Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nirwana Resort Hotel 5 stars

Jl. Panglima Pantar, Riau, Bintan Island, 29155 Lagoi, Indonesia

#10 of 13 hotels in Lagoi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 747 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is overpriced. Should review the pricing sometime.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. Able to converse in good English. Make us feel very welcome, good choice for our anniversary, they even deliver us a cake to celebrate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were trying to provide quality service but repeatedly failed to deliver. Transfer bookings not passed through, ferry tickets not ready when they said they would be, etc. Generally the execution was poor for a reported 5 star hotel. Beach looked great in photos but at low tide is a rocky, oil stained, weed covered mess that is not usable. Plan according to tides. Pool area has not nearly enough chairs or shade for a busy weekend and ran out of towels. It appeared they were overrun with guests for a long weekend and couldn't deliver service with available staff and resources.

    Location is good, potential to be great with better staff, training and management. Room attendant was responsive. All staff friendly. Picturesque beach at high tide (see comments for low tide). Spa service on the beach was nice, again it could use a little modernising.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is my second time to NG. Breakfast can be improved. I booked for sea view but i cant see the view every morning. Aircon wasnt working really as expected. Room wifi was a disappointment, i tried connect for 1 device but wasnt really connected when i am in the room. Tshirt at survenoir shop should have more stock for more various size. Lastly, i am surprised that the price i book via booking.com is more expensive then booking directly with the resort and there more perks.

    Staff during check in was good. Room was cleaned and nice. Shower foam smells good. Food at Dino Bristro is good. Staff manning games station are friendly and polite especially at the resort center and ATV but seems like it the same staff. Environment is nice an serene. Good if swimming can be bigger and wet playground.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing is you have to.pay and pay for all the activities.

    the staff are friendly and approachable. The standard of the food in all restaurants have improved alot since my last visit many years ago. My kids have enjoyed themselves very much with all the sea amd land activities such as ATV, Archery, Air Rifle, jetski kaya etc Will go back again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good beach but cannot swim, Filled with tar from ships, looks white but tar oil sticks to your feet swimsuit and body, it's everywhere even on public beaches.

    The noodle house is amazing, the chef is most welcoming and will make you anything according to your taste. Only good thing about this place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some mosquitoes flying inside the room and also around the resort as well but using a mosquito repellent would lessen it.

    Overall the resort is excellent. Very good customer service. Each and every staff would great you with a smile and is very helpful to your queries. Definitely i would go back on a holiday in this resort.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the resort has everything, you gave to be prepared to spend. The food is too expensive for the standard provided, and the minimart charges like crazy. The pool is meant only for dipping and children play, there’s no lap pool. Towel for the swimming pool requires additional fee as well, so we didn’t bother to take a plunge at all. The resort is far from anywhere, especially the town. I was hoping we could rent a car to drive but they only provide chartered taxi, which costs quite a lot. The nearest eatery would be the Plaza Lagoi, and there is shuttle provided. However, it is very infrequent and also packed during peak hour (lunch time) so please queue early!

    I love how organized things are. They have system for ferry transfer that departs every now and then, you just need to tell them in advance what time will your ferry departure be, and they will arrange the transfer for you. The resort has practically everything so you don’t need to go elsewhere. The room is nice and clean. Too bad it was raining most of the time we were there but the room is comfortable enough to just sleep in. However, don’t expect a very luxurious stay as the resort has been around for some time. But it’s properly maintained. The sand is so fluffy and clean you won’t want to wear your sandals when walking there. They have a few hammocks around the beach area for a nice relaxing rest while overlooking the sea. Recreational options include flying fox, bowling, kids play room, segway, bicycle, gym, and many more. However, they all come with a price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We requested for a single large bed , we didn't get it . Instead of that there were two small beds. Staff also didn't help us. They said we don't have enough large beds :(

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Drinks were expensive, The Poolside grill had no atmosphere, breakfast choices were minimal for a westerner

    Beautiful pool and gardens, staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The BBQ is lower than our expectation, and no entertainment during the night except an empty bar

    The rooms are comfortable, shuttle bus is also convenient, staffs are enthusiastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too old. Need for renovations. That’s why 300$ for a night is not worth the money. Foods need to add more taste.

    Lots of facilities and activities for kids. Good place to go with kids

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Half-baked pizza without enough cheese. Noodle with soup is not good, either. Soup needs more flavor.

    The staff are very friendly. The room is clean and comfortable. Wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok, so the bed was a bit hard for our liking and the aircon could have been better, but this is just picking holes.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Area is stunning and we found the activities were well run and enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food and drinks were very expensive, especially at the pool side restaurant. 7SGD for a bottle of water or 35SGD for a korean dish is WAY TOO MUCH.

    facilities are very good for a weekend escape with family

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property is dated in many areas and doesn't look like much is re-invested in the property or maintenance carried out. For the price, one would receive much better value for money in other SEA locations. This extends to all the properties and facilities within the Nirwana Resort compound, There is tar oil on the beach which is very difficult to get off the body/ swimwear.

    The location is great and the staff lovely. Good selection of food for breakfast and opens nice and early for those with young kids!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need refurbishment. Pillows are a bit smelly that we asked for replacement.

    Many facilities. Quite a few dining options with reasonable price. Recommend elephant ride for families.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is good except my room has cigarettes smell . Breakfast good but the staff at the breakfast station was rude . We wanted to join our other family whom already seated inside . He told us to queue . Though the family members has already reserved the seats for us

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in at reception: you'd better to be patient as it might take unbelievably long. We arrived around 6:00pm? There was only one family in front of us. The woman staff spent very long time with the guest. I took it wrong by thinking she was patient. It turned out all were just due to low efficiency. When we finally got the room key and entered the room, it was already 8:00pm. Completely dark everywhere. Even more, I was informed at the pool bar that I didn't activate my credit card (though I was very certain reception charged room rates and others using my card hour ago) and thus I could not charge dinner expense or any others to room in the resort! I had to go back to the reception in the late evening and asked another staff (really tried hard to avoid poor service again with the same woman staff who was saying she did the right thing) to activate the by-default function in resort hotels. Floating crude oil: Beautiful sands, look very attractive. But, after a while on the beach, we noticed a number of oily dirts on feet. Yes, they were crude oil. Honestly speaking, it is not the fault of the hotel. I did observe cleaning staff working hard to make beach clean. It is hard to see floating oil on the sea surface. But, it is unfortunately there. Tiny, small, floating, here and there. Easy to be caught when swimming... Feel sorry for the hotel, but really unexpected experience and not recommended for young children.

    Guest information centre is very nice. A number of interesting activities. Staff are friendly and effective.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting time for shuttle bus (30mins). Poor wifi signal, you need to pay to get upgraded

    Breakfast! Friendly staff and there’s a pickup frm terminal to hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My friends had been bitten by bedbugs and the hotel refused to accept any responsibility! Food is overpriced and very poor standard. Arrived off the ferry at 10pm and even though the restay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there was more healthy food options on menus throughout the day, like fruit salad with yoghurt etc

    Amazingly friendly staff, comfortable beds, really great massages too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I was not told about the polluted beach. The reason I came was to do beach/ related activities with my Son. Moreover instructions not to walk on the beach were not made known to guests. Just one signboard stating 'Beware........' will not suffice especially when there are several entry points to get to the beach from the resort. You need to improve your Communication strategy. The severity of the oil in the waters cannot be known to guests - it is your duty to inform them, not after they have walked and got tar on their feet!!!! You should also have a person in charge advising guests who do walk or kids building castles to refrain from doing so. Stationing one person on the beach to do this isn't a big ask!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit outdated. The oil spill at beach was such a big disappointment. If i had known before hand wouldn't have decided to stay here.

    The pool area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is beautiful but swimming in front of nirwana beach club is better though some tar encountered but bothers the experience. Rooms are outdated, we have stayed in the suite but overall it s ok and does the job

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 5 star resort i'm sorry to say. It may have been many, many years ago but is in serious need of renovation overall. Staff were mostly lovely but rooms, grounds & common areas need a serious overhaul and food needs a lift. Airconditioning left a damp and lingering smell whenever turned off so on return to the rooom needed to be aired. This place felt like a school camp & this was accentuated when full. Coffee lovers are warned.... dont even think about it! Small milk based espresso at approx sgd $9.50 for a terrible drink is just poor. Suggest the hotel invest in Nespresso at a minimum. This place should be rated no more than 3.5 stars. Not sure who is responsible for updating ratings but this seriously misleading.

    Most staff, activities & a couple of the wider resorts groups restaurants were nice. Rooms was cleaned promptly each morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, this hotel gives you a sentiment of total rip-off. Let me elaborate. I didn't go for the cheap option, I was paying S$500 a night, for a suite, which could have brought me to the Shangri-Lah for similar prices. For that price, you get a room larger than usual, and 6 free cans of coke. But that's it. You want to drink water? they will charge you S$3 for each 500ml bottle, in a country where water is non drinkable. You want a beer at the swimming pool? Pay $9. Pay EVEN MORE for local beers!! It doesn't make ANY SENSE. The cocktails? $15. Absolutely crazy. FYI, a cocktail in the Raffles hotel in Singapore costs the same price. Every meal starts at $20 minimum. Most of it is VERY basic. Basic pasta, basic pizzas. $12 for a glass of cheap wine. Funny anecdote: we ordered a Soto Ayam (basic traditional chicken soup) room service on Sunday. Cheap! It is only $19. Oh but oops. They forgot the Ayam (chicken). What really annoyed me is that they are supposed to be kids friendly and brand themselves as a place for families. I have a baby and there were inflatable buoy by the swimming pool. Can you borrow them? Of course not. It is $7 AN HOUR. So basically 7 times the price you would pay to purchase them in Indonesia, for a one hour rental. You want to bring your kids to do an activity, like archery? Get ready to pay $10 for 25 arrows. And it is probably the cheapest activity. As a result, the activities are barely used. To me, the management of this hotel is in a mood where they say: ok let's rip-off these australian and singaporean and chinese tourists of their money. They are stuck in our resort anyway, and they won't come back. I have been in Asia for 7 years, and I have traveled a LOT. Never seen something like that. Because you see, your staff is nice. But even them are ashamed of that. Besides, the standard of the room is more 3 to 4 stars, not 5.

    The beach is nice, in spite of the tar problem. It was not as bad as what I thought it would be. The swimming pool and playground are nice and the kids like them. The breakfast is really good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi Connection is very poor specially in the Room. We have to remind them to make the room. Beach is full of TAR and Oil.

    Good service, good staff and good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No umbrellas round pool. Most people got sunburnt. Should be more Man made shady areas. You could not swim in sea because of tar.

    Plenty of good and varied food outlets.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtain is not fabric but made of wood, for whoever like to wake up late, probably not possible.

    I am return customer, stay in Nirwana Resort Hotel again. Nirwana is very accessible to the water sport and the resort center have many activities to do: archery, air rifle and bowling. It was really great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room not up to 5 star ; spa treatment not good, facing back pain afterwards; restaurant food quality not very good; hotel charges Singapore price level but didn’t deliver 5 star performance

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The sea water is polluted by tar.

    Very nice hotel, clean and comfy. I recommend the Premier Room with Sea/Swimming pool view. The room is spacious and well equipped. The beach is very nice with soft sand and exotic view. The staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach was quite dirty due to pollution of the sea (plastic, waste...) Workmen were cleaning the beach every day.

    Breakfast is very good. A great variety of items. The Swimmingpool is also very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Variety and freshness of the food served at the poolside dinner buffet restaurant. Didn't like the live band on that particular night (02 Feb)

    Mee goreng, churos, goreng pisang served at the buffet breakfast. I like the Kelong seafood restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food options (lunch & dinner) were limited. Moving around was a hassle since my father was on a wheelchair. Otherwise they provide a bus at fixed durations for moving around the resort

    Big and nice hotel, smooth check-in, nice and clean facilities. staff was helpful. Big breakfast buffet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish they'd allowed/be a little more flexible for later checkout. It was non peak when we went, check out was at 12 but denied a 1230 checkout

    Most of the staff wrre friendly and welcoming!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The tar nuggets on the beach from the pollution dumped by the boats (this is a general problem in the area, though!). The tastes & quality of the food on some of the restaurants are quite variable - never bad, but let's say what you find fantastic today might be just OK on your next visit.

    Beautiful place, very easy to reach from Singapore

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was advertised as a beach holiday yet the beach was closed and had been for some time with the ongoing problem of black oil on beach. Staff told me this is a regular problem - not a one off event! False advertising! Asked manager for compensation and was told it’s not the hotels responsibility. V poor! Family had travelled from NZ and the Netherlands expecting a beach holiday. Also had to pay money for everything including table tennis and pool (on non level tables). Overall a bad holiday re value for money and ambivalent senior management when I complained about the beach situation. Would never go back. Booking.com should follow up.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive room for an old hotel. Lot of noise at night, we have a room on the ground floor and many people passing in the corridor even rolling tray from the restaurant. I pay this hotel more expensive than an hotel in Singapore and get less services. Breakfast buffet is full, lot of noise inside the restaurant. Room are big but look old. The hotel seems old. You need to wait shuttle bus for go to any activities around or restaurant.

    Nice beach but can not swim as jellyfish and petrol oil.... big swimming pool but seems dirty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    To add child into room stay has a standard surcharge, I already paid one surcharge through booking.com Room had no balcony. Thought it was quite pricey in peak time really for what was supposedly a superior room, when compared to others, it was quite a basic room.

    Very Helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Place needs renovation, it feels like nothing was done to it for the last 25 years. Price is 5-star, facility is more like an old 3-star hotel. Price for food and drinks is extortionate. The beach is very dirty, each tide brings more plastic debris and tar pellets, they are doing their best to clean the beach everyday but unfortunately they are losing the war...the ocean is very polluted in this part of the world.

    Welcoming staff, good service, good breakfast The spice restaurant, excellent Indian cuisine there!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poolside restaurant - food poor, overpriced and long waiting time Everything is overpriced (food, drinks, rooms) Rooms looked a little bit tired and general AirCon quite noisy (couldn’t stop it). Couldn’t swim in the sea - too polluted Wi-fi almost non existent (very poor) Poor Breakfast variety and quality I would have liked some umbrellas by the pool.

    Shuttles to access multiple restaurants Beautiful location, great beach, nice pool facing the sea. We tried Seafood restaurant (realy good), Hot Pot (good), Neydles house (good), Poolside (poor), Dino Bistro (okish).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for a 20 year old resort, that needs some upgrades. Room service food poor. Mostly Singapore prices, due to proximity to Singapore.

    Facilities were good, with lots to do if you wanted too. Food was ok, but that’s about it. Room service quality, don’t bother to order.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame you can’t swim in the sea as too polluted (although you can do watersports!?). Other issue was all the bars and restaurants shut at 10.30pm, bit early.

    Nice beach location and close to Gerry port.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is what out of the hotel control; just sharing, the beach is strictly not allowed to swim. And also warning board that there could be black oil on the beach.

    Hotel Services are excellent, the staff is accommodating! The place is very accessible as the hotel has the shuttle bus to pick up customers at the Ferry Terminal, and also the shuttle bus in the hotel area too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the activities and games in resort were chargeable. Including basic games like pool table. Bowling coupons were complimentary but shoes and socks rent was charged. The resort is at such a location that we cannot plan to go to any other place other in city to visit or to spend time. Food and Beverages are high and that is expected for such resorts which is ok for us to pay as the quality was good.

    Staff is polite, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beach was closed because of tar on the shores. It was extremely disappointing and the resort should have informed us before hand. this is a beach resort after all and we booked this expecting to be able to swim at the beach. Everything in the resort is overpriced and below average. The resort is old and not well maintained.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negotiation on earlier check in, insufficient seating areas at lobby for guests who arrived too early or going off with later ferries. Many guests ended up hoarding the sun loungers around the pool.

    The staff were all very friendly and approachable. We enjoyed the facilities, especially the swimming pool and shooting range

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tar on the beach and jellyfish. Good to average food but expensive. Wine very expensive. No cheaper wines even though on the menu. Cheapest wine was US$40. Noisy babies and undisciplined children.

    Staff very pleasant. Room (Premium) was fine but I would have liked a balcony.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a pleasant stay, however I felt it loOked tired. The gardens were well maintained and the pool area was inviting. I felt the it was a tad overpriced.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom window had no blackout curtains, so our son would wake up with the first sun light every morning as the wooden window did not block the light properly.

    Excellent breakfast, nice infinity pool, many options of activities. Very nice barbacue by the pool on weekends.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room - value for money - not good. Only suites have balcony, window cannot open or need the staff to open and close it. Room smells like wet and it was the whole time too cold, even if we switch off the air conditioning.

    Location, beach and external facilities is great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the resort is wonderful. The staff is extra courtious and very helpful. Breakfast was awesome. Lots of activity foe kids. The room ambi3nce was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food and water sports were quite expensive.

    The beaches next to the hotel were amazing and the room was comfortable and clean. Staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very cold, very simple, the window may can see from outside in the night, bed are two single join together. Food expensive. Not many people there. Many activities are not on. Beach so so

    Staff are nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife wanted to buy a bracelet in the Guest Entertainment area and the staff member that dealt with her did not know the difference between IDR 30,000 & IDR 300,000. Makes you think ?

    The staff were friendly and very helpful, food was good and facilities good as well

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a romantic holiday and our room had two single beds. We asked for a queen sized bed. They said they would put the two singles together but never came. I suppose I could have kept asking but that makes me feel uncomfortable.

    The beach was gorgeous. There was talk of black oil but we dididn't see any. The buffet breatfast was amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They never offered the genius perks which is welcome drink. The safety box was not working coz it rans out of battery. We informed reception 3x and never fixed not until we informed Housekeeping. We wasted 2-3hrs of our time to wait for them to fix safety box. Breakfast has not much option.

    Beach and pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the day of check out - if the room was cleaned, it would have been better. It was more than 24 hrs the room wasn't vaccum'ed. Being a beach resort it's natural the room accumulates sand- just vaccum must have been nice the next day (the day of check out).

    Calm serene nature. Value for the money and kids loved the activities (painting, kids bowling, archery, body board, kids club to mention few) that kept them entertained. Beach - white sand.Lovely pics captured.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is quite pricy, wifi was a bit slow and the sea view room in reality overlooks the large courtyard and pool.

    Really excellent location, it is right at the beach and the view is amazing. The various restaurants are great and there are many things to do. The bowling alley was nice since we had some rain on one of the days. The beach and view (no oiltankers blocking the view) is much better compared to Singapore. The staff is very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the restaurant's menu is a little bit expensive then Singapore.

    all the staff are kind and nice,the free breakfast is delicious and the beach is beautiful and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reservation department wasn't flexible. I didnt like the way the email was sent to me by Sandi. We are not some cheap loafers. We even spent more than the 3 room nights. The electric kettle in the room was dirty. Initially we had problem with the door lock which was professionally rectified by the DM Pak Verry.

    The employees here were amazing. Pak Momon at Dino Bistro bar was very accommodating. Yudi the gentleman from Housekeeping was very helpful. Overall what started off bad ended with good impression of the resort and its people.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no shower gown provided and the water came out so weak. Also the drain had some problems so the water in the shower booth didn’t go down easily.

    The breakfast buffet was great and the beach was very beautiful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was shuttle arranged from ferry terminal to the resort. Fantastic hospitality, reception and very warm staff. Items for breakfast were very many and it was delectable. Rooms very clean and well maintained. Lot of activities inside the resort as well, e.g. bowling, archery etc. Overall, it was a fantastic experience. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we first checked in, we are given a room with really poor view. We return to the front desk and insisted to change the room to another wing with better view since we paid 400 SGD per night per room for a premium deluxe room additional 60dollar for extra bed for one kid. We are given 2 new room only after insisting as they told us that it was fully booked and doesn't want to change it for us. They changed it after a short argument. We stayed for 2 night. Every meal you had probably cost you around 50SGD per person. Not including if you have a drink in bar or activities. So to me it's not worth my money to spend like 2000+ for 2 nights. Only reason I came is that it is close to Singapore, and the management knew it very well. Honestly, will not come again. Check-out taking too long too as we had to queue up with people trying to check-in.

    Beach is nice and clean. Free shuttle given around the resort and to ferry terminal. Quite a wide range of activities but it will cost you money. Better check and compare your choices if you plan early. Allow us to stay until 1pm is a plus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is, at best, a 3-star resort. If you like to stay somewhere with a diversity of other guests, this isn't the resort for you. It was dominated by Chinese and Indian guests. Breakfast was like a feeding frenzy at the zoo. The room we had was very old. Some of the power points didn't work. You had to pay for fresh milk if you wanted to have a tea or coffee from the minibar. The shower was permanently marked so always looked dirty. There weren't enough deck chairs to accommodate people around the pool. Overall, the facilities were very 'tired'.

    The staff were very friendly. The seafood BBQ dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very relaxing environment. My wife and i had a enjoyable time. The beach is nice and clean. Well maintained by the resort. Booked the premium room. It was nice and clean. The bed is abit hard for my liking though.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more shade near the pool would help

    As we were staying for a week we were upgraded to a suite, quite a luxury. Staff were brilliant, nothing was any trouble and we had a limo back to the ferry terminal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nirwana has made tremendous effort to make this a good hotel. However, the fittings were generally crudely made (we had the deluxe room with wood paneling and with hindsight, I wasn't sure it was worth the extra money!) The bed was exceedingly hard and the decorative wooden window shutters do not block out all the light. The electronic room safe appears adequate as seen in most modern hotels, however, it was not bolted to anything, so could be carried away by just about anyone - which renders it. Food is excessively expensive by Indonesian standards.

    Excellent staff who are always willing to go the extra mile to offer assistance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    this is by no means a 5 star hotel, 3 at most. Food is terrible to start with and facilities need a massive renovation

    That i am not there anymore. We planned to stay for 3 nights and left after the 2 giving up the third one.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Singapore price level, room needs touch up, limited number of sun beds and umbrellas

    Location at the beach, very attentive personnel, always smiling, large breakfast choice, clean beach, fine sandy beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) they double charged my credit car for the whole staying, and promised to reimbourse (too soon to check but I trust they will do it). In any case, I had troubles with my bank and had to postpone my arrival by 1/2 day to fix things. Despite this, they refused to postpone my check-out by half day. And the hotel was not full. They really do not know how to treat guests. 2) breakfast overcrowded. Juices and milk and other food finish early.

    The beach was ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minus I felt was that food and drinks (i.e. things like pizza, chips and beers)are overpriced even compared to Singapore prices.

    The staff were excellent and so friendly. The beach and other beaches at the resort are beautiful. Pools very nice and kept children content. The resort has many trails which are great for walking if your into that. There's a mini zoo small football pitch which kids were happy with. It has a good range of activities such as archery, rifle shooting and zipline which kids also loved. A happy stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi quite slow....

    Good location, from Ferry Terminal take shuttle bus to hotel resort in 15min. Good facilities, a lots entertainments you can choose. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall service and staff in Nirwana used to be excellent. However, to my dismay, last June and my latest holiday there (21-24 July 2017), the quality of service and staff has dropped significantly. Service and staff is inconsistent - during the weekend (21-23 July was poor), strangely the service n staff on Monday, our last day (24 July) was much better. For the price of a suite, service is very poor - Couldn't get wifi at all in my suite room (Rm 1254). Each time we call for service from the room, they ask when we are leaving (!!!). House keeping didn't clear the used plate and glasses from the room service meal we had the night before.

    Bintan is always a great place for a short convenient holiday and the beach is amazing. Spice Restaurant at Mayang Sari always has very good food (since the 90s till now) and amazing staff. Overall service and staff used to be excellent. However, to my dismay, last June and my latest holiday there (21-24 July 2017), the quality of service and staff has dropped significantly. Only 3 staff are commendable out of the whole lot we encountered.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little dated in communal areas and they could have done with being Air Con. Good range of activities, but expensive.

    Nice upgraded Premier room overlooking the pool and with seaview.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: