Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Indonesia hotel reviews
  3. Bali holiday rental reviews
  4. Ubud holiday rental reviews
  5. Reviews of Sweet Ginger Villa

Reviews of Sweet Ginger Villa 4 stars

Jalan Batu Kurung II, 80571 Ubud, Indonesia

#103 of 420 Holiday rentals in Ubud

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 68 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 34

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2019

    7.9
    Friendly and helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a bit off, bit should not be a big problem if you have own transport. The 1-room villa has very tiny pool, no garden or view.

    The staff is very friendly and helpfull. They always respond very fast on any question. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. The 2-room villa has a gorgeous garden. Really nice to stay there.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2018

    5.8
    The service staff are helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was in the neighborhood where there were dogs barking in the middle of the night due to that my family and i did not sleep well. There were pigs in the area and due to that some part of the Villa was smelly.

    The service staff are helpful and friendly. The Villa was clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Villa near Ubud
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The villa was very spacious, with a nice size pool and sun loungers for 2. Lots of seats outside to sit on. Free shuttle into Ubud centre only takes 5-10 minutes. Lovely tropical garden. Very clean villa and cleaned every day with fresh towels. Every evening we had a turn down service. The staff couldn’t have been more attentive. Very accommodating and overall exceptional service. Would highly recommend to stay here. We stayed here for 2 weeks which was lovely as we had our own private villa with a pool to come back to after venturing out around Ubud.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wow, this is an exceptional villa. It’s beautifully presented and has full amenities - blown away by the additional touches such as slippers, kimono, toiletries etc in the room compared to rest of our Bali stay.,The staff here are 110% attentive and go beyond expectation to ensure you are ok - (need what’s app to communicate with them but exceptional service.) They can arrange anything for you and we’re super helpful. The breakfast was also amazingly presented and worth it - although they do cook it in front of you which took a big of getting used to. Can’t fault this villa - excellent all round!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Sweet Ginger Villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't enough hot water for any more than one and a half/two showers so you had to wait for it to warm up again.

    Very friendly staff. Beautiful villa and delicious traditional Balinese breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Stunning and recommended for couple of nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool should be heated as it was cold during the day. The location is scary at night, however it’s fine when you have arranged driver.

    Amazing villa! Super clean and kind staff!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Great at sweet ginger villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit outside ubud, but we like it because it was not bussy.

    Nice beautiful villa. Very helpfull staff. Clean. Nice breakfast. Very handy with the shuttle service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    We loved our time at Sweet Ginger and would happily go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The tiles in front of the villa are super slippery when wet. It rained each morning during our stay so the tiles were wet on the porch. Our eight year old fell three times during our first morning, and he hit his head pretty badly. The beds are really firm, and we continually ran out of hot water in the showers. While the property isn't exactly in Ubud, the 15-20 min free rides each day made the property worth the stay. Overall, the positives WAY outweighed the negatives for my family and me.

    Gede and his staff are exceptional. The garden around the villa is gorgeous. We were able to eat at the property, there's a small convenience store right across the street (for drinks, toiletries, and snacks), and we were able to get really affordable massages on the property. We loved the daily rides to and from Ubud, and our kids loved hanging out in the villa around the pool. The staff was incredibly attentive. For example, the first night I asked for coils to control the mosquitos around the property. From then on, Gede had them lit every evening without us even asking. The cable has lots of English speaking channels, and the staff provided adapters for us to be able to charge our electronics with ease. The kids loved watching the geckos in and around the villa.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Our family loved it here and we will miss the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff we’re the most beautiful friendly people. Meals were delicious and accommodation was quite & clean and beautiful surroundings. Highly recommend for families or 2 couples. Close enough to Ubud with shuttle service prompt & reliable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Our own private oasis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of.

    Excellent and friendly staff, Gede and Ngurah made sure our stay was comfortable and relaxing, can’t thank them enough. From the moment we opened the gate to our own little oasis we were looked after and really enjoyed our stay. The property was not within walking distance of central Ubud but with the free shuttle it was not a problem. Highly recommend Sweet Ginger villas and would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful property, wonderful staff, we were thoroughly looked after. Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television channels - English channels few - most channels not accessible movies etc.

    A stunning property. Our host Gede was amazing and constantly checked on our needs. He organised everything for us. He was friendly and gave us advice about restaurants tourist attractions etc. He even organised to send clothes I'd left in the villa to me in Seminyak. So thoughtful. The driver Ketut was also wonderful, amiable and made sure we didn't get wet! The chef for dinner at the villa was great she was an excellent cook. The property was always spotless, cleaned thoroughly. The property was beautiful but what was most special about this villa was the care from the staff, Gede, Ketuk, cleaners, cooks etc. They are the reason we will return. Fabulous stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money. Nice place and nice attention from staff. Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Just to say something, there is a little bit of noise from the outside, (Punctual). A bike, or a dog bark. But appart from this, everything was really good.

    A very nice villa, a warm attention from the side of the staff, always willing to help. Good service and everything clean and organized. It is good for families, of for 2 couples. 2 master bedrooms with private bathroom, and one open kitchen and dinning room. The pool is beautiful. A little cold but really nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    Bali is just a showcase, with local people taking out money from tourists in every means possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Transport is REALLY CRAP there. Taxis and Uber are not allowed. Personnel from the villa takes advantage and in other word abuses of tourists as there are no negotiation in terms of transport. It is really a pain to move around Bali especially with local drivers relying ONLY on the villa personnel to arrange for transport. Also, given that the villa is far from city centres, the villa personnel tries every means to cash out money from tourists in terms of breakfast, dinners and transport where they claim much higher rates. Bali is shown as a dream place to tourists, but the reality is that EVERYTHING needs to be paid for, even access to some villages which is very frustrating as they also charge for insurance. One has to pay for an entrance ticket to visit a Waterfall but the worst part is that you are not given a ticket, people at the counter only takes your money! Donations are MANDATORY at many places...

    Swimming pool was awesome and it adds to the beauty of the whole place. Bedroom was big and the bed was really comfortable. Lot of facilities in terms of bath towels, shower towels, kitchen utensils, fridge, etc. Housekeeping was superb :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing escape with beautiful rooms, garden and pool. Perfect for a quiet relaxing get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More information could have been provided about activities in Ubud. Would have been a perfect stay if the staff offered to organise tours or cultural activities.

    The staff were excellent. Very attentive and willing to help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing & Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The villa is is a bit far from town. You will need a car to go anywhere else. But they offered a shuttle to town centre.

    Although there are not much choices, the breakfast is tasty. The rooms are clean. All the staff are nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Worth every penny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a little bit secluded but the manager, Ketut, has a friend who gets you into Ubud for very cheap which solves that problem, plus it’s great at night. Very little to fault!

    Staff were amazing, catered to your every need and cooked in front of you. Beer and food is cheap. The room was the cleanest I’ve stayed in; it’s just like you see in the pictures! We stayed for 2 nights and wished we had booked for longer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Being spoiled at Ubud villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low wifi speed. Not enough of hot water in shower for two people.

    Very friendly and honest staff. Beautiful private garden and swimming pool. Tasty and fresh home made food. Clean bathroom, big room with amazing bed. Excellent turn down service. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    Our stay at Sweet Ginger Villa was excellent and we highly recommend it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's not much to fault about Sweet Ginger Villa, it has it all. The only thing is it's location is a bit far from town and requires hiring a scooter or catching a taxi to get anywhere. The property is also quite small and confined and doesn't back on to any rice fields, but they've utilised the space they have very well.

    We loved our stay at Sweet Ginger Villa! The property was immaculate with the most beautiful garden, own private pool and luxurious room! We loved the big bathroom with shower opening up to outside and nice big comfortable bed with mosquito net. Was great having our own private kitchen and dining area where meals were prepared for us upon order. The food and drinks were delicious and very affordable, as was the entire villa! Staff were very friendly. We had a great stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    A small and perfect slice of paradise and exactly what we were looking for!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of a thing that could have been better!

    Everything about our stay was wonderful from start to finish. It is a lovely property and the facilities were perfect. The staff were attentive, yet not obtrusive and very helpful in assisting us with outside activities. The weather was warm and the pool, divine! Highly recommended and we look forward to our next stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Utterly relaxing and enjoyable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    My stay was too short, but I'll fix that on my next trip!

    I loved my short stay and I’m definitely coming back. Everything about this villa is first rate and with comfort and restrained elegance in mind. The entire villa and its incredible landscaping is all pure eye candy. The villa staff is extremely friendly and professional. The village where it is located is truly amazing with wonderful friendly people and spectacular views of the Ayung River gorge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful villa & super friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The villa is very beautiful and spacious,very clean,very big bathroom, breakfast were delicious,the staff is very friendly and kind, sweet ginger villa was a excellent place to stay in ubud

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Best hotel experience and awesome stay in ubud
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location just 10 minute to Ubud center, very huge bath room, comfortable mattress, clean and the facilities is very complete, I was really impressed how clean, spacious and comfy room was. The staff was helpful and kind. I especially loved the breakfast, Me and my friend enjoyed this place a lot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2019

    10
    Amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    They couldn’t have done more for us. Beautiful Place with beautiful people, currently in the airport wishing we could stay longer.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    10
    The staffs were really friendly & they were great help...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs were really friendly & they were great help for us! The villa was clean and the private pool was just nice for a couple.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.7
    Staff were amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was awful

    Staff were amazing ! Very good and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Very cosy and comportable vila.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cosy and comportable vila. Great location for exploring Ubut and surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    comfy and clean beautiful villa in Ubud area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it is not walk g distance from city center, but a free shuttle was provided Instead

    lovely pool. very clean and comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    Clean, friendly hosts, well maintained, beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was extremely hard. Location was pretty far from town. Room service took two hours to arrive

    Clean, friendly hosts, well maintained, beautiful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    The private pool & garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Shuttle to the city center.

    The private pool & garden.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Very nice location and very good staff and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning

    Very nice location and very good staff and service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.7
    Nice clean comfortable rooms if you can find it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s to far out of the city center and it’s to hard to find.

    Nice clean comfortable rooms and bathroom, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Exceptionally clean rooms, stuff is awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptionally clean rooms, stuff is awesome

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    staff is very kindly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff is very kindly.

    Stayed in January 2018

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 34

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Sweet Ginger Villa traveller photo gallery