Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Resort Sanur 4 stars

Jalan Mertasari, 80228 Sanur, Indonesia

#40 of 74 hotels in Sanur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 682 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for a quiet chilled get away with plenty of options for relaxing in the sun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can not really fault this resort at all. Rooms are basic balinese style but sufficient. Would definitely come back.

    Lovely place to stay. Didn't feel like we were in Bali. Own beach area with free sun beds and no hagglers. Definitely a change of pace to Legian/Seminyak. Not sure if it was time of year but it was very quiet (Early Sept). Walk along the beach paved path to so many lovely restaurants. They had a market one day at the back of the resort along the beach. Very much like a flea market at home with food, clothes, crafts and the like. Breakfast was great every morning with many choices. 2 pools to choose from, one with loads of beds and sun. Loved the beach it was extremely calm and warm. Would be perfect for floating around on a lilo. I think it would be more suited to young families or people in their 40s up. Could be a little boring for some? I personally would rate this Resort as a 9

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic pools and lovely beachside location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms looking old and tired and need updating

    Fantastic pools and lovely beachside location. Oasis yoga barn on site. Nice gardens and all low rise buildings

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    Loved the area and the grounds of the Mecure in Sanur, quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been there five times now, but the rooms really need to be updated especially doors and lighting in bathrooms and a really good clean around doors and bathroom vanities. Got fed up with all the dogs in and around the beach.

    Loved the area and the grounds of the Mecure in Sanur, quiet and peaceful. Staff from Gardeners to Porters very friendly. That's why we keep coming back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Really lovely resort :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative thing was we booked 3 rooms and the rooms were not close together !!! I don't understand why as we booked at least 6 months in advance and requested that the rooms be together.

    Loved every thing about this place. The location, the beach, the vibe the rooms the staff and the buffet breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    2.5
    We didn't go on our trip to Bali due to feeling anxious...
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't go on our trip to Bali due to feeling anxious after 3 earthquakes so we are very disappointed to have to fill in a review when we haven't even been threw

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Beds comfy and rooms good size, on the beach, live music...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds comfy and rooms good size, on the beach, live music most nights, walking distance to warung and souvinier shops on the beach. 2 swimming pools and the gardens are lush and green.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.2
    The hotel itself a locates in a very nice location, if you...
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself a locates in a very nice location, if you are looking for a beach front hotel the it suit you well. But my friends and I didn’t like it much-cleanliness, services... are quite poor compare to the room rate-not worth it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Great spot if your looking for laid back area, nice pools...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach when the tide is right has a lot of rubbish but this is everywhere around Bali.

    Great spot if your looking for laid back area, nice pools and an amazing yoga place right on the grounds. Also weekend market right on the property which has some great stuff. Buffet was very good value and a nice mix of food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    Good place to take grandchildren
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are too firm. Check in and check out was frustrating as it was far too over protracted and slow. In comparison to checking in and out of a Mercure hotel in New Zealand it was shambolic at best

    The breakfast buffet selection was great. Kids club at the shadewa pool was wonderful my grandchildren really enjoyed it there

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Great holiday. Great location. Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not say that I didn’t like anything at all. Maybe the beach towels could be upgraded but overall the stay was great.

    Great location right on nice beach. Relatively quiet and very relaxing. Lose proximity to everything I needed & I felt very safe being on my own. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Cheep and ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is very run down. Many of the buildings had plastic tarps covering their roof. The breakfast was adequate but the other meals in the main restaurant were very ordinary.

    This resort is well priced and clean and comfortable. The staff were all very nice and friendly. The location next to the beach is also nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    3.8
    Not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very unfriendly and very unflexible. They cannot cope with problem solving and when they try, they throw away any service and guest comfort in the process. The reception staff approach you with an arrogant and condescending tone, reluctant to meet your needs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    This is a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and bars served awful food and drinks. The prices were also higher than many similar restaurants. Also the bed was extremely uncomfortable. There was a wooden bar down the middle as if they pushed two beds together.

    This is a great location. It’s right on the beach with beautiful grounds. There are plenty of shops and restaurants to walk to. The Genius Cafe at the edge of the property was delicious! The service was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Over all it was pleasant b
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is very polluted. The water actually stinks I dare not swim in it.

    I like that the bed is big, and that there's plenty to do to entertain the kids

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor air conditioning in our room. Had to have fan on low at night as sounded like it was going to take off any higher. Think prices are a little high for this rather outdated hotel.

    Good sized king deluxe room and bathroom. Good departure lounge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    We will be back, keep up the good work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is an older Bali hotel, with the Balinese style roofs, huts, amazing gardens and has the biggest beach front near the south end of Sanur. The staff are very helpful friendly and accommodating. There were several bonuses, live music regularly on the beach, the yoga and meditation sanctuary and several local excellent massage places and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The breakfast was varied, fresh and abundant, lasted four hours , no need to eat again till evening time. Over all a great experience. Jean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Well located, roomy, lots of bar, food and resting space choices
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is a little tired in places. We were given a room a long way from our friends and had to wait quite a while for it to be ready.

    Spacious, safe, easy. Our one-night stay on the first day in Bali met all our needs. Sunrise was magic and a morning run along the waterfront walkway was a wonderful way to get a feel for the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Superb location, superb value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little dated in parts, but this adds to the charm of the hotel. It isn't stuffy or pretentious. Great hotel!

    Superb location, superb value. Great staff! Nothing is too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    staff are really friendly and they upgraded our room that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hope the management can spend some money to keep the fallibilities in a better condition.

    staff are really friendly and they upgraded our room that can close to my families's room. close to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    like the staffs there but facilities are outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The facilities are really outdated, we understand that its hard to keep perfect on the beach side but they could do better maintenance on the facility, even the towels are really old and look dirty. swimming pool really small compare to the room numbers they have.

    We really like the staffs working there, they are very helpful and super friendly. good beach side.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.3
    They kept a welcome cake, fruits and card for us, as we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no Bali touch. It was more like a resort cum business hotel.

    They kept a welcome cake, fruits and card for us, as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. It was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    A wonderful hotel at a supurb location in Sanur.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing that I didn't like. The hotel met all my needs.

    I was so impressed with the size of bedroom and bathroom. So much hanging space in the bathroom and great shower. Lovely relaxing hotel right on the beach. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Good stopover
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at the hotel on the day of my wife's birthday We were upgraded on arrival to a Deluxe Bed Room. The staff were extremely pleasant. Dinner at the restaurant was fun. The Balinese fire dancers were good. The location was great for us as we were catching the ferry to Nusa Lembogan 1200 the next day. Would stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    2.9
    Never again,,,,,it sucks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mold in bathroom, didn't issue wash clothes, had to special request to get them, booked for three nights and left after one night and had pay for two nights....didn't care we were out of there...This place sucked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Ideal location, value for money, warm and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brilliant location- rooms are comfortable and generous in size. Staff are delightful and helpful- they can't do enough to please. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    We will return 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms quite small but served the purpose. Inconvenient that the hotel kept running out of rupia and the exchange rate they offered was considerably lower than others. Reception ladies a bit curt and unwelcoming but grounds, housekeeping, bar staff etc were excellent and very friendly.

    Excellent value in the promenade cafes and restaurants out back of hotel along beach. Recommend Bobbys!! Lovely to watch all the water sport activities. Great value in spas across road from hotel...$8aud massage for 1hr. Nice pool area and outside bar located within the hotel at the back. Grounds very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    DISSAPOINTED
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a mess, they said dinner buffet and they charge for meet and fish or chicken , Bathroom so old and sink are duty, shower has leaks , there is no service at the beach, beach umbrellas are broken , we request some small table for putting our drinks at the beach and they don’t have because they had only few, internet is a big problem everywhere, signal is the worst ever seen, there are cats at the restaurants everywhere so if you are allergic watch out, I try an oatmeal in the breakfast buffet and it was disgusting , so old and bad tasting. I’m an accor platinum customer and this is the worst hotel ever been ., I WONT recommend it to nobody. sorry but all this is true... Hotel Mercure at Sanur is not good at all. I talk with 2 managers and they only said ,,,, sorry, sorry for the inconveniences .... wow ,, thanks for your help ... incredible..unbelievable

    Location is ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.3
    The hotel was very old and dated and tired looking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very old and dated and tired looking. Pool was ordinary, kids club very feeble, location excellent, shouldn't have to pay to use bikes, food mediocre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Peacefull place but outdated Interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    outdated furniture, some staff who were not energetic anymore.

    My husband and I came last week to Mercure Resort Sanur. We arrived around 12 PM and there were no porter or bellman who helps us with our luggage. Until reception desk, we received a warm welcome from Ms. Wiwin. our check-in process was smooth and she explained clearly about all the facilities and gave us a little map around the hotel. As we can see the porter was busy, we decided to go to our room by our self, and the luggage came after 5 minutes we were in the room. The room is clean but a bit old. I think for young guest like us, the hotel is not that suitable. There is some scratch around the room and through all the furniture. The hotel connected to the beach, where we spent a whole day there. The hotel felt so peaceful and comfortable. My husband and I tried the massage by the beach, and it was great. Unfortunately, they cannot do it more than 30 minutes, unless you want to do it in their spa room. They have a bike to rent (in the other hotel, bicycle supposed to be complimentary). And sadly, Go-car cannot come to the hotel and we forced to use a hotel taxi. Where we felt that was a rip off in term of the price. When we checked out, we had Ms.Rina at the reception. she was a really friendly person.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Had yet another lovely and relaxing stay at Mercure Sanur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Is an older hotel - rooms and pool could do with a general revamp but in saying that we have returned multiple time

    Fantastic location. Staff are amazing! Many of the same staff each visit and ways made to feel very welcomed back each visit. We pre-requested room near pool and this was organised with no problems and in fact were given an upstairs balcony room. Lovely tropical fruit in room on arrival! It was very relaxing to sit on the balcony overlooking the lovely gardens either in the morning or the evening. Great way to start or end the day in Bali! Pool side meals and snacks very tasty! 2 Pools to choose from. Also enjoyed the afternoon live music on the beach put on some afternoons.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice place to stay in Sanur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff was sometimes really slow, we arranged a pick up from airport, and we waited for almost an hour cause the driver was late. The pools are a bit dirty and old, they need to be renovated. The beach was nice but lack umbrellas for the sunbeds. They need a little bit a renovation for the resort to be almost perfect.

    Beach was nice and clean. The room was spacious and clean, but needs a renovation. Gardens in the resort are really well maintained. Breakfast was nice but needs to be more various. Location was really good, there are a lot of shops and restaurants nearby. Overall a nice stay, there is a really nice atmosphere going on in the resort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.2
    Only stayed here because a course was held here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    I had the worst massage ever in the Hotel beauty place, scratched and she kept walking out and just rubbed me very fast rather than mindfully.

    The Healthy cafe on the beach and the massage ladies on the beach. Neither are part of the Hotel which is dated and needs to be refurbished.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Ok for a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was shabby. We have stayed before and our previous room was much nicer. The restaurant is terrible.

    The beach at Sanur the nearby cafe and the pools at the resort are fantastic. The staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although i was provided with soy milk at breakfast i had to ask for it each day as so many people are lactose intolerant an alternative to regular milk should be on display

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good value, right on the beach- nice restaurant Genius...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not expect 5stars hotel at that cost! Room and furniture a bit old

    Very good value, right on the beach- nice restaurant Genius just nearby on the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing in lovely surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms could do with an upgrade which I believe is in progress

    We liked everything and would return again The older style resort is perfect, gardens beautiful, staff welcoming, rooms clean, spa professional, location peaceful and food excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    Great day spa aroma next to the property and a great cafe on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resort looks a bit tired. Was meant to receive free breakfast with my booking through booking.com which was denied at the reception and was charged later on my credit card for it 😡

    Great day spa aroma next to the property and a great cafe on the beach front of the property

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    The Mercure has a nice location on the beach but there are nicer options
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    after spending two weeks in Bali and getting used to exceptional and genuine service we felt that the Mercure was lacking. The rooms got cleaned late afternoon and we didn’t get a refresh on the coffee. The towels were thin. The room was dark.

    We liked the shuttle that took us into town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing, friendly atmosphere, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were fabulous. Vey helpfull with questions. Wen I got cold, as I was sleeping close to the aircon, but the other guests(kids) in the room were not, they were fast to provide extra bedding. Room was spacious and clean, with plenty of storage. My 14 year old and her friend, age 15 loved the breakfast (as did mum) and the loaction of the Genius cafe close by, (great healthy food) as well as the shade on the beach. Will return for sure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    We shall return........
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    N/A

    All the facilities were exceptional, The staff were fantastic. Villa type rooms 4 in a villa 2-3 level villas. Not hotel block rooms. Small and intimate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    The size of the rooms were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The single beds for our children did not have any blankets or doonas. When we requested some blankets from House keeping, we were told that they were not able to provide them and my children had a very uncomfortable sleep with a sheet only.

    The size of the rooms were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The property shows the age, especially in the rooms. Bedside tables are dated and the top opens revealing tons of webs inside. The wood is also falling apart being somehow dangerous if kids are around. Some of the floor tiles are cracked and the bathroom is a bit rusty. Shower sometimes doesn't keep the same temperature and you get a hit of cold or hot water unexpectedly. During breakfast was always a problem making a coffee as the coffee machines always had problems. Looked like were not commercial machines and needed to wait and reset after each customer and crashing completely sometimes and not delivering the coffee.

    Relaxing village style property. Lots of lush green, plants and flowers. Very pleasant atmosphere. 2 great swimming pools. Easy access to the beach. Amazing genius cafe on the beach. Great location of the restaurant for breakfast on the swimming pool with morning ocean breeze. Excellent tour desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Facilities, proximity to the beach, walking distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 day of the stay there was no water for many hours but eventually the problem got solved in the later afternoon

    Facilities, proximity to the beach, walking distance from shops and restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    hospitality, their great respond to our problem when they...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    old and need to be taking care of furniture, no eco washer or spraying washer on toilet

    hospitality, their great respond to our problem when they can just say no to help because it is obviously our mistake

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    Ambience is delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are very, very hard and you need to offer an option of a mattress topper, preferably latex for clients who need this. The bathroom needs an extensive scrub and clean everywhere; Mould in the shower, toothpaste on walls, grubby light switches. Bedside lights need to be provided. Wall lights need the dust of 10 years removed. If a TV is linked to an electric switch near the bed, let guests know this.

    The staff are wonderful, so helpful and pleasant all the time. The grounds are kept clean and beautiful. Breakfast is a very enjoyable meal. The pools are kept clean and towels fairly new and pleasant to use. This is why I like to stay at the Mercure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed being back. Very relaxing and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here 18 months ago so decided to stay again. The same type of room this time was not as good as previously so that was disappointing. It was smaller and older than previously and we didn't didn't like the location. Make sure you don't get a room near the lobby.

    Love this hotel. Beautiful setting, quiet but not too far from the main part of Sanur.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful place but did not like the mosquito fogging
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is fogging because of insects. With no prior notice to guests, like a letter at my room door for example, the fogging of the hotel grounds just started by a man with a big gas mask on. I take care of my health and don't like being put in a poisonous fog on my holiday (without notice!). What substance/poison are they fogging with? I would like to know. Can't imagine it's not harmful for humans, too. The sea at the Sanur beach is dark and not so clean looking, not really attractive for swimming.

    The hotel had beautiful, large garden view rooms and the staff is friendly. I also liked the movie night at the beach and a band playing on another night. Also enjoyed the spa treatments very much, very professional!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Great value for money in well maintained resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach wasn’t great

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was good rooms were clean and modern and close to beach. The beach water wasn’t clean due to environmental pollution

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The place is getting 'run down'. It needs a 'freshen up' The staff appear to have been told to greet every guest, every time, and some do not appear to want to do that. Also some guests think this is excessive. As in the rest of Indonesia (we lived in Jakarta 8 years) staff verbal compliance to a request does not mean the request is completed. Senior management need to change the culture, by motivation, to staff accepting responsibility to COMPLETE or FOLLOW UP a request. I have some experience in the above after running a factory with several thousand staff/workers.

    We have been there several times, the staff are friendly, location good, breakfast good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.0
    We really enjoyed the location of the Mercure and the ground were fantastic. Room Yuk!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lazy. I have never thought that about any Balianese workers before. The room could do with a huge clean. The bathroom especially.

    I loved the location. The grounds were kept immaculate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.4
    Not worth the money paid! Old, dirty and not well kept at all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated and run down. It's in bad need of an update and a good scrubbing. The pictures on the booking.com site must have been taken when it first opened and its VERY misleading. The room had bugs coming out of the sink. Just all in all a tolerable experience but definitely do your research and look for recent photos!

    It's very close to the beach which is why we booked there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Personal is quite friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food choice was quite poor, not enough fruits and vegetables, no meet at all for the breakfast. Beach shall be cleaned more carefully.

    Personal is quite friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in took quite a while considering I had paid in advance & it was (for us) very hot

    Staff were friendly & resort was well maintained. Shops were a short walk away. My husband was disappointed in the beach the water wasn’t very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location, breakfast was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool temperature and times if use not very user friendly

    Breakfast was amazing, pool way too hot! Need to improve this. Probably wouldn't go back because if pool temperature. Pools at other resorts nearby much cooler. Restaurants nearby where excellent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud awful music was played every day at the pool and beach which was unpleasant enough that I had to leave after an hour. I came to relax and left stressed and exhausted. What a disappointment for a potentially pleasant experience. I will not return to this resort.

    It is a lovely resort, dated however priced very reasonably.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.9
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More umbrellas on the beach would be great.

    Lovely set up up of the cottages. Quiet. Huge terrace which I loved. Big room. Comfortable bed. Good choice of TV channels. Clean and kept up well. Excellent spa services.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    As always, a relaxing beach-side holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As management knows, the bungalows are getting a bit tired but planned, major renovations have yet to be undertaken.

    We are regular guests primarily because of the location (beachfront, promenade and beach-side restaurants), the lush gardens and the Bali-style bungalows spaced around the large grounds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    Cosy Resort. Quite stay in SANUR
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was average but very nice staff. Some of the furniture and the pool were a little dated.

    Resort setup and beach was very nice. Felt remote and cosy although in the middle of Sanur.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Thank you to everyone at Hotel Mercure Sanur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything is looked after and clean. My third time in Bali, but first at this hotel, definitely not the last.

    The staff at this hotel always goes beyond the standard customer service. No one excluded. Not only the staff we see every day ie. Waiters, housekeeping, receptionist, but everyone else too. Maintenance, gardeners, everyone! Every day we would meet someone who would make us feel special in one way or another. The management should be very proud of it's personnel (and I'm sure they are).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    A lovely stay which was comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast and huge selection. Staff were very friendly and attentive. kids club didn’t have much going on. Live singers were really good. Pools were brilliant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.4
    No recommended if you want space, privacy and good service.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1st room, sink broken, the water was dripping all over the floor. 2nd room not so good also but at least everything was working On the beach and around the pools, no transat available, had to fight with some very rude people. appalling...

    The spa and the beach location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.4
    staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 21 nights

    The resort is tired. Refurbishment has been postponed, and not scheduled, with many buildings having tarps covering the roof. Website photos DO NOT match the actual premises. WiFi is very limited and constantly drops out. Electronic room key constantly failed.

    staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    4.6
    the most unpleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    reservation manager was very bad. she double charged our room and we had to provide them all paperworks so we could get our money back. because of their own mistake, we're the one that had to get through all nightmare! they even didn't say sorry!! terrible!!! we won't go back there again, ever!

    location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    3.8
    Well below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and tired hotel. Needs bringing up to date to justify the price. Wifi in room poor. Ingrained dirt in the bathroom, towels old and looked dirty.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    Great place and nice beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilets and interior could be improved.

    Overall location and property is great. However, the rooms need a little renovation. But I guess, it is a great value for money..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.4
    not happy price to high did not live up to its name
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    hotel need a total refit, problems with air con call them six times to fix it problem still there when we check out, hot water shower only warm, swiming pools both hot not relaxing. breakfast very average 1100 aussie dollars for 8 night was ripp off will be writing to them for some kind of conversation

    staff very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    The right choice for relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved a bidet in toilet. Nothing else to complain about.

    Close to beach & shops. Staff was very helpful & gracious. Rooms were very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Good for family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Recently, with the new public beach restaurant located at the beach area has opened, there were some people who were not guests at the hotel have access to the beach. Unfortunately, some of them littered on the beach. I wish Mercure Sanur had a fitness center.

    The breakfast was delicious, everything I like to have for breakfast at a hotel: egg station, fruits, yogurt/muesli, baked tomatoes, sliced cheese, croissants and some coffee/latte, etc. The view from our room balcony was great, facing the stage near one of the swimming pools. We've stayed at Mercure Sanur few times and each family member always enjoyed it. Children enjoyed the beach, swimming pools and the kids club. Sanur is the area in Bali to see the sunrise. With Mercure being located at the southern end on the map, we could actually enjoyed the sunset too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Had a great restful stay. Lots of relaxation around the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Hotel rooms need updating as do bathrooms and grout could've been cleaner. Restaurant is non smoking but they have smoking tables very close by so not pleasant sometimes eating breakfast at tables near pool. SUGGESTION: Choose inside tables in restaurant if you're a non-smoker!

    Beautiful Gardens! If you decide to stay in instead of trying the many restaurants nearby the food is excellent - especially the crispy skin salmon. DO try the local wines! Pool bars served great pizzas and snacks or full lunches. Staff were AMAZING. FANTASTIC NEW YEARS EVE PARTY! SUGGESTIONS: Book upstairs room so you don't hear noisy neighbours Also Dolphin Lodge 4 minutes walk (to the right of the property past Genius Cafe on the beachside path) - swim with the dolphins - Fantastic! Even though everyone gathers to watch the beautiful sunset - DO make the effort to rise early - check in the lobby for time of sunrise - and experience the sunrise over Sanur. STUNNING!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Good location and enjoyed the facilities inside the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The food taste for breakfast could have been better - The bed was quite old and not as fluffy as I was expected

    It has the private beach with manu facilities inside the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid $600 for two deluxe rooms per night. After waiting for check in we were greeted by filthy dirty rooms. Couldn’t check in till 5pm. Then the rooms were in a dirty state. Had to look under the bed to find a missing remote control for the tv. And found dirty tissues. Rat droppings. Mouldy cracked bathrooms. Dirty tv and filthy chairs. Dirty uncleaned soap dishes and rubbish in balcony gardens. Grey linens and poop stains on the bath towels. The floors were dirty and the room was just gross. ( deluxe rooms!!!) Stayed a few years back and was fantastic. What has happened mecure. $300 a night per room!! for THAT...NOT good enough. I expect a certain amount of under cleaning for Bali. But WOW! Had lunch and drinks at the restaurant ( again no high hopes for a gourmet meal) but it was totally inedible... this hotel is dated. Overpriced and poorly run. The beaches are not clean. Hard to get drinks. Seems they have cut back on staff. Thanks for ruining my mums birthday celebration in sanur. What a shame you have let your hotel get in such bad shape. Reduce your price or improve your standards. Will never return.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    4.2
    Not going to stay at mercure sanur again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs were terrible. Check in process was smooth until we figure out that we are not given the one-bedroom. When we complaint to them, they were insist that two bed can be joined together without issue. Not being satisfied with the service, husband complaint to reception then they changed the room into one-bedroom. What I dont like about, if guess complaint, they should check the reservation first then do something. Don't try to be such a smartass and turn out to be they were wrong.

    Location was nice, very recommended to guest who wants to spend all day at the beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    5.4
    We were given a room with a little ocean view and that was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are in desperate need of refurbishing. The bedroom felt very 'bland', not even a picture on the wall. In the first room we had only terrible led lights and nothing else. The bathroom, well, like I said, needs refurbishing. The beach bar kept playing and replaying a terrible tape of music quite loud.

    We were given a room with a little ocean view and that was nice. The terrace furniture is not very nice, though, we had to carry to chairs from inside to outside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay but I am not sure if I will book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Mercure is getting a bit tired-looking and rundown. It needs an overhaul to modernize it. The first room we were put in had no bedside lamps, terrible shower and noisy AC. Second room was better but electrical fittings at wall are loose and feel dangerous. The rooms are minimally set up.

    The position and layout, gardens and staff are all great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.1
    happy with my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and bathroom are older and needing updating a bit, but what I expected them to be.

    I booked for the location on the beach, close to yoga studio and local massage ladies under the trees, which I love. Garden area and pools really nice. Rooms are getting outdated but were very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: