Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Indonesia hotel reviews
  3. Bali hotel reviews
  4. Sanur hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Mercure Resort Sanur

Reviews of Mercure Resort Sanur This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Jalan Mertasari, 80228 Sanur, Indonesia

#54 of 87 hotels in Sanur

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 771 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2019

    9.2
    Great place to stay, will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The was a problem with the water drainage in the shower. It was very very slow to drain away and would have 300-500mm of water in the bath

    The breakfast was excellent, there was a great selection of fruits, eggs, cereals etc. The staff were most accomodating and very happy to serve. Alway smiling and greeting us with enthusiasm. Checking in and out was fast and simple.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    5.8
    Our stay was pleasant, and allowed us to explore the southern end of Sanur in more detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing to really dislike.

    The best thing with separate bungalows is that you do not get the constant hustle and bustle of people coming and going down corridors, that you get with big hotels.The hotel offers reasonble value for money, but a discount will sweeten the deal.The room size was good, but fixtures and fittings were pretty worn. The shower was good but ours needed to be unblocked.The beds were comfy and room service was good. The pools were nice but pretty warm. We did not eat breakfast so cannot comment. The local eateries are great. The grounds were very pleasant. The verandah was good with a table and 2 good chairs. Having an outdoor hanger was great.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    10
    Great afordable accomodation beach front and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was happy with everything given the price I paid.

    Whilst the resort is a little dated the rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast choice was great, pool areas great but the biggest plus was the staff - so so friendly and polite- this is what made my visit great as I spent most of my time by myself. Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    9.6
    Wonderful holiday and hope to stay in The Mercure again next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Communication of hotel facilities and special evening dining options.

    Beautiful well kept gardens and Balinese style room with private little garden.Hotel has a very homely fell about it and staff lovely.Ideally situated on the beach and serves a delicious buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    7.1
    The ambiance of the lush surroundings and the hutlike...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The awful smell that wafted over every day apparently from some place burning rubbish,

    The ambiance of the lush surroundings and the hutlike accommodation, proximity to beach and restaurants

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    8.3
    Nine resort with front beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got a problem when check in, we were given a room no 124 near the reception. However the room is very dirty and smelly and there are a lot of mosquitoes, room has no inside lock, shower is broken. We called the reception and requested to shift the room at night about 11pm. They assisted to shift the room and carry the luggage. Luckily the new room is quite nice and near the beach. We thought that the room 124 is not for guest, just like 2* hotel room. The hotel would have innovated that room before giving to guest.

    The location is great, a stone throw to the beach. Breakfast is quite a lot of variety and tasty. The beach is quite and calm, not many people hence it is ideal place to relax and enjoy sun bathing and beach. There are some sport activities on the beach like board paddling, reef surfing... There are a lot of nice restaurants near by along the beach.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    7.5
    Passable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The extra bed for my daughter was anything but comfortable. The room could have been cleaner. It is in a desperate need of renovation. The hotel is not at the best part of the beach. We had to wait until 3 pm to be checked-in and we have arrived at 1 pm.

    I liked the spacious gardens and the birds in the trees in the morning. Breakfast was good without being luxurious. We walked a lot along the pedestrian path.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    7.5
    Location and nice and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of repair and maintenance. Not as friendly as other sanur resorts.

    Location and nice and quiet. Room very quiet and excellent black out curtains.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    9.6
    Friendly staff, great breakfast, lovely gardens & clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Leaving!

    Friendly staff, great breakfast, lovely gardens & clean pools. Room service was excellent. The beach was just right for our needs. The rooms where a good comfortable size. Would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    7.9
    Stay was pleasant apart from those listed but I will try another next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms dated and tired bed old life extended with ‘ toppers ‘ rooms very dark, no signage warning you of water safety and only one bottle of water per day issued foood in restaurant ordinary.

    Staff very helpful and tropicical grounds pool

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    8.8
    We’ll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little bit of a sewerage smell outside.

    Quiet end of Sanur. Close to the surf transport to serangan. Clean pool, and uncrowded during January. Very relaxing. Huge bed😁

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    5.0
    Good location, tennis court
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We also stayed at the Grand Palace Sanur, cheaper and much nicer/newer. The Bed and pillows were terrible at Mercure. Huge breakfast menu, almost nothing if you are vego

    Good location, tennis court

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    9.6
    Will return, and highly recommend the Mercure for a relaxing , stress free holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Variety lacked at the breakfast buffet. Was the same everyday for the 10 days we were there. Bacon was always overcooked and tough. Couldn't eat it.

    Staff were awesome, food fresh, beautiful outlook over the pool and beach.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    6.3
    Room was not great, needs to be repainted and updated. Grounds were stunning. Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms were old and in need of update. Grouting in bathroom not good. Wood in bathroom worn and starting to rot.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Grounds were beautiful. Good location.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    4.6
    Mostly disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Where to start. Firstly, breakfast is not included even though when you make the booking via Booking.com with it. Read the fine print when you get the confirmation, the breakfast is priced separately. According to Booking.com, all rooms are 42m2. That is not true. You cannot put an extra bed to Superior room so after booking it they force you to upgrade with extra fee to deluxe + pay the extra bed. Deluxe room is so small that with the extra bed you cannot have 3 suitcases in the room. In deluxe, shower is installed in 180cm height. If you are taller than that, you have to bow to take your shower. Pipes were clocked and despite various requests they could not open the sink. No smoking room smelled cigarettes and during the evening and night the smoke came in from the adjacent room via the connected doors. You can hear everything people say on the other room. There was a cockroach running on the wall and also on the breakfast table. Everything is run down and dirty. We got executive room as we could not fit in the deluxe. That smelled inside like mould, had mould stains in the bathroom and leaking toilet that gave disgusting smell every time someone used it. Outside the room the air smelled like rotting dump, so we could not keep the doors open either. Had to use essential oils and sprays to be able to breath in the room. Beach was not cleaned around the beach beds, same garbage around in the afternoon and following morning. Most beds were broken as well the umbrellas. The lobby is dirty with stained walls and pillars and run down, they have never dusted the screens that face the customers and the tables are full of holes and tearing wood. Don’t believe the photos, the pools are very small. Beach restaurant air cons face the rooms and the walking path to the beach, so you can enjoy the smells and noise every time you walk by.

    Beach is good when it is cleaned and air does not smell like rotting dump. Staff is amazing, doing their best to make customers feel ok despite poor facilities. Beds were ok. Yoga hut was a bliss. Short walk to Rip Curl surf club and Blue Oasis Dive was the reason to book this hotel. We will not return, such bad experience.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    4.2
    Terrible - don't waste your money!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I arrived to check in at 2.00 pm my room wasn't ready so I had to wait, wasn't offered a welcome drink - the woman who served me said it was because they were full, and there was nothing they could do about it. Another staff member eventually organised a room for me, and upgraded me to a better room ( I shudder to think what the standard rooms are like...) The whole place is old and rundown - the rooms have not been updated for many years - everything is old and worn. Paint peeling in the bathroom, old threadbare greying towels, threadbare fraying beach towels. There was old soap scum in the bathroom, no minibar, no milk for tea or coffee. The whole vibe was cheap backpacker - for $160 a night for a standard room with no breakfast! There are many much better (and much cheaper) places to stay on the beach in Sanur. Hard to believe this is a Mercure hotel.

    The location on the beach and proximity to Genius Cafe and Power of Now yoga was great - nothing about the hotel itself.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    7.5
    nice hosts
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    too isolated sea water terrible mosquitos bad smell in the air every night (cow poop field around?) area polluted in general (big problem in Bali todays anyways...unfortunately)

    nice hosts the global efforts to make the place special the Genius Cafe.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    10
    Well situated, the place is huge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing :)

    Well situated, the place is huge. Good swimming pools, nice cocktails at the bar.. staff is more than friendly.. I wasn’t expected a perfect place like this one.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    7.5
    No fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Mostly elderly patrons, lacking in customer and staff interaction especially at the beach bar there is was no fun or anyone to converse with.

    Overall a good resort although a bit on the tired side, big bonus no kids.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    7.1
    I liked that it offered a variety of activities in the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I thought it was a little overpriced.

    I liked that it offered a variety of activities in the hotel and surrounding beach. Totally promoting a healthy lifestyle.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant stay at the Mercure Sanur hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms look a bit tired and need some renovation

    Very nice location directly at Sanur Beach. Wonderful graden settings. Very quiet and peaceful. The rooms are spacious and the bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.9
    The beach front pool is lovely and sea breeze is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower cannot be adjusted, so the entire bathroom gets very wet.

    The beach front pool is lovely and sea breeze is fantastic. The bed is very comfortable but the pillows are too big. When I asked for a smaller pillow it was very lumpy. The rooms are beautiful and the air conditioning powerful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Apart from the breakfast the food wasn't good. We only had a lunch there but was over priced and tasted terrible. Pools could have been keep cooler as were very warm but still very clean and lovely.

    Great location right on the beach! Easy to walk into town of grab a cheap taxi. Staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean and spacious. The resort is the perfect place to relax. Amazing spa which was great value for money!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    7.5
    Great relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are really dated and need doing up, the tv reception wasnt very good either and the food could do with a bit of a makeover, food was average but not overly priced

    Location location location!! So close to a lovely beach and yoga studio, pools were nice and clean and so were grounds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 22 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is in desperate need of a genuine maintainence man to fix all the dodgy umbrellas on the beach and fix the bathroom fixtures properly, there was a gap between the wardrobe and ceiling that allowed us to see straight into the roof cavity and sunlight would come through in the day I was just waiting for a bat to come in, The bar in the hotel is overpriced it’s twice the price of the shop facing the hotel and the little shop next to genius cafe on the beach if you think bali is cheap it’s not really it’s more expensive than England, Shopkeepers constantly hassling you to come in their shops and taxi drivers beeping at you as soon as they see westerners they beep and pull up, its surreal having taxi drivers chase you instead of the other way round,

    The resort is beautiful with a rainforest feel right on the beach there are plenty of restaurants bars and shops surrounding the resort and the beach is lovely full of harmless weird and wonderful creatures, the room service was great for those nights when you just want to stay in! And the pools were nice and clean, the sunloungers on the beach and by the pools are very comfy and make sunbathing a lot less brutal, the breakfast is great there is such a variety and something for everyone, there’s a nice little cafe up over the road from the hotel called Gardenia the food is beautiful and nicely priced too!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    Clean reasonable price accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The resort is at the end of the Sanur strip making it a long trek to central Sanur. There was a free shuttle to Hardy’s

    Clean reasonable price accommodations. Had fire dancing for entertainment in the evening. Awesome spa

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    10
    We loved this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only that we could not stay longer.

    The location was perfect right on the beach, lots of beach lounges and shady spots to sit. The beach was very clean, and the water was perfect for a swim. Pools were great.. The staff were unfailingly courteous, helpful and polite. My wife and I really loved staying there.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    9.2
    Value, position and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What impressed us were the number of beach lounges-generally enough for everybody unless the place is totally full-and a choice of leafy shade or sunny water-side. Also the Yoga classes, the healthy Genius Cafe on the edge of the property, with its healthy bowls ( eg Hippy, macro glow bowl of organic green beans, brocolli, endamame beans and avo 85,000 Rp plus plus, and it’s Tumeric Lattes) and the Mercure’s brilliant buffet breakfasts.

    Position, position, position -right on what we reckon is the best and broadest beach in Sanur and close to a wonderful array of Warungs and Beach Bars for dinners. Good shuttle bus too although you have to be there on time or you’ll miss out and have to walk into town (not onerous at all, but hot in October!! )

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    6.3
    Relaxed stay in Balinese style resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The complex needs money spent to bring it back to the original standard. Black plastic covering rooves of some rooms, patchey repairs in rooms, old towels and pool lounges all detract from the overall experience. The kids club also needs some work. Hotel staff failed to respond to email requests to amend my booking (prior to arrival). Eventually agreed when I was on site but it wasn’t easy.

    Friendly staff, very clean room, good breakfast facilities, nice gardens and close to the beach

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    6.7
    overall we enjoyed out trip here but would probably not stay here again as the Prama was better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The price for what we paid was quite high, I would have expected better quality everything for that price. The rooms are big but need some serious maintenance, TVs could also be bigger. breakfast was good but boring. It was the same every day, they could have changed it up more. We weren't made aware of the shuttle service to the airport or the boxed breakfast option as we left early in the morning so we wasted our breakfast for that morning. The Pool service could have been more attentive, In 10 days, I was never asked for a drink in the pool area and the staff didn't seem interested in asking anyone.

    we liked the room size and location, the pool was ok. the venue is very nicely looked after and the grounds were great and the staff were great and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is a little tired and could used a freshen up. Our room was remote with no view.

    Location - facilities - we stayed here in 1984 when it was under different ownership.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    9.6
    A very chilled, peaceful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have nothing to complain about at all. Its my third time staying here and its always excellent.

    I loved that when we arrived to check in with some guests who were staying elsewhere they were treated in the same welcoming manner we were. I liked that nothing was too much trouble and that staff would welcome you with a hello whenever you passed them.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed our stay, friendly staff, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    eating in the restaurant was bit pricy if you compare it with other places to eat. Because the hotel is not in Sanur (taxi takes about 10 minutes) you need taxi or eat at the hotel restaurant. The food is good by the way and compare to EU prices still a good price.

    Mercure arranged a pick up from the airport for us. This was really great. The airport in Bali is very hectic and busy so nice to walk behind the driver and able to ingore all the other screeming people. Check in went fast and friendly. The room is bigger then expected and clean. At the breakfast you have lot of choice and lot of live cooking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for a quiet chilled get away with plenty of options for relaxing in the sun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can not really fault this resort at all. Rooms are basic balinese style but sufficient. Would definitely come back.

    Lovely place to stay. Didn't feel like we were in Bali. Own beach area with free sun beds and no hagglers. Definitely a change of pace to Legian/Seminyak. Not sure if it was time of year but it was very quiet (Early Sept). Walk along the beach paved path to so many lovely restaurants. They had a market one day at the back of the resort along the beach. Very much like a flea market at home with food, clothes, crafts and the like. Breakfast was great every morning with many choices. 2 pools to choose from, one with loads of beds and sun. Loved the beach it was extremely calm and warm. Would be perfect for floating around on a lilo. I think it would be more suited to young families or people in their 40s up. Could be a little boring for some? I personally would rate this Resort as a 9

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic pools and lovely beachside location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms looking old and tired and need updating

    Fantastic pools and lovely beachside location. Oasis yoga barn on site. Nice gardens and all low rise buildings

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    7.1
    Loved the area and the grounds of the Mecure in Sanur, quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We have been there five times now, but the rooms really need to be updated especially doors and lighting in bathrooms and a really good clean around doors and bathroom vanities. Got fed up with all the dogs in and around the beach.

    Loved the area and the grounds of the Mecure in Sanur, quiet and peaceful. Staff from Gardeners to Porters very friendly. That's why we keep coming back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    10
    Really lovely resort :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative thing was we booked 3 rooms and the rooms were not close together !!! I don't understand why as we booked at least 6 months in advance and requested that the rooms be together.

    Loved every thing about this place. The location, the beach, the vibe the rooms the staff and the buffet breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    2.5
    We didn't go on our trip to Bali due to feeling anxious...
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't go on our trip to Bali due to feeling anxious after 3 earthquakes so we are very disappointed to have to fill in a review when we haven't even been threw

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    7.9
    Beds comfy and rooms good size, on the beach, live music...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds comfy and rooms good size, on the beach, live music most nights, walking distance to warung and souvinier shops on the beach. 2 swimming pools and the gardens are lush and green.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    4.2
    The hotel itself a locates in a very nice location, if you...
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel itself a locates in a very nice location, if you are looking for a beach front hotel the it suit you well. But my friends and I didn’t like it much-cleanliness, services... are quite poor compare to the room rate-not worth it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    9.2
    Great spot if your looking for laid back area, nice pools...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beach when the tide is right has a lot of rubbish but this is everywhere around Bali.

    Great spot if your looking for laid back area, nice pools and an amazing yoga place right on the grounds. Also weekend market right on the property which has some great stuff. Buffet was very good value and a nice mix of food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    6.3
    Good place to take grandchildren
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds are too firm. Check in and check out was frustrating as it was far too over protracted and slow. In comparison to checking in and out of a Mercure hotel in New Zealand it was shambolic at best

    The breakfast buffet selection was great. Kids club at the shadewa pool was wonderful my grandchildren really enjoyed it there

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    8.8
    Great holiday. Great location. Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I could not say that I didn’t like anything at all. Maybe the beach towels could be upgraded but overall the stay was great.

    Great location right on nice beach. Relatively quiet and very relaxing. Lose proximity to everything I needed & I felt very safe being on my own. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    7.1
    Cheep and ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The resort is very run down. Many of the buildings had plastic tarps covering their roof. The breakfast was adequate but the other meals in the main restaurant were very ordinary.

    This resort is well priced and clean and comfortable. The staff were all very nice and friendly. The location next to the beach is also nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    3.8
    Not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was very unfriendly and very unflexible. They cannot cope with problem solving and when they try, they throw away any service and guest comfort in the process. The reception staff approach you with an arrogant and condescending tone, reluctant to meet your needs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.1
    This is a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant and bars served awful food and drinks. The prices were also higher than many similar restaurants. Also the bed was extremely uncomfortable. There was a wooden bar down the middle as if they pushed two beds together.

    This is a great location. It’s right on the beach with beautiful grounds. There are plenty of shops and restaurants to walk to. The Genius Cafe at the edge of the property was delicious! The service was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    7.5
    Over all it was pleasant b
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beach is very polluted. The water actually stinks I dare not swim in it.

    I like that the bed is big, and that there's plenty to do to entertain the kids

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor air conditioning in our room. Had to have fan on low at night as sounded like it was going to take off any higher. Think prices are a little high for this rather outdated hotel.

    Good sized king deluxe room and bathroom. Good departure lounge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    We will be back, keep up the good work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is an older Bali hotel, with the Balinese style roofs, huts, amazing gardens and has the biggest beach front near the south end of Sanur. The staff are very helpful friendly and accommodating. There were several bonuses, live music regularly on the beach, the yoga and meditation sanctuary and several local excellent massage places and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The breakfast was varied, fresh and abundant, lasted four hours , no need to eat again till evening time. Over all a great experience. Jean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    7.9
    Well located, roomy, lots of bar, food and resting space choices
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is a little tired in places. We were given a room a long way from our friends and had to wait quite a while for it to be ready.

    Spacious, safe, easy. Our one-night stay on the first day in Bali met all our needs. Sunrise was magic and a morning run along the waterfront walkway was a wonderful way to get a feel for the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    9.2
    Superb location, superb value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a little dated in parts, but this adds to the charm of the hotel. It isn't stuffy or pretentious. Great hotel!

    Superb location, superb value. Great staff! Nothing is too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.3
    staff are really friendly and they upgraded our room that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hope the management can spend some money to keep the fallibilities in a better condition.

    staff are really friendly and they upgraded our room that can close to my families's room. close to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    6.7
    like the staffs there but facilities are outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The facilities are really outdated, we understand that its hard to keep perfect on the beach side but they could do better maintenance on the facility, even the towels are really old and look dirty. swimming pool really small compare to the room numbers they have.

    We really like the staffs working there, they are very helpful and super friendly. good beach side.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    6.3
    They kept a welcome cake, fruits and card for us, as we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no Bali touch. It was more like a resort cum business hotel.

    They kept a welcome cake, fruits and card for us, as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. It was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    A wonderful hotel at a supurb location in Sanur.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing that I didn't like. The hotel met all my needs.

    I was so impressed with the size of bedroom and bathroom. So much hanging space in the bathroom and great shower. Lovely relaxing hotel right on the beach. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Good stopover
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived at the hotel on the day of my wife's birthday We were upgraded on arrival to a Deluxe Bed Room. The staff were extremely pleasant. Dinner at the restaurant was fun. The Balinese fire dancers were good. The location was great for us as we were catching the ferry to Nusa Lembogan 1200 the next day. Would stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    2.9
    Never again,,,,,it sucks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mold in bathroom, didn't issue wash clothes, had to special request to get them, booked for three nights and left after one night and had pay for two nights....didn't care we were out of there...This place sucked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.8
    Ideal location, value for money, warm and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brilliant location- rooms are comfortable and generous in size. Staff are delightful and helpful- they can't do enough to please. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.9
    We will return 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms quite small but served the purpose. Inconvenient that the hotel kept running out of rupia and the exchange rate they offered was considerably lower than others. Reception ladies a bit curt and unwelcoming but grounds, housekeeping, bar staff etc were excellent and very friendly.

    Excellent value in the promenade cafes and restaurants out back of hotel along beach. Recommend Bobbys!! Lovely to watch all the water sport activities. Great value in spas across road from hotel...$8aud massage for 1hr. Nice pool area and outside bar located within the hotel at the back. Grounds very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    5.0
    DISSAPOINTED
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is a mess, they said dinner buffet and they charge for meet and fish or chicken , Bathroom so old and sink are duty, shower has leaks , there is no service at the beach, beach umbrellas are broken , we request some small table for putting our drinks at the beach and they don’t have because they had only few, internet is a big problem everywhere, signal is the worst ever seen, there are cats at the restaurants everywhere so if you are allergic watch out, I try an oatmeal in the breakfast buffet and it was disgusting , so old and bad tasting. I’m an accor platinum customer and this is the worst hotel ever been ., I WONT recommend it to nobody. sorry but all this is true... Hotel Mercure at Sanur is not good at all. I talk with 2 managers and they only said ,,,, sorry, sorry for the inconveniences .... wow ,, thanks for your help ... incredible..unbelievable

    Location is ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    6.3
    The hotel was very old and dated and tired looking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was very old and dated and tired looking. Pool was ordinary, kids club very feeble, location excellent, shouldn't have to pay to use bikes, food mediocre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    6.7
    Peacefull place but outdated Interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    outdated furniture, some staff who were not energetic anymore.

    My husband and I came last week to Mercure Resort Sanur. We arrived around 12 PM and there were no porter or bellman who helps us with our luggage. Until reception desk, we received a warm welcome from Ms. Wiwin. our check-in process was smooth and she explained clearly about all the facilities and gave us a little map around the hotel. As we can see the porter was busy, we decided to go to our room by our self, and the luggage came after 5 minutes we were in the room. The room is clean but a bit old. I think for young guest like us, the hotel is not that suitable. There is some scratch around the room and through all the furniture. The hotel connected to the beach, where we spent a whole day there. The hotel felt so peaceful and comfortable. My husband and I tried the massage by the beach, and it was great. Unfortunately, they cannot do it more than 30 minutes, unless you want to do it in their spa room. They have a bike to rent (in the other hotel, bicycle supposed to be complimentary). And sadly, Go-car cannot come to the hotel and we forced to use a hotel taxi. Where we felt that was a rip off in term of the price. When we checked out, we had Ms.Rina at the reception. she was a really friendly person.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    8.8
    Had yet another lovely and relaxing stay at Mercure Sanur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Is an older hotel - rooms and pool could do with a general revamp but in saying that we have returned multiple time

    Fantastic location. Staff are amazing! Many of the same staff each visit and ways made to feel very welcomed back each visit. We pre-requested room near pool and this was organised with no problems and in fact were given an upstairs balcony room. Lovely tropical fruit in room on arrival! It was very relaxing to sit on the balcony overlooking the lovely gardens either in the morning or the evening. Great way to start or end the day in Bali! Pool side meals and snacks very tasty! 2 Pools to choose from. Also enjoyed the afternoon live music on the beach put on some afternoons.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.9
    Nice place to stay in Sanur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff was sometimes really slow, we arranged a pick up from airport, and we waited for almost an hour cause the driver was late. The pools are a bit dirty and old, they need to be renovated. The beach was nice but lack umbrellas for the sunbeds. They need a little bit a renovation for the resort to be almost perfect.

    Beach was nice and clean. The room was spacious and clean, but needs a renovation. Gardens in the resort are really well maintained. Breakfast was nice but needs to be more various. Location was really good, there are a lot of shops and restaurants nearby. Overall a nice stay, there is a really nice atmosphere going on in the resort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    4.2
    Only stayed here because a course was held here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    I had the worst massage ever in the Hotel beauty place, scratched and she kept walking out and just rubbed me very fast rather than mindfully.

    The Healthy cafe on the beach and the massage ladies on the beach. Neither are part of the Hotel which is dated and needs to be refurbished.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.1
    Ok for a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was shabby. We have stayed before and our previous room was much nicer. The restaurant is terrible.

    The beach at Sanur the nearby cafe and the pools at the resort are fantastic. The staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although i was provided with soy milk at breakfast i had to ask for it each day as so many people are lactose intolerant an alternative to regular milk should be on display

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.2
    Very good value, right on the beach- nice restaurant Genius...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Do not expect 5stars hotel at that cost! Room and furniture a bit old

    Very good value, right on the beach- nice restaurant Genius just nearby on the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing in lovely surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms could do with an upgrade which I believe is in progress

    We liked everything and would return again The older style resort is perfect, gardens beautiful, staff welcoming, rooms clean, spa professional, location peaceful and food excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    6.7
    Great day spa aroma next to the property and a great cafe on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Resort looks a bit tired. Was meant to receive free breakfast with my booking through booking.com which was denied at the reception and was charged later on my credit card for it 😡

    Great day spa aroma next to the property and a great cafe on the beach front of the property

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    6.7
    The Mercure has a nice location on the beach but there are nicer options
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    after spending two weeks in Bali and getting used to exceptional and genuine service we felt that the Mercure was lacking. The rooms got cleaned late afternoon and we didn’t get a refresh on the coffee. The towels were thin. The room was dark.

    We liked the shuttle that took us into town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing, friendly atmosphere, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were fabulous. Vey helpfull with questions. Wen I got cold, as I was sleeping close to the aircon, but the other guests(kids) in the room were not, they were fast to provide extra bedding. Room was spacious and clean, with plenty of storage. My 14 year old and her friend, age 15 loved the breakfast (as did mum) and the loaction of the Genius cafe close by, (great healthy food) as well as the shade on the beach. Will return for sure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    10
    We shall return........
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    N/A

    All the facilities were exceptional, The staff were fantastic. Villa type rooms 4 in a villa 2-3 level villas. Not hotel block rooms. Small and intimate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    7.5
    The size of the rooms were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The single beds for our children did not have any blankets or doonas. When we requested some blankets from House keeping, we were told that they were not able to provide them and my children had a very uncomfortable sleep with a sheet only.

    The size of the rooms were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The property shows the age, especially in the rooms. Bedside tables are dated and the top opens revealing tons of webs inside. The wood is also falling apart being somehow dangerous if kids are around. Some of the floor tiles are cracked and the bathroom is a bit rusty. Shower sometimes doesn't keep the same temperature and you get a hit of cold or hot water unexpectedly. During breakfast was always a problem making a coffee as the coffee machines always had problems. Looked like were not commercial machines and needed to wait and reset after each customer and crashing completely sometimes and not delivering the coffee.

    Relaxing village style property. Lots of lush green, plants and flowers. Very pleasant atmosphere. 2 great swimming pools. Easy access to the beach. Amazing genius cafe on the beach. Great location of the restaurant for breakfast on the swimming pool with morning ocean breeze. Excellent tour desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Mercure Resort Sanur Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: