Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Bale 5 stars

Jl. Raya Nusa Dua Selatan, 80363 Nusa Dua, Indonesia

#11 of 42 Holiday rentals in Nusa Dua

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 89 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, their smiles & service. The food - taste, presentation, quality & quantity. The hotel & rooms were always clean & nothing was a hassle. Gym & spa facilities were great too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    Everything was absolutely amazing! The staff were so friendly and helpful! The Balè felt like home and we didn't want to leave at the end of our stay. The villas were beautiful and the food was delicious!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes housekeeping puts old towels. And sometimes they forget to put bathrobe.

    The breakfast was good. The staff were so nice. The pavilion was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel isn't located direct at the beach. You need to use a shuttle or do a short walk. The good side; The Bale has there own beach area with sunbeds. You get a little refreshing basket included water.

    Very nice pool villas, friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    The brilliant staff (all of them). The very private pavilion/room (including a lovely second shower outside). The daybeds (our pavilion and the common area). Faces and Tapas restaurants. The juices and smoothies. The all inclusive breakfasts. The market trip and cooking class!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa with Daily Spa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Overall it was a very nice trip.

    My wife and myself travelled for a romantic stay alone. The facility was very nice and the room was very private that we ended up staying the most time in the room with a private pool. The room service food level is very good; in fact the breakfast follows a ala carte process of which all the dishes very very nice and very good quality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deluxe rooms are very spacious, clean and private! The pool is very big and the garden is secluded. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The deluxe benefits are very good when booking the deluxe room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby and public spaces are disappointing. Falling leaves everywhere, and nobody taking care. The staffs are not professional. Beach club is small.

    We were upgraded to the premium villa, everything inside was fantastic! Especially love the swimming pool which connects to the bathroom. And breakfast was awesome!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Honeymoon Package at One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food - ordered a fruit platter and everything smelled like onions. Most likely the chef used the same knife or cutting board after cutting onions. Apart from that food was very nice. The staff - everything was almost perfect other than these incidences; I specifically mentioned in the email that this is going to be a surprise Christmas present for my wife days before arriving at the hotel, but after getting to the venue, they started speaking about it being a honeymoon package and which are included and which ones needed to be paid. They were also asking me to pay half of the deposit in front of her (this also took place at 2am in the morning due to our flight so you can understand my frustration...). Would have appreciated more sensibility. Also we asked for the recommendation for a good restaurant nearby, and they suggested us to go to a Chinese restaurant (I remember it had a huge shellfish at the front entrance). This turned out to be one of the worst food we've had in Bali during our 4 days stay. Better try the St. Regis or other hotel restaurant. Lastly, we were very surprised when one of the cleaners came inside the room without ringing the bell and quickly walking away when he saw us. This did to some extent make us feel Bottom line. Not saying these made our stay uncomfortable in any drastic way, but not having these would definitely have made this our perfect stay.

    Pretty much everything was perfect. Staff, food, location, surrounding area (it was a shame we visited the Geger beach in the very last minute before heading to the airport. Definitely a place to spend nice morning, or before sunset for relaxation). Very much enjoyed the pool, gym, massage, as well as the breakfast and inside villa dinner. Responded to our needs very quickly and without any hesitation.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Honeymoon Package at One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The honeymoon pavilion was so spectacular and everything we needed. The food was excellency, pool facilities and access to Nusa Dua area with the complementary hotel transport was great. Loved the hotel a lot. Intimate and just perfect for relaxing and enjoying the beach. We had a romantic candlelight dinner outside our room...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good!

    The whole place was paradise. Particularly enjoyed the breakfasts, especially having them delivered to our own private pavilion. The staff were excellent and very attentive. Cannot fault this place one bit.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful. Total misrepresentation of what the hotel is actually like. In need of extensive refurbishment and serious attention needed on staff service. Thankfully we were only there for 4 days. Food was shocking, breakfast wasteful. Don't be deceived by the photographs.

    We left after 4 days and weren't there longer.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    From the moment we were met at the airport we were greeted with smiles and kindness. We were given fresh fruit and ice cold water for the transfer, and a welcome drink and free foot massage on arrival. The villa we stayed in was beautiful and simply luxurious. We were visiting for 3-nights for a special occasion and the staff were only too happy to make our stay that extra bit special. From the spa treatments, to the candlelit dinner by our own private pool it was all perfect. If you are looking for somewhere special with a loved one then we would definitely recommend The Bale. The little extras they include, like round-the-clock butler service, free transfers to the nearby beach and shopping mall, and the choice to have breakfast delivered to you in your villa all makes for an incredible stay at such a wonderful resort. We will always remember The Bale for it's kind staff and amazing memories, and will hope to return one day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was full of leaves, the tub was cracked. The people in the restaurant could see into our villa area, The beach is not on property, you have to get a ride to it

    The Room was Big and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had a villa where the pool area faced the restaurant and therefore we had the smell of food and some noise all day. In addition there were constructions going in nearby and we could not really relax. Even though the villa was very big, nice equipped and with air condition it smelled very moist. We also visited the "beach club". To call it a "beach club" is very immoderate. It contains 14 sunloungers, you get water and sun lotion and towels. No bar or anything else to sit and your view is the Geger beach rental service for surf boards, kayaks, sunloungers... Nusa Dua as a region is a touristic shiny place that has nothing to do with real Bali. We think the villa is not worth it's price.

    Very nice private pool and outdoor bed to relax. The breakfast is amazing! Free shuttle service to the airport and around Nusa Dua. Staff and management is very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The restaurant,shuttle service within nusa dua and the staff were great and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Beautiful private villa with pool off bathroom and poolside undercover bed. Affordable luxury - no negatives,staff great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pool Villa with Daily Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service was top of the range. They try their best to accommodate all your needs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was prefect. Can’t expect for more. Special thanks to all the staffs for the amazing services!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it's quite complicated to open the wooden door

    the tent, the pool n the outdoor bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet a bit slow

    the decoration of the room and its privacy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Graet breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Pavilion with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the access to beach club was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing!

    Arriving at the Bale, we couldn't have everimagined how great it will be. As we've stayed at another hotel before the Bale, we asked for a transfer, which was easily organized. We were then picked up right in front of our other hotel and welcomed by a friendly, helpful and very happy driver, who instantly offered us water and fresh fruit for the ride. His friendliness continued throughout the ride, as he told us everything there is to know about Bali and offered to organize trips for us, amongst others. After arriving at the hotel and meeting more friendly staff members, we went to our villa, which was gorgeous. As it was late in the evening by then, we ordered room service, which arrived within 20 minutes and tasted great. The next day we ordered from the complimentary a la carte breakfast menu and got to enjoy it on our villa's terrace. Additionally, we could take basically anything from the mini bar, as this was included as well. Other offers included a free shuttle to the private beach, free shuttle to a seafood restaurant on Jimbaran's beach, as well as a 24/7 butler service. I could go on and on about how great it was - it was a unique experience and a wonderful time, which I wouldn't want to miss. We'll definitely be back!

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing!

    Faultless villa and service. Madeleine, the manager, along with her team made everything possible to make our stay special. The food is also delicious.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The romantic dinner wasn't tasty. Over cooked meat, we couldn't chew it. Breakfast were bad too. My fried noodles was so dry and dry

    The ambience

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel looks like a construction site, dark and depressing. The walls, floor and columns are made up of crude cement and they use vertical drainage pipes as ornaments. No wood, no plants, no decoration. The entrance is right in the middle of a noisy street, not what you expect to find at Nusa Dua. Besides, its is far away from the beach and you have to go there by car, which is not always available. The pool villa was standard, a little bleak and superoverprized at $ 450.

    The pool in the villa was the only thing that we enjoyed.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We've stayed in many hotels in our travels but this one truly stands out in the way ALL the staff coherently looked after us. In 16 days we didn't once have a single member of staff let the side down! Truly exceptional brilliant customer service throughout!

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous villa, very private, spacious and set in lush surroundings. We loved the private pool. Staff were very accommodating and lovely to deal with. Perfect stay for a relaxing getaway.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too many insects in the room, no variety in food.

    The friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff especially our butler Andika who made our stay better at the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I think the lobby needs some decor or renovation, the hotel doesn't look like a luxury hotel at all. The outdoor shower head was a little akward, never want to use it because doesn't feel comfortable for using it. The bathroom area doesn't have enough towel hanger, can't really lay flat the towel to dry properly. No tea and coffee set in the room, need to walk out the villa to use the outdoor minibar to boil water with kettle and make drinks. The breakfast was a little let down, a-la carte menu, for the premium price we paid for, we were expected to have some good food in the morning, coffee was totally disappointed.

    The location of villa 30 was very quiet and located at higher level which gave us more privacy. Welcome with a bunch of roses because of the honeymoon noted during booking, very thoughtful. Staff members were all friendly and polite, accomondate your needs all the time. Free transportation within nusa dua areas, saved a lot in transportation cost. Room was spacious and clean. The rain forest shower head was good. Villa pool was considerably good size. Complimentary soft drinks provided in the fridge. Also like the taste of the complimentary cookies served daily on the table. Had the daily spa package, love the hot stone massage, spa staff members were very polite and professional. Spa facilities also provided jacuzzi and sauna, booking is required, Geger beach was located just across the road, beach club available at beach with mineral water, towel, sunscreen and beach chairs. Recommend to try the nearby Chinese seafood restaurant "bubu bali", very unique bamboo setting, dining at the top of the pond, quite interesting, reasonable price for the food we had. Overall villa stay was relax and comfortable, however the breakfast was a little let down.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beach: although the hotel has a beach club,but Geger beach it self did not attract us.

    The private pool,the villa facilities & the high level of pruvacy were amazing. The staff were very helpful, especially Ms.Madeline "the resort duty manager" who used to chat with the guests every morning to ask about any thing she can do for us.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice villa with helpful staff. Fell like returning home. Spa is good and let us relaxing. For food, not bad too, and they understood my girlfriend's food allergy and made a special dinner for her. We feel warm in this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A fabulous, relaxing, sophisticated and just wonderful resort. The team at The Bale made us feel so welcome and could not do enough to make our stay relaxing and memorable. Thanks to everyone at The Bale especially Toto and Rasititi

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing! The place is amazing

    The staff were just excellent, nothing was too much trouble and they were incredibly friendly, we couldn't fault their service. The villa and private pool was incredible, so clean, comfortable and private.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we eventually had to leave.

    It was fantastic it looked great in the photos but even more impressive in real life. The service was second to none and we had an amazing time.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Due to its location this place has no beach access. There is a beach club called Geger (it think) which is just a few beach chairs on a segregated part of the beach which the hotel provided transport to. This was nothing special.

    The staff were excellent attending to all our needs and making sure they go above an beyond to please and make the stay comfortable. It's a nice place for couples to go relax (although we were 4 friends, probably making every other couple uncomfortable :P). We were in a 2 bedroom villa which had 2 plunge pools, one of them was quite large. The rooms were very comfortable and there was ample space outdoors in our villa to hang out, drink, eat and relax. While we were at the resort we barely used any of the common areas (apart from breakfast) as the villa was quite self sufficient. Special thanks to the butler service and especially Mr, Gobby who indeed went above and beyond to make our stay pleasant. We really liked the free transport the hotel offered around the area, which made life much easier. Overall very satisfying and would recommend to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was some noise from other guests which seemed to travel amongst the villas

    Attentive service, rooms were just perfect/luxe, tapas restaurant was funky with good food, drinks and service

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only thing I didn't like was I could not stay more!!!

    Madlene Ernst you are a rockstar!!! We guys love you a lot for all the efforts!!! I see an "intent" in your people!!! Right from Chef Deddy, Butler Gobi and Aayu...we miss a lot of people who in ideal cases we as "tourists" would forget!!! Please keep the "intent" alive!!! We thank you for the Food!!! Jain and Vegetarian food you guys served us didn't make us want to have Indian food even once!!! You were the only hotel who had written so many emails for Jain Food and still got it spot on!!!! Thanks for day tours and handling us at the best possible juncture!!! Maya Ubud has been a failure in this aspect for us!!!

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    too far from shopping areas then cannot go by walking but privte car service always available and very nice Bar too close to road

    very very good quality of the service quality of the villa

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a flight leaving at 11pm. The Bale were able to give us a late checkout. This made our last day very easy as we could relax in a villa until the transfer arrived that evening.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some birds make some noise during the night. It can scary you but only on the first night. After that it is quite something to get up with birdsong.

    Intimacy, big space, a quiet place, very good food, friendly staff. Pavilion 35 is very intimate and with a view over the golf course, a lot of trees.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    - Coffee can be improved - Not directly on the beach tho they have a very clean hotel beach club with private transportation.

    - Amazing, welcoming , pleasing staff ( from the very friendly manager to our sweet butler Toto :-)) - Amazing breakfast - Very comfortable bed - Extreme privacy - Excellent transportation

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My husband and I had an amazing time at The Bale in Nusa Dua. We stayed in a deluxe single pavilion #35 the villa was secluded with exceptional modern decor. Our first day we were welcomed with specialty mojitos and a beautiful display of rose petals on our bed. Our personal butler Gobby was outstanding and the food at both the restaurants was top noch we loved the complimentary unlimited breakfast option. One day after scuba diving we accidentally left some of our personal belongings including my husband's cell phone at the center our butler Gobby personally travelled 40 mins roundtrip to pick the items up for us. Gobby recommend wonderful places for us to visit while we were in Bali and made all of our spa and meal reservations. If you are looking for world class service then look the no further The Bale is the perfect place to stay. All of the staff are extremely friendly and the service is one of a kind. We went to their amazing news years eve party at the Tapas restaurant and really enjoyed bringing in the new year with such amazing people. The Bale team truly functions as a family and everyone is so helpful and goes out there way to make sure you have a great time. We miss the people and villa so much at The Bale now that we are back home can't wait to go back to Bali again. To Gobby and the rest of our new Bali friends thank you so much for contributing to a honeymoon we will never forget lots of love and have an amazing year! The Queens

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    spa experience could have been better

    staff were helpful villas were spacious and comfortable food was great

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    The enviroment is excellent, and the staff are very nice.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    NA

    The whole resort

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bugs But nothing the hotel can do about this because that is all over bali

    The staff are so friendly And an amazing place

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It's not directly on the beach, however their private beach is within 5 minutes and they provide free and friendly transfer

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything from breakfast to the villa's.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Couple

    Nothing

    Fantastic service- lovely touches to make this a truly special honeymoon

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Private pool The little garden The spacious room and bathroom Good taste of food

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bed outside the lodge with the pricate pool! Priceless

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Exceptional facilities, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast menu is fabulous (not a bain marie in sight).

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sometimes Wi-Fi doesn't work in a room

    Staff's hospitality is very good.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location , food , service , massage everything excellent. Good value for money. Ideal for honeymoon couples. Very spacious villas with great privacy.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    service a nit slow

    Privacy, relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff, Service everything actually,

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Browse The Bale traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: