Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mayang Sari Beach Resort 4 stars

Jalan Panglima Pantar, 29155 Lagoi, Indonesia

#5 of 13 hotels in Lagoi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 318 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Great place to recharge!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mayang sari on its own doesn't have much facilities, you'd have to take the shuttle bus to the nirwana resort center or other resorts in the compound for more activities. But wasn't such a big issue since e buses come pretty frequently. Breakfast wasn't that great though.

    Room was newly renovated, really spacious, clean, comfortable. Resort was also really quiet and serene (probably also cos it's off-season). Shuttle bus to bring you to other resorts/activity centers in the compound was great too. Staff were very friendly too!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    An amazing place for a getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms have just been renovated to a fabulous standard. Super clean, super comfortable, and just overall a wonderful place to spend holiday time. The hammocks were a particularly lovely new addition!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Will be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the laid back feel of the resort! Only a few chalets hence not a lot of visitors. The staffs were friendly and polite, they gave a free cake for my husband's birthday which was round the corner. The facilities were thoughtful (there's a feet wash area just outside the chalet) and the beach was right in front of the chalets! The beach was super clean and we could swim in the sea. There is a spa place which is quite costly and limited choices for food. You can take their shuttle to go around the Nirvana cluster of resorts and use the facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Must stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from playing in beach, theres nothing much for kids. There is a kids club but its always empty, no kid enrolled other than mine.

    Location, hotel facilities, staff, food everything is excellent. In breakfast, the spice restaurant staff everyday make veg indian breakfast for indian families like us. And there are lots of other breakfast options too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.5
    Amazing trip with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charges for extra bed is extremely high and needs to be reviewed. 60SGD per night is very high.

    The beach is just beautiful and peaceful. The renovaed cottages are good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Birthday Celebration Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing abit disappointed was a request i made. I requested for a specific design birthday cake and asked is it possible for them to arrange it? I even mention i don't mind paying for it if neccessary. I recieved an email stating that the request is being forwarded to respective department but after that there was no followup email even after i have wrote in a 2nd email.

    The rooms, beach and resort compound were clean. The staffs were all courteous and friendly. The staff who checked us in was wuite attentive. He noticed it was my son's birthday and mention they would arrange a complimentary cake for him.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous beach, excellent service and lots of things to do!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location right on the beachfront! Beautiful beach that is cleaned every morning. Large variety of activities available within the resort itself, easy to get around with the resort shuttle. Very helpful and thoughtful staff including Timoty at the front desk, they help you collect your ferry tickets for your departure and arrange all transfers. Breakfast is a huge spread and the prata man does a real mean prata!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful retreat for the family in a serene and beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Singapore prices!

    We stayed in 2 (standard) sea view rooms and were upgraded to the newly renovated ones which were beautiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even making the extra effort to climb up and free my son's boomerang from the roof of one villa when it went astray.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location, but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay for EVERYTHING! Even if you want to play pingpong, you have to pay! They give you free bowling, but you have to pay for the shoes?!!! So weird! For what you pay, you don’t get European standards...for all activities you have to pay :(

    Rooms are big, beautiful beach, enough privacy. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New renovations have spoiled some of the log cabin charm of the villas. Everything new does not necessarily mean improved. Ambiance has been lost.

    Great staff. Great location. Great restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.4
    The whole resort is under renovation and largely disturbed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole resort is under renovation and largely disturbed our stay there. The room we stayed is old and broken, the room has a strong smell of mould. There seems oil pollution of the sea in the area. The air pollution is also bad. None of these were mentioned when we book the resort. Bad experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.3
    Easy gataway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was renovation works happening which meant we were in a room right next to reception and not quite beach, as requested. Due to many rooms being re-done we couldn’t move. Also, there was on oil spill so we all got covered in oil - not the resorts fault but it meant we couldn’t enjoy the water - which was a soil reason for going. Will think again about return. Been 4 times and previously loved

    Easy to get to from Singapore for wknd and good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar at the beach wasn’t open during my stay. No idea if it’s because it wasn’t in the busy season. No 24hours shops.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Accessible beach. Quiet and relaxing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    2.5
    Serious oil pollution, dirty sea and dirty beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Serious oil pollution on the beach and in the sea, we got covered in disgusting black oil, ruined swimmwear, beach wear, footwear, snorkelling equipment, ruined the entire holiday. Warn others not to go there until Bintan cleans up its act

    The stay was dominated by the one very big dislike

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location to chill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the beach bar was very slow - nearly 15 minutes waiting for our drinks. Shame about the tar on the beach (which they do try and keep on TOP of). Need to be selective where you swim

    Great service at the front desk and restaurants. The rooms facing the beach have great views and you didn’t feel crowded. Grounds are well kept. And un prompted that popped round with a cake for my wife’s birthday on the last day!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Great, but environmental problems have to be addressed and solved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The problem is that in some periods, when the Monsoon wind blows, the air, the sea and the beach are polluted with tar-black oil. This was a shock to me, although this has nothing to do with the hotel (staff tirelessly clean the beach) but to the environmental problems that Indonesia has. Marine litter, mainly plastic, is also a problem.

    I liked the peaceful atmosphere of the Mayang Sari Beach Resort. It is definitely the best of all the Nirwana resorts because it is set on a fantastic bay. The breakfast is simply great and the staff very kind. The Spice restaurant is very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    lovely peaceful stay marred only by tar/oil spill in the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very sad that their was a lot of oil and tar washed up on the beach, one day we could not swim in the sea at all as the was a large oil slick came in and the hotel does not have its own pool. This is not their fault and they did have a small army of people trying to clean up the beach which would have otherwise been beautiful.

    It was so peaceful, a great place to unwind and regroup. There is nothing to do here but read and sit in the shade by the beach with an amazing breeze blowing in off the sea the whole day. Just what I needed. Don't expect the ritz, this place is simple, but it is clean, well maintained and perfect for a short get away from the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    marvelous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I liked everything, but I understand well that they are repairing the chalets right now to renue the chalets. The view and the peace is still the main luxory of the place.

    We spent four nights at Mayang Sari Beach Resort and loved the excellent view and the tranquility of the chalet. The beach was beautiful. My 12-years-old doughter called it a paradise. It offered peace and quiet and still if you needed something, you allways got the service smoothly. The pools were easy to access by foot (about 500 metres) and still there would have been frequent shuttle-bus-connection too to use freely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the food and drinks are ridiculous for the quality (Hawker markets in singapore was of a higher standard).

    The resort was lovely. The bungalow was clean and cool - with a great view of the ocean. Staff mostly friendly. Great shuttle between the different parts of nirwana gardens.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    The Mayang Sari resort was beautiful, we took the sea view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Mayang Sari resort was beautiful, we took the sea view chalet and didnt regret it. You wake up with a marvellous view, the beach and little island near by are beautiful, the breakfast is to DIE FOR (I took 1 kg) and it's really well placed. Just for pool you have to go to the Nirwana resort or some restaurant/bar (I recommend the Calypso, so beautiful) you have to walk around the resort but it's easy and quick ! I will go back there for a weekend for sure !!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.1
    Great location! Basic, clean and comfortable accommodation right on the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of drinks, food and activities within the resort. Prices for drinks and food within the resort are Singapore prices which just don't add up when you can buy beers in Lagoi Bay shops for SGD2. We would have liked to do more activities, but at the cost of these, it was just not feasible. If travelling with a family, this would be very expensive weekend with activities, food and drinks. Tar on the beach. There are signs warning guests of this, but it may be worth providing this information and a small bottle of vegetable oil in each villa for guests use during their stay here. It's sadly unavoidable, but the staff were happy to assist with providing this and it didn't impact our time here greatly.

    The onsite restaurant-Spice, was fantastic! Prices are not 'cheap', however we happily shared noodle dishes and curries and found this to be more than enough food for two adults with a starter, working out to be great value! Much more so than the other restaurants onsite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    amazing view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    • some construction works were ongoing at the spa behind the room and the entire area was noisy during the day until late • the beach and the sand it is very nice, but the tides bring a lot of garbage which is constantly clean by the crew however is not enough; likewise, there is some black oil brought by the tides on the beach. One way to improve the quality of the beach is to have some fences installed to block the garbage and the jellyfishes and to allow visitors to swim. • the manner to clean the rooms should be improved

    • the porch and its view are great • the room is large and cozy ( the bathroom is a bit outdated but livable) • the staff is friendly and helpful • spice restaurant is very good; likewise the breakfast is very good • the pool of the compound is nice and we especially liked the swings on the beach in front of the beach club area • they have a large entertainment complex in the middle of compound

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    6.7
    Not coming again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our room aircon wasnt cooling enough. The bed sunken on one side. The wifi is really bad. No beach swimming area. Activities prices are overpriced. Only two restaurant and one minimart. Restaurant is really ex n food is bad. Minimart limited snacks n drinks. No toothbrush.

    Breakfast is great. Staff is helpful and nice. The view is awesome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.8
    Nice but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The materials used for the room decoration are really poor and already spoiled. Same for the w-c flushing system which left for hours with our own “floating” smells. Our room was next to the cleaning station and we had all day cleaning trolleys parked right in front of our stairs. Not nice. 200 usd/night call for a bit more than this.

    Nice getaway for a week-end. Beach quite clean n 30 sec walking distance from the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Proximity to the beach and the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally overpriced spa, the massage far from exceptional. Compared to the price of massage, as well as quality in Bali, this must be improved

    Proximity to the beach and the sea. Simple but sufficient room and equipment.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    6.7
    Old and overpriced but nice beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property and infrastructure is really old! Grossly overpriced everything, from the room ( which had a rusty mirror that is how old it was) and uncomfortable bed, to the restaurant which served simple Indonesian fare much more than it would have costed even in Singapore. The aircon in their gym barely works at all and I nearly fainted there!

    Very friendly staff and a good sandy beach which was mostly empty( I stayed there at the weekdays). Nice scenery and very serene and quiet. My bungalow faced the beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent exotic experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    es basically had the beach for ourselves and it was one of the prettiest beaches! The staff was always smiling and very helpful and the hotel gave us excellent service from the start! They picked us up form the ferry and even checked in for us so we only had to be back at the ferry terminal 30 minutes before!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Quaint, right on the nicest beach in Lagoi by far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service had to come Friday tu he main resort next door when there was a full restaurant right at the lobby. Curious. Food was so-so, but overpriced. About USD50 for two plates of fried rice and soft drinks.

    Rustic atmosphere, quiet and right on the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    The impression at the property was very commercial!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The impression at the property was very commercial!! The staff refused to give water bottles at 9AM as they said we were checking out on the same day.... never heard that one before.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    Really friendly staf an very helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices of food are quite high. but that has been mentioned in the recent reviews

    Really friendly staf an very helpfull. Well arganged shuttle service from boat terminal to the resort. The Cabin was nice and clean and very big. They cleaned it every day. A lot off facilities. Zwimmingpool was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Best place to chill and amazing beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For lunch or dinner, we usually went to the resort nearby that had more food options than the one in the resort.

    It was our second time in this resort. I really like the cottage in front of the sea. So quiet , with plenty of space and a very nice view! Love the breakfast, too! so many choices and with good coffee! And the beach is so clean and cozy!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Good weekend trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices for drinks and dinner were on a Singapore level and not as expected only slighlty above the Indonesian prices. There are limited options to get out of the Nirwana Gardens area.

    Breakfast and service were great! We could also use the facilities of the other Resorts in Nirwana Gardens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.8
    It's nice a scene to have a beach Chalet. That's about it. It's a dead boring resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All resort facilities are tired, useless, closed or simply a joke. We received a few hrs late check out but as they had a number of vacant chalets we really could have been given a checkout when our bus came. Not good service.

    The Beach Chalet was a great location from the Beach. This resort is overpriced, restaurant food and alcohol prices are more expensive than Australia!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Lovely hotel but expensive and poor internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet wasn't working in the bungaloes and staff were unable to fix the problem and then unhelpful to offer any compensation

    Lovely beach, location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Calm and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive foods.

    Great place to relax. The sea view chalet is perefect. The staffs are very friendly, always smiling and very accommodating. That's a big plus!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Superb location and beach, efficient resort and friendly staff but activities are pricey!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Prices high throughout this resort for activities and food. Food is good at Spice but drinks and ice-cream were way too high, even by Singapore standards.

    Visited end August. Beach was VERY clean and perfect. It's not a fancy resort, but everything is efficient and clean, well organised, friendly staff. Spice restaurant is great. Location for this one can't be topped.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Good for a short holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were nice in general but the hotel seems to have not so nice policy on giving out bottles of water. They were hesitant before and on the day of departure I was told that because it's the day I checkout, they don't give water. I'm not sure how this works but people's drinking water needs are irrespective of day of check in or check out.

    Nice beach. Good room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Amazing and comfortable stay in very friendly well maintained resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I can think of, only maybe they need a bit more western food on their menu. They don't have a pool but with a beach like that then I didn't feel they needed one.

    Staff very friendly, quiet resort , great getaway, food at the the restaurant was very high quality, only small selection of western meals nut you can always go to the other resort if you would like a chance, 5 minute shuttle ride or 10-15min walk. Breakfast buffet was one of the best I have had, many choices to be made. Chalet was very roomy and beds very comfortable. Very clean and safe beach. The resort is very well maintained.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    Extremely relaxing with heavenly experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were too soft. Need to change to better ones so guests can have a good nights rest. Also saw a long garden snake just outside the room which kept me wondering what if it had entered the room since we kept it open.

    The beach was fabulous. Sea view rooms were close to beach. Had so mamy hammocks, seating facilities near the beach. Excellent. Food was so very good with such good quality and great variety. Kudos to Chef Gunalan. Felt very safe there.Will go there many more times and planning to bring my church group there soon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    Was nice and pleasnt!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool since they have lots of time jellyfish alert so you need to go in a pool to a different hotel near by or you cant swimm!!!not really nice if you have small kid like us!

    Nice beach.nice little houses at the beach.small and not over crowded!food was good and stuff friendly!whatever we need it they helped us!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    - excellent beach & very clean water;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    - prices are not cheap (similar to Singapore), but worth it; - some of the bathroom appliances were rusty;

    - excellent beach & very clean water; - quiet, not crowded; - excellent breakfast buffet; - excellent restaurant; - lots of things to do; - great staff;

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice and clean beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food: very expensive though it tastes good. To go to other parts of the hotel, we had to wait for the bus which goes from one location to the others every 30 minutes. Some staff were willing to drive us with buggy but sometimes they just told us to wait for the bus.

    Beach is in front of the room. It is clean and private and it has some nice corner with big boulders and trees, good for photo taking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Fabulous getaway close to Singapore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the coffee.

    Clean, comfortable, large room right on the beach, great breakfast ( but the coffee needs work), excellent, friendly staff, fabulous location and the capacity to move between resorts and use different facilities was a real plus (especially being able to book it all to our room). I would definitely recommend Mayang Sari and Nirwana Gardens.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    The staff was extremely friendly and helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior could do with a fresh coat of paint. Common shower / toilett areas are clean but a bit old and run down.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfect Place to chill and listen to the Sea, pricey but worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It only has one restaurant and we don't really enjoy spicy food and Western food options were not many. We liked better the restaurants in Nirwarna Gardens. However, the breakfast is amazing, so i'd recommend you eat a lot for breakfast !

    We loved the chalet , the location and the beach in front of us. Loved the breakfast and staff were super nice and helpful. Great to have shuttle buses that took us everywhere in the island for free. This hotel is perfect if you want a quieter place and if you don't have kids.it doesn't have a swimming pool but with the beach, you don't really need it and you can also use the facilities of the resort nearby (nirvana gardens)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Great trip to Mayan Sari
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few more sun umbrellas on the beach would have been useful

    The staff were so kind and attentive. I arrived with a broken foot , on crutches and they could not have been more helpful The beach is beautiful , clean and not crowded. Lovely swimming Chalets are spacious, comfortable bed, clean and with effective air conditioning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    We first came here 3 years ago and we'll come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little more care for the rooms - maintenance of minor flaws,e.g. external door hardware and slide tracks.

    A quiet ,relaxed and comfortable environment. The Kilong seafood restaurant is a one-off with magnificent seafood and location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    Started off on a wrong note though the location and facilities made up for it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived and were informed that a king bed wasn't available ONLY upon signing the credit card payment. Was offered the option of an 'upgrade' to the deluxe room at the resort hotel. They clearly do not understand the value proposition of mayang sari and why guests book it instead of the resort hotel. Please to make it clear if you do not have double beds available on booking. Breakfast buffet had minimal vegetarian options for hot dishes. The assumption taken is that vegetarians consume eggs. Definitely an area of improvement. (with that said, the chef did offer to whip up some hot dishes without eggs). Also hoped they could offer latte/cappuccino complimentary rather than just plain black coffee.

    Close proximity to the beach, even the furthest hut wasn't more then 20 steps away. Recommended if you're looking for a total beach getaway. The beach was not crowded, beautiful soft white sand. Spacious huts. Spice restaurant served good Indian food though on the pricier side.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.3
    Could have been Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My child got bitten by a Jelly Fish in the sea quite near the beach. The staff was ill prepared to handle the situation. Even though Jelly Fish bites are regular as per staff, there are no clear warnings or trained personal for first aid. The staff is very casual about it, whereas it is a scary experience for people who are from mainlands. We missed all activities because of the incident, and the hotel was insensitive. They referred us to in-house clinic which was very ill-equipped and charged heftily for very basic level treatment. Swimming pool is a 10 minute walk away. you can board a free shuttle which has frequency of half an hour. Kids (Below 12) are charged separately for breakfast even if using same bed.

    Quiet ambiance with beautiful view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Relaxingly quiet and unpretentious...we'll come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ferry terminal at Tanah Merah couldnt cope with 3 full ferries arriving at once. They need to get more organised for long weekend crowds.

    We loved that it was a quiet and unpretentious resort with a beautiful beach in front of your room, water that was clean and delightful for a swim, SUP or kayak. The seafood restaurant is only a short walk from the hotel and also great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Staff were amazing and amenities were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No alcohol is sold in mini markets and is expensive at the bars. Also, entertainment like billiard tables close really early

    Staff were amazing and amenities were excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shuttle buses did not come on time and they are not frequent. Fewer choices of foods and expensive.

    Beach; Quiet and very comfortable; Free Bowling; Resort center looks old but has many facilities/activities with affordable fees.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    4.6
    I would not stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Beach towels are scarce. The whole place looks like it is not set up for families with kids, and especially those who like to spend time at the beach starting in the morning, because the beach side beds don't get set up until 10 am or later, and towels are in very short supply. - No pool on site. Waiting for and taking a shuttle bus to the pool and back is not practical each time - Staff can be rude to kids. Egregious behaviour, a deal breaker for me.

    + Tall ceilings + Spice restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    Very close to perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was really in need of renovation. Bathroom clearly had been done recently and was very good but the rest getting a bit tatty. It's simplicity was in keeping with the beach resort but some paint and varnish peeling.

    View amazing. Most beautiful beach almost to ourselves. Staff fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and peaceful with a nice beach considering it's Bintan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The a la carte food is both outrageously expensive AND poor quality. If I have to pay SGD$22 for nasi goreng (which would normally cost $2-$5), I would expect it to be phenomenal. The food was sub-par and the "fresh" seafood very stale and smelly. Coconut water was about SGD8 when they literally grow wild locally! And there are no alternatives because the only places accessible to eat at are owned by the same hotel group and thus equally poor value for money and low in quality.

    Quiet place, comfortable room, clean and relatively empty beach with calm shallow water for swimming. The staff were friendly and helpful -- nobody bothered us much but they were around when needed. There's a big breakfast spread.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.5
    Experience spirituality, experience nirvana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost of dining for the quality and quantity of food served is high. Suggest have a curtain in the change room doorway Bathrobes could be provided in the rooms. Lighting is a insufficient. Could increase the power of the bedside lamps. Provide a once or twice daily bus service at reasonable cost to the main city for shopping and sight seeing.

    The bed was very comfortable and room size good. Liked the attached change room. Roomservice was very prompt. Cheerful and courteous staff. The sands are whiter than in Bali.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    Beach getaway worth every penny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better warning signs could be placed regarding the potential presence of Jelly fish (not a major concern, but one to be aware of and certainly not something to deter your stay!)

    Perhaps we struck a particularly good time, but what an incredible beach experience - empty stretches of beach almost entirely to ourselves, pearly and clear blue calm water and great activities everywhere. Our rooms were comfortable (great beds) and the service was friendly. What more can you ask for in a weekend getaway!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Mayang Sari Beach Break..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little shabby but this was clearly stated. They ran out of the house white wine!

    Super friendly staff. Spacious accommodation in an idyllic location. A great find...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Beach access was really amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish the toilets were a little bit more up to date or that the dining area didn't have so many birds flying around!

    Beach access was really amazing!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.5
    Past its best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The Free Internet speed was controlled at a very slow speed to encourage guests to purchase a higher speed, which was expensive. The resort is in need of a re fit as a little dated to say the least.

    Staff were friendly and resort was peaceful and very relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice May day break at Mayang sari
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was OK. Meals option limited and bit overpriced on resort itself but other restaurants are accessible via internal shuttle.

    Overall nice beachfront chalets and very nice and clean beach. The sea is inviting and very convenient for a swim anytime you feel like it.:)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    Repeat guest, I love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some of the amenities are a little bit tired - the kettle didn't work, mini bar not stocked and the ice buckets are cheap plastic and old, not really in line with the price range of the place. But minor niggles!

    Second time I've been. The staff are lovely, the rooms are great and comfortable, and the balconies are lovely to hang out chatting on. The beach is gorgeous, very clean and the softest sand - it's like it's been whipped! Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    4.2
    hotel is not cheap, the food in hotel is just so so but have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel is not cheap, the food in hotel is just so so but have the same price as Singapore, the room is old and not clean, the beach looks nice, but I my one year old got some oil spot on her knees and hands when she was crawling on the beach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    Great hotel right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can take time to get the bus around the resort. We hired a buggy to avoid this and it was well worth the money. Take your driving license.

    The room was right on the beach with the most amazing view. So much to do on the resort. Restaurants were all excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    Such a beautiful place/resort so near to Singapore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing much to complain. A small kids area with some slides and swings would be an advantage for families with kids and as well as an addition of a swimming pool may increase the luxury.

    The beach for sure. Beautiful well maintained long private and bright beach. Sand is white, water is clear and calm waves. Very shallow and even on the low tide, the beach is very much enjoyable for both adults and kids. Kids wouldn't leave the beach. Could also walk down to the remote corner on the right side of the beach where it felt exclusive and interesting. Not a crowded place at all.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.6
    I Love Mayang Sari!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of garbage washing up on the beach. The staff did a great job cleaning up, but it seems like a never ending process.

    Large, Secluded Beach. Amazing staff!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.5
    The beach in front is fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tar on the beach, not the hotel's problem but it ruins the Beauty of the beach.

    The beach in front is fantastic! The staff is very polite and helpful!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    9.2
    Nice but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Be prepared to pay alot for the food, it's even more expensive than Singapore. - Toilet facilities need improvement - It's quite over price overall. - Well, its not very pretty sea, somehow batam has more beautiful sea

    +It has a nice beach +Very close to the sea, can hear the sea wave which is very relaxing + Good service + Nice breakfast + I think Nirwana has better facilities but guess Mayang sari is more expensive due to its close proximity to the sea and the beach which not available in Nirwana

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    4.2
    extremely poor, and shocking value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is one of about 4 in a big resort complex. there was very little facilities at this hotel - 1 Indian restaurant and a spa. No pool, gym or any other facility. everything was scattered around this big resort which was about 10min walk. hotel was rundown and needed some serious maintenance and care. Food was average but nothing great. gym was shoddy and worn out. didn't like the fact the depending on which spa you went to you paid double versus the others, for location apparently?? Rooms were nice a big but needed some revamping. we had heavy winds so beach was covered in litter washed up - cleaning crew spent their lives cleaning rubbish. worst part is the beach has oil and tar so a nice walk on the beach results in black tar stuck to your feet. Really wont recommend it to anyone. value for money is shocking

    to be honest not much to like. pool area was nice and spa was good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Recommended for a peacefull weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this place is perfect. Its a serene private beach and maintained well. Its a part of Nirwana gardens so everything is a shuttle away. The food is good and staff are courteous. I had a wonderful time and would definitely go back again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    8.3
    Rooms were very nice (not fancy) with a comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very nice (not fancy) with a comfortable bed. Beach was kept clean. Place is very spaced out so you have a feeling there are not many people there. Good Indian food at the restaurant (Singapore prices- but this seems to be the case throughout the island).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    8.8
    Lovely resort to stay at, but not cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be aware that the prices at Nirwana resort for food and drink are all close to Singapore level. The cocktails also seemed a bit weak. Otherwise nothing to complain about. I recommend to other travelers to bring some beers with them, they are S$8 at the resort.

    Our stay at Mayang Sari was very pleasant and a perfect weekend break from Singapore. The transfers from the ferry terminal were smooth, the staff were super friendly. The Nirwana resort has a bunch of fun activities. The bungalow was very comfortable and you could hear the crashing waves from the bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    A nice break from urban routine in Singapore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A restriction to one internet device per guest seemed a little unnecessary. The free bandwidth was okay even for YouTube. The food was okay but not outstanding - a good effort for an island resort. I recommend not to skimp on the ferry from Singapore. I would splash out on Emerald Class next time. It looks like the new Japanese noodle house will be no more successful than its predecessors. The venue is nice, but my impression was that the staff probably lack any experience of Japanese dining. The service was eager, almost too eager to sell us a jug instead of two glasses of juice, but the noodle soup was the same, whether it was vegetable ramen or char shu pork udon. It must be difficult to achieve any level of authenticity for a Japanese eatery here.

    The beach is nice, even on a windy, rainy day. The organisation of the travel arrangements was very good. The sea view cabin was well-kept and spacious with a nice high ceiling. All the staff were most helpful, friendly and enthusiastic. We tried the spa treatments twice, and were not disappointed. Getting around the resort was so easy, with the frequent bus service never far away. The Kelong seafood restaurant offered the best food we tried within the resort - although even the small dishes all seem to be for 3 or more people, so a bit much for a couple.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    10
    Perfect short break from Singapore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mayang Sari had everything we were looking for. Beautiful beach location, excellent meals and friendly staff at Spice Restaurant, comfortable and spacious chalet and proximity to excellent swimming pools. All staff helpful and smiling.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    6.7
    The beach and facilities are beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are huge but need to be more clean and the facilities are a bit old--they need to be renovated a bit.

    The beach and facilities are beautiful. The breakfast was delicious. The staff was excellent, very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: