Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Oberoi, Lombok 5 stars

Medana Beach, Tanjung, Lombok, 83352 Tanjung, Indonesia

#1 of 12 hotels in Tanjung

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 48 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Beautifully located resort on a clean beach with natural reef for snorkelling. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Pavilions Ocean
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel is located over 2 hours drive from the airport and along a windy road which can seem long after the flight. Suggested daytime activities and management of getting to and from these around the resort could be better communicated.

    Resort facilities were fantastic and staff friendly and accommodating of any requests. The Beach Club staff were great with taking my son paddle boarding, taking us snorkelling and purchasing fishing rods for some fishing off the wharf. Excellent range and quality of food and beverage.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    The service at the oberoi is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Pavilions Ocean
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the oberoi is amazing. The staff take care of you so well, I miss it already. The kindest, sweetest bunch of people are amazing ambassadors for both the Oberoi brand and Lombok. Nothing was too much for them, even the gardeners smiled and let my children play in the sprinklers Long after I’m sure they would have wanted to move to the next section of the perfectly maintained grounds. The manager is very present, you see him every day asking how your stay is, if there is anything you need.. the Housekeeping staff are so diligent, they don’t miss a detail. concierge is wonderful - so patient to take all of my 4 year olds pleas for extra turn - down service cookies! And the restaurant staff have amazing memories, by day 3 they remember exactly how you like your eggs and your coffee - you don’t even need to order. I can’t wait to go back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel and grounds, so serene and calm, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Pavilions Ocean
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Beautiful hotel and grounds, so serene and calm, beautiful views out to sea and for sunset. Staff incredibly friendly and attentive. Excellent food. Great facilities. Perfect for a relaxing vacation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.2
    Even in the rainy season it can be paradise, but don't book too early ahead.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Had a minor problem with the bed at the beginning but the hotel addressed our concerns immediately

    Beautiful location Outstanding cuisine with a chef who was very interested in our taste, our opinion and our wishes. Very friendly and professional staff, who did every thing with a smile, even they might have been demotivated by the small number of hotel guests.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    The greatest hotel I have been to, not only have the great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Villa Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None, everything is perfect!

    The greatest hotel I have been to, not only have the great facility, but also have the extremely nice and helpful staffs, would definitely visit more Oberoi hotels. During the whole stay, we had 4 breakfasts, 4 dinners and 1 lunch in the hotel, the food was fantastic! Every dollar you spent in the hotel pays out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    A perfect hotel in paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Pavilions Ocean
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was perfect!

    Everything was excellent. The room, facilities, food, pool, service but above all the truly amazing staff. They're a credit to the Oberoi. I'm lucky enough to have travelled extensively in all corners of the world and this is one of the finest hotels I've ever stayed at.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Sheer luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Luxury Garden View Villa/Private Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Sheer luxury. The hotel and it's facilities are pristine. The staff were very helpful, even remembered our names. The pool boys were brilliant, never letting you go without. We had a garden view villa which I would really recommend. The private pool was amazing and the dining area was great to have breakfast and lunch in if we didn't fancy the pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Staff so attentive, nothing was too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Pavilions Ocean
    • Stayed 5 nights

    not near anywhere so no choice to eat out and food and drink relatively expensive compared with other places we stayed on Lombok.

    Staff so attentive, nothing was too much trouble. They even emailed us a recipe for a curry we liked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Stunning facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Pavilion Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish it had a bigger beach

    The hotel has a very small beach. Other then that, the grounds are absolutely gorgeous. The staff was so friendly and ready to help with anything you might Ask for. You can hire a boat from the hotel to take you snorkeling, scuba diving or just to go over to the other islands.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Absolutely Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Pavilions Ocean
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - everything was perfect

    The room was fabulous - I was extremely lucky to be upgraded to a Ocean Villa. The service at the hotel is second to none and the food in the restaurant was divine and the chef was very happy to adapt meals to suit and cater for dietary requirements. I had a few treatments at the SPA and was very happy with the standard of the service and treatments.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    There is no other place in Lombok to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Pavilions Ocean
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, nothing at all. I can't even put the gym in here because it wasn't that I didn't like the gym, I just wish it was a little bigger and better equipped.

    This is most amazing hotel for what you pay. The staff are incredible the hotel is absolutely beautiful and only needs an upgraded gym to be perfect. Other than the gym this place is perfection. There is no where else to stay in Lombok, oh and the food. Coming from a foodie city like Melbourne you have high expectations of the food. Not only was the menu fantastic and all the meals good portions and cooked to perfection,, I had two different chefs come out just to let us know we could order what ever we wanted and they'd make it if they had the ingredients. Everyone was so welcoming and kind, not because they had to be but because after to speaking to numerous employees I found out how well they are treated by the hotel chain which makes them happy, thus, they are actually enjoying themselves and passing that on to you. Absolutely a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Luxury Villa with Private Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very few negatives. The journey in the hotel shuttle from the airport was an hour and a half which, after a long flight, can be a little intense. Wonderful views though during the drive around the island up the mountains and around the coast. They try to make the drive as comfortable as possible.

    The location with the private beach was wonderful. The staff were incredibly professional and very attentive. Would highly recommend the ocean view villas with a good size private pool. Few things better than having dinner in our gazebo with the sound of waves on the beach in the distance. The restaurant was of a high standard and is what you'd expect from an Oberoi hotel. This is the ultimate place to get away from it all and pamper yourself a little.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    10
    The best resort in Indonesia so far
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Pavilions Ocean
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is rather high, but its worth it! The main restaurant dishes may look too complicated for a common foreigner, but the chef is always ready to cook any meal you desire especially for you.

    Beautiful location among hundreds of palm trees providing a continuous supply of fresh coconuts, hand combed loans, great spacious pavilions and villas, friendly and helpful staff always there to assist you in any even unusual requests, magnificent coral reef almost matching those of the Red Sea, multiple facilities making it impossible to go elsewhere ... I can continue endlessly. Thanks a lot for yet one more great vacation.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.0
    Beautiful, serene resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Villa with Private Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were there for NYE and found the entertainment "flat".. band was rather boring and played too many downbeat songs which meant that not many people got into the party mood. Fireworks was marginal probably due to the cost factor. This was unfortunate since it marred the party mood on a special occasion a little.

    Stunning Pavilion Villa, lovely getaway with friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Pavilions Ocean
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is beautiful but could be made more comfortable

    Almost everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Luxury Villa Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The best hotel I've stayed in ever

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    A piece of paradise- everyone is attentive to every detail...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Luxury Garden View Villa/Private Pool
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A piece of paradise- everyone is attentive to every detail to make your experience unforgettable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Blissful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Pavilions Ocean
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Setting in the bay; standard of service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Love love loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Villa Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We absolutely loved it! However please extend restaurant menu options.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Pavilions Ocean
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We love it here and are return guests and will continue to return. Keep up the great work guys.:))

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.2
    Exelint resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Villa Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price so high

    Every thing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    Location, spacious, very friendly staff, facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Pavilion Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, spacious, very friendly staff, facilities

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel in every respect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Luxury Villa with Private Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Location, facilities, cuisine and staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    9.6
    After quite a long journey, we were amazed with spectacular...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The resort is quite far from the Praya Airport. It took us 2 hours to reach there. But I understand that Tanjung is one of the beautiful beaches and serene surroundings.

    After quite a long journey, we were amazed with spectacular and beautiful views of the resort, the friendliness of the staff and the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms. Kept it up guys!! 😊

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    9.6
    Great location, quiet, staff attentive but not obtrusive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Remote location is a double edged sword. Dining out is logistically difficult, dining in is good but not as great as could be. The dinner menu is ambitious and varied however didn't quite meet expectations, though lunch and breakfast did. The only thing that didn't meet expectation though.

    Great location, quiet, staff attentive but not obtrusive. Beautiful spacious property with outstanding views, close to golf, good recovering house reef for those that dive or snorkel. You need at minimum 3 nights to fully enjoy.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.8
    They always exceed our expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beach is not long, and the resort is located really far away from the market. So if staying in the resort for 3 days, may get bored.

    They always exceed our expectation. Service is good.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    An amazing resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    An amazing resort.....in an amazing location....with amazing staffs. Really had a superb holiday. Staffs are friendly, efficient and well trained. Chef JYOTI stood out....as he went out of the way to prepare special cuisines for us

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    Everything was perfect, calm' peaceful, top team, top...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to swim in the sea (not deep enough and full of plants)

    Everything was perfect, calm' peaceful, top team, top food, top environment, blue sea

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    8.8
    Beautifully maintained and a gorgeous setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Problems with wifi. The system apparently only allows two devices at a time per room and I gave up (and got hit with a huge roaming charge).

    Beautifully maintained and a gorgeous setting. Watching fishermen in the water at sunset when the tide out was a daily treat. Generally good service.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    9.6
    Hotel, pool, food, beach - no complaints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel, pool, food, beach - no complaints. perfect lay out ,small, personal. Service was top. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels but I have to say that the Oberoi topped it all. From small details around the room, to the friendly and personal service of the staff (everyone knew our names) to the service on the beach including having the sun glasses cleaned. top. Will only book the Oberoi when travelling to India and south east asia in the future.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    9.2
    friendliness and attention of staff, location and set up of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    mattresses unusual hard . as there is no restaurants or other markets close by you have to eat in-house which is great and delicious food but you also have to be aware to pay the tag of a world class hotel

    friendliness and attention of staff, location and set up of the place,spacey, relaxing, clean and extremely beautiful

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    9.2
    Helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service at restaurant can be a bit slow

    Helpful and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    8.8
    The staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    Should pick up and drop all guests .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Should pick up and drop all guests ....by the hotel

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.6
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beach bed was rocky so cudnt really swim in the ocean

    Everything!! Awesome hotel, staff, food, drinks

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    9.6
    The property is superb, the staff are fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property is superb, the staff are fantastic.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse The Oberoi, Lombok traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: