Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Payogan Villa Resort and Spa 5 stars

Banjar Bunutan, Desa Kedewatan, 80571 Ubud, Indonesia

#136 of 235 hotels in Ubud

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 343 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Amazing views and paying the extra to to have our own pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated and although the rooms a big and spacious with huge bathrooms it needs updating. Trying to watch the World Cup was a no in the hotel as they said they didn’t have the channels in the room to watch it

    Amazing views and paying the extra to to have our own pool was great. Amazing views from our big spacious room and huge bathroom was amazing. We also loved the shuttle bus service into Ubud was a great touch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Rooms were amazing - spacious, beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really not much that we didn't like. Just a few little things would have made great go to amazing. Toilet plumbing needs overhaul. No tour desk - not that we wanted to book a tour, but no information of what was around in Ubud. Need better tea and coffee facilities in room. Creamer instead of real milk is disappointing and tastes awful. How about a small quantity of long-life milk, more variety of tea and some decent instant coffee. Coffee machine in restaurant - was average and broke down. (Australians love their good coffee)

    Rooms were amazing - spacious, beautiful. Great sense of space. Private villa pool was great to have - water could have been a little warmer Staff were so friendly, courteous and helpful Location - a little way out of Ubud, but was good to get away from the noise and bustle of the main town. Shuttles to take you into the town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    A beautiful property in a wonderful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Half Board Package at One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was not the best but the bath did make up for it. Other than that the access to TV channels wasn't great. We don't use the television much but we like a film before bed. HBO just disappeared one evening.

    The bath with the rose petals was a wonderful touch and we enjoyed the infinity pool despite it being a bit cold. I also enjoyed the serenity of the whole property. It is in a beautiful setting. The staff were extremely friendly and always offering to help, and this is reflective of every single member of staff we spoke to. We also enjoyed the restaurant and felt it served good quality food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay. Highly recommend. Very courteous staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms sometimes have an odour.

    This is an excellent hotel! The view is amazing. Private pool is beautiful and very clean. Rooms are spacious. Breakfast is delicious! Airport pick up is great. My family and I love this hotel and wish we could have stayed longer than the 4 nights we had booked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    The place is like a heaven, the employees are so nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet did not look so clean in our room but the rest of the room was clean

    The place is like a heaven, the employees are so nice, breakfast is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful ... wayan was wonderful no request to big xx
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevated bed hurt when I forgot it was there and landed on the marble floor !

    The infinity pool and mountain view , The staff were lovely and they made my birthday so special with flowers my friend organised .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful grounds and the infinity pool overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very far from ubud centre not possible to walk you require the shuttle or a taxi. The shuttle will only run if people are going out or if they know people need picking up at their set times, limits flexibility somewhat. Not an issue for us but the patio area flower bed was full of digger wasps. Some parts of the fittings and fixtures require attention. Runners out of sync on the cupboards, one mirror light not working. Some paint needed in other places.

    Beautiful grounds and the infinity pool overlooking the valley is 👌- staff are attentive and courteous at all times. The negatives did not detract from our pleasant experience. Very good buffet breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Amazing Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely staff, excellent buffet breakfast, the private pool in the villa is super amazing, unobstructed view from the private pool of the valleys. The daily shuttle to Ubud Central is handy and reliable. The whole complex is extremely beautiful, quiet and nicely landscaped. The staff are extremely nice and accommodating, always with a smile. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    2.5
    Very bad do not pay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really rude unpolite people at lobby also they cant talk little bit english.it is very old and dirty place even location is bad impossible to walk out of hotel cause that district around hotel filfull with dogs also rooms and everyplace with insects and this problem cant solve also meals were terrible it definitely doesnt worth money they take we are really sad about that much money for there if you still wanna stay dont eat here eat somewhere else

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.2
    Nature and landscape are wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lizards were everywhere. Shuttle to the city was not enough. A very old facility and poor wifi connection.

    Nature and landscape are wonderful. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice view, private swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are not well maintained, AC is weak, the water is black. They force me to use their taxi service which is trip the price of the regular taxi.

    Nice view, private swimming pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    We loved our Villa and the grounds and I'd be more than happy to stay at The Payogan in Ubud again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool area could have done with a little shade in terms of an umbrella.

    Great 2 BR pool villa, very spacious, pool was perfectly clean and water temperature just right. Resort grounds were beautifully maintained and the resort had a very peaceful, relaxed feel. The fast and efficient buggy service to and from the villa was very much appreciated. The free shuttle to and from Ubud centre made trips into town hassle free.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    3.3
    Not a good experience. Checked out earlier than our actual stay. Definitely not worth 5 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon too small for such a big villa. Roofs were leaking when it was raining. Food didn't taste good. Bugs and geckos everywhere. Sheets were dirty. Shower was flooding continuously. Floors were dirty. Service was poor. Towels were dirty.

    Outside was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    It was absolutely beautiful and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a problem with aircon the 1st night was noisy and leaking. Thank you to the staff for changing room next day

    Loved the private pools in the villas and buffet breakfast was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Recommend people to stay there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add n found no complaints or reject!!!!

    Staff was so supportive and willingness Lots of respective in needs n always understand Nice to stay w everything is so relaxing n enjoyed staying there so good place to stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.3
    Room with private pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not clean, furnitures were old. Hotel loby can be much better. The hotel management can do a lot more to imrove the hotel.

    Room was very big, it was nice pool with fantastic view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Look beyond the dark stonework and bad approach road and you get a lovely resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial impression of the resort on arrival was poor simply because of the location and the approach road. Buildings are very old and the stone makes it look run down.

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Memorable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Half Board Package at One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and drinks in Bali is quite salty and sweet. The soups from in room dining were way too salty. The toilets have no mosquito net on windows , and there were quite some mosquitos around.

    Everything was good. Private pool was the best.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - One Bed Room Garden Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was horrible. The staff was a bit inacurrate, we had to wait more Than 15 minutes by city transfer, they did not communicated well their prices about the services. The bathrooms cleanliness was not that nice,The showers glass door was very dirty

    The environment was beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Amazing stay, beutiful nature and best views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - One Bed Room Garden Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No gym in the hotel, no yoga classes but it didn't spoil our stay. The pool bathrooms lack the maintenance and cleanliness.

    Stayed for 3 nights in this amazing place. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a pool view villa. The surroundings and the territory of the hotel is just breathtaking. The Villa itself is very spacious with a huge balcony and massive bathroom. The hotel is quiet and perfect for romantic stay. Service was perfect. Breakfasts were delicious as well as the afternoon tea.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Good for private family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinning facilities could be better. The rooms should be better lit.

    It is great resort, excellent with exciting terrain, good overall facilities. The private pools are of good size and clean. The SPA facilities are good and the personnel there trained.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    4.6
    We had lots of inconvenients. The WORST maintenance ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is very big, and has beautiful gardens. That being said the maintenance is the worst. Breakfast is average. The shuttle to Ubud´s centre has a very inconvenient schedule. The last shuttle from the citycentre to the hotel is at 20:15. Moreover, sometimes the schuttle is on time, somentimes is a little bit early, and sometimes it is half an hour late. If they arrive to the pick up point five minutes earlier, they do not wait until the scheduled time; so maybe you arrive on time, but the shuttle has already left. The restaurant is expensive, the food is not worth it. We came into the room (right after checking in), and found a used shower cap and two dead cockroachs in the solarium. Our room exterior walls and ceilling were extremely full of moisture (the paint was pelling off and landed on the solarium floor). The pool lights didn´t work. We ask them to fix it, they said the would, they never did. We had some lights broken on our bathroom and solarium. We ask them to fix it, they said the would, they never did. One of the window-door (from the room to the solarium) had a broken lock, so we could not use it. There was a bit of sewage smell in the bathroom. We ask them to fix it, they said the would, they never did. One day we had an ants invasion in our room. That they fixed. I can´t remember what right now, but we had one or to more inconvenients. Althought the room is very big, didn´t seem as 240 square meters; felt more like 100 square meters. Ours did, but not all the rooms have the same beautiful view. Some are kind of average. The photos advertised on Booking.com are a mix of room photos, so you do not really know which room and view you will get until you actually get there. The only positive thing is that, after talking to the hotel manager on the last night, since all the troubles we had, he made us a 20% off discount and gave us a complementary free diner. We stayed for five nights.

    The room view, the hotel architecture, the gardens and having a private pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful surroundings but just lacking that 5 star experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet was very basic and the dining side of things was generally a bit of a let down. We ordered room service on the first night and the food was really disappointing-the Restaurant was then completely dead every night and the bar was never open across any of the 4 nights we stayed.

    The resort is stunning and set in the most beautiful surroundings and the private villas are just beautiful! The staff are wonderful if a little over attentive at times and the taxi services offered are great-offering pick up from Ubud whenever we wanted and even taking us on private tours!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.5
    wonderful structure, surrounded by the forest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the sheets kept dirty and never changed for all 3 nights that we stayed here. we asked for the whole stay to turn on the lights of the pool in the evening but one night they ignored me and the other two nights they said they would have remedied but doing nothing, this particular thing made me feel bad. ants everywhere.

    wonderful structure, surrounded by the forest. we were in the villa with a private pool and it was a charm! location for a thousand and one nights. pity because many details have been left out. for us, the details make the difference.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.5
    Value for Money - A Bit Too Secluded For Our Liking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property needs some maintenance undertaken. It's not within easy walking distance to anything so had to rely on the shuttle bus or a driver to get anywhere.

    The outlook to the mountains was absolutely gorgeous. The size of the room was great and our private pool was nice, but it wasn't warm enough to use during our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    The property has a sense of old and overall is very nicely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Best Deal - One Bed Room Garden Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a minor issue with our room given that outside bathroom facilities attract much insects. The breakfast was not much varied

    The property has a sense of old and overall is very nicely done. The staff was very nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.2
    The forest infront of my private pool villa was amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very scary at night specially the forest

    The forest infront of my private pool villa was amazing view.. The buildings and the way the resort look

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.1
    Heaven for nature lovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to the resort is so bad that your tyres can get punctured ! It’s just stones ! It’s wire a distance from main ubud! And at night it’s a journey that’s scary ! The menu is so limited! And breakfast needs to improved in taste . The bathroom needs newer fittings - it’s rusted the hangers ! The bathtubs gave a eerie feeling ! It’s open so insects is always a sight !

    The surroundings - jungle till eyes can see ! But you got to put up with the various animal sounds and ants everywhere ! The staff - always smiling and welcoming. The private pool - room 406 is way too remote but the pool is awesome ! We had to shift to room 108 where pool was not clean but lovely one !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.0
    It was ok for the price,location around 20 minutes to the...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place just looks derelict! It is a huge place but hardly any guests or facilities, food wasn't great but limited to the hotel as nothing around it (it's down a very dark windy, bumpy path) it has potential to be really nice just seems uncared for. We had a pool villa but didn't actually go in the pool as was out a lot and the sunbed were not comfy for us to relax around the pool. Good for the price but far from luxury at best 2.5* Also don't book trips or airport transfers through the hotel you can get them a lot cheaper with any local agent in the centre!

    It was ok for the price,location around 20 minutes to the centre of ubud. The hotel offer a shuttle but set times and limited and the last one back is early at 8.30, huge grounds and pretty surroundings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    PARADISE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant of the Hotel is ok, but it could be outstanding as the rest of the complex.

    You are in paradise. This feeling of being either a superstar or a king. How you want. Yes it's expensive for Bali, but the view from your own private pool is Worth twice as much.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.4
    Full board included no drinks whatsoever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Full Board Package at One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full board included no drinks whatsoever. Drinks also very expensive when compared to other hotels and restaurants. Some maintenance required. Check in counter not up to speed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    The most beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the breakfast wasn't my favourite.

    We absolutely loved our time here. It was so peaceful and overwhelmingly beautiful. The staff go above and beyond to make your stay perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.9
    Not what I was expected, and too expensive for what it is
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - This was NOT a private villa as indicated. This was at the most a private apartment with a pool. The "villas" are in the same building - "One bedroom villa" : nope, there is no bedroom, the bed is in the living room. You have a living room and a bathroom - Pool water was too cold! Come on, it's Bali... - No intimacy in the "villa", those who were above us could see us in the pool - Really expensive restaurant - crêpes : you should google the recipe, it is really easy to cook

    - The hotel's environnement - The view from the restaurant - Free shuttle to Ubud center (not enough departure time though) - A lot of space in the villa

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    If you want a lovely, quiet resort that is away from busy Ubud, this is the place to go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - One Bed Room Garden Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is showing a little wear and tear. Some Light fittings and power points didnt work and there was some flakey paint outside.

    The included buffet breakfast was great. All the staff were friendly and happy to assist us. We were upgraded to a room with a pool, for free and it was beautiful. Our room was very clean and well presented. We loved our outdoor shower and bath, surrounded by gardens and high walls for privacy. The bed was comfy and huge. The main pool is brilliant with awesome views and a swim up bar. There is a free shuttle bus that goes into Ubud at regular intervals and returns back to the resort. If you need to get anywhere else there are Taxi drivers who are very keen and fairly priced. Our driver was Toya and he was terrific, very polite and even took me to a great leather bag shop on our way home one evening. We had several massages at the resort spa and I would highly recommend having one. We used the laundry service and our clothes came back very clean and beautifully ironed and folded, reasonably priced too. Overall I would definitely recommend this resort.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    I will back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    to say something... the room service ends at 10:30 pm

    Great one bedroom private pool villa, amazing infinity pool, staff and facilities, good breakfast, the resort is incredible... views, really well integrated into nature. Perfect for relax, from 5 min to ubud.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Scenic views and pool. Big size double bedroom. Great for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Limited shuttle to Ubud, but not a big issue. Taxi ride is just 5€. Room furniture is a bit old which is a bit sad given the incredible location and the romos size. Not a big downside though.

    Amazing pool. Amazing garden... in the middle of Ubud jungle. Pool villas are fantastic, nice pool huge in size for the 2 bedroom. Spa very good with incredible views. Over all the hotel is very scenic. Breakfast ok, not great but good enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    The pool and the bedroom were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains and the mosquito net need to be seriously cleaned up. Our toilets were locked and then the leak was not cleaned up during the rest of or stay. Half of the room light and the outside shower did not work.

    The pool and the bedroom were nice. The villa is well located for a stay close to ubud. The shuttle is really easy to use to get to the city. The service is great and reactive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit scary at night as it's in the middle of jungle , but what can they do :)

    Very clean . AmaZing location . Private pool is fantastic. Nice breakfast. Nice stuff .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Would certainly stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom cleanliness/maintenance, while far from bad, could be better. Breakfast options are fairly limited.

    Private pool, staff, size of rooms, room service, views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.6
    Needs serious investment however setting is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The propert is seriously run down and needs investment into the property. Bulbs exposed, lots of the external areas in near of repairs. No pool towels in the pool villa. The bar wasn't maintained. The food wasn't great and coffee was terrible.

    The setting was great and the staff were helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Great Environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shuttles to/from center should be available more frequently. Private pool is small.

    An amazing environment. Great for relaxing. Very nice and helpful staff. Not far from Ubud Center. I also strongly suggest for honeymooners. Room views are just unique with a private pool/garden looking at the jungle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    3.3
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 out 2 of our sun beds was broken, could barely lay on it without falling off as it had holes in everywhere. Mould on the top of our bed. So many leakages in the bathroom that we had to repitedly mop up the floor with our towels. Afternoon tea was horrendous, we didnt see anyone else finish theres as it was so bad.

    The view was nice + staff were nice too

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    The villa with private pool was lovely and quiet, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rich resort in a very typical balinese area! It was kind of sad to walk out of the gate and see children running barefoot to tell us hello...

    The villa with private pool was lovely and quiet, very peaceful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.3
    I liked one of the staff, his name was Mikel who was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There should be better maintenance of the villa's wood to avoid having lizards inside the room. This made me decide to leave the place, unfortunately.

    I liked one of the staff, his name was Mikel who was very understanding and helpful. The location and the view of the villa was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everthing is just fine

    It exceeded the expectations in every aspect, stayed in room 406 and it had by far the largest private pool in bali that you could throw a party in it,and with a view to kill for, staff were amazing,polite and attentive,breakfast is good,i think value for money,this is the best option and definitely will be coming back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My husband was very happy with the breakfast. I however think that having a little more variety would be nice or different options everyday.

    LOVED the location, views, spa, room and wonderful staff. We had the pool villa which was GREAT value for money and had stunning views. The room was instantly cleaned when we leave for breakfast and everything was replaced and placed perfectly. The staff are beyond excellent which made our trip even better. They were very helpful and accommodating to our requests from tour arraignments to renting a bike. Overall this was an excellent experience in a highly recommended hotel. Krisna in particular was of great service to us and we would like to thank him specifically as he was patient and gave us great recommendations and everything was arranged perfectly for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    5.0
    Mouse in the hotel ! Oopss !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was really bad. It is not appropriate for 5 stars otel, it is 3 stars maximum. Additionally, of course the hotel is in the middle of forest but there should not be mouses ! We had to change our room because they could not catch the mouse in our room ! Thans god it was the last night !

    The nature is great. It is like heaven.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    Great stay in a Jungle feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - One Bed Room Garden Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They charged $60 for extra bed for kids which is too high.

    Villas are big and beautiful. We stayed in pool Villa. Bathrooms are very big and facing rainforest which is highlight of villa.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    4.2
    I won't be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the hot water ran out after filling the bath with warm water, the reception staff weren't helpful and didn't explain thing clearly

    Some staff,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Amazing birthday stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Half Board Package at One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location would have been nicer if closer to ubud centre but they do a shuttle bus for free so not a big problem and taxis are so cheap

    Staff were amazing, it was both of our birthdays and they made such a fuss.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.9
    The room had an extraordinary beautiful view on the valley,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The restaurant is awful, especially for its prices. The steak tasted like hell, "medium" was overcooked, so the beef was hard to chew. The Ceasar salad had only greens, tomatoes and seasoning - no croutons or cheese - why?? The bed curtain should be washed - its sides where you enter the bed were grey. The taps in the bathroom were shaky, the shower had only the large upper fixed tap working (and it wasn't in perfect condition), the small handy one didn't work. There were comb, razor, brushes at the bathroom, but when used, they weren't regularly renewed. The premises aren't cleaned daily, but the leaves do fall a lot. The communication at the reception isn't perfect - we tried to check the spa availability, but the receptionist said nobody picked up at the spa, so they didn't know if it was available (why not go there and check in person? we could do it ourselves, of course, but it's a 5-star hotel). The taxi at the hotel is overpriced, but no other option can be found around as the hotel is in the middle of the jungle/village, not too close to Ubud.

    The room had an extraordinary beautiful view on the valley, trees, flowers, and the pool. The large panoramic windows gave extra space. A personal pool was a great plus (especially at the end of a day in the scorching sun). The room was very big and spacious; the king size bed was amazing too. The location is very quiet, not too close to Ubud though, but there is a transfer a couple of times a day, for free. We had a late night flight, but the receptionist was kind to offer a free access to an unoccupied room to have a shower (with towels and everything) in the evening when we already checked out. The geckos in the night add an extra romantic ambience (the croak is not the frogs!), and we also had a personal gecko who lived by our pool :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful temple paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Half Board Package at One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not really available in the rooms only in common areas. The restaurant was not great and was not 5 star. A restaurant like this should focus on making traditional balinese meals and not try to cater to a continental palate.

    The staff was very helpful. The location was beautiful and the aged, moss covered stone made us feel like we were living in a temple.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.7
    Huge potential but not 5 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The equipments and amenities are quite old: the buggy to go to the rooms has holes in the seats, the shower and toilets smell a bit because of sewers, and there are large parts of the hotel which look like they are abandoned. The breakfast is just OK but service is slow and despite the smiles and warm attitudes, we were not really helped when we had special requests (for instance reserving a driver to go to the airport and negotiate the price). To sum up, the hotel is ok even if a bit far from Ubud center (and the free hotel shuttle is often late and with limited times). We were in 4* in Bali and had better service so we won't say this is a 5* hotel. Value for money is thus not really what we expected.

    The Pagoyan has a great potential. It looks like an old temple in the middle of the jungle. We appreciated the private pool and the size of the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place, amazing atmosphere, comfortable big private villas..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not in the Ubud centre. But they do free shuttle services. It is not a problem. You can also ask hotel for motorbike rent:) for a different experience. We rented in last day.

    The atmosphere was very beautiful. The stuff were very nice and kind. They helped us whenever we asked.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Private Perfection !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel area is super safe, so don't worry about that. However, because of the style of the villa, there's a wooden entrance door which looks a bit shabby. Also, just remember to close the garden door as well, if you don't want the gardeners to enter through the front garden and into the back one, while you go crazy in your private pool :P

    I followed the advice of other reviewers and asked for villa 405. The private pool, even though not overlooking the forest, was huge and simply amazing! The villa is also extremely spacious, with a very big room as well as bathroom, complete with a Jacuzzi tub. Breakfast is great, and the service completes it, people are very attentive to do everything fro you, from toasting the bread to bringing you the omelette. Always smiling, too! I only ate at the restaurant once, because we were going into the city with the free shuttle. The shuttle runs until 8 PM, I've seen reviews saying it runs till 6 but even so, it would have been enough. The hotel also arranged for a half day drive tour / ride to the airport for us, which was a nice tough.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    2.9
    i will never go there again... sorry to say that
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - One Bed Room Garden Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    food... man these guys dont know how to cook a freaking egg.... my wife returned her food.... tasted old not alot of people at the p[lace anyway

    how massive and ancient it looked

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.3
    Memorable escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 things. 1- Except for the buffet breakfast which is nice, the food at the restaurant was very deceiving We tried it our last night , the quality and the taste was mediocre. Fortunately we ate out every day during our visits. 2- the shuttle service would be better if could come back after 9pm instead of 8:30 pm because all the shows in ubud start at 7:30 and finish at 9pm. This will prevent the hassle of finding a taxi and get bled alive to get back to the hotel.

    The hotel is really nice it has this unusual epic touch that disconnects you from the reality. The staff are very nice and friendly. If you choose to stay here I highly suggest the villa with private pool I garranty you unforgettable memories and beautiful pictures especially with the infinity pool and the first as background

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    Hotel was very nice, we had a pool inside the room that had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff really did not understand english. Pillows were SO uncomfortable I was basically sitting down while sleeping because of the pillow.

    Hotel was very nice, we had a pool inside the room that had an amazing view and it was very cool. Bed was really comfy. Staff are lovely eventhough they dont understand you too much.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Location is perfect and the people was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Honeymoon Package at One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby you could connect with wifi, at the rooms the signal was very poor.

    Location is perfect and the people was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    5.4
    The view from the rooms was to die for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Water was not working in our first room for the first day so they eventually moved us to another room which looked like it had not been lived in for a while.

    The view from the rooms was to die for.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.6
    Paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault anything.

    Variety and quality of food at breakfast was excellent. The staff were so friendly and accommodating. My villa was beautiful with a very comfortable bed, beautiful view and amazing private pool.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.8
    Private pool villa was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved.

    Private pool villa was beautiful. Spacious and amazing outlook onto forest. Very private, loved being away from busy city centre. Staff were very friendly. So helpful. Dede is so knowledgable and all smiles, Great fella! Great that there is buggys available especially when our villa was so far away from reception.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    Great Stay - Friendly staff and a beautifully maintained property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room to the west of the property had a lot of noise from roosters starting at 5am.

    Wonderful main pool and most villas come with a pool. Some friends paid for garden view villas and were automatically upgraded to villas with a private pool.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    8.3
    Ubud Villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dinner meals where not good quality or 5 Star. The courtesy bus did not pick us up in Ubud so we had to get a taxi which they did refund our money for.

    The villa was stunning. Really enjoyed having our own pool. Lots of steps so good exercise.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    10
    Best hotel I've stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    (Apart from one evening there was a wasp in my friends cocktail and it didn't get replaced... but I'll forgive them)

    Everything! The staff were lovely, breakfast was great, the food at the restaurant was beautiful! Pool was great, especially the bar part! They even organised a surprise and a cake for my birthday which was lovely!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Restful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee

    Comfy bed, extremely clean, restaurant very well priced and beautiful food, staff amazing. Very peaceful location and out private pool was amazing

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.6
    Proximity to forest and wildlife, birds , butterflies, bats...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent..... But the rest of the food and menu out dated and uninteresting. Only had one lunch and one dinner. Both very disappointing.. Ate out in Ubud rest of the time.

    Proximity to forest and wildlife, birds , butterflies, bats etc could here monkeys calling from the forest.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    4.2
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - One Bed Room Garden Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My garden villa was to old, dirty, they have very bad day cleaning. Staff was very polight untill we did reserve private driver for sightseeing from the Ubud as resort try to overcharge us double.After that man from reception was not polight. They have shuttle bus to ubud and it was so dirty I think it was not cleand from the day when they buy it. Going out of room in the middle of night in open toilet was nightmare. I dont have to say it was old and so dirty. This is the worst experiance in my life. You can find much better resort for that ammount of money.

    Reasort just look nice, good breakfast, staff ok!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    8.3
    Great resort in general, the quality is very high and the staff extremely disponibile
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to do with this, but being forced to ask for a shuttle to the lobby limits the customers. (The upper support of the toilet's door in room 501 needs maintenance)

    The quality of the resort is absolutely excellent. Great breakfast and beautiful rooms.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    10
    LOVELY!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bed Room Garden Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We LOVED this resort! So crazy beautiful! We were planning to stay in Seminyak the last few days but in the end we stayed in Ubud cause we loved the Payogan so much. Incredible views, great service, huge rooms, nice food! We are definitely coming back!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    9.2
    Payogan is Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't mind too much but parts of the hotel are a bit outdated for the price. The aircon in our room was super loud which kinda interrupted sleep at times, but it wasn't a big deal given how great and beautiful the hotel was.

    My partner and I liked The Payogan a lot, particularly because we wanted to be away from the hustle of the center of Ubud. The staff were so wonderful as well. Pool view is just ridiculous and amazing.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.2
    Stay here without hesitation!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Half Board Package at One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The BBQ..I feel bad even mentioning it but it just didn't hit the mark for my taste.

    The staff were the friendliest and most welcoming I've met in years, alongside the amazing location this hotel was very very good!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.2
    A lovely stay with every treat you can image
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good but it took some time to refill coffee, fruits etc. If you want to have more choices, try to come early.

    We booked a garden villa with private pool and were astonished due to size and comfort of the villa. The staff was very welcoming and friendly. Nothing to complain!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    A secret oasis, hush hush!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bed Room Garden Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is decent, but could be slightly better. We missed the zing, the oomph, the aah! Then again, we miss that in most of Indonesia...

    This place is magical. Most of all, the location is stunning and for once, better than in pictures! In close second position comes the friendly and accomodating staff, who will cater to any of your needs. We recommend this place because it deserves it hands down, but hush! Keep it a secret oasis :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.8
    Excellent Place to spend honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only down is the fact of no wifi in the villas and very slow connection at lobby areas

    We chose Payogan to start out honeymoon trip and did no mistake. The villa was really nice, it exceded the expectation we had based on the pictures, the view from the room is the feeling of really being into the jungle which we really enjoyed every day we spent there. The staff is unbeliveble kind and warm and on top of that we had a really nice arrangement of flowers and candles in our room for the honeymoon If we are to return to Ubud again we definitely stay again at Payogan Irving & Basia

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Payogan Villa Resort and Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: