Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Sandi Phala Beach Resort and Ma Joly Restaurant 5 stars

Jl. Wana Segara, Bali, 80361 Kuta, Indonesia

#20 of 244 hotels in Kuta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 150 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Oasis in crazy kuta jungle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for indonesian breakfast and 1st they said it wasnt included. Asked for one kind of lobster at the restaurant and served another. The restaurant is good but not well organized.

    The bathroom is amazing! The bathtube is awesome. The ammenities from L'occitane are great! The location is perfect, doesnt even look like you're in Kuta. Close to the airport and surf outlets in sunset road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.8
    Idyllic resort in authentic Indonesian style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit outdated here and there. Maybe some thorough cleaning of the garden tiles to freshen it up.

    Everything you could wish from a beach resort was there: a pool and restaurant with a view. Beautiful beach. Free minibar, bath including soap/shampoo/conditioner. Lush garden. Service to a high standard. Location good, not in the busy part of Kuta, but walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    perfect stay for the arrival on Bali - super stuff members, very respectful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very nice quiet place to calm down. love the nicely made location. perfect pickup service from the airport. if we are coming back to Bali, defently perfect for the arrival for 2 days staying

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    There are 2 A/C
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The driver was not available whenever we needed thus we never had any transportation service but to airport Quite far from centre

    There are 2 A/C Allow me to take shower after check out for late flight. Free transportation to airport amenity is from L'Occitane Indonesian breakfast was awesome The atmosphere at the restaurant was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Great stay with nice surroundings, awesome pool, but not so good breakfast and a bit worn out rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't very satisfying. Maybe it's just us, but we didn't enjoy the selection and the way it was prepared. Location by the beach is super, but the beach itself is quite dirty. I guess that's why tourists usually stick to the pools that every hotel has. And the last thing we could think of as worth mentioning in this section is the price for the Gili Islands transfer. Every hotel and even restaurant offers to book the transfer to the port and the trip with a speedboat to the Gili Islands for you. It's no secret that in Indonesia almost every price could be divided by 3 if you are agile enough, but the best deal Sandi Phala staff could get for us was 1,2M Rupiah per person both ways. We went out on the street and in the nearest hotel could get a deal fot 600K Rupiah per person.

    Hotel definitely has this "Bali feel" and it's located right by the beach. Lots of green plants in the garden, small pathways, steps, rocks, swimming pool with a nice view. Although room was a bit outdated, it had everything in a decent order. Bathroom and shower is awesome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful room, nice big bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very dark in the room, also dark view to the garden. The staff at the reception were efficient but some of the restaurant staff were difficult to communicate with.

    Beautiful room, nice big bathroom. Breakfast very good. Other things on the menu are hit and miss. Small afternoon snacks provided - biscuits, chocolate - nice touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Excellent area beautiful view , peaceful, quite area great for a group of friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sandi Phala Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the resort had the option but didn’t asked my suggestion is to have a phone available to check out got a fee to have internet / phone capability ; massage service in the room( after a long day would be nice to have this service available)

    Loved the resort, excellent staff super helpful and friendly, great English speaking; room service super fast and delicious food; drivers from resor and the ones recommended by the resort were amazing took care of us took lots of places

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay in tropical balinese boutique resort
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit far away from Kuta center but it wasn’t disadvantage for us as we preferred something quiet. No spa in the resort.

    Beautiful, peaceful place surrounded by lush tropical gardens with a nice beach front view. Very quiet, great to relax and unwind. Traditional balinese style, spacious rooms, clean pool with fresh towels. Amazing, always smiling staff who will do their best to please their customers. Tasty, delicious and generous breakfast with views of the beach. Not busy around the pool and no kids during our stay. The most beautiful sunsets.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are so different so the booking needs to be done with care to avoid dissapointments and extra efforts.

    Mixture of traditional and modern gives a good feeling and relaxing ambiance. Very close to the beach, nice pool, quiet neighborhood. Staff is the best :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    Beauty, serenity, tranquillity & flawless service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitos were prolific.

    Loved the tranquillity and greenery. Attentive customer service. Delicious breakfast options. Enjoyed the treats left in your room as well as the extra care.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    What a great hospitality. Everything in one place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! I didn’t like the fact that we were staying here only for two nights :D

    We got married in their restaurant-Ma Joly and I would highly recommend this place as a wedding venue and also a place to stay. Lesti and the team did a great job to the next level. A great hospitality service, friendly and helpful staff. Bed and pillows are comfortable. Massive and clean bathroom. Delicious food, from breakfast, lunch and dinner. Perfect location, beautiful beach views and quite area. Get a cocktail and enjoy the sunset, so relaxing. We will be back here for sure

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    6.7
    Needs an update.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Plunge Pool and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needs an update. Our suite with pool smelt damp/stale, we were very aware of it. Which was a shame as I bet 3/4 years ago this hotel was amazing. I’d probably expect it to be a 4*. The shower head was covered in limescale and the a/c leaked over my partners makeup bag ruining plenty of it. Finally the bedsheet had bronze/red stains on it, clearly not fresh stains but still offputting.

    The staff were lovely, always trying to help. The bed was comfortable and the shower pressure was top notch. Private beach and the breakfast was probably the best we had all holiday.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    4.2
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Plunge Pool and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness, breakfast and comfort.

    In this hotel, I booked a room with a private summing pool, it was very dirty and not suitable for swimming, The breakfast system is that you order from the manu and the waiting time is too long. I personally regret staying in this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Unbelievably great visit
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its one of the nicest hotels I´ve ever been to and I would say I have been to a lot of hotels! My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights before travelling around in bali and we were so happy with the hotel. There area is wonderful, you dont feel like youre staying in central kuta because you have the beach right in front of you and no sound or view of balis traffic. I also had the pool to myself an entire afternoon and the pool is so lovely. The garden surroundings were extremely beautiful and very tastefully decorated. The hotel is probably not that adjusted to small children but is a perfect oasis for travellers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    Be treated like royalty for a m9derate price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sandi Phala Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach could have been more clean, but the hotel staff and facilities made up for that issue.

    Excellent value for the money spent! Staff went beyond expectatios, especially "Eka". I will go back in the future! Gorgeous facility!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location, however hotel is lacking atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Plunge Pool and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were functions whilst I was staying. The loud music was unbearable and impacted my time. I stayed in a pool villa in which some maintenance was lacking.

    Whilst the hotel is quite aged, the staff are lovely & the gardens are beautiful. The location is very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.4
    ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the stuff was rude, you have to request to clean the room correctly with their unfriendly attitude, but the stuff in the restaurant was friendly and nice.

    ...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    A fantastic place to stay in Kuta. Close to everything but still private and luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Plunge Pool and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is beautiful. We loved spending our afternoons by the pool, drinking cocktails and beers and eating tapas. It's is in a great location and surrounded by nice restaurants and close to the big shopping centres. The staff are all super friendly and helpful. All the meals at Ma Joly were great. We also had a romantic dinner on the beach and the food was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful rooms with amazing plunge pool, great rain shower, and comfy bed! Will stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Plunge Pool and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beach is not very nice. Dirty & coral filled, public access so not good for just laying out and enjoying the sun.

    Room was amazing with nice amenities. We arrived in late afternoon after traveling all day, and the chef at the restaurant agreed to prepare our room service orders from the lunch menu when they were already in dinner service. The gate to our room/suite/private plunge pool area had no latch & wouldn't stay closed. The beach isn't really very nice. Full of coral and lots of trash adjacent to the beach area. Very nice accommodations for last night in Bali with easy airport access. **only one real complaint--we were not offered late check out as our room was apparently booked for a new customer. The staff did offer to let us use the pool lounge showers and facilities until time to go to the airport. We left for some site-seeing & they kept the luggage, and when we returned the pool lounge was unavailable. The front desk staff opened another room to let us shower before our early evening flight. That was fine, but it seems like we could have been offered another room to accommodate the late check out which we had requested on booking & again on arrival. This is a travel destination, and guests will often have late afternoon/early evening flights. Allowing for some extra time for traveling guests will help ensure positive reviews. **The hotel driver was not available to take us to the airport, but the staff arranged for a taxi at their expense.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    5.8
    The people of the staf are very kind , but the service is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty, everything needs an urgent renovation . Bed sheets- blankets were not clean , the shower does not work.

    The people of the staf are very kind , but the service is not even close as it should be. Free driving back to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    5.4
    Customer service ZERO
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff needs to be more trained. And attentive to the needs of their guests. I asked for tea I received coffee, i asked for two toasts i received 1 everything was wrong. They are not professional at all. Not worth the money. And ive stayed in alot of 4-5 star resorts. This is not what it says it it truly isnt. Then the pool side area, no one but no comes around to ask, if we need water or a drink or anything for that matter. You pay alot of money, for a service of a 1 star hotel. Not worth the money you pay. And that is truly a fact.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    10
    An oasis of calm and tradition in Kuta.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The service was exemplary and the hotel a little oasis in the business of Kuta. Gardens were exceptional - green and lush. Airport transfers were free and excellent also

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    6.3
    Good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the hotel we stayed for a second time and can say again - it need a huge renovation: smell in the room, leaking roof in the bathroom, very poor water pressure in shower and you should wait for around 10 min for hot water. Another thing - no room service in the evening, so we couldn't have a dinner after we arrived in the late evening.

    We really love Ma Joly restaurant and come back every time we are in Bali. Nice location near the airport but in very quite place. Staff is helpful and there is free airpot transfer!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    3.8
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Plunge Pool and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    since we checked in we felt that this is not a true 5 star hotel. Bed sheets were not clean. The hotel needs a fresh paint and an upgrade to amenities. The plunge pool room was a waste of money. There is no room service 24 hrs. We stayed for one night.

    We landed quite late at night. The location of hotel is close to airport which was great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    5.8
    Uncomfortable stay with poor staff but great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Upon check in the manager bombarded us with a sales pitch trying to get us to go to a restaurant we didn't want to go to. This immediately put me off. They have their own private beach but this is open to the public and every time you go there you get accosted by the local sellers! I'm happy to support them but they literally emptied our wallets each day! Service in the hotel was poor. Breakfast service was slow and when we tried to book for dinner (one of the reasons we booked the hotel!) they left us waiting for 25 minutes and in the end told us they had no space. A weird one - each day they deliver 3 chocolates to the room, covered in cling film. Twice, we returned and the cling film was broken and one of the chocolates missing! We told the staff and they were very nonplussed about it which frankly I thought was poor as either their staff are hungry or there are animals in there helping themselves!!! The room is dark and not nice to stay in. Unfortunately the level of mosquitoes is high at the coast so we found it very difficult to relax, even sleeping under the mosquito net which the hotel provided, I was still bitten! There were cockroaches in the room which, again, isn't necessarily the hotel's fault but we didn't have this problem elsewhere in Bali. This place would be fine for a night or two but we had 4 nights and were ready to go home by the last day!

    The breakfast was lovely and the beach was stunning. You can take a nice walk along the beach into Kuta (about 30 mins) and avoid the busy road. We found out on the last day the hotel has a shuttle and they took us to the water park for free! It is really close to the aiport.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Great place to stay in Kuta Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. Everything was perfect.

    The hotel is small an cozy. The location right on the beach and within walking distance to shops, bars, restaurants in Kuta. Our room was beautifully decorated. The bed comfi. The staff at the reception as well as at the restaurant was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.6
    Worth every penny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sandi Phala Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super staff that were able to accomodate requests very fast. The attached restaurant was very impressive and picturesque. Dinner on the beach is a must if you stay there (or even if you don't). Chocolates for afternoon tea was also amazing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Junior Suite with Resort Credit
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like.

    The best thing about the stay was the food, which was amazing! Tried both breakfast, tapas lunch and dinner. All perfection. Chef Sugi is definitely not one to be missed. The Hotel has own section of beach which was beautiful and best of all very secluded. Hotel is only a short walk (perhaps 10minutes) to the main Kutenai beach and discovery mall. Pool was good size, and not too busy or overlooked which is nice. Room was comfortable and the extra drinks always kept stocked. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Picked up from airport on time and checked in quickly which was helpful as flight arrived at 1am. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was yummy, beautiful pool, and clean rooms. It fronts right to a private beach which was also amazing. There are 2 malls within walking distance and a shuttle to other places in Kuta. A little far from Seminyak, but still a great little hotel. Had a very cute courtyard and even squirrels occasionally!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    9.6
    Would definitely return and recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite with Plunge Pool and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the peace and quiet! The pool was set back so nice and private. The little extras that the hotel provided was 5 star, so attentive and helpful! We could not fault this accommodation at all.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.6
    Private pool villa is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Plunge Pool and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a decent walk from the main road and it includes walking down a dark alley - which at night can be scary. Not the hotels fault though! Beach access is lovely!

    Private pool villa is amazing!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    9.6
    Good beds, very quiet location very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Special Offer - Pool Suite with Resort Credit
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough food for the breakfasts as I don't eat eggs and my daughter does not eat red meats/ only seafood and veges. So good options were limited and very small servings

    Good beds, very quiet location very clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    Relaxing stay bevor departure to Europ.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Plunge Pool and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the location close to the airport on a quiet beach in walking distance to the busy beach area. The service after checkout waiting for the flight departure was exzellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.2
    Amazing hotel to stay in Kuta!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The breakfast was amazing! Location is close to the airport and 15mins walking to the Discovery Mall! A lot of great restaurants in the neighbourhood! The best thing about this hotel is that it is small (11 rooms!), very quiet and very beautiful. Staff were amazing!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    9.2
    Free transfer from the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Plunge Pool and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free transfer from the airport. Not far from the airport. A lot of restaurants and shopping mall nearby. Calm and tranquill place. Very big stone bathroom. Very tasty breakfasts with ocean view.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast was great, one of the best tea, coffee and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Plunge Pool and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested to move rooms due to noise in the first one.

    The breakfast was great, one of the best tea, coffee and eggs I've had in Bali.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay in Kuta
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very overpriced wine and drinks.

    Very comfy room. Amazing bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, fabulous resort, friendly staff and the best food in Bali.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Perfect holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Plunge Pool and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good kocation excellent hotel staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast at Ma Joly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small. Next time I will book the pool villa.

    Excellent breakfast at Ma Joly. Friendly staff.Beautiful gardens. General aesthetics.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Airport pickup, location at the beach, brilliant breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airport pickup, location at the beach, brilliant breakfast and afternoon tea, and warm service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Plunge Pool and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our short stay here, the suite was excellent especially the private plunge pool. Definitely would return!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    I wish I could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed and amazing shower + shower products

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Second time in this amazing resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect! Very friendly environment. Felt like being a part of a family.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.3
    the breakfast is amazing and all the crew of sandi phala is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the breakfast is amazing and all the crew of sandi phala is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    The wifi connection wasn't great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection wasn't great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony is not private because it is opened all the time.

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.6
    Close proximity to the beach, nice deep pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vegan options on menu, no business centre

    Close proximity to the beach, nice deep pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast is very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Plunge Pool and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    Would be stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Plunge Pool and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little far from any shops by walk

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.1
    Very pleasant stay with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Plumbing problems, smell from bathroom.

    Small and friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.2
    Perfect for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Plunge Pool and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At some pointime I dropped some food and stained the bed sheets but the staff didn't change it.

    The place was amazing.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    8.8
    No hot water in the toilet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in the toilet Poor flushing water in toilet seat Beach not suitable for swimming

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    2nd time there. It won't be the last.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to leave so soon. I'll be back!

    10 min away from the airport with free transport. excellent attention to detail and great staff!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    6.3
    Rooms and breakfast is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool were unusable due to algae growth

    Rooms and breakfast is excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Plunge Pool and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price and no extra bed.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    10
    Customer centric, the staff, the cleaning of the room, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer centric, the staff, the cleaning of the room, the breakfast and also an amazing point of view on the blue ocean. Perfect for us !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    8.3
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet broke twice and sink was blocked in our room.

    Great location next to the beach and helpful staff. Lovely outside pool which was really warm!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    6.3
    Very good private hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance to nearby shopping area.

    Very friendly staff and excellent services

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    8.3
    Great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be a little faster , but they were all friendly

    I really enjoyed the beach and food at the restaurant .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable stay for over night after long travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View and Free Benefit
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Comfortable stay for over night after long travel Wi fi was good and the breakfast is good with amazing beach view

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    All staff went out of their way every day to solve any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great on each of 3 visits this trip and another visit 5 years ago.

    All staff went out of their way every day to solve any problem or deliver any service. Located close to the airport and Kuta, but secluded and tranquil. Clean and comfortable rooms. Excellent restaurant on the beach

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    Brilliant cute boutique hotel with all the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Less number of rooms couldn't stay longer Not a very big property.

    Brilliant cute boutique hotel with all the facilities. The pool villa is gorgeous and romantic at a very good price. Luxurious and clean private beach. Staff is very very helpful and friendly. A Must choice over holiday inn or ramada as they are in the same line. They can customize the menu for your choice. Bar has good cocktails. Loved it.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    10
    Sandi Phala has the true Balinese flavor and culture unlike...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked it all.

    Sandi Phala has the true Balinese flavor and culture unlike bigger corporate hotels. Food is excellent. Right on the beach. Minutes from the airport. Free breakfast is from the restaurant menu. We have stayed there four times.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    7.1
    Free transfer to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel really need renovation. Towels and bed linen are very old, during 4 days stay always had problems with bathroom and toilet. The stuff was ready to fix it without any questions and very quickly, thanks for that. But in one day it gone broken again. In our room was very-very noisy because of the karaoke in the nearby restaurant

    Free transfer to the airport. Very nice stuff. Helped us with everything. We had problems with mattress but it was fixed in 1 hour, also helped to rent a scooter. Beautiful sea view from the restaurant, lovely food and service. There is a small not crowded beach which is hard to find in Kuta

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.6
    Exclusive beach n limited hotel rooms,near 2 shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The daily no water and electricity tripping but recovers very fast. Should offer insect repellent spray or coil at restaurant as there might be sand flies or mozzies

    Exclusive beach n limited hotel rooms,near 2 shopping centres within walking distance, great seaview at the restauran,free drop off at the 2 malls, free pickup/ drop off from /to airport from,safe environment,staff are well versed in English and very helpful. Airport is about 10 min away if there's no traffic. Rooms are big and clean. Private pool for some rooms.Free 2 cans of water,fizzy drinks and orange juice in fridge are replenished daily,provides fork n spoons, variety of teas to choose from from box. Request via email was fulfilled upon arrival. 2 wash basins per room. Food at restauranthe is delicious.Limited choice for breakfast. A bread and fruit basket comes with breakfast and free daily hi-tea. Nice sea view .

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    9.2
    employees are so friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice hotel

    employees are so friendly. the hotel is near the airport . the location is so good and very quiet. but its a little difficulty to find. breafast is dilicious.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    10
    Great beds, we had dipping pool, very refreshing, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is the tropics, would be good to have ripe fruit, papayas, pineapple, etc. Do NOT use the recommended Anika SPA, go instead next door to Spa at Ramada inn, VERY nice, and much more affordable, $44 US for 90 minute massage.

    Great beds, we had dipping pool, very refreshing, staff great, wonderful large rooms including bath. Staff worked hard to keep beach clean.Top notch overall.Make sure you book 502 or 501, with private pool. Other rooms back up to Ramada Inn which can be noisy.(BTW, the restaurant Ma Jolie is halal, so don't order bacon.....)

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    4.2
    My friend lost his iPhone in the hotel and hotel has been...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    My friend lost his iPhone in the hotel and hotel has been extremely unhelpful and not even tried to help or felt any sympathy. We are very disappointed, and would not recommend at all.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    7.1
    The private beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool suite I stayed has less privacy, which defeats the purpose of us booking a room with private pool at the first place. Our pool is only separated from the common walkway by bushes so the entire experience did not quite live up to expectations.

    The private beach. Staffs are very attentive too.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful anthropology and Bali book selection and Great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast - great coffee but the food quantity is a bit less.

    Wonderful anthropology and Bali book selection and Great Jazz CD in the room- great room and service. forest like garden, great swimming pool. Excellent beach view. Close to airport

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    This place is just GREAT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This place is just GREAT!! Absolutely stunning, food is great, the location is beautiful, the staff is friendly helpful and very sweet, and the room... Amazing! We've reserved the one with the private pool inside, and it was an absolute dream! Highly recommended!!!!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    10
    The location was like a sanctuary inside a busy city .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi is signal was sometimes weak and sometimes strong

    The location was like a sanctuary inside a busy city ... when unenter the resort u felt like u escaped the rest of the world and on ir private island

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    7.1
    The room is beautifully designed, the balcony is very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The noise in the evening from the neighbor Resort. They had Karaoke and life band. Because checking out at 5 in the morning to catch a flight I received a breakfast bread basket box. In there all but no knife or fork to put the jam and butter on the bread. Or a tissue to clean the mess up. Also no drink inside. At least a packed juice or water would have been nice. I am a solo female traveler and found a man's used shaving set on the bathtub...which not made me feel the bathtub was very well cleaned..

    The room is beautifully designed, the balcony is very nice. Located right on the beach. Close to airport.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    * boutique hotel meant lots of privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing!

    * boutique hotel meant lots of privacy * great breakfast which was cooked to order each day *free afternoon tea every day *Fabulous location just outside Kuta

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Sandi Phala Beach Resort and Ma Joly Restaurant traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: