay was memorable. Our Infinity Pool Dinner was amazing. Beautiful surrounds, comfortable rooms, no need to venture outside the resort, but if you choose to the courtesy bus drops in the heart of Ubud.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Villas are far from each other and they give you real...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River Front Pool Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to wait for the baggy car to go to and from your villa else you have to walk for a 5 minutes difficult slope.

    Villas are far from each other and they give you real privacy. The view on the jungle is outstanding. The shuttle is so accurate. Breakfast is beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Staff is very friendly and always ready to help with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast, which was complimentary on my booking, was average at best and below my expectations. Buffet-style with limited 'a la carte' options with 80% of the buffet-options being the same every day. The one time I had dinner in the restaurant, I ordered a simple pizza as mentioned on the menu, just to be handed a store bought, frozen pizza with the majority of it still being cold and mushy from the obvious defrosting it underwent, major letdown. Very spacious property, so you could end up having to have 10-20 minute walks to every destination on the property (room to restaurant/lobby/entrance etc.), however there's a complimentary buggy service where your butler drives you to your destination.

    Staff is very friendly and always ready to help with personal butlers assigned to your room, who are available 24 hours a day. (Thanks Tuya and Diana) Location pretty close to Ubud center (need to take a form of transport to practically reach it though!) Room very spacious, nice view over the river and a nice 'natural' feel of waking up to a aforementioned view. The L'OCCITANE bathroom products were great! I didn't find myself forced to use my personal products.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Stunning Location, Amazing Staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in Ubud, this hotel is magical. The staff is exceptional, very friendly & their costumer service is beyond par. The food is superb, especially the breakfast. The room was huge & properly decorated & very clean.. We really enjoyed our stay, highly recommended! Kudos 🙌🏻

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing views, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great staff, super helpful for everything you need. Real five star experience. We didn't try restaurants on site,but the breakfast was great with amazing view. We stayed in pool room, villas provide more privacy but our room was perfect. It is a bit far from Ubud center but it is easy to organize transport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    A well loved paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • River Front Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would say that while this property is beautiful it is getting a little tierd and may need to look at revamping that keep up with its other premium competitors.

    I loved the tranquility of this beautiful location. It was so private and felt very special to be there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    We liked the yoga classes, they take place near a pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a problem with the hot water the first night, it wasn't working, it got fixes the next day. The villa was very noisy, we could hear knocks on the walls, because of water pipes that hit the wall. We didn't have infinity pool like in the pictures. The prices are triple compared to Ubud centre.

    We liked the yoga classes, they take place near a pool. They have a nice selection for breakfast, the afternoon tea is also a nice touch. The rooms look spectacular and the views are wonderful. The employees are very nice people, always smiling and wanting to help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    We went there over 20 years ago and decided to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the place is not very well maintained. It looks old and worn, a lot of stains on the stone steps leading down to the villa. Several lights were not working but they didn't do anything after two days. We had to tell them before they changed the bulbs.

    We went there over 20 years ago and decided to go back. The room was very spacious and the tree spa is very unique.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    This property was the best 5 stars I have stayed until now...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Duplex Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property was the best 5 stars I have stayed until now and that is coming from a VIP flight attendant. Amazing hospitality and staff, anticipating every need and providing a luxurious experience. Great location to visit the rice terrace, elephants, volcano, temples, monkey forest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    This is a very unique property overlooking the jungle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room rent is quite expensive. Also you are in the middle of jungle so expect insects.

    This is a very unique property overlooking the jungle. We stayed in a river view pool villa which was simply amazing. The service was absolutely fabulous and the staff went out of the way especially our butler Tukey and manager Arta. We would definitely come back here. The staff and service completely justified what the hotels values are. We also loved the massage in the tree house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Tranquility close to Ubud
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We really enjoyed our three nights in Kupu Barong villas. We stayed in a Duplex Villa, which is very spacious and comes with a huge tub and a little terrace. From the upstairs bedroom, the view over the valley was fantastic. The view from terrace was also very nice. The resort is big and they offer to drive you in little golf carts. We preferred to walk though. We used the gym a few times. It offers a treadmill, an exercise bike and a few weights. Limited but as we were the only ones, it was fine. Also did one of the morning yoga classes by the pool. Great way to start the day. But better book a place with reception in advance. In terms of restaurants we went to La View for the breakfast buffet, which offered everything from sweet to savoury, cold and hot, fruit, veg and meat. We also went twice to Oishi Tei, a sushi restaurant. Not cheap but it's worth every penny. Kupu Barong is located about a 20min drive from Ubud. The hotel offers shuttle service. I liked that Kupu Barong is close enough to get to Ubud quickly to go sightseeing, visit a spa, restaurant, or go shopping, but then you return to the tranquility of Kupu Barong.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect.

    The staff is soooo nice and pay attention to all your needs. The restaurant are goods. We did tours and you are not obliged to follow it you can adapt it according to what you want to visit. The drivers are so nice. Recommended if you want something different in Ubud.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    One of the best places I've ever stayed in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Only thing to make this experience even better is to extend the shuttle service to 10/11 PM as 6:30 PM is a bit too early, but that is more of a luxury than a problem.

    10/10 for everything. The hotel and staff do everything in their power to make your experience as good as possible. The view from our river villa was incredible, we felt like we wanted to spend the whole day just looking at the scenery. Service is top notch and our butler Putra was incredibly fast with all our requests in the hotel. The shuttle service to the city center is very useful as well for people who want to discover Ubud. Highly recommend people to stay here and will definitely stay there again in the near future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Gorgeous location and beautiful hotel but too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool View Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no discount available for using the SPA, even if we stayed for 4 nights prices too high for dinner and extra activities

    gorgeous scenery, good breakfast, big room, nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.8
    Ok not great, dated hotel with many trainees that make service average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is causal. Wouldn’t rate it as a 5 star service. Way too many trainees attending customers. The hotel is good but is dated. Stayed in room 3 and the Jacuzzi inside the pool was not working and they couldn’t fix it. Outside taxis not allowed in so they will tell u to go out and find a taxi.

    Room sizes, spa, the flaura and fauna at the hotel as its made inside a forest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    The best Ubud experience !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River Front Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could clean the Jacuzzi before we came but that was not that big problem.

    The best place in Ubud so far!! Amazing view of the jungle and the river. Good breakfast options. Very kind staff and a very nice spa. Getting up in the morning, opening the curtains and having the view as in dreams is just a thing I will never forget. It was the best honeymoon stay in Ubud and worth the money for sure. It is a bit scary coming back late night and walking to your room with hundreds of insects (big ones) around you and sounds of the frogs, but this was fun for me running with my wife to get to the room and it will stay in my good memories of Ubud (living the nature experience).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    A view like a dream, great authentic villa design, extremly great staff, best massage at tree spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pest control, you might find insects inside the villa, however if you keep doors closed, the probability is going much less Breakfast quality must be enhanced

    Pool duplex villa is brilliant with the best view ever over the jungle and the river, extremly friendly and helpfull staff, complimentary activities inside the hotel are great (Afternoon tea, Yoga, ... etc)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing, peaceful, beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle from Ubud could run later, last one is around 6.30pm, however taxi costs are minimal.

    Stayed in River view with private pool, outstanding accommodation, views were fantastic. Staff could not do enough, breakfast was superb, peaceful location, and great free shuttle into Ubud ( must book ahead )

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Fine decoration, amazing bathroom, good service from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants prices are a bit expensive compared to what you can get in the city center

    Fine decoration, amazing bathroom, good service from the airport pick up to the check out

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Definition of serenity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Private pool is pretty small (barely w: 2m, h:2m, d: 1.4m). Prices for drinks and dinner were quite expensive even compared to luxurious restaurants in Ubud. Dinner menu can be improved. Massage is good but not that amazing, it does not worth for that money, given that for 1/5th of that price you can have better massage in the city center.

    Nature was respected, hence well preserved. Ambience was excellent. Staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. Though location of the hotel is pretty remote, you can easily access. You can rent scooters, bikes, upon your request upfront hotel can arrange you private, reliable taxis swiftly. Since this hotel was renowned for honeymoon, not many children were running around, nor disturbing noise can be heard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful and beautiful experience immersed in tropical Nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool View Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very humid climat in the middle of March so needed to adapt

    The kindness of the staff, the view from our bed and the international restaurant, the unique opportunity to eat in the middle of an infinity pool on the edge of a tropical forest, great diversity with their menus, choice of 3 pools, the staff always available, wonderful cooking class, amazing massages.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    Place surrounded by jungle,some villas have a good view on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place looked really dated, suits are worn out and not worth the money. Villas are in better condition and have a much better view, though also require renovation

    Place surrounded by jungle,some villas have a good view on the river.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Amazing location and villas situated within the property...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location and villas situated within the property have breathtaking views. Restaurants as well serve great food and again make a great experience!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice long weekend in Kupu Kupu Barong Villas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Villa (where we stayed) is bit aged Swimming pool not heated ( water can be cold in certain periods of the year) Surrounding area of the pool needs some renovation Breakfast (variety of the food) was bit poor compared to a 5 star hotel

    Very helpful and nice staff Nice Lobby and the Spa

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Everything we expected of a beautiful jungle retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • River Front Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The L’Occitane spa was beautiful but a little overpriced. We ended up using spas outside of the hotel for a fraction of the price.

    Beautiful rooms with everything you could need. The butler service was great and all of the staff went above and beyond to make sure that your stay was perfect. The afternoon tea was a nice touch,as well as the free cocktail in the bar every evening. Food in La View restaurant was good, with a good choice on the menu.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Overall, we had a blast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sewage smell in villa 34. The pool in villa 34 was not in front of the villa but rather next to it. Regardless, the view was amazing. However, villa 35 was nice and had the pool in front of it.

    No words to describe the amazing service by the staff. They upgraded my villa and gave me free in room breakfast and free drinks for the whole stay! The bad reviews are probably because people had too much expectations

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Bali
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The L’Occitane partnership should be more visible, not just the branded and overpriced SPA.

    The eco-resort architecture and care for the nature, the views and opportunity to enjoy nature so up close.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River Front Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the sunken bath with a view, pool view, staff was so helpful when we asked to change our villa to another one with a better view, wish to come back soon!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    Stunning resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    okay so apart from the whole stay being wonderful we did have two big hitches that left us disappointed at the end. we booked the wings of love spa treatment for 3 hours which was definitely not worth it so I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. we were excited because it was L'occitane, but had a much better spa experience at Uma Sapna in Seminyak. The other disappointment came on the last day when we busted our tyre and due to our butler not being there, the staff at the reception actually refused to do anything about it. my husband had to repair the tyre at night himself with tons of mosquitoes around. I think when you are staying at such places than the staff should consider helping the guests with everything. We were not expecting it to be done for free.

    The resort was beautifully located in the middle of the jungle with the Ayung river. The breakfast was okay but the egg Benedict was delicious. Our butler Diana was the best part of the stay. He was always available and helpful with anything and everything. It was secluded which was our priority and the views were stunning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.8
    Dissapointment exept for the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very unconfortable. Aircondition extremly loud. Food (dinner) and breakfast the poorest and worst I have ever had. Food felt old and as if it had been sitting on the table for centuries

    View

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    Breathtaking valley view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The villa is in nice Indonesian style but a bit old. Water was dripping down from our bathroom ceiling. The wooden floor makes noises every step. It could be a little far from your room to the lobby/restaurant area, though we enjoyed the walk. Transportation and tour are very overpriced. We booked a one-day tour elsewhere, which turned out to be less than 50% of its price in the hotel.

    The valley view and hotel surrounding is breathtaking. Staff are extremely attentive and friendly. You'll wake up every morning in the sounds of river flow, birds and frogs, surrounded by green forests. I am told that this is a legendary hotel in Ubud: everyone knows it! That also means if you hail a taxi from Ubud center to come to the hotel, drivers will try to rip you off!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Exceeded expectations, highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drawbacks - none

    Pros - great value for money - hourly shuttle bus to Ubud town centre - views of surrounding valley are breathtaking - fantastic room service and friendly staff - rooms are traditionally constructed to give an authentic experience - honeymoon extras were amazing (thank you!) - delicious breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    The view, hospitality, room size
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River Front Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The king bed was combined twin and wasn't comfy The food could've been better The pool was overlooked by another villa which made it not so private as appeared in the pictures Spa prices were exaggerated

    The view, hospitality, room size

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    6.3
    Venue tired in some areas especially our room which was in a block by pool. Very noisy so beware a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 55 poor. Floor coming up (bamboo) overpriced for the facility especially off season when rains confined you to room all afternoon and evening. Food poor compared wit hrestaurants in UBud and ridiculously overpriced

    Great location in the rain forest. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just the walk up and down to our villa, it's about eight floors down!

    Had an excellent stay!! Staff were pleasant and always greeted us by our names. Food was amazing, villa was amazing with the most pleasant of views ever. Wouldn't mind a trip back here again for the experience!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful setting in the midst of the rainforest, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting in the midst of the rainforest, very spacious and clean rooms (family room), with super amenities. Friendly staff and good food. Loved it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Location was amazing and room with the forest view was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • River Front Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found the restaurants to be quite underwhelming for the amount money they charge.

    Location was amazing and room with the forest view was sensational!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    3.3
    DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The villa is nothing like the photos posted on Bookings.com, in fact of the 40+ villas they have only 1 villa (villa 15) slightly resembles the image presented. When confronted about our displeasure (along with another couple who were obviously experiencing the same issue) all the staff, all the way up to the GM spat out the same robotic response, obviously very well practiced! They food was shocking! The USD 80++ / head dinner started with a deep fried slice of courgette, store-bought sweet chili sauce and a limp piece of lettuce. The low-light was our main, a piece of Fish that was so over cooked that it could be bounced of the plate. Breakfast was poor and we both left the resort having to deal with food poisoning, which made for a very uncomfortable flight home. It must be said that the staff did try to get rid of the sour taste in our mouth by offering complimentary massages, which were ok, but with a value of around USD 120, hugely overpriced. We received a much better massage the night before at another villa for USD 21.... This "5 Star" resort brags about its longevity as it was established in 1987, it is a massive pity that nothing has changed since that date. The rooms feel dated and dirty and show little to no signs worthy of a 5 star resort status. Our pool (half the reason we spent an extra USD 100) has unusable as the day we arrived they had dumped a fresh load of chlorine powder that was still visible when walked past not to mention we could smell it from our room (over 8 meters away). This place is a lost cause and is pretending to be a lot more than it is. The advertising on Bookings.com is nothing short of false advertising and it is a massive waste of money and time. The only reason this isn't a lower mark is that we feel the location and the staff had to be given some credit. We will be pursuing this further.

    The Staff tried to make a terrible experience more tolerable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    2.9
    Horrible Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was a horrible experience for us. Our room was 20 mins walk down hill from Reception without any covered walking path or buggy service. They changed our room 3 times and eventually gave us a room by the pool side which was terrible. There were many nails popping out on the floor which hurt our toddler as he was walking and crawling around. The staff were not very helpful and simply smiled every time a complaint or concern were presented to them. The location is also not very convenient as it’s around half an hour from the town centre. To top it off, their restaurant and especially their breakfast is certainly very bad. Our experience was so bad that we had to checkout on the second day although we had paid to stay for 4 days.

    Only the Spa is good, although it’s very expensive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    A nice secluded place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Pool Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t forget you are still in the jungle so the evenings can be challenging outdoor. We got a rat in the room - that was disgusting! The manager changed our villa but only in the second day. Also, the excavations down the river, during the holiday season, didn’t help to get sooner in the relaxation mode (but I guess they were independent of the resort).

    A nice secluded place. Wonderful for a few days of complete relaxation. Villas with private pool and the spa can be all you need to get happy during your staying. Restaurants are good as well. Staff was always very nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    Amazing rooms, amazing views, amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River Front Pool Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps a little more variety on the dine in menu. More simple foods - the room was too good to leave, however the dine in menu was only okay. Would be great to have more food options in the mini bar also.

    Amazing rooms, amazing views, amazing staff! We had the best time. Well worth the money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Perfect place to escape and spend quality time on you’re own or with friends/partner.
    • Group
    • Pool View Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - knowledge and description of food and drink menus - quality of cocktails (no training?) - gym VERY basic - DVD selection

    - The private butler/buggy driver. - customer service!! (above and beyond) - scenery - size and comfort of bed - quality and selection of food for breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    The "tree house" rooms were very unique and added to the experience. We would stay here again.
    • Group
    • Duplex Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everyone was extremely friendly and accommodating. We arrived after 1 a.m. and the staff was eating for us with sandwiches and made the check in at that late hour super easy. We had great massage therapists and we loved Eddie the driver.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -there was a dump right outside our window of all old toilets and baths and rubbish -room service food was stone cold and triple the price. -our booking got confused three times or more and we had to travel from the different parts of the hotel in the rain back and forth. -took over half an hour for them to check us in and same with other people around us. -our room didn't come with a room service menu or prices of the spa. We rang the front desk and they said it is in there. (It was not) no one offered to come and check until we spoke to a man driving the buggies and he came in and checked them noticed we didn't have them.

    The bed was so comfy and big! It was like it's own little jungle which we loved

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    Good place, food ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food for dinner was just ok for the price you have to pay. We ate out in hbud center more often. Better value, more decent prices.

    The staff and grounds we're exceptional. They made us feel very welcome and we're always helpful with any questions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.1
    Worth it..Romantic atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River Front Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and breakfast could be improved.Lots insects especially at food time.

    Facilities and room were amazing.Butler and staff were friendly and very hekpful,especially Tukey.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Super comfy villas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the flys and mosquitos outside the villa at night are hard to cope with

    Super comfy villas Super friendly and helpful staff Good location, close to almost everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.4
    Wish we loved it as much as we thought we would
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to catch a buggy everywhere which at times took an hour waiting for Poor breakfast Pool was freezing and not always clean Bed under the gazebo would be dirty not long after the sheet has been changed Felt isolated the whole time we were there Meals overpriced in comparison to other Balinese resorts Limited spaces in the shuttle bus which was a car not bus

    Beautiful view Spacious room Lovely staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Had a wonderful and memorable memory. Worth of my investment and will come stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast area need to be cleaned. There are too many flies so can not enjoy nice buffet served.

    Nice, beautiful and very green environment. The room is very spacious, facilities good and love the design. A place not to be missed when you decided to stay in Ubud. Wonderful memory & worth of investment.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    If you really want to go off the beaten path but still have luxury accommodations this is where to s
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Spa Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both bathrooms were very nicely appointed but the bathrooms and showers were not attached to the room. One of the bathrooms you had to go down some steps to get to. The other you had to cross the private patio to get to. I don't mind an outdoor shower, but both bathrooms outside of the room is a bit much.

    The rooms were were extremely well appointment. The property is literally carved into a mountainside. The property is breathtaking. The staff was beyond friendly. They bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Very beautiful and luxurious rooms overlooking the valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River Front Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check your room is not overlooking construction in the valley. The noise in the day is constant and very disturbing if you are choosing to stay here for peace and quiet

    Very beautiful and luxurious rooms overlooking the valley. The staff were very lovely and were trying their best to help us in any way possible (butler to bring additional drinks to the room, checking on my husband who was under the weather). We had an issue with building works affecting our room and the team tried their best to find a fair and quick solution for us

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    The best value for money compare to World prices.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is terrible. Not too many healthy options. Lots of fried food that me personally wouldn't consume for breakfast. Also there was a terrible smell on our terrace in one point, smelled almost like a dead mouse.

    I have liked the layout of the resort, very private you feel like you are in your own little world. Great size, beautiful view. The staff is extra kind and always ready. Super quite on the property, perfect for relaxation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.1
    Our money was stolen from our room when we stepped out to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Family Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safety and security

    Our money was stolen from our room when we stepped out to have breakfast and inspite of reporting it to the hotel authority and the police, we have not heard back at all from them. There are no CCTV cameras or security around the rooms which are completely secluded in the property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful retreat in the rain forest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    don't stay there alone: there's nothing much to do after sunset - you'll get bored. Bring books, games, cards or movies with you for the long evenings.

    There are many things I loved: The super friendly staff, the amazing lush and green environment, the views and the spacious bathrooms, ease of access to Ubud, the delicious Japanese restaurant... Just to name a few.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    It was the perfect location for a stay in Ubud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at a duplex Vila and there was a rooster near by which was too loud and made it hard to sleep! Except from the rooster everything was great.

    It was the perfect location for a stay in Ubud. As contrast to the buzzing city of Ubud, this place is really calm and serenely. It was exactly how we've pictured a hotel in Ubud located in the jungle. The Yoga class in the morning at 8 was really good and was just the right start for the day. We also visited the Japanese restaurant and Le View and the food was of a great quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Breathtaking view, nice private pool, clean villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's far away from all shops and it's impossible to have a walk even. Also there was a bad sound due to a crane by the river which was so noisy during day which was not hood for relaxation. Pool was not heated.

    Breathtaking view, nice private pool, clean villa

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Wish we had stayed longer! There was so much to do in Ubud and the villa was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little bit away from main part of Ubud, but easily accessible using the shuttle bus service or ordering a taxi to get to/from main streets of Ubud.

    Great villa and very friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.8
    not a 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our river view villa (villa 1) had a very poor view, and no real infitiy pool as you might assume after seeing the pictures on booking.com. Staff offered us to change with villa 16, but this were very close to the construction site down the river. We had problems with the shower(only hot or cold water), which was not fixed after staff said so. The breakfast selection was very poor. Shuttle down to Ubud only until 6pm with limited space. I would not recommend staying in the hotel as long as the construction work is going on, because there is much noise and no chance to relax. We would have appreciated if the hotel had told us about the ongoing construction work before. All in all for us definitely not a 5 star hotel in comparison to others. Not worth the price, you can find better places.

    The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    great!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to stay for one night to a room up the hill because the private villa was booked from other people. The room was beautiful and comfy but the only bad it was the noise. you can hear everything from the other rooms!!!! too much noise. It was like everyone was in our room! That was the only negative point. it was just one night so we didnt mind. Thank you!

    Our villa was a place from paradise. I though that we were in paradise. we were In the jungle surrounded with trees and the noise from the river was magical. The villa was perfect the bed perfect bathroom perfect and our swimming pool like a little pool in oasis :-). we enjoyed the breakfast and also some nights we had dinner in the villa..also excellent food. nice coffe! in hot mornings try ice bali coffee! shuttle for the ubud market everyday. love everything!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Relaxing & friendly staff trying their best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool View Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting 2 hours on our first night for our cold entree. Also as the staff are from the local village they require more training on hospitality, preparation of drinks & food.

    We really loved the resort as it was set over many levels in the jungle. We wish that it had been explained or sign posted a little clearer on how to walk around the resort. As for the first day we kept walking up the same way we had been taken to our room only to discover the next day it was a buggy road?

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Relax in Kupu Kupu Barong
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem, which the staff told us on our arrival is the government project of building a small damn in the river to help with the local rice fields. There is constant noise and can get a little disturbing. There is nothing the resort can do about it and they were very apologetic.

    The location is spectacular and is as ut is advertised. The staff are unbelievable and are ready to help anytime of the day. On our last day my wife became very ill and we had to change our flight. The help and assistance given has been amazing and I can not thank them enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really excellent hotel with very friendly staff. We stayed in the river front room which had an absolutely great view. Free shuttle into town when needed is also helpful. Breakfast and food generally very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Fall in love with nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast menu is rather limited, utensils may be cleaner, shuttle busses to Ubud center are finished at 18 pm then you have to use taxi for around 80K each way. Spa is over priced compared to other luxury spa treatment in Ubud.

    Spectacular view, well thought dinner menus with local entertainment (traditional dance and music), such an happy and refreshing place for especially honeymooners and/or romantic couples

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    This hotel is all about the views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River Front Pool Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are some government works going on along the river. Of course nothing that the hotel can do about this but be aware that there was some noise pollution on the balcony of the room. The hotel did provide us with a room change to help. The hotel generally does feel a little tired, but the views and rooms do make up for this.

    Beautiful location on the river and stunning views. Beautiful rooms and amazing bath tub! Really felt like you were in the middle of the jungle. A great experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Good position, in the middle of the forest but require car...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pool View Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool view room is nothing special, worth to go to river room view.

    Good position, in the middle of the forest but require car to reach central Ubud, good shuttle service (one each hour) till 1800 after that need to arrange with local taxi or drivers, can be very expensive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • River View Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1-The staff know every single details for me and my family and if someone from the team ask me any question about my plan today and i answer him i found all the team know about it, it's good but in the same time i was feeling that someone follow me. 2-No variety of breakfast options at this property

    Good location not far from the center of city Amazing view on the river and forest Good privacy for the pool Amazing design for the room friendly staff and very cooperative with me Food is tasty I recommended for the honeymooner and family traveler

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa by L’OCCITANE traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: