Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pita Maha Resort & Spa 5 stars

Jalan Sanggingan, 80571 Ubud, Indonesia

#76 of 235 hotels in Ubud

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 124 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful relaxing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing!

    We arrived 1 day before without notice because of lack of connection. We had a booking for the pool villa for 6 days. Since the only room available was the villa spa, they gave us an upgrade for 2 days at the same rate of our booking!. Both the villas were amazing: both with every comfort and exactly as you see them in photos! The spa villa had as a plus 2 jacuzzi and a wide private pool with jungle sight! They have a wide choice of breakfast menu (we changed it every day and never took one twice) and the food was really good, both for indonesian and foreing recipes (but I preferred the local ones!). Taxi service to/from the city center (museum puri lukisan) at fixed hours, and for the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    The property located adjacent to central Ubud, and the view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the villa could be improved to it will be brighter, and the food selection & quality on breakfast should be improved to stay at the 5 stars standard.

    The property located adjacent to central Ubud, and the view is fantastic, blending nature with perfect design. Although the property is not new, it is very well maintained and clean, and all functioned well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    It definitely worths to visit this Heaven on the Earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was asking for floating breakfast to my villa's pool and was refused. ıt was available only in main pool. Of course I got it, but it would be more beautiful to have it at my own villa.

    I had the best villa with a biggest pool and it was just breathetaking. You really feel like u r in the Heaven. It's so serene, calm n surrounded by the nature. u can easely unify with Mother Nature

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful spa villa with private pool, jacuzzi and sauna,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Spa Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort was not very clean.. they do not take the dirty towels in each day. The breakfast takes to long, the choices are not many . Avoid to do a massage there

    Beautiful spa villa with private pool, jacuzzi and sauna, really amazing, facing the forest and the river. Very quiet and relaxing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    It was probably the best hotel/villa that we’ve ever...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - One Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was probably the best hotel/villa that we’ve ever stayed in! From arrival to departure we’ve been treated like royalty! Fantastic location, surroundings, nature. Staff are exceptional, everyone so charming, friendly and willing to go an extra mile to make you feel welcome and comfortable! We loved it, and if we’re coming back to Bali, we would definitely stay here again! Thank you so much for fantastic experience! ❤️

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    The paradise on earth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The paradise on earth! Everything was perfect. We recommend to try the candle diner in the villa - was very special! Very good breakfest and cleen pools. And the SPA is 5+ stars ... the Inner Beauty ritual took me into the heaven!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    3 star attempting 5 star... Overpriced, old-fashioned BUT attentive, caring staff and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms felt very old and smelt very musty. On our last night we went to sleep in damp sheets.... we weren’t sure if this was humidity or they had been put on still damp. I ordered a mixed veg omelette at breakfast and specifically said ‘no meat’ but was served my omelette with some sort of sausage. We appreciate that the movie on the bbq night was supposed to be an insight into Ubud life in the past.... whilst we have great respect for culture and enjoying the heritage of a new place, however the 2 hour YouTube clip took away the natural ambience of a we felt like the atmosphere was very awkward and strange. Guests were not given the opportunity to mingle and felt obliged to sit silently watching the movie. You can tell they’re trying to be 5 Star (and good on them for that!) but they’re far from it (I feel bad saying it because the staff are so great but the resort just isn’t up to standards).

    Enthusiastic and friendly staff and a great location. Beautiful views. Complimentary breakfast box the day we were leaving was lovely. The breakfast was pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    3.3
    Dirty..dirty and full of insects!Old villa with almost no facilities are working. Value for Money=00
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Spa Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We was staying in the best villa of the resort (Villa Spa). The villa was old which was not updated; full of insects (specially ants) inside the room even in the bed sheets and toilets! I found a cockroach at the morning on the towels in toilet. A/C was not working very well during day time (maximum temp it can reach down was 25 degree Celsius; I called three times for repairing, but finally no result and the hotel just answered that AC does not have any problem and it is because of hot weather during day time (!!!). Jacuzzi just worked at the first day and the other days its water was even colder than pool! Wet Sauna is not working and it was full of dirty and insect. Room cleaning was worse and they even did not change our used towels. No complimentary black tea in the room; just flovered tea and low quality coffee and cream.

    Location (almost close to Ubud center, 2km); great View (in heart of forest); Quiet room with the sound of the nature.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Delicious breakfast, amazing views, helpful staff, beautiful rooms and great location. Highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    A serene experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like. Pita Maha is heaven!

    This was our third visit to Pita Maha. Beautiful tropical garden hillside setting. Gorgeous villas. Staff and service outstanding. Absolute serenity. We will be back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Tropical paradise with heavenly views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First, there was no reply to my email asking about transfers sent two days before so we had to arrange and pay for our own, even though they are supposed to be included. Second, the huge and gorgeous villa had no shelves or accessible drawers to unpack your clothes. Lots of hanging space. Just no shelves or drawers other than a couple at ground level. Third, the room didn't have a table inside. There was a small dressing table but that was not suitable for eating or working. There is a table outside but once the sun sets then the mozzies come out making it not very useable. Last, the mattress and pillows were very firm. For many guests this may be a positive, but for us I like a bit more softness.

    Great food, most staff very warm. But the views across the valley are just perfect. The weather was a little chilly to make the most of the private pool though so I'd only recommend that during the hot months. The villa is gorgeously decorated and designed, lots of traditional features. It's very quiet location with the villas being up to 5 minutes walk from reception. Ours was down about 20 steps so ask for a high villa if you don't like steps. None seemed wheelchair accessible. The location was about 15 -20 minutes walk to to Ubud, mostly downhill, and the hotel provides free shuttles about six times a day but the street taxis are only RUP 50,000 which is easier. We did the in hotel cooking class with the executive chef which was wonderful and prices the same as most of the ones in town, but was just the two of us. Some of Bali's top restaurants are in the area including Bridges and Mosaicmso the location is great for a foodie as well!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Wondertful villa, wouldn't stay anywhere else in ubud
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Duplex Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit hard for my personal taste. Didn't bother me but lots of steps and steep access areas which some people would need to take into consideration. Not many good dining options within walking distance

    Staff went above and beyond. Wonderful boutique experience. Beautiful views from all areas of the property.. very spacious room with large private pool. Free and regular shuttle into ubud centre

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Beautiful place with terrific staff who were very attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - One Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place with terrific staff who were very attentive. Included a la carte breakfast was very good and we ate very well with no issues. I am a nervous traveller but highly recommend this place and their food. Thank you to the staff at Pita Maha Resort for looking after us. Honeymooners from Melbourne Aus/Santiago Chile.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff and helpful, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Spa Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor issue bathroom need update, some maintenance outdoor facilities in the villa, other than that I had a wonderful time

    I booked the villa spa and it was the right choice, huge infinity pool very relaxing and amazing view of the forest and river, private suna, outside private spa I booked a massage and it was amazing experience in outdoor near the private pool, friendly and helpful staff, great value for money and good food.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    You will NOT regret staying here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that would have made our stay a bit better would have been food portions. Not that we were hungry; but, value for our money. Although, the food was delicious and very well appointed on our plates! Always gorgeous to look at!

    Not only are you engulfed with the most beautiful surroundings; but, the staff treat you like royalty! From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, your comfort is top priority to the staff at the Pita Maha! The Villa was extraordinary! The privacy of it made our vacation the pillar of relaxation! Both, my husband and I agree that we will likely never experience this level of luxury again in our lifetime! It's a fair jaunt from the beaches; but, you can arrange a driver through the resort. Ubud is a very central location to take part in SO many excursions! The backdrop of Ubud makes the stay worth the jaunt to the beach when you want a change! It is STUNNING in Ubud!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - One Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pita Maha was in the perfect location, nestled in the heart of Ubud and the hourly shuttle service offered meant that the restaurants, shops and points of interest were only a few minutes walk away. The staff and service were great and everyone was extremely helpful. The rooms were private and quiet, perfect to retreat to after a busy day.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    Best of the Best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    For the final part of our honeymoon trip to Bali we stayed in the magnificent Pita Maha hotel in Ubud. This hotel oozes class. From the moment that you are greeted at the hotel you know you are in a top quality establishment. After being taken to our fantastic room we were shown where everything was and how to use the safe. I still managed to make a backside of it though and locked all my money in the safe and couldn't open the damn thing. Reception sent a chap down to fix it for me immediately. Turns out he was also the chef - and a damn fine one too I might add. Great to see some multitasking in a 5 Star resort. This sort of thing is very common in the hotel. The first day that we went for afternoon tea a friendly chap took our orders. We assumed that he was a cook. Nope, he is actually number 15 in the world at flair bartending. If you don't know what this is watch Tom Cruise in Cocktail. As we were at the hotel on New Years Eve we decided to go to the Gala Dinner. This included a juggling show from the flair bartender and some mesmerising Balinese dancing. In between these performances was a 5 course dinner, which was just superb and included the best beef rendang we've ever tasted. That is high praise indeed. As part of the Gala dinner package we got a free massage, which was absolutely superb. The breakfast choices were varied and delicious. If you are lucky you might be joined for breakfast by the resident black cat 'Boy'. Boy is actually a girl though, so don't be surprised if you don't see a boaby when she rolls over. If you give Boy a bit of love she'll probably follow you back to your villa and cuddle into you. However what she really wants is food and water so if you stop by the Bintang mart you can pick up some whiskas supplies for her to achieve unconditional love. The afternoon tea was also very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    5.4
    Lots of potential but missed the mark
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty, dirty towels and not changed until asked several times, pillows dirty, air-conditioning not working and no one came to fix over 3 days, pool bar unattended made several calls for someone to come waited for over an hour and they only came down once happy hour was over, 3hr wood carving lesson only lasted 1:45 the Timber was riddled with worms so if you are from Australia you will not be able to take it home.

    Location, overall setting was beautiful, free shuttle, afternoon tea was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    5.4
    3* hotel, not 5
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a 3* hotel, not 5! This is not a personal opinion, the management told us. The rooms are dirty, there are lizard droppings everywhere (including the bed) which have not been cleaned for a while. The bed in the normal room is a twin with 2 mattresses and a wooden piece in between. It kills your back. The hotel is VERY old. It is scruffy and needs a very good clean. It is overpriced for 3*. It's dirty and unpleasant to stay at.

    The staff were amazing!! We had a few issues with the room and were upgraded, which we were incredibly thankful for. Staff is helpful and kind. Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    10
    Great view from every room!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keep in mind that it's a little bit outside of the center of ubud, so in that street is not so much to do. But I saw it just as a trade off with the stunning view!

    Great view from every room! I loved the traditional Balinese style and the natural atmosphere in between thousands of tropical plants. The breakfast was fantastic and big portioned. The infinity pool is a dream. Have been there twice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    9.2
    An Experience of Nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Spa Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The stay was too short....have to plan a longer trip next time :)

    Close to Nature, Green and Exciting. We people living in cities can really experience the simple, natural and relaxing way to stay. Very kind and courteous hosts, Bali and Pita Maha will make this an experience to remember.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    9.6
    Dream-days in Ubud!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We recommend to change the matresses as they were not too comfortable.

    The Pita Maha Resort is really where you would want to stay in Ubud. It makes you feel a part of the mystical and beautiful balinese culture while offering you all comforts and the privacy you wish to relax and energize. The staff is very friendly and the view into the valley amazing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.3
    Villa pool SPA - overall, was a good staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Spa Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Price is extremely high for the services and accommodation that you receive; we live in UAE and for the half of the price payed for this villa, we get much better conditions and higher services here. - Servicing the room was poorly done, no extra towels although the villa had a spa, a sauna, a jacuzzi and an infinity pool; bath tub was not cleaned properly, room was not vacuum properly - Room was smelly due to combination of humidity and thatched roof - In order to use Jacuzzi we had to call the reception to turn it on (as there is no switch available on the jacuzzi itself) and wait couple of hours to be filled - The mattreses for the sun beds dissapeared after one rainy night, never replaced till the end of the accomodation - On the SPA area which is outside (perfect for relaxation tho) there are no devices to keep the mosquitos away while you receive your massage, both, us and the staff were eaten alive - Price of the services inside the villa vs quality is quite high, plus be aware of the extra taxes that are not included in the displayed price ( was our mistake, as we come from a tax free country where any additional fees are included in the price that you see, and we`ve took it for granted ) - Dont plan to make a surprise as it will be spoiled by the staff although you mentioned that this is a birthday gift :)

    - Staff is very kind and welcoming, although they`ve messed up the checkout dates and they dont have the sense of complicity when you try to plan a surprise for your partner, however their way of acknowledge their mistakes shows how humble, simple and kind they are which is an honorable thing and we`ve appreciate this. - Location of the resort is 10++ - Restaurants area have amazing views for breakfast / launch or dinner. - Architecture of the place is mystique and the villas are placed in such way that you have total intimacy - Breakfast was amazing, loved their welcoming tea - Own infinity pool in the villa - Perfect for family and couples that wants only to relax and enjoy the facility Overall, was a nice experience and the negative things are coming from the standard differences due to expectations and comparisons.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Relaxing, beautiful, private.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    western breakfasts weren't amazing but indonesia and balinese food all great. Complimentary afternoon tea was always interesting and delicious local fare

    beautiful setting, quiet, relaxing atmosphere, lovely pool, very private individual villas, friendly staff, great restaurants, spas, motorbike hire all within short walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    8.8
    fabulous location and spacious place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    most staff were super friendly but we found it a bit intense; we felt we had to engage in conversation when we actually didn't want to; the style of the resort is very authentic and spiritual Balinese which I had high expectations of enjoying but again, I just didn't. this was personal preference though as being surrounded by offerings and gods is not my thing.

    the setting in the valley; the closeness to Ubud centre; the stairs everywhere for a bit of exercise ; communal swimming pool was just beautiful; loved the quiet atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    10
    The staff were amazing and very polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing and very polite. The rooms were very clean and beautiful! These were made better with our own private pool. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    The Atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub is slippery

    The Atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous, a slice of heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private, lush green, tasteful villas

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.3
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price-looking tired around the edges for the price.

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Very for place, recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bird's crap, ants, animals in vent system

    Clean, staff, view, location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    We had a very peaceful time enjoying the views of thr Ubud surrounds from our villa and private pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not suitable for children

    The Gardens were very impressive and tranquil

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    like the heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night

    Forest scenery surrownding hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    comfortable, tranquil, excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    tranquil

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    The staff were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism was that the beer at dinner needed to be chilled more.

    The staff were fantastic. The attention to detail could not be faulted

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Duplex Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    food ok but nothing special

    amazing staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    It's so beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Best Deal - One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's so beautiful place! Cool hotel with cool view. Perfect service. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    8.8
    Very nice view and beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Duplex Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms weren't ready on arrival

    Very nice view and beautiful place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.2
    Simply amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location and hotel grounds; feels like paradise;super helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    Staff is out of this world nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Spa Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is out of this world nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    my favorite private escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool watefall did not work at night, a separate isolator switch allowing a night time swim would have been good.

    excellent food, great service.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.6
    Romantic hotel and Swimming in the Jungle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location and views from the great pools (infinity pools)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Ideal Ubud hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Early Booker Hot Deal - One Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb hotel wonderful service. 'Brilliant location. My 4th stay it never disappoints.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    10
    Everything was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was awesome. Friendly staff, awesome and romantic room, situation from Ubud center, diversity and quality of services,

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    10
    My God the premises are magical, carved in in the mountain...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing negative about this place. it is absolute heaven.

    My God the premises are magical, carved in in the mountain and with breathtaking view, the villas are superb and dwarf anything you've ever slept in but what is even better is the staff. Professional and welcoming these people are full of heart!!

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.6
    really calm area to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    need sometimes some moskito spray (we had it). all other things okay.

    really calm area to relax. Nice sightseeing of rice-fields with farmers in few (2km) distance. free shuttle-bus to Ubud downtown every hour from 9:00 to 21:00. extremly friendly and well-trained personal. very large pool garden villa in best location. high-standard food (breakfast served, more than enough) and pool lunch and dinner with reasonable prices and good quality, but need time due to freshly cooked.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    10
    Overall experience was wonderful/ perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Maybe also a whirlpool next to the main swimming pool for the late evening. Definitely a better shower at the bungalow. But that is complaint on a very high level.

    Overall experience was wonderful/ perfect! There are only bungalows, great size, enough space! The breakfast was great as well, but no buffet (in case you want that). The pool has a great wide and open view of the valley.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    7.1
    Nice infinity swimming people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Generally didnt feel very welcome, may be a resort for Pitamahas/older people.The lady who received me and the young fellow who showed me the room were nice though, the rest needs to may be loosen up.

    Nice infinity swimming people

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    10
    Personable, efficient, attentive staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mosquito control, more efficient A/C

    Personable, efficient, attentive staff; Exotic resort with spacious, beautifully appointed villas including private pool; comfortable airport transfers; well maintained grounds; excellent housekeeping

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    Amazingly tranquil setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Amazingly tranquil setting. Felt like a step back in time. Luxury mixed with an ancient feel. Beautiful setting only minutes from the ubid town by free shuttle. Wpuld higly recommend this place. Pool villa was fantastic. So private and relaxing. The whole resort was very quiet and peaceful and lush green vegetation and rustic stone surrounds. Staff were extremely helpful, polite and friendly. Swrvice was excellent. All day breakfast with a beautiful view of green valley and pool.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    9.2
    Location, amazing nature around, amneties in villa, transfer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a la carte breakfest - artificial juices in morning, spa too expensive in hotel

    Location, amazing nature around, amneties in villa, transfer to villa, shuttle to Ubud

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    7.1
    Great location, amazing infinity pool, romantic, staff truly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1.Room was somewhat dated and in need of renovation (admittedly so according to staff) 2.Not modern, but that's not necessarily a bad thing, as it is quite colonial we had mixed feelings about it. 3. Breakfast is good for a couple of days then it gets bit boring, not 100pct sure if juices were fresh? 4. Would welcome to have staff help to navigate 'touristy deals': example: rafting trip was offered by the hotel at $80 per head. We ended up calling around and did it for $60 for 2 people do $30 each.....

    Great location, amazing infinity pool, romantic, staff truly makes their best effort to be welcoming and attentive. Would I recommend? Not sure. I liked it better than the viceroy which we also visited.... But still not really as nice as I was hoping. Mixed feelings. Would look more around if I were you.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    8.3
    The staff were fantastic and the view is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast - for the price we were expecting a buffet breakfast. The beds were not very comfortable. The upstairs verandah in our deluxe pool villa only had a low table and cushions - not very comfortable and it would have been nice to sit up there with the view

    The staff were fantastic and the view is amazing. It is a beautiful hotel. The main pool is especially nice and it's only a few minutes by car into Central Ubud. The moment you enter the hotel the busy outside world ceases to exist.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    10
    We had a fantastic stay at Pita Maha in Ubud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a fantastic stay at Pita Maha in Ubud. We stayed here 4 days during our honeymoon and it was great! The rooms are gorgeous and very very spacious. The outdoor shower is amazing, I want one at home! The hotel itself is on a mountainside with breathtaking views. Complimentary breakfast each morning was very good! Balinese people are some of the nicest in the world and the staff was no different, always smiling and sweet! There is a free shuttle that takes you right to the middle of the action in the town of Ubud. We rented mopeds from the front desk and explored in our own two different days. The front desk also offers tours. Our stay at this hotel was great, very highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    8.8
    Fabulous view and infinity pool, great staff, free shuttle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Quite updated, rooms need renovation, mosquitonet was bad and did not close properly. Same with the villas door.

    Fabulous view and infinity pool, great staff, free shuttle to the center of Ubud, lovely villa.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    6.3
    It is a beautiful hotel with a nice view to the Ubud Forest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed two nights and couldn't sleep feeling safe. There was always some noises of animals inside the room and after the first night we woke up and notice that a pack of cookies was violated and there was one missing cookie. We called the staff and been told that could possibly be a rat. We were moved to a smaller villa and been given a spa treatment but even in the other villa we could hear some noises and notice new animals feces in the room. About the staff, they are friendly but not very helpful when I tried to arrange some day trips.

    It is a beautiful hotel with a nice view to the Ubud Forest and located near some restaurants. The hotel offers a spa and a very nice pool, even when some Villas features a private pool.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    10
    Absolutely stunning resort, with break taking views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely stunning resort, with break taking views! Not a bad word to say about this place, the pool is lovely as is the villas and private pools. Staff are friendly and location is great.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    7.1
    Typical Balinese style hotel, very nice garden and infinity...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast limited for 5 star hotel we expected more choice, Most employees in the hotel are very friendly except from some of the ladies at reception/breakfast. They probably need to do some small renovations in the next years as a place like this can run down very quickly.

    Typical Balinese style hotel, very nice garden and infinity pool, very large rooms with outdoor bathroom and most have small private pool, very quiet and relaxing. Close to centre and nice restaurants. Free shuttle every hour.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.2
    the villa with garden and the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    private pool and resort pool are a bit chilly, the price is a bit high

    the villa with garden and the view. short walk or shuttle to the town, very friendly people

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    10
    Loved everything, an amazing relaxing place with staff that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, absolutely nothing

    Loved everything, an amazing relaxing place with staff that are wonderful and cant do enough for you. We stayed in a garden pool villa just the best, and the restaurant is excellent too. No complaints can not rate high enough, definitely going back. Thanks to all

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    4.2
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Facility is getting older. A tad run down especially our duplex villa. Less romantic and luxury than expected. Staff not attentice a alow service not up.to standard and price for this hotel. Would not recommentd it

    See above

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    9.6
    the staff, the pool, the location away from the main area,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing really but lot of steps so not really suitable for our 2.5yr old or 9 month old but the rest offsets this and we would go back agan.

    the staff, the pool, the location away from the main area, the shuttle bus and the staff again because they really make the stay. nice outdoor bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    10
    The villa was beautiful with wonderful view of pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The villa was beautiful with wonderful view of pool and private grounds. It was very quiet and private. The food and staff terrific .the entire property has a wonderful ambience that we look for. We had our breakfast on our private patio overlooking the pool. Simply fabulous

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    10
    I had a wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Wifi needs improvement as it kicked me off a few times- but other than that, everything was perfect!

    I had a wonderful stay! I was treated like royalty and everything exceeded my expectations. Great location- just outside the busy city centre and close to excellent restaurants. The view was breathtaking from my villa and I loved relaxing in my very own private infinity pool. Best Eggs Benedict I have ever had!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    8.8
    Great hotel in amazing place of Ubud on top of the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor breakfasts as for 5 star hotel restaurant. Prices in hotel's restaurant much bigger then in other restaurants of Ubud town.

    Great hotel in amazing place of Ubud on top of the river. Absolutely amazing villas. Great open swimming pool. Lot of spa options. Convenient shuttle service to/from Ubud town center.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    9.6
    We loved Pita Maha.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is one restaurant and it is quite 'fancy'... no real way to have a casual bite unless you leave the hotel. Fancy is nice a couple of times, but an alternative would be nice.

    We loved Pita Maha. It is simply the most beautiful place I have ever stayed, and the attention to detail in the grounds and accommodation were unbeatable. Would love to go back.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    7.1
    The staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi is not acceptable for this class of hotel....the cleanliness of the rooms was below average.....the staff, while extremely friendly and kind, language was a real issue in understanding English....

    The staff....location and quiet...authentic Balinese experience....the property should be registered with world heritage organization....its unique and will never be duplicated....

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    10
    Rooms/houses (partly with pool) with outdoor bath, great...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms/houses (partly with pool) with outdoor bath, great architecture Garden, pool with jungle/river view & athmosphere Good location in Ubud, quiet, nice views Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    10
    Wonderful environnement and villa's.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful environnement and villa's. Quiet atmosphete, perfect to relax and re-energize! Fantastic personnel, extremely helpful and friendly. We want to mention especially The manager Jony who gave us a very good impression about life of Bali, thanks to his personel advice we had a unique vacation.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    9.6
    Spa massage, immaculate private pool with view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Spa massage, immaculate private pool with view. Outdoor shower and larg bath, staff were superb. Breakfast was perfect. Main pool is the best we've ever seen

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    8.8
    Clean and really big villas with awesome panoramic view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poorest breakfast we have by menu. Can't combine yoghurt with omelette, sousages and mushrooms, etc. No chocalate jams, danish bakery & crossaints without chocolate. And further more…

    Clean and really big villas with awesome panoramic view

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    10
    Very warmly welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Very warmly welcome! Professional staff. All wish were read from the eyes :-). We enjoyed our stay very much. For our honeymoon we got a upgrade to a private pool vila! Thanks a lot! Always a great service. The whole night we can use the public pool with a cocktail service. Perfect!

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    10
    The resort villas were beautiful, the staff were amazing,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to log into wifi every 10 mins

    The resort villas were beautiful, the staff were amazing, the grounds of the resort were clean and well kept. We were upgraded upon arrival for our stay during Nyepi and I couldn't have thought of a better place to spend a day of silence

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    10
    The staff is remarkably friendly and polite;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff is remarkably friendly and polite; they took us to a room surprising us with an upgrade to a room with private pool. The view from it was amazing. it was definitely an amazing experience; if i had to go back to ubud; i will for sure stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    10
    Great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant is very expensive.

    Great view. Villa with a private pool is good value for money. It was even unbelievable. Don't miss a chance to stay here. The pool which looks like a terrace over the valley is epic. Masseurs are very good. There's shuttle to center until late evening (like 9pm) and there's also shuttle back. There are several good restaurants around. Close to a walking path in rice fields.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    8.8
    perfect room with private plunge pool - extremely quiet and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the staff universally does not want to be there....very poor attitude overall form the reception with awkward billing process, outrageous prices for transfer and a supplement of $6 for 2 small bottles of water that require a separate tab and signature..... in addition we took a driver for the 1/2 day and ask for a very specific place to buy antique Batik pieces....of course he went to another place where he could get his commission and when we noticed it was too late for the original place....appalling attitude and when we signaled the matter to the receptionist and asking for the manger on duty we were told he was busy ...and of course never got back to be free.....

    perfect room with private plunge pool - extremely quiet and beautiful garden and large pool overlooking the river below....great room - very spacious with outdoor shower

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pita Maha Resort & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: