Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Indonesia hotel reviews
  3. Bali hotel reviews
  4. Ubud hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Pillow Inn Ubud

Reviews of Pillow Inn Ubud This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Jalan Bisma No 45 , 80571 Ubud, Indonesia

#115 of 272 hotels in Ubud

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 782 hostel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    7.9
    The curtain at the beds gives you certain king of privacy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was a bit poor, not a lot, but it was good food anyway.

    The curtain at the beds gives you certain king of privacy that not every hostel has! They organise bbq every weeks and excursions from the hostel very easy to arrange just the day before. Location is 10 minutos walking to Monkey Forest and about 10-15 from the centre.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2019

    8.3
    Sociable hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thin curtain on beds Didn't always have a towel Showers had bad water pressure Pool dirty in the last day

    Sociable hostel Free breakfast Events organised in evenings

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2019

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly and helpful staff. We had a problem with the scooter that we had rented at the hostel, but the staff solved the problem quick and adequate! Very much appreciate their effort to make this hostel such a nice place!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2019

    7.5
    Cool vibes. Very social! Spilt into 2 different vibes which I liked!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathrooms were not very nice or clean.. little slugs in the showers. Toilet area was so small I couldn’t fit in to close the door! Very awkward so I would use the pool bathroom.

    They have two different pools both with different vibes. One party pool with cabanas and one chilled out pool with sun beds and very relax vibe.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    9.6
    The location was 10mins from monkey forest through a short...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don’t think I couldn’t found a better value stay. Perfect

    The location was 10mins from monkey forest through a short cut ( I would only advise during the day on your own) The beds were more like your own personal pod with a curtain, very spacious and comfy. the top bunk date quite high so would recommend asking for a bottom if you have any ailments Staff were so friendly and happy to help and although I’d say this was a very chilled hostel there was always something to do and plenty of people to meet. Don’t expect to stay up much later than 10pm. The breakfast was lovely although a fairly limited menu if you were staying a while. I stayed 5 nights and this didn’t bother me as the smoothie bowl was divine. I heard other people complaining though so it’s personal to you. Morning yoga on the roof a must ❤️loved this place

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2019

    6.7
    A lot of things could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi wasn’t working at all. Also the room has a bad smell and is very noisy. Twelve people in one room is a bit too much. The doors make a lot of noise and the front door doesn’t close properly so it stays open a lot of the time which is quite annoying. When we had breakfast I asked for a fried extra and I had to pay 30k for it which is quite expensive?! It was almost as expensive at the breakfast itself.

    The hostel is close to the center of Ubud and it has nice swimming pools and chill spots. The hostel looks pretty cool and the matress was soft. The staff is very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2019

    7.9
    The staff there is amazing especially Musa and Sani made us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are to be home for up to 12 people (which wasn't clearly stated when booking) , and AC in the room was not always capable to sustain such an amount of people and deliver enough fresh air. Not sure why, but rules on the bathroom doors are written in rather angry manner.

    The staff there is amazing especially Musa and Sani made us feel very welcome. The location of the hostel is great within walking distance to Campuhan Ridge walk or the market. Everyday, there is some community activity - definitely a place where you can meet new people easily.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2019

    10
    Paradise for travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place is amazing, it begins by a common area with a beautiful swimming pool surrounded by rice fields. The dormitories are really spacious, clean, and in the jungle and on the rooftop you have free yoga class in the morning with the nature noises and free drinks and BBQ on the evening. What I loved there it's that you feel like home with many people you can meet in the common areas and there is an amazing staff head and awesome volunteers who organise great activities and make the place really enjoyable. Love this place!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2019

    10
    Location great - Ubud and surrounding attractions so large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing! Did not indulge in breakfast or dinner here so cannot comment on this, but everything else was perfect.

    Location great - Ubud and surrounding attractions so large that moped really needed, but Pillow Inn was well-placed. Friendly and helpful staff, very smiley! Dorms clean and spacious beds made every morning, bathroom facilities a plenty and of very high standard Two lovely swimming pools with great poolside facilities and bar, lovely atmosphere Evening entertainment eg live music, beer pong, BBQ etc made it very easy to integrate. Free bottled water dispenser also, very helpful!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    7.9
    Very cozy place with a good environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom too small

    Very cozy place with a good environment. They have different activities every day and this is a good opportunity to meet all the other guests.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    8.3
    Pretty good but pretty far from the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was not enough area to dry clothes, humidity on the ground floor. And the breakfasts were really poor, really nothing special at all, they didn’t try even to make it tasty :(

    Stuff was really helpful and nice. I was lucky with my neighbors as well.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    8.8
    Great location to central ubud and the market, in a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not tonnes of space around the pools, so when it gets busy can be hard to find a lounger

    Great location to central ubud and the market, in a quiet side street

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2019

    10
    This place is so perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    This place is so perfect. The location is great as it’s quiet but still close to everything. The facilities are great. But the best thing is the staff, they were so nice and welcoming and I met so many amazing people while staying here. I swear this place is a magnet for good people. Special shout out to Naomi and Moussa. They are angels.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2019

    10
    Super good facilities, nice decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1 swimmingpool was really dirty after a few days. And smelly towels.

    Super good facilities, nice decoration. The beds have a lot of privacy due the curtains.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    9.6
    Amazing people working there, cute and definitely easy to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lots of stairs too and from the dorm/sleeping area and if you are on a top bunk they are inconveniently high up. A solid 6.5 ft climb up a side ladder w a handle between the beds that you have to kind of swing yourself into the top bunk.

    Amazing people working there, cute and definitely easy to get to downtown Ubud. Convenient location w lots of atms around too.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    7.5
    pool, interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bathroom was used by a lot of ppl and u could tell, bunk bed was verrry high and straight up, hard to bring stuff to ur bed, multiple dayd there were a lot of ingredients missing for the smoothie bowl, first day i ordered half an hr for my oatmeal, when i asked where it was, they started to make it i think, could be a language barrier, cause not all staff at the restaurant spoke english, which made it hard.

    pool, interior

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    8.8
    A very social place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a constant battle about the room temperature. It was almost every night too cold in the room even with 2 blankets. Breakfast starts a bit late. I missed it on 2 days because I was leaving before 8 am for activities.

    Staff was helpful and nice at all times. Loved the pools and the many areas to meet fellow travellers. Daily activities organized through the hostel. Loved the free yoga class! The property is beautiful and serves affordable and tasty meals. Location is great! The lockers are very big.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    9.2
    Location good, less than 10 min walk to Main Street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location good, less than 10 min walk to Main Street. Staff was amazing! Special shout out to Naomi the current events coordinator for hosting such fun events. Was really easy to meet people at the beer pong tournament, which was great as a solo traveler. She went above and beyond and was always happy to give advice to everyone about their travels. Also was great at making everyone feel invited and had a group WhatsApp message! Her yoga and food recommendations were also spot on. Thanks pillow inn !!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2019

    7.9
    Fine stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Showers weren’t working for the 3 days we stayed here...

    Nice hostel to easily meet other backpackers! Good vibe in swimmingpool area! Perfect location to see Ubud and surroundings!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2019

    8.3
    Pool area with little restaurant was really lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air condition in the dorm room & a bit uncomfortable to climb into the upper bunk bed

    Pool area with little restaurant was really lovely. Enough showers & toilets. Cheap breakfast options! Located in a nice & not bizzy road close to the Center. Free yoga in the morning. Great place to meet new people(:

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2019

    4.6
    Alright for the price but would never stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast for 50,000 IDR was really bad. The bathroom stalls are extremely small and often really dirty and stinky, shared by around 24 people (12 in each room). The towels given also smelled really funky. The road leading up to the hostel (Jalan Bisma) is in a pretty bad condition and it felt a little unsafe to walk to hostel at night. Since the ACs are on all day, it gets really chilly at night but there are no blankets provided.

    The pool and the view of rice fields is nice. Location is great - all the good places in Ubud center are at a walkable distance. Staff is helpful.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    5.4
    Wouldn’t stay again but can see why people do
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Felt very unclean, they don’t clean the sheets just remake the beds constantly, got food/water poisoning whilst I stayed in the hostel ( I didn’t eat anywhere else)

    The staff were very nice and inclusive with the games and events they put on throughout the week.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2019

    10
    The sleeping pods are great to have some privacy and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms are tiny and shared with two dorms.

    The sleeping pods are great to have some privacy and the lockers big enough for any luggage. The whole resort offers nice spaces to hang out with the two pools, the food in the restaurant was also really good. Especially enjoyed the free yoga classes!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2019

    4.6
    Staff was very friendly and the pool area was very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very dingy and the toilets even worse. No hot water too, and when I told the staff about it they insisted that there was hot water even though I had just stepped out the shower 10 minutes ago.

    Staff was very friendly and the pool area was very nice!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2019

    8.3
    Great value for money, centrally located but quieter area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quality of showers could have been better. Quality of food in the restaurant was not great to be honnest.

    Very comfy sleeping pods. Free yoga class in the morning was great.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    9.6
    Yoga and great pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing hostel, nothing to complain

    Free yoga classes everday on rooftop, amazing pool, good bar, i stayed in week days but i saw that in the weekends they have some activities for socialize the guests, great hostel in Ubud.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    10
    The food there was lovely, the staff were so so friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't a single thing I didn't like

    The food there was lovely, the staff were so so friendly and everything about the place was just awesome! Really nice pool too!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2019

    9.6
    If you want to stay in a lively yet peaceful place in Ubud...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you want to stay in a lively yet peaceful place in Ubud this is the best place to be 😊 it is near the Ubud centre so you have easy access to everything just by walk. This place has really good vibes. I will be here again

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2019

    7.5
    The staff were lovely and very accommodating, the beds get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathrooms need cleaning more regularly through the day, the showers are not particularly clean and there are approx. 24 people sharing 3 showers a day which isn’t good. The power of the showers vary significantly and they’re not particularly warm. The breakfast isn’t amazing either as the egg on toast was cold most days and there was no butter with the bread or any condiments on the table to be able to add salt and pepper etc.

    The staff were lovely and very accommodating, the beds get cleaned and the towels changed every day, there are two pools that you can use and there is the chance for free yoga in a morning and there are evening activities that you can join in on. The WiFi is also very good. The beds are comfy. It is very close to the centre of town as well but not on the Main Street so it is still quiet at night. overall I enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    7.1
    Very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old furniture. The door to the dorm is very loud. The toilet cabins are so small, you cant even close the door when you are inside. Sitting down on toilet not possible for large persons. Take your poop with open door.

    Very nice staff. Bbq evening. Nice pool.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    6.3
    Good location, ok place, fare price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness of the pool and bathroom

    Pillow inn is close to busy street but remote enough to actually be calm at night. Many restaurants and bar around. Restaurant of Pillow inn is affordable and good. Not worth it for breakfast though. People at the front desk are very helpful and nice. The dorm is pretty clean and the lockers are big enough to put your backpack. The bathroom though... the toilet stall itself is ok if you have low standarts but so small, you almost have to climb the toilet to close the door. The pool seems a good idea in 38 degree Ubud, but the water is actually green and you cannot see the bottom.. don’t forget your insect repellent cause it litterally is BY the ricefield and many mosquitos at night. Think to book a small dorm or private room if you are a light sleeper, one of the biggest attraction is a hike starting at 3 AM and when half the dorm gets ready for it.. Fine for the price

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    8.3
    Chill vibe, cool people and good space
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner and better maintained. They smell differently that usual, also the towels were not properly washed

    Chill vibe, cool people and good space

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    9.6
    Staff re so kind and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom and toilet re not clean as much. Bed is nice.

    Staff re so kind and friendly. They help me a lot even meet polices in Ubud. So I booked 4 days to stay in there. It's awesome place

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    10
    Beautiful hostel with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That I couldn’t stay longer!

    The staff were so friendly and even came on a night out with us which was very fun! I left some clothes and they helped me get them to padang Bai while I was in Gili T AMAZING. I recommend this to anyone the yoga, pool, food was all fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    10
    Blew away my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast portion sizes aren't always consistent.

    The staff are really friendly and will help you organize anything you need. Regular organized activities. Good, clean facilities and beds. Sheets are changed and towels replaced daily. Super chill vibe and great pool at the restaurant :)

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    9.6
    friendly staff, clean dorms, good bar area, pool available,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the pool near the dorms is not that clean but one near the bar is so it wasn’t that much of a problem.

    friendly staff, clean dorms, good bar area, pool available, good tours available, great location, free water, kitchen area, very social and has lots of activities all week. scooters available for rent.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    10
    This place is perfect for everyone who are planning to visit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place is perfect for everyone who are planning to visit Ubud. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Whole environment is super chill and clean. And also the restuarant Blablabla offers different kind of foods that are very delicious. I definately come back here when I visit Bali again.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    9.2
    Best place to enjoy Ubud
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no real common kitchen, but at least a fridge and a sink you can use and that’s more than most hostels in Ubud offer. Water is for free and you can enjoy a good (and quite cheap) breakfast and great food at the restaurant.

    Pillow Inn is next to Jalan Bisma, one of the best streets in Ubud with nice restaurants, shops, and massage places. It‘s lively but not busy and not too loud. The hostel is a 2 minute walk away from the street next to a rice field and the forest, which makes it quiet and idyllic. One of Ubud‘s main streets, the center and several attractions are within walking distance. The staff and especially the host Julia are super friendly, helpful and welcoming. They will tell you everything you need to know to have a great time in Ubud and Bali and will be happy to organize a scooter and day trips for you. Almost every day there is an event at night or you can just hang out by the pool bar or at the roof top terrasse, make new friends and have a great time. The beds are comfortable and you get a bit of privacy by closing the curtain. There is a big locker for all your belongings under every bed and a power outlet to charge your phone over night right next to you. You will get a good night’s sleep because silence after 11pm is a strict rule. (There are places to continue partying closeby) There are more than enough showers and toilets and they get cleaned more than once a day. Getting your laundry done i cheap and quick. In my opinion this is the best place to arrive to in Bali and stay for a couple of nights or a week and then decide if you want explore the rest of the island or just stay in beautiful Ubud forever!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    10
    Perfect example of how a good hostel should be!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect example of how a good hostel should be! This hostel is absolutely superb, the staff are friendly, helpful, full of local knowledge and go the extra mile (thanks Julia!). Room are spacious and cleaned daily, large lockers for bigger backpacks, breakfast is good in blablabla restaurant. Very sociable hostel, I stayed for 3 nights and it’s a great place if you are looking to make new friends and spend most of the time discovering around.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    6.3
    The staff arranged the bed and provide a new towel everyday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is definitely a bit far away from Ubud market where most of the restaurants and places are located there. The shower facilities definitely could be much more better.

    The staff arranged the bed and provide a new towel everyday.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    10
    Really good hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really good hostel! Clean rooms. Every day free yoga on the rooftop. Cute restaurant next to the pool with good food. So if you don’t wanna go out they have everything what you need;) Really friendly staff. They helped me with everything. Even with my card that was stuck in the ATM. And especially Julia! (Good name btw) Julia knows everything about Ubud! Restaurants, things to do etc. Ask her anything, she will help you out!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    10
    My stay here at the Pillow Inn was exceptional, to the point...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My stay here at the Pillow Inn was exceptional, to the point where I extended my stay not once, but twice! All of the staff was so friendly and referred to me by name from my first day. Julius, a volunteer at the hostel actually taught me to ride a scooter out of his own time and even took us on daily tours to different locations by scooter. Taofan, another member of staff I also found to be outstanding. He was so friendly, genuine and talented in many ways from his photography, to his singing and guitar playing. Oys served me at the bar/restaurant a number of times and was so professional, always smiling and happy to help. The last member of staff to particularly stand out was Julia, the manager of the hostel. She was always there to speak to and ask for advice/information about anything and overall seems to have done a fantastic job overseeing the hostel. I loved the fact I could relax in my own company in the capsule bed when I needed to but could always join in with everybody else as there was always some kind of event happening whether it be a barbecue/live music/beer pong/movie night on the terrace. It’s from everybody’s hard work that made my stay at this hostel something that I will never forget and I hope to return in the next few upcoming years.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    9.2
    perfectly for networking and getting in touch with people that also travel (alone)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a "air-refresher" in every room that is spraying every half an hour. This can't be healthy. I visited in offseason and the rooms have been half full. I don't know how it is with more people but during the time I stayed, I guess it wasn't necessary to turn this thing on.

    The pool was great. Also the public area to stay and talk to other people. The exterior concept is working well. Everything is clean and the Hostel is next to a ricefield which remembers you still being in Bali with almost western standarts. The staff is doing events like beerpong or yoga where you can get in touch with others. BUT it is not a Party-Hostel! So there are rules for swimming and making noise (we got remembered of this) that is working well -> positiv! You can rent a scooter for your trips in the hostel.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi (in the rooms) is a little bit unpredictable. However, it's Bali, and it is 99.9% likely that you are on holiday, so take the opportunity to take a dip in the swimming pool and chill when the WiFi gets slow 😀

    The place is oozing with good vibes. The friendly staff, specially Julia, the manager, will immediately make you feel at home. Definitely coming back if I ever happen to be in Ubud!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    9.2
    You’ll meet a lot of nice people there and if you like yoga,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You’ll meet a lot of nice people there and if you like yoga, delicious food and good vibes, you’ll love the place. The location is really good and close to the main road.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    8.3
    It a very social hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Every 5 minutes a spray will go off in the dorm and the airco was super cold. I had to grab my towel at night.

    It a very social hostel. You will meet people right away. It was so nice they organized a Christmas dinner

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    8.3
    Great Hospitality, Very Nice Front Desk Staff. Good Swimming Pools and Great Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Upper Tier beds in the dormitories are way too high and its fairly inconvenient to climb up and down every time.

    Amazing Hospitality - the front desk staff and particularly this girl, Atik who helped me with the check-in was extremely warm and helpful. Atik also suggested me a nice spa near the hostel. Atik also shared a charging adapter with me and also gave me a fresh dormitory when I said the upper tier bunk beds were way too high for me. Their hotel staff also helped me with guidance on booking tickets for Gili Trawangan. The Hostel has Two Swimming Pools and the main one is really good, it faces some of the rice fields which Ubud is famous for.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    7.9
    The have a cool place to chill at the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The music was very loud at the pool Breakfast wasnt thats good, also small Amount.

    The have a cool place to chill at the pool. Cool stuff to do almost everyday like yoga in the morning, beerpong or bbq. Def. Recommanding

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    7.9
    Beds were really comfortable and the capsule style was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms could do with more frequent cleaning!

    Beds were really comfortable and the capsule style was decent for a proper sleep! Bar/pool area is really nice too. Good location for main street, yoga every morning and staff were nice and smiley!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    10
    Social hostel with great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was delicious and beautifully served but the portion could have been bigger

    I liked the double pool set up and roof top bar which is really nice for the morning yoga classes. Water refill bottles are all over the hostel which makes it so comfortable. And talking about the comfort - the beds are really good, I had a really good night sleep. Pool area is good for meeting people so overall I would recommend this hostel ☺ Och and let's not forget Lithuanian girl Julia who makes sure everyone around has a great time!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2018

    9.6
    The localization, the living areas, the kindness of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was poor for the price asked for it, and there were restaurants asking for cheaper prices for better meals near the hostel.

    The localization, the living areas, the kindness of the staff. The fare prices on the rental of motorbikes. The yoga classes on the roof top. I would absolutely recommend this hostel, specially for lone travellers. During my stay in Bali, I'd enjoyed it so much that I returned to it for a second stay in Ubud.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    10
    I absolutely loved staying at Pillow Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I absolutely loved staying at Pillow Inn. Unforgivably I only stayed for one night, but I kept coming back as the staff and the location is just amazing! The food is also delicious. When/if I come back to Ubud, I will for sure book all my nights at this hostel. Super bummed I didn’t this time around.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    10
    We were close to everything, amazing staff, loved the hot outdoor shower, so clean and cosy 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sometimes a few small bugs go in the room. We need to keep the doors closed. One of the doors was a bit hard to open but it was fine.

    The fan and aircon were powerful which made the room a very comfortable temperature

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    10
    Best and cleanest Hostel I have ever stayed at
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was so great. It was my second stay that month. Cleanest hostel I have ever stayed in and the staff are fantastic. Great facilities and will definitely go back again and again. You can't go wrong at Pillow Inn !!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    9.2
    Great Hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great Hostel! Staff Julija was very friendly and helpful. She gave me a lot of recommendations what to do around Ubud and in Bali. I had an awesome stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable beds, clean rooms, good location, friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms were a bit smelly because of lack of ventilation, but nothing unbearable.

    Comfortable beds, clean rooms, good location, friendly staff and a nice restaurant located on property along with two pools. They also do laundry on site for a good price.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    10
    Feels like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I love that place! So after comfortable sleep in the dormitory, I did yoga on the roof top with very nice and professional yoga teacher! Yoga here everyday! After with another yogis I had tasty breakfast on the blabla la cafe, which is the part of hostel. Stuff is super kind and open for all your needs. I adore music which is playing there...super new, fresh and shazamic! All my day I didn't want to go out of the hostel, because people there were super interesting and we had fun in the swimming pool:making photoes,Charing, eating together. The rice field near the hostel is super green and makes me feel so peaceful! I love that place! I was feeling like at home 😊 I have got all recommendation I needed from stuff there and in the evening time I was playing beer pinpong with my new friends there. Events are happening here every second night. Games, barbeques,girls night and etc. I highly recommend YOU TO COME HERE 🌺 SAY hello to the manager named Julia from Veronika :) love her smile!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    7.1
    The pools, the look, the friendly staff, the cafe has...
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Aircon in dorms doesnt feel like it works, the doors to the rooms dont lock and a guy came In during the night and then confused said he had the wrong dorm and the other girls said yes he did. The toilet cubicals are tiny as the doorway goes inwards and not alot of space to stand to close the door. The water ran out at night in bathrooms so we couldnt shower or wash hands at night or morning, staff were told about it but not sure how long it takes to fix as i was only there1 night. Didnt know if they had wifi as staff didnt tell me

    The pools, the look, the friendly staff, the cafe has delicious food at great prices. The beds and rooms and clean and they provide a lock for you in dorm and a decent sized space for suitcase.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    7.9
    This hostel was within walking distance to the major areas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Previous reviews about the bathrooms are valid - they smelled quite bad and were worn down - newer bathrooms would be a good improvement! The shower also did get stopped up and there is very little room to move within the toilet stalls. The the main light in the room also stayed on all night and I didn’t see a way to turn it off, so I’d advise a sleeping mask since the screens are see-through. The pool was slightly green, but nothing that would have deterred me from swimming in it.

    This hostel was within walking distance to the major areas (I’d say about 10 to 15 minutes) and was close to lots of small eateries and an atm! Everyone was so nice and helpful, my room was on the bottom floor so i had a great outdoor sitting area with hammocks :) it must have been slow because on my second night there was only one other person in my room, so that was a good surprise! Breakfast was tasty, though small, and they have different choice each day. I ate on Wednesday and had the choice between fried egg on toast with a corn fritter or ricotta pancakes. There are a lot of stairs here, so be warned - but the common areas are done up nicely and kept clean. The front desk helps arrange so much more than I thought they would, I unfortunately didn’t have time to take advantage of it. There are 12 beds to a room and the mattress is not soft and squishy, but was comfortable! I like that here was a lock box and outlet next to the bed with extra room for belongings. Also, free drinking water which is a HUGE plus. No Bali Belly!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    5.4
    Bad experience...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hostel is comparatively much expensive than other hostels nearby and if you just add few extra money you will find a nice guest house nearby, one room with large size bed or two single beds. I told one staff that I need few extra hours to check out and they told I can get it free if no guest comes within that time and I have to pay fifty percent if any guest comes. Then I asked again that if any guest doesn't come before I check out then I don't have to pay and that person told yes, only if any guest comes then I have to pay. Later I found no guest came there but still I had to pay fifty percent of the rent as I checked out at 4.00pm. I asked them to consider it and make it less but they didn't. It was not far, if they told it before, I would packed my luggage and kept that outside room before 1.00 pm. I saw there was many empty beds in the room I stayed, so I didn't worry about any guests come and find no bed if I check out late. At ground floor rooms are full of bad smell and also the outside. Very tiny bathrooms and basins. The breakfast is very little.

    There were two swimming pools, nice surrounding, good environment.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    Really cool and calming place.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet cabins were really small

    Really cool and calming place. Great location, near the monkey forest and the market. The staff were really friendly and rooms were clean. You can make new friends easily. I loved all the green around the property, specially the one next to the pool. Great value of money.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    4.6
    Location is good, pool is nice but not clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower bathroom very old and very dirty, sometimes no hot water, toilets very little, beds very old and pillow dirty everywhere girl hairs :( some bedbugs... and reception always ask ‘show me the bracelets’.

    Location is good, pool is nice but not clean. Breakfast is very very good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    10
    Amazing Place, Vibe, Food and People :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was nothing

    A really good Hostel with amazing vibes! The dorms and the bathroom was really clean. The pool area is super nice and it is really easy to meet new people. The location was also nice and it is close to all the places in and out of Ubud. 10/10

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    I LOVE PILLOW INN UBUD
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My dream is live forever in Pillow Inn Ubud!!! Friendly staffs, super clean rooms, pool and bedrooms! Julia the manager is a excellent person and super profissional! Amazing times!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Great time!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was most amazing experience about hostels for me! all things perfect!!! Julia the manager is a incredible professional, doing a excellent work!!! Thank you so much Julia and Time Pillow Inn

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great. Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, good yoga, amazing staff and nice fellow guests. Loved every minute here. The extra pool by the restaurant is like heaven.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    7.5
    Good location and social
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really small bathrooms which take some acrobatics to enter and exit. The breakfast was fancy, but too little (more with less luxury would be better).

    Good location and social

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.6
    The staff are the kindest most sweetest people I've seen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The curtains on the dorm beds are too transparent so they don't block any light in the morning. Although that's such a small detail that doesn't ruin the overall experience. This is by far the best hotel I've stayed in.

    The staff are the kindest most sweetest people I've seen. First night we were there we went just for the mount Batur tour so we arrived late at night and we had just a couple of hours to kill until pickup for the sunrise trekking, so we didn't book the night as we wouldn't stay there the next night. So they let us stay at the pool beds and even brought us blankets. xo Also the new swimming pool and new restaurant are incredibly cool, well decorated and so amazing to chill out, they always have a different activity in the evening and free yoga class in the morning is a plus. And one of the most distinctive aspects I had never seen in a hostel before is the position of Julia and Ilonka, two incredible girls that work there and they basically chat with everyone and find the connecting points that you might have with other guests at the hostel, so even if your a shy person it's so easy to meet people there.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.2
    Quiet new hostel, nice people there, cool staff, free yoga...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quiet new hostel, nice people there, cool staff, free yoga class (unfortunately I could not join), good breakfast, nice new restaurant / bar with pool, different activities like yoga, movie night, etc. Would definitely stay again there

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    10
    Definitely the best hostel in Ubud!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Definitely the best hostel in Ubud! Amazing atmosphere, very friendly and polite staffs. Rooms and bathrooms super clean all the time. Every day the hostel offers different activities for the guests. Enjoy the delicious breakfast in front of the most charming pool in Ubud I will definitely book again in my next time ❤️

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    6.7
    It looked great and was very good for meeting new people,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hygiene wasn’t great one bed even had bed bugs. It was very noisy, construction works everywhere, couldn’t even relax by the pool. bbq wasn’t good, definitely not worth the money.

    It looked great and was very good for meeting new people, the yoga teachers were awesome

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    8.8
    Nice hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dorms were a bit large (like 12 beds per dorm) tiny toilets, taxi mafia in the street. Expensive for private room.

    Great hostel atmosphere wise, clean, just opened a second pool and bar.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    10
    A win for Pillow inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Each bed has a private locker for personal belongings and for your luggage. Rooms are cleaned daily. Staff are fantastic. Breakfast is fast and good. Nice quite location but walking distance from the way to crowded centre. Great pools and very good vibes.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    9.6
    I was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Best hostel in my entire life !! Beyond my expectations !! Lovely place ! Lovely people ! Made a lot of new friends ! It was a great experience for me ! Love from Bangladesh ❤️

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    8.8
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They offer a BBQ which is the worst I ever had: like 7 fries and a cold cheeseburger. The free drinks one hour before the 'BBQ' weren't good either. Also, the beds are okay but the curtain before the bed is white and you can see through them, which means there is a lot light in the room when the sun is up and when other people turn on the light.

    It's a nice place to go and you can easily meet new people. It's a chill place to hang out at day or at night. They recently opened a new pool and they are still working on a restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!